View Full Version : Ugliest footballers

18-05-2008, 11:54 AM
Not a nice post but somewhere along the line we have all mentioned certain players are not the best looking.
I believe i read somewhere that Cameron Ling made the top ten in sexiest footballers, now i always have a flashback to the original Wizard of OZ and that lion when i see him.
I did mention Templeton in another post.
Maybe we could put together an opposite top ten the not the most handsome list.
Ok who am i to judge, but just wondering if anyone really stuck out in our minds over the years.

18-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Only his mother could love Nathan Carroll

18-05-2008, 12:27 PM
Only his mother could love Nathan Carroll

And the haircut improves him!

18-05-2008, 12:30 PM
Gary 'Buddha' Hocking. Remember him coming into a take away venue opposite Kardinia Park for a roast pack one night so I've seen first hand.

Templeton wouldn't collect second prize in a beauty contest playing monopoly but you've already mentioned him.

Neville Bruns was a shocker as was Robert Neil both red-haired Geelong players of the early 80s, IMO Cameron Ling carries on that tradition.

Justin Madden wasn't far behind them.

18-05-2008, 12:31 PM
Might be a pre requisite to play for Geelong, must have at least one terribly ugly redhead in the side at all times

18-05-2008, 12:35 PM
I love him, but Danny Southern would turn a Gorgon to stone.

18-05-2008, 12:37 PM
Peveril?

Rach
18-05-2008, 01:11 PM
Fraser Gerhig (sp?) from St Kilda is pretty ugly

18-05-2008, 01:56 PM
Craig Lambert couldn't get a date to the Brownlow.

MikeSheahan
18-05-2008, 02:03 PM
Brett Burton doesn't set my pulse rate racing!

18-05-2008, 02:19 PM
Peter McKenna had the biggest eyebrows u could hide in them.

18-05-2008, 02:42 PM
Brett Burton doesn't set my pulse rate racing!

No footballer does Mike, err maybe except Ryan Griffen, now there's a dashing young man

18-05-2008, 02:43 PM
No footballer does Mike, err maybe except Ryan Griffen, now there's a dashing young man

With the nickname cyclops im gathering he isnt the best looking close up.

18-05-2008, 02:44 PM
Peter McKenna had the biggest eyebrows u could hide in them.

I know. I once heard a story where he threw a heap of petrol onto a campfire in the Grampians one year and burnt them off and that's why they grew back so thick, very likely an urban myth, bit like the Grampians puma;)

18-05-2008, 02:45 PM
With the nickname cyclops im gathering he isnt the best looking close up.

Errrr, really? Only one eye? Right up my alley then:D

18-05-2008, 02:46 PM
Errrr, really? Only one eye? Right up my alley then:D

So you have the wrong avatar.

18-05-2008, 03:27 PM
Bulldog Murray wouldn't relate to the modern, pink polo shirt popped coller wearing, "funky"(TM) pub owning footballer.

Micky Martin isn't a pretty boy either.

18-05-2008, 04:21 PM
Robert Murphy has an ET like look about him.

18-05-2008, 04:24 PM
Crackers Keenan

18-05-2008, 04:25 PM
Robert Murphy has an ET like look about him.

:D Bluey Hampshire had a head like a medieval helmet

18-05-2008, 04:26 PM
Mark 'Jacko' Jackson.

18-05-2008, 04:30 PM
The whole Daniher clan!

18-05-2008, 04:31 PM
The whole Daniher clan!

Anthony was a shocker, inside out head. As you can see I'm trying to kill time before the Dogs come on, getting nervous.

18-05-2008, 04:33 PM
Chris Judd a head like a used bowling ball.

18-05-2008, 05:13 PM
Gary 'Buddha' Hocking. Remember him coming into a take away venue opposite Kardinia Park for a roast pack one night so I've seen first hand.

Off topic, but ah, good old Ripper Roasts!

Um, yeah look, i'm gonna have to go with Peverill for this one.
Also Riewoldt, every time I see him i'm reminded of an albino alpaca!

18-05-2008, 05:19 PM
This is horrible, but i'ver seriously come up with a list in my head now!

The Ablett family.
Barry Hall.
Gehrig. Make it the majority of the St Kilda team (Excluding Dal Santo, of course;))
Jake King.

I could go on, but I think i've been cruel enough!

18-05-2008, 06:08 PM
Off topic, but ah, good old Ripper Roasts!

That's the one

18-05-2008, 08:48 PM
Who the hell was that #37 for Freo? hed have to be in there

Looks like Michael Jackson in Thriller

Rach
18-05-2008, 08:59 PM
Who the hell was that #37 for Freo? hed have to be in there

Looks like Michael Jackson in Thriller
Michael Johnson :o

18-05-2008, 09:23 PM
Alan Ezard, Essendon.
Steven "Strawbs" O'Dwyer.

Icky....

18-05-2008, 09:52 PM
Roughhead sure has a rough head.

18-05-2008, 09:54 PM
This is horrible, but i'ver seriously come up with a list in my head now!

The Ablett family.
Barry Hall.
Gehrig. Make it the majority of the St Kilda team (Excluding Dal Santo, of course;))
Jake King.

I could go on, but I think i've been cruel enough!

Yeah Gary jnr isnt helping the cause with the haircut

19-05-2008, 03:23 PM
Here is the great Robert Scratcher Neale

http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/images/RNealGeel.jpg

19-05-2008, 03:39 PM
The King
----------

When it comes to speaking
Of footy’s ugliest mugs
There really is no shortage
Of some pugnacious thugs

Or some good honest triers
Whose looks have gone quite errant
Even some quite crackin’ players
With unfortunately mismatchin' parents

Lest we still our mocking,
Of the Rough, the Tough, the Ugly,
Let’s start with Buddha Hocking
Whom we’ll call “the-Fugly”.

The Danihers were Conifers
Richo’s head’s a pillow
Danny Southern’s tempestuous locks
Makes Jacko almost (but not quite) yumm-o

Gary Ablett looks a muppett,
Father’s like his son(s)
Dermie’s hair gets caught on carpets,
Walks like he’s got the run(s)

Bradshaw’s head’s shaped
Like a brick;
And verily anaemic,
is merry Old Saint Nick.

Coxy’s often poxy
And Cooney’s quite impugny;
McPhee's cert'nly no beauty
And Foley is a moley.

Fevola’s a Corolla
That’s backed into a ute;
Platten’s a first-run Barina,
Our E.J. was no beaut

Eagle’s bald
And Granty’s Auld
And Johnno is no Smithy,

Jezza was a mess-a
And Big Bad Bazza –
Well, the less said of the better;

But when all is said and done,
When all is done and dusted,
With all the final ballots finished
When all the votes are counted,

Then will the fat lady rise to sing
“The King,” she says to all,
“The King” she sings, “is Ling! Is Ling!”
The King, she sings, is Ling!

19-05-2008, 03:46 PM
Very well done Lantern you obviously study boofheads.

camwoof
19-05-2008, 03:48 PM
Josh Thurgood who was on Hawthorn's list was not the prettiest footballer getting around.

19-05-2008, 05:38 PM
McPhee almost has bolts coming out of his neck...as does Roughhead.

I recall Alan Daniels being descibed as having "a face like a crumbling brick". Always liked that one.:D

19-05-2008, 08:54 PM
:D Bluey Hampshire had a head like a medieval helmet

Ha ha

19-05-2008, 08:55 PM
Shane Loveless.

Tugun Goalsneak
19-05-2008, 08:55 PM
What about Sav Rocca? He was so ugly that when he was born the doctor slapped his mother!

19-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Wonder if Laurie Sandilands will get a mention, seem to be going the tall good marking players, what you think Tugun?

Tugun Goalsneak
19-05-2008, 09:31 PM
Wonder if Laurie Sandilands will get a mention, seem to be going the tall good marking players, what you think Tugun?

Laurie Sandilands was best described as "Ruggedly handsome" To imply that he was in any way ugly would be to describe the whole Western Suburbs population as Ugly - You brute! What he may have lacked in Facial symmetry he made up for in classical elbows to opponents groins, backhanders to their jaws, knees to their buttocks etc. How could he EVER be considered less than poetry in motion?

19-05-2008, 09:40 PM
The King
----------

When it comes to speaking
Of footy’s ugliest mugs
There really is no shortage
Of some pugnacious thugs

Or some good honest triers
Whose looks have gone quite errant
Even some quite crackin’ players
With unfortunately mismatchin' parents

Lest we still our mocking,
Of the Rough, the Tough, the Ugly,
Let’s start with Buddha Hocking
Whom we’ll call “the-Fugly”.

The Danihers were Conifers
Richo’s head’s a pillow
Danny Southern’s tempestuous locks
Makes Jacko almost (but not quite) yumm-o

Gary Ablett looks a muppett,
Father’s like his son(s)
Dermie’s hair gets caught on carpets,
Walks like he’s got the run(s)

Bradshaw’s head’s shaped
Like a brick;
And verily anaemic,
is merry Old Saint Nick.

Coxy’s often poxy
And Cooney’s quite impugny;
McPhee is cert'nly no beauty
And Foley is a moley.

Fevola’s a Corolla
That’s backed into a ute;
Platten’s a first-run Barina,
Our E.J. was no beaut

Eagle’s bald
And Granty’s Auld
And Johnno is no Smithy,

Jezza was a mess-a
And Big Bad Bazza –
Well, the less said of the better;

But when all is said and done,
When all is done and dusted,
With all the final ballots finished
When all the votes are counted,

Then will the fat lady rise to sing
“The King,” she says to all,
“The King” she sings, “is Ling! Is Ling!”
The King, she sings, is Ling!

One word, Brilliant.

19-05-2008, 10:11 PM
Brendan Goodard @ the Saints

Ian Williams/ Brad Hardy from the Dogs

Crizza
19-05-2008, 10:30 PM
Sav Rocca was mentioned before but it is unfair to not mention Anthony as he should be on this list too.

Bruce Doull should also get a mention

GetDimmaBack
19-05-2008, 11:07 PM
Laurie Sandilands was best described as "Ruggedly handsome" To imply that he was in any way ugly would be to describe the whole Western Suburbs population as Ugly - You brute! What he may have lacked in Facial symmetry he made up for in classical elbows to opponents groins, backhanders to their jaws, knees to their buttocks etc. How could he EVER be considered less than poetry in motion?

Like a bad limerick, I reckon! LOL

I knew him a bit when I was a young bloke - Laurie had a head like a robber's dog (especially when he was standing next to me!). Sincerely hope he's improved with age (like me):D!!

19-05-2008, 11:15 PM
Like a bad limerick, I reckon! LOL

I knew him a bit when I was a young bloke - Laurie had a head like a robber's dog (especially when he was standing next to me!). Sincerely hope he's improved with age (like me):D!!

I hope he never reads this thread mate cos your in poo!

19-05-2008, 11:17 PM

Im the classic western suburbs lad then growing up in Melon st Braybrook in the early 70s, as ugly as ever and proud of it!

20-05-2008, 10:55 PM
I forgot one, Caroline Wilson, well ok she didnt play AFL but must have played it in some capacity to get a head like that.

20-05-2008, 11:01 PM
I forgot one, Caroline Wilson, well ok she didnt play AFL but must have played it in some capacity to get a head like that.

Must've played rugby

21-05-2008, 10:40 AM

You'll get yourself into trouble Sammy ;)

21-05-2008, 11:11 AM
OK in fear of being sexist i will call myslf ugly too and i really mean it, all those facelifts and botox, i feel like Bert Newton.

Haveuever
21-05-2008, 11:41 PM
Kevin Bartlett - comb overs were never fashionable

22-05-2008, 04:51 PM
Kevin Bartlett - comb overs were never fashionable

Too true. Welcome to WOOF

22-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Umpires are an ugly lot too, Steve (Aker) McBurney.

22-05-2008, 11:06 PM
What about Damien Peverill...not the most aesthetically pleasing individual...

23-05-2008, 12:30 AM
What about Damien Peverill...not the most aesthetically pleasing individual...

Nope your dead right Fazza head like an opened tinned of sardines. Welcome to WOOF :)