View Full Version : Famous Bulldog supporters

25-09-2009, 09:07 PM
Didn't know until last nights footy show, that Shane Jacobson is a doggies man.

25-09-2009, 09:42 PM
Yeah, I didn't know Shane Jacobson was a Doggies supporter either.

I can only think of Russell Gilbert & Julia Gillard.

25-09-2009, 10:02 PM
Ernie Sigley, Craig Parry

25-09-2009, 10:05 PM
Nicola Roxon (famous? :confused:)

25-09-2009, 10:18 PM
Didn't know until last nights footy show, that Shane Jacobson is a doggies man.

Shane is a very passionate Doggies man.

Have met him a couple times and always happy to chat about the Dogs.

25-09-2009, 10:38 PM
Behold.

All famous dogs supporters here (http://footy.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_celebrity_supporters_of_AFL_clubs).

26-09-2009, 12:00 AM
The lead singer from Hunters & Collectors is a Doggies man. Is his name Mark Seymour, I'm having a mental blank at the minute.

26-09-2009, 12:03 AM
The lead singer from Hunters & Collectors is a Doggies man. Is his name Mark Seymour, I'm having a mental blank at the minute.

Yep, that's him... seen him at ES a handful of times....

26-09-2009, 12:04 AM

You are spot on with his name.

vho
26-09-2009, 12:21 AM
How can anyone forget about Merv Hughes? he's one of the first you'd think of along with Julia 'ranga' Gillard.

26-09-2009, 12:27 AM
Jason Gillespie. The only doggies supporter with a test double century to his name.

26-09-2009, 12:36 AM
How can anyone forget about Merv Hughes? he's one of the first you'd think of along with Julia 'ranga' Gillard.

No one forgot him...he's on the list attached in an earlier post by hujsh

26-09-2009, 02:16 AM
Behold.

All famous dogs supporters here (http://footy.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_celebrity_supporters_of_AFL_clubs).

I wonder how acurate this list is ... It lists John Howard (former PM) as a Doggies fan :eek:

26-09-2009, 02:19 AM
I wonder how acurate this list is ... It lists John Howard (former PM) as a Doggies fan :eek:

Could be someone assumed he was a dogs supporter when they granted us funding for the ELC. Especially if he had a Doggies scarf

26-09-2009, 07:35 AM
That thing listed Judd as a Collingwood fan

I note he was the only current day player on the list, so just an error I guess - but to explore that track further, I believe he was a Dees fan as a kid.

26-09-2009, 09:58 AM
Kram (mark in reverse) from Spiderbait moved to Brooklyn from Finlay in 1990 and became a Doggies fan. Still supports but doesn't go to any games.

26-09-2009, 10:42 AM
No Eric Banner for the Saint's.

26-09-2009, 11:22 AM
Chris Anstey would have to be our biggest supporter.

26-09-2009, 11:45 AM
Chris Anstey would have to be our biggest supporter.

Sat near him at the Brisbane final, he certainly loves the Dogs.

26-09-2009, 11:48 AM
Jesse Spencer from the US TV show "house". He started out in Neighbours, loves the Dogs!

yeah_sampson
26-09-2009, 12:05 PM
Doug Hawkins!!! :)

26-09-2009, 01:14 PM
Jesse Spencer from the US TV show "house". He started out in Neighbours, loves the Dogs!

Yeah i've seen him in pics of wearing his Dogs guernsey, mm.

I love how Wil Anderson supports the Dogs, some of his articles about them really hit home.

26-09-2009, 01:20 PM
http://us1.webpublications.com.au/static/images/articles/i301/30136_5lo.jpg

Possibly our fairest supporter.

26-09-2009, 01:20 PM
Russell Gilbert.

26-09-2009, 02:06 PM
Gillespie

26-09-2009, 03:02 PM

Shes an awesome chick, i went on my firsty footy trip on the bulldog bus, and she came along with us, great fun, shes really down to earth, and joined in with us,although we had to keep stopping cause she was drinking and needed the loo...

26-09-2009, 05:14 PM
Mark Seymour

26-09-2009, 08:03 PM

Totally forgot about her, remember seeing her at some games.

GetDimmaBack
28-09-2009, 01:57 PM
Angry Anderson

28-09-2009, 02:35 PM
Coon Dog and FDOTM

28-09-2009, 02:44 PM
Totally forgot about her, remember seeing her at some games.

I've never even heard of her. She must be from the Western Suburbs to support the Doggies right?

28-09-2009, 06:29 PM
I've never even heard of her. She must be from the Western Suburbs to support the Doggies right?

Was the Chicko Roll girl and I'm led to believe, at one stage she ahd the highest downloaded page on the internet.

She lives in Willy and not sure if she still does but used to drink at the Morning Star.

28-09-2009, 06:34 PM
Was the Chicko Roll girl and I'm led to believe, at one stage she ahd the highest downloaded page on the internet.

She lives in Willy and not sure if she still does but used to drink at the Morning Star.
Many moons ago i (and some other uniformed folk) had to escort her and Mick Doohan at Cranbourne for the start of the ride to the Island. She seems very down to earth and fun, and even better looking in real life!!!

28-09-2009, 08:10 PM
William McInnes. Did anyone see "My Year Without Sex", Sarah Watt's film (his wife)? Packed with Doggies references. Totally worth seeing for the scene where they sing "Sons of the West" over the goldfish's grave.

28-09-2009, 08:14 PM
William McInnes. Did anyone see "My Year Without Sex", Sarah Watt's film (his wife)? Packed with Doggies references. Totally worth seeing for the scene where they sing "Sons of the West" over the goldfish's grave.

We studied "Look Both Ways" in English for Year 12, i've had enough of them both for a lifetime, although Nick McInnes seems to pop up all the time on t.v. I swear Look Both Ways is haunting me. Anyway it sucked.

"My Year Without Sex" sounds intruiging, regarding the Dogs references, but i'm not watching another of her films ever again.

28-09-2009, 08:20 PM

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=5240

29-09-2009, 06:09 PM
godwin grech

29-09-2009, 10:25 PM
godwin grech

Good Get.

30-09-2009, 10:01 AM
Sammy the Turk (From Chopper).

30-09-2009, 10:25 AM
can we claim russell crowe given that he wore a dogs t shirt in romper stomper? Dont ask me why i remember that

01-10-2009, 12:57 AM

Can be seen drinking at the Vic on Hyde in Yarraville.

01-10-2009, 01:02 AM
can we claim russell crowe given that he wore a dogs t shirt in romper stomper? Dont ask me why i remember that

We can but I don't want to, as he's a tosser... then again, that criteria might exclude a heap of others! :)

01-10-2009, 09:01 AM
Murali is a doggies man, apologies if it has already been mentioned.

01-10-2009, 10:38 AM
We can but I don't want to, as he's a tosser... then again, that criteria might exclude a heap of others! :)

Murali is a doggies man, apologies if it has already been mentioned. :)

Both tossers.:D

01-10-2009, 05:51 PM
Kevin Harrington...played Lewis Moran in Underbelly.
Janet Calvert-Jones...recent chairman of the Herald and Weekly Times...Rupert's sister

03-10-2009, 05:56 PM
I think you will find that Dennis Commetti has a soft spot for us. When he was transfered to Melbourne
year ago for radio, I am sure he played a few games for Footscray!.......Can anyone confirm

03-10-2009, 06:02 PM
Yep I was right.......He played for the Dogs in 1971, Reserves

22-10-2009, 12:31 AM
A few weeks ago this chick on City Homicide asked a young crook who he barracked for.

She said "I barrack for the Bulldogs, and they allways break my heart"

http://www.australiantelevision.net/media/cityhomicide/castgallery/townsend.jpg

22-10-2009, 12:39 PM
Maybe gimmicky but still looks good to me.

Casey in the Red, White and Blue.

http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/6343/screenshot004uv.jpg

22-10-2009, 02:21 PM

"And he says, Chopper you got gun? Show me your f*&king gun!":)

25-10-2009, 06:31 PM
Sir Gustav Nossal

25-10-2009, 06:35 PM
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/1605/fernandoalonsop.jpg

25-10-2009, 09:56 PM
Ernie Sigley, Craig Parry

Ernie's a huge Doggies fan, sat next to me at home games with his daughter this year.

25-10-2009, 10:07 PM
Yep I was right.......He played for the Dogs in 1971, Reserves

Someone has a good memory;)

26-10-2009, 12:26 AM

And the squat they got chased out of was Bulldog Tyres.

27-03-2011, 02:00 AM
RUSSELL GILBERT, Comedian - WESTERN BULLDOGS (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/me-and-my-club-20110326-1cayb.html)

Comedian Russell Gilbert is a passionate Bulldogs supporter. But he started out as a Collingwood fan.

"I used to play junior footy for a team called Parkside in the Footscray District League and they wore the Collingwood jumpers so because of that I barracked for the Magpies early on."

However, when he turned 10, Gilbert got a job selling lollies at the Western Oval. "That meant that I was down at the Western Oval every home game and all my mates would be standing behind the Barkly Street goals and I'd hang out with them and I enjoyed that. Then I was there the day that Ted Whitten played his last game; I went down to the rooms afterwards and got everyone's autographs and that was a significant moment because I just loved that whole feeling. There was this amazing atmosphere . . . and I think that's when I really decided I'd start barracking for the Bulldogs."

Later, Gilbert and Bulldogs champion Dougie Hawkins would become classmates and good friends. Gilbert says watching Hawkins play his 300th game was his most memorable as a Bulldogs fan.

"Watching Dougie get to 300 games was a real highlight for me, especially after his knee injuries and a lot of people thought he was done. That was extra special. Watching him break Teddy Whitten's games record was a magic moment, too."

Gilbert says his love of the Bulldogs was strengthened by the prospect of losing them in 1989 when the club's board signed off on a merger with Fitzroy. The Bulldogs survived after supporters, led by businessman Peter Gordon, rallied to raise money to pay off the club's debts.

"There's something special about the Doggies. The way we've battled on over the years and, you know, we nearly lost the club a couple of times and everyone keeps sticking together and getting behind them".

But Gilbert still dreams of seeing the Bulldogs play in a grand final after a string of preliminary final defeats. "The most disappointing thing for me has been watching us lose so many preliminary finals, especially in 1985 when we got beaten by Hawthorn and in '97 against Adelaide. All I want is to experience a grand final. Of course, if we got there I'd love for us to win it. But I reckon just for the supporters I would love the opportunity to experience that week to be in the grand final. That would be wonderful."

27-03-2011, 10:19 AM
Top bloke is Russell, i remember having a good laugh with him at the Team of the Century night.

29-03-2011, 08:41 AM
Heard the other day that Shaun Graf from Cricket Victoria is a doggies man

31-03-2011, 03:29 PM
You don't hear much from him these days but the Comedian Elliot Goblet is a doggies man. He's already been mentioned but Mark Seymour gave a Shout out to the Doggies at his concert at Werribee Mansion a couple weeks back

31-03-2011, 03:52 PM
You don't hear much from him these days but the Comedian Elliot Goblet is a doggies man. He's already been mentioned but Mark Seymour gave a Shout out to the Doggies at his concert at Werribee Mansion a couple weeks back

He's definitely a Hawk supporter.

31-03-2011, 07:16 PM
He's definitely a Hawk supporter.

I stand corrected - I knew there had to be a reason I didn't like him!

http://www.theage.com.au/news/general/open-your-heart/2005/09/20/1126982056947.html

04-04-2011, 10:07 PM
barack obama.....leader of the free world, destroyer of the talaban & rabid bulldogs man

03-02-2014, 07:37 PM
LINK (http://www.oneperth.com.au/2013/09/26/bon-scott-statue-dockers-jersey/)

Trundling through the local independent news website, I happened to stumble on to this ...

“I reckon that being from Fremantle, Bon (Scott) would have been a Dockers supporter if he was alive today,” Mr Thorncroft said.

“But he was actually a Footscray supporter.”

Pressed on why the late, great Scott might have been a dishlickers’ fan, Thorncroft, could only speculate.

“You will possibly find it was a case of when you grow up you tend to follow whatever team is going well at the time,” he said.

The only time Footscray won a VFL Grand Final in Scott’s lifetime was in 1954, when 1946-born Scott was eight years old.

04-02-2014, 12:11 AM
[QUOTE=Scraggers;363021]LINK (http://www.oneperth.com.au/2013/09/26/bon-scott-statue-dockers-jersey/)

^^^^

Yes, and Bon was attending Sunshine Primary School in the mid '50's - right across the road from EJ Whitten's shop! (Sunshine Primary School was where Young Ronny from Scotland was nicknamed Bon by his teacher (allegedly to distinguish him from the other Ron in his class, but you'd have to say that, having a Scottish kid called Ronny Scott from Bonny Scotland, he probably just couldn't resist!)

PS. Both the school and EJ's shop were just a drop kick up the street (Hampshire Rd) from Keith Miller's childhood home... Bit of talent in the street over the years... But I digress!

04-02-2014, 12:26 AM
[QUOTE=Scraggers;363021]LINK (http://www.oneperth.com.au/2013/09/26/bon-scott-statue-dockers-jersey/)

^^^^

Yes, and Bon was attending Sunshine Primary School in the mid '50's - right across the road from EJ Whitten's shop! (Sunshine Primary School was where Young Ronny from Scotland was nicknamed Bon by his teacher (allegedly to distinguish him from the other Ron in his class, but you'd have to say that, having a Scottish kid called Ronny Scott from Bonny Scotland, he probably just couldn't resist!)

PS. Both the school and EJ's shop were just a drop kick up the street (Hampshire Rd) from Keith Miller's childhood home... Bit of talent in the street over the years... But I digress!

Ron Barrassi spent a fair chunk of his childhood living in Footscray as well. He lived in Coral st just off Ballarat Rd near Kinnears Ropes. I once asked him if he was any chance of being recruited to us as a local boy (imagine him and EJ in the same team!) but he said he was always going to play for Melbourne as a Father/Son.

04-02-2014, 12:58 AM

^^^^

Pretty certain When AC/DC first started they played a gig behind the school.

04-02-2014, 07:57 AM
[QUOTE=Webby;363052]
Pretty certain When AC/DC first started they played a gig behind the school.

Yeah they actually played in the school's gym around 1973. Bon being an ex/student. However the gig was apparently shut down by a teacher after it got a little bit too rowdy. They also shot the film clip for 'Jailbreak' down in the Sunshine quarry. Although Bon moved to WA, he still had friends and family rooted in the Melbourne's west... And a footy team..

04-02-2014, 09:52 AM
Yeah they actually played in the school's gym around 1973. Bon being an ex/student. However the gig was apparently shut down by a teacher after it got a little bit too rowdy. They also shot the film clip for 'Jailbreak' down in the Sunshine quarry. Although Bon moved to WA, he still had friends and family rooted in the Melbourne's west... And a footy team..

Saw AC DC play a great gig at the Totty Hotel, around mid-70's. The place was jam packed. I had never seen so many people in the pub. Those days pubs could only open after 10 pm if they served a meal, and the pub had to provide a table and seat. On this night people were everywhere, clearly exceeding the table and chairs to people ratio.

One incident during the night I remember well, was a pack of idiots next to our table throwing jugs at another table and then fighting. In the middle of one of the songs, Bon says, "Cum on boys, get in there"(pointing at the fight.

Never knew he was a doggies man, love him even more now. After Bon died, I wasn't interested in ACDC any more.

PS: I saw ACDC as a support act to Lou Reed, before Bon Scott, ie with their first vocalist Dave Evans..

11-05-2015, 02:26 PM
v8 Supercar Endurance Driver Jack Perkins is a massive Dogs fan and regular attendee. He's convinced his mate (and V8 SuperCar Star) Scott McLaughlin to be a doggies fan as well and has taken to him to matches. Scott is a born and bred Kiwi. Scott tweeted today about Clay Smith doing his knee again.

11-05-2015, 02:56 PM
I don't know if it's been mentioned on this thread but I was listening to Shaun Graf on SEN the other day and KB mentioned that he is a bulldog supporter. I didn't know but I was happy to hear it because he was a favourite of mine. I went to a one dayer at the SCG back in the '80s with a bunch of friends I have from the Central Coast. Anyway they hung shit on me for being a Victorian on the train ride in, going on about how NSW props up Australian cricket but Graf won the game for Australia that night. I got plenty back at them on the train ride back that night. :D

13-05-2015, 01:28 PM
Michael Rowland from ABC's News Breakfast is a big Bulldogs fan. I've seen him at games.

25-10-2015, 09:42 PM
Big bulldogs fan Jack Perkins won the v8 Supercars Gold Coast 600 race today , co driver to James Courtney. His mate and new bulldogs nut Scott McLachlan started on pole position.

08-09-2017, 10:10 PM
The Beast ( The Chase) spotted wearing a Doggies scarf half time tonight.

08-09-2017, 10:12 PM
Just spotted that too - a true British bulldog,

08-09-2017, 10:16 PM

Had to google him to find out who he was. :)

08-09-2017, 10:47 PM

Looked shiny new to me. I think it still had the tag on it.

Still welcome aboard Beasty boy, there's always room for one more.

12-09-2017, 01:41 AM
Shane Delia (cooking show on SBS from memory) is a Bulldogs supporter and being of Maltese background too, I think, could be a Western Suburbs boy. Anyone know? Tim Cahill also.

12-09-2017, 03:34 AM
Shane Delia (cooking show on SBS from memory) is a Bulldogs supporter and being of Maltese background too, I think, could be a Western Suburbs boy. Anyone know? Tim Cahill also.

Shane Delia prepares recipes and stuff for the Sons of the West program.

12-09-2017, 09:34 AM

Huge Bulldogs supporter.

12-09-2017, 01:59 PM
Huge Bulldogs supporter.

And Melbourne City.

He's managed to get some good crossover between the two clubs. Sorenson seems to be at the very least an interested onlooker.

12-09-2017, 02:17 PM
And Melbourne City.

He's managed to get some good crossover between the two clubs. Sorenson seems to be at the very least an interested onlooker.

If only Melbourne City would add a splash of red in there with the blue & white...!

12-09-2017, 06:08 PM

I was at a VFL game with a couple of mates who do some tv adds etc and Shane asked us to do some stuff and filmed us .. I didn't know him but he was really down to earth , we had a laugh and we all had to sign some papers etc for his show. For the record if you ever saw the Carlton draught add with the old bloke at the bar with the White beard, He was my old high school teacher at braybrook high from the late 70s.
Both my friends do a bit for SOTW I gather that's how they knew him and got involved in some of his videos.

12-09-2017, 06:10 PM
Shane also owns Biggie Smalls , had the players down there serving etc for some charity I think last year.

12-09-2017, 06:25 PM
Shane also owns Biggie Smalls , had the players down there serving etc for some charity I think last year.

Biggie Smalls only an average place. Maha Grill is really a great restaurant with some incredible food. I would highly recommend it.

12-09-2017, 07:56 PM
Yes, looked him up. Maltese background, Western Suburbs boy. Massive Bulldog supporter. What's not to like about Shane Delia?

12-09-2017, 07:59 PM
The late Lionel "Nappy" Ollington, Melboune's two-up king, played for us in the late 40s.

10-09-2018, 12:46 PM
Apparently the PM is a "supporter". I am sure his favourite player is Israel Falou.

Article Link (https://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/scott-morrison-a-rugby-union-man-at-heart/news-story/4d664f3040a1237e2a2d6563252cb1e5)

Edit : paywall

-----------------------------

Scott Morrison has portrayed himself as a one-eyed Cronulla Sharks fan but it wasn’t that long ago that he preferred rugby union while also being a supporter of the AFL’s Western Bulldogs.

Mr Morrison has publicly declared he was a fan of the Western Bulldogs and called AFL a “great game” and the AFL grand final the “greatest show in Oz”, despite last week saying he did not have an AFL team.

The Prime Minister’s quotes about AFL — made in 2009 — are reminiscent of fellow Sydneysider Malcolm Turnbull calling the Melbourne-based game “the most exciting football code”, to the chagrin of working-class NRL fans in his home state.

Mr Morrison, who last week tasked comedian Peter Helliar with finding him an AFL team, even bragged he was singing the Western Bulldogs’ theme song after the team had a win in 2009.

“(Scott Morrison) is singing sons of the west, red, white and blue, we’ll come out snarling bulldogs thru and thru (sic) go doggies,” Mr Morrison tweeted.

He said he supported the Victorian team instead of the Sydney Swans because then Bulldogs coach Rodney Eade introduced him to the “great game”.

“And loyalty counts,” Mr Morrison tweeted.

Mr Morrison has promoted his links with rugby league since gaining the Liberal leadership last month, appearing on the NRL Footy Show while taking every opportunity to talk up his team, the Cronulla Sharks.

Even on his way into the ballot, the only comments he made were in reference to the Sharks’ game that weekend.

“My only tip is that the Sharks will beat Newcastle,” he told tradies at Parliament House.

But in 2010, the then second-term MP said he preferred rugby union to rugby league, while in 2015 he described how he “grew up on rugby”.

“I’m more of a rugby fan, but naturally when it comes to the NRL, the Sharks have my loyalty,” Mr Morrison tweeted.

In 2012, he declared rugby union “will always be my game”.

“But the (AFL grand final) is the greatest show in Oz,” he tweeted.

Rugby union is popular in private schools and affluent parts of Sydney, with rugby league largely the game of the working class.

Mr Morrison, who has tried to distance himself from Mr Turnbull’s “Mr Harbourside Mansion” image, did a press conference in his first week in the job while holding the Steeden ball used in rugby league games.

He earlier showed off his skills with the rugby league players at Sydney’s Endeavour Sports High School and watched the Sharks lose to the Sydney Roosters in Sydney on Saturday night.

10-09-2018, 05:41 PM
Apparently the PM is a "supporter". I am sure his favourite player is Israel Falou.

Article Link (https://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/scott-morrison-a-rugby-union-man-at-heart/news-story/4d664f3040a1237e2a2d6563252cb1e5)

Scott Morrison has portrayed himself as a one-eyed Cronulla Sharks fan but it wasn’t that long ago that he preferred rugby union while also being a supporter of the AFL’s Western Bulldogs.

Mr Morrison has publicly declared he was a fan of the Western Bulldogs and called AFL a “great game” and the AFL grand final the “greatest show in Oz”, despite last week saying he did not have an AFL team.

The Prime Minister’s quotes about AFL — made in 2009 — are reminiscent of fellow Sydneysider Malcolm Turnbull calling the Melbourne-based game “the most exciting football code”, to the chagrin of working-class NRL fans in his home state.

Mr Morrison, who last week tasked comedian Peter Helliar with finding him an AFL team, even bragged he was singing the Western Bulldogs’ theme song after the team had a win in 2009.

“(Scott Morrison) is singing sons of the west, red, white and blue, we’ll come out snarling bulldogs thru and thru (sic) go doggies,” Mr Morrison tweeted.

He said he supported the Victorian team instead of the Sydney Swans because then Bulldogs coach Rodney Eade introduced him to the “great game”.

Mr Morrison has promoted his links with rugby league since gaining the Liberal leadership last month, appearing on the NRL Footy Show while taking every opportunity to talk up his team, the Cronulla Sharks.

Even on his way into the ballot, the only comments he made were in reference to the Sharks’ game that weekend.

“My only tip is that the Sharks will beat Newcastle,” he told tradies at Parliament House.

But in 2010, the then second-term MP said he preferred rugby union to rugby league, while in 2015 he described how he “grew up on rugby”.

“I’m more of a rugby fan, but naturally when it comes to the NRL, the Sharks have my loyalty,” Mr Morrison tweeted.

Rugby union is popular in private schools and affluent parts of Sydney, with rugby league largely the game of the working class.

Mr Morrison, who has tried to distance himself from Mr Turnbull’s “Mr Harbourside Mansion” image, did a press conference in his first week in the job while holding the Steeden ball used in rugby league games.

He earlier showed off his skills with the rugby league players at Sydney’s Endeavour Sports High School and watched the Sharks lose to the Sydney Roosters in Sydney on Saturday night.

Unsubscribe.

10-09-2018, 05:46 PM
I just vomited in my mouth a little.

10-09-2018, 06:05 PM

I haven't felt this nauseous since, well ...

https://image.ibb.co/cf1O0U/51337842_612x612.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Ugh.

10-09-2018, 06:08 PM
I haven't felt this nauseous since, well ...

https://image.ibb.co/cf1O0U/51337842_612x612.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Ugh.

Me too, but at least he gave us $20 million for the redevelopment. (the only god thing he ever did :D )

10-09-2018, 06:25 PM
Me too, but at least he gave us $20 million for the redevelopment. (the only god thing he ever did :D )

Yes he was most excellent at currying favour with other people's money.

Boydy looks like he wants to give him one. Onya Keithy.

10-09-2018, 06:32 PM
Surely we can utilise his unwavering support and upgrade the "Scomo" Whitten oval to match Frank Costa's no brown paper bags here park ?

10-09-2018, 07:11 PM
Yes he was most excellent at currying favour with other people's money.

Boydy looks like he wants to give him one. Onya Keithy.

He's thinking, "How the hell did Brad Murphy get front spot for the photo?"

10-09-2018, 07:57 PM
Almost as cringeworthy as Gillard... Almost

10-09-2018, 08:12 PM
Geez. For future reference Mr PM, when you start the inevitable witch hunt for who is white-anting your attempt at actual election as PM... It's the one from within your office, the advisor telling you there's a lots of votes in now identifying yourself as a WBFC fan. Both from the many safe ALP seats around the locality and the last survey that showed our supporter base being the most left wing supporting supporter base in the AFL. But that you'll all of a sudden look and feel working class by mentioning us. Probably the same advisor that told Downer to wear fishnets.

I'll judge you on your competence, don't get me wrong, but this as about as empty bullshit as it gets for a professional bullshitter/politician. Next time please leave our club out of it, or put in $20,000,000 to mention us. That's the going rate. If in doubt, ask Godwin Grech foe the going rate if he's still around Canberra

10-09-2018, 08:35 PM
Almost as cringeworthy as Gillard... Almost

At least she is a real supporter of the club, not a fake one

10-09-2018, 08:36 PM
At least she is a real supporter of the club, not a fake one

Yeah about as real as a $3 note.

10-09-2018, 08:38 PM
Yeah about as real as a $3 note.

I don't want to bring politics into it, but she was a Bulldog supporter before being elected into parliament.

10-09-2018, 08:56 PM
I don't want to bring politics into it, but she was a Bulldog supporter before being elected into parliament.

Just hasn't been to a game since there were no headlines to be gained.

10-09-2018, 10:28 PM
Geez. For future reference Mr PM, when you start the inevitable witch hunt for who is white-anting your attempt at actual election as PM... It's the one from within your office, the advisor telling you there's a lots of votes in now identifying yourself as a WBFC fan. Both from the many safe ALP seats around the locality and the last survey that showed our supporter base being the most left wing supporting supporter base in the AFL. But that you'll all of a sudden look and feel working class by mentioning us. Probably the same advisor that told Downer to wear fishnets.

I'll judge you on your competence, don't get me wrong, but this as about as empty bullshit as it gets for a professional bullshitter/politician. Next time please leave our club out of it, or put in $20,000,000 to mention us. That's the going rate. If in doubt, ask Godwin Grech foe the going rate if he's still around Canberra

I think poor old Godwin doesn't live in Canberra any more.

Now that was weird. I've seen some strange things in a lifetime on the political bandwagon but that was really the weirdest. (The weirdest I can discuss in public anyway) WTF did Grech think was going to happen? And it exposed Turnbull's tin ear for politics early on in the piece.

10-09-2018, 10:38 PM

Now that was weird. I've seen some strange things in a lifetime on the political bandwagon but that was really the weirdest. (The weirdest I can discuss in public anyway) WTF did Grech think was going to happen? And it exposed Turnbull's tin ear for politics early on in the piece.

Godwin helped us get millions, and tried to help us on Edgewater, and was responsible for Utegate. Pretty good going for a public servant over a handful of years. Maybe he’s back in the PMs office advising on which AFL club to fanboy.

11-09-2018, 01:11 PM
Godwin helped us get millions, and tried to help us on Edgewater, and was responsible for Utegate. Pretty good going for a public servant over a handful of years. Maybe he’s back in the PMs office advising on which AFL club to fanboy.

I don't think a PM has been in the same postcode as Grech in the last 11 years! Not a serving PM anyhow.

12-09-2018, 08:07 PM

It was truly bizarre. A real sliding doors moment. It would have been a very different landscape today if not for that moment of madness.

14-09-2018, 08:27 AM
He's thinking, "How the hell did Brad Murphy get front spot for the photo?"

Whatever happened to Brad Murphy. From memory he only played a few games and kicked 5 goals in one of them.

14-09-2018, 10:13 AM
Whatever happened to Brad Murphy. From memory he only played a few games and kicked 5 goals in one of them.

Last heard of coaching Melton.

http://websites.sportstg.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-6145-80345-0-0&sID=163325&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=30277184

15-09-2018, 08:52 AM
Last heard of coaching Melton.

http://websites.sportstg.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-6145-80345-0-0&sID=163325&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=30277184

Thanks for that. Any idea why he was moved on? He was young and only played a few games and I'm sure he booted five in one of them.

17-09-2018, 01:15 PM
Thanks for that. Any idea why he was moved on? He was young and only played a few games and I'm sure he booted five in one of them.

He had 25 possessions and kicked 2 goals in his first game but it was all downhill from there. Finished with 7 games and 6 goals over 2 seasons. 2 goals was his best haul.

I have read questions over his character in the past, overly confident for someone who hadn't achieved anything much. I'm sure others would know more.

17-09-2018, 05:30 PM
He had 25 possessions and kicked 2 goals in his first game but it was all downhill from there. Finished with 7 games and 6 goals over 2 seasons. 2 goals was his best haul.

I have read questions over his character in the past, overly confident for someone who hadn't achieved anything much. I'm sure others would know more.

Yeah but there's what you know (or more accurately what you have heard) and what you can blurt out in public.

17-09-2018, 06:49 PM

Very early on when he arrived at the club he flipped the bird to Brad Johnson after beating him in a one on one drill so yes he was a confident young lad. I think his mates used to tell him how good he was and he really believed them.

He had ability and should have done better

27-09-2018, 12:10 PM
Very early on when he arrived at the club he flipped the bird to Brad Johnson after beating him in a one on one drill so yes he was a confident young lad. I think his mates used to tell him how good he was and he really believed them.

He had ability and should have done better

Yes, he could have given it a much better shot - didnt seem prepared to do the harder, team oriented stuff - basically didn't mature as a footballer - just wanted to get on the end of it

27-09-2018, 10:18 PM
Thanks for the heads up re Brad Murphy.

28-09-2018, 11:24 AM
He left Melton last year , Timms took over, from Albion and really made an impact with a grand final appearance using 21 of the 22 players from juniors.
I think I read Murphy was coaching somewhere else.

28-09-2018, 01:35 PM
Yes, he could have given it a much better shot - didnt seem prepared to do the harder, team oriented stuff - basically didn't mature as a footballer - just wanted to get on the end of it

Yep, he didn't want to do the team oriented stuff like taking your opponent to places where the ball isnt going to go or sitting your opponent on his arse when the ball is at the other end of the ground.

23-05-2019, 02:47 PM

So we have the prime minister firmly in our pocket now. Now we want some 'Corangamite' treatment for our home ground. Maybe just $50,000,000 to start with.

24-05-2019, 07:29 PM
Well, we did alright out of Howard. And we had Gillard as well!

27-05-2019, 06:04 PM
https://scontent.fmel2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/61164159_10157170997262487_6120282079872679936_o.jpg?_nc_cat =111&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel2-1.fna&oh=694ca6218aa7e5fef2abfd979cb1a12b&oe=5D525834

18-05-2020, 01:31 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0AJ11re-5dA

18-05-2020, 01:41 PM
I read a article on James Sicily recently where he said he was a Bulldogs supporter growing up, I would really rather he wasn't!

18-05-2020, 01:48 PM
I read a article on James Sicily recently where he said he was a Bulldogs supporter growing up, I would really rather he wasn't!

Absolutely. I'm with you there.

I read and save a lot of 100+ year old match reports on Trove and there is a Sicily who played for Footscray mentioned in quite a few of them that got me wondering if he was a relative?

18-05-2020, 02:33 PM
Absolutely. I'm with you there.

I read and save a lot of 100+ year old match reports on Trove and there is a Sicily who played for Footscray mentioned in quite a few of them that got me wondering if he was a relative?

I wouldn't mind if he played for us.

18-05-2020, 02:50 PM
I wouldn't mind if he played for us.

You know that I often say we looking to recruit good coaches or players or admins and not best friends and their personal qualities don't really enter into it. But you have to draw the line somewhere.

If that arseclown turned up at our club I would fair dinkum spew up! ;)

18-05-2020, 02:57 PM
You know that I often say we looking to recruit good coaches or players or admins and not best friends and their personal qualities don't really enter into it. But you have to draw the line somewhere.

If that arseclown turned up at our club I would fair dinkum spew up! ;)

I don't like him, but he can play.

18-05-2020, 03:26 PM
My recollection is he maybe is from Melton, or surrounds. Think he played for Keilor.

Edit : He was living in Melton when drafted.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/west/western-jets-midfielder-james-sicily-drafted-by-hawthorn/news-story/22678ff9717184b26eae9121627aff8d

18-05-2020, 05:43 PM
Him being from Melton (and I married a Melton girl!) explains a lot. He would have been residentially bound to us before drafting days.

21-05-2020, 05:22 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EYg_tOuU8AIUMUG?format=jpg&name=large

21-05-2020, 05:23 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EYhPBS6UwAM24us?format=jpg&name=medium

21-05-2020, 07:44 PM

https://i.ibb.co/zhbCdwd/Screen-Shot-2020-03-01-at-9-52-21-am.png (https://ibb.co/gMwQYCY)

21-05-2020, 08:55 PM

I see Brian Lake has the something about Mary hair gel going on.

22-05-2020, 12:33 PM
I see Brian Lake has the something about Mary hair gel going on.

Took a while for the penny to drop.

Is that hair gel? On your ear.

23-05-2020, 06:17 PM
Cam Wight with the trademark deer in headlights look :D

23-05-2020, 07:16 PM
I can work out who all the players and coaches are except for the one standing behind Can Wight

23-05-2020, 07:58 PM
I can work out who all the players and coaches are except for the one standing behind Can Wight

Left or right?

23-05-2020, 09:45 PM
Left or right?

Directly behind him. I can just see the cap

23-05-2020, 10:32 PM
Wayde Skipper? Or is that him with his eyes shut?

25-05-2020, 01:16 AM
Snoop Dogg.

https://mobile.twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/734698449577213952

05-06-2020, 02:02 PM
Michael Rowland from ABC TV Breakfast

story here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/701701/bred-bulldog-michael-rowland)

05-06-2020, 06:15 PM
Michael Rowland from ABC TV Breakfast

story here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/701701/bred-bulldog-michael-rowland)

Ive talked to him a couple of times about the dogs, very passionate supporter!

05-06-2020, 06:18 PM
Ive talked to him a couple of times about the dogs, very passionate supporter!

I talked to him at a game at Ballarat and concur about his passion for the Bulldogs
He comes across as a very nice guy on the tele and he is no different at a footy game

10-06-2020, 11:53 AM
Bred Bulldog: Scott McLaughlin (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/703812?fbclid=IwAR1czR8sl4QjlCTz_nCEfezWY2fWZs9CQsnmBzrsmQDY xOy7WFdc8pecZYw)

Scott McLaughlin has won the past two V8 Supercars championships and the Bathurst 1000, but he rates the Western Bulldogs’ drought-breaking premiership in 2016 alongside those two individual achievements. And he isn’t just saying that.

The 26-year-old may have been born in New Zealand and only spent a fraction of his life in Melbourne, but he has red, white and blue blood coursing through his veins.

It started when McLaughlin and his family relocated from Christchurch to Point Cook. He knew no one in Melbourne and had never heard of our game until his mum suggested he try ‘Aussie Rules’ to help make friends at his primary school.

That was back in 2003 when he raced Go Karts and dreamt about becoming the next Mark Skaife or Marcus Ambrose.

Fast forward nearly two decades and McLaughlin’s obsession with the Western Bulldogs has reached a level where he takes his mobile phone onto the starting grid to get score updates if his race overlaps with a game.

The DJR Team Penske driver was on the grid for a night race in Perth last year when emerging star Aaron Naughton was tearing Richmond apart on an unforgettable Saturday night at Marvel Stadium.

The then 19-year-old slotted five goals and hauled in 14 marks, including nine contested grabs, to lead Luke Beveridge’s men to a stunning 47-point win.

McLaughlin had to wait until after the race to watch the highlights of a performance many compared to Wayne Carey, but it helped inspire him to another win during a brilliant 2019 season.

“I honestly rank the 2016 premiership as the top three all-time sporting moments of my career. I’ve won Bathurst and championships, but watching your team win a grannie – and that whole month – was unreal,” McLaughlin told westernbulldogs.com.au.

“I remember the first final against West Coast; I didn’t think we were any chance to win; then they won, and I couldn’t believe it. I don’t think I sat down in my house the whole prelim against GWS. Then the Grand Final, we had a massive party at my house, and it was one of the best days of my life, no word of a lie.

“I 100 per cent no word of a lie put it up alongside those two [V8 supercars championships and Bathurst]. Watching your team win a Grand Final was phenomenal. That whole two weeks of the prelim and Grand Final was so sick. It was such a cool period as a fan.”

McLaughlin has spent time in the Western Bulldogs’ rooms after games in recent years and has built a friendship with Naughton since having the budding star into the pits at Mount Panorama in 2018.

The young West Australian isn’t the only key forward McLaughlin has become tight with during his emergence on the V8 Supercars scene. He now counts Richmond dual premiership star Jack Riewoldt as a close mate after first crossing paths at a Fox Footy shoot a few years ago.

When Riewoldt implored him to sit down with mindfulness expert Emma Murray – who has been one of the hidden weapons behind Richmond’s success since 2016 – at the end of 2017, their relationship changed.

McLaughlin had just coughed up a final round lead to lose the title in heartbreaking circumstances. He had heard Dustin Martin mention Murray’s name after winning the Brownlow Medal, but was sceptical. Now Murray is part of team McLaughlin and continuing to make a name for herself as one of the best mental skills coaches in Australian sport.

“To be honest, I was never a fan of Jack. I thought he was a bit of a flog; he knows that,” McLaughlin laughs.

“When Richmond were in the finals one year, AFL 360 wanted to get Jack into the car before the prelim. Jack got clearance from the team and came out to Sandown one day and we have just stayed in touch ever since.

“We got really close over that off season through the mindfulness stuff. He reached out and helped me with that when he didn’t really have to do that. We’ve got really close and do a podcast together as well. He’s tried so hard to get me on the Richmond bandwagon, but that will never happen.”

Much like the AFL season, the V8 Supercars are gearing up to restart after the coronavirus pandemic pulled the brakes on the campaign at the completion of round two.

McLaughlin will return to racing on June 27 eager to continue his form after finishing second and first in the first two races to lead seven-time winner Jamie Whincup in the standings.

“Initially I wasn’t allowed to really leave my house. Slowly it has started to open up. I’ve been able to do some personal training and a lot of conditioning on my own. I’ve enjoyed that part of it – training myself and getting myself in shape,” he said.

“I’d be lying if I said it hasn’t been hard. But it has been hard for everyone. It is frustrating and been up and down but now we’ve got a date that we’re coming back to race it makes you feel a lot better.”

The first half of 2020 has been challenging for the world. But now the real challenge starts for McLaughlin as he looks to win his third championship in a row – and for the Western Bulldogs, who started the season as one of the premiership favourites.

McLaughlin won’t be in the crowd this season, but he will be watching on from afar, maybe even from inside his Ford Mustang on the starting grid.

11-06-2020, 01:23 PM
Great story Axey. I hope the cops don't read the bit about him taking his mobile with him to the starting grid. They could fine him for using his mobile while driving.

11-06-2020, 08:21 PM
I talked to him at a game at Ballarat and concur about his passion for the Bulldogs
He comes across as a very nice guy on the tele and he is no different at a footy game
As any Bulldog fan should, he went berserk on Twitter last year about the thuggish tip rat in orange (refuse to say his name) and his attacks on Bont. A clear demonstration of his credentials as a die hard.

24-06-2020, 08:25 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/732582/bred-bulldog-jess-jonassen

Bred Bulldog: Jess Jonassen
This is Australian cricket star Jess Jonassen's story of how she became Bred Bulldog.

Every Western Bulldogs supporter remembers where they were when the club booked its first Grand Final berth since 1961. The lucky ones were inside GIANTS Stadium. Most were crowded around television screens. But one diehard supporter was in the backstreets of Colombo surrounded by the Australian cricket team.

That was Jess Jonassen. The morning after the star allrounder ripped through the Sri Lankans, taking 3-1 in the space of four overs to be named player of the match, she led her teammates to The Cricket Club Cafe to watch one of the most memorable games of the modern era.

They piled into tuk tuks in pairs and watched the Western Bulldogs’ fairy tale September continue in western Sydney, seven days before Luke Beveridge’s men snapped a 62-year premiership drought against the other side from New South Wales.

Jonassen was the only Dogs supporter in the travelling party, but she wasn’t the only one cheering for the red, white and blue inside a building that was adorned with cricket bats and balls, stumps and gloves. It turned out the owners of the café, James and Gabrielle Whight, were originally from Melbourne and barracked for the Western Bulldogs.

The Australians brushed aside the Sri Lankans by 137 runs the following day at the R. Premadasa Stadium to complete a clean sweep of the series 4-0, before winning the only Twenty 20 game a couple of days later.

The 27-year-old returned to Australia just in time for the Grand Final and spent the day in tears, watching from her home in Brisbane. She will never forget that game – or the one before it, for that matter.

“We had to go and source an Australian owned café to watch the prelim final against the Giants. That took a little bit of effort, but there were quite a few AFL supporters in the team,” Jonassen told westernbulldogs.com.au.

“It was pretty much the whole Australian team. One of the other girls Erin Osborne is a Giants supporter so we were having a go at each other the whole way through. The whole time I was thinking to myself, I hope we win otherwise I’ll never live this down.

“All the Aussie team were there. A few Australians who were holidaying there were watching. It was just in a random back street, but it was an amazing café. We spent hours there.

“As soon as we won that game the realisation hit that we were actually in a Grand Final. I was on cloud nine after the siren with my chest out very happy. It made for a good last few days of the tour.”

Unlike most Western Bulldogs supporters, Jonassen didn’t grow up in the western suburbs of Melbourne, or even in Victoria. She grew up in rugby heartland, smack bang in the middle of Queensland, more than nine hours away from the Gabba.

For a girl growing up in Emerald, football was never an option for Jonassen, but that didn’t stop her loving it when she was a kid. Her dad is from Broken Hill and played locally when she was young, helping her love affair with the Western Bulldogs blossom.

With the explosion of AFLW in the past handful of years, Jonassen has no doubt she would have given our game a decent crack if the opportunity was there. Although things have still turned out pretty well for her.

“Dad was from Broken Hill and one of his old guernseys was a Footscray jumper. We were always watching every sport on TV. We were more of an AFL family than an NRL family which was quite bizarre being from Queensland,” she said.

“He got out that guernsey one day when the Doggies were playing on TV. Tony Liberatore and Brad Johnson were playing, and they won and I was hooked from that moment on; I’ve been following them ever since, from about the age of 10.

“At that stage my dad was still playing locally and we would always go down as a family and kick the footy. I was always out there kicking the ball in the backyard, even by myself kicking it up in the air trying to mark it.

“There was no avenue for me to be able to play back then, but I always loved watching it and a real passion for it from then. It would have been a different story if we had the pathway of AFLW back then, I probably would have tried my hand at that.”

Days before AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan was forced to suspend the 2020 AFL season for more than three months due to the coronavirus pandemic in March, Jonassen snuck in one last appearance for Australia in what was the biggest moment of her career to date.

Jonassen claimed three wickets in the Twenty 20 World Cup Final in front of 86,174 people at the MCG, helping the Australians dismantle India in the decider before dancing on stage alongside Katy Perry in the aftermath.

With the entire world brought to a standstill, Australia’s tour of South Africa wasn’t the only thing that was postponed in Jonassen’s life.

“We just managed to get our World Cup final in and then the whole world shut down. We were actually meant to fly to South Africa before it really hit off. We missed out on that last tour of the season for us, and for a lot of us, it would have been our first time over there for us. It was a bit of a shame,” she said.

“I was supposed to get married in the first week of May, so we’ve had to postpone our wedding until next year. Isolation didn’t start off too well. But you just find new ways to live.

“While it has been a really challenging time for the whole world, one positive from a personal point of view, is I have had the chance to spend a lot more time at home. We are so used to travelling a lot more, so it was nice to feel settled and connect with life at home again.”

The return of the AFL season has been a happy distraction from the unknown of life in 2020.

Just like a return to form proved to be last Friday night for Jonassen’s beloved Bulldogs.

02-07-2020, 10:44 PM
Just noticed that the two dogs called Barney and Rubble watching the footy in the AAMI commercial with the weirdo twins are doggies supporters.

14-03-2023, 09:35 PM
Is there a Celebrity Supporter Draft? And if so it must be our pick soon? I heard Harry Styles went to North and Ed Shearen is at the Saints. I remember we got Tim Cahill in 2016 and his contribution in a premiership year was telling. Best pick over my life is probably Carlton and ABBA. Who should we pick?

Maybe it’s Zonal recruiting or just first to get the top on?

14-03-2023, 09:37 PM
Is there a Celebrity Supporter Draft? And if so it must be our pick soon? I heard Harry Styles went to North and Ed Shearen is at the Saints. I remember we got Tim Cahill in 2016 and his contribution in a premiership year was telling. Best pick over my life is probably Carlton and ABBA. Who should we pick?

Maybe it’s Zonal recruiting or just first to get the top on?

I mean, if you want the biggest reach, you gotta get Tay-Tay. Swift and Baz Smith would give us most of Insta.

14-03-2023, 09:49 PM
I mean, if you want the biggest reach, you gotta get Tay-Tay. Swift and Baz Smith would give us most of Insta.
Is she available? Might cost us a first rounder?
I also heard Richmond might be in the market as they lost George Pell last year.

18-03-2023, 03:27 PM

Not that mug who lied the migrants were throwing babies overboard to exploit Australia's latent racism and get voted in! Scumbag with no heart. Was only buying votes in granting FFC funding.
A turd who represents nothing of FFC values in fact the opposite!

18-03-2023, 05:07 PM
Not that mug who lied the migrants were throwing babies overboard to exploit Australia's latent racism and get voted in! Scumbag with no heart. Was only buying votes in granting FFC funding.

Rocket: "Kevin is coming for you ol' cock"...

18-03-2023, 05:11 PM

Lakey so relaxed he's fallen asleep.

24-03-2023, 02:54 PM
FRIDAY KNOCK OFFS: Scott Major on the Dogs, his dad and his 'footy DNA' (https://www.afl.com.au/video/887710/friday-knock-offs-scott-major-on-the-dogs-his-dad-and-his-footy-dna-?videoId=887710&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1679623200001)

24-03-2023, 03:42 PM
FRIDAY KNOCK OFFS: Scott Major on the Dogs, his dad and his 'footy DNA' (https://www.afl.com.au/video/887710/friday-knock-offs-scott-major-on-the-dogs-his-dad-and-his-footy-dna-?videoId=887710&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1679623200001)
Never heard of him.
North pick Harry Styles and we pick who?
Sam Power you need to lift your game.

24-03-2023, 03:56 PM
Never heard of him.

Would take a real die hard supporter over a fake photo op celebrity any day. Plus he's Ian Major's son who was football radio royalty.

24-03-2023, 04:02 PM

His old man was a terrific commentator and a great Bulldogs man.

24-03-2023, 06:34 PM
Never heard of him.

He has been a well know Australian actor for a long time.

24-03-2023, 06:36 PM
Would take a real die hard supporter over a fake photo op celebrity any day. Plus he's Ian Major's son who was football radio royalty.

Part of the Captain and the Major fame. I think he called for the old 3WRB team with Harry and then when Harry B couldnt.

24-03-2023, 09:32 PM
Never heard of him.
Hey Matt cop this, someone on Woof reckons that Sam Power needs to lift his game because Harry Styles had a photo op in a Dee’s jumper and Dogs lack Star supporters:D:D

D Mitchell
25-03-2023, 04:19 PM
Hey Matt cop this, someone on Woof reckons that Sam Power needs to lift his game because Harry Styles had a photo op in a Dee’s jumper and Dogs lack Star supporters:D:D

Remember the fuss Melbourne raised when we signed on Mission ? Is Styles (who ?) Melbourne's revenge ?

25-03-2023, 04:30 PM
Remember the fuss Melbourne raised when we signed on Mission ? Is Styles (who ?) Melbourne's revenge ?

I recall that day vividly. It coincided when we had an East meets West day at Wesley College. The announcement was leaked a couple of hours earlier than the club wanted and Campbell Rose had to head back to the Whitten Oval and start working all the calls with the various media outlets. It was a huge news story.
He mentioned Mission Foods much like a tele marketer would spruik the value of their products.

What gave us the edge against the Dees was the naming rights to the Elite Learning Centre.

D Mitchell
25-03-2023, 11:42 PM
I recall that day vividly. It coincided when we had an East meets West day at Wesley College. The announcement was leaked a couple of hours earlier than the club wanted and Campbell Rose had to head back to the Whitten Oval and start working all the calls with the various media outlets. It was a huge news story.
He mentioned Mission Foods much like a tele marketer would spruik the value of their products.

What gave us the edge against the Dees was the naming rights to the Elite Learning Centre.

Best Sponsor ever,

27-03-2023, 06:13 PM
So the Swans got Sydney Sweeney on board and I think maybe I barrack for them now?

28-03-2023, 10:13 PM
Part of the Captain and the Major fame. I think he called for the old 3WRB team with Harry and then when Harry B couldnt.

Ian Major was commentary royalty. Loved listening to him and Jack on 3KZ. Interesting to say that he was from Braybrook. What a club. Hadn't heard of Scott but enjoyed the interview.

I think Melbourne tv legend Mike Williamson barracked for the dogs.

16-08-2023, 06:39 PM
The drummer from the band Amyl and the Sniffers
https://scontent.fmel16-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/338817335_1381708189259301_956305088511656514_n.jpg?_nc_cat= 105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=7GAK8dD9c_0AX_2M3yg&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel16-1.fna&oh=00_AfAgAcOmuKJ1vXPJ6-a7SorVf0TyPu19aDt2SyETmhjGuA&oe=64E21726

16-08-2023, 06:40 PM
Got the shorts too

16-08-2023, 07:10 PM
And the mini mullet

20-12-2023, 06:53 PM
Sigh. Buon viaggio sweet Prince.

https://i.ibb.co/p2Yz6Dd/Screen-Shot-2023-12-20-at-5-52-27-pm.png (https://ibb.co/K6TqcZW)

20-12-2023, 06:59 PM
Black armbands round 1.
A massive Footscray figure

20-12-2023, 09:18 PM
I thought he passed years ago .
They will name a street after him for sure.

20-12-2023, 09:39 PM
RIP Franco Cozzo.

Coming from a Southern European background - My grandparents generation loved his furniture.

The ads were classics.

21-12-2023, 06:05 AM
MEGALO MEGALO MEGALOOO

RIP ol' mate, such a Melbourne icon and huge Foot-as-cray personality.

Black armbands round one, and a street named after him, only fitting.

21-12-2023, 10:34 AM
Anyone know how the Moon Dog Brewery in the old Franco Cozzo building is progressing?

Oh and my Italian grandparents certainly did not have any furniture that resembled Franco's wares. It was an acquired taste I suspect.

21-12-2023, 12:02 PM
Anyone know how the Moon Dog Brewery in the old Franco Cozzo building is progressing?

Oh and my Italian grandparents certainly did not have any furniture that resembled Franco's wares. It was an acquired taste I suspect.

Grand ale for Footscray as brewery gets council’s green light for old Franco Cozzo site (https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/grand-ale-for-footscray-as-brewery-gets-council-s-green-light-for-old-franco-cozzo-site-20230812-p5dvys.html)

Got the go ahead, but not sure the progress

21-12-2023, 12:11 PM
Grand ale for Footscray as brewery gets council’s green light for old Franco Cozzo site (https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/grand-ale-for-footscray-as-brewery-gets-council-s-green-light-for-old-franco-cozzo-site-20230812-p5dvys.html)

Got the go ahead, but not sure the progress

Just found the Facebook page: Moon Dog Wild West (https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=61553862966253)

Construction began late last month, due to open March 2024.

21-12-2023, 01:35 PM
Vale Franco. Another of the icons of Footscray gone.

Condolences to his family

D Mitchell
21-12-2023, 02:06 PM
All those years ago, jogging up Sydney Road early Saturday morning with a very Italian looking mate. Franco standing outside his store. Aldo says "Ciao, Franco" . The great man didn't reply but smiled and nodded.

21-12-2023, 02:33 PM
I think Melbourne tv legend Mike Williamson barracked for the dogs.

St Kilda from memory.

21-12-2023, 08:25 PM
Franco Cozzo was a legend of the West. I saw him at a few Dogs games at the Western Oval in the 70s and 80s. He was always impeccably dressed and friendly.