View Full Version : 100,000 posts

15-08-2009, 06:05 PM
Just to let everyone now that today we passed the 100,000 post mark for the site which is a significant achievement.

The site started off slowly with only about 35 members after the first 6 months and at times it's been a bumpy ride but it has grown a lot over the last 12 to 18 months and now when people log on there is normally a lot to read.

A big thanks to all the people who have made a contribution to the site.
(You know who you are)

15-08-2009, 06:07 PM
And only 20,000 posts on Nathan Eagleton

15-08-2009, 06:09 PM
Congrats to WOOF on this big milestone.

As GVGjr has mentioned WOOF has come a long way - thanks to all whom have made it such a wonderful site to visit and talk all things Bulldog and other OT subjects.

15-08-2009, 06:49 PM
Congrats to all now lets get the next 100, 000 up!

15-08-2009, 07:29 PM
Well done mods, great expertise and insight on here

15-08-2009, 09:08 PM
Well done to all concerned with the creation and upkeep of WOOF...

15-08-2009, 10:18 PM
Any chance of knowing which magical post was number 100,000

15-08-2009, 10:23 PM
Any chance of knowing which magical post was number 100,000

Not really.

16-08-2009, 10:27 AM
(Post #100,198) woo! Well done woofers..let's aim for the 500k mark by 2015

bold-dogg
16-08-2009, 10:57 AM
Congratulations to the best footy forum around.

Still a long way, but on the way, to becoming the greatest football club
in the world.

16-08-2009, 01:40 PM
(Post #100,198) woo! Well done woofers..let's aim for the 500k mark by 2015

If we make the GF, we will hit that mark in the week leading up to the big one:D

Thank you to GVGjr and co for making this forum happen.

16-08-2009, 04:23 PM
If we make the GF, we will hit that mark in the week leading up to the big one:D

Thank you to GVGjr and co for making this forum happen.
Not sure about that.... When we win, posting seems slower to me. But when we loose, everyone comes out of woodwork and the posting seems to go insane. Add Eagleton's continual selection and it's a recipe for posts and threads.

A heart breaking loss in the finals inspired by a bad Eagleton performance will seal the 500,000 post deal.

So I won't wish too hard for that to come true :)

16-08-2009, 04:26 PM
I'm just a newbie, but a big THANK YOU to all invloved in running this website. I'm really enjoying it, and hope to add to my 33 posts. :)

21-09-2009, 08:35 PM
Make that 111,000 posts.

Nothing like Eagleton and a pre-lim loss for 11,000 posts in 4 weeks!

21-09-2009, 08:51 PM
Make that 111,000 posts.

Nothing like Eagleton and a pre-lim loss for 11,000 posts in 4 weeks!

It's been a huge month.

24-09-2009, 07:34 PM
It's been a huge month.

And its only gunna get bigger

Predicting with Barry on board and trade week coming, we will hit the 150,000 mark by 2010 ;)

24-09-2009, 07:58 PM
Many of us newcomers don't know the history of the site, it would be an interesting story I'm sure.

24-09-2009, 08:31 PM
Many of us newcomers don't know the history of the site, it would be an interesting story I'm sure.

It officially started in late January of 2007 however, there was a few guys with access to the forum beforehand and they set up a lot of the content just before we went live.

I think the people that joined before the "go live" date back in late 2006 were:
alwaysadog, Bulldog Revolution, Mofra, The Bulldogs Bite, BulldogBelle, Twodogs and W W Biscuit

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and Griffen#16 had written up a few things and emailed them to me as did a few others. (sorry if I have missed your names)

Dry Rot, Sunshine, The Coon Dog, Max469, Bornadog, Mrs Bulldog, Topdog all joined early in Jan 2007 and then the rest of the originals joined by late Jan 2007.
aker39, bulldogtragic, Cyberdoggie, dog town, EJ Smith, ErnieSigley, firstdogonthemoon, Griffen#16, metal, mjp, Raw Toast, Sockeye Salmon, The Doctor, westdog54, whythelongface and Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

It was initially very slow on the forum with some days of just 15 or 20 contributions but by late 2007 we were in full swing and now it's quite busy.

Heaps of people listed above really did all the hard yards in the early days (and still do) and now thankfully we have a number of others who assist the site greatly by creating good threads and joining in the discussions.

Hopefully I haven't missed anyone from the early days.

24-09-2009, 08:40 PM
Congrats and a big thankyou.
Well done GVR jnr , Two Dogs and others who were involved at the start.
For someone who has moved away from the Western Oval.
Woof is a godsend with keeping me updated and entertained with Bulldogs and other AFL news.

24-09-2009, 08:48 PM
Good to hear that little story GVGjr

24-09-2009, 09:16 PM
Thanks guys, you have done an amazing job.

It has been a pleasure being part of the "Woofer Family" from almost the beginning.

I have watched the forum grow from as GVGjr said - the slow times until now - with so many different of opinions and topics being discussed daily.

As a Woofer, I am proud to be part of such a passionate family with so much to look forward to - on and off the field.

We have discussed the highs and the lows of the past couple years and shared so much of each other.

There have been players drafted and traded and retirements - who can forget when our favourite sons - Chrissy and Darce retired - there was not a dry eye on the board.

We have exciting times ahead, with draft season nearly upon us - I am sure it will promote "healthy" discussions.

Wishing everyone, happy posting.

And thanks again - GVGjr , TCD. BulldogBelle and many others who have made this forum - the best there is.

-Max-

24-09-2009, 09:22 PM
Just nice to have a forum where stuff is discussed properly and with reasoning instead of one liners such as "Gia is soft".

24-09-2009, 09:37 PM
Just nice to have a forum where stuff is discussed properly and with reasoning instead of one liners such as "Gia is soft".

Who asked for your opinion! ;)

24-09-2009, 09:55 PM
Just some stats some people might be interested in.

We had 217 registered members log on in one day last week which is the biggest turnout of registered people logging on in one day.

Our biggest day posts wise was 646 which was the day after the preliminary final day.
22 new threads is our record for the most threads being created in a day. That figure has happened a couple of times in the last 2 week.
The most viewed thread on WOOF is the New Members. (Most new members though don't ever say hi on it though)
The most replied to thread on WOOF is the The Ben Hudson's Beard Appreciation Society

24-09-2009, 10:27 PM
It officially started in late January of 2007 however, there was a few guys with access to the forum beforehand and they set up a lot of the content just before we went live.

Yes, it only seems like yesterday when WOOF was in it's pre-school year, GVG was a bit of a slave driver back then ( only joking ;) ) but we had a lot of fun starting this forum right from the beginning before unveiling it in late Jan 07.

24-09-2009, 10:34 PM
It's a busy site now so well done to the moderators and a whole host of others who keep this place ticking over. I think this place would have gone into meltdown if we were playing this week.

24-09-2009, 11:09 PM
We had another forum before this one called "Tri-Colour".

That one was by invitation only.

24-09-2009, 11:12 PM

There was only one rule...

25-09-2009, 08:29 AM
Our biggest day posts wise was 646 which was the day after the preliminary final day.

Just imagine how many if we had lost a GF.

25-09-2009, 09:19 AM

The journey from BF with the vision of creating a utopian bulldogs sanctuary was worth it though through TC and now WOOF.