View Full Version : Naming our kid's after our favorite players

06-07-2009, 03:09 PM
My little boy was 3 before my wife found out that he was named after Daniel Cross.

My darling little 7 yo daughter proudly carries Liberatore as one of her middle names. I loved the little man and I wanted to keep his name going in my memory.

Has anyone else named a child after a player or snuck one past the better half without them noticing?

06-07-2009, 03:27 PM
A close mate of mine who barracks for the Bombers named his daughter Jamie - he couldn't name her James so he did the next best thing.

06-07-2009, 03:35 PM
I heard of a bloke called John Manson who called his son - Free Charles

06-07-2009, 04:08 PM
I named my son Wayne Darcy Stevenson, after the great man.
He is the third Wayne.D.Stevenson in a row.

06-07-2009, 04:09 PM
I can assure you my son was NOT named after Patrick Bowden

06-07-2009, 04:14 PM
My second son is Luke, named after the champ Darcy.

My third son is Campbell, my wife liked the name, and I like Campbell Rose.

My wife received naming rights for the two girls that followed the boys, so no luck there.

06-07-2009, 04:14 PM
I can assure you my son was NOT named after Patrick Bowden

Wiggins?

06-07-2009, 05:38 PM
I have two boys,
TED (what else) and AMBROSE (see Ambrose Palmer).

06-07-2009, 05:44 PM
My uncle called his son Darcy after Luke Darcy. And i'm pretty sure my cousins middle name is actually Luke.

06-07-2009, 08:05 PM
Oh the stories teachers can tell about "interesting" names given to children...haven't heard a heap of footy related ones - Mark Jackson was one...

06-07-2009, 08:14 PM
Obviously Seb (Sebastian) was not named after any player - but we do tend to call him "Aker" these days :) Although his middle name 'Armstrong' comes from my Grandfathers side (Regonald Armstrong Bell) who played for Hawthorn. Don't ask me when that was, he's 89 now!!! Possibly one of the oldest living Hawthorn players.
Maybe one day people will be naming their kids after Seb!

06-07-2009, 08:24 PM
Obviously Seb (Sebastian) was not named after any player - but we do tend to call him "Aker" these days :) Although his middle name 'Armstrong' comes from my Grandfathers side (Regonald Armstrong Bell) who played for Hawthorn. Don't ask me when that was, he's 89 now!!! Possibly one of the oldest living Hawthorn players.

It was in 1940 & 1941.

He played 23 games, winning 8 & losing in 15 of them.

Debuted 27th April 1940 (26 years, 223 days v North Melbourne).

Only played against Footscray twice & lost both times.

06-07-2009, 08:30 PM
We do have a contributor with a son named Dempsey.

06-07-2009, 09:02 PM
It was in 1940 & 1941.

AND apparantly played on Norm Smith.....so there you go! thanks for the stats :)

06-07-2009, 09:14 PM
Couldn't sneak a name past the missus but my wife was booked in for a C section on the great man's birthday back in 2001 (13th December).

06-07-2009, 10:37 PM
I have two boys,
TED (what else) and AMBROSE (see Ambrose Palmer).

I had a go at Ambrose...settled for Dempsey.

06-07-2009, 10:54 PM

It was in 1940 & 1941.

I think there's an error somewhere with the dates or age. Being 26 years and 223 days old in April 1940 means you were born in 1913 and would currently be 95

07-07-2009, 03:06 PM
Yeah sorry he is 95!! Have no idea why I said 89 (may have even been thinking 98 when I was typing??!!).....Thanks for picking that up though :)

07-07-2009, 03:08 PM
Yes it is not often that TCD is wrong :D

07-07-2009, 04:34 PM
I named my dog Gilbee. Not my son but part of the family.

07-07-2009, 07:21 PM
No kids but we have dogs. To date, I haven't been able to sneak a doggies player in the mix, but you never know your luck in the big city :)

08-07-2009, 12:34 AM
Yes it is not often that TCD is wrong :D

True - I thought he may be on the money as I found a man of the same name with a 1913 birthdate on the site below. GoDoggies you may be interested in this if its the same person

http://www.ayton.id.au/gary/genealogy/MyAncestors_brabyn_mills.htm

TCD here's a challenge for you. Is Mr Bell the oldest living AFL player and if not who is?

08-07-2009, 09:11 AM
True - I thought he may be on the money as I found a man of the same name with a 1913 birthdate on the site below. GoDoggies you may be interested in this if its the same person

http://www.ayton.id.au/gary/genealogy/MyAncestors_brabyn_mills.htm

TCD here's a challenge for you. Is Mr Bell the oldest living AFL player and if not who is?
Lets not forget that I directed to the website some time ago;)

08-07-2009, 01:23 PM

He's the 6th oldest.

1. Jimmy Bates ESS 25/06/1910
2. Clen Denning CARL/FITZ 28/02/1911
3. Ken McKernan MN 09/08/1911
4. Syd Francis HAW 20/02/1913
5. Eric Ward STK 04/07/1913
6. Reg Bell HAW 19/09/1913

08-07-2009, 01:30 PM
He's the 6th oldest.

I think that Clen Denning has the record for most goals kicked before he kicked a behind from memory as well.

08-07-2009, 01:31 PM
No kids but we have dogs.

Two dogs?

08-07-2009, 01:31 PM
I think that Clen Denning has the record for most goals kicked before he kicked a behind from memory as well.

You would have been just a pup about then too. :D

08-07-2009, 02:28 PM
You would have been just a pup about then too. :D

He palyed in Fitzroy's last flag too.

08-07-2009, 04:10 PM
no kids, but a horse called Luke, a cat called Griffo and I have a mate called Carlton (his dad was a fanatic)!!

08-07-2009, 04:23 PM
He's the 6th oldest.

Wow! the 6th oldest, that's pretty cool. I'm proud of my pa :D He's amazing. He can tell you the score of every single match he played - qtr by qtr. His mind is in so young, alas the body has given up.
We get all his Hawthorn mail, ivitations to event and such. But he lives in Brisbane (by himself mind you....remember he's 95!!!) and is too old to make the journey back to Melbourne. Sad really cause he'd so enjoy it.

07-08-2009, 11:33 PM
He's the 6th oldest.

Just to update - # 6 Reg Bell of Hawthorn 1940 (my Pa) past away today, aged 96.
1913-2009
Will be very missed, but he had a very good innings and now he's in a much happier state.

08-08-2009, 12:09 AM
Just to update - # 6 Reg Bell of Hawthorn 1940 (my Pa) past away today, aged 96.
1913-2009
Will be very missed, but he had a very good innings and now he's in a much happier state.

My condolences to you and your family

08-08-2009, 01:59 PM
1913-2009

Sorry to hear that Jodie. Condolences to you from us at WOOF mate.

08-08-2009, 02:02 PM
no kids, but a horse called Luke, a cat called Griffo and I have a mate called Carlton (his dad was a fanatic)!!

I've got a chook called Huddo. It looks a bit like this one;

http://www.fowlvisions.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/rhode-island-red-baby-chick.jpg