View Full Version : Who's going to Darwin

16-06-2008, 11:35 PM
It just occured to me today that it's next week.

I've never been to Darwin before-should be a hoot!

17-06-2008, 12:07 AM
Me, me, me, me!

17-06-2008, 12:28 AM
Not going to Darwin but have booked my tickets for Canberra

17-06-2008, 12:38 AM

Yep, we'll be there too.

17-06-2008, 08:04 AM
Me, me, me, me!
You didn't tell your wife that you're required in Darwin for a work conference did you SS?

17-06-2008, 11:19 AM
You didn't tell your wife that you're required in Darwin for a work conference did you SS?

She had a girls long weekend away to NZ. ATM I can do whatever I want.

17-06-2008, 11:20 AM
I will be there :D

My cousin lives up there so im crashin there for the weekend, cant wait to grab a vb tinnie at the ground and watch the boys play

Then find a supporters function afterwards i hope.

GetDimmaBack
17-06-2008, 11:36 AM
Have been before, but not this year....my wife is flying up today, visiting family. She's a big Dogs fan, but she booked the ticket before she realised we were playing there that weekend. She's coming home Thursday before the game! Can't organise an extension because all flights are booked for a few days...

There is no fury like a Dogs fanatic scorned!

If anyone going up can find the time, try the hospitality at the Trailer Boat Club. Great food, unbelievable views across the bay at sunset. Beer's cold too!

17-06-2008, 03:07 PM
I'm going! Its going to be my first interstate match, and i'm excited! I'm going up with my mum, haha. She's not that into footy, but she's coming along to the game, but thats fine with her, she's found a love for Welshy, she can watch him the whole time ;)

P.S, I'm there in Darwin for a week, what exactly do I do?

17-06-2008, 03:35 PM
I'm going! Its going to be my first interstate match, and i'm excited! I'm going up with my mum, haha. She's not that into footy, but she's coming along to the game, but thats fine with her, she's found a love for Welshy, she can watch him the whole time ;)

Lock up your mum, Twodogs will be on the prowl!

17-06-2008, 03:40 PM

Drink and Drink More!

Come drinking with me and my cousin if you like haha

That weekend is gunna be sooo messy :)

17-06-2008, 04:34 PM
This will be the first game in Darwin that I have ever met, but I am gong to the game in Canberra and the game against Brisbane at the Gabba.

17-06-2008, 04:55 PM

We had a week in Darwin last year and there is heaps to do.
Day tour to Kakadu
Day tour to Adelaide River and the jumping crocs, Litchfield National Park (swim at the waterfalls)
Walk around Darwin and visit:
- the museum
- parliament house and the library (with the magnificent quilt)
- the shops
- twilight cruise on the harbor
- Mindil Market on Thursday and watch the sunset. Players usually go there for signings, etc.
Best of all - go to the footy and see the Doggies win! We did!!!!

17-06-2008, 05:36 PM
My older brother is heading up this year (he went to Launceston a few weeks ago - I went to Canberra last year...Faulkner's last game) Are there any official or otherwise functions I can give him the heads up on?

Good scheduling of this one, I'm very happy we have the bye after this.

17-06-2008, 07:38 PM
It just occured to me today that it's next week.

I've never been to Darwin before-should be a hoot!

This thread is mean

17-06-2008, 07:39 PM
Me, me, me, me!

Bugger me everyone's going!

17-06-2008, 07:40 PM
I will be there :D

My cousin lives up there so im crashin there for the weekend, cant wait to grab a vb tinnie at the ground and watch the boys play

Then find a supporters function afterwards i hope.

That's it you're all bastards:D

17-06-2008, 09:18 PM
Don't be jealous 1eyedog, they have to deal with the heat and humidity of Darwin. I'll take the cold thanks.

lowedog
17-06-2008, 09:23 PM
I've actualy got a ticket to fly up there, but I'm not sure. I've got a few issues at home. I was able to spend nearly $1000 down at launscesten, or however the hell you spell it. I really think that should go, but you know....

17-06-2008, 09:26 PM
I've actualy got a ticket to fly up there, but I'm not sure. I've got a few issues at home. I was able to spend nearly $1000 down at launscesten, or however the hell you spell it. I really think that should go, but you know....

Tassie. T-A-S-S-I-E.

17-06-2008, 09:30 PM
Lock up your mum, Twodogs will be on the prowl!

Haha, won't say I havent been warned!

17-06-2008, 11:14 PM
I'm going Wednesday even and staying for a week.
Going to Litchfield for a day and possibly Kakadu for 2 or 3 days.
I'm staying at the Backpackers called Chillis!!!
Think I'll be partying most of the time.

18-06-2008, 09:40 AM
I'm going Wednesday even and staying for a week.
Going to Litchfield for a day and possibly Kakadu for 2 or 3 days.
I'm staying at the Backpackers called Chillis!!!
Think I'll be partying most of the time.
Wasn't Hugh Litchfield a gun Full fwd in the VFA?

18-06-2008, 10:02 AM
Going with the Mrs and our 10 month old, so it's big lunches and early nights for me. Don't know how the young un will go at a night game, she only made half time in Tassie. Went 2 years ago and the game's good fun, like the AFL gone bush.
Always plenty of markets and places to eat if you're looking for something to do and Litchfield is worth the relatively short drive.

18-06-2008, 12:00 PM
I feel a WOOF Darwin meeting is in order before and/or after the game :)

Rach
18-06-2008, 05:49 PM

When is the Canberra game? I might have to do some serious convincing to my parents to get to that game! They're massive Dogs fans but for some reason refuse to go interstate, unless it's the grand final.

18-06-2008, 05:51 PM
When is the Canberra game?

3rd August

19-06-2008, 07:42 PM
I'm going to Darwin!
And i'm quite excited..... not a big fan of the heat, but after today's horrible weather i'll be looking forward to it!

And whoever suggested drinking for someting to do.... it'll be 2 days before my 18th when i leave!
I'm sure there'll be other things to do :P

19-06-2008, 07:51 PM
Lol - theres plenty to do involving and not involving drinking..

Now to Dates - when is everyone going?

Im going Thursday night (June 26) with Jetstar..Returning on a 2am flight (eek!) out of Darwin Monday morning how bout everyone else?

19-06-2008, 09:11 PM
Friday night with.... i have no idea! Jetstar, possibly.
Staying up there the week, coming home on Friday the 4th.
Should be good, im looking forward to a bit of sunshine!

19-06-2008, 09:35 PM
I'm going up with two of my very closest and dearest friends.

Of course one of them is buggering off to Kakadu and not bothering about us.

They do say travel sorts out friends.

20-06-2008, 09:15 PM
I'm going up with two of my very closest and dearest friends.

Of course one of them is buggering off to Kakadu and not bothering about us.

They do say travel sorts out friends.
Sounds like a top bloke, tell him I'm going to Kakadu as well.

23-06-2008, 11:59 AM
Leaving tonight. Bub and mum have colds so it's a ripper start to the holiday so far :eek:
Hopefully some nice warm Darwin weather can sort us all out.

23-06-2008, 12:18 PM
Leaving tonight. Bub and mum have colds so it's a ripper start to the holiday so far :eek:
Hopefully some nice warm Darwin weather can sort us all out.

So are my oldies...

23-06-2008, 01:35 PM
So are my oldies...

If they're on the 10pm Tiger flight then apologise for me for the tired sick baby who'll probably cry most of the way :o

23-06-2008, 03:16 PM
So are my oldies...
Don't worry, I've already warned Rocket about your Mum! ;)

23-06-2008, 05:24 PM
Don't worry, I've already warned Rocket about your Mum! ;)

She is well known to get a bit excited at the footy.

And they are flying Branson Air.

26-06-2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone goin up tonight?

I am - Jetstar 9.35 flight..

26-06-2008, 05:53 PM
I'm going up tomorrow night at around 9pm..... jetstar, possibly.
I'll be wearing my doggies scarf!!

26-06-2008, 06:32 PM
We do some work with the indigenous communities up there in Darwin. Interesting place. It's the only 'international' airport (Tiger Air flies out of there to Singapore) I've ever been in where grown men were dressed in shorts at eleven o'clock at night and bright purple safari suits were considered standard issue for middle-aged women.

Also, hats. Lots of hats. Akubras, especially.

And everyone was red, either from the sun or the brew. Like I said, interesting.

--

Have a great time up there, everyone who's going. Safe travelling.