View Full Version : Where are you sitting Vs. Lions?

06-09-2009, 11:56 PM
So tickets go on sale tomorrow morning 9am I'm assuming!

Post where you're sitting here!

07-09-2009, 09:45 AM
Anywhere on the wing. I will not be adding to the AFL coffers as I will just rock up on the night and get my AFL membership scanned.

07-09-2009, 10:09 AM
N53, Row D - very happy, right in front if the Atrium Bar in the Olympic I enjoyed for the first time last Saturday...well I marvelled at it, I was too wound up to actually 'enjoy' it.

07-09-2009, 10:12 AM
In the cheersquad again.......hoping joshy kicks another goal to use the aboriginal flag again.........

Hopefully you all get the seats you want...

07-09-2009, 10:29 AM
Which end are the Cheersquad at this week?
M35 Row U seats 5 - 6.

07-09-2009, 10:47 AM
M51
Row N

07-09-2009, 10:52 AM
After about 30 - 40 minutes of rejecting crappy seats I settled with M51 Row H. Happy with those.

07-09-2009, 10:53 AM
M51 Row M

What;s the viewing like here? I sat in the GSS Level 2 last Saturday. I thought it was okay but it really needs redevelopment there. There isn't even any bar or food outlet, you have to go down the ramp just to get some food!

Studentlib
07-09-2009, 11:00 AM
Anyone know price of concession ticket at the gate on Friday? I have a concession season ticket and my daughter is eligible for a concession but has no season ticket. 2 ticket for each season ticket policy this week won't operate for concession holder. Anyway I wouldn't think getting decent seats in Southern stand will be a problem. I think they will be lucky to get 35K + at game.

07-09-2009, 11:00 AM
After about 30 - 40 minutes of rejecting crappy seats I settled with M51 Row H. Happy with those.

Did exactly the same thing.

I really wanted something in N but eventually settled for M51 row F.

07-09-2009, 11:02 AM
Did exactly the same thing.

I really wanted something in N but eventually settled for M51 row F.

In the end I couldn't get anything but M51 or M35. :confused:

07-09-2009, 11:18 AM
I am going to wait till tomorrow. Ticketek are a bunch of cheats and I am pretty sure that I will be able to get seats on level 2 or 2A tomorrow.

07-09-2009, 11:32 AM
I got M1 again. Was alright on Saturday..right of the point post doggies cheersquad. Few rows closer this time

07-09-2009, 11:41 AM
Got in at 11:30am on saturday to secure a good posi on Level 2 MCC members just fwd of the wing - hoping the smaller crowd will mean I'm able to be bang on the wing on Friday night.

07-09-2009, 11:47 AM
M35 Row M Seats 3-10

07-09-2009, 11:53 AM
Anyone know price of concession ticket at the gate on Friday? I have a concession season ticket and my daughter is eligible for a concession but has no season ticket. 2 ticket for each season ticket policy this week won't operate for concession holder. Anyway I wouldn't think getting decent seats in Southern stand will be a problem. I think they will be lucky to get 35K + at game.

You can get 2 concession tickets, with 1 concession membership.

07-09-2009, 12:10 PM
Section: SM35-P
Row: Q
Seats: 13-11

NoName
07-09-2009, 01:00 PM
Section M35

07-09-2009, 01:19 PM
I am going to wait till tomorrow. Ticketek are a bunch of cheats and I am pretty sure that I will be able to get seats on level 2 or 2A tomorrow.

You're not wrong. I've tried umpteen times this morning and not once did any Level 2 seats come up. And nobody here has indicated that they have obtained any (though there must be plenty available given there will be only a few old Fitzroy supporters attending).

Last week, I was very annoyed queueing early to be told there was no Level 2 seats available yet people on this site were obtaining them later that afternoon and the next day.

07-09-2009, 01:21 PM
M32 Row Y

07-09-2009, 01:30 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if the AFL wanted the ground seats to be capacity so it looks good on tv.

07-09-2009, 01:47 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if the AFL wanted the ground seats to be capacity so it looks good on tv.

Lucky to get 50,000 there this time.

The Big Dog
07-09-2009, 06:28 PM
I've had some good luck re: tickets.

I got N53, Row B.

Pretty happy with those. I wanted Olympic stand as opposed to GSS and was lucky enough to get offered these first up.

07-09-2009, 06:42 PM

I got N53, Row B.

Pretty happy with those. I wanted Olympic stand as opposed to GSS and was lucky enough to get offered these first up.

You'll be a few rows in front of me - I reckon these are great seats

07-09-2009, 06:53 PM
N35

Row P

Go Dogs

07-09-2009, 07:19 PM
Section N53, row M seat 2... that looks like a reasonable spot...and I only spent about 5 minutes on hold...

07-09-2009, 07:20 PM

I got N53, Row B.

I'm in N53 row M... not all that far from you...

07-09-2009, 09:41 PM
Section N53, row M seat 2... that looks like a reasonable spot...and I only spent about 5 minutes on hold...

You'll be happy with that possy - I'm nearby as well, I'm come say g'day if I'm not too chicken

07-09-2009, 10:00 PM
You'll be happy with that possy - I'm nearby as well, I'm come say g'day if I'm not too chicken

Hahaha.. I'm not that frightening...here's to a good game!

07-09-2009, 10:50 PM
M33, 17 rows back.
These are apparently standard seating. I had very similiar seats last week at the opposite end of the ground that were Prime. The designation of seating is a joke designed for profiteering of the highest magnitude. But apparently with it's own foibles to be exploited.

07-09-2009, 11:36 PM
I wonder how many tickets have sold?

08-09-2009, 12:04 PM
What a joke of a system. I logged on at 9am for AFL members and got offered crap seats on level N.

Went to work and logged on at 10:15am and was informed that only single seats available for M and P and N wasn't even an option.

Called them and whilst waiting on the phone checked again and got offered 8 seats for

Section: M20
Row: H
Seats: 12-5

Even better than I had last week.

08-09-2009, 12:39 PM
Lucky to get 50,000 there this time.

The crowd at our final vs Sydney last year was 42,731 - so I'd say you are spot on. 50K would be a great result but somewhere between 40-50K is likely. A fair few neutral AFL and MCC members may get the crowd up a bit.

08-09-2009, 03:06 PM
Section : N22
Row: K

08-09-2009, 03:10 PM
Section m21, row g, 7

08-09-2009, 05:04 PM
Level two, GSS, on the 50. Think it's N12-N13, somewhere like that.

Had N54 last week, great seats and great facilities. Pity about the grumpy old woman behind me...at least she was a passionate Dog.

08-09-2009, 05:20 PM
Level two, GSS, on the 50. Think it's N12-N13, somewhere like that.

Had N54 last week, great seats and great facilities. Pity about the grumpy old woman behind me...at least she was a passionate Dog.

Well you wont be impressed with the facilities at N12-N13. That's where I sat last week. There is no food outlets/bars so you need to go to level 1 just to get a beer. I'm glad I'm sitting in the Olympic Stand Friday night. When are they going to redevelop the GSS, it's long overdue.

08-09-2009, 06:02 PM
N52 Row E, they look like really good seats.

08-09-2009, 06:04 PM
N52 Row E, they look like really good seats.

Not far from me...

09-09-2009, 12:01 AM
I wonder how many tickets have sold?

This from the afl.com website: (Tuesday night)

Ticketing update

As of Tuesday evening there were 33,500 tickets still available for Friday night's second semi-final between Western Bulldogs and Brisbane Lions at the MCG, including standing room.

Saturday night's MCG blockbuster first semi-final between Collingwood and Adelaide still had 37,500 tickets available.
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

I think that means only about 20,00-odd have sold for Friday...

09-09-2009, 12:03 AM
This from the afl.com website: (Tuesday night)

Ticketing update

As of Tuesday evening there were 33,500 tickets still available for Friday night's second semi-final between Western Bulldogs and Brisbane Lions at the MCG, including standing room.

Saturday night's MCG blockbuster first semi-final between Collingwood and Adelaide still had 37,500 tickets available.
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

I think that means only about 20,00-odd have sold for Friday...

How do you work that out?

09-09-2009, 12:05 AM
How do you work that out?

Crap, just realised it's the G, not Etihad... what a goose...

Sorry all, re-calculating... 60,000-odd sold?? Is that closer? :)

09-09-2009, 12:11 AM

I don't think it works like that either because of the MCC members.

09-09-2009, 12:20 AM
Yeah, they probably don't include MCC members or AFL members in this. 33,500 is probably the number of public seating still available.

09-09-2009, 12:24 AM
I don't think it works like that either because of the MCC members.

I give up :) Bloody members!

09-09-2009, 09:01 AM
Level 2 N10 2-5

dsiciliano83
09-09-2009, 09:39 AM
If anyone is interested, i can sell my tickets for friday night. Im from Adelaide and am not going to be able to make it Friday, which really dissapoints me. All the flights are gone because of the f...... crows. I have 2 premium seats:
Level 2
N35
Row O
Seat 15/16

Sat there on Saturday against Geelong, really good. Had the rest of the Bulldog squad watching about 5 rows down from me.

Happy to sell them for $50each. Let me no if anyone wants them, ill send them off today (9/9) registered mail and you will recieve them tomorrow. Let me no on here or email me ambrs@adam.com.au

09-09-2009, 03:58 PM
I am sitting in M3 again but row r a little closer I like being ground level so this suits me just a little too close to the cheer squad and all their flags but happy enough.

09-09-2009, 05:27 PM
I am sitting in M3 again but row r a little closer I like being ground level so this suits me just a little too close to the cheer squad and all their flags but happy enough.

Pity you're with the Brisbane Cheer Squad this week! :eek:

09-09-2009, 05:31 PM
Centre wing again.

09-09-2009, 05:34 PM
N56, Row A.

On the 50m arc.

Geez, I hope we win.

09-09-2009, 06:12 PM
Pity you're with the Brisbane Cheer Squad this week! :eek:

Are you absolutely sure about this Coon Dog:eek:

09-09-2009, 06:37 PM
On the couch eating pizza!!

09-09-2009, 07:19 PM

Hmmm from memory your are a teacher? I think now you have to write lines, I must pay attention in class!
So would've you turned up at the dome? :D ;) :)

09-09-2009, 07:20 PM
On the couch eating pizza!!

Brave girl. I'd be getting score updates from the radio and wouldn't be able to watch until the game was pretty much over.

09-09-2009, 07:21 PM
N52 Row J.

09-09-2009, 09:09 PM
Are you absolutely sure about this Coon Dog:eek:

Yep, Doggies cheer squad is at the opposite end this week.

09-09-2009, 09:34 PM
So that means our cheer squad is in the Ponsford Stand this time.

09-09-2009, 10:00 PM
Hmmm from memory your are a teacher? I think now you have to write lines, I must pay attention in class!
So would've you turned up at the dome? :D ;) :)

Haha very funny... yes I am a teacher, and yes we do occasionally make mistakes...not very often, but it happens. :)

In my defence, I was typing that at the same time as I was groaning in pain from the back injury I got last night... and I was delirious... or something... (The back pain is the honest bit!)

No, I would've checked my ticket (got an ezyticket)... I'm not THAT silly!

09-09-2009, 10:08 PM
P20 row C

sound like great seats, and got them today!

09-09-2009, 11:12 PM
Brave girl. I'd be getting score updates from the radio and wouldn't be able to watch until the game was pretty much over.

LOL yeah, I'm taking bets on how long it will take me to check the score on my iphone "Aussie Rules Live" application.... I'm considering leaving it in the car giving my phone to my neighbour for the night!! ;):D

09-09-2009, 11:17 PM
AFTER tickets to this weekend's semi-finals went on sale to the general public on Wednesday, the Collingwood-Adelaide clash has sold more tickets than the Western Bulldogs-Brisbane Lions clash.

As of Wednesday night, there were 29,000 tickets still available for the first semi-final between Collingwood and Adelaide.

The second-semi final is not far behind with 30,000 tickets still available for that clash.

10-09-2009, 01:50 PM
After enjoying the luxury of corporate entertainment last week I'm out with the plebs this week - N56 Row D

I will be able to throw jaffa's at comrade, and I'm a pretty accurate shot too.;)

10-09-2009, 02:09 PM
After enjoying the luxury of corporate entertainment last week I'm out with the plebs this week - N56 Row D

I will be able to throw jaffa's at comrade, and I'm a pretty accurate shot too.;)

2nd level of the Olympic are good seats, and the Atrium bar is quality (there's a few of us in this section)

10-09-2009, 03:20 PM
Might go to the Adelaide supporters Pub for this - anybody know here it is this week?

10-09-2009, 07:31 PM

This ticket is now for sale at a much reduced rate, send me a PM if you're interested.

10-09-2009, 07:38 PM
This ticket is now for sale at a much reduced rate, send me a PM if you're interested.

Corporate luxury calls?

10-09-2009, 08:00 PM
Corporate luxury calls?

Yeah something like that, who am I to say no....

10-09-2009, 08:16 PM
I've only ever gotten beer at the footy. Does anyone know if you can get things like bourbon and coke?

10-09-2009, 08:27 PM
M54 row LL

Hope they are not too far away from the action.

10-09-2009, 08:27 PM
You can get black douglas and cougar at the bar from what I remember. For ridiculous prices of course. I'd buy beer more often at the ground if they actually had a tiny bit of selection.

I'm your pre-beer, flask-during and post-beer kinda guy though.

10-09-2009, 08:31 PM
In front of the telly in Newcastle with a six pack and a pizza.

10-09-2009, 08:33 PM
I've only ever gotten beer at the footy. Does anyone know if you can get things like bourbon and coke?

Usually a Woodstock poured into a cup about $8 from memory but I may be wrong. Fill up before you get there.

10-09-2009, 08:33 PM
Just remembering that this is a night game - no heavy beer :mad:
But bourbon's fine :rolleyes:
I actually still get it (I bet people still drink the mid strength horror like I do) but on paper it looks stoopid