View Full Version : Canberra game- Do members just scan their card for entry?

24-05-2009, 12:04 PM
In the past two years I've been able to use my membership card for entry for the Manuka Oval for the Dogs game.
Is this still the same this year.
I can't find any details this year on our website or in my membership pack.
Can anyone confirm for sure this is still the case?
My wife and I have Long Distance membership.

24-05-2009, 08:37 PM
I'd call the club just to make sure. Better to be safe than sorry.

24-05-2009, 11:21 PM
Yeah last year people stood there with portable scanners..no machines to scan through..

I believe general only admits you the 'the hill' on the wing, other side of the ground..I bought a ticket in one of the stands, dont mind forking out $20 to the club, beats standing up.

25-05-2009, 09:13 AM
In the past two years I've been able to use my membership card for entry for the Manuka Oval for the Dogs game.
Is this still the same this year.
I can't find any details this year on our website or in my membership pack.
Can anyone confirm for sure this is still the case?
My wife and I have Long Distance membership.

Yes you can, but as with all games it is subject to availability.

25-05-2009, 09:36 AM
Ok, now for a woof catchup in Canberra..........

25-05-2009, 10:32 AM
Ok, now for a woof catchup in Canberra..........

We are driving to Albury Friday night and hope to be in Canberra by 11.30am on Saturday.

Was planning on going to the Kingston Hotel before the game, and most probably after as well.

25-05-2009, 10:51 AM
Was planning on going to the Kingston Hotel before the game, and most probably after as well.

I went there after the Kangaroos game some years back and it was a sea of Bulldogs fans.

I am also heading up for the game and will probably be in there at some point.

25-05-2009, 01:00 PM
I rang the club this morning.

You can gain entry to the ground using your Bulldogs membership card which allows access in only the general admission standing area and this is subject to availability. If you would like to have a seat you must purchase a reserved ticket.

25-05-2009, 01:29 PM
I went there after the Kangaroos game some years back and it was a sea of Bulldogs fans.

I am also heading up for the game and will probably be in there at some point.
Kingston Hotel sounds good

25-05-2009, 02:36 PM
Forecast for Canberra,

Saturday Fine. Min 3 Max 15

Stubby Holders will be essential.

25-05-2009, 05:38 PM
I rang the club this morning.

You can gain entry to the ground using your Bulldogs membership card which allows access in only the general admission standing area and this is subject to availability. If you would like to have a seat you must purchase a reserved ticket.

Thanks Mantis.

Good same deal as last year.
I seem to recall this was spelled out clearly last year on our website, whereas this year there is nothing there. The only information I was able to find was in the brief descriptor on the Long Distance Membership page- which said entry to Melbourne home games.
This conflicted slightly with my membership card which said entry to any 5 home games.

Our club could do a little better in communicating clearly online the arrangements for interstate home games.

25-05-2009, 05:39 PM
Forecast for Canberra,

Saturday Fine. Min 3 Max 15

Stubby Holders will be essential.

I think warm sake might be essential!

25-05-2009, 07:01 PM
A couple of Bulldog mates are trying to talk me into flying up to Canberra and returning on the same day.

25-05-2009, 07:06 PM
I think warm sake might be essential!

Where can we meet?;)

25-05-2009, 08:17 PM
Heading up Friday and will be at the Eastlakes footy club on Friday night for a feed. I believe Eastlakes are like a sister club to the Doggies so should get our support wherever possible.

25-05-2009, 08:26 PM
A couple of Bulldog mates are trying to talk me into flying up to Canberra and returning on the same day.
Do it!

25-05-2009, 08:35 PM
My wife and I fly down on Friday arvo. We have a mate who is a mad Saints fan who we are staying with in Canberra. He comes to this game with us every year.
We'll be in the General Admission area somewhere on the wing area.

25-05-2009, 08:35 PM
Kingston Hotel sounds like a goer. Looking forward to an epic "away day."

25-05-2009, 09:00 PM
Im staying over Saturday night this time, last time i flew up in the morning and flew back with the boys on the 7.30pm flight..full on day but worth it

Wheres the Kingston? Is that the one right round the corner at the start of 'the strip' of shops? The doggies went to that restaurant an hour after the game last year..

25-05-2009, 10:10 PM
Do it!

Flying at night in a smallish plane isn't something that enjoy that much.

26-05-2009, 10:47 AM
We are doing it in style this year.

Driving to Albury Friday night and staying at a pub that has foxtel so will get the game live on Foxsport Extra or whatever they call it.

Then driving to Canberra Saturday morning. Park the car at the YHA and head to the Kingo.

Kingston Hotel
73 Canberra Ave
Griffith

After the game head back to the Kingo.

Bring it on.

26-05-2009, 11:31 AM
Wouldnt mind catching up with Woofers

Where's Griffith in relation to Manuka Oval? Towards City?

26-05-2009, 12:43 PM

Griffith is the next suburb south of Manuka. I would think depending upon where abouts in Griffith you are you could walk to the ground.

26-05-2009, 12:59 PM
Wouldnt mind catching up with Woofers

Away from City.

5 minute walk from the pub to the ground.

26-05-2009, 02:05 PM
Staying at The Brassey which think is about 1KM to the north of the ground.

Kingston Hotel sounds like a good option.

26-05-2009, 02:19 PM
We are doing it in style this year.

Driving to Albury Friday night and staying at a pub that has foxtel so will get the game live on Foxsport Extra or whatever they call it.

Then driving to Canberra Saturday morning. Park the car at the YHA and head to the Kingo.

Kingston Hotel
73 Canberra Ave
Griffith

After the game head back to the Kingo.

Bring it on.
I will definately be there before the first bounce then I shall take it from there

26-05-2009, 09:46 PM
I thought Griffith was in the Riverina.

27-05-2009, 01:02 AM
I thought Griffith was in the Riverina.

The ACT has a Griffith as well - as it is a seperate state (territory) it can reuse the name

27-05-2009, 01:45 PM
Which ground is colder, Waverly or Manuka?

28-05-2009, 10:34 AM
Away from City.

5 minute walk from the pub to the ground.

Aker, is this the closest pub to the ground? I will be wearing my Josh Hill jumper I bought last year at the bargain bin for $20.00.

28-05-2009, 10:42 AM
Aker, is this the closest pub to the ground? I will be wearing my Josh Hill jumper I bought last year at the bargain bin for $20.00.

By the look of this map it is.

http://maps.google.com/mapdata?Point=b&Point.latitude_e6=4259647509&Point.longitude_e6=149137918&Point.iconid=15&Point=e&latitude_e6=4259647509&longitude_e6=149137918&zm=4000&w=250&h=125&cc=&min_priority=2

28-05-2009, 01:35 PM
The ACT has a Griffith as well - as it is a seperate state (territory) it can reuse the name
I know :)
Well Sir Walter Burley Griffin designed both and they are both holes.

28-05-2009, 01:35 PM
Which ground is colder, Waverly or Manuka?

Pt Gellibrand

28-05-2009, 02:05 PM
Pt Gellibrand

Yeah that ground is cold.

28-05-2009, 02:12 PM
Another watering hole close by is the Eastlake Sports Club, 3 Oxley St Griffith. I watched the WB v Adel game in there last year and it was a reasonable venue.

There are also a number of bars in the Kingston group of shops which are worth are also worth considering. There is a Belgium themed pub which goes ok across from these shops as well.

In saying that the Kingston Hotel would be the most popular for pre & post match drinks. If your lucky you may even catch me in there.

28-05-2009, 03:19 PM
Where are you staying Mantis

28-05-2009, 04:24 PM
Where are you staying Mantis

Staying with my sister who lives on Canberra Ave. (about 10min walk to the ground)

28-05-2009, 04:54 PM
Nice 12 degrees on Saturday at Manuka...greaaaaat

28-05-2009, 06:17 PM
Nice 12 degrees on Saturday at Manuka...greaaaaat

take the gloves and beany

28-05-2009, 10:33 PM
Fly out tomorrow.
Hope everyone who is travelling to the game has a safe journey.

I'll be in the General admission area standing area hopefully somewhere along the fence near the wing.

I will be wearing my Dogs polo shirt, a black jacket, a Footscray scarf and Footscray beanie. My wife is Taiwanese and will be wearing a Red Coat and one of those Western Bulldog beanies with the long side flaps on them...and no doubt my mate who is coming with me will be wearing some form of Saints gear.

If you happen to see us, just yell a "YHF" in our direction and that will catch my attention!

29-05-2009, 09:11 AM
For those flying which flight are we on? Mine is at 8.00am. I hope there is a pub that will stay open late to show the FA Cup final.

29-05-2009, 09:24 AM
For those flying which flight are we on? Mine is at 8.00am. I hope there is a pub that will stay open late to show the FA Cup final.

If all else fails, take some beers back to your room. It's live on SBS

29-05-2009, 10:28 AM
I'm interested in meeting up, the FA Cup and a beer or 10 after.

29-05-2009, 10:46 AM
I'll be out watching the FA Cup. The one that Mantis mentioned earlier was a sports club so perhaps there or at the Kingston.

29-05-2009, 11:45 AM
I'll be out watching the FA Cup. The one that Mantis mentioned earlier was a sports club so perhaps there or at the Kingston.

Eastlakes is open to 4am

29-05-2009, 12:31 PM
Eastlakes is open to 4am
Eastlakes it will have to be. Just phoned the Kingston, definately wont be open at that time. Dont think they know what the FA cup is. hehehe

29-05-2009, 12:42 PM
and just around the corner from the Kingo I see, virtually accross from the oval

29-05-2009, 01:08 PM
and just around the corner from the Kingo I see, virtually accross from the oval

It could get messy.

Are you travelling with your wife or mates

29-05-2009, 04:39 PM
I'm about to hit the road.

See you all at the Kingston tomorrow.

GO DOGS!!!!

29-05-2009, 04:48 PM
It could get messy.

Are you travelling with your wife or mates
with my mates.

29-05-2009, 05:57 PM
with my mates.

Be sure you don't FA-Cup!

29-05-2009, 06:30 PM
Heading off to the airport shortly.

Hope to report in tomorrow morning for a weather update.

29-05-2009, 09:17 PM
Got an 8.30am flight..hotel check in not till 2pm so i got a good 3hrs before heading to manuka to 'explore' canberra..hoorah :S

29-05-2009, 10:42 PM
Got an 8.30am flight..hotel check in not till 2pm so i got a good 3hrs before heading to manuka to 'explore' canberra..hoorah :S

QF814?

30-05-2009, 01:00 PM
In Canberra now on way to Kingston..

Na SS flew virgin..with 90% of the plane dogggies supporters oh and the SEN team (ox,kb)

30-05-2009, 01:04 PM
It has clouded over in Canberra, I don't think it will rain though.

It is bloody cold!!

30-05-2009, 01:18 PM
True Mantis it's icey!

30-05-2009, 11:35 PM
Great day in the nations capital. Back to surburban football, drinking cans in the outer.

Ran in to

Craigsahibee
Sockeye
Ernie

Bit chilly, but 13 goals in a row is enough to warm anyone up.

Not looking forward to the drive home tomorrow.

GO DOGS

01-06-2009, 09:56 AM
Went to the Kingo at about 12.00pm on the Saturday, had a few drinks then made my way to the Corporate area of Manuka (if there is such a thing). Free feed and drinks, too bad I dont drink beer. Was like I was stepping back in time watching a VFA game.
I had my Josh Hill jumper on, I did not bump into anyone on woof, perhaps I was the only one there from woof at the Kingo before the game?
Went to Mosseheads later in the night and watched Freo vs Richmond. Had my jumper on all weekend. Not much to do without the footy, good weekend though....

01-06-2009, 10:32 AM
I was drunk but I rememebr meeting Laurie Sandilands' son Mat? through Craigishibee. I told him he was the reason we have BHBAS shirts so he asked why. I said if you were Aaron Sandilands, Ben Hudson wouldn't be at the club.

01-06-2009, 10:44 AM
Aah yes. It's all coming back to me now.

Ernie, Sockeye, KT31 and Aker39 were all there. My apologies if I missed anyone, offended anyone etc etc. It was a long, but enjoyable day.

First thing I did when I arrived home last night was to shave the bloody beard off. I don't know how the big man does it. Truly is a chin deserving of honour if he can maintain the growth.

01-06-2009, 11:00 AM
I had my Josh Hill jumper on, I did not bump into anyone on woof, perhaps I was the only one there from woof at the Kingo before the game?

I was there for a little bit..sitting out the front just having a nice James Squires Amber Ale :D

01-06-2009, 11:16 AM
I was there for a little bit..sitting out the front just having a nice James Squires Amber Ale :D
I too was sitting outside, not too far away was a girl with a number 28 jumper on.
On a side note: I saw a supporter with a red beard, looked like Danny Bonarduci from the Partridge family. Was that you Craig?

01-06-2009, 12:17 PM
I too was sitting outside, not too far away was a girl with a number 28 jumper on.
On a side note: I saw a supporter with a red beard, looked like Danny Bonarduci from the Partridge family. Was that you Craig?

Yes it was

01-06-2009, 12:53 PM
I was going for the Chuck Norris look but if it ended up like Danny Bonaduce I failed miserably.;)

01-06-2009, 01:27 PM
I was going for the Chuck Norris look but if it ended up like Danny Bonaduce I failed miserably.;)

you were standing beside me at the airport waiting for tiger flight TT717 whilst watching the Essendon vs Geelong game on the tv (by the way, we asked security to change the channel as some rugby crap was on). I was going to say hi however you did not look in a happy mood. Me thinks now it was a result of a hangover.
Think we may have seen you in the Manuka carpark, my mate who was the driver asked you "how is it going Huddo", and you smiled back

01-06-2009, 01:59 PM
you were standing beside me at the airport waiting for tiger flight TT717 whilst watching the Essendon vs Geelong game on the tv (by the way, we asked security to change the channel as some rugby crap was on). I was going to say hi however you did not look in a happy mood. Me thinks now it was a result of a hangover.
Think we may have seen you in the Manuka carpark, my mate who was the driver asked you "how is it going Huddo", and you smiled back

I actually pulled up really well considering. I was probably just knackered. We checked out of our hotel in Barton and walked to the war memorial via the city centre and parliament house (old and new). My apologies if I seemed "unapproachable".

Was it the car park between the pub and the ground?

Might need to lay low for a few weeks I reckon.

01-06-2009, 02:02 PM
I actually pulled up really well considering. I was probably just knackered. We checked out of our hotel in Barton and walked to the war memorial via the city centre and parliament house (old and new). My apologies if I seemed "unapproachable".

Was it the car park between the pub and the ground?

Might need to lay low for a few weeks I reckon.
yes it was, you told me I was a good looking man, remember?

01-06-2009, 02:29 PM
yes it was, you told me I was a good looking man, remember?

I honestly do not recall saying that. :o Are you trying to mess with my mind? :confused:

01-06-2009, 02:32 PM
I honestly do not recall saying that. :o Are you trying to mess with my mind? :confused:
ha ha ha, yes I am:D

03-06-2009, 09:45 PM

My new avatar.....Inspired by Desipura

03-06-2009, 10:00 PM

Desi meant Danny Bonnaduci around the time of his drug arrest rather than the Partridge Family version.

03-06-2009, 10:02 PM

I hope you didn't wake up next to someone with a little surprise like the real Danny did.

04-06-2009, 09:46 AM
Desi meant Danny Bonnaduci around the time of his drug arrest rather than the Partridge Family version.

Just the one drug arrest?

04-06-2009, 11:53 AM
I hope you didn't wake up next to someone with a little surprise like the real Danny did.
Gold:D

04-06-2009, 01:42 PM
Yes, you look more like the current day Danny Bonnaduci (minus the drug look)

04-06-2009, 02:05 PM
Yes, you look more like the current day Danny Bonnaduci (minus the drug look)
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/9c91e1d752_bonaduce10102007.jpg

04-06-2009, 04:22 PM
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/9c91e1d752_bonaduce10102007.jpg
Yes thats it, minus the grey beard and drugged out look.

04-06-2009, 10:15 PM
He's a pro wrestler now (Bonaduce, not Craigsahibee)

05-06-2009, 12:19 AM
He's a pro wrestler now (Bonaduce, not Craigsahibee)

Craigsahibee might be as well, you never know:D