View Full Version : Game Day - Western Bulldogs vs Pt Adelaide

13-06-2009, 12:50 AM
This is the discussion thread for this Saturday night's game in Darwin against Pt Adelaide.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 44 points
BOG : Adam Cooney
Brad Johnson to kick the first goal.

13-06-2009, 01:08 AM
I'll go with:

Dogs by 22...

BOG Cooney
First goal Higgins

13-06-2009, 07:48 AM
wish I was there where it would be warmer.

anyway - Dogs by 22

1st Goal - Gia

BOG - Cross

13-06-2009, 10:16 AM
Dogs by 14 points with Akermanis kicking the first goal and Morris with the BOG

13-06-2009, 10:40 AM
Dogs by 37pts

Johnson 1st goal

Boyd BOG

A game we should win comfortably.

13-06-2009, 11:55 AM
For those without Foxtel, this may show it:

MyP2P (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=41277&part=sports)

Dogs by 60 points.

Aker BOG & 1st goal to Higgins.

13-06-2009, 12:44 PM
Dogs by 8 goals. Griff for the first and Cooney BOG.

13-06-2009, 12:45 PM

There's one great thing about playing the Power in Darwin and living in Adelaide. Woo hoo!

13-06-2009, 12:48 PM
Doggies by 32pts
Johnno First Goal
Gilbee BOG

13-06-2009, 01:24 PM
Dogs by 27 points.
Griffen BOG (please let it be so).
Welsh first goal.

13-06-2009, 01:37 PM
Dogs by 47 points

Higgins 1st goal

BOG Griffen

13-06-2009, 01:45 PM
Dogs by 18 - this is arguably the most important game for both sides so far this year, I can see Port being very tough tonight
First goal Hill
BOG Griffen

13-06-2009, 02:22 PM
Dogs by 50 (time to make a statement)
Higgins BOG
Hahn first goal

13-06-2009, 02:27 PM
Us by 30 points.
Welsh to have a day out.
Can i choose Rodan to kick our first? If not Welsh.

13-06-2009, 02:50 PM
Dogs by 26 points
Hill to kick the first goal
Gia BOG

13-06-2009, 02:55 PM
There's one great thing about playing the Power in Darwin and living in Adelaide. Woo hoo!

Amen brother!

13-06-2009, 02:58 PM
Dogs by 5 points
Hill to kick the first
Cross (with his massive tank crucial up there) to get BOG

13-06-2009, 03:03 PM
Evening Forecast for Darwin:

Mostly Clear. Mild.
Wind: 2 km/h
Rain:-
Humidity 61%
Temperature 25

13-06-2009, 03:49 PM
Dogs by 44
Eagle first goal
Hill to surprise with his first BOG (clean hands in greasy conditions)

13-06-2009, 06:49 PM
Dogs by 28 points
Ward first goal
Cross BOG

13-06-2009, 06:57 PM
Dogs by 34,
Hill first goal,
Aker to get his MJ on and be BOG.

13-06-2009, 07:58 PM
Dogs by 2 points
First Goal = Hahn
BOG = Higgins

13-06-2009, 08:22 PM
Any danger of us hitting a target by foot?

13-06-2009, 08:24 PM
Any danger of us hitting a target by foot?

Cross's effort with his left foot pass to Johnson was sub standard at best.

13-06-2009, 08:25 PM
Great stuff Will!

Hargrave started well - good match up on Westhoff.

13-06-2009, 08:33 PM
Harbrow excellent

13-06-2009, 08:43 PM
Good signs early from Cooney and Griffen.

becmatty
13-06-2009, 08:45 PM
I'min London. HELP - who knows a link to watch live online?

13-06-2009, 08:46 PM

MyP2P (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=41277&part=sports)

Dogs by 60 points.

Aker BOG & 1st goal to Higgins.

not without a password :(

13-06-2009, 08:48 PM
Picko is destroying Pierce.

Dogs well on top. Keep it going boys.

13-06-2009, 08:56 PM
Nice mark from Hill - shame he didn't convert. We need to hurt them on the scoreboard.

becmatty
13-06-2009, 09:01 PM
Does anyone know the password for the live online link????????????????????? Please!!!

13-06-2009, 09:02 PM
Whaaat? How?!

paswword is sirengate ... it says it on the first page

13-06-2009, 09:04 PM
Ward has been impressive and hasn't he added some size in 12 months?

13-06-2009, 09:08 PM
Hahn misses a simple chance and Rodan burns off Griff for a great goal.

Shit.

13-06-2009, 09:13 PM
Hahn misses a simple chance and Rodan burns off Griff for a great goal.

Shit.

Port are hanging around and we can't quite break them and missed opportunities like that hurt.

13-06-2009, 09:15 PM
Another one to Will - doing his job nicely.

13-06-2009, 09:18 PM
Does anyone know the password for the live online link????????????????????? Please!!!

Did you get in?

Missed set shots for goal were costly that quarter.

Hill, Hahn and Gia all missed what they should have kicked.

Minson answering the critics well, I reckon...

13-06-2009, 09:19 PM
Yeah I got in, but the black screen isnt like loading or whatever. I thought I posted a thanks but it obviously didnt post. Thanks heaps!

13-06-2009, 09:23 PM
Missed set shots for goal were costly that quarter.

Hill, Hahn and Gia all missed what they should have kicked.

Why is it costly?

13-06-2009, 09:26 PM
Why is it costly?

Score board pressure will cause Port to drop their heads. We miss those and they lift a cog because they still have a sniff.

In a year as close as this one, percentage is going to be a factor. When we're dominating we need to convert on the score board.

13-06-2009, 09:30 PM
Why is it costly?

Anytime gettable shots are missed it's costly. We need a win plus the percentage.

13-06-2009, 09:30 PM
Why is it costly?

Yeah, it COULD have been costly...at this stage, it hasn't been.

13-06-2009, 09:31 PM
Anytime gettable shots are missed it's costly. We need a win plus the percentage.

Lot of footy to go yet...

Endeavour has been terrific.

Minson answering the critics well, I reckon...

He's done his job well, the last couple of weeks especially. Has a dozen possies so far tonight and 2 goals. Those stats have been his whole game output more often than not.

13-06-2009, 09:32 PM
Endeavour has been terrific.

In particular our younger guys have gone in very hard. Harbrow, Picken and Ward all have put their bodies in hard.

13-06-2009, 09:33 PM
Agree. Pickens doing a good job on Pearce.

13-06-2009, 09:35 PM
In particular our younger guys have gone in very hard. Harbrow, Picken and Ward all have put their bodies in hard.

Agreed, they've shown great courage.

13-06-2009, 09:35 PM
Score board pressure will cause Port to drop their heads. We miss those and they lift a cog because they still have a sniff.

In a year as close as this one, percentage is going to be a factor. When we're dominating we need to convert on the score board.

I agree. We need to come out like we did against the Tiges early in the third and really put it beyond Port lest they get a sniff.

Just wonder which Port Adelaide personality we'll see in the 2nd half, Good Port or Bad Port. They are so unpredictable even within games.
As long as we keep our work rate up and our fitness holds up, I think we should hold them off, even if the good Port turn up to play.

13-06-2009, 09:36 PM
Agree. Pickens doing a good job on Pearce.

I'm liking Picken more and more each week. Just seems so level headed and switched on to each task he's presented with.

13-06-2009, 09:38 PM
All round great first half , lets see if the heat affects more one side than the other now.
And im happy to win, would take 4 points and 1% ,keep winning and the rest takes care of itself.
If we need percentage to get in finals well we arent as good as we think.
GO Wardy!

13-06-2009, 09:39 PM
Harbrow's improvement is amazing.

13-06-2009, 09:41 PM
Port's disposal a shocker. nice finish from Hahn.
That's the start we wanted!!

13-06-2009, 09:45 PM
Is Griff playing a tagging role tonight. Seems to be playing Rodan pretty tight?

13-06-2009, 09:47 PM
HILLY!

Finally takes a screamer. But misses.

13-06-2009, 09:52 PM
Gee. Hill has had some opportunities. He really needs to improve his kicking.
Great hands, and his work rate is improving, but really needs to finish better.

13-06-2009, 09:53 PM
HILLY!

Finally takes a screamer. But misses.

It's been coming for some time now and whilst he was probably fortunate to get it paid, it was a great leap.

13-06-2009, 09:54 PM
Aker finally finishes off.
Hahn kicks a ripper.

47 points the margin.

Time to really hurt them.

On a side note - Port are insipid.

13-06-2009, 09:56 PM
Got them by the throat now, time to finish it off and really bury em here.

13-06-2009, 09:57 PM
On a side note - Port are insipid.

And pathetic...and stupid...and shocking..

13-06-2009, 10:10 PM
Really happy with Griffens work ethic tonight, I suspect he may have gotten a rocket after last week. He's laid 6 tackles (most on our side) and has 7 contested possesions out of his 19.

13-06-2009, 10:10 PM
A great third quarter workrate wise, to be ultra critical we again missed goals we should've kicked.

Having said that we would take a 9 goal lead at 3Qtr time any day of the week!

I really hope we go for the kill in the last and show we are ready to play 4 Qtr footy as we round the turn into the 2nd half of the season.

13-06-2009, 10:11 PM
Really happy with Griffens work ethic tonight, I suspect he may have gotten a rocket after last week. He's laid 6 tackles (most on our side) and has 7 contested possesions out of his 19.

Agree. he's also stuck pretty close to Rodan.

Hargrave & Cross outstanding

Yeah I got in, but the black screen isnt like loading or whatever. I thought I posted a thanks but it obviously didnt post. Thanks heaps!

If your using Firefox try Internet explorer.

13-06-2009, 10:15 PM
Thank god for the bye, we are going to need it after this heat, ball must be slippery as a few easy marks being dropped.
Although luckily we are playing against rubbish tonight.

13-06-2009, 10:15 PM
Our midfield is racking them up, Geelong like possies:

Griffen 19 : 24
Cooney 23 : 31
Cross 29 : 39
Higgins 18 : 24
Minson (lol) 20 : 27
Boyd 22 : 29
Ward 23 : 31

Would ensure a Rising Star nom for Wardy if he could break the 30 possession barrier.

13-06-2009, 10:22 PM
The more I think about it the better Picken's game is.

Pearce is one of Ports most important runners, and the one thing Port have lacked all night is a running ball carrier. By totally shutting him out he has really made Ports run look anaemic.

13-06-2009, 10:27 PM
Port......

Wow I had them top 4, they have been terrible after that Grandfinal loss.

13-06-2009, 10:28 PM
Is there anyone cleaner than Josh Hill?

13-06-2009, 10:34 PM
Party time

13-06-2009, 10:38 PM
I think the how good are Josh Hills hands thread might get a work out post game.
That half volley pick up on the goal line that led to Higgins goal was a pearler.

13-06-2009, 10:39 PM
Port should really be ashamed, this is pathetic.

13-06-2009, 10:44 PM
Willlbur!!!!!!!!

After tonight, Will Minson's career has taken a big step forward.

Chance to get it over the hundred here as Minno slots number 3

Minsonnnnnnnnn

13-06-2009, 10:47 PM
Aker won't do it again will he?

13-06-2009, 10:47 PM
After tonight, Will Minson's career has taken a big step forward.

I think his last few weeks have been very promising but this one in particular has been a beauty.

13-06-2009, 10:53 PM
Fantastic result. Our best 4 Qtr effort for the year, and by far our best defensive effort from our group for the year.

Great to see a big game from Will. First time he has been more than just a solid contributor. Tonight he was a key component both in the ruck and when he slipped up forward.
He's now set the bar that he needs to maintain, and if he can do so all of a sudden our structure looks a lot better.

13-06-2009, 10:56 PM
I think his last few weeks have been very promising but this one in particular has been a beauty.

Agree. Now needs to realise that when he can perform at this level he really can be both an imposing player individually but also that structurally he can transform our whole game style..

13-06-2009, 10:56 PM
It will take a massive game to take the Rising star of Callan Ward this week 33 pos 1 goal was very good. Great win Dogs :)

13-06-2009, 10:57 PM
A few notes on the game if you watched it on telly:
Will Minson is now Mill Winson,
Smithy wants to have Johnnos baby,
Hargrave is very much underrated,
Josh Hill loves the heat,
Is this the nail in the coffin for the Port/Williams partnership?
And last of all , did we all notice how most of our players were doing the Michael Jackson with the one glove?
Now what would Jerrys spin be on this game?
Well done boys, we asked for 4 quarters we got it.

13-06-2009, 11:02 PM
Thats the big thing for me, against Sydney I felt we had them on the ropes but really didnt dish out the punishment a Geelong would have, tonight we did that. That last quarter was very good, even if there wasnt much competition.

13-06-2009, 11:05 PM
Thats the big thing for me, against Sydney I felt we had them on the ropes but really didnt dish out the punishment a Geelong would have, tonight we did that. That last quarter was very good, even if there wasnt much competition.

There wasn't, but as you said, that's when the Geelong-type teams go on with it. I love a good belting.

13-06-2009, 11:06 PM
And last of all , did we all notice how most of our players were doing the Michael Jackson with the one glove?

And I'd add - Fox's commentary team don't give us enough credit.

13-06-2009, 11:09 PM
Actually the big thing i got out of it was Smithy is a worry with Johnno, chopped his arm?
Was one of the most enjoyable games i ever watched as far as all round entertainment goes and may i just say the umpires hardly came into it, theres a change.
Oh except the poor old Port player, seems a bit unfair if an ump gets in the way, any ideas on how to solve that situation?

13-06-2009, 11:12 PM
Well done to Rocket and the MC for going with the right team for the conditions. Port were too top heavy and we ran over the top.

13-06-2009, 11:12 PM
Well...

I was secretly thinking maybe a 50-ish point win was on the cards, but that was amazing. Everyone did their bit today, but just a few special mentions;

- Hill has the greatest hands in the history of appendages
- Ward and Minson played the best games of their careers tonight
- Hargrave's run off the back flank was fantastic, especially in the first half
- Coons looks back
- Griffen is beginning to meet my expectations
- I know I mentioned Minson already, but both our ruckmen were absolutely sensational. I'm almost scared to say it, but our ruck department is fast becoming a strength
- The back 50 was diamond-like in its solidity

In summation, we went alright.

13-06-2009, 11:13 PM
And I'd add - Fox's commentary team don't give us enough credit.

Not sure about that tonight, even Piggy was quite effusive in his praise, and Liam said we were a genuine flag contender.

13-06-2009, 11:15 PM
Not sure about that tonight, even Piggy was quite effusive in his praise, and Liam said we were a genuine flag contender.

Many instances of praise were followed by a qualifying statement e.g "Port are undermanned"...

13-06-2009, 11:17 PM
Many instances of praise were followed by a qualifying statement e.g "Port are undermanned"...

Oh, who cares about their excuses they can think what they like and defend Port for being shit, but at least we all know better! We're simply BETTER than them.

13-06-2009, 11:17 PM

Bubba is becoming quite cringeworthy to listen too on the Teev with his total one-eyedness. He makes Glen Jakovich seem impartial by comparison.

13-06-2009, 11:21 PM
Bubba is becoming quite cringeworthy to listen too on the Teev with his total one-eyedness. He makes Glen Jakovich seem impartial by comparison.

The difference is that Bubba and the team play it up, and purposely have a joke with it. Jakovich takes himself so seriously, it's laughable. An earnest meathead.

13-06-2009, 11:21 PM
Actually the big thing i got out of it was Smithy is a worry with Johnno, chopped his arm?
Was one of the most enjoyable games i ever watched as far as all round entertainment goes and may i just say the umpires hardly came into it, theres a change.
Oh except the poor old Port player, seems a bit unfair if an ump gets in the way, any ideas on how to solve that situation?

That one incident almost certainly cost Port a goal. Luckily it wasn't a factor in the final result. I'd be livid if I was Choco. Difficult to know what to do to solve the situation, apart from sending them back to ump school to learn about positioning. Or scream "GET OUT OF THE F****** WAY! at them) But of course the rule-makers put all responsibility on the players. That bloke'll probably get a pat on the back. Aside from that the monkeys were OK.

13-06-2009, 11:22 PM
Oh, who cares about their excuses they can think what they like and defend Port for being shit, but at least we all know better! We're simply BETTER than them.

Very well said Sophie!:)

13-06-2009, 11:23 PM
I think the main thing to come from tonight, was a full 4 quarter effort.

They didn't stop all game.

13-06-2009, 11:25 PM
Great effort by the Dogs... all around the ground we were miles ahead of Port. Apart from that mini-run they had, we had it all over them. Positive performances from WILLLBUR! Cooney, Griffen, Hargrave, Picken, and others. Great to get a thumping win over a side I thought would push us. Enjoy the break Dogs!

13-06-2009, 11:29 PM
Underlining the team effort was the fact that only 3 players tonight did not earn a 1% stat, being Josh Hill, Guido and Boyd. Also only Johnno and Murph did not lay at least 1 tackle.

Welsh 6, 1%ers
Hargrave and Harbow both 5 1%ers

Griffen 9 tackles, Harbrow with 5, Ward, Harbrow, Eagleton and Picken with 4 tackles each each.

Our best team effort all over the park for the season both with and without the ball.

13-06-2009, 11:42 PM
Hudson running into goal was quite funny i thought, If it was Cross he would have looked for a handball!

13-06-2009, 11:50 PM
Hudson running into goal was quite funny i thought, If it was Cross he would have looked for a handball!

Yeah, at one point Cross avoided kicking what was easily a gettable goal...Need to get him over that mental hurdle. 30 of his 37 disposals were handballs..

14-06-2009, 12:01 AM
First game all year that we have won every quarter. Very healthy percentage boost that is now nearly like an extra game break.

14-06-2009, 12:04 AM
First game all year that we have won every quarter. Very healthy percentage boost that is now nearly like an extra game break.

An increase of 7.9%, up to 123.9% now.

14-06-2009, 12:08 AM
Has Will Minson ever played a better game for us? He really stamped himself on the game tonight.

Shaggy was brilliant too, and Picken absolutely violated Pearce tonight, keeping him to 9 touches. Griffen & Cooney getting their touch back, good signs with Williams to come back after the break hopefully.

14-06-2009, 12:12 AM
An increase of 7.9%, up to 123.9% now.

And now a very handy 9% percentage break on Carlton (or approximately 100 points).

14-06-2009, 12:16 AM
Shaggy was brilliant too, and Picken absolutely violated Pearce tonight, keeping him to 9 touches. Griffen & Cooney getting their touch back, good signs with Williams to come back after the break hopefully.

And guys like Callan, Addison, Everitt and Tiller marinating nicely at Willy.

14-06-2009, 12:30 AM
Great win.

Thought we blew some simple shots on goal though, against better sides that could end up costing us. Usually our forwards a more accurate than that, could have been 120 point drubbing.

I liked Harbrow's run from the back. Shaggy was fantastic in the first half. Picken is a gem of a find this season, as is Ward. Coon is back. Welsh needs to have look before he bombs. Hahn did a few things that counted. Good 4 quarter team effort.

14-06-2009, 12:38 AM
I didn't get to see the game (not from a lack of trying) but it sounds like a very even contribution from the team, with a much needed percentage boost to keep us above the pack.

I am really enjoying the way we are building up to something this year, instead of the slow disintegration before the break and the listless performances after the break. Come out firing to tear the competition apart dogs:)

14-06-2009, 12:42 AM
Has Will Minson ever played a better game for us? He really stamped himself on the game tonight.

Minson was very good he was right into it, another thing that pleased me was to see Robert Murphy back in the side.

14-06-2009, 12:56 AM
Some unhappy campers...

BF.PA.GameDay (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=591339)

14-06-2009, 01:05 AM
93 points. Those kind of wins don't happen every day.

That was our equal 10th biggest win 85 seasons of VFL/AFL football.

14-06-2009, 01:08 AM
Some unhappy campers...

Fantastic... absolutely hilarious... so THAT'S what BigFooty is all about...did they really think the umpiring was that one-sided?

14-06-2009, 01:33 AM
I didn't get to see the match, just got home from a wedding. Sounds like it was a great game to win by 93 points! Does anyone know when the game will be replayed on Fox Sports?

14-06-2009, 01:41 AM
Tues, 10 am Fox 1
Wed, 10 am Fox 1

14-06-2009, 09:19 AM
I have been one of Minsons critics, he played the type of game I expect from him most weeks, in fact he has had a good 3 weeks. Good on him, hope he keeps it up as it will make us more dangerous come September!

14-06-2009, 11:33 AM
What a fantastic game! I thought Ward had an outstanding game - along with Harbrow, Picken, Shaggy, Cooney, Griff, Minson etc etc!! It was good to see four quarters of solid footy.

14-06-2009, 12:13 PM
What an excellent win. I remember complaining to my wife just before half time that they have gone to sleep and always do when they get a decent lead. They come out after half time and just didn't let up. It was a really impresive performance.

The only real criticsim I had was some of the kicking in the first half but that is all I can find. Well done boys, enjoy the week off.

14-06-2009, 12:25 PM
Wow, now THAT was some DELICIOUS football from the boys.

My namesake had a blinder, and I'm so happy that he finally put it all together in the one game - lots of possessions, a few goals, and a strong presence on the field. Go you good thing!

But how insipid were those Port Power players?!! I couldn't believe how poorly they were playing. Sure, at lot of it was our pressure, but they continually turned the ball over by hand and foot, often without any pressure from our players.

Well played Bulldogs - enjoy the break, and come back refreshed, and ready to bludgeon those Kangaroos...

14-06-2009, 12:39 PM
Happy about the win, but felt that we should have won by 120+.
We missed a lot of gettable goals & Port were just not interested
I think the match says more about Port and their internal issues than it does about our ability.
Still, good to see us take advantage of a disorganised oppostion and boost our %, and was impressed that the intensity didnt drop off. Late in the last 1/4 we wouldnt allow Port to get soft goals.

14-06-2009, 02:33 PM
Some unhappy campers...

Pretty entertaining read

14-06-2009, 03:07 PM
Hargrave and Westhoff threw a couple of jumper punches each infront of the grandstand. Not sure if MRP will look at it, wouldnt suprise me.

14-06-2009, 03:42 PM
Some unhappy campers...

That's quite humorous in a sadistic kind of way...

Brave effort from you Comrade :)

14-06-2009, 06:03 PM
I think the biggest positive to come out of the match is that the mid fielders will have the confidence to kick to big Will knowing that he can take a mark, and more importantly go back and convert. It will also give big Will great confidence.

14-06-2009, 06:07 PM
I think the biggest positive to come out of the match is that the mid fielders will have the confidence to kick to big Will knowing that he can take a mark, and more importantly go back and convert. It will also give big Will great confidence.

Aker's kick early on was great as he gave Will a chance to compete 1 on 1 with his opponent, something he rarely has the opportunity to do.

14-06-2009, 06:26 PM
And guys like Callan, Addison, Everitt and Tiller marinating nicely at Willy.

I'm hard pressed to find anyone from that 22 you'd leave out for anyone at Willy/injured. I think Williams comes in when fit, and Addison is a favourite, but who for?

Close as we've come to a fit best 22 for quite some time. Very enjoyable.

15-06-2009, 10:39 AM
Aker's kick early on was great as he gave Will a chance to compete 1 on 1 with his opponent, something he rarely has the opportunity to do.

Last year he had plenty of 1 on 1 opportunities and gave away too many free kicks in by throwing his opponent out of the contest. On saturday it looked like he was using his body quite well, keep his opponent nullified and taking strong marks without rag dolling.

He ran to space well on the weekend and put himself in fantastic attacking positions and found free space with monotonous regularity. It was his best game by that far it's not funny and hopefully the confidence boost he needs to put those kind of performances together and give his team mates the confidence to kick it to him rather than look over his head!!

15-06-2009, 11:57 AM
Pretty entertaining read
can someone please summarise, cant be bothered going thourgh 12 pages

15-06-2009, 12:23 PM

Summary:

"F***ing umpires"
"I want Choco gone!"
"Why do we keep getting caught with the ball when the Bulldogs get away with it every time, blah blah blah"
"We are really crap"

and occasionly but rarely

"the Bulldogs are playing MUCH better than what we are"

There were a LOT having a cry over the umpiring.

15-06-2009, 12:28 PM
Funny, not one comment (that I noticed anyway) about us wearing our white jumper. Thought GVGjr & Bornadog would have been all aver this. ;)

Anyone know why we wore it when it was our home game?

15-06-2009, 01:28 PM
Funny, not one comment (that I noticed anyway) about us wearing our white jumper. Thought GVGjr & Bornadog would have been all aver this. ;)

I couldn't believe we wore our white jumper when we are trying to build our brand in the NT;)

15-06-2009, 01:44 PM
I couldn't believe we wore our white jumper when we are trying to build our brand in the NT;)

That may be why we wore it. How good would our white jumper look on those Aboriginal kids?

15-06-2009, 01:54 PM
The white clash strip will be worn 4 or 5 times WB made an application to the AFL to wear it x amount of times for the season which means that they can wear it whenever they choose to as long as the AFL is notified beforehand.

15-06-2009, 02:58 PM

Is it because Ports clash jumper is light blue and would have clashed more with our home jumper, so we were ordered to wear our clash jumper instead? common sense maybe.

It's much more enjoyable to watch on TV when one team has a dark jumper and the other has a light jumper.

15-06-2009, 03:38 PM
I didn't get a chance to see the game on Saturday night as I was at a footy club function....but I look forward to watching it tonight. Belting those scum bags will be a joy to watch!

15-06-2009, 05:12 PM
I didn't get a chance to see the game on Saturday night as I was at a footy club function....but I look forward to watching it tonight. Belting those scum bags will be a joy to watch!

Ozza, you will throughly enjoy it! I have watched it 4 times already. The most enjoyable game for me so far this year. Loved how our guys kept working right to very end. And watching young Ward was a highlight.

15-06-2009, 06:09 PM
The white clash strip will be worn 4 or 5 times WB made an application to the AFL to wear it x amount of times for the season which means that they can wear it whenever they choose to as long as the AFL is notified beforehand.

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo:D

15-06-2009, 06:59 PM

What i enjoyed was reading all the comments on how crap they were. When i then realized they were all before half-time (before the real onslaught began) it made my day.

15-06-2009, 08:02 PM

I actually sent a message to the club on Saturday night.

15-06-2009, 08:35 PM
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo:D

Don't worry its only for 4-5 games a season. ;)

15-06-2009, 10:10 PM
I didn't mind us wearing the white strip.... at least we didn't have to suffer through a couple of hours of Port's AWFUL grey thing.

15-06-2009, 11:06 PM
Dom Cassisi had this to say about the Dogs...

"The way the Bulldogs rotated their players on the ball and from half-forward was phenomenal. In the midfield, we were struggling to work out who we were on half the time.

"In the end, anything we tried did not work - not even going man-on-man. It seemed we played eight quarters, not four.

"It's a big wake-up call for us to play a top-four side and produce that performance."

See article here (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,25635676-5016212,00.html)

16-06-2009, 11:44 AM
Dom Cassisi had this to say about the Dogs...

"The way the Bulldogs rotated their players on the ball and from half-forward was phenomenal. In the midfield, we were struggling to work out who we were on half the time.

"In the end, anything we tried did not work - not even going man-on-man. It seemed we played eight quarters, not four.

"It's a big wake-up call for us to play a top-four side and produce that performance."

See article here (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,25635676-5016212,00.html)

We had a record number go through the interchange, no wonder they were confused.

16-06-2009, 12:42 PM
Did anyone else notice that one of the goal posts wasn't straight(the right post at the end we were kicking to in the last quarter).

16-06-2009, 02:00 PM

Speaking to a fitness mate of mine, (and this may be off the mark) but I believe it had something to do with the heat.

Dark colours absorbs and retains heat, moreso than white.

16-06-2009, 04:31 PM
We had a record number go through the interchange, no wonder they were confused.

Good, let's hope we continue to confuse other teams also, I could handle a few more 90+ wins. :)

16-06-2009, 05:57 PM
Speaking to a fitness mate of mine, (and this may be off the mark) but I believe it had something to do with the heat.

Dark colours absorbs and retains heat, moreso than white.

Slightly off the mark...The correlation between dark colours and heat has more to do with light (ie: sunlight) absorption.

Dark colours absorb (as opposed to reflect) more light than light colours...this is why they appear dark. Increased absorption of light means the material doing the absorbing heats up more so than a lighter coloured one with better reflective qualities, and in turn radiates that heat.

This shouldn't have been a great factor for Port however given it was a night game.

Hope that helps.

Why do I feel like I'm doing a segment on The Curiosity Show?

16-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Slightly off the mark...The correlation between dark colours and heat has more to do with light (ie: sunlight) absorption.

Dark colours absorb (as opposed to reflect) more light than light colours...this is why they appear dark. Increased absorption of light means the material doing the absorbing heats up more so than a lighter coloured one with better reflective qualities, and in turn radiates that heat.

This shouldn't have been a great factor for Port however given it was a night game.

Hope that helps.

Why do I feel like I'm doing a segment on The Curiosity Show?

So, essentially, wearing the lighter jumper wouldn't have made any difference in regards to combating the heat factor (versus the dark jumper)?

16-06-2009, 06:33 PM
Well, light is light, regardless of its source, and the ground was clearly illuminated...but in terms of the 'heat effect' it would have been negligible at best. So in short; it would have made bugger all difference.

If it was a day game, with plenty of sunlight, then different story.

16-06-2009, 06:38 PM
Well, light is light, regardless of its source, and the ground was clearly illuminated...but in terms of the 'heat effect' it would have been negligible at best. So in short; it would have made bugger all difference.

If it was a day game, with plenty of sunlight, then different story.

Cheers, RS.

16-06-2009, 09:14 PM
Did anyone else notice that one of the goal posts wasn't straight(the right post at the end we were kicking to in the last quarter).

Saw it as well.

Pretty dodgy but that's Darwin.

16-06-2009, 10:48 PM
Wow, now THAT was some DELICIOUS football from the boys.

My namesake had a blinder, and I'm so happy that he finally put it all together in the one game - lots of possessions, a few goals, and a strong presence on the field. Go you good thing!

But how insipid were those Port Power players?!! I couldn't believe how poorly they were playing. Sure, at lot of it was our pressure, but they continually turned the ball over by hand and foot, often without any pressure from our players.

Well played Bulldogs - enjoy the break, and come back refreshed, and ready to bludgeon those Kangaroos...

Well said - I think we were probably all excited by the "delicious" dogs :cool: