View Full Version : WB Game Day V Collingwood R17 2023 Fri 7/7, 7:50PM - Marvel Stadium

12-06-2023, 11:53 PM
Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

06-07-2023, 12:15 PM
Margin: Dogs by 1 point in a classic

First goal: AstroNaught to get us going

Best on ground: Libba to have a great game

06-07-2023, 12:17 PM
Me vs my Pies supporting brother.

06-07-2023, 01:05 PM
Dogs by 11
First Goal: Weightman
BOG: Libba

Can we crack 50,000 at Marvel?

06-07-2023, 01:45 PM
First game of the year. GF got tickets from someone at work who can't make it. Turns out they're Medallion Club tickets on level 2 +parking.

06-07-2023, 02:01 PM
First game of the year. GF got tickets from someone at work who can't make it. Turns out they're Medallion Club tickets on level 2 +parking.

I hope that's not your only win tomorrow.

06-07-2023, 02:06 PM
Parking at Marvel sold out now. Secured my parking last week when it became available on the portal. I'll predict will get a crowd high 40K but 50K would be amazing for our home game.

06-07-2023, 02:07 PM
Parking at Marvel sold out now. Secured my parking last week when it became available on the portal. I'll predict will get a crowd high 40K but 50K would be amazing for our home game.

Game is Officially sold out, so will depend on whether reserved seat holders show up.

06-07-2023, 02:09 PM
Game is Officially sold out, so will depend on whether reserved seat holders show up.

Yep that's right. Only standing room tickets available. My reserve seat Level 1 Aisle 34 Silver. I reckon it will be nearly all full for this one but will see.

06-07-2023, 02:14 PM
Pies by 54

First Goal: De Goey

BOG: Daicos

Yeah I've still given up.

06-07-2023, 02:19 PM
I hope that's not your only win tomorrow.

I think we lost the only game I went to last year (Freo). Unless I went the GWS game the week after and am struggling to remember it because it was very dull

06-07-2023, 02:24 PM
Yep that's right. Only standing room tickets available. My reserve seat Level 1 Aisle 34 Silver. I reckon it will be nearly all full for this one but will see.

I don't believe there are standing room tickets:

From Marvel Stradium:

Friday night’s match between Western Bulldogs and Collingwood at Marvel Stadium is now SOLD OUT.Club GA members with entitlements still have access to the match and can scan in.As all seats have been exhausted, there are no tickets available for the Kids Go Free promotion.

06-07-2023, 03:50 PM
Dogs by 17
First goal Marra
BOG Bont

06-07-2023, 03:51 PM
https://youtu.be/nn9zTB1fzQ4

06-07-2023, 05:27 PM
Pies by 54

First Goal: De Goey

BOG: Daicos

Yeah I've still given up.

Look to the avatar RELOAD... Look to the avatar!

06-07-2023, 05:31 PM
OK - Whilst i'm here can I just say EasternWest is one of the greats on here and I COMPLETELY over-reacted the other night.

Let me just create this paradigm for all woofers.

I'm an EWOK, EW is C3P0.

Personal stuff blah blah I shouldn't log in when in a bad headspace.

MEA Culpa. Scusa.

06-07-2023, 07:15 PM
OK - Whilst i'm here can I just say EasternWest is one of the greats on here and I COMPLETELY over-reacted the other night.

Let me just create this paradigm for all woofers.

I'm an EWOK, EW is C3P0.

Personal stuff blah blah I shouldn't log in when in a bad headspace.

MEA Culpa. Scusa.

Shucks.

Right back atcha. No apologies necessary, we're all riding the roller coaster of life.

It's easy for me - I actually love everyone on here so I don't need to acknowledge their greatness. They're all great.

06-07-2023, 08:44 PM
Shucks.

Right back atcha. No apologies necessary, we're all riding the roller coaster of life.

It's easy for me - I actually love everyone on here so I don't need to acknowledge their greatness. They're all great.

https://i.postimg.cc/XYJyL0r3/c3po-god-with-ewoks-in-star-wars-return-of-the-jedi.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

06-07-2023, 08:55 PM
When you look at Collingwood's named side it doesn't exactly jump out on paper as a scary team. I'm probably more upbeat about this game than I have been for a while... Which typically then results in disappointment.

Having said all that, names on a paper are only that and there's no denying they're rock solid as a team.

Pies by 16
BOG Treloar
FG Weightman

06-07-2023, 09:13 PM
Dogs by 9 points

BOG Treloar
1st goal West

07-07-2023, 11:52 AM

I'm an EWOK, EW is C3P0.

Surely not, Ewoks are sooooo cute

Anyway, tonight is the first time I will miss the 'Doggies live on TV, so I will just have to trust that the rest of you can get us over the line.

'Dogs by the usual five points (Don't let me down here)
BOG: Treloar
FG: Marra

07-07-2023, 12:56 PM
Dogs by 28 points
BOG: Bont
FG: Flea

07-07-2023, 01:22 PM
Excited for tonight. Friday night. Sell out. Massive game between two potential contenders. It doesn't happen that often. Looking forward to seeing how we handle the heat.

Dogs by 3
BOG Treloar
FG Marra

07-07-2023, 01:27 PM
mjp was right and we'll win this game by 19

Bont BOG
Weightman first goal

07-07-2023, 04:19 PM

Bont BOG
Weightman first goal
Didn?t we win by 10 goals last year. Have Collingwood really improved by that much? I think you are too conservative.

07-07-2023, 04:33 PM
Didn?t we win by 10 goals last year. Have Collingwood really improved by that much? I think you are too conservative.

Alright you've inspired me Dogs by 80.

07-07-2023, 04:46 PM
Alright you've inspired me Dogs by 80.

This game is so big even my Canberra colleagues mentioned it in meetings.
According to the Canberrans - the Pies cant play Marvel so put it in the bank.

07-07-2023, 04:55 PM
This game is so big even my Canberra colleagues mentioned it in meetings.
According to the Canberrans - the Pies cant play Marvel so put it in the bank.

Alright 90.

07-07-2023, 05:01 PM
Dogs by 16 points.
Naughton with the first goal
Dale BOG

07-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Alright 90.

It's nice to finally get a soft match up so we can make up some percentage.

That "career best" thread is going to have more posts in it than this Game Day one.

07-07-2023, 05:32 PM
Dogs by 38
FG Libba
Marra with 5
Libba 30 touches
Bont 25 touches
AFL world on notice!

07-07-2023, 05:35 PM
Dogs by 38
FG Libba
Marra with 5
Libba 30 touches
Bont 25 touches
AFL world on notice!

Love it. I've got a pep in my step for this one.

Funke disco
07-07-2023, 05:39 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG - Bont
First goal West

07-07-2023, 05:43 PM
Even with Mihocek out I still think their fwds will give our backs a headache.
De Goey back could do anything, and Johnson could easily kick 5 taking marks over our backs. N Daicos won?t be tagged and will do as he pleases and will get them out of defence with ease. We kicked 15.5 last week. Im expecting a shocker this week.
To be a chance we need to be within a goal at HT, however, if they come out of the blocks, this game could be over at qtr time, especially if they have a 4-5 goal lead at quarter time.

If im honest, I just can?t see how we go with them. Hope im wrong and we at least make a game of it.

But?..

Coll by 42 points
1st goal - Weightman
Bog - Libba

07-07-2023, 05:48 PM
Dogs by 46
First Goal: Treloar
BOG: Dale

We all know the Pies usually get up in close fought tussles. Tonight will be a different story. We will break this game wide open and rip them apart. There will be no magical comeback. There will be no Jamie Elliott kick from a tight angle getting them over the line and there will be no end to end goal with < 20 seconds on the clock. The Pies are already in September mode thinking about their top of the table clash with Port. Tonight they will be our bunnies.

Enjoy the game.

07-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Even with Mihocek out I still think their fwds will give our backs a headache.
De Goey back could do anything, and Johnson could easily kick 5 taking marks over our backs. N Daicos won?t be tagged and will do as he pleases and will get them out of defence with ease. We kicked 15.5 last week. Im expecting a shocker this week.
To be a chance we need to be within a goal at HT, however, if they come out of the blocks, this game could be over at qtr time, especially if they have a 4-5 goal lead at quarter time.

If im honest, I just can?t see how we go with them. Hope im wrong and we at least make a game of it.

But?..

Coll by 42 points
1st goal - Weightman
Bog - Libba

If you had have picked us I would have been really worried!

07-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Been fascinating pondering how we might respond to elevated expectations, both internally and beyond, then cue a litmus test against the ladder leaders under Friday night lights ...

What could possibly go wrong?

07-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Been fascinating pondering how we might respond to elevated expectations, both internally and beyond, then cue a litmus test against the ladder leaders under Friday night lights ...

Mids have to turn up. There's no question on the Pies engine room turning in a shift.

07-07-2023, 07:11 PM
Dogs by 3X.
FG English
BOG Bont.

07-07-2023, 07:16 PM

Keath could do feww stupid things.....we could lose.. don't go there..
Be positive of your faith.

07-07-2023, 07:37 PM
Confidence levels rising.

Dogs by 27
First goal Naughts
BOG Treloar

07-07-2023, 07:38 PM
Libba is out there…

07-07-2023, 08:02 PM
Libba is out there…
Was there an issue

07-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Was there an issue

Yeah finished last week with a corky.

07-07-2023, 08:22 PM
Libba is out there…

With padding. I recon it’s on the wrong leg as well

07-07-2023, 08:40 PM
I feel good about this one which is rare for me. Few outs, Marvel stadium, I feel confident. I apologise if it goes to crap. :D

07-07-2023, 08:45 PM
I feel good about this one which is rare for me. Few outs, Marvel stadium, I feel confident. I apologise if it goes to crap. :D

Don't worry mate, it's the game day thread and this is a narc free zone.

07-07-2023, 08:47 PM
I don't want deep voiced intro guy to die, but I wouldn't mind if he went away and never came back.

07-07-2023, 08:49 PM
Restricted to watching Ch7 coverage and the pre-game has me thinking Collingwood are playing Collingwood as nothing else mentioned

07-07-2023, 08:53 PM

Bont BOG
Weightman first goal

Now we just gotta win by 19, 80 or 90 and Bont BOG and I'm a genius.

07-07-2023, 08:59 PM
It's a shame we wasted a high pick on Weightman.

07-07-2023, 09:00 PM
We're leading to the boundary line I think to avoid quick turnovers from our forward line.

07-07-2023, 09:11 PM
Loving everything except Baz he looks a bit off.

Cmon Baz.

07-07-2023, 09:12 PM
Keath. WTF.

07-07-2023, 09:13 PM
No advantage there.

07-07-2023, 09:15 PM
They're getting away from us now. Looking fitter and faster.

07-07-2023, 09:21 PM
We shopped early

We owned the first 12 minutes and they owned the balance. Let's hope we can get off to a fast start in the 2nd Q

They're getting away from us now. Looking fitter and faster.

We haven't looked like scoring a goal since Naughton missed.

07-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Tell me about Poulterds brain fade?

07-07-2023, 09:22 PM
Both Baz and JUH look out of sorts tonight. If they click into gear and we maintain the rage. We win

07-07-2023, 09:23 PM

Very odd.

Good quarter, Collingwood are a good side clearly and are always going to have their moments so to only give up 1 goal is a great defensive effort.

Treloar needs to do a lot more, has been very poor.

07-07-2023, 09:23 PM

Forgot who he was playing for.

At least he worked it out in time!

07-07-2023, 09:24 PM
Intriguing first quarter. We started on fire, but Collingwood adjusted and were in control albeit failed to take advantage with some poor goalkicking.
Hopefully we can reset at quarter time.

07-07-2023, 09:39 PM
Bailey Smith is taking the piss at the moment… just doesn’t want to work defensively.

English's softness drives me insane.

If he was as tough as he should be for his size we'd be a much much better team.

That's crap on the goal line. Undone a lot of good work.

07-07-2023, 09:41 PM
Rhylee West is doing alright tonight.

07-07-2023, 09:43 PM
This is outstanding football.

JUH is becoming something alright.

When we get it in quick our forwards are finding lots of space.

07-07-2023, 09:44 PM
Mids once again giving an easy one up

Who was on De Goey?

07-07-2023, 09:44 PM
That's crap on the goal line. Undone a lot of good work.

If they had gone for a score review...could they have all called it touched? Felt like English got a touch and then Johnson marked it over the line.

07-07-2023, 09:45 PM
Mids once again giving an easy one up

We had won the previous 9 clearances. I think the defenders gave up the easy one.

07-07-2023, 09:46 PM
We had won the previous 9 clearances. I think the defenders gave up the easy one.

God no. No one manned up de goey. He took it 5m clear an ran out under no pressure. Defenders can't do much under that pressure.

07-07-2023, 09:47 PM
If they had gone for a score review...could they have all called it touched? Felt like English got a touch and then Johnson marked it over the line.

Maybe but if it was the other way around I'd be spewing if that wasn't paid a mark.

07-07-2023, 09:48 PM
Shame that McNeil missed after a great pass from Marra

07-07-2023, 09:49 PM
McNeil involved a lot tonight.

Pace on the game suits him.

Marra is somehting else.

07-07-2023, 09:49 PM
JUH is becoming something alright.

He's some kind of player.

07-07-2023, 09:51 PM
Shame that McNeil missed after a great pass from Marra

its not good enough. he has to kick those

07-07-2023, 09:54 PM
That hurts.

07-07-2023, 09:54 PM
For all our good play we're only 11 up

07-07-2023, 09:55 PM
Should have been deliberate on Pendlebury too btw

07-07-2023, 09:56 PM
Elliot dangerous.

Duryea getting pantsed.

07-07-2023, 09:56 PM
Doc is getting exposed badly.. happy to swap him out for Scott.

07-07-2023, 09:57 PM
Not sure we can sustain this level. They'll get us in the 2nd half.

07-07-2023, 09:57 PM
its not good enough. he has to kick those

Yep.. that’s a rubbish miss from McNeil.

07-07-2023, 09:58 PM
We are done now. Had our run, those past two goals we have stopped.

Little bit of panic set in to end that quarter, incredible display from Marra but gee he needs to finish better

You want your opponent to play well in the contest.

07-07-2023, 09:59 PM
Cracking game of football and going toe to toe with the best.

Just need to be nailing our chances and we're a fair chance to win this

07-07-2023, 10:00 PM
Not sure why there's any negative talk. Collingwood are bloody good .

Duryea needs to be changed though. He can't go with him.

Weightman has to be better and not be outmarked, whilst English's ruck work continues to flat out suck.

Marra is giving them major headaches.

Boots
Geez our forward line looks good. Wonder if it’s finally clicked. Gardner in particular playing a great game, Keath looking good apart from that weird almost 50.

gotta say even if we lose we’re looking scary.

Great half of footy. We played sensational. Collingwood are always going to hit back. Just need a few to lift in the 2nd half - Bont, Treloar, Smith and Lobb

Those misses to McNeil and Marra before they kicked those last two goals just absolutely kill you. Same stuff every week. We take those chances and we have the ascendancy. Sliding door moments.

07-07-2023, 10:01 PM
Those two Elliott goals came from two really poor chases from VDM

Well, we’re ahead at half time, and at least siren stopped Pies momentum. If we can stick those tackles we are still in it. Go Dogs!!

If a few of our players lift and we can hold Daicos and Elliot….

Our delivery into F50 much better today. Let’s hope we keep it for rest of season.

Not sure why there's any negative talk. Collingwood are bloody good .

Duryea needs to be changed though. He can't go with him.

Weightman has to be better and not be outmarked, whilst English's ruck work continues to flat out suck.

Marra is giving them major headaches.

Exactly- not much else we can do. Bloody good. Collingwood are damn good side. Look at that transition

07-07-2023, 10:02 PM
Both Baz and JUH look out of sorts tonight. If they click into gear and we maintain the rage. We win

Marra looks great. I reckon Adz is down though.

07-07-2023, 10:03 PM
Those two Elliott goals came from two really poor chases from VDM

JUH out of sorts? Really. 2 goals and some sensational marks.

They're a bit fitter than us and are finishing quarters stronger

What can we do with Baz? 5 touches and looks out of sorts.

Duryea is being destroyed by Elliot. McNeil again manages to miss from 30m out directly in front, at least he is consistent :(

Those misses to McNeil and Marra before they kicked those last two goals just absolutely kill you. Same stuff every week. We take those chances and we have the ascendancy. Sliding door moments.

About to type the same thing. My son celebrated when McNeil took that mark, I knew he'd miss. Poor kid has a lot to learn.

07-07-2023, 10:05 PM
Exactly- not much else we can do. Bloody good. Collingwood are damn good side. Look at that transition
Hard to stop the on the transition. Some great running from their small backs/ wings.

Need Bont to fire up

07-07-2023, 10:05 PM
Have noticed Jamarra is quite vocal with directing the structure when he?s at full forward.

That was a terrible effort from Vandermeer when Daicos delivered that ball to Eliot just before half time. Instead of trailing him he pointed the finger and expected someone come up to meet him. They started together Laitham needed to follow him and at least provide implied pressure.

Easy out for JJ

07-07-2023, 10:06 PM
Caleb having an outstanding match I really like that move up the ground.

Bontempelli having a big second half would go along way to us staying in the lead.

Going at 30% efficiency for his ten touches.

I'd be tempted to give Baz a longer run on the ball too feel like it's his sort of game and his powerful running doesn't fade.

Great first half we can match it with anyone.

07-07-2023, 10:06 PM
What can we do with Baz? 5 touches and looks out of sorts.
I haven’t noticed has he attended Centre bounced

07-07-2023, 10:08 PM
I have noticed has he attended Centre bounced

No CBA’s and a case of the CBF!

07-07-2023, 10:08 PM
BT is a boorish lout. Barracking for Collingwood.

This has been an excellent effort so far. Need to keep taking the game on and moving the football quickly.

07-07-2023, 10:10 PM
Caleb should never play in defence again having a great year. Watching Marra live is a privilege, his endurance has improved significantly while strength and closing speed exceptional.

Mcsteal been ok I reckon. I’m guessing all woofers knew he was going to miss it.

Boots
07-07-2023, 10:11 PM
BT is a boorish lout. Barracking for Collingwood.

This has been an excellent effort so far. Need to keep taking the game on and moving the football quickly.

BT is an absolute blight on the game.

at least they’ve stopped mentioning Nick Daicos with every second breath.

07-07-2023, 10:12 PM
I haven’t noticed has he attended Centre bounced

No 0.

The coaches will be mulling over Duryea and Richards swapping.
However we lose Richards' drive is the problem.

I'm not sure what lever I'd pull. Duryea needs help however the way the pies play there isn't a lot of time to setup.

It's on the mids to defend well, it's hard though theyre a powerful running side.

07-07-2023, 10:14 PM
What has Lobb’s role been tonight? Hard to tell on the box.

07-07-2023, 10:15 PM
No 0.

The coaches will be mulling over Duryea and Richards swapping.
However we lose Richards' drive is the problem.

I'm not sure what lever I'd pull. Duryea needs help however the way the pies play there isn't a lot of time to setup.

It's on the mids to defend well, it's hard though theyre a powerful running side.

What about O’Donnell on Elliott. Seems quick off the mark

07-07-2023, 10:15 PM
What has Lobb’s role been tonight? Hard to tell on the box.

I think his ruck work has been competitive. Better than English. Not much around the ground but competing OK.

We should expect more though.

07-07-2023, 10:16 PM
On an unrelated note how's the sport tonight? Footy, Ashes, TDF and Wimbledon. Hoo boy.

07-07-2023, 10:17 PM

I noticed he picked him up a couple of times earlier. Would be have the endurance to go with him?

07-07-2023, 10:17 PM

Hmm. Might be worth a shot.

07-07-2023, 10:18 PM
Not much I would sub him off 1/2 thru the third

07-07-2023, 10:18 PM
We need a few players to have more impact - Bont, Libba, Baz come on down.

07-07-2023, 10:20 PM
I think his ruck work has been competitive. Better than English. Not much around the ground but competing OK.

We should expect more though.

We don’t seem to target him at all… especially I50.

Boots
07-07-2023, 10:23 PM
Marra is just a complete joy to watch

07-07-2023, 10:28 PM
Quaynor is becoming a factor.

The +1 and 5 forwards is playing into their hands.

Starting to worry now.

Get Baz on the ball.

07-07-2023, 10:29 PM
Marra is just a complete joy to watch

Except when he kicks for goal… which is the important part.

07-07-2023, 10:32 PM
Baz took 15 metres to decide he should chase Bobby Hill then. I'm ready for him to get dropped.

This is the most open I’ve EVER seen our fwd line. Gotta make it count. Their defenders are all playing like Zaine Cordy.

Except when he kicks for goal… which is the important part.

The stats show there is almost no point in him having a shot from outside 40.

07-07-2023, 10:33 PM
Have our guys never seen Collingwood play? If their half backs get the ball, they're gonna run. Don't stand there and watch them.

Boots
07-07-2023, 10:35 PM
I’m calling it now, we’re going to lose. But for once I don’t care. I’m loving every aspect of the way we’re playing. The forward line is finally clicking and the midfield are playing with real passion.

And sure our goal kicking is still bad, but weirdly I feel like fixing the forward line somehow makes up for that.

07-07-2023, 10:38 PM
Bont had 30 seconds he'd like back.

07-07-2023, 10:38 PM
Thats a killer from Ed.

07-07-2023, 10:39 PM
I’m calling it now, we’re going to lose. But for once I don’t care. I’m loving every aspect of the way we’re playing. The forward line is finally clicking and the midfield are playing with real passion.

And sure our goal kicking is still bad, but weirdly I feel like fixing the forward line somehow makes up for that.

I sort of agree and am sort of pissed off. Our best is good enough so FFS let's do it.

Bonts misses kill us every time.

Peter Daicos could become a wealthy man as an AFL player sire.

07-07-2023, 10:40 PM

Depends on how badly we fall away.

Our mids have really not played very well tonight except Caleb. Defensively starting to really drop off. I've seen this movie before against the good sides.

Game over now. We needed to be leading into the last to have a chance.

Good fight just not good enough.

I sort of agree and am sort of pissed off. Our best is good enough so FFS let's do it.

Our best is only on display for brief periods… and when its not we get opened up easily.

Boots
07-07-2023, 10:41 PM
Honestly the pies are fun to watch and really good. The shame is we won’t go above Melbourne on the ladder.

07-07-2023, 10:42 PM
I?m calling it now, we?re going to lose. But for once I don?t care. I?m loving every aspect of the way we?re playing. The forward line is finally clicking and the midfield are playing with real passion.

Our fwd line is clicking coz pies are playing off them, allowing plenty of space. Next week in syd it will be a congested long bomb mess as usual.

07-07-2023, 10:42 PM
Our best is only on display for brief periods… and when its not we get opened up easily.

I mean we always get opened up easily.i just accept that's the way it is. At our best we can open them up going the others way and that's what I'd like to see more of.

We're not gonna stop them, we don't stop anyone. So let's do them the way they do us.

07-07-2023, 10:43 PM
Do we have to see Peter Daicos every time Nick kicks a goal, yet we didn’t for Josh.

07-07-2023, 10:43 PM
jeemak firing up the trade Bailey Smith thread.

07-07-2023, 10:44 PM
This hasn’t gone to plan really. Maybe it’s time to sub Lobb off we need some run. Move smith to the wing and Poulter to the f50

07-07-2023, 10:44 PM
And there it is the 6 goals in a row and we stop.
This will be a hiding now .

07-07-2023, 10:45 PM
Really insipid effort from our mids this qtr.
No defensive work rate.

Boots
07-07-2023, 10:45 PM
And there it is the 6 goals in a row and we stop.
This will be a hiding now .

It was over before half time really. That’s when they started to play the way they wanted to.

07-07-2023, 10:47 PM
No defensive work rate.

Nailed it. When do we accept that sometimes we need to clamp down for a few minutes?

07-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Nick Daicos is something else.

What a player!

07-07-2023, 10:48 PM
Really deflating to see their stars nail chances only for our stars shit the bed.

Bont and Marra (who apparently can't make the distance from 40m anymore) I'm looking at you guys. Shit.

Pies just too good and too slick. We are slow to react.

jeemak firing up the trade Bailey Smith thread.

Count me in. Counterproductive to a point because we need young mids but I feel at times he's more of a distraction

07-07-2023, 10:49 PM
Again. They lifted. But we take our chances we hang tough with them. Miss chances again. Had control early in the quarter and just could not convert chances.

Bont running into open goal
Marra set shot
Bont in the goal square

We miss chances. They take 15% chances.

No defensive work rate.

Acting surprised by the forward pass for the fiftieth time of the quarter.......

Count me in. Counterproductive to a point because we need young mids but I feel at times he's more of a distraction
Nah we need to back him and get him back to form

And reality kicks in. We're nowhere near the elite of this comp, we put up a good fight and took it up to them for a half but it's just where we're at right now.

Daicos is incredible. Kinda sad watching him show up Bont, but he's honestly the best in the game now

07-07-2023, 10:50 PM
It was over before half time really. That’s when they started to play the way they wanted to.

Yep I said that in a previous post . You can pick it every game . It’s half way through the second to halfway through the 3rd we get opened up no matter who we play.
Until Bevo learns to stop when sides get run ons we will struggle to win more than one final .

This hasn’t gone to plan really. Maybe it’s time to sub Lobb off we need some run. Move smith to the wing and Poulter to the f50

This is an awesome Collingwood side. Theyve kicked 9 of the last 10 goals.

Yeah I'm with you. Why should we just grovel to Collingwood? Our list is good enough. I get we aren't....but we should be. There's no reason why we shouldn't be.

07-07-2023, 10:51 PM
Our leaders need to step up and pronto. Games can turn quickly but we have to MAKE it happen. Let's do it!

We need some fast mids. Take the game on and fire some hand balls and get forward movement. They are just too fast

We aren’t good enough. Fumbling and poor kicking. Add anything tiggy touch wood goes to them. Daicos is the umpires bitch.

Really deflating to see their stars nail chances only for our stars shit the bed.

Bont and Marra (who apparently can't make the distance from 40m anymore) I'm looking at you guys. Shit.

IF Marra kicked those 3 goals and Bonts nailed it, this run of 6 goals may not have occurred.

When are we going to wake up to fact that our goal kicking is going to cost us games ? Work on it in training will ya coaches ?

this is too painful to watch. The pies mids basically killed us in the last 7 mins of the 3rd quarter.

I don't really know what Bevo is going to do ? When we get opened up, after 2-3 goal misses we drop our bundle. We are reverting to the same old same old playbook.

Bomb long into the fwd line , ball drops , rebounds and they are off. Only the pies will run hard and kick accurately to score against any team.

07-07-2023, 10:52 PM
Nick Daicos is something else.

What a player!

He's great, but none of our mids even thought about playing tight on him at stoppages. Or our mids were completely flat footed and ball watching at 50/50 contests one play forward, and when Pies won possession n and hit go, our mids were not switched on at all.

07-07-2023, 10:52 PM

Bont's two misses were deflating.

07-07-2023, 10:54 PM
Any chance at all they’ll pay a throw against one of their players?

07-07-2023, 10:55 PM
Hey imagine having that guy.

(you all knew it was coming)

Bont's two misses were deflating.

Really poor game from Bont. Thank goodness its a rarity.

Weightman loses his footing way way too often

Looking at a shot chart and approximating 40m, Jamarra this year has kicked 4.10 with 10 complete misses from outside 40m. So so so many positives - but he needs to sort that out.

07-07-2023, 10:56 PM
Lipinski , the one one bloke who could not get a game in 2021 scroes first one outside of 50m in the 4th quarter

IF Marra kicked those 3 goals and Bonts nailed it, this run of 6 goals may not have occurred.

When are we going to wake up to fact that our goal kicking is going to cost us games ? Work on it in training will ya coaches ?

this is too painful to watch. The pies mids basically killed us in the last 7 mins of the 3rd quarter.

I don't really know what Bevo is going to do ? When we get opened up, after 2-3 goal misses we drop our bundle. We are reverting to the same old same old playbook.

Bomb long into the fwd line , ball drops , rebounds and they are off. Only the pies will run hard and kick accurately to score against any team.

Same old stuff killing us. I think a major reason for our poor goalkicking is the taxing game plan. The players are buggered from simply trying to get the ball forward.

I won't hold my breath anything changes. We're a good side. Just not great. I want to be great.

We really needed to take advantage of our chances. We didn’t

07-07-2023, 10:57 PM
Midfield has turned up its toes.

07-07-2023, 10:58 PM
I'm sorry, we aren't a good side.

We've battled hard and we're basically 40 points down.

Can someone say rebuild?

07-07-2023, 10:59 PM
Might flick over to the ashes now. Ben Stokes just got hit in the nuts, so that was pretty funny.

07-07-2023, 11:00 PM

Can someone say rebuild?

I have already…

07-07-2023, 11:00 PM

Can someone say rebuild?

Well ... yeah this is our ugly side. We give up VERY easily.

07-07-2023, 11:01 PM
I have already…

The rebuild can start by trading Smith. And if it weren't for our pathetic ruck stocks I'd want English out too.

07-07-2023, 11:03 PM
Might flick over to the ashes now. Ben Stokes just got hit in the nuts, so that was pretty funny.

I flicked over at half time. Had a feeling this would happen. If we kept at it then I'd have been happy enough to miss it. But we're predictable. Only time we've kept at it was against the blues and that's not hard to do.

07-07-2023, 11:04 PM
The rebuild can start by trading Smith. And if it weren't for our pathetic ruck stocks I'd want English out too.

EW & I have mentioned it. Haven’t had any support for it whatsoever.

07-07-2023, 11:06 PM
EW & I have mentioned it. Haven?t had any support for it whatsoever.

jeemak is getting a thread ready.

BT gets us guys in, jee gets them out.

I should say, I don't REALLY want to trade him, but i feel like he's treading water with us.

07-07-2023, 11:06 PM
At least we're not capitulating. But its too little too late.

07-07-2023, 11:08 PM
EW & I have mentioned it. Haven?t had any support for it whatsoever.

It's likely to be taken out of our hands, no intel but expecting him to want to sign elsewhere. (Talking about English)

07-07-2023, 11:09 PM
Fighting it out. Great to see

07-07-2023, 11:10 PM
Fighting it out. Great to see

Agree been a nice little ten minute patch.

07-07-2023, 11:11 PM
Have we been paid a single holding the ball free kick? It's unbelievable.

07-07-2023, 11:13 PM
I'm sorry but I don't see what McNeill offers the team. Low scoreboard impact, fumbles, runs around 5m off the pace.

07-07-2023, 11:15 PM
There must be a lot a people that just barrack for possessions. Bugger the game

Terrific flying finish from Poulter

Great finish Poulter.

Nice goal feom Poulter there!

07-07-2023, 11:16 PM
Terrific flying finish from Poulter

What a badoonka. He's done ok tonight too.

07-07-2023, 11:16 PM
I stopped watching. Poulter goal and was alright before

07-07-2023, 11:18 PM
What a badoonka. He's done ok tonight too.

Apart from running the wrong way in the 1st he's done very well.

07-07-2023, 11:21 PM
2 goals in a minute we can do it.

07-07-2023, 11:21 PM
Apart from running the wrong way in the 1st he's done very well.

Didn't go full Rodan.

07-07-2023, 11:22 PM
In my opinion a really solid examples of where we are at. Pretty good but just not good enough

07-07-2023, 11:23 PM
Caleb been every bit as good as Daicos tonight. They're quite similar actually.

Daicos' probably the better with a couple of important goals.

I stopped watching. Poulter goal and was alright before

Stop posting then.

In my opinion a really solid examples of where we are at. Pretty good but just not good enough

Yeah another frustrating example of our almost ability.

07-07-2023, 11:24 PM

Think we would have beat 16 other teams with that performance.

Meh. 2 goal loss felt more than that. We were found wanting when it was really up for grabs

You want your opponent to play well in the contest.
We made em respect us..
Look out next time.

Fantastic last quarter, didn't give up and had a real crack.

No shame in this loss.

07-07-2023, 11:25 PM
Now should I put on the cricket or watch "Roaming Brian".

Rhetorical question.

07-07-2023, 11:26 PM
Tough one.

When the game was there to be won the Pies were something like 87-30 from when we were up 0-19.

Had the same feel as the Suns game.

Respect for fighting it out though.

07-07-2023, 11:26 PM
Glad not to get smashed when it looked like it was on the cards, however, really shitty about our thirty to forty minutes of absenteeism and wastefulness. Can't do that against the good teams and again, this group lets itself down.

Three or so solid/ good quarters aren't enough and it really annoys me this group, and in particular its leadership, seems to have to learn that every few weeks.

07-07-2023, 11:27 PM
Fantastic last quarter, didn't give up and had a real crack.

No shame in this loss.

Agree with that. Disappointing that we could have played like that in the 3rd. We just froze. Once we take the game on we look really good. We just lack confidence to try.

07-07-2023, 11:28 PM
Glad not to get smashed when it looked like it was on the cards, however, really shitty about our thirty to forty minutes of absenteeism and wastefulness. Can't do that against the good teams and again, this group lets itself down.

Three or so solid/ good quarters aren't enough and it really annoys me this group, and in particular its leadership, seems to have to learn that every few weeks.

That is the annoying part. We can match the best but we just don’t do it for a whole 4 quarters

07-07-2023, 11:31 PM
That is the annoying part. We can match the best but we just don’t do it for a whole 4 quarters

Oh whoops, we did it again!

It just seemed flat immediately after half time, like the players carried the bad bits of the first half with them.

Stop being such pussies, get your chins up and keep fighting FFS.

07-07-2023, 11:34 PM
So we went by two goals to the best team this year. Sure they were good. They took their chances - and we didn?t. They were surer by hand than us and they kicked better to position. All their hack kicks landed favourably - not many of ours did.
So the conclusion is: we are not far off the pace. Go Dogs.

07-07-2023, 11:36 PM
It was great to see us outscore them in the last. I expected a blowout once they got 5 goals up. Our bottom 4 just don?t do enough or offer enough when the game is there to win.

07-07-2023, 11:37 PM
I love we didn't give up, but geez we just don't have the belief anymore to win against the top sides. To just hold firm and play 4 qtrs.
Since the GF debacle, we just always seem to have this alter ego filled with self doubt that always pops up just when we look like we're asserting ourselves. We need a game like we had against the Swans back in 2015 that really seemed to establish our self belief.

07-07-2023, 11:40 PM
I love we didn't give up, but geez we just don't have the belief anymore to win against the top sides. To just hold firm and play 4 qtrs.
Since the GF debacle, we just always seem to have this alter ego filled with self doubt that always pops up just when we look like we're asserting ourselves. We need a game like we had against the Swans back in 2015 that really seemed to establish our self belief.

Maybe it’s time to get rid of a bunch of 2021 GF players and hope a new psyche can emerge.

07-07-2023, 11:48 PM
I'm not sure how to feel about this. I'm not upset/angry and not disappointed either. Judging by players faces post game they feel the same way.

07-07-2023, 11:48 PM
Pretty flat for a 2 goals loss against the clear no 1 seed.

Our game plan seems to be obsolete against teams with leg speed and quick movement of the ball from D50 to F50. There's a sameness to our elite core of mids. Pies scored at will from stoppage and also from D50 transition, while everyone else is obsessed with repeat F50 entries and turnover goals.

Did well to save some percentage.

08-07-2023, 12:10 AM
Yuck.

We’re really good and we’re really stuck.

08-07-2023, 12:11 AM
A couple of really disappointing errors were very costly in the 3rd quarter. Ed once more gives a goal away and two pathetic umpiring decisions that allowed two goals - the Libba one and the so called chopping arms. Same thing happened to Jamarra but nothing.

We allowed them to get too far in front and it was hard to stop. Collingwood move the ball so quickly from one end to the other, it is hard to stop.

08-07-2023, 12:12 AM
I have to say thats the best we played all year, by a long way. Seems there was a clear direction to take the game on. Where has this been? We can play an attractive & aggressive style but we choose not to. I just hope we keep it up. Play like that and we'll get better at it & make fewer mistakes.
JUH is starting to flourish, his hands are money! If he can just sort out that kicking.
Good to see Westy out there the goal assist beast.
We can do alot better i think but this was a big step forward for me.

08-07-2023, 12:17 AM
I thought it was our best performance of the year from where I was sitting. Its the best our forward line has looked in a long time, there was actually space for Marra( got to love this kid!) Naughty and Cody to move.

Little surprised at the negativity to be honest and gotta make a shout out to CD, he should never play in defence again he is a jet mid forward.

08-07-2023, 12:46 AM
There was not much in that game.

Yes, they had a run of consecutive goals. That run started with a stone cold holding the ball that was not played in our forward pocket then probably one of the plays of the year with Beau McCreery keeping the ball in and running hard for them to go coast to coast. What was disappointing is that we had two chances to go four goals up. McNeil from directly in front 35m out. Marra with a more difficult but very much gettable shot. We miss two chances. They get us on the counter with a brilliant piece of play. It was the story of the night.

In the third quarter we had some great passages of play where we did wrestle back control but we could not take our chances. Two Bont misses, two Marra misses. They took their half chances. Two goals from free kicks from the pocket (both incredibly soft). But they kicked pressure goals. Nick Daicos from a set shot outside 50m. Nick Daicos with an impossible crumb and checkside. The other Daicos with a magnificent goal off one step from 50m. They hit half chances, we miss gettable ones. That is basically the game.

Then in the last quarter. Lippa goes back and slots a goal from outside 50m. These plays just put a dagger through your heart.

We had many moments where we had control. We won two quarters. We had more shots on goal. We had six more inside 50s.

So we lose a game by two goals to the best team in the comp. A game where we had our chances. They also played incredibly well when they got their chances on the transition. They are a good team. They are a very good team. We are not that far away.

08-07-2023, 12:50 AM
A couple of really disappointing errors were very costly in the 3rd quarter. Ed once more gives a goal away and two pathetic umpiring decisions that allowed two goals - the Libba one and the so called chopping arms. Same thing happened to Jamarra but nothing.

We allowed them to get too far in front and it was hard to stop. Collingwood move the ball so quickly from one end to the other, it is hard to stop.

That Marra no call in the last quarter was a disgrace. The Pies got the rub of the green for sure. There was a passage there in the third quarter where they got six free kicks in succession.

08-07-2023, 12:53 AM
Pretty flat for a 2 goals loss against the clear no 1 seed.

Our game plan seems to be obsolete against teams with leg speed and quick movement of the ball from D50 to F50. There's a sameness to our elite core of mids. Pies scored at will from stoppage and also from D50 transition, while everyone else is obsessed with repeat F50 entries and turnover goals.

Did well to save some percentage.

We kept them to only 45 inside 50ms. I thought we defended the ground pretty well. They were always going to have their chances. They take the game on. They run with dare. We did well in many moments to halt them and force them wide. We take our chances in the big moments and we win. The difference was they took their chances and owned them. We didn't.

08-07-2023, 12:55 AM
There was not much in that game.

Yes, they had a run of consecutive goals. That run started with a stone cold holding the ball that was not played in our forward pocket then probably one of the plays of the year with Beau McCreery keeping the ball in and running hard for them to go coast to coast. What was disappointing is that we had two chances to go four goals up. McNeil from directly in front 35m out. Marra with a more difficult but very much gettable shot. We miss two chances. They get us on the counter with a brilliant piece of play. It was the story of the night.

In the third quarter we had some great passages of play where we did wrestle back control but we could not take our chances. Two Bont misses, two Marra misses. They took their half chances. Two goals from free kicks from the pocket (both incredibly soft). But they kicked pressure goals. Nick Daicos from a set shot outside 50m. Nick Daicos with an impossible crumb and checkside. The other Daicos with a magnificent goal off one step from 50m. They hit half chances, we miss gettable ones. That is basically the game.

Then in the last quarter. Lippa goes back and slots a goal from outside 50m. These plays just put a dagger through your heart.

We had many moments where we had control. We won two quarters. We had more shots on goal. We had six more inside 50s.

So we lose a game by two goals to the best team in the comp. A game where we had our chances. They also played incredibly well when they got their chances on the transition. They are a good team. They are a very good team. We are not that far away.

That was massive that holding the ball. I think it was Weightman who laid that tackle. They did get the rub of the green i think but hard to be negative tonight. Seeing the boys play like that was like seeing a long lost friend. Where the hell ya been boys?

The pies retention of the ball under pressure was the biggest difference between the 2 sides.

08-07-2023, 12:56 AM
I'm not sure how to feel about this. I'm not upset/angry and not disappointed either. Judging by players faces post game they feel the same way.

I thought there were a number of positives in a game where we we well beaten.
I'm not upset in the slightest.

08-07-2023, 01:08 AM
Overall it was good game from us. We certainly took them on. Really solid first half. Our pressure rating was up.

Always expected the Pies to come and they did from the start of latter part of the 2nd quarter and really got away in the 3rd quarter.

To our credit we fought the game out in the last winning the final term but just didn't make the most of our opportunities.

Top 4 still a chance but will be tough. If we do play an elimination final be nice to play it at home.

08-07-2023, 01:12 AM
Bevo presser.

-The game lost in the moments from congestion to open space. We knew it would be a critical part of the game.

-Their ability to run the ball and create chains was the difference. We had large parts of the game where we able to contain them but we let them get away from us.

-Our forwards looked dangerous.

-From 12 centre clearances that we won, they won 10 straight back. We are normally better than that.

-Some things in the detail of the game. The mark Ash Johnson took on the line. We normally don't give them that. Then at the other end Darcy Moore marks it on the line to deny Marra. We should be able to shepherd that through.

-We dug in. We came back at them. But again, we squandered some opportunities in the last quarter.

-We played a great team, who have made a habit of winning no matter what. They were brilliant at times when it mattered.

-We feel like we are not that far away.

-Quantitively we looked OK if you look at the stat sheet, there was a lot of green for the Bulldogs, but qualitatively they were too good in many aspects.

-But ultimately it was those in tight moments that they got out with their leg speed that was the difference (Daicos, De Goey, Noble, Crisp, Hill, McCreery they have some quick players etc).

-Ryan is a bit banged up. We will need to look after him this week. He will be in some doubt for next week.

-Darcy. I saw the game. His first and last quarters were very strong. In the middle of the game he didn't have an impact. He hit the scoreboard. Whether he is ready we will need to weigh that up. He is an option to play down back, but key defenders need to play a lot of game time and he doesn't have a lot of match fitness. Brucy played OK and has some miles in the legs.

08-07-2023, 01:19 AM
Bevo presser.

-The game lost in the moments from congestion to open space. We knew it would be a critical part of the game.

-Their ability to run the ball and create chains was the difference. We had large parts of the game where we able to contain them but we let them get away from us.

-Our forwards looked dangerous.

-From 12 centre clearances that we won, they won 10 straight back. We are normally better than that.

-Some things in the detail of the game. The mark Ash Johnson took on the line. We normally don't give them that. Then at the other end Darcy Moore marks it on the line to deny Marra. We should be able to shepherd that through.

-We dug in. We came back at them. But again, we squandered some opportunities in the last quarter.

-We played a great team, who have made a habit of winning no matter what. They were brilliant at times when it mattered.

-We feel like we are not that far away.

-Quantitively we looked OK if you look at the stat sheet, there was a lot of green for the Bulldogs, but qualitatively they were too good in many aspects.

-But ultimately it was those in tight moments that they got out with their leg speed that was the difference (Daicos, De Goey, Noble, Crisp, Hill, McCreery they have some quick players etc).

-Ryan is a bit banged up. We will need to look after him this week. He will be in some doubt for next week.

-Darcy. I saw the game. His first and last quarters were very strong. In the middle of the game he didn't have an impact. He hit the scoreboard. Whether he is ready we will need to weigh that up. He is an option to play down back, but key defenders need to play a lot of game time and he doesn't have a lot of match fitness. Brucy played OK and has some miles in the legs.

Well summed up. I can't see Bruce being promoted but who comes in? Does Buss debut?

08-07-2023, 01:23 AM
Well summed up. I can't see Bruce being wirth promoting but who comes in? Does Buss debut?

Bevo always articulates what happened in the game incredibly well. His analysis is spot on. He knew where the danger was and they were just too good in those aspects. Also, he points out those sliding door moments were really costly.

You listen to some coaches and they just don't have the ability to articulate where the game was won and loss as well as Bevo.

08-07-2023, 01:29 AM
That Marra no call in the last quarter was a disgrace. The Pies got the rub of the green for sure. There was a passage there in the third quarter where they got six free kicks in succession.

Spot on.

08-07-2023, 08:12 AM
Thought that was a reasonable game for us against the current benchmark side. They’re a few goals better than us and both sides have some upshot potentially with key players / structurally important players to come back in.

I think we can give them a good run for their money in September.

We need to take confidence from getting quite a lot right and continuing to fight it out. That level of effort and execution will beat most sides. We need to keep winning and try to sow up a top 4 spot.

Go Dogs.

08-07-2023, 10:13 AM
Thought that was a reasonable game for us against the current benchmark side. They’re a few goals better than us and both sides have some upshot potentially with key players / structurally important players to come back in.

I think we can give them a good run for their money in September.

We need to take confidence from getting quite a lot right and continuing to fight it out. That level of effort and execution will beat most sides. We need to keep winning and try to sow up a top 4 spot.

Go Dogs.

Can I just say I really enjoy your posts on WOOF. Always positive.

09-07-2023, 02:40 AM
Just watched the mini replay, overall you'd have to say that irrespective of the views of the commentators it was actually a good spectacle because both teams played well.

Jamie Elliott is a player I'm looking forward to seeing lose another preliminary final, however. I like the way he plays usually but he has no right to stand over a player like Duryea who's won two flags in the way he did a couple of times on the night (providing Taylor didn't do anything untoward).

He epitomises the issue with Collingwood right now. Everything's going great, and bit by bit they're starting to become the arrogant shits we know they always have been in lieu of everyone in the media and just about everywhere else sucking their proverbial cocks.

With Mihocek and Maynard (plus Sidebottom, I guess) out they were apparently up against it due to injuries and it was the right time for us to get them, but no mention has been made of us missing Jones and Johanissen - the two most important players to our good form in the first half of the year.

Then there's the Cameron throw just before three quarter time. How in the **** can that be missed with four umpires? Seriously these arseholes were sooking about umpiring all game and they got the rub, massively.

So I say **** Collingwood and **** saying how much we like watching them play the football they do. Sure, it's nice to look at but like last year it hasn't been proved effective when the whips are cracking, and it's essentially the Bazball of the AFL.

While I'm still shitty about the forty minutes we dropped in terms of intensity last night, I actually feel OK about how things might turn out next time we meet them.

09-07-2023, 10:48 AM
Just watched the mini replay, overall you'd have to say that irrespective of the views of the commentators it was actually a good spectacle because both teams played well.

Jamie Elliott is a player I'm looking forward to seeing lose another preliminary final, however. I like the way he plays usually but he has no right to stand over a player like Duryea who's won two flags in the way he did a couple of times on the night (providing Taylor didn't do anything untoward).

He epitomises the issue with Collingwood right now. Everything's going great, and bit by bit they're starting to become the arrogant shits we know they always have been in lieu of everyone in the media and just about everywhere else sucking their proverbial cocks.

With Mihocek and Maynard (plus Sidebottom, I guess) out they were apparently up against it due to injuries and it was the right time for us to get them, but no mention has been made of us missing Jones and Johanissen - the two most important players to our good form in the first half of the year.

Then there's the Cameron throw just before three quarter time. How in the **** can that be missed with four umpires? Seriously these arseholes were sooking about umpiring all game and they got the rub, massively.

So I say **** Collingwood and **** saying how much we like watching them play the football they do. Sure, it's nice to look at but like last year it hasn't been proved effective when the whips are cracking, and it's essentially the Bazball of the AFL.

While I'm still shitty about the forty minutes we dropped in terms of intensity last night, I actually feel OK about how things might turn out next time we meet them.

I love 1am jeemak

09-07-2023, 01:16 PM
Looking at a shot chart and approximating 40m, Jamarra this year has kicked 4.10 with 10 complete misses from outside 40m. So so so many positives - but he needs to sort that out.

I seem to remember he was much more accurate in his first few games, when he scored. Have they tampered with his action, or is it just that he is expending a lot more energy up the ground than he used to and is a bit too pooped to prepare properly for the kick?

10-07-2023, 04:44 PM
Coaches Votes

9 Quaynor
9 Daicos
5 Marra
3 Naughton
3 Elliott
1 Bont

I thought Quaynor was outstanding with his intercept marking and run, but did Cody kick four goals on him?

10-07-2023, 05:14 PM
The only thing I can think of is Cody being out of the game for the middle sections where Collingwood got right on top. Otherwise I thought he was excellent and if Elliott was deserving of votes Cody was as well.

10-07-2023, 06:42 PM
The only thing I can think of is Cody being out of the game for the middle sections where Collingwood got right on top. Otherwise I thought he was excellent and if Elliott was deserving of votes Cody was as well.

There is not much more a small forward can do than kick four goals. Kicking four goals as a small forward is more difficult than getting 30 touches as a running defender.

You only need to see how many touches someone like Bailey Dale, JJ and recently Vanda can rack up across half back versus trying to have an impact as a forward.

D Mitchell
10-07-2023, 07:10 PM
Spot on.

A front on free kick is where the offending player tries to prevent his opponent from marking by bumping from the front with the sole intent of impeding rather than contesting. The lead up to the incident was brilliant, forward handballs until West was released and kicked it low to the goalsquare. Ugle-Hagan and Murphy run in from the pocket, the former trying to push Murphy off. Both have eyes on the ball and arms in the air, Ugle Hagan turns his body, Murphy trying to spoil, both looking at the ball all the time. No free kick. See for yourself. it's at 1.44.19

https://www.afl.com.au/video/965645/match-replay-western-bulldogs-v-collingwood?videoId=965645&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1688776800001

I took the trouble to search that out because I didn't think it a free at the time yet poster after poster blame the umpire. I'm pleased I did, now. We can handball forward, Weightman is a real goer, never gives up, Smith would get a gig at C'wood with his run and overlap and Bont is a magician, he does things the naked eye, mine anyway, don't see.

10-07-2023, 07:25 PM
If you guys are talking about the Marra one late.

OMG that was a free.

10-07-2023, 07:26 PM

OMG that was a free.

100% agree

D Mitchell
10-07-2023, 07:43 PM

OMG that was a free.

Around 14 minutes to go. so around halfway. The vision is available, the link a couple of posts above. No free kick.

D Mitchell
10-07-2023, 08:06 PM
There is not much more a small forward can do than kick four goals. Kicking four goals as a small forward is more difficult than getting 30 touches as a running defender.

You only need to see how many touches someone like Bailey Dale, JJ and recently Vanda can rack up across half back versus trying to have an impact as a forward.

Add to his own 4, the gift he gave to Naughton following his tackle on Moore, no one more surprisesd with the free than Weightman. What a work ethic.

11-07-2023, 10:58 AM
Around 14 minutes to go. so around halfway. The vision is available, the link a couple of posts above. No free kick.

There was a chopping of the hands in the third which gave them a goal. It something that happens throughout a game, ie both players, hands in the air and trying to mark. A joke of a free.

Chopping of arms came in as a rule to stop defenders purposely chopping at arms and preventing forwards from marking, but like many rules (like sliding rule), are now interpreted a different way. Two players going for a mark and one touches the arms of the other player should never be a free unless it is obviously a chopping motion. The players are not robots, arms are going to tangle.

11-07-2023, 12:12 PM

Where were you when we were all arguing about best players after the NM game???

11-07-2023, 12:45 PM
Where were you when we were all arguing about best players after the NM game???

Ha ha. Gold.

11-07-2023, 01:01 PM
Ha ha. Gold.

I had a good chuckle too:D