View Full Version : The over Thirties

28-03-2024, 08:49 AM
What are Woofers thoughts on the players we have that are over thirty years old.
How much more will we get out of them or are they cooked.

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/291790.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

31 years contracted till 2025

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/990740.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

31 years contracted till 2025

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/290085.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

33 years in April contracted till 2024

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/281078.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

33 years contracted till 2025

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/290799.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

32 years in May contracted till 2024 although I did read I think has signed another 1 year deal. (2024 by the thread we don't have :))

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/294101.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

32 years in November contracted till 2024

https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/290797.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

32 years contracted till 2024

28-03-2024, 08:54 AM
Two more i think for Jones, JJ, Treloar - so end 2026.
One more for Libba (well i hope two)
Lobb - trade if possible. Otherwise he sees out contract with plenty of vfl time.
Duryea, Keath this is their last season

28-03-2024, 09:10 AM
Lobb - trade if possible. Otherwise he sees out contract with plenty of vfl time.

If Darcy gets injured then what?

28-03-2024, 09:12 AM

Then maybe we get to play the game who wants to be an undersized ruckman....think of all the melts when we see Naughton, Marra and the Bont take turns...

28-03-2024, 09:13 AM
Croft? We can't have Lobb as a break glass on that coin can we?

28-03-2024, 09:13 AM
Then maybe we get to play the game who wants to be an undersized ruckman....think of all the melts when we see Naughton, Marra and the Bont take turns...

the very reason we recruited him

28-03-2024, 09:14 AM
Libba is 32 in May.

It's probably a thread to re-visit later in the year such to see how these players fare for the entire season, but at a glance GG's guess-timates look ok.

Macrae is also 30 this year and as per the current team make-up he will be a close watch this season.

28-03-2024, 09:17 AM
Croft? We can't have Lobb as a break glass on that coin can we?

I reckon Lobb came on a four year deal, not a three year deal as stated.

If English stays I think Lobb will ask for a trade.

28-03-2024, 09:21 AM

I thought that too but everywhere else I’ve looked said 3 years.

28-03-2024, 09:27 AM

End of 2026, according to footywire

28-03-2024, 10:04 AM
Two more i think for Jones, JJ, Treloar - so end 2026.
One more for Libba (well i hope two)
Duryea, Keath this is their last season

I agree with Keath and Duryea. Lobb see out his contract. I'd be on the one year deals for the rest. But you don't know the players themselves may pull the pin.

28-03-2024, 10:12 AM
Treloar and JJ don't appear to have lost any of their zip so their age profile isn't a concern at the moment.
Liberatore is playing some brilliant football so we just need to ensure we've got players on the list ready to replace him down the track.
Jones played 100% game time on the weekend so is looking solid at the moment. Busslinger, JOD and Croft are learning their craft and Gardner is a good back-up.
I'm not too worried about Lobb especially with Darcy coming through.
Keath and Duryea are depth players for us and we can replace them at the end of the season.

28-03-2024, 10:43 AM
https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Players/ChampIDImages/AFL/2024014/290799.png?im=Scale,width=0.504,height=0.504

34 years in May contracted till 2024 although I did read I think has signed another 1 year deal. (2024 by the thread we don't have :))

It's been reported he is close to signing another 1 year deal but nothing official yet.

28-03-2024, 10:46 AM

I have never been able to find confirmation of Lobb's contract length which is why there is no link in the thread that shall not be named. Just went with 3 years (2025) as that seemed to be the general consensus, but it could well be 4. Not sure why it has been kept secret.

28-03-2024, 10:47 AM

Are the two linked? Lobb feels like he wants to play forward and if English goes, we're probably cramming him into the first ruck spot for a year or two - not sure he's keen on that.

Wouldn't surprise me if the Dees or Saints have a crack at him, and they're pretty tempting prospects at the moment.

28-03-2024, 10:56 AM
I have never been able to find confirmation of Lobb's contract length which is why there is no link in the thread that shall not be named. Just went with 3 years (2025) as that seemed to be the general consensus, but it could well be 4. Not sure why it has been kept secret.

Not sure if correct, but Footywire lists him as end of 2026, which makes Aza correct, however, I thought he had a 3 year deal.

28-03-2024, 11:08 AM
Not sure if correct, but Footywire lists him as end of 2026, which makes Aza correct, however, I thought he had a 3 year deal.

I don't think Footywire can be relied on as a source any more than big footy. Most trades reported say that player x has signed a 2/3/4 year deal, but for some reason it was never mentioned for Lobb.

If anybody actually finds an article please let me know.

28-03-2024, 11:10 AM
I don't think Footywire can be relied on as a source any more than big footy. Most trades reported say that player x has signed a 2/3/4 year deal, but for some reason it was never mentioned for Lobb.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-2023-rory-lobb-struggles-video-western-bulldogs-trade-contract-latest-news/news-story/9a9f58643d19039dfb50c9a586a9c1d3

This article has it at 3 years.

28-03-2024, 11:29 AM

Yes, you and I have had this discussion over Lobb before.

Hopefully 2025 is correct and I am wrong on this occasion.

28-03-2024, 11:31 AM
Are the two linked? Lobb feels like he wants to play forward and if English goes, we're probably cramming him into the first ruck spot for a year or two - not sure he's keen on that.

Wouldn't surprise me if the Dees or Saints have a crack at him, and they're pretty tempting prospects at the moment.

Indirectly they are.

English stays as first ruck, Darcy becomes preferred second ruck / 3rd tall forward which leaves Lobb in the VFL.

But yes demons and saints make the most sense.

28-03-2024, 11:33 AM
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-2023-rory-lobb-struggles-video-western-bulldogs-trade-contract-latest-news/news-story/9a9f58643d19039dfb50c9a586a9c1d3

This article has it at 3 years.

But it isn't definitive either.

Arriving at the Bulldogs last off-season after a career-best 2022 at Fremantle in exchange for Pick 30 and a future second-round pick on a reported three-year, $1.5 million deal, Lobb has struggled to have an impact at his third AFL club.

28-03-2024, 11:43 AM

Pretty sure it is a better source than Bigfooty - not saying they are 100% correct .

28-03-2024, 12:01 PM
But it isn't definitive either.

Arriving at the Bulldogs last off-season after a career-best 2022 at Fremantle in exchange for Pick 30 and a future second-round pick on a reported three-year, $1.5 million deal, Lobb has struggled to have an impact at his third AFL club.

It’s not definitive but it also does report what I’m choosing to believe is correct.

28-03-2024, 01:26 PM
It’s not definitive but it also does report what I’m choosing to believe is correct.

That’s bugger all 500k a year.
I’m not so bullish against him I think he might not kick the goals but he certainly does the stuff that helps our other forwards kick them , he has a tank and is a good second ruck.
As Bevo says it’s his experience and I see it .
Problem is now Darcy is coming on and maybe overtaking him.
He is also good for us in VFL teaching Lauchie Smith. He is definitely a good back up too.

Bigdog
28-03-2024, 02:29 PM
FYI - Libba is 32 in may - not 34

28-03-2024, 03:34 PM
FYI - Libba is 32 in may - not 34

whoops! Typo or can't add up fixed now :)

28-03-2024, 03:58 PM

I thought 3 years.

28-03-2024, 06:51 PM
I thought 3 years.

Don’t make me call nets B4L…

28-03-2024, 07:57 PM
Love Treloar , his midfield damage is under rated, we have had a massive return from him since he came, we got on top of his injuries pretty much and he has delivered.
A very loyal player who cares for his teammates, the kind of guy who you know will give his all.
I find it hard to believe he has been targeted at times by fans.

28-03-2024, 08:05 PM
Love Treloar , his midfield damage is under rated, we have had a massive return from him since he came, we got on top of his injuries pretty much and he has delivered.
A very loyal player who cares for his teammates, the kind of guy who you know will give his all.
I find it hard to believe he has been targeted at times by fans.

He seems to spend a bit of extra time with Sanders so like you I do rate him as a leader and a team mate.

28-03-2024, 08:19 PM
He seems to spend a bit of extra time with Sanders so like you I do rate him as a leader and a team mate.

The plus we have with Sanders is the teachers he is under , Treloar , Bont, Libba, even Daniel, all bring something different for him to learn a real rounded game.