View Full Version : Has anyone ever walked the walk better than...

17-08-2009, 01:18 PM
This guy?

Mbzfj75X74M

17-08-2009, 07:59 PM
You can watch that over and over.

17-08-2009, 08:01 PM
Freak, needed in 2010 (cash permitting).

17-08-2009, 08:02 PM
You can watch that over and over.

Have been. It gets better the more you watch. Makes Didak's in the air handpass they were all belting on about look amateurish.

17-08-2009, 08:07 PM
An absolute pleasure to watch running around in the red white & blue, he is going to have some kind of highlights reel once he retires.

17-08-2009, 08:11 PM
For the old fogies out there, how does Aker rate on a list of most talented Bulldogs players?

17-08-2009, 08:15 PM
Was actually scourring youtube for that about 5mins ago - Cheers!

Thats the video I show to the Collingwood supporter...move aside Leon Davis!

17-08-2009, 08:20 PM
I love the looks on the Brisbane supporters. They go from ecstasty at the come back to "Oh no, anyone but him" to complete deflation in 37 seconds.

17-08-2009, 08:24 PM
I love the looks on the Brisbane supporters. They go from ecstasty at the come back to "Oh no, anyone but him" to complete deflation in 37 seconds.

Sitting amonst the throng of the Brisbane nuffies I think this was the reaction all over the ground.

I had never sat amongst a crowd who had no idea what they were watching, I have now after Saturday night. I would say on what I saw 90 to 95% of the adult crowd just go to the game to get on the sauce.

17-08-2009, 08:33 PM

Sitting amonst the throng of the Brisbane nuffies I think this was the reaction all over the ground.

I had never sat amongst a crowd who had no idea what they were watching, I have now after Saturday night. I would say on what I saw 90 to 95% of the adult crowd just go to the game to get on the sauce.

Sydney in the mid '80s must have been worse. I fair dinkum argued with a bloke up there for 20 minutes once because he wouldnt believe the Swans hadnt been ripped off by not getting 7 points for hitting the post.

"I'm telling ya mate, It's harder to do so ya get more score for it":rolleyes:

17-08-2009, 08:33 PM
What a Star!!!!

My wife doesn't really follow the footy but has always loved Aker, hope he plays next year.

17-08-2009, 09:31 PM
I've seen some fair man-crushes in my time, but nothing, and I mean nothing, compares to Twodogs' love of the magician.

Its warranted, of course, but still, pretty powerful.

17-08-2009, 09:44 PM
An absolute pleasure to watch running around in the red white & blue, he is going to have some kind of highlights reel once he retires.

Totally agree, I have been a massive Aker fan right from when he started at Bris like you I love seeing him in the red, white and blue, feel proud that it was the Dogs he wanted to play with. He is an excitement machine and a joy to watch.

I work with a Bris supporter (my work is football mad, which means not a lot of work gets done on Monday mornings) and he said to me this morning...Aker grrrrrrrrrrr our worst nightmare he stopped us in our tracks...I smirked and said, "Well, what can I say, but Go Dogs! We had a laugh over it.

17-08-2009, 10:10 PM
Gee I love Aker.

One of my favourite players of all time to watch.

Really hope he plays on next year. That's unbelievable!

17-08-2009, 10:19 PM
He always finds a way..
just somehow..
off balance and under pressure..
<3 Aker
mancrush alert :|

17-08-2009, 10:22 PM
I feel very priviledged to have had him in the team while I have been a supporter/member. I don't think anyone with that kind of footy nounce has ever played for the doggies since I have been following them.

17-08-2009, 10:28 PM
I had never sat amongst a crowd who had no idea what they were watching, I have now after Saturday night.

Never been to a Swans game at the SCG? ;)

And if you're really lucky like I was, you can sit in front of a bunch of pissed pommy backpackers with absolutely no idea.

17-08-2009, 10:38 PM
Always thought Aker was brillant but you dont appreciate how good he is until you watch him live week in & week out. After watching him every week for 3 years i have to say Aker would have to be the smartest footballer i have ever seen in a red, white & blue jumper. Just wish the rest of the team was on the same wave length, gee if they were what a side we would have. Give him another year, its a no-brainer.

17-08-2009, 10:45 PM
For the old fogies out there, how does Aker rate on a list of most talented Bulldogs players?

An overdue question. He is right up their with our greatest ever, especially in terms of goal kicking. Dougie was unbelievably talented but he missed a lot of goals you'd expect him to nail. Beasley had a superior conversion rate of the group of major goal scorers, but he was deliberate, not a snapper. Whitten could bomb them long with his torps and Templeton was a classic mark and kick fullforward and could snap aroung his body, but none could do it the way Acker does. His short legs enable him to steady quicker and the less leverage allows greater accuracy. But it is pure magical skill and mental poise that allows him to consistently nail those goals from the boundary.

17-08-2009, 10:49 PM
He is pretty gangsta.

I really hope he is around next year. He is my favourite Bulldogs player to watch by a fair bit.

17-08-2009, 10:54 PM
He is pretty gangsta.

I really hope he is around next year. He is my favourite Bulldogs player to watch by a fair bit.

What does that mean??:confused:

17-08-2009, 11:05 PM
What does that mean??:confused:

It's meant to be ironic. Apparently it's a term the youngsters use to describe being "cool".

17-08-2009, 11:57 PM
It's meant to be ironic. Apparently it's a term the youngsters use to describe being "cool".

Wrong.

18-08-2009, 12:01 AM
Wrong.

I know someone got criticised for quoting wiki but it agrees with me on this issue.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gangsta

I am not really sure my heart is in this battle. :)

18-08-2009, 12:02 AM
He's gangsta for life. Incredible player

18-08-2009, 12:04 AM
He's gangsta for life. Incredible player

I believe it is "4" and "playa".

gangsta
1. n. A gangster. One who acts, dresses and talks like a gang member. "Jesse, what size are those pants? 45? You look like a gansta!" 2. For something to be nice or cool. See “tight.” "Yo, that outfit is gangsta."

http://www.thesource4ym.com/teenlingo/index.asp?Letter=G

18-08-2009, 12:10 AM
Wrong.

I can't comment on what young people think is cool, but older posters here know that this guy used to know how to deal with gangsta

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_KxT3bZCpsqw/Si4Ko50LEbI/AAAAAAAAHSg/vwrNUJICQSo/s400/226377~Efrem-Zimbalist-Jr-Posters.jpg

18-08-2009, 12:10 AM
I believe it is "4" and "playa".

No way man, and I would know. I'm a gangsta. A forum gangsta anyway

But yeah Aker rocks. (staying on topic as to not have my account deleted, lol)

18-08-2009, 12:14 AM
Welllll, Rocco, you've managed to amuse me with it, so i'll let it slide.

And no, I believe it should be "gangsta fo' life" anyway.

But yes, back to idolising Aker and his brilliance.

18-08-2009, 12:35 PM
I've seen some fair man-crushes in my time, but nothing, and I mean nothing, compares to Twodogs' love of the magician.

Its warranted, of course, but still, pretty powerful.

Mate it's not every day-actually being a Bulldog supporter it's once in a lifetime-that your favorite AFL player decides he's coming to your club and maybe, just maybe, drag your club over the line to a flag.

I want another kid now so I can name them after Aker...

18-08-2009, 12:37 PM
I reckon my picture of Hanson is pretty gansta.

Huh kids, huh???

18-08-2009, 12:41 PM
Gee what can you say about this guy that hasn't already been said? I didn't much like him when he played for BrisVegas, but I sure as hell do now! Balance, poise, silky skills - he's got it all. And for the poster who asked about us oldies and comparing him with some of our best - well, IMO, guys like the Hawk and Aker have something that you can't teach. It's a natural ability that shines. (and a joy to watch :D)

18-08-2009, 02:43 PM
Welllll, Rocco, you've managed to amuse me with it, so i'll let it slide.

And no, I believe it should be "gangsta fo' life" anyway.

But yes, back to idolising Aker and his brilliance.

So your born with it then?

Maybe if he applied some serious gold bling, a rather large clock hanging around his neck, tatts all over & gold teeth, would then he regarded more "gangsta" like?

I can just see the "photoshoppers" at work as we speak!

18-08-2009, 03:08 PM
I reckon Buddy should get a gold tooth to replace the one he lost the other day.
That'd look pretty gangsta.

18-08-2009, 03:20 PM

Then you should have said Akermanis is the bomb!

18-08-2009, 03:22 PM
He is pretty gangsta.

What about Stack:eek:

18-08-2009, 03:31 PM
The most talented bulldog I've seen in 30 years. Man's a genius. Truest sign of greatness is to make it happen when it counts. No-one's done it better than Acker at the kennel. No-one.

18-08-2009, 03:31 PM
He cant leave until he qualifies for Father Son.

18-08-2009, 07:13 PM
So your born with it then?

Maybe if he applied some serious gold bling, a rather large clock hanging around his neck, tatts all over & gold teeth, would then he regarded more "gangsta" like?

I can just see the "photoshoppers" at work as we speak!

Are you talking about Aker or Rocco?

Rocco already dresses like that.

18-08-2009, 07:19 PM
Are you talking about Aker or Rocco?

Rocco already dresses like that.

Haha. I don't think Sockeye Salmon likes my hats/beanies very much.

18-08-2009, 08:18 PM
Isn't the saying "walk the TALK.."?

19-08-2009, 10:27 AM

Nah it's walk the walk and talk the talk.

19-08-2009, 12:49 PM

I'm glad you know what cool is if you think that is the saying :cool:

Anyway how many games has Aker played for us? I'd really like him to get enough games under the belt for a potential father son.

19-08-2009, 01:09 PM
I'm glad you know what cool is if you think that is the saying :cool:

I thought it meant doing, rather than mouthing off and saying you could..

19-08-2009, 01:14 PM
I thought it meant doing, rather than mouthing off and saying you could..

My understanding was that it's easy to talk to the talk-anyone can mouth off, but it's only the truly great that have the abilty to back that talk up with action when it counts. Hence 'walk the walk'.

Or I could be wrong. That's happened before...

19-08-2009, 01:21 PM
This also reminds me of a story from when Aker first got to Whitten Oval. He was at the Bulldog Christmas Footy Show up in the old Social Club. Someone in the crowd asked him about the money shots in the 2001 GF. He said that they werent flukes and we could all come along to training to watch him practice his goalkicking routine. "I work harder on that than any other player and those shots are all deliberately lined up. I know I can kick them because I've already done it a hundred times through the week"-That's talk, anyone can say that they can do it.

But this is walk!

Mbzfj75X74M

Cant see that enough.;)

19-08-2009, 05:15 PM
This would have to be my favourite from his Brisbane days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bb4hMZKtRA4

19-08-2009, 07:18 PM
My understanding was that it's easy to talk to the talk-anyone can mouth off, but it's only the truly great that have the abilty to back that talk up with action when it counts. Hence 'walk the walk'.

Safeway management must be really lazy.

We shortened it to 'Walking the Talk' in our management appraisals.

20-08-2009, 07:48 AM
Haha. I don't think Sockeye Salmon likes my hats/beanies very much.

I could easily see you with the bling and gold tooth.

More Ali G than 50 cent.

20-08-2009, 06:47 PM
I could easily see you with the bling and gold tooth.

More Ali G than 50 cent.

I'm pretty sure it's fiddy cent.

I stpped paying attention after Tone Loc and Ice T though.

20-08-2009, 07:05 PM

No Twodogs, if my memory serves me correctly, this is a saying of Twelve Step programs (all of them!) and you are right. It's easy to talk the talk, but you gotta walk the walk, i.e., put into practice all you say! ;)