View Full Version : Hitting the HEIGHTS! Who is the Dogs speccy king?

16-01-2024, 02:22 PM
Ok I've been thinking about this for a while.... So I'll throw it open to the fine folk of woof to discuss.

When it comes to taking crazy high marks who is the Dogs king?

Richard Cousins? Jim Sewell? Are they real people?

Rack your brains for the best overhead specialists in your time watching the Dogs, there's been a few! Give us your thoughts...

Countrydog5
16-01-2024, 02:33 PM
Crozier and Wood underrated, Weightman will have plenty by time of retirement. Can't really remember many from the 90s and 00s who were high flyers, and that's as far as my viewing history goes.

16-01-2024, 02:34 PM
Ok, here's my vote.

Brett Montgomery. He was a freak at riding his opponents back and always got the timing perfect. Usually a one grabber too which to me is the prereq for an legendary mark (none of this ablett stuff).

He took a mark in a final in the late 90s that was next level, he may have done it twice. Once v the Swans in 97, then again v the Eagles in 98.

16-01-2024, 02:34 PM
Crozier and Wood underrated, Weightman will have plenty by time of retirement. Can't really remember many from the 90s and 00s who were high flyers, and that's as far as my viewing history goes.

Crozier was pretty next level wasn't he when he got the ride.

Countrydog5
16-01-2024, 02:39 PM
Crozier was pretty next level wasn't he when he got the ride.

He was the first one to pop into my mind for consistently taking hangers. During those peak couple of years he'd take 1 or 2 a game.

16-01-2024, 02:44 PM
Matthew Robbins of course.

https://youtu.be/ien8hCo5sm0?si=-juUNwKUCLpcbSPF

16-01-2024, 02:50 PM
Matthew Robbins of course.

https://youtu.be/ien8hCo5sm0?si=-juUNwKUCLpcbSPF

God I remember that like yesterday. Eade's boys on the rise against the all conquering Lions. We had been so shizen for a few years it bloody amazing and that mark was the apex of an onslaught for the ages!
Great nomination.

16-01-2024, 03:12 PM
Monty mark from 98 QF is here early doors.

https://youtu.be/HRlfJJw4Efg?si=RcjasOr1bpo0Phvd

16-01-2024, 03:15 PM
G and Bad you'd recall this one live right?

Was Merv a serial speccy taker?

https://australianfootball.com/uploads/default/source/2014/11/60bbf.MHobbsmark.jpg

16-01-2024, 03:17 PM
Actually I also recall a Chris Grant one at Optus.

Was it v Freo or the Power hmm

Or was it chocolate...

https://youtu.be/3thI6vfBBns?si=zCl_msqxgMvyCpfV

16-01-2024, 03:25 PM

https://australianfootball.com/uploads/default/source/2014/11/60bbf.MHobbsmark.jpg

Very funny, I am not that old

16-01-2024, 03:30 PM

I didn't see him play but I seem to recall my grandfather saying there was a small defender/back pocket who took a big mark one day that everyone was raving about but then kept going for them repeatedly from then on without any success.

16-01-2024, 03:35 PM
I didn't see him play but I seem to recall my grandfather saying there was a small defender/back pocket who took a big mark one day that everyone was raving about but then kept going for them repeatedly from then on without any success.

Merv was the rover and that mark was in the 61 PF win over Melbourne.

I didn't see it live but remember that.

16-01-2024, 03:38 PM
Some great marks here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgpWCTwAI4k&ab_channel=xtremeactionvideos

In my time

*Templeton
*Chris Grant
* Rance was incredible
* Monty
*Robbins
*Wood
*Crozier
*Weightman
* Naughton

16-01-2024, 03:40 PM
Alby Smedts took a screamer in the reserves once and I think it made it onto the front cover of the footy record the next week.
Mitch Hannan also took one in the reserves which was raved about for a couple of years .
Weightmans mark over Max Gawn was a ripper.
The hawk took a few in his career.
Seems to be always the small to mid height take them . I am sure Templeton and Quinlan would have taken a few.

16-01-2024, 03:40 PM

This was a beauty

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggGIIjK4KkI&ab_channel=AFL

16-01-2024, 03:41 PM
I must admit Naughton is my favourite

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3bu5hzpDVw&ab_channel=LDSport

Countrydog5
16-01-2024, 03:49 PM
Monty mark from 98 QF is here early doors.

https://youtu.be/HRlfJJw4Efg?si=RcjasOr1bpo0Phvd

That first tackle from Croft would have him in prison if he did that today

16-01-2024, 03:55 PM
Ok, here's my vote.

Brett Montgomery. He was a freak at riding his opponents back and always got the timing perfect. Usually a one grabber too which to me is the prereq for an legendary mark (none of this ablett stuff).

He took a mark in a final in the late 90s that was next level, he may have done it twice. Once v the Swans in 97, then again v the Eagles in 98.
Monty is consistently the best overhead mark we've ever had at the kennel. Just in 1997-98 alone he took half a dozen beautiful hangers, many of which were in mark of the year calculations.

16-01-2024, 03:56 PM
That first tackle from Croft would have him in prison if he did that today

I thought the same was life taking!

16-01-2024, 04:26 PM
Alby Smedts took a screamer in the reserves once and I think it made it onto the front cover of the footy record the next week.
Mitch Hannan also took one in the reserves which was raved about for a couple of years .
Grant was a ripper who took a few.
Seems to be always the small to mid height take them . I am sure Templeton and Quinlan would have taken a few.

16-01-2024, 04:53 PM
Grant was a ripper who took a few.

Alby Smedts... I haven't heard that name before Ledge. Any more info?

I remember the Hannan one that was insane. Cody over Gawn was lost in the covid years but also amazing.

16-01-2024, 04:55 PM
I must admit Naughton is my favourite

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3bu5hzpDVw&ab_channel=LDSport

He is probably the modern club house leader. Hands are so sticky he can be ten deep and still pluck it.

16-01-2024, 04:57 PM
He is probably the modern club house leader. Hands are so sticky he can be ten deep and still pluck it.

JUH says stay tuned

16-01-2024, 05:31 PM
JUH says stay tuned

Agree. Primed.

16-01-2024, 06:01 PM

I remember the Hannan one that was insane. Cody over Gawn was lost in the covid years but also amazing.

Alby Smedts played in the late 70s his son Billie played at Geelong a couple of years ago.
Alby played a lot of reserves, when he played seniors he was solid held his own, I thought he should have played more games, 51 all up . Trying to find his mark somewhere on internet but no luck although I do have a feeling I have the footy record somewhere .

16-01-2024, 06:01 PM
Ok, here's my vote.

And one in the centre circle over Blake Caracalla in the famous streak ending win.

16-01-2024, 06:04 PM

Alby was a reasonable player, his son Billie Smedts got drafted as well by Geelong and spent a year at Carlton.

16-01-2024, 06:05 PM
MATTY Robbins v Lions at Marvel ranks up there with the best you’ll see.

16-01-2024, 06:06 PM
MATTY Robbins v Lions at Marvel ranks up there with the best you’ll see.

Yep amazing SOS. I was right behind it. Mightve ripped something when I jumped up.

16-01-2024, 06:07 PM
I will just put this here for anyone that doesn't rate this guy the best ever

https://youtu.be/j_lnNs43BmM?si=9EKX8OoCj6e0d2BN

16-01-2024, 06:08 PM
Alby was a reasonable player, his son Billie Smedts got drafted as well by Geelong and spent a year at Carlton.

Alby also played that famous day Templeton kicked 15.9 and we broke the record against the saints .
Had the 70s porn moustache, if you can find the team photo of that day I think he was second from right standing at the back .

16-01-2024, 06:14 PM
Serious tick of approval.

https://i.postimg.cc/cH7nT4g3/Screenshot-20240116-171302.png (https://postimages.org/)

16-01-2024, 06:52 PM
Serious tick of approval.

https://i.postimg.cc/cH7nT4g3/Screenshot-20240116-171302.png (https://postimages.org/)

Remember this one well, we had seats in the stand up the other end so got a great view of him coming up over the top. The foot fight up there in the back. Dominant.

16-01-2024, 08:09 PM
I will just put this here for anyone that doesn't rate this guy the best ever

https://youtu.be/j_lnNs43BmM?si=9EKX8OoCj6e0d2BN

Thanks for that GG. This footage should be on a loop above the entrance at the kennel. I think some supporters forget just how elite he was as our key forward through the 90's. So clean, so determined, so good.

16-01-2024, 08:11 PM
Thanks for that GG. This footage should be on a loop above the entrance at the kennel. I think some supporters forget just how elite he was as our key forward through the 90's. So clean, so determined, so good.

Yep, the when he played defence he would back back into the traffic every week and cop it.

So many times he came off with a "stinger" and we thought he was goneski which was the end of the world.
Should have two brownlows.
I'm not Grantysghost for nothing!

16-01-2024, 08:15 PM
Astro for mine.
Granty (thanks to gg's reminder)
Monty was phenomenal for his size.

The high mark in aussie rules is for me, the most stunning aspect of any sport. It's just insane how high players get with seemingly no regard for their safety. Long may it continue.

16-01-2024, 08:24 PM
Yep, the when he played defence he would back back into the traffic every week and cop it.

So many times he came off with a "stinger" and we thought he was goneski which was the end of the world.
Should have two brownlows.
I'm not Grantysghost for nothing!

I always thought your alias was in honour of his brother Jamie.

I remember his first goal round 1 1990 against St Kilda. He marked the ball on the outer flank Geelong road end. Went back and slotted it. I hadn't read or seen anything of him preseason. I think the following week he kicked 6 against Sydney. A star was born.

16-01-2024, 08:31 PM

I remember his first goal round 1 1990 against St Kilda. He marked the ball on the outer flank Geelong road end. Went back and slotted it. I hadn't read or seen anything of him preseason. I think the following week he kicked 6 against Sydney. A star was born.

Jarrad ;)

16-01-2024, 08:35 PM
I don't think I've seen a higher one off mark by a Bulldogs player than Weightman's over Gawn but for consistent Carey like pack marks it's really hard to go past Kelvin Templeton who was an exceptionally strong and athletic mark especially in his early days.
This nomination might test a lot of the forum members but Stuart Wigney was a very good big mark especially under the encouragement of Terry Wheeler who backed the player to go for his marks.

16-01-2024, 09:15 PM
I don't think I've seen a higher one off mark by a Bulldogs player than Weightman's over Gawn but for consistent Carey like pack marks it's really hard to go past Kelvin Templeton who was an exceptionally strong and athletic mark especially in his early days.
This nomination might test a lot of the forum members but Stuart Wigney was a very good big mark especially under the encouragement of Terry Wheeler who backed the player to go for his marks.

OMG you said Wigney.

Every one, enact case green.

16-01-2024, 09:18 PM
And one in the centre circle over Blake Caracalla in the famous streak ending win.

Caracella probably thinking about his crinkle free suit.

17-01-2024, 12:20 AM
Some great marks here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgpWCTwAI4k&ab_channel=xtremeactionvideos

In my time

*Templeton
*Chris Grant
* Rance was incredible
* Monty
*Robbins
*Wood
*Crozier
*Weightman
* Naughton

I agree and would add:

Peter Foster
Zephaniah Skinner (for his leap if not is marking)

17-01-2024, 12:36 PM
Liam Jones

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpTeQbMG5fo&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

17-01-2024, 12:41 PM
Liam Jones

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpTeQbMG5fo&ab_channel=WesternBulldogs

That's a pearler!

Cometti commentating too.

Love the Hargrave baulk.

Is that Skinner? #26?

17-01-2024, 01:51 PM
That's a pearler!

Cometti commentating too.

Love the Hargrave baulk.

Is that Skinner? #26?

Jones biggest problem was he ran underneath the ball as a forward a lot . Timing was out for about 1/2 a second , I wondered if it was his eyesight in the end.
Best thing that happened was he was he went back therefore the forward lead him to the ball he didnt have to time it . His closing speed and leap have been his strengths chasing a forward, of course 10 years of experience have helped as well.

17-01-2024, 07:12 PM

I was a ground attendant at the Geelong Rd end back in those days (a benefit of having a dad who worked at Footscray council) and happened to be standing next to the goal umpire as Chris was lining up. The umpy said to me "who's this?" I said "no idea. I'll have a look in my footy record"

As we watched the ball sail over our head I said "Chris Grant. He's only 16" The umpire signalled a goal, wavered the flags and then turned to me and said "I reckon you've found a decent player there.

17-01-2024, 07:22 PM
The best mark I have ever seen in the tricolour is Jim Edmond. You just had to kick the ball near him and he'd mark it. Didn't matter how many players he had on him.

17-01-2024, 07:25 PM
The best mark I have ever seen in the tricolour is Jim Edmond. You just had to kick the ball near him and he'd mark it. Didn't matter how many players he had on him.

Oh god I remember Jim so well. Number 20, so bloody strong and you just felt he was the leader. Obviously the point to the temple to Gubby Allen the mainstream highlight.

17-01-2024, 08:09 PM
Oh god I remember Jim so well. Number 20, so bloody strong and you just felt he was the leader. Obviously the point to the temple to Gubby Allen the mainstream highlight.

The spray to Gubby Allen was a classic. One of the hilights of my time watching footy

17-01-2024, 08:11 PM

Did Jim have about 6 goals at half time in a final and we still lost ?
I remember Delre having about 6 in a final at halftime and we lost that one as well .

17-01-2024, 09:44 PM
Did Jim have about 6 goals at half time in a final and we still lost ?
I remember Delre having about 6 in a final at halftime and we lost that one as well .

Jim only played in the 85 series but didn't kick many goals.

But he starred in probably my favourite home and away game of all time.

Early 83 we played the tigers at the mcg. In 82 they were runners up while we won the wooden spoon.
In the first quarter we kicked 10 goals to zip to be 60 points up at quarter time. I think Jim had kicked 6!
We hung on to win by 2 points and Jim finished with 7.

Danny kicked 7 against Geelong in the 92 qualifying final. We were up at half time but got well beaten.

18-01-2024, 10:01 AM

Early 83 we played the tigers at the mcg. In 82 they were runners up while we won the wooden spoon.
In the first quarter we kicked 10 goals to zip to be 60 points up at quarter time. I think Jim had kicked 6!

Danny kicked 7 against Geelong in the 92 qualifying final. We were up at half time but got well beaten.

Ok I remember Jim having a huge half in a game then went quiet, that was the game .

18-01-2024, 01:11 PM

It was ANZAC day 1983. 65 000 people. Unbelievable game.

18-01-2024, 03:34 PM
It was ANZAC day 1983. 65 000 people. Unbelievable game.

Yes I was there. Was amazing game.

18-01-2024, 06:32 PM
Yes I was there. Was amazing game.

Richmond actually hit the front in the last quarter after coming from 10 goals down before we kicked the last couple of goals to win.

We had gone on a 4 game winning spree that included beating the top 3 teams from the year before (Carlton, Richmond and Hawthorn) even though we'd finished last. It's when we got our mojo back after some truly awful years in the late '70s and early '80s

18-01-2024, 08:46 PM
Can we edit out Higgins?

18-01-2024, 09:16 PM
Just had the 2016 gf on fox and Picken took an absolute hanger on the way down from a leap.
I do remember Wood taking a pearler in 2016 , not sure if it was the prelim.

18-01-2024, 09:34 PM
Just had the 2016 gf on fox and Picken took an absolute hanger on the way down from a leap.

Oh those were both amazing marks. Wood v GWS early in the Prelim and Liam when we were on a tear late in the GF.

18-01-2024, 10:32 PM

Woody v Freo that year too. Maybe R1?