Geelong Cats vs Western Bulldogs, GMHBA Stadium, 7:25pm

West Coast Eagles vs Adelaide Crows, Optus Stadium, 8:10pm

Sunday, August 27

Port Adelaide vs Richmond, Adelaide Oval, 12:30pm

Sydney Swans vs Melbourne, SCG, 3:20pm

Carlton vs GWS Giants, Marvel Stadium, 6:10pm

23-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Final round of the 2023 home and away season.

23-08-2023, 12:01 PM
Final round of the 2023 home and away season.

Thanks for putting all these threads up Easty. Hopefully we can go the next step.

23-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Thanks for putting all these threads up Easty. Hopefully we can go the next step.

No worries BAD. Been another frustrating season but still alive. Need to win Saturday night to give ourselves any chance. From there the rest is out of our hands relying on Carlton beating GWS to make it.

24-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Should North Tank and get pick 1? I would.

24-08-2023, 02:43 PM
Should North Tank and get pick 1? I would.
Absolutely they?ll tank. Before WC won last week, NM were $2.27 to GC $1.86 on Sportsbet. After the WC victory the odds were NM $3.36 to GC $1.33

We’ve got as much chance of winning the GF as NM do if winning on the weekend.

24-08-2023, 02:50 PM
Absolutely they?ll tank. Before WC won last week, NM were $2.27 to GC $1.86 on Sportsbet. After the WC victory the odds were NM $3.36 to GC $1.33

We’ve got as much chance of winning the GF as NM do if winning on the weekend.

Should WC also tank :D

24-08-2023, 02:51 PM
Should WC also tank :D
They were probably trying to tank last week, but we were just so pathetic, it didn’t work haha

24-08-2023, 03:42 PM
They were probably trying to tank last week, but we were just so pathetic, it didn’t work haha

Yeah they let us have all those shots in the last but we refused to kick goals

24-08-2023, 07:25 PM
So Smith is out Ill and we bring in Mc Lean and Crozier . Thought both of them would struggle to stay on the list … maybe it’s a last game hurrah . Strange.

25-08-2023, 09:32 PM
6929 days since Essendon have won a final....

25-08-2023, 09:41 PM
Ye gods just turned the footy on. I am making a bomberblitz membership now and getting some popcorn.

25-08-2023, 09:45 PM
6929 days since Essendon have won a final....
4 September 2004.

Committed the date to memory. It sparks joy

25-08-2023, 09:52 PM
Ye gods just turned the footy on. I am making a bomberblitz membership now and getting some popcorn.

I've got Dons mates and they all blame Dodoro. It's borderline insanity. It's just one guys fault.

Not the fact that Hird brought the club to its knees or anything?

Dodo may not be Jason Taylor however I think his results are reasonably solid.

So unhinged.

25-08-2023, 09:56 PM
I've got Dons mates and they all blame Dodoro. It's borderline insanity. It's just one guys fault.

So unhinged.

They're probably angry because they've worked out that "winning trade week" is actually a made up thing.

25-08-2023, 10:04 PM
Feel like I've derived more joy watching Essendon humiliate themselves this year than watching us eek out wins and I'm at peace with that.

25-08-2023, 10:29 PM
If you want more humour in your life, go and listen to Brad's pregame presser from the 4:55 mark it's absolute gold!

25-08-2023, 11:10 PM
Well, but for narrow wins vs WCE & North - Essendon would’ve finished fourth last and have a percentage under 90. So despite the easiest draw, they’re bottom four for percentage!

Suck shit.

25-08-2023, 11:31 PM

So unhinged.

I hope Dodo stays on , it will add to the tally of x days without winning a final.

The only positive i see with them kicking 3 goals is they were trying to tank . They may need talk andrew phillips out of retirement

26-08-2023, 08:35 AM
Feel like I've derived more joy watching Essendon humiliate themselves this year than watching us eek out wins and I'm at peace with that.

It certainly does help.

26-08-2023, 09:16 AM

So Essendon are now nearing 7,000 days without a finals win. That's an exceptionally long drought. Lets hope it can get to 8,000.

26-08-2023, 09:44 AM
So Essendon are now nearing 7,000 days without a finals win. That's an exceptionally long drought. Lets hope it can get to 8,000.

I want to enjoy it. However my nephew who was born in 2010 loves the Bombers (I at least got the dogs to his second side) and it's mirroring my child hood in the 80s! Damn empathy.

Compounding it last night he adores Tippa.

26-08-2023, 10:28 AM

20,000+

Dream big, my friends.

26-08-2023, 10:31 AM
They got in Stringer with the picks to us for Noah Balta & Tom de Koning. (Which we got rid of…)

Wonder what Essendon fans would prefer now? So called (by them) K-Mart De Goey or Balta & De Koning?

#WonTradeWeek

26-08-2023, 10:47 AM
They got in Stringer with the picks to us for Noah Balta & Tom de Koning. (Which we got rid of…)

Wonder what Essendon fans would prefer now? So called (by them) K-Mart De Goey or Balta & De Koning?

#WonTradeWeek

We got Schache and Richards I think from Jake.

Sort of.

26-08-2023, 11:09 AM
We got Schache and Richards I think from Jake.

Sort of.

I did that all earlier this year. Add in another second a future second from us too.

The picks used (after JS trade) were Noah Balta, Tom De Koning, Sam Taylor & Luke Foley - for Schache & Ed.

26-08-2023, 04:19 PM
What is North doing?

Harley Reid must be confused where he’s going. Would’ve been confident a few times this year.

26-08-2023, 04:30 PM
I really like Amiss. Good mark, accurate kick

26-08-2023, 05:07 PM
What is North doing?

Harley Reid must be confused where he’s going. Would’ve been confident a few times this year.

But it is good to see right. Who wants tanking in the game?

The players are always going to try their guts out. So it really comes down to selection and possibly game day tactics if you are trying to orcherstrate a loss.

26-08-2023, 05:09 PM
Assuming North get first round at pick first round compo for McKay.

Walter is the second best kid in the land.

North had the first and third best kid at the start of the game.

Now the have the third and fourth best kid in the draft.

26-08-2023, 05:16 PM
No idea why but I love watching freo play. Have always had a soft spot for them.

Great to see them destroy Hawthorn today, made all the sweeter knowing Anthony Hudson was rooting or a hawks win.

What a terrible commentator he has become.

26-08-2023, 05:18 PM
Fremantle play the mcg very well.

26-08-2023, 05:48 PM
9 goals today for Larkey. 71 goals for the season. He is a star.

26-08-2023, 05:56 PM
9 goals today for Larkey. 71 goals for the season. He is a star.

Compared to Naughtons best of 6, and season best of 51. Yet we will pay Naughton a shit load more to keep him I’d suggest.

26-08-2023, 06:08 PM
A North mate reckons he's burning his membership because they won. I've reached out to occasional WOOF contributor Roscoe who's as Kangas man to get his thoughts.

26-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Compared to Naughtons best of 6, and season best of 51. Yet we will pay Naughton a shit load more to keep him I’d suggest.

At a club that doesn't have a stack of top end talent, someone has to get the money in their salary cap. Larkey is deserving, that is for sure. 71 goals in a team that lost 20 games in a row.

26-08-2023, 06:24 PM
A North mate reckons he's burning his membership because they won. I've reached out to occasional WOOF contributor Roscoe who's as Kangas man to get his thoughts.

Clarko said he wants a winning culture at North.

26-08-2023, 06:32 PM

Breaking a 20 game losing streak is more important than the number #1 pick. Not even close.

26-08-2023, 07:07 PM

Roscoe wanted the win. Not interested in draft machinations
A consensus #1 pick and teams on the 17th and 18th spots land wins in the last two weeks of the season rather than shore up the first pick. I really don't think we can confidently say coaches and players go out there with an attitude to laying down in a game.

26-08-2023, 07:14 PM
Roscoe wanted the win. Not interested in draft machinations
A consensus #1 pick and teams on the 17th and 18th spots land wins in the last two weeks of the season rather than shore up the first pick. I really don't think we can confidently say coaches and players go out there with an attitude to laying down in a game.

I think if you've got #1 going into the last game you're not very bright losing it.

Classic Norf want a winning culture. They come off 20 losses in a row... Oh...nooow you want a winning culture, when it costs you the most.

Mind blowing.

BTW G. Maybe the Suns were tanking!

26-08-2023, 07:57 PM
I’m lost for words of NM. Unless there’s a deal that WC don’t take Harley Reid.

26-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Impressive record by Lions 30 wins and 3 losses over the last 33 games at Gabba. One of those losses of course was the semi in 2021 against us.

26-08-2023, 10:19 PM
What is North doing?

Harley Reid must be confused where he?s going. Would?ve been confident a few times this year.
BT, Eagles are saying hold my beer.

26-08-2023, 10:20 PM

They weren't bad last week.

26-08-2023, 10:21 PM

Harley Reid head must be spinning!

26-08-2023, 11:49 PM
Our forwards couldn’t get a ****ing kick against WC and Tex has kicked 9… after kicking 10 against them earlier in the year.

FMD!

27-08-2023, 12:41 AM
Our forwards couldn’t get a ****ing kick against WC and Tex has kicked 9… after kicking 10 against them earlier in the year.

FMD!

It makes your blood boil that we could not beat them last week.

27-08-2023, 12:53 AM
Our forwards couldn?t get a ****ing kick against WC and Tex has kicked 9? after kicking 10 against them earlier in the year.

FMD!

Crows had 67 inside 50s versus 41. Last we had 53 versus 50. Crows had +63% more inside 50s than Eagles. We had +6% more. It was a much more lopsided game. To be fair we didn't give our fowards great service at all last week.

27-08-2023, 08:07 AM
Breaking a 20 game losing streak is more important than the number #1 pick. Not even close.

Pick 1 has only played in 3 flags.

27-08-2023, 10:10 AM
Pick 1 has only played in 3 flags.

2016!

I guess Hodge is the other, and..... Is it Drew Banfield? WCE?

27-08-2023, 10:26 AM
2016!

I guess Hodge is the other, and..... Is it Drew Banfield? WCE?

Four. Drew Banfield, Des Headland, Luke Hodge, and Tom Boyd.

Three at the club they were chosen by.

27-08-2023, 11:05 AM
No media outrage for Premiers not making finals??? Also, Sydney not top 4 and Freo only winning 10 games and missing finals.

27-08-2023, 11:13 AM
No media outrage for Premiers not making finals??? Also, Sydney not top 4 and Freo only winning 10 games and missing finals.

So courageous how they almost won last night against all the odds. How good is Isaac Smith? They'll be a massive force to be reckoned with next year - media

27-08-2023, 01:32 PM

Yes, interesting the median narrative hasn’t come for the Cats.

I suppose after years of topping up trying to pinch a flag while folks predict you’re about to begin a long slide down means you get some leniency when you finally pinch one. It’s a very different narrative (rightly or wrongly) to what ours was in 2016.

27-08-2023, 01:54 PM
Yes, interesting the median narrative hasn’t come for the Cats.

I suppose after years of topping up trying to pinch a flag while folks predict you’re about to begin a long slide down means you get some leniency when you finally pinch one. It’s a very different narrative (rightly or wrongly) to what ours was in 2016.

It hasn't surprised too many, they were always going to hit the wall and their recruiting last year highlighted they were prepared to take a bump this year but hopeful they could still be in the mix. Recruiting Bowes, Pick 7, Bruhn and Oliver were signs they were setting up to move in another direction and are now well placed to bounce back quickly.

27-08-2023, 02:15 PM
I get they recruited for the future but the players they have are good enough for them to have performed a lot better than they did and they should be scrutinised for not making finals.

27-08-2023, 02:40 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F4dLd7EawAA-lX7?format=webp&name=medium

27-08-2023, 06:21 PM
From GWS

Sam Taylor (hamstring) is out of tonight’s game with Carlton.

Toby McMullin comes into the side, our tactical sub will be Nick Haynes.

27-08-2023, 06:27 PM
From GWS

That's a fair out considering Curnow and McKay.

27-08-2023, 06:28 PM
That's a fair out considering Curnow and McKay.

MASSIVE OUT. HUGE. Our chances have just improved.

27-08-2023, 06:29 PM
Dear GWS...
https://media.giphy.com/media/USnfWeCOHTHB3WX0aY/giphy.gif

27-08-2023, 06:33 PM
From GWS

Hmm typical Giants honey trap...

We're doomed.

27-08-2023, 06:47 PM
Fritsch has the most punchable face. Wish he played for us though.

27-08-2023, 06:49 PM
Agree, and oh to have a natural half fwd like him.

27-08-2023, 06:54 PM

He only needs a small amount of space to create something.
Pick #31 2017. Their recruiting man o man. Nailed it.

27-08-2023, 06:54 PM
One to go.
Think I'll cycle to the Frankston pub.

27-08-2023, 07:02 PM
Fritsch today was giving me strong 2021 GF flashbacks. He's a serious player, even if he looks like Beavis.

27-08-2023, 07:04 PM
One to go.

It’s definitely “beers on Sunday evening” for this one!

27-08-2023, 07:23 PM
I don't watch any footy outside of the Dogs so haven't seen Carlton over their run, but this is impressive - relentless side.

27-08-2023, 07:27 PM
I don't watch any footy outside of the Dogs so haven't seen Carlton over their run, but this is impressive - relentless side.

Same first time I've watched them.

Scary. Curnow is Naughton with kicking ability.

27-08-2023, 07:33 PM
Same first time I've watched them.

Scary. Curnow is Naughton with kicking ability.

Except Naughty will want a higher salary while delivering much less goals.

Glad we gave Carlton the pick for Curnow.

27-08-2023, 07:37 PM
Carlton getting a bit bullied now with the GWS tackling

27-08-2023, 07:43 PM
Except Naughty will want a higher salary while delivering much less goals.

Glad we gave Carlton the pick for Curnow.

It?s easy to say that years down the line. But we ended up with Collins and Dunkley from that swap.

Dunkley ended up being a pivotal part of our 2016 flag. Curnow managed just 6 games and 5 goals in 2016 as a developing tall.

So, maybe without that swap we don?t win the flag in 2016?

27-08-2023, 07:44 PM
Carlton getting a bit bullied now with the GWS tackling

Giants are a big chance. Their midfield is superior.

27-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Toby would love to screw us.

27-08-2023, 07:58 PM
Kingsley has them playing great footy.

27-08-2023, 07:59 PM
GWS looking way too strong

27-08-2023, 08:01 PM
GWS looking way too strong

Yep destroying them now.

27-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Destroying them out of the middle

27-08-2023, 08:07 PM
GWS look like they want it more which is what you would expect.

Kinda amusing that losing to one of the worst sides ever is what will cost us.

27-08-2023, 08:13 PM
Another momentum swing. Blues now look good.

27-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Dirty Ashburton sniper is Toby Greene

27-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Fritsch today was giving me strong 2021 GF flashbacks. He's a serious player, even if he looks like Beavis.

If Beavis and Butthead had a baby it would be Fritsch.

27-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Fisher has really made a meal of that. Horrible stuff.

27-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Blues winning all the stats that matter except the scoreboard. Blues have gifted them a few goals.

27-08-2023, 08:24 PM
GWS really bringing the pressure. Keep curnow/McKay quiet and keep Carl quiet. GWS getting their goals way easier.

27-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Dirty Ashburton sniper is Toby Greene

He has been on his best behaviour all season. Awesome player one of my faves.

27-08-2023, 08:30 PM
Gee I don’t know how you can watch this game. I would rather get a tooth pulled out then watching this. Way too hard on the nerves

27-08-2023, 08:31 PM
Gee I don’t know how you can watch this game. I would rather get a tooth pulled out then watching this. Way too hard on the nerves

I am not watching, I just check scores every now and then

27-08-2023, 08:57 PM
How can four umpires allow that a mark (and goal)? Just rubbish to gift that to Carlton.

27-08-2023, 09:02 PM
Am I watching the Blues or Bulldogs?

GWS torching them out the back all night.

27-08-2023, 09:04 PM
This game is going to go down to the wire.

I hate to say, they’re good to watch. Our slow and wide movement vs the plastics quick and aggressive use of the corridor is stark.

Exactly what I was thinking. Carl bombing it in. Turnover thru the guts to find 3-4 players all by themselves in their fwd 50.

27-08-2023, 09:05 PM
I reckon gws will win by 25+

27-08-2023, 09:07 PM
I reckon gws will win by 25+

Yep. They’ve got Carlton.

27-08-2023, 09:07 PM
Do I get a prize for predicting the dogs to finish 9th at the start of the year ??

27-08-2023, 09:08 PM

No it's not.

27-08-2023, 09:09 PM
All this is why I'd have rather lost to Geelong and got a pick 4-5 earlier than we will.

27-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Think that's us done. Too little, too late.

27-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Lolz Carlton

27-08-2023, 09:12 PM
Carlton don't have their heads in it.

27-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Nothing for the Blues to play for.

Like us VS West Coast. There was nothing up for grabs in that match was there?

Next week Carlton v Sydney.
Saints v GWS
Interesting

GWS kicking so accurate too.

This is almost going to be impossible for the Blues to win. Game over.

27-08-2023, 09:14 PM
Next week Carlton v GWS and I think GWS will win that too.

No. It’s Blues v Swans.

27-08-2023, 09:15 PM
No. It’s Blues v Swans.
And if McCartin can hold curnow, Syd could win that. They normally play mcg well.

GWS will beat saints.

All this is why I'd have rather lost to Geelong and got a pick 4-5 earlier than we will.

Would have been two places, we'll end up with Geelongs pick anyway. Would rather take a win at Kardinia any day.

Next week Carlton v GWS and I think GWS will win that too.

They'll play Sydney if GWS win.

27-08-2023, 09:16 PM
No. It’s Blues v Swans.

Yes, only clocked this earlier too.

I’d thought it would be a rematch but once I realised it wasn’t, Carlton dropping away seemed much more likely.

D Mitchell
27-08-2023, 09:17 PM
26 points down at 3/4 time. Not looking good.

Yes, only clocked this earlier too.

I’d thought it would be a rematch but once I realised it wasn’t, Carlton dropping away seemed much more likely.

I realised and changed it but as I see a lot of you saw it before I changed it :-(

I'm wrong. Carlton will put the cue in the rack. GWS to win by 8 goals. We're done.

27-08-2023, 09:20 PM
GWS beating the Blues exactly like they turned the game against us. Taking on the corridor and getting out the back quickly. Blues getting torched on the turnover.

Conceding five goals in both the 2nd and 3rd quarter.

Destroy them Saints. Fingers crossed for a Collingwood v St Kilda Grand Final

One to go.
Back from pub with fitter legs n lungs but season seemingly over.

27-08-2023, 09:22 PM
And to think....all we had to do was beat one of the worst teams in the past 20yrs at home. Sadly we weren't up to that.

27-08-2023, 09:24 PM
We didn’t deserve to make the 8. I don’t care what anyone says.

27-08-2023, 09:25 PM
And to think....all we had to do was beat one of the worst teams in the past 20yrs at home. Sadly we weren't up to that.
Coaches and players let the club down badly if as seems they threw a hissy fit over Rohan Smith's departure.

27-08-2023, 09:26 PM

We deserve it alright.

27-08-2023, 09:26 PM

That third qtr in Tasmania for me was when the season was lost.

Strong wind against a bunch of kids and we didn't score a goal.

27-08-2023, 09:28 PM

I guess its true now because we haven't made it

27-08-2023, 09:29 PM
If gws can get that home final next week, how many free tickets will the AFL have to get out there to get 15k ?

Live by the final round Carlton performance, die by the final round Carlton performance

This is a flogging now. Blues have put the cue in the rack.

27-08-2023, 09:30 PM
We only have ourselves to blame

I guess its true now because we haven't made it

All of GWS, Adel and Geel had more consistant seasons…and didn’t lose to both 16th and 18th teams.

Relying on blues to win never a good idea. Much better to rely on them to lose like last year.

Gws might get a home final too.

Might do some damage in the finals.

27-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Well, no need for praying we don’t get belted in an elimination final.

Hopefully a full review with external input.

Will be interesting to see what changes are made to list, assistant coaches and possibly management.

Ooooh that was a terrible call. Why show there was a touch and then say insufficient evidence?

Oh well, some pointed questions need to be asked. A list everyone thought was capable of making the top 4 fails to make the 8.

27-08-2023, 09:33 PM
The thing is, if the right call was made on the Petracca kick and GC (who were the better team) didn?t get screwed by the umpires last week, Carlton would be playing for their season right now.

They would have missed. Forget that means we would have already been in, how fun would it have been to see them fall over right at the finish line again? They are massively overrated for mine. Looking forward to seeing them get knocked straight out.

27-08-2023, 09:33 PM

Totally agree Angelo. Ultimately have ourselves to blame.

27-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Blues just been destroyed form half way through the last quarter.

27-08-2023, 09:36 PM
All of GWS, Adel and Geel had more consistant seasons…and didn’t lose to both 16th and 18th teams.

I guess the ladder is the ladder at the end of the season.

Blues now doing a number on the Saints too! Ha.

Taking our Bulldogs finals interest out of the equation how impressive have GWS in the 2nd half of the season? Tonights result isn't on the back of a Jesse Hogan domination either.
Kingsley has had a good start as a senior coach.

27-08-2023, 09:37 PM
Once curnow got the Coleman, Carl stopped dead.

27-08-2023, 09:37 PM
Taking our Bulldogs finals interest out of the equation how impressive have GWS in the 2nd half of the season? Tonights result isn't on the back of a Jesse Hogan domination either.
Kingsley has had a good start as a senior coach.

Guys playing their roles, and an unselfish brand of football.

27-08-2023, 09:38 PM
I guess the ladder is the ladder at the end of the season.
That is very true Chef.

27-08-2023, 09:39 PM
Once curnow got the Coleman, Carl stopped dead.

Hopefully they are flirting with their form an the Swans smash them

27-08-2023, 09:54 PM
Hopefully they are flirting with their form an the Swans smash them

Not much to play for them.. win, finish 5th, lose, finish 5th.

Couple of key outs too who I’m sure would’ve played if it was a cut-throat game.

27-08-2023, 09:55 PM
Thank God that miserable season is over. A catastrophic failure. We better have a full external review this time leading to major changes. Not the fake HR one we did last year.

27-08-2023, 09:59 PM

That's true enough. The draw was kind enough that if we had won one more or perhaps 2 more games we could have been in a strong position but we came up well short.

27-08-2023, 10:01 PM
Our last four losses.

2 points Swans
5 points GWS
3 points Hawks
7 points Eagles

Just win one and we play finals.

27-08-2023, 10:03 PM
A season wasted once again. A forensic analysis is required as we will serve up the same again next year unless we make changes .

27-08-2023, 10:04 PM
Our last four losses.

2 points Swans
5 points GWS
3 points Hawks
7 points Eagles

The fact that two of these were against bottom 4 teams, one of which has to be the worst or close to it in the modern era, paints a bleak picture

27-08-2023, 10:06 PM
Our last four losses.

2 points Swans
5 points GWS
3 points Hawks
7 points Eagles

It's the Eagles one, the others anyone can drum up excuses for. That loss to West Coast was diabolical.

27-08-2023, 10:07 PM
It's the Eagles one, the others anyone can drum up excuses for. That loss to West Coast was diabolical.

Yep. And it was at home, 2 weeks out from the end of season with clear consequences for all to see. It was diabolical losing that. It doesn't get any worse really. The whole club should be utterly embarrassed by it.

27-08-2023, 10:13 PM
Oh well that's AFL over for me in 2023.
Bring on the VFL and the AFLW

27-08-2023, 10:26 PM
Positives for the year. Jamarra showed he can really play.
O'Donnell did very well and Richards has become a quality defender. Liam Jones can still play and West had his best year.

28-08-2023, 12:13 AM

GWS. 35 points up half way through the third quarter. They had only kicked four goals for the entire game up to that point. That was an eight point game. You win from that position 99 out of 100 times. That was just as diabolical for me and probably smashed our confidence to lose the other close ones.

You can't buy confidence. That would have really shaken us.

28-08-2023, 09:22 AM
GWS. 35 points up half way through the third quarter. They had only kicked four goals for the entire game up to that point. That was an eight point game. You win from that position 99 out of 100 times. That was just as diabolical for me and probably smashed our confidence to lose the other close ones.

I agree.

There were so many excuses post game, I singled out the West Coast one because there is nothing that can be said.

28-08-2023, 10:13 AM

The GWS capitulation was the most extreme on the scoreboard but there were mitigating personnel/injury factors on the day. The Hawthorn capitulation was by far the most disappointing in terms of how poorly we actually played - we didn't deserve to get anywhere near as close as we did to pinch it. That 3rd qtr against Hawthorn was the most bin-worthy performance by us all season. The West Coast one was the most batshit crazy one, and reinforced that we are living in our own heads and have forgotten to play with any natural instinct. But for mine the Sydney loss was the most important and the most glaring example of profligacy from a team who has forgotten how to close out games when in complete control. We carelessly threw away 4 points against a team going like busteds at the time, and it started the rot that continued for the remainder of the season.

The above 4 examples also showcased our versatility in being able to lose close games in many different ways.

28-08-2023, 10:16 AM
The GWS capitulation was the most extreme on the scoreboard but there were mitigating personnel/injury factors on the day. The Hawthorn capitulation was by far the most disappointing in terms of how poorly we actually played - we didn't deserve to get anywhere near as close as we did from pinching it. That 3rd qtr against Hawthorn was the most bin-worthy performance by us all season. The West Coast one was the most batshit crazy one, and reinforced that we are living in our own heads and have forgotten to play with any natural instinct. But for mine the Sydney loss was the most important and the most glaring example of profligacy from a team who has forgotten how to close out games when in complete control. We carelessly threw away 4 points against a team going like busteds at the time, and it started the rot that continued for the remainder of the season.

The above 4 examples also showcased our versatility in being able to lose close games in many different ways.

Not saying this is the reason but in The Sydney game we lost both JOD and Darcy to injury which again effected the balance of the team when two big blokes are out

28-08-2023, 10:21 AM
Not saying this is the reason but in The Sydney game we lost both JOD and Darcy to injury which again effected the balance of the team when two big blokes are out
They didn't get us from their big blokes - Papley and Gulden got us in that game. We had more than enough running power to be able to maintain control in that match, and we completely dominated territory for most of the night, but we were incredibly careless in conceding goals out the back (very poor defensive positioning and way too assertive) and our mids were lazy in not running hard defensively to support in D50.

It was a really poor, careless performance against a team who was floundering at 13th at the time. And it started the late season rot.

28-08-2023, 10:23 AM

Yes. But if held and nerve and took our chances in the last quarter we win that game.

28-08-2023, 11:04 AM
They didn't get us from their big blokes - Papley and Gulden got us in that game. We had more than enough running power to be able to maintain control in that match, and we completely dominated territory for most of the night, but we were incredibly careless in conceding goals out the back (very poor defensive positioning and way too assertive) and our mids were lazy in not running hard defensively to support in D50.

It was a really poor, careless performance against a team who was floundering at 13th at the time. And it started the late season rot.

It gave Sydney an impetus/belief too. They aren’t that good IMO and are playing finals. Aaargh.

28-08-2023, 11:47 AM

If only one person in this world said to clamp down on Gulden before the game. Who knows where we’d be.

28-08-2023, 03:26 PM
If only one person in this world said to clamp down on Gulden before the game. Who knows where we’d be.

No point , we dont tag

Didnt do it against:

KELLY , WC
NEWCOMBE, HAWKS