View Full Version : Wake Up Fev - AFL Chief

23-09-2009, 04:17 PM
Damian Barrett, Sarah Wotherspoon, Fiona Byrne
September 23, 2009

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou says Brendan Fevola has to wake up to himself after boozy antics at Brownlow night

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou says Brendan Fevola has to "wake up to himself" and reduce his alcohol consumption in light of the Carlton forward's drunken exploits during and after Monday's Brownlow Medal count.

"He is a repeat offender and he will have to be answerable to his club and I have got no doubt that he will be,'' Demetriou said today at a press conference at Etihad Stadium.

"Brendan has got some good qualities about him. When he's not intoxicated, he can be charming and funny and quite generous and kind.

"But he knows by his own admission that he doesn't handle alcohol well, so he has got to start listening to his own advice. That is the first thing.''

Fevola's behaviour at the Brownlow after-party at Crown Casino on Monday night shocked attendees and was witnessed by dozens of players, including teammates, and key football officials.

"I don't think Brendan covered himself in glory on Monday night,'' Demetriou said.

"I hope it is not a reflection on our playing group because there were a lot of other people there who enjoyed the night and didn't behave the way that Brendan did.

"He, by his very own admission, has said that he doesn't handle alcohol well, so he needs to start actually listening to himself and I suspect the Carlton Football Club would be disappointed with what they saw. I know the Channel 9 Footy Show is.

Article in full HERE! (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/confidential/fev-stumbles-through-night/story-e6frf96x-1225778329231)

What a wanker... Knocking Cooney's beer! LOSER!

23-09-2009, 04:52 PM
Once a dick head, always a dick head!

23-09-2009, 04:56 PM
That's the problem with society. Because he can play footy this is a bit of a laugh and i'm sure the footy show will make a big thing about this... People will look up to this idiot. Luckly enough not too many from here.

23-09-2009, 06:02 PM
That's the problem with society. Because he can play footy this is a bit of a laugh and i'm sure the footy show will make a big thing about this... People will look up to this idiot. Luckly enough not too many from here.

He has too many people running interference for him when he stuffs up and he now thinks he is bullet proof. His wife, Ch9 and his club turn a blind eye to his rot so no wonder he thinks he doesn't have to exercise common sense.

23-09-2009, 07:14 PM
Never learns.

How many chances does one bloke get?

23-09-2009, 07:17 PM
Never learns.

How many chances does one bloke get?

Fair players will just get one or two, very good players will get lots.

23-09-2009, 07:57 PM
He should get the Tool of the Year award. :D

23-09-2009, 08:25 PM
CARLTON has slapped spearhead Brendan Fevola with a $10,000 fine for his much-publicised boorish behaviour at Monday night's Brownlow Medal count.

Fevola, 28, has been penalised for his alcohol-fuelled performance both during and after at the Crown Palladium function.

He was filmed several times during the televised count clearly affected by alcohol, and was then recorded swearing and making inappropriate gestures in the foyer afterwards.

Carlton fines Fevola $10,000 (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/85224/default.aspx)

23-09-2009, 08:32 PM
With a wife like his, can you blame him for drinking himself to oblivion?

23-09-2009, 08:38 PM

They deserve one another.

23-09-2009, 10:14 PM
"I love you man," Fevola said while embracing team mate Marc Murphy.

"I really, really love you."

Maybe we should get young Everitt on the cans...

23-09-2009, 10:23 PM
You can only laugh as its Fev and Carlton. He needs a minder 24/7.

23-09-2009, 11:04 PM

Match made in heaven.

24-09-2009, 09:28 AM
... "He, by his very own admission, has said that he doesn't handle alcohol well, so he needs to start actually listening to himself and I suspect the Carlton Football Club would be disappointed with what they saw. I know the Channel 9 Footy Show is." ...

Fevola cannot handle alcohol at all. I've said it before - he is someone who should never, ever pick up a drink.

24-09-2009, 09:35 AM
Not sure its all to do with the grog, seems to be a bit of oxygen deprevation going on.
He's not the quickest horse on the track.

Istead of "Wake up Fev", I would prefer "Go into a coma Fev".

Just for a couple of years until he is unable to play footy.

24-09-2009, 10:03 AM

too true she aint no angel.

24-09-2009, 12:57 PM
too true she aint no angel.

I'm sorry but I must be way behind the news, what's wrong with Fev's wife? Maybe it's Brendon's influence

24-09-2009, 04:48 PM
There is obviously something wrong with Alex Fevola, she married Brendan and stays with him through all the crap. No brain no pain.

24-09-2009, 05:01 PM
There is obviously something wrong with Alex Fevola, she married Brendan and stays with him through all the crap. No brain no pain.
Call it the Simone Warne syndrome - it's much better to be talked about than to be ignored.

These people are addicted to fame.

26-09-2009, 11:45 PM
I guess she stays with The idiot to remain in the limelight. Wasn't the next alcohol related incident going to be the end?What a pack of hypocrites ,if it was a no name player he'd be given the arse yonks ago! They'll never go anywhere with that cancer at their club

27-09-2009, 12:00 AM
Call it the Simone Warne syndrome - it's much better to be talked about than to be ignored.

These people are addicted to fame.

"There is only one thing worse than being talked about - and that is NOT being talked about" (Oscar Wilde)