View Full Version : Fixture and Prediction 2009

09-03-2009, 02:31 PM
Not long to go now for the season proper, so what is your prediction for 2009.

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/Fixture.jpg

09-03-2009, 02:38 PM
Here is my prediction.

Fremantle....................................Loss
North Melbourne...........................Loss
Richmond....................................Win
West Coast Eagles........................Win
Carlton........................................Win
St Kilda.......................................Loss
Adelaide......................................Loss
Melbourne...................................Win
Geelong Cats...............................Loss
Sydney Swans.............................Win
Port Adelaide...............................Win
North Melbourne..........................Win
Hawthorn....................................Win
Collingwood.................................Win
Essendon....................................Win
St Kilda.......................................Win
Fremantle...................................Win
West Coast Eagles.......................Win
Brisbane Lions.............................Loss

Total 15 and 7

09-03-2009, 02:52 PM
Fremantle....................................Win
West Coast Eagles........................Loss
North Melbourne..........................Loss
Hawthorn....................................Loss
Brisbane Lions.............................Win
Collingwood.................................Loss

Total 14 and 8

Either way i think we will come out of the first 4 rounds 2 & 2, whether we beat WCE or Freo..I cant see us coming out of those 4 tough weeks better than 2-2..And playing Carlton when we return from perth? Not liking that.

09-03-2009, 03:04 PM
I see a club like Carlton going a lot better this year and sadly we couldnt beat them last year.
Richmond well them too, Wallace is quite a cagy coach and can give you a false impression of the club.
Look at our preseason form, if we supported another club im sure we would be thinking we are cannon fodder this year.
Just what do we go on? last seasons results or pre season?
Pre season doesnt tell you much at all, its record for teams winning it are more a hindrance than a plus going into the real season.
And if you go on last seasons results all clubs would be the same every year.
Personally i try and look at the ages of a team and who is the next up and coming team that way.

09-03-2009, 03:45 PM
I see a club like Carlton going a lot better this year and sadly we couldnt beat them last year.
Richmond well them too, Wallace is quite a cagy coach and can give you a false impression of the club.
Look at our preseason form, if we supported another club im sure we would be thinking we are cannon fodder this year.
Just what do we go on? last seasons results or pre season?
Pre season doesnt tell you much at all, its record for teams winning it are more a hindrance than a plus going into the real season.
And if you go on last seasons results all clubs would be the same every year.
Personally i try and look at the ages of a team and who is the next up and coming team that way.

I've been using this theory to justify not picking Syudney in the top 8 for the last 5 years.

09-03-2009, 07:01 PM
I expect us to win the 5 games at least!
Freo yes
NM is always tough but yes
Richmond as above
WC yes
Carlton have had the wood over us lately, must win to be considered a contender.. stop fev+judd win

No game is easy but, getting the first few wins on the board is super important.

09-03-2009, 07:07 PM
Carlton........................................Loss

Thats 12 wins...should scrape around the 7th spot.

09-03-2009, 07:19 PM
Looking at whats gone up so far , im wondering why some of us have picked a loss in the first 2 games, if we are to be of any sort of contender i would have thought Nth and Freo would be put as wins.
Freo especially, i certainly dont see them as much with the coach they have. Not a fan at all.

09-03-2009, 07:24 PM
Looking at whats gone up so far , im wondering why some of us have picked a loss in the first 2 games, if we are to be of any sort of contender i would have thought Nth and Freo would be put as wins.
Freo especially, i certainly dont see them as much with the coach they have. Not a fan at all.

I don't get the Freo part either. Sure it's at Subi but we've won there recently

09-03-2009, 07:25 PM
I've been using this theory to justify not picking Syudney in the top 8 for the last 5 years.

A lot of Sydney surviving is proof of Roos as a coach and his abillity to keep the team as a team, they love him up there and really who doesnt?
The bloke as far as a mate and coach is probably the best you can get, its hard to juggle both when you played with a lot of them.
Shaw was the perfect example of trying to coach players you played with, your trying to tell them not to do what you did, it doesnt work, Roos is one out of the box.

09-03-2009, 07:35 PM
I think if we are a top side there is no reason we cant win the first 8 games although we do meet a bogie club in Carlton who are on the improve.
None of us so far think we are a top 4 side, why?

09-03-2009, 07:50 PM
I think if we are a top side there is no reason we cant win the first 8 games although we do meet a bogie club in Carlton who are on the improve.
None of us so far think we are a top 4 side, why?

14-15 wins is normally top 4.

09-03-2009, 07:56 PM
North Melbourne...........................Win
Carlton....................................... Loss
St Kilda....................................... Win
Adelaide...................................... Win
North Melbourne.......................... Win
Geelong Cats...............................Win

17 wins 5 losses - a mid season slump will see us lose 3 out of 4 between rounds 14 to 17.

We will all start writing the team off after round 17, however we will bounce back nicely and win the last 5 games including a Friday night blockbuster against the top of the table Cats. We will finish either 2nd or 3rd and go onto make the GF.

09-03-2009, 08:19 PM
I'm surprised so many people have us losing to Collingwood. We've got the wood on them.

09-03-2009, 09:09 PM
Carlton....................................... Win
Sydney Swans.............................Loss
Port Adelaide...............................Loss

15 wins 7 losses

09-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Adelaide...................................... Loss

Seven losses and 15 wins - we should finish top four.

09-03-2009, 09:37 PM

Thats 12 wins...should scrape around the 7th spot.

That looks about right to me, but I reckon we'll win of the Pies games and drop another surprise one.

09-03-2009, 10:13 PM
Fremantle - Win - I know we're underdone but I saw Freo at Manuka Oval and they were abysmal.

North Melbourne - Loss - I can't see how we're going to win this one, bad history against the Roos and coming back from Perth . . . as long as it's not ugly.

Richmond - Loss - Tigers will be a strong side this year, plus after a loss.

West Coast Eagles - Win - By now we should be starting to look a lot better side.

Carlton - Win - Another team we don't have the greatest history against, a close one, could go either way.

St Kilda - Win - Starting to gain some confidence. Morris' and Boyd's jobs will be important.

Adelaide - Win - Here's where we could really gain a lot of confidence.

Melbourne - Win

Geelong Cats - Loss - The Cats will come out firing at the start of the season.

Sydney Swans - Win - The Swans are no longer a great force.

Richmond - Win - I don't think we'll lose to them twice.

Port Adelaide - Loss - Here's my smokey, Power to beat us with too much run in Darwin.

North Melbourne - Win

Hawthorn - Loss - Hawks to be too good, but we'll get one back on them in the finals.:)

Collingwood - Loss - Pies to surprise and take advantage of us coming off a loss.

Essendon - Win

St Kilda - Win

Fremantle - Win

West Coast Eagles - Win

Brisbane Lions - Loss - Lions are typically quite good at the business end of the season.

Geelong Cats - Loss - Cats to be too good

Collingwood - Win - won't lose to them twice.

Which makes for 14 wins and 8 losses which should make us a top four team.

10-03-2009, 01:22 AM
and coming back from Perth.

I know the figures on sides backing it up the week after playing in Perth probably aren't great, but is it really that taxing? Surely with the amount of money clubs spend on personnel managing every facet of the squads fitness, conditioning etc they must have come up with a plan that counteracts a couple of 4 hour flights.

After all West Coast and Freo do it every second week (well on last years form that is not a great argument) and likewise the other interstaters have heavier travel loads. Perhaps when clubs send coaches and trainers over to the Uk etc in the offseason they should be focusing on how they manage their players, especially in terms of recovery, when juggling European and other cup duties midweek with league games on the weekend.

10-03-2009, 11:21 AM
Richmond....................................Loss
Adelaide......................................Win

14 Wins and 8 Losses for me Bornadog

10-03-2009, 01:34 PM
Geelong .....................................Loss

19 wins, 3 loses ... finishing second on the ladder behind Geelong

If we are going to predict ... Predict Big :D

10-03-2009, 06:47 PM

Okay. Carlton and Richmond are media darlings so every year will be an 'up' year for them. Heck Richmond wins two games in a row and some in the media start talking about their 'premiership window'.

How is the Dog's natural improvement this year going to be any less impressive than anything these two clubs cobble together from recycled players and half-baked kids? Surely the natural improvement in our midfield alone should blow either of these two teams out of the water, and when you throw in a potentially far more functional backline and forwardline with some of the younger guys coming through (Addison, Harbrow, Hill, a hopefully fit Williams, Everitt, Ward, and potentially Cordy and Grant) that's a mile ahead of anything either of those clubs have coming through.

The only reason we've lost to these teams in the past is mental/concentration and some loose tactics (was leading comfortably against Carlton when we took the foot off the pedal, played only 5 minutes of good footy against Richmond and still drew) -- at their respective bests it should be no contest.

10-03-2009, 06:58 PM
Okay. Carlton and Richmond are media darlings so every year will be an 'up' year for them. Heck Richmond wins two games in a row and some in the media start talking about their 'premiership window'.

How is the Dog's natural improvement this year going to be any less impressive than anything these two clubs cobble together from recycled players and half-baked kids? Surely the natural improvement in our midfield alone should blow either of these two teams out of the water, and when you throw in a potentially far more functional backline and forwardline with some of the younger guys coming through (Addison, Harbrow, Hill, a hopefully fit Williams, Everitt, Ward, and potentially Cordy and Grant) that's a mile ahead of anything either of those clubs have coming through.

The only reason we've lost to these teams in the past is mental/concentration and some loose tactics (was leading comfortably against Carlton when we took the foot off the pedal, played only 5 minutes of good footy against Richmond and still drew) -- at their respective bests it should be no contest.

Hmmm I would love to have the Tigers 3 young Key Defenders on our list.

10-03-2009, 07:39 PM
Hmmm I would love to have the Tigers 3 young Key Defenders on our list.

In place of Lake, Gilbee, Morris, Hargrave, Callan, Williams, Everitt, Tiller and Addison?

That's a top 3 backline right there.

.. Rance would have been nice, but would you trade him for Ward?

10-03-2009, 07:59 PM
In place of Lake, Gilbee, Morris, Hargrave, Callan, Williams, Everitt, Tiller and Addison?

That's a top 3 backline right there.

.. Rance would have been nice, but would you trade him for Ward?

I guess time will only tell regarding Rance and Ward.
No I wouldnt swap Moore, Thursfield, McGuane for those blokes above, I just they are better placed longer term for key position players.

11-03-2009, 12:46 AM
North Melbourne...........................Win (finally get the monkey off our back)
Richmond....................................Draw or close loss
Carlton....................................... Loss (If we tag Stevens and Judd we will shit it in )
North Melbourne.......................... Loss ( to cocky after last win against them)
Essendon....................................Loss
Geelong Cats...............................Win
Collingwood........................Win

11-03-2009, 05:18 PM
Fremantle................................... Win
North Melbourne.........................Loss
Richmond...................................Win
West Coast Eagles......................Win
Carlton......................................Loss
St Kilda.....................................Win
Adelaide....................................Win
Melbourne.................................Win
Geelong Cats............................Loss
Sydney Swans..........................Win
Richmond.................................Win
Port Adelaide.............................Win
North Melbourne........................Win
Hawthorn.................................. Loss
St Kilda.....................................Loss
Fremantle..................................Win
West Coast Eagles......................Win
Brisbane Lions............................Win
Geelong Cats.............................Loss
Collingwood...............................Win
16 and 6, should be top 4

11-03-2009, 05:49 PM
Win
Loss
Win
Loss
Loss
Win
Loss
Win
Loss
Win
Win
Win
Loss
Loss
Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
Loss
Loss
Win

13 wins in my book.

Danger games against West Coast (will be better than most are predicting), Carlton (if we play open, they will kill us), Adelaide will as usual crush us at AAMI.

Geelong, North and the Hawks will also beat us.

Brisbane at the Gabba this year could also be a tough one, think they'll go alright.

If Richmond beat us or draw with us again, I think I'll throw up.

11-03-2009, 06:41 PM

Where did i say they would be better than us?
I just pointed out that i think they will be better than they were.

12-03-2009, 12:13 AM
Win
Loss
Win
Loss
Loss
Win
Loss
Win
Loss
Win
Win
Win
Loss
Loss
Win
Win
Win
Win
Win
Loss
Loss
Win

13 wins in my book.

Danger games against West Coast (will be better than most are predicting), Carlton (if we play open, they will kill us), Adelaide will as usual crush us at AAMI.

Geelong, North and the Hawks will also beat us.

Brisbane at the Gabba this year could also be a tough one, think they'll go alright.

If Richmond beat us or draw with us again, I think I'll throw up.
The part about West Coast got me interested, I really think they'll be bottom four again this year. Cox and Kerr are stars, Glass could also be thrown into that mix but after that they fall away badly. I just dont know where their goals are going to come from, Lynch hasnt kicked a bag in a while and Mckinley is still young. A good forward line will also get on top of their backline which isnt up to it IMO and their midfield is badly lacking depth and rotations.

12-03-2009, 10:14 AM
I still think they have one of the best young lists around. Quite a few of their young stars missed the majority of last season, as well as a lot of their more senior blokes. If Cox, Glass, Kerr, Embley, Hunter etc all do well and Hurn, Brown and a few of their younger kids come on, and stay on the park, I think they'll do ok.

15-03-2009, 08:12 PM
Richmond...................................Loss
Carlton.......................................Loss
St Kilda......................................Win
Adelaide.....................................Win
Geelong Cats..............................Loss
Sydney Swans............................Win
Richmond...................................Win
Port Adelaide..............................Win
North Melbourne.........................Loss
Hawthorn...................................Loss
Collingwood................................Win
Essendon...................................Loss
St Kilda......................................Win
Brisbane Lions............................Win
Geelong Cats..............................Loss
Collingwood................................Win

I have also accounted for the tapering off at the half way mark of the season;)

30-03-2009, 06:15 PM
Carlton....................................... Win
Sydney Swans.............................Loss
Port Adelaide...............................Loss

15 wins 7 losses

Not many predicted a win against Freo, well done to all the posters that did.

20-04-2009, 06:02 PM

Any one predicted correctly to date? I know I was out, I had us 2/2

How is the rest of the season going?

20-04-2009, 06:17 PM
Any one predicted correctly to date? I know I was out, I had us 2/2

How is the rest of the season going?

I had us 2/2 as well. I did predict the loss to West Coast though sometimes I hate being right :D

20-04-2009, 10:26 PM
Fremantle - Win - I know we're underdone but I saw Freo at Manuka Oval and they were abysmal.

North Melbourne - Loss - I can't see how we're going to win this one, bad history against the Roos and coming back from Perth . . . as long as it's not ugly.

Richmond - Loss - Tigers will be a strong side this year, plus after a loss.

Sorry cobber I stopped reading after this to give my stomach muscles a break.

21-04-2009, 01:49 AM
Sorry cobber I stopped reading after this to give my stomach muscles a break.

I know.

So many were predicting Richmond and Carlton (and Collingwood) to be the 'good teams' this year but I just never saw it. Logically, and barring injury, how can so much change in a year if the teams are pretty much the same?

It was all media hype (tripe)... and that pressure can actually be the worst thing for a team.

11-05-2009, 04:27 PM

Any one think we are still on track with the above?

11-05-2009, 04:47 PM
Yes me - with the exception of the proposed loss to Brisbane which will be a win

What about you, Bornadog?

How is your view this week v last week?

11-05-2009, 05:44 PM
Yes me - with the exception of the proposed loss to Brisbane which will be a win

What about you, Bornadog?

How is your view this week v last week?

I feel we still haven't beaten anyone of significance yet although I am optimistic and base my predictions on potential. I just hope we had our mini slump already and we will continue to improve.

11-05-2009, 05:54 PM
I feel we still haven't beaten anyone of significance yet

If we beat Melbourne this week, our 5 wins would have come against the 12, 13, 14, 15 & 16th teams

11-05-2009, 06:08 PM
If we beat Melbourne this week, our 5 wins would have come against the 12, 13, 14, 15 & 16th teams

What you do need to consider though is that there is only one win separating third and
14th! :eek: So you could put that spin on it, or you could say that "at least three of our wins have been against sides who are just outside the top four...":)

Which leads me to a question, does anyone remember a ladder looking so open? I know last year there were quite a few sides in the mix for the 8 at the pointy end, but it looks ridiculously even.

Besides the top two and the bottom two (and you could argue Melbourne have actually looked pretty good and have been a little unlucky) there really isn't much in it.

11-05-2009, 06:14 PM

This early in the season, you have to take into consideration where they finished last year ... so if we beat Melbourne this week our five wins would have come against 5, 7, 9, 14 & 16th teams with losses to 4, 11, and 15 (all based on last seasons final ladder)

11-05-2009, 08:55 PM

Any one think we are still on track with the above?

That would put us at 15-7, sounds about right I think. With the evenness of the ladder 14-8 may get us top 4, and maybe even 13-9 or 13-1-8, last season I think 13-9 and percentage snuck in for 4th

I would like to think we have set ourselves for a big finish and so should win more than 3 of the last 6, the Brisbane game and hopefully Geelong in round 21 to fall our way. We may drop a couple in rounds 12-16 you haven't predicted, maybe Port and Hawthorn

3rd or 4th on the ladder will do just fine, hard to see an interstate team finishing top 2 to send us interstate for week 1 of finals. Hardly seems fair for Geelong in particular if they have 20 wins we have 15 and their first final is away from home :D

15-06-2009, 01:40 PM

8 Wins 4 Losses

St Kilda...................................... Win

I think another 8 Wins , but we can win all games the way we are playing.

02-09-2009, 12:49 AM
A few WOOFers came pretty close here
The last 4 rounds would have caught a lot of people out, what else were people suprised with? I didn't pick the losses to WCE and Carlton, or the floggings of Port and Hawthorn

Anyone want to have a crack at our finals finish?
I will say runners-up to the Saints, but if Collingwood get them this week and they miss the week off I think we can go all the way

02-09-2009, 06:12 PM
Adelaide...................................... Loss

Seven losses and 15 wins - we should finish top four.

Well I got the total right just some of the games wrong.

02-09-2009, 11:55 PM
Well I got the total right just some of the games wrong.

Me too:)