View Full Version : WB Game Day V Fremantle R16 2023 Sun 1/7, 1:45PM - Marvel Stadium

12-06-2023, 11:48 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

29-06-2023, 11:37 AM
Margin: Dogs by 10 points

First goal: Cody Weightman

Best on ground: Tom Liberatore

29-06-2023, 02:32 PM
Dogs BY 33

First Goal Lobb

BOG Bont

29-06-2023, 04:19 PM
Dogs BY 33

First Goal Lobb

BOG Bont

I'd settle for all three of those predictions.

29-06-2023, 10:18 PM
A danger game coming off the bye but I reckon will get it done at home.

30-06-2023, 10:46 AM
A danger game coming off the bye but I reckon will get it done at home.

Selection policy adds to the danger.

West was good against North and is eased out.

Poulter was ordinary in the VFL
Cleary must be looking elsewhere.

JOD was OK but a bit more time at Footscray probably warranted and Josh Bruce was certainly better at Footscray.

Naughton back is the obvious move as the forward line functioned better without him there.

Significant challenge as we MUST WIN.

30-06-2023, 11:34 PM
Naughton to the severely weakened backline and we are a chance.
What do Ladbrokes know that we don't ? Western Bulldogs 1.52 Fremantle 2.55

01-07-2023, 11:22 AM
Naughton to the severely weakened backline and we are a chance.
What do Ladbrokes know that we don't ? Western Bulldogs 1.52 Fremantle 2.55

The only supporters with less belief in their team come to the football in purple.

01-07-2023, 11:22 AM
Freo by 10 goals
First goal : A Scott, halfway through the 3rd quarter
BOG: Bont

01-07-2023, 11:29 AM
Supporter numbers to be affected by train line closures on Willy, Werribee and Sunbury lines.

Dogs by 3 points

First goal to Astro

BOG Libba

01-07-2023, 11:37 AM
Dogs by 20
FG Weightman
BOG English.

01-07-2023, 12:17 PM
Dogs BY 26

First Goal Flea

BOG Bont

01-07-2023, 12:42 PM
'Dogs by 5 points

First Goal: Marra

BOG: "Its him, you know who he is".

01-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Freo by 23

First Goal: Amiss

BOG: Fyfe.

Yeah, I’ve given up.

01-07-2023, 02:29 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/85mBNYzf/PXL-20230701-032550700.jpg (https://postimg.cc/2b3Bx2vC)

This is an interesting stat from the record today.

That means we may see a ton of turnovers!

01-07-2023, 02:41 PM
Dogs by 31 points
BOG Libba
1st Goal lobb

01-07-2023, 02:42 PM
Like how the club named the sub in the offical team rather than the player being dropped initially, just prefer Westy to play.

Massive game this one, we need a lift from Lobb and we also need our players to target him more for some reason from the outside they look reluctant to do so.

Also keen for Timmy to go back and help the defence more this week with one of the talls coming up to help out with the outlet kick.

01-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Good start, shit crowd

01-07-2023, 02:49 PM
Great kick Poulter

01-07-2023, 03:00 PM
Great kick Hannan

01-07-2023, 03:07 PM
Amazing how many lapses we have when we are on top and invite the opposition back in. Is it fitness? What is it with this group?

01-07-2023, 03:11 PM
Dogs by 31 points
BOG Libba
1st Goal lobb

01-07-2023, 03:12 PM
Gee that entire play all looked in slow motion and we just refused to man up.

01-07-2023, 03:13 PM
Rory Lobb is playing like an absolute pea-heart today. Won't attack or influence an aerial contest. Forward or back. Disgraceful.

01-07-2023, 03:13 PM
Our backs are the worst in the comp

01-07-2023, 03:15 PM
Rory Lobb is playing like an absolute pea-heart today. Won't attack or influence an aerial contest. Forward or back. Disgraceful.

He's been such a disappointment.

01-07-2023, 03:16 PM
17-8 inside 50s

One point lead. Same stuff every week.

01-07-2023, 03:17 PM
He's been such a disappointment.

I've been giving him the benefit of the doubt due to injury and not being kicked to, but allowing that ball to go over the back wasn't great. Williams' half heartedness afterwards didn't help either.

He will come good. Bevo will get into him. I’m looking for a response against his old side

A typical quarter…start well with a lot of inside 50’s…can’t score like we should and then let the opposition get back in with quick consecutive goals. 2 of those goals was from a lack of defensive effort.

01-07-2023, 03:19 PM
Feels like the Gold Coast game dominate early then let them back in, lets hope the second quarter doesn't go the same way.

Fremantle played keep things off late very similar to how they beat us last year at Marvel.

01-07-2023, 03:20 PM
We are allowing them out too easily by not manning up..they are kicking to players 20 metres away from a dogs opponent. We have to man up and play one on one.

01-07-2023, 03:23 PM
How could Bont use the ball so poorly going into fifty then?

01-07-2023, 03:24 PM
Why do our players always lead to the pocket, and Naughton and Jamarra always lead to the pocket on their wrong side.

01-07-2023, 03:25 PM
This defence is laughable.

01-07-2023, 03:26 PM
What was Bont doing then?

01-07-2023, 03:27 PM
Why do our players always lead to the pocket, and Naughton and Jamarra always lead to the pocket on their wrong side.

We're going to the near side to protect the outlet and our shaky defence.

01-07-2023, 03:27 PM
They've had 9 I50s for 4.0.

01-07-2023, 03:29 PM
Again, another aerial contest not killed and it goes over the ****ing back. Jesus.

01-07-2023, 03:30 PM
Did Jamarra just kick that laces facing in?

01-07-2023, 03:32 PM
Great vision, great kick from Poulter.

01-07-2023, 03:33 PM
Rubbish McNeil. Pick the ball up.

McShit effort in the centre then.

Did Jamarra just kick that laces facing in?

I understood that reference.

Promote McNeil they say.

How is he playing AFL?

01-07-2023, 03:35 PM
I understood that reference.

Hahaha, unintentional.

01-07-2023, 03:37 PM
I feel attacked by Williams today.

01-07-2023, 03:38 PM

Does it count as a pressure act though?

01-07-2023, 03:38 PM
Sloppy handballs hurting us

01-07-2023, 03:39 PM
Does it count as a pressure act though?

Hit out.

01-07-2023, 03:41 PM
Why in god's name would Bont call for that.

Hey, there's a guy right next to me, give it to me quickly!!!

What's that now? Hurt out the back after a poor forward entry? I never.

Not much enjoyment in watching how we play.

Again. Done cold on the turnover. Out the back. Every single time.

01-07-2023, 03:42 PM
Freo 4.1 from defensive halve. Dogs 0.

Why in god's name would Bont call for that.

Hey, there's a guy right next to me, give it to me quickly!!!

I also blame Marra.

Fun fact: I'd just said to my partner "Marra marks everything these days. Turning into a smart player". Nek minit.

Easy easy easy goals.

01-07-2023, 03:46 PM
Too casual Jamarra. Pathetic.

01-07-2023, 03:47 PM
Gotta get Daniel out of defence, Naughty up the field and Keath and Gardner off the list. We are just so conservative with ball in hand and have become a very boring football side it's sad to see.

01-07-2023, 03:48 PM
Amazing what you can do if you intercept a ball in defence.

01-07-2023, 03:51 PM
Very much needed…just gotta hold now

01-07-2023, 03:54 PM
JOD has had some pretty good moments. Nice to see.

01-07-2023, 03:54 PM

01-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Really missing JJ and Richards. We look so vulnerable when the ball hits the deck in our D50.

01-07-2023, 03:57 PM
Don't mind Bont going the snap at goal

01-07-2023, 03:58 PM
Some say our bottom 6 don't matter and I know what they mean, but the truth is, they do matter. We are getting nothing from ours.

Lobb 2 handballs, Scott 1 kick, McNeil and Vandermeer 4 touches, and Keath/Gardner/JOD all with 4.

That's 7 seven players with very, very little impact. When you factor in quieter games from stars (English) it's hard to compete.

01-07-2023, 03:58 PM

Loving his game. Poulter looks good too.

Marra inside 50 target 8 times next highest 1. Having a great game.

01-07-2023, 03:59 PM
Some say our bottom 6 don't matter and I know what they mean, but the truth is, they do matter. We are getting nothing from ours.

Lobb 2 handballs, Scott 1 kick, McNeil and Vandermeer 4 touches, and Keath/Gardner/JOD all with 4.

That's 7 seven players with very, very little impact. When you factor in quieter games from stars (English) it's hard to compete.

Without the ball is just as important remember.

Agree wholeheartedly

Unfortunately our system lets us down
Dominate territory and fail to convert to scoreboard

We need a lift from MaCrea, naughts and Lobb,

In fact I would probs sub Lobb off at 1/2 time and let West loose on the dockers.

Well that half had real 1:45 under the dome against a middling interstate club energy.

01-07-2023, 04:00 PM
I have no idea of the score just you guys..
We are getting annihilated and are a bunch of incompetents right?

01-07-2023, 04:00 PM
Without the ball is just as important remember.
Those pressure acts

01-07-2023, 04:01 PM
We need a lift from MaCrea, naughts and Lobb,

In fact I would probs sub Lobb off at 1/2 time and let West loose on the dockers.
Hannan second ruck��

We are getting annihilated and are a bunch of incompetents righ?
Pretty even game

I'll go against the grain of this thread and say its been an enjoyable contest so far. Fun game.

01-07-2023, 04:02 PM
Macrae fumble city and constantly going to ground, has fallen off a cliff this year hopefully he is just carrying an injury.

I can't work out why Bevo would send Daniel back, it hasn't worked in previous weeks you just have to get him centre forward or we aren't creative enough going inside 50.

Liam Henry looks good

We are getting annihilated and are a bunch of incompetents righ?

Its just a venting thread nowadays haha

Hannan second ruck��

Happy that or just let Tim go it alone. Lobb doesn’t look interested and afraid of his old side tonight

01-07-2023, 04:03 PM
Its just a venting thread nowadays haha

Only now?

01-07-2023, 04:03 PM
Liam Henry looks good

If he could hit a target.good movement though.

01-07-2023, 04:04 PM
I'll go against the grain of this thread and say it’s been an enjoyable contest so far. Fun game.
We need more from mids and we need to defend a bit better and should win. We are on top in clearances just need to stop bombing the ball into 50 (same old story)

01-07-2023, 04:07 PM
The Dockers always seem to have a choice of easy targets. They are working harder to get separation than we are. Uncontested marks and outlet targets are what is keeping them in the game.

01-07-2023, 04:08 PM
If he could hit a target.good movement though.
He is getting the ball, as opposed to 2 of our wingers Scott and Poulter.

01-07-2023, 04:09 PM
I'll go against the grain of this thread and say its been an enjoyable contest so far. Fun game.

Absolutely it's a great game. Tactically very good.

Our ability to defend their exits has been very very good. They're struggling to get over the wing.

When they have its been later in the quarter when we've worn down or by using transition and back inside on the 45.

Marra looks very dangerous, I think we are moving the ball of out defence better on the whole.

Our defence is working hard. Duryea looks solid, Gardner has been an effective stopper and JOD has great positional awareness and closing speed.

Midfield battle is intriguing. Probably even at this stage.

Darcy v English a great battle. Pretty even I'd give it to Tim just with the goal.

Henry moves well for the Dockers.

Not sure about Lobb's game. Lacks spark. Hopefully he can bob up in the second half.

01-07-2023, 04:11 PM

I know we're loyal to our recruits but I think it's time to have a work to Bruce and let him know there's a spot up forward if he can take it.

01-07-2023, 04:12 PM
Not sure about Lobb's game. Lacks spark. Hopefully he can bob up in the second half.
I recon Lobb has been carrying an injury all year. No way he is this bad of a player. Just seems to be lumbering every week

01-07-2023, 04:13 PM
I’ve got it we should give Lobb back for Henry

01-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Keath not learnt how to handball?

01-07-2023, 04:22 PM
Lobb is an abject failure to half time. Our forgotten men Khamis and Sweet could not be any worse. Lobb has shown very little since being recruited, needs a spray.

01-07-2023, 04:28 PM
Yep Liam Henry shit himself then

01-07-2023, 04:29 PM
That was pretty awful from Henry but we'll take it.

01-07-2023, 04:29 PM
Yep Liam Henry shit himself then

Think MJP is on to something about him being petrified.

01-07-2023, 04:30 PM
One thing to drop the mark but the follow up was terrible. Blemish on a great game from him but also yay us

01-07-2023, 04:32 PM
Why can McNeil never take a ball cleanly?

01-07-2023, 04:33 PM

no I struggle to see what he offers at AFL level

01-07-2023, 04:34 PM

Because he’s not any good at this level.

No thanks to Henry.

01-07-2023, 04:35 PM
JUH can be frustrating at times but he's starting to put it together. Exciting years ahead

01-07-2023, 04:37 PM
Jamarra is a star

01-07-2023, 04:37 PM
JUH can be frustrating at times but he's starting to put it together. Exciting years ahead

Jamarra is a star

Imagine this forward line without him

01-07-2023, 04:43 PM
Does Bailey Smith know he’s playing today. Looks in another head space.

01-07-2023, 04:45 PM
We need something from Naughton to help get us a decent buffer

01-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Surely McNeil is subbed out

01-07-2023, 04:46 PM
We need something from Naughton to help get us a decent buffer

A million bucks a year… if someone offers that good luck to them all.

Sweet
WOOP WOOP WOOP

Does Bailey Smith know he?s playing today.

Jeemak is warming up the thread.

Thought Lobb was better that quarter.

That truck goal was awesome.

Some silk emerging from the grind.

What about Marra's marking! Wowwwwwweee.

01-07-2023, 04:47 PM
We just need to grind this out. Get the win and reset for next week. It’s a tough grind, probably not ideal after a week off but they seem up for the fight. Go Dogs!

01-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Can we break the bye curse

01-07-2023, 04:49 PM
WOOP WOOP WOOP

Jeemak is warming up the thread.

impressive post ! :)

01-07-2023, 04:49 PM
Surely McNeil is subbed out

I reckon teams are too conservative when using the sub, when we had the momentum in that quarter I would have pulled the trigger.

01-07-2023, 04:51 PM
I thought English was much better in the ruck that quarter starting jumping at it, rather than allowing Darcy o get contact with him.

01-07-2023, 04:52 PM
Absolutely dumb English.

01-07-2023, 04:54 PM
JUHs field kicking really is abysmal.

01-07-2023, 04:54 PM

Nah his field kicking is great.

His decision making, less so.

01-07-2023, 04:55 PM
I'm worried. We just don't have presence in the corridor

01-07-2023, 04:55 PM

Remember articles saying he has to play like Cameron? lol

01-07-2023, 04:56 PM
**** off Williams. He's been pathetic.

01-07-2023, 04:56 PM
Who got subbed?

01-07-2023, 04:57 PM
Who got subbed?

Hannan

Fumble fumble fumble, with no pressure.

This “could” get ugly

01-07-2023, 04:59 PM
Lobb is a star

01-07-2023, 05:01 PM
Lobb is a star

Haha.

That was a huge kick though.

Westy, great hands.

Wish West was playing for three quarters more!

Westy!

01-07-2023, 05:02 PM
How does Hannan and McNeil get a game over West ?

Why was West dropped from the 22?

Great stuff by West.

01-07-2023, 05:03 PM
Wish West was playing for three quarters more!

West has done enough in three minutes with three touches to put him in the starting 22.

01-07-2023, 05:04 PM
West has done enough in three minutes with three touches to put him in the starting 22.

Embarrassing for the match committee if they felt embarrassed from garbage like that decision.

01-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Why would Freo be "managing" Fyfe in a game with all on the line like this? I smell porky pie.

01-07-2023, 05:08 PM
West is everywhere right now.

01-07-2023, 05:09 PM
West has been flawless since coming on, and we've been better for it.

Has Macrae become a low key good set shot kicker?

01-07-2023, 05:09 PM
Huge last quarter, the boys really want it.

01-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Cmon Lauchie

01-07-2023, 05:10 PM
West!

01-07-2023, 05:11 PM
Great last quarter. West has been instrumental.

Boots
01-07-2023, 05:11 PM
Geez it’s nice when we’re the ones kicking batches of unanswered goals

01-07-2023, 05:15 PM
Macrae been so much cleaner in the second half and Lobbs little cameo in the ruck much better.

Its nice when we kick straight!

01-07-2023, 05:17 PM
What Bye Curse

01-07-2023, 05:18 PM
We are a good side when we kick straight

Boots
01-07-2023, 05:18 PM
Reckon Norton has been reading the commentary about him going back

01-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Whitten oval training giving us legs.

01-07-2023, 05:20 PM
Lobb. The turning point in the last quarter. Huge bomb from outside 50m to take back the lead. Have not looked like losing since then.

01-07-2023, 05:25 PM
Seven goal last quarter. Huge. Very impressive finish to the game.

01-07-2023, 05:26 PM
Really good win. Thinking to myself "Here we go" whe we lost the lead but ran all over them after that. Straight kicking was a pleasant surprise.

01-07-2023, 05:35 PM
What a great fighting win!

Plenty involved.

01-07-2023, 05:37 PM
West was magnificent when it mattered.
We all know the talent and footy smarts are there let’s hope it now clicks and he can be more involved and consistent. He is very frustrating at times but we finally saw him get it going in just a quarter .

01-07-2023, 06:02 PM
Wow.
I only followed scores and you guys, thanks!
It was a blast to follow you to this win.
That finish promises development of our game.
We will make finals, the question is: can we get better?

01-07-2023, 06:07 PM
Freo by 23

First Goal: Amiss

BOG: Fyfe.

Yeah, I?ve given up.

Lolz idiot.

01-07-2023, 06:10 PM
Just saw the result. I am at Koka Beach on the south coast of Flores. Isolated? No, the internet is very good all over Indonesia.

Sounds like Westy had a breakout game and Jamarra continues to shine with four - I'm happy. Go Dogs!

01-07-2023, 06:13 PM
Just saw the result. I am at Koka Beach on the south coast of Flores. Isolated? No, the internet is very good all over Indonesia.

Sounds like Westy had a breakout game and Jamarra continues to shine with four - I'm happy. Go Dogs!

Westy had 5 disposals in the last quarter after coming on as a sub

01-07-2023, 06:15 PM
Westy had 5 disposals in the last quarter after coming on as a sub

Yep, and 3 of those were really influential score involvements too. Must get in the 22 next week.

01-07-2023, 06:28 PM
What was wrong with Libba at the end? Not on for last ?10 minutes. Possibly on the bike.

01-07-2023, 06:43 PM
Great last quarter to really put the game beyond doubt after a relatively close 3 quarters on the scoreboard.

Jamarra is a great player. One of his best today. Libba just great and Bont important as ever. Treloar was good and West in the last did very well in contributing to that win.

We still have our defensive issues and will be tested there but played a great offensive game today kicking straight as well. The Pies will be a huge test next week back at Marvel.

01-07-2023, 06:48 PM
What was wrong with Libba at the end? Not on for last ?10 minutes. Possibly on the bike.

Corky apparently.

01-07-2023, 06:57 PM
Corky apparently.
Leather poisoning

01-07-2023, 07:03 PM
Corky apparently.

Hopefully he'll be ok.

01-07-2023, 07:23 PM
Claiming my near 3-year old daughter as our good luck charm!

She came in and watched the last quarter after a nap, and wanted a goal for herself, mummy, daddy, baby sister (yet to be born), Lola (pet dog), nanny and poppy. 7 goals seemed a stretch... Yet here we are!

01-07-2023, 07:27 PM

She came in and watched the last quarter after a nap, and wanted a goal for herself, mummy, daddy, baby sister (yet to be born), Lola (pet dog), nanny and poppy. 7 goals seemed a stretch... Yet here we are!

I wish I could like this twice!

01-07-2023, 07:57 PM

Well I can't see how you can spend the fourth quarter of every game in any other way from here on out to be honest.

01-07-2023, 07:58 PM

Thanks TBB. Up there for post of the year. Bank up on sleep before number 2 bubs.

01-07-2023, 08:30 PM

Great content TBB!

01-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Thoughts on Poulter and JOD?

01-07-2023, 08:53 PM
Thoughts on Poulter and JOD?

Poulter showed some clear ability at the level like he had in the past. Was a good return to senior AFL football. One kick in particular got the ball behind the Freo defence to an extent we rarely see and I hope we don't drill that penetration out of him.

JOD really stepped up at times. Used the ball well for the most part, and didn't get burnt by decision making with and without the footy, ultimately defending quite well.

01-07-2023, 09:04 PM
Poulter showed some clear ability at the level like he had in the past. Was a good return to senior AFL football. One kick in particular got the ball behind the Freo defence to an extent we rarely see and I hope we don't drill that penetration out of him.

JOD really stepped up at times. Used the ball well for the most part, and didn't get burnt by decision making with and without the footy, ultimately defending quite well.

Thanks.

Who would you pick out of Poulter and Baker?

01-07-2023, 09:09 PM
Thanks.

Who would you pick out of Poulter and Baker?

Oddly there were times that I thought we lacked the pace/ run Baker brings, but Poulter probably has a better first touch. I think we go with Poulter for a couple of weeks and assess it.

01-07-2023, 09:17 PM
Purely personal note - I had an amazingly enjoyable day at the footy today. Came down with my sister who unfortunately turned to the dark side (Geelong) years ago but still has a special place in her heart for the dogs. My old man pulled out and the kids had a birthday party to go to so thanks to her for saving the day. Had great discussions with bulldogs and dockers alike. How good is footy!

01-07-2023, 09:18 PM
Purely personal note - I had an amazingly enjoyable day at the footy today. Came down with my sister who unfortunately turned to the dark side (Geelong) years ago but still has a special place in her heart for the dogs. My old man pulled out and the kids had a birthday party to go to so thanks to her for saving the day. Had great discussions with bulldogs and dockers alike. How good is footy!

Quality.

02-07-2023, 01:25 AM
Had a good night out at the Railway Hotel in Yarraville. Saw a few Doggies fans there :) Love the 1954 VFL flag.

https://i.postimg.cc/p9bGt7y0/IMG-5570.jpg (https://postimg.cc/p9bGt7y0)

02-07-2023, 01:34 AM
three Calebs and Three Baileys played today

02-07-2023, 02:32 AM
I watched the game from a corporate box, not my jam though, prefer to sit on L3 Bay 18 like I have for a hundred years, but it was closed today.

Jamarra and West and Dale were the players to fanned so,e e,bears of hope in me today.

Again, I don’t think I’ve come away from the game learning anything about this what the team is capable of. On our day we can beat anyone and on form, I think we should be expecting to roll a team like Freo (who are also a capable team).

It was nice to pile on the goals for a stretch, instead of watch hopelessly as our opponents do it to us.

02-07-2023, 08:43 AM
Anyone else notice Freo were warming up at the Footscray end?
Bob was standing in the goal square wonder if he was being cheeky.

02-07-2023, 08:50 AM
Anyone else notice Freo were warming up at the Footscray end?
Bob was standing in the goal square wonder if he was being cheeky.

a rascal?

02-07-2023, 09:00 AM
a rascal?

Ha yes!

02-07-2023, 11:28 AM
Defended well in the second half. First half we gave up some soft goals but thankfully we came out in the second half & were fully committed to the cause.
Great to see Westy come on & have a big impact. The kid has a lot of natural ability that could really improve us as a side but feel he tries to do too much at times.
JOD was good, showed some good signs.
A lot of improvement needed though.

02-07-2023, 02:13 PM
What is everyones opinion on how Vandermeer is performing?

02-07-2023, 03:28 PM

Imo he is currently a passenger along with a few others. When Richards and JJ return i suspect he is VFL.

02-07-2023, 03:48 PM
Imo he is currently a passenger along with a few others. When Richards and JJ return i suspect he is VFL.
Thought he was ok but he does need to make way for Richards as soon as Ed is cleared to play

02-07-2023, 05:29 PM
I think he's a pretty good back-up rebounding defender. Clearly behind Ed & JJ for the role which is no shame to anyone

02-07-2023, 07:43 PM

It's the only chance of him becoming an AFL player, I think he has been serviceable so far. Since we have already extended his contract, lets give him every chance of making the grade by playing him in the same role at both levels.

02-07-2023, 07:52 PM

He'll play the role McNiel and a few others are playing in the forward half once the others return.

Calling him a passenger is really harsh BTW, he's never played his current role at the highest level and isn't falling to pieces whilst enabling Dale to play a more running game.

02-07-2023, 09:44 PM

Just serviceable for me. Not getting any offensive drive from him but not making any obvious defensive errors. He's still learning the role i think.

02-07-2023, 09:52 PM

The way I see it is he is doing ok. Guaranteed if he wasn?t this board would be all over him.

02-07-2023, 10:29 PM
The way I see it is he is doing ok. Guaranteed if he wasn?t this board would be all over him.

I'm okay keeping him on and if he stays injury free his best footy is still in front of him.

03-07-2023, 05:10 PM
Coaches Votes

10 Marra
7 Serong
4 Libba
3 Dale
2 Bont
2 Darcy
1 Cox
1 Macrae

So one coach

5 Marra
4 Serong
3 Dale
2 Bont
1 Cox

Other coach

5 Marra
4 Libba
3 Serong
2 Darcy
1 Macrae

So Bont had 27 touches. 6 marks. 1 goal. 9 Clearances. 5 centre clearances. 6 Tackles. 512m gained. Only a single coach can fit him in their best five on the ground?

I thought Serong was clearly close to BOG. 38 touches at 82% efficiency with 18 contested touches and 10 clearances.

03-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Probably the coach who wants to give encouragement to the guy who hung off him most of the day?

03-07-2023, 05:38 PM
I thought some woofers had Liam Henry near BOG? No votes from either coach?

03-07-2023, 05:52 PM

I think his two moments in the last would have excluded him.

However, I don't put the dropped mark on him. Sure he was a bit casual, but it was a shit kick to an easy target.

He's still only young and credit to him for getting his hands on it.

03-07-2023, 06:17 PM

He was very good. Strange. Coaches have different expectations.

03-07-2023, 06:56 PM
He was very good. Strange. Coaches have different expectations.

Coaches have input on trade ideas too. Hopefully Bevo stays true to form. Watching the Kayo mini, not only gifted the goal to Williams but also two turnovers under pressure/perceived pressure directly led to I50’s and goal to Bont & Marra. In a see sawing game at the time, personally handing over three goals is a red flag.

Also had a career best for turnovers and his opponent had 5 score involvements (plus a GA) to his 6 (plus a GA). Lots of outside uncontested possessions, that didn’t hurt us more than his opponent did to do with SI, while simultaneously handing us three crucial goals. I guess I’m not convinced he’s the guy we need to trade for.

03-07-2023, 07:06 PM
I don't put the Williams goal on him. It was an awkward ball that shouldn't have been.

He probably got his career high turnovers because he got career high disposals.......

03-07-2023, 07:10 PM
I don't put the Williams goal on him. It was an awkward ball that shouldn't have been.

He probably got his career high turnovers because he got career high disposals.......

Guy was also used as the pressure release valve down back. Pretty consistently got them out of the D50 when they were struggling. Not a surprise he might make the occasional mistake (like Dale and Daniel do)

03-07-2023, 07:14 PM
Guy was also used as the pressure release valve down back. Pretty consistently got them out of the D50 when they were struggling. Not a surprise he might make the occasional mistake (like Dale and Daniel do)

BTs running a trade agenda that we're not quite aware of yet so he's starting a malicious anti-Liam Henry campaign to enable it.

03-07-2023, 07:15 PM

You’re generous in your old age.

03-07-2023, 07:17 PM
BTs running a trade agenda that we're not quite aware of yet so he's starting a malicious anti-Liam Henry campaign to enable it.

Don’t you dare Dunkley this for me. :D

Let him go to St Kilda.

03-07-2023, 10:49 PM

No disrespect to Henry, it wont help any clubs trade currency if his votes go up

Freo votes, his trade currency goes up and he may demand more or
Rival clubs will increase their counter offer

Freo are threatening to fall off a cliff sooner than later

They would not want to pay someone 600k+who has only played a handful of decent games , high risk paying someone on potential

04-07-2023, 12:25 AM
No disrespect to Henry, it wont help any clubs trade currency if his votes go up

Freo votes, his rrade currency goes up and he may demand more or
Rival clubs will increase their counter offer

Freo are threatening to fall off a cliff soonee than later

They would not want to pay someone 600k+who has only played a handful of decent games , high risk paying someone on potential

All teams pay on potential .. Tom Boyd was paid over a million 7 years ago after only a season and even though he helped us win a flag in reality he never really lived up to his potential .

04-07-2023, 12:43 AM
All teams pay on potential .. Tom Boyd was paid over a million 7 years ago after only a season and even though he helped us win a flag in reality he never really lived up to his potential .

Respectfully disagree. Tom Boyd was the potential match winner who strongly contributed match winning performances in consecutive finals matches.

That was his potential achieved. He was just a meteor and not a long term star.

04-07-2023, 01:06 AM
Respectfully disagree. Tom Boyd was the potential match winner who strongly contributed match winning performances in consecutive finals matches.

Best however millions we ever spent.

04-07-2023, 01:06 AM

He was on a 7 year contract so the long term star was expected it didn’t eventuate. Thus he never lived up to his potential.
Believe me I am forever grateful of what happened but another 5 years didn't happen. He probably gave us one year all up. We would never have taken him if we knew he would only be good for a year then ride into the sunset.
Much the same as JHF one year at Nth and paid on potential . He will put in a lot more good games than Boyd did. All teams play big money on one or two players on potential.
Going back to Henry he looks good but I think we need to wait to see if he is consistent for a whole year . Is he a big game highlights player we just don’t know yet. Wouldn’t be throwing the kitchen sink at him just yet .

04-07-2023, 01:18 AM
@ledge, @1eye @BJ
you are all correct

the thing with Tom Boyd it was high risk, crazy money at the time. But it was worth EVERY single dollar as we got a premiership.
Would any club be prepared to risk paying $7 million for a premiership? in hindsight for us it paid off, and even less, as Tom had graciousness and generosity to quit his contract. So it paid off twice in some ways for us, and cost us less than $7 million.

We were lucky, Tom finding form and/or playing through injuries was one of the many stars that lined up for us for the finals run and the great GF day.

it was the most amazing day of football I have ever watched... worth every dollar we paid for Tom.

04-07-2023, 10:53 AM
Boyd can be both absolutely worth it and a complete failure of a contract.

He played maybe 5 genuinely good games his whole time with us, luckily half of them were in a certain finals series. A bit of the Josh BRuce goals about it, but if you exclude the Prelim and GF Boyd might be the biggest failure of a huge contract ever. Of course if you include them (which we should) then he is worth all of it.

04-07-2023, 10:57 AM

He played maybe 5 genuinely good games his whole time with us, luckily half of them were in a certain finals series. A bit of the Josh BRuce goals about it, but if you exclude the Prelim and GF Boyd might be the biggest failure of a huge contract ever. Of course if you include them (which we should) then he is worth all of it.

But, what you forget is the big guys mature late, so he was no where near his peak. He was a kid playing in the Grand final and all the other years. He is now 27 years old. Of course we don't know if he would have improved her not, but he showed ability.

04-07-2023, 11:08 AM

True. Two opposite things can be true at the same time. The silver lining if we need to go over it all again, is that Boyd ended his contract and didn’t suck us dry for years playing VFL on and off. Allowing that money to be used elsewhere. Beyond that, he literally handed back over a million dollars (as we front loaded him a bit) and that money/salary cap used elsewhere too.

Now he had to be his rookie contract in his first year. So let’s say he actually cost us the 3 years at $3M for the duration. The club got $1.2M for winning the flag (prize money). No doubt the club sold enough merchandise and got sponsors off the back of the premiership too. Worth millions.

Worst case, we broke even in recruiting Tom Boyd financially.
Best case, we actually money in the short and long term recruiting Tom Boyd.

We don’t win the flag without him. But because of his honesty to retire, to forgo his contract and to literally hand back a million bucks, the full picture (to me at least) is that he saved the club any negative contract blow back. So I don’t see it as a bust, but that’s because of the young man he was and is. He didn’t play 200 games. But he gave us the cash to secure Keath & Bruce which took us to another GF and but for a last second ACL injury to Bruce vs Essendon, who knows if Boyd could’ve delivered us a second flag.

Personally, I don’t think Tom Boyd gets enough credit for not being a Jared Polec type cash sucker in the VFL, who gave us the salary cap to chase and nearly get a second flag with what could’ve been his salary. That to me is his other enduring legacy to the club.

04-07-2023, 11:30 AM
But, what you forget is the big guys mature late, so he was no where near his peak. He was a kid playing in the Grand final and all the other years. He is now 27 years old. Of course we don't know if he would have improved her not, but he showed ability.

Two things.

I think it would be hard to find many people who were convinced he would actually get there. We signed him to be a gun key forward and yet his most reliable contribution was as a solid ruck and rarely did he ever look like he was gonna take that next step forward. You could see early with guys like Jamarra and even Naughton forward that they had "it" and just needed time, i think Boyd almost never showed that aside from the GF.

But mainly you can't argue the contract would have been a success if it wasn't a failure. It is a success because of the flag, but without that it is an abject failure, even though there was a possibility that it wasn't going to be.

04-07-2023, 12:14 PM
Basically we signed him on potential for 7 years and without the premiership he gave us about 10 good games. The premiership year saved his career as being a failure. My point is every club buys players on potential. in fact every player is contracted on potential of what is thought they can bring to a club in future years .
Henry looks like an accumulater and is doing it in a mediocre team. I don’t think he will be a complete failure but can he produce moments and be damaging or is he another Lewis Taylor ? Is he worth the extra money to pry him out of a club.

04-07-2023, 11:41 PM
Is it a bad contract if someone has a bad back and depression?

05-07-2023, 12:57 AM

So he's worth all of it is what you're saying?

D Mitchell
05-07-2023, 01:51 AM
Tom should have won the Norm Smith. How Footscray was that ? Big game on the big day.

05-07-2023, 01:58 AM
Tom should have won the Norm Smith. How Footscray was that ? Big game on the big day.

Agree TBoyd or Bont should have won the norm smith. Tory and Liam’s GF also pretty good.

05-07-2023, 03:56 PM
Tom Boyd's story is, in itself, very fitting of our club.

Huge potential, didn't really put it together consistently, but somehow did when it counted most in spectacular fashion, before soon after vanishing.

Amazing what 2-games did for his legacy. It made the contract worth it, it made the gamble worth it. If those 2 games were during the H&A and we didn't win the flag, he'd be looked at as the biggest failure we've brought in during my time alive.

To bring another sport into it, he's basically the opposite of James Harden. That guy's long and decorated career in the NBA will put him into the HOF, and yet he hasn't won a ring and has routinely choked when it's mattered most.

05-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Tom Boyd's story is, in itself, very fitting of our club.

Huge potential, didn't really put it together consistently, but somehow did when it counted most in spectacular fashion, before soon after vanishing.

Amazing what 2-games did for his legacy. It made the contract worth it, it made the gamble worth it. If those 2 games were during the H&A and we didn't win the flag, he'd be looked at as the biggest failure we've brought in during my time alive.

To bring another sport into it, he's basically the opposite of James Harden. That guy's long and decorated career in the NBA will put him into the HOF, and yet he hasn't won a ring and has routinely choked when it's mattered most.

As pointed out by Jeemak, shame he had Mental Health issues and a stuffed back, as I think we never saw his full potential.

I will take the Premiership for the dollars paid.

05-07-2023, 05:21 PM

That is exactly what I'm saying.