View Full Version : Predict next weeks crowd?

26-07-2009, 11:09 AM
It's almost 100% certain we will lose money on next week, barring a miracle.

Let's pick the crowd figure, and see who gets closest.

26-07-2009, 11:24 AM
We really need to promote the hell out of BJs record breaking game and get him a good crowd it would be an abslolute disgarace for the great an to break the record before less than 35,000

26-07-2009, 11:27 AM
We really need to promote the hell out of BJs record breaking game and get him a good crowd it would be an abslolute disgarace for the great an to break the record before less than 35,000

We have 28K members, Freo have just about 0 fans in Melbourne. 35K is a dream.

26-07-2009, 11:43 AM
Can't go to Saturday afternoon games unfortunatly. Playing football, although a trip to Trentham at this time of year makes me want to feel very sore Saturday morning and drive to the Dome instead. :D

I do have a reserved seat for the game though if anyone wants it.

Level 1, Row E, Seat 63

Just PM me and I'll e-mail it to you.

26-07-2009, 12:19 PM
22.358.......lucky to get 20,000 i reckon..

26-07-2009, 12:22 PM
18K.

Its likely to be a very ordinary game. I watched a fair bit of Freo v WCE yesterday - wow...those two teams are insipid.

26-07-2009, 12:27 PM

Just heard Johnno is hurt, in some doubt for the game.

26-07-2009, 12:29 PM
These home games against Freo need to be marketed as Family Days if we want to get > 28k

Ie we give away free tickets to the youth of the Western suburbs, or Bushfire victims, or volunteers in the community, or public servants like police, teachers, fire fighter etc from the West

I'm thinking 24k next Saturday

26-07-2009, 12:35 PM
< 20k

26-07-2009, 12:50 PM
These home games against Freo need to be marketed as Family Days if we want to get > 28k

Ie we give away free tickets to the youth of the Western suburbs, or Bushfire victims, or volunteers in the community, or public servants like police, teachers, fire fighter etc from the West

I'm thinking 24k next Saturday

Not sure what giving away 5000 free tickets to the club's bottom line?

26-07-2009, 12:57 PM
We really need to promote the hell out of BJs record breaking game

Definitely.

26-07-2009, 01:58 PM
Isn't it Johnson's record breaking game?
They may not open level 3...

26-07-2009, 03:49 PM
I'll have to leave at around half time, but I'll be there. It's hard to predict but hopefully it's not too low for Johnno.

26-07-2009, 04:10 PM
If I recall correctly, under our contract with Etihad Stadium, if we get less than 20k to a game we have we owe them:
*$6,000,015.45
*Ben Hudson's beard
*Chris Grant becomes Ian Collins' personal slave
*Butch (our real life Bulldog mascot) will have to be sacrificed in honour of Ian Collins

On the flip side, they shouted us a pie and half a bottle of coke when we got the big crowd against Collingwood a couple of weeks ago.

26-07-2009, 05:02 PM
I'm going, Mum and Dad got those reserved level 2 seating tickets from PFD (we own a business, they give out free tickets every year). They got to us near the end of the ticket distribution, and only crap like this game, and our game vs Eagles was left :(.
I would probably go anyway, but whatever. Low, low crowds.

26-07-2009, 05:12 PM
be lucky to get to 20,000

be nice to get more - Saturday afternoon footy is very rare these days...

27-07-2009, 06:05 PM
The club is offering a free kids ticket with every paying adult who goes to the game...

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/season2009/news/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/81479/default.aspx

27-07-2009, 06:13 PM
The club is offering a free kids ticket with every paying adult who goes to the game...

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/season2009/news/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/81479/default.aspx

The offer not being valid for Bulldogs members is a joke.

27-07-2009, 08:23 PM

27-07-2009, 09:00 PM
If I recall correctly, under our contract with Etihad Stadium, if we get less than 20k to a game we have we owe them:
*$6,000,015.45
*Ben Hudson's beard
*Chris Grant becomes Ian Collins' personal slave
*Butch (our real life Bulldog mascot) will have to be sacrificed in honour of Ian Collins

On the flip side, they shouted us a pie and half a bottle of coke when we got the big crowd against Collingwood a couple of weeks ago.

Will be very surprised/happy to break 20,000

27-07-2009, 09:04 PM
I'm gonna be optimistic and say..

random number :)

27-07-2009, 09:05 PM
19,743 :)

27-07-2009, 09:31 PM
Wouldnt miss this for the world, love ya Johno

27-07-2009, 09:37 PM
22.358.......lucky to get 20,000 i reckon..

Couldn't you round it up to one decimal place ;)

2 because we should be able to get at least 20,000
3 Arthur Olliver, EJ & Granty
7 Hawk & Westy
5 Rohan Smith
6 Johnno

NoName
27-07-2009, 10:26 PM

28-07-2009, 12:54 PM

I will be the one

28-07-2009, 12:56 PM

28-07-2009, 02:21 PM
The offer not being valid for Bulldogs members is a joke.

Yeah but think about how this rewards all of those who haven't signed up to be members. Sending out the massage that if you don't become a member we'll reward you with free kids tix to our less appetising games is genius marketing. It's like reverse psychology.
Members don't need free tickets because well, they're members, surely they wouldn't want to bring along a young'un and try to expose them to the dogs in an important moment for free now, would they?
It all makes perfect se.....oh hang on

28-07-2009, 02:39 PM
Yeah but think about how this rewards all of those who haven't signed up to be members. Sending out the massage that if you don't become a member we'll reward you with free kids tix to our less appetising games is genius marketing. It's like reverse psychology.
Members don't need free tickets because well, they're members, surely they wouldn't want to bring along a young'un and try to expose them to the dogs in an important moment for free now, would they?
It all makes perfect se.....oh hang on

This has been my rant against the club for the longest time. Most parts of the club have really picked up their game in the last ten years. The same cannot be said of the membership and marketing department, which can be staid and uninnovative, non-directional, and reactive.

Examples like this are just the latest in a string of slaps in the face for members.

Yet we continually hear complains about our low membership numbers and the large number of non-renewals.

In a commercially competitive era, a worthwhile Bulldogs membership (reserved seating and above - a general membership to sit high up in the rafters to watch ants play footy isn't worthwhile for most who have Foxtel coverage and high-definition large screen televisions at home) is not value-for-money.

28-07-2009, 04:29 PM
ok just saw that juniors can come for free with a paying adult.

new no. from me

01-08-2009, 09:31 PM
Isn't it Johnson's record breaking game?
They may not open level 3...

Think you won the guessing game... 19, 065 was the number I think...

01-08-2009, 10:44 PM
Just where the h **l was everyone today? I just don't understand why, when it was such a milestone game, that there were so many empty seats. Around where my seat is, (level 1 aisle 39) there were heaps of people missing. Most of us have had the same seats there for years, that's why it was so obvious there were lots missing. I appreciate sometimes people can't get to games, but ??? :confused: I was totally confused! Any one got any ideas?

01-08-2009, 11:33 PM
No idea where everyone was.

But it was a very disappointing crowd and absolutely zero Fremantle supporters (if it was Adelaide or West Coast there are always some traveling support).

Our crowds have been OK this year but today was a disgrace.

01-08-2009, 11:39 PM
No idea where everyone was.

But it was a very disappointing crowd and absolutely zero Fremantle supporters (if it was Adelaide or West Coast there are always some traveling support).

Our crowds have been OK this year but today was a disgrace.

Oh come on, there was at least a dozen Freo wankers behind the goals! ;)

Yeah, this one comes back to the issue raised in another thread - why people aren't members of the club? There are many around who will talk about the Dogs being a good side, but when push comes to shove, they don't show up!:mad: Have to say today's poor attendance wasn't unexpected IMO, but for a game like this, disappointing.

01-08-2009, 11:42 PM
Just where the h **l was everyone today? I just don't understand why, when it was such a milestone game, that there were so many empty seats. Around where my seat is, (level 1 aisle 39) there were heaps of people missing. Most of us have had the same seats there for years, that's why it was so obvious there were lots missing. I appreciate sometimes people can't get to games, but ??? :confused: I was totally confused! Any one got any ideas?

Well there was an upside. I stood on the HFF on the water side and then half way through the 3rd was able to move down and sit 10 rows back on the wing because they obviously don't pay the ticket guys after half time. I'd have to pay an extra $25 bucks for that seat in a big game.
But yes piss poor crowd which was an insult to Johnno.

01-08-2009, 11:52 PM
Crap crowd, what a terrible way to celebrate Johnsons milestone.

02-08-2009, 08:24 AM
If an event like Johnsons record breaking game can't inspire people to come to the footy them I have some doubts on how many members/supporters we actually have.

02-08-2009, 07:41 PM
Because of no milestone next week
16,860 v west coast next week

02-08-2009, 08:00 PM
Include the team placings on the ladder and how far away Fremantle is, i am surprised any Freo supporters turned up unless they had relations playing.

We have 30,000 members , how many pay because they have done for years but live too far away or can never get to games, include work, illness etc 19000 is it really that bad?

I am not a fan of having a go at members who dont go, at least they pay up each year and know they wont be going, makes them more a supporter i think. Paying out for no return.

In all it was just bad timing we were playing probably the worst interstate team in the league.
Next week? Over 22000 as West coast are a better team and more supporters in Melbourne.

Was an interesting statement made by my nephew on the way home from the game "I know a supporter of every club except Freo and dont know anyone who knows someone who supports Freo"

02-08-2009, 08:12 PM
We have 30,000 members , how many pay because they have done for years but live too far away or can never get to games, include work, illness etc 19000 is it really that bad?

I am not a fan of having a go at members who dont go, at least they pay up each year and know they wont be going, makes them more a supporter i think. Paying out for no return.

I think you are missing the main point that it was a poor crowd given the record being set by one of the favorite sons. I know of two interstate people who made the trip just for wanting to be a part of the celebration. I'm sure there was other people who weren't members who went to the game as well.

Like you I have no issue if people pay their memberships and then only use them sparingly but it was a pretty big occasion and the turn out was disappointing.

02-08-2009, 08:13 PM
I'll guess the extra support for West Coast and drop off from the milestone game will mean about the same crowd next week

02-08-2009, 09:11 PM
We got 29,927 Rd5 last year vs WCE @ the dome

Maybe thats because we were 4-0-1?

I predict 24,071

02-08-2009, 10:51 PM
Piss poor effort our supporters seemed to need a crisis to come out of the woodwork. Might get a bigger crowd with West Coast having more Melbourne fans than Freo

02-08-2009, 11:00 PM
I'll say 22, 086.... I think some rabid Weagle fans will trek over...

03-08-2009, 11:07 AM
Weagle and Crow fans always seem to come over for the Doggies games so i will say 23,454

03-08-2009, 12:33 PM
I was really disappointed that less than 20,000 showed up for Johnno's game, on a Saturday afternoon. We will be lucky to get much more than that for this weeks game.

03-08-2009, 02:35 PM
It will interesting if it's announced (I'm sure Smorgo will be on the case) how much cash the poor showing cost us.

The atmosphere was pretty poor on Saturday which was more to do with the game rather than crowd size. I would think the amount of groans that could be heard in the second half was at an all time high.

03-08-2009, 02:39 PM
24 586

03-08-2009, 06:29 PM

03-08-2009, 10:47 PM

playing the West Coast Tankers, coming off a poor game, etc, will probably keep people away...

03-08-2009, 10:51 PM

West Coast have alot more support here than Freo, and they are no longer tanking, they beat Essendon!