View Full Version : Game Day - PF1 Western Bulldogs vs St Kilda

17-09-2009, 09:23 PM
This is the discussion thread for this Friday night's game at the MCG against St Kilda.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 8 points
BOG : Shaun Higgins
Jason Akermanis to kick the first goal.

17-09-2009, 09:31 PM
Dogs by 4 points ***Please please please God...***
BOG - Griff
First goal Aker

17-09-2009, 09:43 PM
Dogs by a single point:)

And that day is getting closer when the dogs rise up in the West....

17-09-2009, 09:47 PM
Saints by 40 points
BOG Riewoldt
1st goal Kosi

I will be overjoyed beyond words if we win this.

17-09-2009, 09:59 PM
Dogs by 17pts.
BOG...hmm, i'll go with Coons
1st Goal to Tip Rat

17-09-2009, 10:07 PM
Dogs by 7 points, leading by 1 point when Johnno kicks the sealer.
BOG Cooney
First Goal to Riewoldt.

17-09-2009, 10:45 PM
Dogs by 12
BOG Murphy (he's due for a blinder)
First Goal from Johnson
PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!
We're deffinatly capable of it!

17-09-2009, 11:26 PM
Saints by 23
BOG Riewoldt
First goal Hahn

bold-dogg
17-09-2009, 11:44 PM
Bulldogs by 16
Best Cooney
First goal Gilbee

17-09-2009, 11:47 PM
Dogs by 11
BOG Ryan Griffen
First Goal Ryan Griffen

18-09-2009, 12:03 AM
dogs by 2 points
BOG Ward
First goal Lake :-)

Cmon dogs!! We believe!!!!!!!

18-09-2009, 07:06 AM
Wonder how the players slept, as I've had an horendous sleep.

Haven't been able to make up my mind about this one all week and I still can't. Pretty confident it will be less than a 3 goal margin either way.

Best of luck guys, close to a full house, hope we all enjoy the experience.

18-09-2009, 07:52 AM
Dogs by 37 points.
Akermanis first goal.
Akermanis BOG.

18-09-2009, 10:39 AM
Too many butterflies in the tummy.

I keep getting the feeling that the Saints are going to get stage fright and have an absolute shocker.

Doggies by 12 pts
BOG: Akermanis (cream rises to the top when it counts)
First Goal: Saint Nick

18-09-2009, 11:03 AM
Dogs by 37 points.
Akermanis first goal.
Akermanis BOG.

I could live with that.

neodog
18-09-2009, 11:07 AM
Dogs by 23 points
First goal to Higgins
BOG will Boyd

NoName
18-09-2009, 11:23 AM
First Goal - Callan Ward
Margin - Bulldogs by 20 points
BOG - Dale Morris

18-09-2009, 12:24 PM
Dogs...just!!
Am getting sick of being stopped in the street by supporters of other clubs wishing us well and then telling me the dogs are there second team, or some other condecending term!! JUMP OUT OF THE SHADOWS DOGS .....KILL EM, KILL EM ....KIILLL EEMMM!!!
BOG Harbrow
1st goal Gilbee
PS sorry about the spelling Baz.....Please don't whack me!!

18-09-2009, 12:31 PM
Dogs by 50,000,000 points
Dale Morris first goal (and keeps Riewoldt goalless)
BOG - Dale Morris - see above

18-09-2009, 12:33 PM
Dogs by 50,000,000 points
Dale Morris first goal (and keeps Riewoldt goalless)
BOG - Dale Morris - see above

If only 50,000,000 points was realistic!

18-09-2009, 12:34 PM
If only 50,000,000 points was realistic!

Be nice to relax at 3/4 time, 45,000,000 points up:)

18-09-2009, 12:43 PM
Be nice to relax at 3/4 time, 45,000,000 points up:)

I'd be just as satisfied with a 10 goal lead at 3 qtr time ;)

18-09-2009, 01:13 PM
Dogs by 27 points

First Goal - Higgins

bog - Cooney

18-09-2009, 01:29 PM
First Goal - Adam Cooney
Margin - Bulldogs by 20 points
BOG - Johnno

18-09-2009, 01:34 PM
First Goal Aker

Cooney BOG

Dogs by 5 points and I am going to the MCG

18-09-2009, 02:06 PM
First Goal Milne
BOG Cooney
St. Kilda by 24 :(
Happy to be corrected.

I think the start tonight is the most important 1st quarter of the yeat we need to make sure we jump them. If we do it will go along way in beating them. The 2 losses they had this year had them behind considerably after the start. Start strong, keep strong, Finish strong. Go Dogs.

18-09-2009, 02:29 PM
Beginning to get very nervous about the game now. It'd mean so much to so many people for The Dogs to win tonight.

Dogs by 8
BOG to Higgins
First goal to Higgins

18-09-2009, 02:41 PM
Sitting at work today, thinking about tonite’s game, with plenty of well-wishers coming past. SO NERVOUS! Can’t remember being this nervous before a prelim before – maybe before 1998? Believe the guys can do it... want them to do it... c’mon, you can do it!!! :)

Doggies to win by 11 points.
First goal – Shaun Higgins
BOG – Adam Coooooooney

18-09-2009, 02:44 PM
I have just decided that the Bulldogs will win.

Am very confident in that prediction as well.

18-09-2009, 03:16 PM
I suddenly have a bad feeling about the game. DAMN.

18-09-2009, 03:21 PM
Doggies by 5 points

BOG Griff

1st Goal Aker

I am really really nervous,can't sit still!!

18-09-2009, 03:21 PM

Just nerves kicking in.

18-09-2009, 03:25 PM
I don't think I'm going to have a productive 2 1/2 hours at work.

I am so nervous for the boys!

18-09-2009, 03:35 PM
Just nerves kicking in.

I wonder how the players handle the nerves?!!

18-09-2009, 04:15 PM
Dogs by 8pts
Big Will First Goal
Coons BOG

18-09-2009, 04:30 PM
Dogs by 27
Johnson First goal
Aker BOG

18-09-2009, 05:09 PM
Someone at work said SEN reported Dal Santo is doubtful for tonight - I haven't heard this. Would be interesting if so

neodog
18-09-2009, 05:57 PM

Yeah...Murphy breaks down in the 3rd quarter and will miss the GF but the Dogs is 4 goals ahead and hold on to win by 15 points.

18-09-2009, 06:20 PM
Starting to get toey now, getting ready to leave:-

Dogs by 2 points in a thriller
BOG = Cooney
First goal = Missy

Please, pleeeze, pleeeze :D

18-09-2009, 06:35 PM
I'm quietly confident about our chances tonight, and if we are on our game, we can certainly knock the Saints off.

I'm tipping Dogs by 14.
BOG: Akermanis
First goal: Higgins

18-09-2009, 06:38 PM
Saints by 44 pts

Dont care about the rest :(

And i DONT want it to be close. If we lose by under a kick i'll probably jump off a bridge.

My well wishes goes to all those going to the game tonight. Hope all our dreams come true. I'll be watching from my lounge room here in Tassie thinking of u all.

18-09-2009, 07:45 PM
Sitting in an internet cafe here in Berlin trying to breathe through this anxiety that crept in early and has now spun into a frenzied panic!!

This is such a weird feeling being so far away from the game, relying on SEN and hopefully for someone to load the game up on peer2peer.

It's time this club actually stands up when it counts and gets the job done. Give a coming home gift I'll never forget........

A F******* GRAND FINAL, BABY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FIRE UP DOGS!!!

18-09-2009, 08:43 PM
Saints by 44 pts

Yep, I reckon it will be Saints by 30-50 points.

All season I've thought that our game plan/style and dwarf forward line wouldn't stand up to finals pressure and tonight we play the team with the greatest pressure.

For us to win I think we'll need all these factors:

1. A good no a great first quarter start

2. Our forwards to play the defensive game of their lives

3. Eade needs to come up with something new to break the Saints zone

4. Something odd to happen on the Saints side eg their minds don't handle the pressure or a key injury

ED 5. Accuracy at goal

ED 6. Belt them

ED 7. No stupid turnovers/rabbit in the headlight stuff

Callan to target Riewoldt's knee with his head. :)

18-09-2009, 08:53 PM
First goal to Picken! Anyone guess that?!

18-09-2009, 09:16 PM
Y
For us to win I think we'll need all these factors:

1. A good no a great first quarter start

2. Our forwards to play the defensive game of their lives

3. Eade needs to come up with something new to break the Saints zone

ED 6. Belt them

Great start. 4 out of 6 factors.

Do it again for another quarter then #4 comes into play

4. Something odd to happen on the Saints side eg their minds don't handle the pressure or a key injury

Hope that lack of accuracy doesn't bite us on the bum.

18-09-2009, 09:27 PM
Missed opportunities by the Dogs. I'm listening to the ABC - Austin Jones is intolerable.

18-09-2009, 09:31 PM
Riewoldt's knee not looking good. Good to see Lake hitting him.

Saints really back into it.

18-09-2009, 09:37 PM
Lake has been great so far.

18-09-2009, 09:41 PM
I can't watch it on tv, it's on both tv's here, so I'm hiding in the study. :o

18-09-2009, 09:53 PM
Saints are gaining on us.

18-09-2009, 10:02 PM
Craaaap. No idea how we're still in front..

18-09-2009, 10:21 PM
Saints well on top now

18-09-2009, 10:47 PM
A goal to the tip rat in red time. I don't know if I can listen to the last quarter - too stressful.

18-09-2009, 10:49 PM
I'm surprisingly calm. I don't think we'll win...but i'm SO SO SO hopeful.

18-09-2009, 10:50 PM
P.S; Damn you, Tip Rat, damn you!

18-09-2009, 10:57 PM
2point lead!

Pedro Sanchez
18-09-2009, 10:59 PM
Lets go... This is hard to take.

18-09-2009, 11:05 PM
Behind to Gilbee.

Pedro Sanchez
18-09-2009, 11:06 PM
Can anyone watching this help a brother out who isnt. Do we have momentum???

Please....

18-09-2009, 11:10 PM
2 point lead to the Saints with a mark and goal to St Nick 20 metres out. We need a goal NOW.

18-09-2009, 11:11 PM
Still in St. Kildas possesion :(

18-09-2009, 11:15 PM
Gia got a BEHIND! :(

Pedro Sanchez
18-09-2009, 11:16 PM
How long to go? Dont tell me we're looking at a draw...

18-09-2009, 11:17 PM
Saints up by 1 point with sod all time left.

Sleeve1970
18-09-2009, 11:59 PM
Dogs lose another prelim, just great...............

19-09-2009, 12:01 AM
God i feel sick, my head is hurting!!! That was tough to follow on AFL Gameday. Seems like the umps didn't give us a break all night. Proud of the boys though.;)

vho
19-09-2009, 12:04 AM
why does it hurt so much? why?

Dad1
19-09-2009, 12:04 AM
Either way i new id cry tonight. Bring on big bad Barry.

vho
19-09-2009, 12:07 AM
seeing griffen crying made me choke up in tears

19-09-2009, 12:09 AM
Bloody Riewoldt free kick when he took a dive after Lake touched him. Umpires favourite

Akermanis deliberate. The ball was kicked 60 meters

We had heaps of opportunities in the first quarter, shoul dhave nailed them

Ryan Hargrave and Timmy Callan made some mistakes at crucial times

Would rather loose by 70 points than 7 points

19-09-2009, 12:11 AM
seeing griffen crying made me choke up in tears

Yep, that set me off again, too.

Dad1
19-09-2009, 12:14 AM
Bloody Riewoldt free kick when he took a dive after Lake touched him. Umpires favourite

Akermanis deliberate. The ball was kicked 60 meters

We had heaps of opportunities in the first quarter, shoul dhave nailed them

Ryan Hargrave and Timmy Callan made some mistakes at crucial times

Would rather loose by 70 points than 7 points

WE LOST IT . STKILDA DIDN'T WIN IT .With a tall forward who can kick goals ? ? . Brig on next year

vho
19-09-2009, 12:19 AM
did anyone see Hudson being strangled by King with 1min 30sec to go? how the hell wasn't that payed?

19-09-2009, 12:29 AM
Those bloody umpires!!

But we should have turned a few of those points to goals.

l think l heard right, inside fifties Saints 27 Dogs 40 - Thats hurts.

Dad1
19-09-2009, 12:32 AM
It hurts so much I still think we played the better football. HARDER AND MORE PHYSICAL, BUT STILL LOST . Why ?????:(:mad:

19-09-2009, 12:32 AM
I'm very proud of the team. And it's not accepting second best, but I think our effort tonight was supreme.

Yes we should've taken our chances, yes a couple of decisions hurt, But gees we pushed the team that has been the best team by a mile all season, a team that has on 2 occasions killed us, and we did not let any of that stop us from giving a supreme effort.

In the end I feel the fact that they had that get out of jail tall option up forward and we didn't to me was the ultimate difference.

Hats off to the Saints and in particular Riewoldt, he is a champion.
Commisserations to Johnno, who is every bit as much a champ as Riewoldt and is just as deserving of September glory.
Now I hope we can use this immediate pain & hollowness and come back even stronger next year and win it all.

Dad1
19-09-2009, 12:34 AM
I'm very proud of the team. And it's not accepting second best, but I think our effort tonight was supreme.

Yes we should've taken our chances, yes a couple of decisions hurt, But gees we pushed the team that has been the best team by a mile all season, a team that has on 2 occasions killed us, and we did not let any of that stop us from giving a supreme effort.

In the end I feel the fact that they had that get out of jail tall option up forward and we didn't to me was the ultimate difference.

Hats off to the Saints and in particular Riewoldt, he is a champion.
Commisserations to Johnno, who is every bit as much a champ as Riewoldt and is just as deserving of September glory.
Now I hope we can use this immediate pain & hollowness and come back even stronger next year and win it all.

As much as it hurts GO SAINTS.

19-09-2009, 12:36 AM
Umpires were absolutely shocking tonight. Gifted them 2 goals and had a hand in a 3rd. Why were we penalised 40m when Morris(?) got a free kick in the 2nd quarter? Their interpretation of holding the ball is jjust complete and utter guess work most of the time and how they could pin Shaggy after he kicked it is beyond me.

19-09-2009, 12:36 AM
Well done to all the boys on a great effort. Need a big marking forward, need to make most of the opportunities, need some fair umpiring

Dad1
19-09-2009, 12:43 AM
Well done to all the boys on a great effort. Need a big marking forward, need to make most of the opportunities, need some fair umpiring

Here here. Bring on Barry ,or another tall goal kicking forward.

19-09-2009, 12:50 AM
Just got home from the game and I am gutted. Apart from the Riewoldt charity free and the Aker decision, what the **** was the free against Hargrave for that gave Dal Santo their first goal. How can you be called for dropping the ball when you have kicked it ten metres. Plus how does an umpire manage to get it so wrong when he pays a free for off the ball interfence 50 metres behind play then effectively penalises the side by bringing the ball back to the point of interference rather than paying it where the ball is as the rule stipulates. These decisions cost us the game and I am so sick of being disappointed. Life is too short and I am feeling very old.

But I am going to take the opportunity while I am pissed off to vent. All you "if only we had a power forward" compalainers, GET OVER IT. It's pathetic, it's whining, it contributes nothing. Similarly all the "we are no chance, we need to start rebuilding" posters, I assume you are bitterly disappointed that we got so close to the unbeatable Saints. Makes you guys look pretty stupid huh.

Ok, I feel a little better now. So proud of the boys, so disappointed and I don't own a cat to kick (only joking).

19-09-2009, 12:52 AM
The umpiring tonight was by and large good I thought, however their were a few crucial clangers by the umps.

1. Lake on Riewoldt... I can see why they paid it, but in reality I thought "Saint" Nick made it look worse than it was. Still Lake had no reason to do it, just poor decision making on his part. We've seen as the season has gone on, the umps have been very trigger happy on that sort of stuff, and in finals pressure it's decisions like Lake's that can bite you.

2. the holding the ball on Shaggy was just and out an out howler. If they were consistent in the application of that sort of decision then the Dogs should've won 3-4 similar frees themselves.

3. I thought that Eagleton's kick was a goal. It looked to have been over the line.

I thought the Aker deliberate was fine. They've been paying that sort of thing all year, and it didn't look from the coverage that he was trying to do anything other than kick for touch.

19-09-2009, 12:55 AM
Yep, that set me off again, too.

Sorry Sophie and VHO but Griff, for all his possessions today, butchered passes and goal shots, he should be in tears cos he had the power to win us the game. Gia too.

19-09-2009, 12:57 AM
J

But I am going to take the opportunity while I am pissed off to vent. All you "if only we had a power forward" compalainers, GET OVER IT. It's pathetic, it's whining, it contributes nothing.

Hm, it would have won us the game. Did you check out the relative inside 50s stats?

J

Similarly all the "we are no chance, we need to start rebuilding" posters, I assume you are bitterly disappointed that we got so close to the unbeatable Saints. Makes you guys look pretty stupid huh.

Smart post. Of course all our older players will be that much faster and better and next season.

19-09-2009, 12:57 AM
The umpiring tonight was by and large good I thought, however their were a few crucial clangers by the umps.

1. Lake on Riewoldt... I can see why they paid it, but in reality I thought "Saint" Nick made it look worse than it was. Still Lake had no reason to do it, just poor decision making on his part. We've seen as the season has gone on, the umps have been very trigger happy on that sort of stuff, and in finals pressure it's decisions like Lake's that can bite you.

2. the holding the ball on Shaggy was just and out an out howler. If they were consistent in the application of that sort of decision then the Dogs should've won 3-4 similar frees themselves.

3. I thought that Eagleton's kick was a goal. It looked to have been over the line.

I thought the Aker deliberate was fine. They've been paying that sort of thing all year, and it didn't look from the coverage that he was trying to do anything other than kick for touch.

3 Replay showed it was a goal.

19-09-2009, 01:01 AM
Hm, it would have won us the game. Did you check out the relative inside 50s stats?

Smart post. Of course all our older players will be that much faster and better and next season.

So on one hand recruiting a 32 yo full forward is the solution but at the same time getting younger and rebuilding is the go?

19-09-2009, 01:02 AM
I shed tears after the game and left completely shattered. I don't want to hear another 'brave' or 'courageous' effort. Why can't we ever make the freaking GF!?! Why can't we ever be good enough. I'm sick of settling for this!

19-09-2009, 01:04 AM
I shed tears after the game and left completely shattered. I don't want to hear another 'brave' or 'courageous' effort. Why can't we ever make the freaking GF!?! Why can't we ever be good enough. I'm sick of settling for this!

Same.

Sure, they played very well.

But FFS.

Why can't we win a PF?

Had Saints on the ropes for the entire game.

I'm in utter disbelief.

19-09-2009, 01:05 AM
I'm very proud of the boys effort tonight but to some it up in a one word I am:

SHATTERED!!!.

Now I am awake all I want to do is get blind drunk so I can get some sleep tonight, or is it this morning, depends if the glass is half full or half empty.

19-09-2009, 01:07 AM

Hi DR, thanks for the reply. It gives me a chance to work off more frustration.

I didn't say a power forward wouldn't help. I said constantly whinging about it, didn't help. It is about as useful as going on and on about the fact we haven't won more flags.

As for the rebuild posters, I am referring to those who gave us no chance this year,

Lastly, it is clearly not a smart post. I am angry and disappointed and and it is a bitter and twisted post. Of course that doesn't mean it isn't also true.

19-09-2009, 01:07 AM
Sorry Sophie and VHO but Griff, for all his possessions today, butchered passes and goal shots, he should be in tears cos he had the power to win us the game. Gia too.

Oh I agree completely, I cried because of the year he's had, with his Dad and all. I think he just wanted to make his Dad proud, and we lost. I felt really sorry for him.

However I do agree that both he and Gia did stuff up very crucial things that in the end, cost us dearly, the cost being the Grand Final. I'm not saying it was just those two, but well, things could have been better.

19-09-2009, 01:17 AM
Those bloody umpires!!

Umpires were absolutely shocking tonight. Gifted them 2 goals and had a hand in a 3rd. Why were we penalised 40m when Morris(?) got a free kick in the 2nd quarter? Their interpretation of holding the ball is jjust complete and utter guess work most of the time and how they could pin Shaggy after he kicked it is beyond me.

Blaming the umpires is an absolute cop out.

Sure, we got some poor decisions against us, but FFS, thats not the reason you lose games.

You lose games because players (i.e: Jason Akermanis, for example), dont turn up. You lose games because players miss goals that they should kick 11 times out of 10 (Gilbee, Gia).

Blame the umpires all you want, but we have no one to blame but ourselves.

19-09-2009, 01:27 AM
Blaming the umpires is an absolute cop out.

Sure, we got some poor decisions against us, but FFS, thats not the reason you lose games.

You lose games because players (i.e: Jason Akermanis, for example), dont turn up. You lose games because players miss goals that they should kick 11 times out of 10 (Gilbee, Gia).

Blame the umpires all you want, but we have no one to blame but ourselves.

No, don't blame anybody involved with the club. Be proud of the boys and vent your anger at anyone or anything else. Umpires, El Nino, Mr Burns, ..... whoever.

So very proud. So very, very disappointed.

19-09-2009, 01:28 AM
Those bloody umpires!!

You mean inside 50's Dogs 57, Saints 40

How the Hell can we go inside 50 57 times and only kick 7 goals.

19-09-2009, 01:28 AM
As much as it hurts GO SAINTS.

Sorry I don't want them to have one more premiership than us, GO CATS

19-09-2009, 01:30 AM
Sorry I don't want them to have one more premiership than us, GO CATS

I don't think I can honestly bring myself to give a shit who wins

19-09-2009, 01:31 AM
You mean inside 50's Dogs 57, Saints 40

How the Hell can we go inside 50 57 times and only kick 7 goals.

Our method, precision, lack of time and space and not having leading players or being able to spot up on a lead. When it comes to the finals you get very little of this and a power forward would have been more than handy.

19-09-2009, 01:34 AM
No, don't blame anybody involved with the club. Be proud of the boys and vent your anger at anyone or anything else. Umpires, El Nino, Mr Burns, ..... whoever.

So very proud. So very, very disappointed.

No, enough of this good effort rubbish.

We should have won tonight, and we didn't. The club let us down, and I have every right to be angry with them, as does any other supporter.

19-09-2009, 01:40 AM
I don't think I can honestly bring myself to give a shit who wins

The 2009 season finished when the final siren went.

19-09-2009, 01:47 AM
No, enough of this good effort rubbish.

So you are arguing that the team didn't play well tonight?

We should have won tonight, and we didn't.

Should have won? St Kilda were the clear favourites. We were a real chance as the final score indicates. But this statement is just rubbish.

The club let us down, and I have every right to be angry with them, as does any other supporter.

No, I think you are letting the club down right now. You can be angry if you want to. You can hold your breath until you turn blue if you wish. I guess the word supporter has many interpretations.

19-09-2009, 01:53 AM
I'm very proud of the boys effort tonight but to some it up in a one word I am:

SHATTERED!!!.

Now I am awake all I want to do is get blind drunk so I can get some sleep tonight, or is it this morning, depends if the glass is half full or half empty.

I think I am 3 or 4 stubbies ahead of you. Maybe we should proof read (or is that censor) each other's posts in about an hour from now. :D

Shattered, proud, dis-satisfied..... so many emotions, possibly not enough beers!

19-09-2009, 01:57 AM
No, I think you are letting the club down right now. You can be angry if you want to. You can hold your breath until you turn blue if you wish. I guess the word suppoerter has many interpretations.

How exactly am I letting the club down? Because I'm unhappy with them? Just shows I care.

And yes, they did play well tonight, hence why we should have won. The fact that St. Kilda went in favourites doesn't mean bollocks, we missed opportunity after opportunity and were the better team. The better team should win.

19-09-2009, 10:58 AM
I did not enjoy one minute of that game, was feeling ill such was my nerves throughout the game. Did not want anyone to talk to me and visa versa.
At 3 qtr time my wife said my face was all pale (I have an olive complexion). After the siren went, I was numb and could not talk. My mind was elsewhere ( I have had this same feeling 6 times now).
I had an ordinary night sleep replaying the game in my head hoping for a different result.
I dreamt that I was crying at the result, as bizarre as it sounds, it feels like a death.
At least I know there are a number of Woofers here who have had similar experiences to me following the Dogs for as long as I have. It at least feels good that we can express our feelings knowing what each other has gone through. Apologies for perhaps going a little over the top, this club has a special place in my heart.
Last night I said to myself, the sun will still come up tomorrow. You know what? It did.

19-09-2009, 11:55 AM
I did not enjoy one minute of that game, was feeling ill such was my nerves throughout the game. Did not want anyone to talk to me and visa versa.
At 3 qtr time my wife said my face was all pale (I have an olive complexion). After the siren went, I was numb and could not talk. My mind was elsewhere ( I have had this same felling 7 times now).
I had an ordinary night sleep replaying the game in my head hoping for a different result.
I dreamt that I was crying at the result, as bizarre as it sounds, it feels like a death.
At least I know there are a number of Woofers here who have had similar experiences to me following the Dogs for as long as I have. It at least feels good that we can express our feelings knowing what each other has gone through. Apologies for perhaps going a little over the top, this club has a special place in my heart.
Last night I said to myself, the sun will still come up tomorrow. You know what? It did.

I hear ya & share your pain!

19-09-2009, 11:57 AM
I hear ya & share your pain!I know you do, I really do.............

19-09-2009, 12:03 PM
+1 to the above.

Me and my Dad just sat there not moving after the siren, we couldn't believe it happened again.

So many times over the years of losing finals.

19-09-2009, 01:48 PM

Pretty cloudy outside.

19-09-2009, 02:01 PM
Yeah, I still can't believe it's over. It makes it all the more harder when they get that close and give us that tiny ray of hope!!! Suppose it is better than being thrashed. Maybe.

19-09-2009, 02:11 PM
I think what's making it harder to deal with is that for 15 minutes in the last quarter, I was actually pretty confident we were going to win. They couldn't find it going forward, Gilbee had that holding the ball....when Aka got possession I was happy, then saw he had no options up field and I just remember the 5 seconds of me saying 'go out' but then looking at the umpire thinking 'he won't pay that will he?'

As soon as he did, I got the feeling that would bite us.

I'll need a kip this arvo, gardening + 4 hours sleep last night...I'm worn out emotionally

19-09-2009, 04:30 PM
Does anyone think we shouldn't have let the Saints have a loose man in defence in the last quarter? May have it cost us in the end?

Why can't our tears ever be of joy in this football club?!

20-09-2009, 12:46 PM
Was talking about the game with my Dad last night - I roughly figured that the Saints were in front for maybe 25 minutes of the approx 2 hours.

About 10 minutes in the middle of the 3rd qtr, again right on 3 qtr time, first 5 minutes of the last and the last 7 minutes of the game.

Boo