View Full Version : My Canberra Trip..

04-08-2008, 12:13 AM
Thought id just share a few things from today as i saw many well known faces..

Left Melbourne at 7.30ish, sat in depature lounge pre-flight..behind me was Anthony Hudson & Kevin Bartlett.. (short funny lookin bloke and quiet paper reading man) not long after Luke Darcy rocked up, but went to sit with the Doggies coaching staff..

So to start off they were all on my plane..sat in front of John Barnes too.

Get into Canberra had a few hours to waste so i headed to a cafe very close to the ground. Ordered my meal etc, started reading the paper and kept noticing some bloke getting coffee after coffee, phone call after phone call but didnt really bother lookin to my left...when i did, turned out to be Danny Frawley..had a quick chat, he wished the dogs luck.

Game was entertaining, i was behind the goals few rows back, the end where swans started off from, and kicked 4 goals practically before we touched the ball :S luckily we kicked major a$$ in the 2nd. Noticed a bloke cheerin on the doggies behind me, who looked familiar...turned out to be my Grade 3 primary teacher (and the best teacher ive ever had)..13yrs ago and i still recognise him..at of all places canberra (lives in a nearby suburb to me)

Game finished, wandered out of the ground, had plenty of time to waste for a 8.25pm flight, so watched sydney fans hound the players n paul roos for autographs when they were leaving, roos couldnt escape em!

Eventually made way to Airport..ended up being on the same flight as the doggies players..had quick chats with Harbrow, Griff, Welshy, Gilbee..

On the plane was quite funny..As we landed all the doggies fans sung the song..think there was 20 odd fans. Cooneys haircut btw - what the! looks pretty bad close up..

Got off the plane and to the baggage, most players grabbed luggage and were off pretty quickly, managed to grab an autograph on my hat from Eagleton.. Aswell as Rocket.
Quick conversation with Rocket, I asked 'how did higgins and williams pull up', his reply: 'yeh higgins is fine....tommy...well ahh..' me: 'bit of a setback?' eade: 'yeah u could prob call it a setback..' :/ no good!

(Oh and found something a little humerous, dale morris walked past as i was chattin and said 'seeya rocket' which rocket left for a second then yelled out 'dale, its rodney not rocket' hehe)

All in all just for a day it was a fun time..i recommend it to anyone who hasnt travelled interstate for a game..i went by myself, had a bit of time to waste but it was still cool being over there, bit chilly but sun was out, good day, good win.

Id love to hear from anyone else who went over..

04-08-2008, 10:47 AM
Alex, enjoyed reading that and loved to have been there. I have never been to Manuka Oval and might think about it next year. Was there a function after the game by the local supporter group?

I will be off to the Gabba in a couple of weeks so looking forward to that one.

04-08-2008, 10:55 AM
Thought id just share a few things from today as i saw many well known faces..

Left Melbourne at 7.30ish, sat in depature lounge pre-flight..behind me was Anthony Hudson & Kevin Bartlett.. (short funny lookin bloke and quiet paper reading man) not long after Luke Darcy rocked up, but went to sit with the Doggies coaching staff..

So to start off they were all on my plane..sat in front of John Barnes too.

Get into Canberra had a few hours to waste so i headed to a cafe very close to the ground. Ordered my meal etc, started reading the paper and kept noticing some bloke getting coffee after coffee, phone call after phone call but didnt really bother lookin to my left...when i did, turned out to be Danny Frawley..had a quick chat, he wished the dogs luck.

Game was entertaining, i was behind the goals few rows back, the end where swans started off from, and kicked 4 goals practically before we touched the ball :S luckily we kicked major a$$ in the 2nd. Noticed a bloke cheerin on the doggies behind me, who looked familiar...turned out to be my Grade 3 primary teacher (and the best teacher ive ever had)..13yrs ago and i still recognise him..at of all places canberra (lives in a nearby suburb to me)

Game finished, wandered out of the ground, had plenty of time to waste for a 8.25pm flight, so watched sydney fans hound the players n paul roos for autographs when they were leaving, roos couldnt escape em!

Eventually made way to Airport..ended up being on the same flight as the doggies players..had quick chats with Harbrow, Griff, Welshy, Gilbee..

On the plane was quite funny..As we landed all the doggies fans sung the song..think there was 20 odd fans. Cooneys haircut btw - what the! looks pretty bad close up..

Got off the plane and to the baggage, most players grabbed luggage and were off pretty quickly, managed to grab an autograph on my hat from Eagleton.. Aswell as Rocket.
Quick conversation with Rocket, I asked 'how did higgins and williams pull up', his reply: 'yeh higgins is fine....tommy...well ahh..' me: 'bit of a setback?' eade: 'yeah u could prob call it a setback..' :/ no good!

(Oh and found something a little humerous, dale morris walked past as i was chattin and said 'seeya rocket' which rocket left for a second then yelled out 'dale, its rodney not rocket' hehe)

All in all just for a day it was a fun time..i recommend it to anyone who hasnt travelled interstate for a game..i went by myself, had a bit of time to waste but it was still cool being over there, bit chilly but sun was out, good day, good win.

Id love to hear from anyone else who went over..
The teachers surname was not Moriatis by any chance?

04-08-2008, 11:04 AM
Alex, enjoyed reading that and loved to have been there. I have never been to Manuka Oval and might think about it next year. Was there a function after the game by the local supporter group?

During the game they mentioned a supporters group, cant remember the name but i dont think there was anything after-match else i would of gone to have a look...the players left the ground maybe an hour and a half after the game and went to a restaurant close by before the transfer to the airport.

The teachers surname was not Moriatis by any chance?
Nah, it was Mr Cunningham...very random to have him sit behind me, aswell as me to actually ask if it really was him haha..i remembered he was a bulldogs fan and had a beard..would of looked like a fool if it wasnt him! :)

04-08-2008, 11:15 AM
top report alexxx.

bornadog there was a Canberra Supporters Group function (dinner?) the night before the game. I didnt make it myself but apparantley players were going to be there.

04-08-2008, 01:38 PM
top report alexxx.

bornadog there was a Canberra Supporters Group function (dinner?) the night before the game. I didnt make it myself but apparantley players were going to be there.
My brother attended the function and Lynch spoke about how big of a tear his hammy had. He spoke to Leon Cameron for 30 minutes who was more than happy to chat even more. I believe it was the Ainslie Footy Club that had the function.

04-08-2008, 03:12 PM

I will be off to the Gabba in a couple of weeks so looking forward to that one.

Manuka's a bit weird to watch footy at - the general admin wing is all standing room (no complaints) but when the sun's out, it shines in your eyes all day. No real facilities to speak of, mainly porta-loos. Decent little RSL (not called RSL in ACT, can't remember what it was exactly) right on the corner of the ground is a good spot to have a drink before the game.

Looking forward to some Brisvegas/Gabba reports, I'm keen to do that trip in the next few years.

04-08-2008, 05:03 PM
Have just arrived back after an extended weekend in Canberra for my daughter's 10th birthday - what else would she want to do but go to see the Doggies play.

First time visit to Canberra for 3 of my family, and for all 4 of the other family that we went up with ("The Dog's Bollocks").

Easy place toget around and the ground was good to watch the footy at. Likewise to others, we were behind the goals that the Swans kicked to in the first quarter. Felt like being back at the Whitten oval, close to the action and a real sense of Bulldog's community in this part of the ground. Cheer squad did a good job all day keeping the fans going.

Best goal of the day - the rolling scrum work of Johnson finished off by Welsh.

Must say there were far too many Swans fans there for my liking, but after the initial onslaught, they had little to get excited about, with the Bulldogs comfortably in control.

Was great to get out on the ground after the game and have a kick of the footy - my young kids very excited. Bring it back!!!!

We did the touristy things as well - great to go to the new and old parliament and to the scienceworks equivalent. Others off to the War Museum.

Well worth the trip - an easy drive from Melbourne - and pleanty to do and entertain the kids.

Crowd of 13500 approx and plenty of room and easy parking - though the amenities aren't great, and it was bloody hard to find a meat pie.

04-08-2008, 05:38 PM
Sounds like a good one BP.

It wasnt a trip for me but nonetheless thought I'd quickly put down a report on my weekend. It was just great really to go and see the footy in Canberra. Even without the Dogs playing I enjoy going to the games at Manuka but the dogs playing was a bonus. We had seats up behind the swans cheer squad which was the wrong end for where all the action was but the right end for keeping warm in the sun. Like BP I enjoyed the sense of footy community that the "old style" ground and full house created. Had a fair bit of banter with swans supporters around us which was good.

My Dad, myself and my twin 4-month old daughters also went to the "training" at Manuka the day before the game. I wasnt game to take the twins to the big noisy game but made sure they got to see training. Not that it was training! A couple of players had some shots at goal and a few run throughs but mostly it was everyone in trakkys wandering over the ground. Saw (I think) Jarred Grant walking laps with one of the young indigenous players (Stack or Lynch?) before the "training". assume they were up to get the feel for an interstate trip.

My goal of the day would have to be Boyds pinching of the handball from the 1st gamer and running into the empty 50 for the long goal. reminded me of that one he got against richmond a few years ago when we were flooding the tigers defence. classic.

04-08-2008, 06:23 PM
Just got home about half hour ago. l will post a few pics of the day when l get sorted.
l was behind those same goals as well. Good day

Rach
04-08-2008, 06:44 PM
I was at the game too, with my mum, dad and brothers and sisters. Had a very good weekend, the best thing was driving back home with the Dogs scarf proudly hanging out the window!

Lowlights were the 1st few minutes of the game, and my younger brother getting in a fight with a Swans supporting kid. :eek:

04-08-2008, 07:20 PM
I was in Row G behind the goals, which is the first level in the 'upper' section, so the ball always came into the area in front or behind me..

Little trouble-maker kids stood there most the day trying to catch the ball...hate parents who let their kids wander around un-supervised in big public arenas, that end up annoying everyone around em lol

04-08-2008, 07:28 PM

Surely he was dared into that.

04-08-2008, 07:43 PM
How cold was it there?
Sun was out but that wind cuts through you.
Darwin anyday. BTW I see Tiger cut their Darwin service :(

04-08-2008, 07:51 PM
My trip to Canberra by The Underdog, aged 32 and 11 months.

I managed to make it to the airport early enough to check in and emergency row seats to be available, then read the Sunday Age cover to cover. My 50 minute Tiger flight was very comfortable due to my excess of legroom, although the potential responsibility in case of emergency did weigh heavily on my mind. We arrived in Canberra to bright sunshine and me realising that 7 layers of clothing may have been a little over the top. Saw luminiaries such as Liam Pickering and Cam Rose at the airport. If Cam is running the development like he organises people into a cab I'm beginning to believe the Maribyrnong Council may be in the right. Got the bus into town and decided against trying to do anything touristy and go to Manuka and drink beer instead. Thanks to T31's directions I found the Kingston and had a couple of schooners in it's outdoor area and scooted off to the ground before it got too busy. Had a seat at the opposite end to everyone else apparently, surrounded by local teens from football clubs who must have got in free specifically so they could piss me off all day.
The ground was lovely and although it was a bit hard to see up the other end I was pretty grateful for that in the first 15 minutes when I started to consider a quick trip to Fyshwick for porn and fireworks rather than another 3 and a half quarters of that crap. Fortunately things settled down and Mitch Hahn dragged us back into the game singlehandedly (hey this is my story). The 2nd quarter was great and the rest of the game was swings and roundabouts, approriate for Canberra, but the result was good. I think I may have been on Jarrad McVeigh though as nobody else seemingly was.
Headed back to the packed out Kingston for a couple more, watched the first quarter of Freo and West Coast including the worst free kick for a goal I've ever seen, had a laksa up the road then headed to the airport which took a little longer than it should have as my taxi driver turned left a roundabout too early.
Must have been on the same flight as Alexxx as the row in front of me contained Ryan Griffen, Josh Hill and Matty Boyd. There was hijinks a plenty, ripping off the headphones of the guy in front, rock, paper, scissors for the emergency row seats, cards and PSP's.
God I felt old.
We all landed safely and I got in the car just in time to hear (I think) Aker 39 on SEN and got home in time for the last 10 minutes of Dexter and the replay, falling soundly asleep in the 2nd quarter and dreaming sweet dreams of the double chance.

04-08-2008, 07:53 PM
Surely he was dared into that.

Up close, he looks like he went into the hairdressers and asked for a hair circumcision.

04-08-2008, 08:05 PM
How cold was it there?
Sun was out but that wind cuts through you.
Darwin anyday. BTW I see Tiger cut their Darwin service :(

It was cold, thankfully we were sitting in the sun all day - I think it was Bay 16 right on the fence. Not far from the knobhead who starts up the Swans chants. That guy really is a knob; he also needs to take a copy of the rules to the game so that he understands what holding the ball actually means. Geez I wanted to punch his lights out - luckily I am not a violent fellow.

04-08-2008, 10:14 PM
Here is my story.

We left home 4.30am Friday morning and arrived in Canberra about 12.30.
Could not check in until 2pm so we went and found the oval and grabbed some Vietnamese for lunch across the road from the ground.

Did the usual tourist stuff on Saturday War memorial, Cockington Green and Parliment house. The kids liked Cockington Green the most.
Came across plenty of doggies supporters doing the tourist stuff.
Caught up with freinds who arrived that afternoon and had pizza and wine for dinner.

The big day. Headed off to Questecon (Sciencworks) before the game. Got to the ground about midday. Grabbed some lunch and headed in.

Good seats behind the goals (Bay 9 upper row k) lots of dogs supporters where we sat. Behind Cheer squad.

Old bloke in front of us was there with his whole family about 18 of them. They came from Adelaide, Melbourne and Canberra. All of them Doggies Supporters. This is the best bit he told us how they began following the dogs.

His 42 year old son was given a red, white and blue jumper from opp shop (not dogs jumper) when he was at kindergarten (4 years old at time). Another kid at kindergarten told him he was a doggie and he said he was a doggie. From that point on the whole family has followed them.

The kids loved getting out on the ground and having a kick after the game. Just had to watch all the balls flying everywhere. We stayed on the ground until we were kicked off by security.

Headed home Monday morning about 8.30am

Good Weekend!

Photo's to follow.

04-08-2008, 10:31 PM
The crowd before the game

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/706/dscf1283oq5.jpg

The Banner

http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/8915/dscf1292kd6.jpg

Johno's great goal

http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/1605/dscf1298zm8.jpg

Cheer squad go mad

http://img397.imageshack.us/img397/9621/dscf1299qa6.jpg

04-08-2008, 10:57 PM
Woofer on the scene

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/8039/dscf1304fb7.jpg

The win

http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/5506/dscf1312wj4.jpg

The Score

http://img397.imageshack.us/img397/2656/dscf1322me5.jpg

Bollocks jnr after game specky

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4752/dscf1316cd6.jpg

04-08-2008, 11:25 PM
^^^^

Who's Bollocks jnr jnr giving 'the bird' to?

04-08-2008, 11:29 PM
Good seats behind the goals (Bay 9 upper row k) lots of dogs supporters where we sat. Behind Cheer squad.

Lol funny that, i was in Bay 9 Row G (First Row) and in the first seat..good view from that bay

Nice pics too

05-08-2008, 12:16 AM
I was in Bay 9, Row H so I was right there where these photos were taken. Manuka is a beaut little ground though sadly lacking in toilet facilities. The warm up indoor areas in the main grandstand for both teams were behind glass with supporters able to watch the players before the game and half time. I looked for a few seconds pre game but fearing it was a zoo moved on.

It really was a beautiful sunny day and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch of Eggs Benedict before the game at one of Manuka's many cafes.

I went to the ACT supporters function at the Eastlake Football Club the night before. They have a social club that most Vic clubs would love to have. A lot of supporters there with Peter Dean, Josh Hill, Stephen Tiller, Jarryd Grant and Malcolm Lynch answering plenty of questions. Tiller spoke about the increased speed and intensity at AFL level compared th VFL level which unfortunately proved to be true for him the next day.

One of many highlights was a high five from Woofer!

A long way to drive there and back but I'll consider it or flying next year.

05-08-2008, 01:35 AM
Heres my story for you all, from Wimberga - Aged 18

Headed up with 1 mate mid-afternoon on Virgin blue flight. good solid flight and headed straight t the hotel it what was an unusually wet Canberra. Headed down to Civic for a steak before slotting into a few bars on the way home.

Saturday was spent at the War Memorial which was fantastic and i would recommend to anyone with an interest in australian history. I was truly fantastic. Then it was down to Manuka Early afternoon for some lunch. Dogs happened to be having a bit of a kick so headed in to watch a bit of that. Saturday night was a massive night spent at more bars and Pubs, particularly Mooseheads where i was fortunate to meet many bulldogs fans ( i was wearing the guernsey, a great convo starter) A 3am finish with a hangover that followed me to the game on sunday ensued.

Walked to the game from Civic and was happy to see many cars with dogs fans driving by honking the horn and cheering at the scarfs me and my friend had. Watched the game from the hill and thoroughly enjoyed the community feel that it held. Made me think of how games at Whitten Oval must have felt. Sunday night was rather low-key as was still in recovery mode from the night before. Settled for Pizza and then hit the bed quite early.

All in all, a grea trip and would recommend to any of those people that have not been to an Interstate match to give it a try. It was well worth it, its nice to meet people and this definietely wont be my last

05-08-2008, 07:19 AM
^^^^

Who's Bollocks jnr jnr giving 'the bird' to?

l am not to sure. l think he has just learnt that in the last week from kinder or brother he calls it the naughty finger. We are trying to put a stop to it. He was ripped thru for that so hopefully we wont see it for a while.

05-08-2008, 07:24 AM
I was in Bay 9, Row H so I was right there where these photos were taken. Manuka is a beaut little ground though sadly lacking in toilet facilities. The warm up indoor areas in the main grandstand for both teams were behind glass with supporters able to watch the players before the game and half time. I looked for a few seconds pre game but fearing it was a zoo moved on.

It really was a beautiful sunny day and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch of Eggs Benedict before the game at one of Manuka's many cafes.

I went to the ACT supporters function at the Eastlake Football Club the night before. They have a social club that most Vic clubs would love to have. A lot of supporters there with Peter Dean, Josh Hill, Stephen Tiller, Jarryd Grant and Malcolm Lynch answering plenty of questions. Tiller spoke about the increased speed and intensity at AFL level compared th VFL level which unfortunately proved to be true for him the next day.

One of many highlights was a high five from Woofer!

A long way to drive there and back but I'll consider it or flying next year.

Totally agree with the lack of toilet facilities. There was a huge line a the porta loos.

l know what you mean by the zoo. After the game on the way out l saw all the people looking thru the windows. l think Morris was standing there in his shorts looking at the people looking at him. Was a bit to weird for me so we moved on.

05-08-2008, 07:31 AM
Heres my story for you all, from Wimberga - Aged 18

Headed up with 1 mate mid-afternoon on Virgin blue flight. good solid flight and headed straight t the hotel it what was an unusually wet Canberra. Headed down to Civic for a steak before slotting into a few bars on the way home.

Saturday was spent at the War Memorial which was fantastic and i would recommend to anyone with an interest in australian history. I was truly fantastic. Then it was down to Manuka Early afternoon for some lunch. Dogs happened to be having a bit of a kick so headed in to watch a bit of that. Saturday night was a massive night spent at more bars and Pubs, particularly Mooseheads where i was fortunate to meet many bulldogs fans ( i was wearing the guernsey, a great convo starter) A 3am finish with a hangover that followed me to the game on sunday ensued.

Walked to the game from Civic and was happy to see many cars with dogs fans driving by honking the horn and cheering at the scarfs me and my friend had. Watched the game from the hill and thoroughly enjoyed the community feel that it held. Made me think of how games at Whitten Oval must have felt. Sunday night was rather low-key as was still in recovery mode from the night before. Settled for Pizza and then hit the bed quite early.

All in all, a grea trip and would recommend to any of those people that have not been to an Interstate match to give it a try. It was well worth it, its nice to meet people and this definietely wont be my last

Did you get to the war memorial when it opened at 10 or you later?

Just asking because we were there at opening on Saturday and there was a fair few dogs supporters going thru. l spoke to one guy about the game in front of the Gallipoli section.

Unfortunatley we couldn't spend to long there because the kids were getting board. You could easily spend a whole day there.

05-08-2008, 11:25 AM
Arrived back from the ACT last night. I Arived on Saturday Mourning and did the touristy things New and old Parliment house as well as the war memorial. Sunday we went to the old bus deptot markets before heading to the game I was in Bay 9 Upper level behind the cheer squad Row L. It is actually a nice ground not quite Optus oval but not quiet country ground if that makes sense. Weather was great for footy however around 3/4 time you started to feel the chill. Need better toilet facilities as well as another entrance wouldn't go astray.

One thing I would like to say is that the MC for the day was more leaning towards Sydney which I found disappointing as it was our home game. But he played to the crowd I guess as it was prodominantly Sydney. Also had a bloke behind me screaming go cats ok it was a giggle at best the first time but talk about flogging a dead horse. I was waiting for the race results to be displayed on the old score boared but to no avail.

We Stayed at the Rydges Capital Hill which I highly suggest as it is literally a 5 min walk to the ground if you are looking to stay for the weekend. But it can get pricey so wouldn't suggest if you want to do it on a shoe string. Monday we went to the National Zoo and Aquaium was ok but you can see everything in an hour so don't expect it to be a time consuming thing.

05-08-2008, 02:21 PM
Arrived back from the ACT last night. I Arived on Saturday Mourning and did the touristy things New and old Parliment house as well as the war memorial. Sunday we went to the old bus deptot markets before heading to the game I was in Bay 9 Upper level behind the cheer squad Row L. It is actually a nice ground not quite Optus oval but not quiet country ground if that makes sense. Weather was great for footy however around 3/4 time you started to feel the chill. Need better toilet facilities as well as another entrance wouldn't go astray.

One thing I would like to say is that the MC for the day was more leaning towards Sydney which I found disappointing as it was our home game. But he played to the crowd I guess as it was prodominantly Sydney. Also had a bloke behind me screaming go cats ok it was a giggle at best the first time but talk about flogging a dead horse. I was waiting for the race results to be displayed on the old score boared but to no avail.

We Stayed at the Rydges Capital Hill which I highly suggest as it is literally a 5 min walk to the ground if you are looking to stay for the weekend. But it can get pricey so wouldn't suggest if you want to do it on a shoe string. Monday we went to the National Zoo and Aquaium was ok but you can see everything in an hour so don't expect it to be a time consuming thing.

What seat number did you have? You might of been behind us.
We had row k seats 1-8

05-08-2008, 03:38 PM
We got the War Memorial maybe around 10.30-11? Saw plenty of doggies fans in the gear there, but i wasnt. I was wearing a Grey jumper with a Grey Cap

05-08-2008, 11:00 PM
Thanks for the reports everyone. Will repay the favour come round 22.

06-08-2008, 10:52 AM
What seat number did you have? You might of been behind us.
We had row k seats 1-8

Row L 1 -2

06-08-2008, 06:16 PM
Row L 1 -2

l was siting in k 1.

The idiot taking all the photo's......