View Full Version : 2023 AFL Draft - Day 1

20-11-2023, 08:19 PM
Lets start a fresh list for tonight.

20-11-2023, 08:26 PM
No surprise

West Coast select Harley Reid at pick 1.

20-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Few trades happening as we go along

20-11-2023, 08:29 PM
It will be interesting to see if North go for Walter at pick 2 or 3.

20-11-2023, 08:30 PM
It will be interesting to see if North go for Walter at pick 2 or 3.

Colby McKercher - Pick 2

20-11-2023, 08:30 PM
Why do these dickheads take the full time for selection? They know who they want, just take them.

20-11-2023, 08:31 PM
Pick 2 North select Colby McKercher

Why wouldn't they make the Gold Coast pay for Walters Norf?

This is where I think the entire system is open to manipulation.

Back room deals.

I will actually lose my shit if North doesn't bid on any Suns academy player.

Why do these dickheads take the full time for selection? They know who they want, just take them.

It's sad. I bet they're under a bit of pressure to drag it out.

20-11-2023, 08:32 PM
Why wouldn't they make the Gold Coast pay for Walters Norf?

This is where I think the entire system is open to manipulation.

Back room deals.

Marketing for one. Great message to sell supporters.

20-11-2023, 08:35 PM
Pick 3 - North go for Jed Walter. and the Suns match it.

20-11-2023, 08:35 PM
Ok they did it. I'll take off the tin foil hat

20-11-2023, 08:38 PM
Marketing for one. Great message to sell supporters.

Marketing is understandable if you don't bid at 1, big difference like when GWS just so happened to let the obvious number 1 in an open draft in Daicos slide past the pick they got from Collingwood while bidding for Darcy.

20-11-2023, 08:41 PM

It's the broadcast. In the NFL, my team the Detroit Lions have got in trouble 2 years in a row for picking their first rounder too quickly.

Sanders a lock now.

North at pick 4 select Zane Duursma

20-11-2023, 08:42 PM
North at pick 4 select Zane Duursma

Hawks, Curtain or Watson?

20-11-2023, 08:43 PM

Watson

The phantom drafts are rarely wrong with the top ten.

20-11-2023, 08:44 PM

It should be Curtin but Watson more likely, they might also make a play for pick 7.

20-11-2023, 08:44 PM
Ben Dixon is terrible at these interviews.

20-11-2023, 08:45 PM
It's the broadcast. In the NFL, my team the Detroit Lions have got in trouble 2 years in a row for picking their first rounder too quickly.

You watch the NBA draft and it's pick, pick, pick.

20-11-2023, 08:46 PM
Watson it is to the Hawks

Watson to hawks.

Hawks stick to the script and select Nick Watson at pick 5.

Welcome Colonel Sanders.

20-11-2023, 08:47 PM
I really hate Hawthorn. Like GWS level.

20-11-2023, 08:47 PM
Michael Tuck about to award the Norm Smith medal to Watson.

20-11-2023, 08:48 PM
Sanders it is, can't complain as he's an inside/outside mid who can do both roles. He also isn't starting off as beaten up as Reid who has had a few injuries this season due to his style.

20-11-2023, 08:49 PM
Ben Dixon is terrible at these interviews.

He truly is.

20-11-2023, 08:50 PM
Nat "you don't meet many gold coast suns fans"

Happy with the Colonel, just what we need.

Well the worst kept secret Dogs select Ryley Sanders t pick 6.

Welcome aboard Son

20-11-2023, 08:51 PM
Gilbeeeeeeee

Happy with the Colonel, just what we need.

Fits a lot of needs. He can play senior football next season without a doubt.

Good to see Gilbee doing the jumper

20-11-2023, 08:52 PM
Welcome the Sandman!

20-11-2023, 08:52 PM

Rapt to see that.

20-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Fits a lot of needs. He can play senior football next season without a doubt.

With how focused he sounds he'll probs play round 1.

20-11-2023, 08:53 PM

Yep Bailey Smith gone xD

20-11-2023, 08:54 PM

I think thats a real chance. Fringe midfielders have been put on notice.

20-11-2023, 08:55 PM
Like a carbon copy of Bazlenka, even down to the suspect disposal.

20-11-2023, 08:55 PM
Pick 7 for Melbourne is Caleb Windsor.

20-11-2023, 08:56 PM
Surely WCE try and move up to get Drapes.

20-11-2023, 08:58 PM
Ooooh, that shuffles things a little.

20-11-2023, 08:59 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Ryley.

Far from it. Check out this package and tell me he can't hit a target. More Libba than Baz. Only real question mark is his pace.

https://youtu.be/VL42vNLXfPI?si=W8fKYCBoTvDtzsAf

Ooooh, that shuffles things a little.

Good trade.

Happy with Sanders. Good size as well. 6ft 1 and 86kgs. We needed a midfielder and looks like he ticks all the boxes.

20-11-2023, 09:00 PM
So Adelaide pick the flight risk.

What could go wrong?

20-11-2023, 09:00 PM
Crows select Dan Curtin at pick 8. That's a terrific pick.

20-11-2023, 09:01 PM
Good trade.

Crows will be rapt with that. Eagles will be spewing.

Good trade.

I missed it. What was the deal?

Could have held it better, bit low, not a lot of vigor :D

20-11-2023, 09:02 PM
I reckon Curtin looked a bit fake happy. Think he will end up back in WA in not too distant future.

20-11-2023, 09:03 PM
please provide any trade details

20-11-2023, 09:04 PM
8 & 17 for 11, 15 and a future 2nd

20-11-2023, 09:04 PM
I reckon Curtin looked a bit fake happy. Think he will end up back in WA in not too distant future.

Just a bit? :D

20-11-2023, 09:05 PM
I missed it. What was the deal?
Crows get picks 8 and 17 while the Giants now have picks 11, 15 and a future second-round pick.

20-11-2023, 09:07 PM

He's a ripper kick Comrade.

20-11-2023, 09:08 PM
Geelong looked disappointed to miss out on Curtain. Sooooo Good!!!!!!!!

20-11-2023, 09:09 PM
Geelong and Essendon have swapped picks. Essendon must be keen for Caddy

20-11-2023, 09:10 PM
Regarding Curtin, if that was his brother in the plain white shirt, he looked shattered.

20-11-2023, 09:11 PM
Essendon have selected Ned Caddy at pick 10.

20-11-2023, 09:12 PM

Dodoro has done it again according to Leight Montagna.

Trading up one spot using a second round pick is apparently genius

20-11-2023, 09:12 PM
The Bombers have moved up a spot in the draft order.
Essendon has traded picks 11 and 31 to Geelong in exchange for pick 10.

20-11-2023, 09:13 PM
Mick Ablett trying to beat out Dicko for worst on ground. Has repeated that Geelong traded for a F2 about twenty times. They traded for pick 31 in this draft.

20-11-2023, 09:14 PM

its nauseating. Someone needs to remind Montagna and any other Dodoro groupies how many days since The Bummers played in a winning final.

20-11-2023, 09:14 PM
Strange thing from the Cats. Caddy was linked to them all along?

20-11-2023, 09:15 PM

I went to school with his dad(feeling old) would have been a gun if he had his head screwed on. I reckon this kid is perfect for Essendon, a little bit of substance from a club that has been outside city for 20 years now.

Mick Ablett trying to beat out Dicko for worst on ground. Has repeated that Geelong traded for a F2 about twenty times. They traded for pick 31 in this draft.

Hujsh I actually think it was Mick Ablett.

Geelong pick a key defender at pick 11 - Connor O'Sullivan

Strange thing from the Cats. Caddy was liked to them all along?

They often choose someone you don't expect them to and they're usually right.

Is this as tedious as it seems.
Sitting in Rome Airport and hoping to find out about Croft before we board. Just relying on WOOF but it seems to take forever.

Strange thing from the Cats. Caddy was linked to them all along?

They obviously wanted a defender, looked disappointed when the crows stole Curtain.

How funny is that ?
Dodoro wins not only the trade period but the draft as well with pick 10.
Leigh is on the bandwagon.

its nauseating. Someone needs to remind Montagna and any other Dodoro groupies how many days since The Bummers played in a winning final.

Yep clearly the cats wanted O'Sullivan so they also got another pick in the deal.

I'd say the cats drove that one.

It wasn't Montagna is was the other fella to his right.

20-11-2023, 09:16 PM

Yeah there's a reason why I would personally never get an inner city WA kid, they're serious flight risks.

20-11-2023, 09:18 PM
Didn't like the "repay the faith and play as many games as possible for the Dogs" when he's going to be target 1 for the Tasmanian team.

20-11-2023, 09:18 PM
Sitting in Rome Airport and hoping to find out about Croft before we board. Just relying on WOOF but it seems to take forever.

Let?s hope you have to wait a while longer (hope you are having a lovely trip).

20-11-2023, 09:19 PM
Love these country kids going spare.

I would say very very underwhelmed happy lol. West Coast missed the chance to get a Freo fan to convert.

First real surprise GWS select Phoenix Gothard.
Tested brilliantly for pace and agility at the combine

20-11-2023, 09:20 PM
Wow.

First real surprise GWS select Phoenix Gothard.

Twoomey had him going to GWS but at pick 21 for reference

Yes Tedious

20-11-2023, 09:21 PM
Gothard probably ten picks early which is interesting

Hmmm still no Leake. Was talked as jumping into the top 10.

No bids on Croft - beautiful

20-11-2023, 09:22 PM
Melbourne pick 13 - Koltyn Tholstrup.
Brilliant selection.

No bids on Croft - beautiful

Why, why, why?!!!!

Not a bid on Croft yet. Is that a surprise?

20-11-2023, 09:23 PM
Why, why, why?!!!!

BAD needs to be put through the spanking machine if he has mozzed this.:)

20-11-2023, 09:24 PM
Melbourne pick 13 - Koltyn Tholstrup.
Brilliant selection.

Theyre good at this the Demons. That guy will join the hateable club pretty quickly.

Pick 14 - Swans put in a bid for Jake Rogers. This will be matched.

Bydney don't mind doing that

Sydney always the bid risk. Will see if they do Croft after Rodgers

Swans have started their annual bidding process

20-11-2023, 09:25 PM
Good job Swannies. Pushes all our mid 40's picks up too.

Swans have started their annual bidding process

They'll do Croft now.

Not a bid on Croft yet. Is that a surprise?

Nah going exactly as expected. 15 not a bad result as is looking likely

Packed for points right now:

44, 46, 47, 48, 51 & 63.

Raining points!

20-11-2023, 09:26 PM
Inviting 20 guests sounds good until you have to watch a draftee hug every single one of them.

20-11-2023, 09:28 PM

44, 46, 47, 48, 51 & 63.

Raining points!

Is there an option to trade up now Croft hasn't been picked yet?

20-11-2023, 09:29 PM
Inviting 20 guests sounds good until you have to watch a draftee hug every single one of them.

Haha, especially the bogans

20-11-2023, 09:29 PM

44, 46, 47, 48, 51 & 63.

Raining points!

When is our next pick? I thought we had 15

20-11-2023, 09:30 PM

trading up would just eat that pick we traded up for

BAD and G-Mo… honestly why did you jinx it?

FU Dalrymple haha

Whoops

No 15 has been Croft's expected spot for a while but not our pick. We only had 5 and a bunch of later picks

20-11-2023, 09:31 PM
Pick 15 - Swans put in a bid for Jordan Croft. This will be matched

Do we send BAD to the naughty corner?

Bad job Swannies. Wait until 10 seconds left and bid again on Croft. Wankers

BAD and G-Mo… honestly why did you jinx it?

Bummer.

20-11-2023, 09:32 PM

All sorts of options open. 15+ was my wish/target.

46, 49, 61 & 62 - All in play to trade. Plus they will go up with Cleary & McCabe.

20-11-2023, 09:33 PM
Bad job Swannies. Wait until 10 seconds left and bid again on Croft. Wankers

Flogs

20-11-2023, 09:34 PM
Pick 15 is about where I'd take Croft in an open draft so happy for him to be bid there.

Pick 6 & 15 in the draft this year.

I'm calling it.

We won the draft.

20-11-2023, 09:36 PM
Welcome Crofty!

15/16 not much difference really. Happy to get Croft at this pick. Will now see who Swans really wanted!

I don't follow this stuff much, so had my first look at Sanders video.

Looks to be a pretty tidy player.

Strengths and weaknesses?

Are we all happy getting him?

46, 49, 61 & 62 - All in play to trade. Plus they will go up with Cleary & McCabe.

Those three are worth 34. If we could package them up somehow that'd be amazing

I'm calling it.

We won the draft.

We finished 9th and end up with pick 6 and 15 - can't beat that

I'm calling it.

We won the draft.

Send him straight to defence Bevo!

I'm calling it.

We won the draft.

Wrong. Bombres won it hands down.

20-11-2023, 09:37 PM
I went to school with his dad(feeling old) would have been a gun if he had his head screwed on. I reckon this kid is perfect for Essendon, a little bit of substance from a club that has been outside city for 20 years now.

I feel sorry for Caddy , going to Essendon .

So we have all those picks left?

Swans select at pick 16 Will Green

20-11-2023, 09:39 PM
I don't follow this stuff much, so had my first look at Sanders video.

Looks to be a pretty tidy player.

Strengths and weaknesses?

Are we all happy getting him?

Gets lots of the ball very consistently. A good user, not a daisy cutter but puts it to advantage, the kind of kicker that good forwards would love you'd think.

Strong marking and some good mobility though pace not a strength.

Oh and apparently set some sort of fantasy points record

Minimum 10 picks left in the first round. Lot of kids gonna be referred to as first rounders who aren't first rounders.

Pick 17 to GWS

20-11-2023, 09:40 PM
I can't believe that Leake actually made it to GWS's second pick when he was expected to be picked up at 8.

20-11-2023, 09:41 PM
Pick 17 GWS select James Leake

20-11-2023, 09:41 PM
I can't believe that Leake actually made it to GWS's second pick when he was expected to be picked up at 8.

Top 10 was a but early. GWS will be happy with that though

20-11-2023, 09:42 PM
So GWS got Leake later than expected but Gothard way earlier than expected. Interesting. Might be a story there

20-11-2023, 09:43 PM
Those three are worth 34. If we could package them up somehow that'd be amazing

Not really a path now. Maybe 49, 61 & 62 into say 42/43 for Hawks/Swans?

But we probably want a 60’s pick if Lual slides.

20-11-2023, 09:44 PM
Not really a path now. Maybe 49, 61 & 62 into say 42/43 for Hawks/Swans?

But we probably want a 60’s pick if Lual slides.

Can always use that pick 46 to pick him up outright if we like him enough and that's our last pick

20-11-2023, 09:45 PM
At pick 18 Saints get the highly rated Darcy Wilson. Great selection

20-11-2023, 09:46 PM
Can always use that pick 46 to pick him up outright if we like him enough and that's our last pick

We get a 197 point discount. Why pay full rate if we don’t have to?

20-11-2023, 09:47 PM
Giants got pick 17, the Saints dropped back to 18 and got a future second-round pick (tied to Adelaide).

20-11-2023, 09:50 PM

What picks have we got left?

20-11-2023, 09:50 PM

Well if there's an option to package up those picks and get into the top 40, would you avoid doing that because you could get a discount on a player later? If he's there at 46 and we like him enough take him then do it and if not there must be someone we like better. More likely than not he doesn't last to 40 supposedly so not really concerned about it

20-11-2023, 09:51 PM
North put in a bid for Will McCabe at pick 19 and the Hawks match that Bid

20-11-2023, 09:52 PM
Well if there's an option to package up those picks and get into the top 40, would you avoid doing that because you could get a discount on a player later? If he's there at 46 and we like him enough take him then do it and if not there must be someone we like better. More likely than not he doesn't last to 40 supposedly so not really concerned about it

I don’t see how we can get into the 30’s. I agree, it’s moot.

Cool McCabe gets us into 45 & 48 plus 60 & 61.

20-11-2023, 09:53 PM
48 and 60 now worth pick 39. Just saying. Would be nice

20-11-2023, 09:55 PM
48 and 60 now worth pick 39. Just saying. Would be nice

Someone has got to have an academy kid or father/son for that to make sense. Nothing around that mark.

20-11-2023, 09:57 PM
North select ruckman Taylor Goad at pick 20

20-11-2023, 09:58 PM
North select ruckman Taylor Goad at pick 20
A few rucks have gone in the first round

20-11-2023, 09:58 PM
Is it just me, or does anyone else think that this is an unusually tall draft?

20-11-2023, 09:59 PM
So it seems this year there are few rucks picked in the top 20

20-11-2023, 09:59 PM
lol, looks like I am copying bad

20-11-2023, 10:01 PM
Someone has got to have an academy kid or father/son for that to make sense. Nothing around that mark.

So who's left? GC and Sydney with nothing to really trade?

Best case might be the two 60 picks for pick 50ish? trade that for a 3rd rounder next year?

20-11-2023, 10:01 PM
Adelaide select Charlie Edwards at pick 21.

20-11-2023, 10:05 PM
So who's left? GC and Sydney with nothing to really trade?

Best case might be the two 60 picks for pick 50ish? trade that for a 3rd rounder next year?

Yep, pretty much. Maybe GCS Pick 53. Then hold 45, 48 & 53. Use two, trade one for a F3.

20-11-2023, 10:05 PM
Adelaide select Charlie Edwards at pick 21.

What is longer, draft night or the Brownlow?

20-11-2023, 10:06 PM
North pick Wil Dawson

20-11-2023, 10:07 PM
So the Dunkley pick is officially 23.

20-11-2023, 10:08 PM
So the Dunkley pick is officially 23.

Didn’t we draft him with a very similar pick?

20-11-2023, 10:09 PM

Oh god no don't bring up the pick we used to draft him. The Curnow brigade will come

20-11-2023, 10:10 PM

Yeah, but we also got Charlie Clarke and 62. So we are ahead for a non effective tagger.

20-11-2023, 10:11 PM
At Pick 23 North select Riley Hardeman

20-11-2023, 10:11 PM
Be nice to trade up and try and get Collard, love a good old boom or bust on draft night.

20-11-2023, 10:17 PM
At pick 24 Collingwood bid on Caiden Cleary Swans will match that

20-11-2023, 10:18 PM
Nice Trade with the Swans, we are moving up the order.

BT nails this option.

20-11-2023, 10:20 PM
Nice Trade with the Swans, we are moving up the order.

BT nails this option.

What pick did we get?

20-11-2023, 10:21 PM
We got 43

20-11-2023, 10:22 PM
We got 43

Which should jump up

20-11-2023, 10:24 PM
Collingwood select Harry DeMattia at pick 25

Geez that took some time.

20-11-2023, 10:25 PM
How far down the list do they go for day 1?

20-11-2023, 10:26 PM
Oh I missed that that?s great exactly what I was hoping for

wait what was traded out and in exactly?

20-11-2023, 10:27 PM
Wait. What did we trade?

20-11-2023, 10:28 PM
What trade did we just do?

20-11-2023, 10:29 PM
How far down the list do they go for day 1?

Round one has been extended to pick 54 plus bids etc. so coverage finishes at 2am.

You don't want to know how long the last twenty or so picks tomorrow night will take, after multiple replays of tonight's coverage are weaved into tomorrow's.

The AFL considered extending coverage all the way through to the pre-season draft which they were going to hold in the UAE as apparently it's a huge event over there.

20-11-2023, 10:30 PM
At pick 26 Adelaide put in a bid on Will Graham, that has been matched

20-11-2023, 10:30 PM
So heading into night 2: Picks 45, 47 & 58.

Nice spot to be in. Perfect really with two to use and hopefully a F3.

20-11-2023, 10:31 PM
Collingwood select Harry DeMattia at pick 25

Geez that took some time.

Harry looks like a real buzzy character. Bit of Cody Weightman like energy levels & optimism. Good luck to him.

20-11-2023, 10:33 PM
Essendon are now at pick 39. If we can get that a couple of positions worse off they would be out of the range for Lual

20-11-2023, 10:35 PM
At pick 27 the Crows select Oscar Ryan

20-11-2023, 10:38 PM
So apparently we traded 48 and 61 for 43. Decent enough move

20-11-2023, 10:38 PM
At pick 28 Saints select Lance Collard.

20-11-2023, 10:39 PM
So apparently we traded 48 and 61 for 43. Decent enough move

Thank you. I could not find this anywhere

20-11-2023, 10:42 PM
Ashton Moir to the Blues at pick 29. Thank god that is over.

So far, none of the players drafted were alive last time Essendon won a final.
This brings me joy.

Thank you. I could not find this anywhere
Me neither, had to look through BF for some sign of what we did

20-11-2023, 10:43 PM
No Lual tonight but tomorrow is the danger zone

20-11-2023, 10:43 PM
So far, none of the players drafted were alive last time Essendon won a final.
This brings me joy.

I think this is the most important factoid in this entire slugfest.

20-11-2023, 10:44 PM
No Lual tonight but tomorrow is the danger zone

Essendon at pick 39 is a concern. Carlton and Richmond could upset the apple cart.

20-11-2023, 10:47 PM
6, 15 done
45, 47 & 58 to get two kids and maybe a F3

Great night.

Croft came cheap
The GCS trade looks a lot better too
The Hunter trade too

20-11-2023, 10:53 PM
At pick 28 Saints select Lance Collard.

Phillipou and Collard in the same side. Crikey.

20-11-2023, 11:09 PM
Can I suggest anyone with kids that you don't invite BAD over at Xmas to talk to them about Santa. ;)
He aint no Johnny TightLips :)

I'm going to look at the way Ray ShoeSmith dealt with that guy during Secret Santa

20-11-2023, 11:12 PM
Can I suggest anyone with kids that you don't invite BAD over at Xmas to talk to them about Santa. ;)
He aint no Johnny TightLips :)

I'm going to look at the way Ray ShoeSmith dealt with that guy during Secret Santa

Hey ......

I am a good predictor :eek:

20-11-2023, 11:13 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F_X05_BaoAAHLmf?format=jpg&name=900x900

20-11-2023, 11:21 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F_X05_BaoAAHLmf?format=jpg&name=900x900

Croft with plenty of hair.
Our mothers carry the bald gene not fathers.
Welcome you two.
You'll play finals soon.

21-11-2023, 12:05 AM
Essendon at pick 39 is a concern. Carlton and Richmond could upset the apple cart.

If say Essendon threatened Lual at 39.

I’d offer them 45 & 47 for 39. Maybe even swap our F3’s.

Then take a Stevens type at 39 and use 58 to secure Lual after he slides passed 40.

But no point overthinking it just yet, Geelong & Richmond have also been linked and have better picks than Essendon.

21-11-2023, 12:06 AM
I?m not sure I would be calling a draftee Stringer like.
That kid has a budding career . Fat, unfit, injured, flying in Feb and ends up playing around 100 games in ten years and mostly very mediocre except for about ten of them. Also gets traded due to his lack of professionalism.

21-11-2023, 12:41 AM
BAD needs to be put through the spanking machine

Fixed for all purpose usage.

21-11-2023, 12:51 AM
That kid has a budding career . Fat, unfit, injured, flying in Feb and ends up playing around 100 games in ten years and mostly very mediocre except for about ten of them. Also gets traded due to his lack of professionalism.

He was also an All Australian at age 23 with 56 goals and kicked 42 in a premiership year when off the ball a little. Even in 2016 he was bordering elite after being absolutely elite the year prior.

In 2021 he was averaging 2.2 goals a game at 16.4 disposals, which is also bloody awesome.

Whilst he hasn't exactly lived up to expectations due to the amount of promise he had early on, he's just eleven games shy of two hundred which is pretty bloody good. And while I get that's not where his potential suggested he might have ended up by now, it's not like it's shithouse.

As much as anything else Jake outside of his own personal issues towards the game is a victim of hype from bogan dickheads in the media like BT etc. who called him the package when he was on the way up without really looking into his game closely.

I reckon it's almost time to lay off him. He is what he is.

21-11-2023, 07:47 AM
How could you possibly lay off someone with a big Wookie on their chest that just invites ridicule.

21-11-2023, 08:24 AM
Because hes a Bulldogs premiership player?

21-11-2023, 08:46 AM
He was also an All Australian at age 23 with 56 goals and kicked 42 in a premiership year when off the ball a little. Even in 2016 he was bordering elite after being absolutely elite the year prior.

In 2021 he was averaging 2.2 goals a game at 16.4 disposals, which is also bloody awesome.

Whilst he hasn't exactly lived up to expectations due to the amount of promise he had early on, he's just eleven games shy of two hundred which is pretty bloody good. And while I get that's not where his potential suggested he might have ended up by now, it's not like it's shithouse.

As much as anything else Jake outside of his own personal issues towards the game is a victim of hype from bogan dickheads in the media like BT etc. who called him the package when he was on the way up without really looking into his game closely.

I reckon it's almost time to lay off him. He is what he is.

I actually largely agree with all of this, especially the part about the hype not being his fault. He had a couple of amazing years with us and had some key moments in our amazing finals run.

That being said he's a bit of a knob and he plays for Essendon, so larrydavidunsure.gif

21-11-2023, 08:54 AM
His first two years were awesome but I would say he still didn’t live up to his salary in his first few years at Essendon.
A lot of his goals have been kick it to me out the back.
He is a player who will give you 5 minutes then disappears too.
I guess we can make cases for both being good or being bad.
I still don’t think I would like to be compared to him.
I would want to be compared to a hard worker on the training track who wants to get the most out of myself.

21-11-2023, 09:29 AM
He will always be a Bullgod to me for 2 legendary kicks

one to Dicko and the other to Picko

21-11-2023, 09:48 AM
He will always be a Bullgod to me for 2 legendary kicks

one to Dicko and the other to Picko

Then he got a little sicko, and Bevo gave him the flicko.

21-11-2023, 09:56 AM
So has the 1st Round ended yet?

21-11-2023, 10:00 AM
Stringer has obviously played some good football but the idea of Essendon trading up in the top of the draft to get someone in the “Stringer Role” when not only do they already have Stringer to play the “Stringer Role”, but also that the “Stringer Role” sums up everything wrong with them as a club is completely hilarious to me.

21-11-2023, 10:17 AM
AFL Draft 2023: Explosion of live trade talks shows draft night has forever changed (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-draft-2023-explosion-of-live-trade-talks-shows-draft-night-has-forever-changed/news-story/2565e95feb2cc1ec764b6228b5f76311)

Thank goodness Optus did not have another meltdown on night one of this year?s draft, as the phones blared all across the AFL, causing a marathon evening, writes Sam Landsberger.

The explosion of live trade talks has transformed the AFL draft into a series of mini auctions.

But when the phones were put down after Monday?s marathon draft meeting you wonder whether two clubs might?ve been left feeling a little disconnected.

West Coast, after a Fitzroy-like season, walked away from round one with Harley Reid and nobody else.

Was Reid really all they could extract from this year?s diamond first dozen players?

?Disappointed for sure, we felt there was a good opportunity to get a really good player but that?s the way it goes,? Eagles list boss Rohan O?Brien said last night.

And Greater Western Sydney held the golden ticket to next year?s talent pool.

The Giants sat back on Monday and watched the offers roll in for their No. 8 pick, and rights to sliding stopper Daniel Curtin.

The Eagles offered up their future first-round pick.

That could?ve seen the Giants turn Jacob Hopper into the 2024 No. 1 pick.

But they instead sold Curtin to the Crows, accepting No. 11, No. 15 and a future second-rounder for No. 8 and No. 17.

You could understand why.

The Giants are in premiership mode and after an inactive trade period they wanted to retain an early pick to help strengthen them next year, as well as adding to their 2024 collateral.

But when the Giants used that No. 11 pick (pushed to No. 12) on bolter Phoenix Gothard eyebrows were raised.

It was a heck of a shock.

The AFL had not invited Gothard to the draft, but he was there anyway as a guest of teammate Connor O?Sullivan.

Most clubs thought he would go in the second or perhaps even the third round.

So wouldn?t the Giants have got Gothard at their next selection anyway?

Clubs canvassed during the draft suspected they would have, but you suspect the Giants had contrasting intelligence.

But the Giants had secured that bonus pick in next year?s draft and so it still made sense.

Well, momentarily. When ?Mr Fix It? James Leake was on the board at No. 17 they get on the phone again.

The Giants held No. 18 and so they asked St Kilda if it would flip selections if they threw in Adelaide?s second-rounder.

The Saints said yes, and the Giants selected Leake.

Suddenly that bonus pick belonged to the Saints, who were not going to take Leake.

The Saints still got their man in Darcy Wilson, and now it was them with a bonus pick in 2024.

Essendon (Nate Caddy), Adelaide (Daniel Curtin) and Greater Western Sydney (James Leake) all rose up the order to secure their dream targets who had started to slip.

AFL talent guru Kevin Sheehan likened Wilson to Carlton superstar Sam Walsh, and new St Kilda list boss Stephen Silvagni has now drafted both of them.

Leigh Montagna questioned whether the Giants had drafted in the wrong order.

Would they have got Leake at No. 12 and Gothard at No. 18 without having to sacrifice that bonus second-rounder?

Don?t be fooled by the fact that only three live trades were executed at Monday night?s marathon first round.

It seemed every selection there were high-powered talks taking place between the corporate boxes filled with club heavyweights.

Thank goodness Optus did not have another meltdown on night one of this year?s draft.

Essendon, too, moved up the order by one to ensure it would not miss out.

The Bombers sent No. 11 and 31 to Geelong for No. 10.

That guaranteed them power forward Nate Caddy and if they did not do that deal then the Cats could?ve sent the pick elsewhere to a rival Caddy fan.

There were hundreds of phone calls placed for three trades struck.

But Melbourne offered a future first-rounder and No. 7 for Hawthorn?s No. 5 and was rebuffed.

That might?ve seen the Demons hand over two first-round picks for Nick Watson, a potent goalkicker who would?ve strengthened their premiership chances next year.

Sydney, Hawthorn and North Melbourne all picked up the phone but hung up on potential deals to move up and down the order.

21-11-2023, 10:23 AM
Pretty silly of Essendon to trade that 2nd rounder with Geelong.
Geelong would have known Essendon wanted Caddy. Once Geelong agreed to it, Essendon should have said ‘we have changed our minds, no deal’ , knowing that Cats weren’t keen on Caddy.

21-11-2023, 10:31 AM
Stringer has obviously played some good football but the idea of Essendon trading up in the top of the draft to get someone in the “Stringer Role” when not only do they already have Stringer to play the “Stringer Role”, but also that the “Stringer Role” sums up everything wrong with them as a club is completely hilarious to me.

They want contract year Stringer. That guy can rip the arse out of a team. That guy they have now just isn't as good.

21-11-2023, 10:38 AM
The Eagles offered up their future first-round pick.

That could?ve seen the Giants turn Jacob Hopper into the 2024 No. 1 pick.

But they instead sold Curtin to the Crows, accepting No. 11, No. 15 and a future second-rounder for No. 8 and No. 17.

This must grossly misrepresent what the Eagles offer was. There is no way they knocked back a good offer involving WCE F1 for the sake of improving pick 17 into 15 and picking up a bolter in Gothard who probably would have been available at that later pick anyway.

21-11-2023, 10:42 AM
So from my understanding years ago was the under 18s were not allowed to play defensive footy and had to allow players to show their natural skill .
If this is still the case you don’t know if these so called stars will be able to cope with being tagged or crowded out.
We all know some players in junior footy that are superstars but once manned up can’t get a kick.
I understand the reasoning of letting them show their skills but it takes away how they can perform under pressure.

21-11-2023, 10:46 AM
I’ve got ****ing Covid and I’m bored shitless at home in isolation … thought the draft would be a good way to spend a few hours and a nice distraction.

But how wrong I was… what a ****ing snore fest!

From each team taken the maximum time to make a selection (which I’m sure they’re made to do), to each player hugging and cuddling each mate he has, to listening to Shifter and Ablett talk tripe.. well FMD!

Just about done with all things AFL.

PS. I like the players we drafted. :cool:

21-11-2023, 10:49 AM
I’ve got ****ing Covid and I’m bored shitless at home in isolation … thought the draft would be a good way to spend a few hours and a nice distraction.

From each team taken the maximum time to make a selection (which I’m sure they’re made to do), to each player hugging and cuddling each mate he has, to listening to Shifter and Ablett talk tripe.. well FMD!

They need a serious, serious re-think. And if there’s less picks tonight, going back to one night is a start. In theory it should make for good tv, but they’ve continually stuffed it up.

Hope you get out soon.

21-11-2023, 10:53 AM
Sam Landsberger:

Fremantle lost Lachie Schultz, Liam Henry and Joel Hamling and did not grab a player last night. How would Justin Longmuir feel? West Coast, at ground zero of a rebuild, only drafted Harley Reid in the top 29. GWS might've chosen Gothard and Leake over next year's No.1 pick

What the hell are Freo doing?

21-11-2023, 10:55 AM
Sam Landsberger:

What the hell are Freo doing?

Playing like shit and sold the farm for a guy who don’t look brilliant there. But they’ve got a heap of picks next year so they’ll just have to ride out the next 12 months.

21-11-2023, 10:59 AM
I’m on board to hate on anyone at any time but why are West Coast being criticised for grabbing Harley Reid?

It’s not their fault that the busted system made 29 people get drafted in the first round. How were they supposed to trade in exactly? Give up their first next year which will probably be around pick 1 again?

If anyone should be criticised it’s North, who were given every advantage possible to secure pick 1 but didn’t do it.

21-11-2023, 11:00 AM

You weren't impressed that for the 25th year in a row there were 30 future Brownlow and Norm Smith medallists drafted according to Shifter?

21-11-2023, 11:00 AM
I’m on board to hate on anyone at any time but why are West Coast being criticised for grabbing Harley Reid?

It’s not their fault that the busted system made 29 people get drafted in the first round. How were they supposed to trade in exactly? Give up their first next year which will probably be around pick 1 again?

If anyone should be criticised it’s North, who were given every advantage possible to secure pick 1 but didn’t do it.

Plus their second picked was pushed back to 30! I mean they finished last and get pick 1 and 30, somethings broken there.
Maybe only can take one academy player in the first round would be a good idea.

21-11-2023, 11:01 AM

First up, get well soon. Covid cases seem to be spiking.
I actually feel sorry for the commentators having to fill such lengthy gaps. The first 7 picks could have been completed easily in 15 minutes as the clubs already knew the what was going to happen. The whole night is a poor product that doesn't resonate with the vast majority of knowledgeable supporters.

It's a really poor product

21-11-2023, 11:32 AM
I?m on board to hate on anyone at any time but why are West Coast being criticised for grabbing Harley Reid?

It?s not their fault that the busted system made 29 people get drafted in the first round. How were they supposed to trade in exactly? Give up their first next year which will probably be around pick 1 again?

If anyone should be criticised it?s North, who were given every advantage possible to secure pick 1 but didn?t do it.

North and GWS. GWS may have turned down pick 1 next year and instead jumped back to draft a guy who might have been available in the 2nd or 3rd round.

21-11-2023, 01:12 PM

They keep rolling with this NFL model. The key thing they seem to forget is there's this thing called College Football which people watch on Saturday's (NFL games are on Sunday) so the viewers have a connection with the players.

99% of people have no idea who these kids are - and I include Shifter in that group. Mick actually does watch but given his role now he is not as plugged in to the players as he once was...

YES - it's a big deal for those being drafted but it's hard to feel joy for some kid you've never heard of being drafted to a team you simply don't care about.

21-11-2023, 01:42 PM
You weren't impressed that for the 25th year in a row there were 30 future Brownlow and Norm Smith medallists drafted according to Shifter?

What I find funny is shifter admitted he doesn’t even go to games .

21-11-2023, 01:54 PM

Overall Norths draft hand looks kinda underwhelming?

21-11-2023, 02:01 PM

Hope you get through COVID quickly and with as little discomfort as possible Mike.

21-11-2023, 02:02 PM
Overall Norths draft hand looks kinda underwhelming?

McKercher should be really good but not really their immediate need. Duursma makes sense they need more dynamism up forward.

The early 20s picks, who knows. Do you take that spread of talent or package them up to get a bit higher? I'm not wowed but maybe in 4 years they'll have a gun ruck and key defender?

Have to think another pick in the 8-12 range would do them more good than keeping all 3 in the 20s though.

21-11-2023, 02:05 PM

This pricked my ears as well, not really a compliment.
Maybe they comparison lies in the fact their girlfriends are the same age and attend the same high school. :D :D

21-11-2023, 02:15 PM
I don't know why everyone is paying out on Caddy by describing him as Stringer.

He's Ollie Henry mk 2 for mine - medium forward with good marking ability who has a brother playing with Geelong, where he'll probably end up in a few years.

21-11-2023, 02:25 PM

He's Ollie Henry mk 2 for mine - medium forward with good marking ability who has a brother playing with Geelong, where he'll probably end up in a few years.

I like the look of Caddy. Bombers did well to get him. There's more to the story re the trade too. On paper it looks like Dodo gave up a pick for nothing however other teams were into the Cats for that pick too so they had to give them something.

21-11-2023, 02:33 PM
The offers GWS had for Curtin pick :

North Melbourne offered up two picks in the teens, Essendon was willing to part with its future first-rounder or picks 9 and 31, Hawthorn was willing to trade its future first and West Coast had its coveted 2024 first dangling. But Adelaide's offer of picks 10, 14 and a future second-rounder trumped the lot.

21-11-2023, 02:40 PM
McKercher should be really good but not really their immediate need. Duursma makes sense they need more dynamism up forward.

The early 20s picks, who knows. Do you take that spread of talent or package them up to get a bit higher? I'm not wowed but maybe in 4 years they'll have a gun ruck and key defender?

Have to think another pick in the 8-12 range would do them more good than keeping all 3 in the 20s though.

I feel like McKercher and Duursma are both boom or bust picks.

21-11-2023, 02:51 PM
I think they're both pretty safe TBH. Players who can run (McKercher) or with natural forward craft (Duursma) tend to have a decent career at the pointy end.

I actually think Gold Coast have two classic boom or bust picks - Ethan Read as a 202cm ruck(ish) player, and Jake Rogers is close to Watson's height but is expected to be a full time mid?
I still have question marks over Moir too - super skilled but will he put in the work? Is he competitive enough?

21-11-2023, 02:53 PM

Sanders does feel the safe bet. They're both the kind of 'types' that seem more risky I guess

21-11-2023, 02:55 PM

Why is that? Both pretty amazing talents.

McKercher is a jet mid akin to Butters and Duursma to me reeks of Bailey Fritsch.
I think they've got two rippers.

21-11-2023, 02:59 PM
Why is that? Both pretty amazing talents.

McKercher is a jet mid akin to Butters and Duursma to me reeks of Bailey Fritsch.
I think they've got two rippers.

That's how I describe the toilet after my pop has been in there on Christmas Day.

21-11-2023, 03:07 PM
That's how I describe the toilet after my pop has been in there on Christmas Day.

Hahahaaaa.

Pedro Sanchez
21-11-2023, 04:43 PM
This needs to be said. And more than just once and more than just by me.

The AFL has really cooked the integrity of the comp. Given the manipulation and intervention of the draft year on year, its now in so deep in terms of the level of influence, that I just cant see them ever getting out.

For the Eagles, a team that finished rock bottom and got flogged by more than 100 points on too many occasions, to only have 2 picks inside the top 30 is insane. Literally insane. And for the Roos to get pick 3 for McKay - also insane.

It really makes it hard to sit back and swallow.

Imagine the proverbial book they would throw at a player if they found out he'd put a $10 multi on a game, yet here we are watching live in-real time, and accepting, the organisation entrusted with being the custodians of our game, dilute its very fabric in front of eyes.

I think its absolutely shocking and they seem accountable to no-one, just like they're with adapting the interpretations of our rules every season. And don’t get me started on inept goal technology either – hello Crows and Swans game…

Appreciate the sport is now a commercial product, but seriously, what kind of custodians are running this show...

21-11-2023, 04:49 PM

The AFL has really cooked the integrity of the comp. Given the manipulation and intervention of the draft year on year, its now in so deep in terms of the level of influence, that I just cant see them ever getting out.

For the Eagles, a team that finished rock bottom and got flogged by more than 100 points on too many occasions, to only have 2 picks inside the top 30 is insane. Literally insane. And for the Roos to get pick 3 for McKay - also insane.

Imagine the proverbial book they would throw at a player if they found out he'd put a $10 multi on a game, yet here we are watching live in-real time, and accepting, the organisation entrusted with being the custodians of our game, dilute its very fabric in front of eyes.

I think its absolutely shocking and they seem accountable to no-one, just like they're with adapting the interpretations of our rules every season. And don’t get me started on inept goal technology either – hello Crows and Swans game…

Appreciate the sport is now a commercial product, but seriously, what kind of custodians are running this show...

Don't think you'll find many arguments to any of this. The compo and academy picks this year have felt particularly egregious.

21-11-2023, 05:24 PM

I’m not paying out on him more the bloke who compared him to Stringer.

21-11-2023, 05:28 PM

Take Lobb, for example. We notionally handed over 29 & 28 in yesteryear based on ladder finish. After bids we actually gave up 33 & 37. The former would be really disappointing based on year one. The latter feels a lot better.

The notional value of picks means very little now. Especially trading future picks can mean even less as even if you have a bad year, it can be pushed back so far now that it won’t sting as much unless you really stink it up with say a F1 like Freo & Tiggers this year.

Pedro Sanchez
21-11-2023, 05:51 PM
Take Lobb, for example. We notionally handed over 29 & 28 in yesteryear based on ladder finish. After bids we actually gave up 33 & 37. The former would be really disappointing based on year one. The latter feels a lot better.

The notional value of picks means very little now. Especially trading future picks can mean even less as even if you have a bad year, it can be pushed back so far now that it won’t sting as much unless you really stink it up with say a F1 like Freo & Tiggers this year.

Good points. I know there is a ruling you cant trade consecutive first round picks, but surely the incentive for clubs is to just go as hard as they can each year as the landscape will likely be manipulated again in 12 months time. Like an endless credit scheme where you never really have to face the debt, and if you have on field success in between. Its a win win and win situation.

21-11-2023, 06:41 PM
Good points. I know there is a ruling you cant trade consecutive first round picks, but surely the incentive for clubs is to just go as hard as they can each year as the landscape will likely be manipulated again in 12 months time. Like an endless credit scheme where you never really have to face the debt, and if you have on field success in between. Its a win win and win situation.

That’s the problem when you throw so much FA Compo and tanking compo around like this year. Look at Dunkley for 17 turning into 23, but for Cleary & McCabe could’ve been Pick 25. Hardly the fair compensation of getting a first rounder for a good player! We could’ve traded it last year for a better pick. Then wait for future trading two years in advance.

It’s a bloody mess.