View Full Version : Game Day - R20 Western Bulldogs vs Brisbane

14-08-2009, 11:32 PM
This is the discussion thread for this Saturday night's game at the Gabba against Brisbane.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 18 points
BOG : Jason Akermanis
Brad Johnson to kick the first goal.

14-08-2009, 11:34 PM
Dogs by 5 points
BOG Aker
First goal to Hill (I've gone off WILLLLBUR!)

14-08-2009, 11:37 PM
Close game (i hope)
Dogs by 8 points
BOG Aker
First Goal Eagleton to answer his critics!

14-08-2009, 11:51 PM
Keep them coming....three BOG predictions for Aker so far, how good would that be for him to be best on ground against his old club and for us to gloat that he was. :D

15-08-2009, 12:20 AM
Doggies by 35 points!
First goal to Murphy
BOG Cooney.

15-08-2009, 01:24 AM
Keep them coming....three BOG predictions for Aker so far, how good would that be for him to be best on ground against his old club and for us to gloat that he was. :D

a) he's in good form
b) it's his old side, he'll relish the opportunity =]

15-08-2009, 03:15 AM

It's gotta be on the cards, he is a champ and one player that drags us kicking and screaming across the line when a big game needs to be won

Draw
First Goal Mitch Hahn
BOG Jason Akermanis

15-08-2009, 03:24 AM
It's gotta be on the cards, he is a champ and one player that drags us kicking and screaming across the line when a big game needs to be won

Draw
First Goal Mitch Hahn
BOG Jason Akermanis

To borrow a phrase from the once-great-now-a-tosser, Terry Wallace - if there's a draw, "I'll spew up!!!!!!"

15-08-2009, 07:49 AM
Dogs by 7 points

1st goal - Mitch

BOG - Griff - he must be due for a big one.

Congratulations to Eagle & Welsh for their milestone games.

15-08-2009, 09:49 AM
Sitting at Avalon airport, about to board the plane to Brisbane. Surrounded by plenty of Dog supporters.

Feeling good about tonight!

15-08-2009, 09:55 AM
Dogs by 19

1st goal - Johnson
BOG - Cooney

Important game and will shape where we go this year and in following years.

15-08-2009, 10:32 AM
Dogs by 9,
Gilbee first goal,
Griffen BOG.

15-08-2009, 11:08 AM
Dogs by 16 points.
BOG: Aker (Along with Picken)
First Goal: Welsh

P.S.

It's great too see how, even though we lost last week. Us supporters still have faith. Lets hope the team can actually make us believe again.

15-08-2009, 11:27 AM
Sitting at Avalon airport, about to board the plane to Brisbane. Surrounded by plenty of Dog supporters.

Feeling good about tonight!

Make some noise for us comrade!

15-08-2009, 12:03 PM
Dogs by 6 goals
BOG: Cooney (30+ possies & 2 goals)
First Goal: Mitch Hahn

15-08-2009, 12:37 PM
Dogs by 14pts
BOG Lake
First Goal: Hill

15-08-2009, 12:42 PM
I have a feeling we'll win by about 5 goals.

Murph to kick the first and Gilbee BOG.

BIG game, let's see how the boys respond from the previous week.

15-08-2009, 01:14 PM
Dogs by 15 points

AKer to kick the first goal

BOG Hahn

15-08-2009, 02:22 PM
Dogs by 23 points

Aker First Goal and BOG

15-08-2009, 03:23 PM
Dogs by 4 points
BOG: Lake/Akermanis
First Goal: Akermanis

15-08-2009, 04:32 PM
Have to say I'm not confident but....

Dogs by 25 points
BOG = Aker
First Goal = Boyd

To all our fellow Woofers who have made the journey to BrisVegas, shout out loud for all of us stuck down here :D

15-08-2009, 04:50 PM
Just listened to the first half of Collingwood v Richmond and regret to say I'm starting to both admire and resent the Pies, whose list is certainly no better than ours, for displaying the sort of fortitude we either can't or wont...well consistently anyway.

Brown and Bradshaw to combine for 10 goals...Lions by 39 points...the rest is academic.

Go Dogs, etc...

15-08-2009, 05:17 PM
Against my better judgment, my wife has talked me into going to the game tonight... Unfortunately I will be surrounded by my wife's workmates who are all Lions fans... except for a French couple who haven't been to a game before. Hopefully I can convince them to support the Dogs...but with the Lions song the music to the French national anthem I could be fighting a losing battle..

I don't have a good feeling about tonight.

Lions by 5 goals.
BOG. Simon Black
first goal. Bradshaw.

15-08-2009, 05:21 PM
Lions by 27pts
Welsh 1st goal
Boyd BOG

Brown and Bradshaw to be the difference :(

15-08-2009, 06:05 PM
Either the Dogs by 6 goals or the Lions by about a kick - if it's close, I think we lose.

Aka BOG, Welsh first goal

15-08-2009, 06:42 PM
Dogs by 1 Point
Griff BOG
Boyd First Goal

Very nervous now..

15-08-2009, 07:09 PM
Griffen out! Reid in.

What is wrong with Ryan?

15-08-2009, 07:26 PM
Griff and Cross out of the midfield...hmm not good, it couldnt have come at a worst time, but all the best to reid.

15-08-2009, 07:27 PM
Griffen out! Reid in.

What is wrong with Ryan?

Just heard Rocket on the radio, said he was a bit tight in the back.

15-08-2009, 07:35 PM
Just heard Rocket on the radio, said he was a bit tight in the back.

Gee Whiz! That is all we need. Four of our best midfielders now out (Griff, Cross, Gia and Higgins). DOH!

15-08-2009, 07:35 PM
Griffen out! Reid in.

What is wrong with Ryan?

Damn...

Tough game

Dogs by 4 points
first goal : Welsh
B.O.G : Eagleton....;)

15-08-2009, 08:04 PM
I know Bubba can be biased on the boundary line, but Alistair Lynch up in the commentary box is going to make watching this 10 times worse!

15-08-2009, 08:24 PM
watching on myP2P ... quality poor ... but at least I'm watchin' sumthin'

15-08-2009, 08:42 PM
One 60m Left Foot Boomerang Bomb from Eagleton, more to come I hope.

15-08-2009, 08:43 PM
Qtr Time

Dogs 5.2 32
Bris 2.3 15

15-08-2009, 08:44 PM
I know Bubba can be biased on the boundary line, but Alistair Lynch up in the commentary box is going to make watching this 10 times worse!

AGGGH!!! Not every ******* contest is a free to Brisbane!!!

watching on myP2P ... quality poor ... but at least I'm watchin' sumthin'

Can you give me the link?

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=45569&part=sports

The first one there needs a password and the next 2 are showing the Geelong v Sydney game!

Great to see us start well, important when interstate
Brisbane's two goals have come from Bradshaw and Brown, Bradshaw is outpointing Morris but we have kicked the last 4

15-08-2009, 08:46 PM
Can you give me the link?

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=45569&part=sports

The first one there needs a password and the next 2 are showing the Geelong v Sydney game!

Password is sirengate ;)

15-08-2009, 08:46 PM
AGGGH!!! Not every ******* contest is a free to Brisbane!!!

How's the vision in Belgium SS?

15-08-2009, 08:47 PM
Tom Williams is injured again...
foot

15-08-2009, 08:48 PM
How's the vision in Belgium SS?

About the same quality as the commentary. Ordinary.

Better than not seeing it at all.

15-08-2009, 08:48 PM
Williams apparently troubled by what Smithy's calling a "foot"...and Lakey with a hammy twinge.

Handy start...but Brissy killed themselves with turnovers that quarter.

15-08-2009, 08:57 PM
Go Egg Head

15-08-2009, 08:58 PM
Right on Cue Eagleton : )

15-08-2009, 09:02 PM
Eags has a couple now doesn't he (I missed most of the first qtr.

15-08-2009, 09:02 PM

Nice ;)

15-08-2009, 09:04 PM
Eaaaaggggaaaallllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15-08-2009, 09:10 PM
Can the friggin' commentators shut the hell up about how incredible Mitch Clark is??? MEMO to Fox... the Dogs are actually winning the game

15-08-2009, 09:14 PM
And that's why Gilbee is playing further up the ground...

15-08-2009, 09:18 PM
Two shit pushing frees paid (one to each team)... apparently marking contests aren't allowed.

15-08-2009, 09:23 PM
And that's why Gilbee is playing further up the ground...

He can play anywhere in my opinion and whilst last year Eade apparently didn't fancy his chances of handling the tag the quality way he uses the ball makes him lethal around the midfield.

15-08-2009, 09:24 PM
Half time Dogs by 33. 2 long goals each to Gilbee and Eagleton. Johnno who copped a corked thigh in the second quarter, Lake and Williams all on the ground

15-08-2009, 09:27 PM
Good first half.

Moving the ball well and finding more space that we have in recent weeks. Running in waves with some good run, handball and carry.

Need to keep running hard and deny them any space in their 50m for their twin towers.

As per usual being exposed on the counter, giving them acres of space in Pagans paddock, need to chase hard the other way.

15-08-2009, 09:32 PM
tackling and pressure is very good. need to keep that up, and make the most of any set shots we get. The run MUST continue, and the kicking into the fwd line needs to be precise. Cant afford turnovers in the middle of the ground to allow their "pagans paddock" to take effect, as their fwd line seems to have ample room for brown and bradshaw to move.

Geez Picken makes a difference to our tackling.

15-08-2009, 09:33 PM
Who is shagging who out of Dunstall and Lynch, its a comical commentary, everything they do is fantastic everything we do is average, we are, as said previously winning and have doubled thier score FFS!
Speaking of comical the Johnno mark, glad to see the umpire used his head and knew if in anyway johnno could have a kick at goal he would have!

Now theres a thought , get two trainers to run out to a player so the opposition think he is injured and leave him be, then he escapes from the trainers on his own!
Great tactical work from Eade.

15-08-2009, 09:34 PM
Some really good tackling so far.

Boydy, Boydy, Boydy, what were you thinking, in fact you weren't, just held onto it & for some unknown reason didn't move it forward & then turned it over when trying to handball. Goal to Bradshaw as a result.

Nice long bombs for goal by Gilbee & Eagleton for goals (2 each).

15-08-2009, 09:38 PM
If Lake continues to own Jon Brown they can't win.

If Brown manages to get away they still can.

15-08-2009, 09:40 PM
Now theres a thought , get two trainers to run out to a player so the opposition think he is injured and leave him be, then he escapes from the trainers on his own!
Great tactical work from Eade.

Chris Grant did this in the elim v Collingwood a few years back.

We were kicking in and Grant was with the trainers carrying a shoulder. Collingwood don't man up, Chris takes off, marks the kick-in and kicks to the wing.

15-08-2009, 09:49 PM
Joshy Hill...HANDS!!!

15-08-2009, 09:51 PM
cooney looks better...aggressive with the ball...shame about the dodgy torp

brissy just keep coming back at us

15-08-2009, 09:57 PM
Slim Picken back yourself son!
Morris looks to be doing well vs Bradshaw

15-08-2009, 10:01 PM
Any body pick 3 left foot boomerang bombs from Eagleton for this match? : )

15-08-2009, 10:01 PM
Egg Head ... Another :)

15-08-2009, 10:04 PM
My friend the Pig (ex of 20 years ago) bloody well turned up at the start wanting dinner.

Managed to get rid of her now. Dog's intensity a lot better tonight.

Thoughts on our forward structure tonight?

How has Reid & Wood gone? Williams?

Eagleton seems to be going well..... ;)

15-08-2009, 10:05 PM
Eagle has flipped the bird to all the doubters..for a week at least :)

15-08-2009, 10:07 PM
Better defensive pressure in our forward line tonight?

15-08-2009, 10:11 PM
Bad Choke Cooney : (

15-08-2009, 10:12 PM
5 set shots for 5 behinds that qtr...it better not cost us.

Aker, Cooney and Murph all from 30 out.

Dogs by 32 at 3/4 time. Our game to lose. F50 entries have been a lot more controlled and patient

Bad Choke Cooney : (

Disappointing misses from Murphy and Cooney that quarter.

Better defensive pressure in our forward line tonight?

Hard to say but we are better in the midfield.

15-08-2009, 10:13 PM
We are keeping them in the game, im sure Voss will use this at 3qtr time.

15-08-2009, 10:14 PM
Bad misses that quarter. Did not get reward for our effort. We kicked 3.4 they kicked 4.0

If we continue to play like we have for the first 3/4 quarters we should hang on, but plenty of footy to be played.

15-08-2009, 10:15 PM
if they get the 1st 2 goals, will we wilt?

15-08-2009, 10:15 PM
This should be done and dusted.

We've given them a sniff.

15-08-2009, 10:22 PM
i have a very sick feeling

15-08-2009, 10:24 PM
bris to win by a kick

15-08-2009, 10:25 PM
i think we are gone.

15-08-2009, 10:26 PM
They're gonna screw this up...

15-08-2009, 10:26 PM
we're gone alright

15-08-2009, 10:29 PM
Uh oh....

15-08-2009, 10:33 PM
I wear glasses so I have 4 eyes and can watch 2 games at once.

FWIW, the Swans are giving the Cats something to think about.

15-08-2009, 10:37 PM
Akkkkkkkkkkkkerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anybody else love Jason Akermanis?

Aker deserves a handstand at fulltime now.

15-08-2009, 10:38 PM
Aker BLOODY Manis

15-08-2009, 10:39 PM
What was that 50 for?

15-08-2009, 10:42 PM
Did anyone see what happened to Lake ??

15-08-2009, 10:47 PM
*whew*

15-08-2009, 10:48 PM
THANK GOD thats over

Lakes ok and phew we needed that!

Relief

15-08-2009, 10:51 PM
Jesus, Johnno played well. Look at that Lions slapper chucking a beer over him!

15-08-2009, 10:51 PM
I hope that chick who threw the beer at Johnno gets banned.

15-08-2009, 10:53 PM
Johnno's a bit emotional after that win ... do you reckon there was a bit of pressure on the squad?

15-08-2009, 10:53 PM
Yeah baby!

Great win.

Looked shaky but Aker ... what a gem of goal.

Stood up when no one else did.

Geelong was not too convincing up in Sydney. Bring on next week.

15-08-2009, 10:54 PM

Ditto

Why waste an $8 beer to throw at an absolute legend, and one of the nicest guys playing the game

15-08-2009, 10:57 PM
Yeah baby!

Great win.

Looked shaky but Aker ... what a gem of goal.

Stood up when no one else did.

Geelong was not too convincing up in Sydney. Bring on next week.

Stevie Johnson looked like absolute rubbish too. Couldn't bend over to pick up the ball in the warm up.

15-08-2009, 11:03 PM

And put on the WB players dartboard... what a loser...

15-08-2009, 11:05 PM
What was that 50 for?

Apparently Ash McGrath had a go at the ump... and Aker promptly had a go at Mcgrath after giving the 50 away!

15-08-2009, 11:07 PM
Well, one thing I can say is "We got the four points"... shit, we tried hard to faaark it up... credit to the boys, they didn't TOTALLY drop their bundle... I might try and give AKER all the votes for this week.. for that left foot snap alone..bloody legend...

becmatty
15-08-2009, 11:15 PM
How good was Harbrow!

15-08-2009, 11:19 PM
How good was Harbrow!

Very close to if not B.O.G.

15-08-2009, 11:44 PM

No way, according to the commentators Mitch Clark was as he is the reincarnation of Jesus, Allah, Budda, God and Mr Football.

15-08-2009, 11:45 PM
Any body pick 3 left foot boomerang bombs from Eagleton for this match? : )

Yep, check the congrats Eagle thread - I said I hoped to see some long left footed goals for his celebration game - great to watch!

15-08-2009, 11:48 PM

Yep, agree, what a damm low act! Glad I've never seen a bulldogs supporter do something so bloody stupid :o

15-08-2009, 11:51 PM
I am impressed by our latest younguns in Wood and Reid who really attack the ball and want to be a part of this team.

15-08-2009, 11:52 PM
I am impressed by our latest younguns in Wood and Reid who really attack the ball and want to be a part of this team.

I liked Reid's attack on the ball, but not his execution when he got it.

15-08-2009, 11:53 PM

Yes, great to see them put in a solid performance - gives me heart for the next few years!

15-08-2009, 11:53 PM
Agreed. +1

16-08-2009, 12:14 AM

He sure did play well...poor form that woman throwing her beer at Johnno. Hopefully, her family and friends see it and she cops a few words.

16-08-2009, 12:16 AM
He sure did play well...poor form that woman throwing her beer at Johnno. Hopefully, her family and friends see it and she cops a few words.

The should blow up the picture and put it into the press and sure enough someone will dob her in. There is no place for that rubbish.

16-08-2009, 12:29 AM

What the hell?! (I didn't see the game). What a whore! Beer in eyes stings! (don't ask).

Phew, sounds like a close one we had there! Am I meant to be congratulating Harbs and Aker for this game? Can't wait to see some footage of the win!

16-08-2009, 12:37 AM
What a whore! Beer in eyes stings! (don't ask).

Love it... I was thinking that when I saw it... you were brave enough to say it! And btw, I have to ask... beer in eyes stings?

Am I meant to be congratulating Harbs and Aker for this game?

Yes, Prime Minister Akermanis again turned it on... won't give away all the details, as you are going to watch it... suffice to say, he is a champ when we need it most! Harbs attacking runs are great to see...

16-08-2009, 12:39 AM

I was about 5 metres away from that, as Johhno came up to slap my wifes hand as she was leaning over the fence.
The Lion supporters are in general a disgrace.
There was this one bloke sitting behind me who was with his young family, and for no reason during the 1st quarter started yelling out that Johnno was a soft c%ck, and a complete down hill skiier.. mixed in with several very colourful comments. I said to him that that was uncalled for and that Johnno could never be labelled soft... The guy then launched into a tirade directed at me that "not only was Johnno a d1ckhead but anyone who thought otherwise was a complete d$%khead..."

Thankfully his wife then told him how disgraceful he was being and he clammed up..
The Lions supporters are shockers.

16-08-2009, 12:46 AM

Agreed made a few errors with the ball but attack on footy was good. There was a time Reid got the ball in the last quarter in the half back line & he took 5 minutes to get rid of the ball & coughed it up, he must of thought he was playing for Willy for a minute there. I'm sure his awarness will get better with every game.

Gee i loved Easton Woods hardness.

16-08-2009, 12:48 AM
Love it... I was thinking that when I saw it... you were brave enough to say it! And btw, I have to ask... beer in eyes stings?

Seriously though, what a stupid woman.

Ok well beer in eyes involves being incredibly drunk, unconsciousness and a rollerblades party. (I know, i'm all class).

16-08-2009, 12:51 AM

I've seen him do the same all season for Williamstown. He just lacks a bit of finesse.

16-08-2009, 01:05 AM

Agreed... had a similar experience in the finals last year v Hawthorn, when a fight broke out behind me... got beer thrown on me. Fortunately, our supporters won the fight. Belted the intestines out of this prick Hawk fan...

Ok well beer in eyes involves being incredibly drunk, unconsciousness and a rollerblades party. (I know, i'm all class).

Nice...

16-08-2009, 01:43 AM

Wow ... Now there's a name for a supporters group ... wha' da ya think Comrade ??? ;)

link (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=5737)

16-08-2009, 01:57 AM
I've seen him do the same all season for Williamstown. He just lacks a bit of finesse.

Is that something that can be remedied with constant coaching, or is it just too late at his age?

16-08-2009, 02:15 AM
Is that something that can be remedied with constant coaching, or is it just too late at his age?

I think Boyd has shown that with dedication and hard work, it can be improved.
Boydy was an average user of the ball for a fair bit of his career, but in the last 3 years has improved his ball usage between 5 & 10%.
So I guess as long as Reid is 'teachable' he can improve in this area.

16-08-2009, 09:19 AM
B0ltPonzoaw

16-08-2009, 09:26 AM
There is nothing fundamentally wrong with Reid's disposal but it's the decisions around the ones under pressure. I think it can be fixed.

16-08-2009, 09:46 AM
Williams apparently troubled by what Smithy's calling a "foot"...and Lakey with a hammy twinge.

Handy start...but Brissy killed themselves with turnovers that quarter.

So they called the foot injury that early in the game? (I was at Etihad watching ignoring most of the Victory game in the Whitten Bar while watching the Dogs on a volume-less tv...I did manage to see both Hernandez goals live)

Picture of the team song in the Hun this morning shows a smiling Williams with both boots still on and no crutches...I know that may not mean that much, but I like to kid myself that that's a positive, especially if he's played out the game on it.

Just saw Mooney clip a Swan on the highlights from last night - if Williams has to miss a week (I hope it's not much longer) another Mooney brain explosion would work well.

Love for Harbrow & Aka.....again. Jase, play on next year PLEASE

16-08-2009, 09:48 AM
B0ltPonzoaw

Mowwllllllle

16-08-2009, 11:39 AM
Hehe funny reading through the thread from start to finish.

16-08-2009, 12:37 PM
Most impressed with the Kids and Akers left foot.

16-08-2009, 01:14 PM
So they called the foot injury that early in the game? (I was at Etihad watching ignoring most of the Victory game in the Whitten Bar while watching the Dogs on a volume-less tv...I did manage to see both Hernandez goals live)

Picture of the team song in the Hun this morning shows a smiling Williams with both boots still on and no crutches...I know that may not mean that much, but I like to kid myself that that's a positive, especially if he's played out the game on it.

Just saw Mooney clip a Swan on the highlights from last night - if Williams has to miss a week (I hope it's not much longer) another Mooney brain explosion would work well.

Love for Harbrow & Aka.....again. Jase, play on next year PLEASE

Heard that Williams was given an injection after the injury, which allowed him to come back on

Suppose he will be given a scan and we will find out the extent of his injury...hope its nothing

At leave we wont be playing Hawthorn with Buddy and Roughead

Didnt hear anything about Lake's hamstring, it looked like he got an eye injury in the 4th quarter though

Reid, Murph and Johno all got leg/thing injuries

Maybe Higgins and Gia back this week

Cross the next

Lets pray we have an injury free few weeks + finals

17-08-2009, 06:45 PM
Contact between the Brisbane Lions’ Jonathan Brown and the Western Bulldogs’ Brian Lake during the fourth quarter of Saturday nights’ match was assessed. Due to the inconclusive nature of the video evidence, no further action could be taken.

What a joke.

17-08-2009, 06:49 PM
Contact between the Brisbane Lions’ Jonathan Brown and the Western Bulldogs’ Brian Lake during the fourth quarter of Saturday nights’ match was assessed. Due to the inconclusive nature of the video evidence, no further action could be taken.

What a joke.

What happened? I'm not sure I can recall the specific incident?

17-08-2009, 09:03 PM
What happened? I'm not sure I can recall the specific incident?

Behind the play, Lake had is hands up against his eye, obviously in some distress, so something happened to him. The closest player was Brown, but some how there is no footage. I thought there was a camera directly behind then goals, so should have captured what happened.

17-08-2009, 09:07 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/82922/default.aspx

In case anyone's interested re: beer throwing 'lady'

17-08-2009, 09:17 PM
They mentioned it on sen tonight while i was driving home, that she wasnt a member, but she did ring both clubs to say sorry.

If the Lions say "that there was "zero tolerance" for any objects being thrown onto the field at players" then she has to be banned and fined, if shes not then they obviously think its ok to throw beer at players....