View Full Version : Western Bulldogs' jumper deal with KooGa

02-10-2009, 05:50 AM
Mark Stevens | October 02, 2009 12:00am

THE Western Bulldogs have pulled off a significant sponsorship coup, signing clothing company KooGa to a deal worth an estimated $2 million.

KooGa will contribute about $500,000 over four years and provide a new-look tight-fitting guernsey.

It is believed the deal is worth five times more than the club's arrangement with Diadora, which ran out this season.

KooGa will be a second-tier partner with WorkSafe, sitting under major backer Mission.

Article in full... (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,26154515-5016169,00.html)

02-10-2009, 06:54 AM
Great news!

With this deal and the new stadium deal things are looking good off feild!

02-10-2009, 06:59 AM
It's great to see the dogs doing so well off field, if you have a strong administration it has to lead to a strong team.
I only hope things keep improving both on and off field, I remember reading sometime ago that the dogs in '54 era had a following as big as the pies. It would be nice to see that happen and to become a force within the AFL.

Go Dogs..

02-10-2009, 07:00 AM
Absolutely awesome news:).

02-10-2009, 07:39 AM
Any chance of a Bulldogs/Storm membership deal? :)

02-10-2009, 08:10 AM
Great news for the club.

02-10-2009, 08:17 AM

How dare you mention Chunkball in the same breath as AFl:)

02-10-2009, 08:33 AM
TCD will be pleased.

Another for the collection.

02-10-2009, 08:47 AM
TCD will be pleased.

Another for the collection.

Be interesting to see what it does look like.

Hope it has a traditional V neck. I don't like the look of the round neck jumpers.

02-10-2009, 09:11 AM
Great news re the sponsorship,

I'm not convinced on the tight fitting guernsey's, they don't look the best.
Just look at Adelaide and Collingwood as an example.

A new brand means there will probably be a big cleanout of old diadora stuff.
Might be able to get some bargains before xmas.

I'm guessing they may be designing a new clash top as well, or altering it somehow.

02-10-2009, 09:27 AM
Great news re the sponsorship,

A new brand means there will probably be a big cleanout of old diadora stuff.
Might be able to get some bargains before xmas.

I'm guessing they may be designing a new clash top as well, or altering it somehow.

It's started already.

Grabbed training shorts and T over the net for $20 each from bulldogs shop.

Clash guernseys now at around $70.00 IIRC.

I bought a clash guernsey earlier this year. Obsolete now. Will have to wait until it becomes retro. Does anyone know what the official period is for something to be classified as retro? Still holding on to a pair of brown corduroy bootlegs that I can't wait to unleash again.

02-10-2009, 09:58 AM
Great news for the club and also for Garlick stepping into a commercial role under Cam.

Hopefully this could also be the catalyst to finally remove that stupid looking juvenile dog's head defacing our jumper.

02-10-2009, 10:23 AM
How am I going to get the tight fitting jumper over my fat gut, but seriously, great news for the red, white and blue

02-10-2009, 10:25 AM
Great news for the club and also for Garlick stepping into a commercial role under Cam.

Hopefully this could also be the catalyst to finally remove that stupid looking juvenile dog's head defacing our jumper.

You might want to cast a vote in this little poll then:

What's your favourite Bulldogs jumper? (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=1264&highlight=jumper)

02-10-2009, 10:25 AM

I take the above article that we have a new provider of our apparel who will stick a fair bit of cash into our coffers which is great, I didn't take it that we will also have new branding or a change in jumper design.

Perhaps I read the article differently to you. :confused:

02-10-2009, 10:29 AM
I take the above article that we have a new provider of our apparel who will stick a fair bit of cash into our coffers which is great, I didn't take it that we will also have new branding or a change in jumper design.

Perhaps I read the article differently to you. :confused:

I reckon a new manufacturer will want to put 'their own mark' on the jumper, just a gut feeling, might be the neck being all blue, the Mission logo having a more defined border on the clash jumper, but I reckon it will change.

02-10-2009, 10:41 AM
This, combined with the improved stadium deal surely means we’re able to pay our playing group the maximum, including the promotional payments outside the cap.

02-10-2009, 10:44 AM
I reckon a new manufacturer will want to put 'their own mark' on the jumper, just a gut feeling, might be the neck being all blue, the Mission logo having a more defined border on the clash jumper, but I reckon it will change.

I would doubt very much that this change in the jumper will have anything to do with the 'juvenile emblem' which was what I was referring to.

Perhaps I need to make myself clearer next time.

02-10-2009, 10:55 AM
Wonder if Lake reads newpapers (not just on holiday, but in general). Promo money anyone?

02-10-2009, 11:05 AM

Hey, I'm with you JH40 - love my Bulldogs, but enjoy watching the Storm as well :) ;)

02-10-2009, 11:40 AM

Or even a Bulldogs/Storm guernsey/jersey deal?! :D

Was rapt to hear Kooga have jumped on board. Great news for the Bulldogs. :)

02-10-2009, 12:03 PM

Hope that wouldn't cost extra... wouldn't like to use my hard-earned on thugby.

02-10-2009, 12:07 PM

I don't mind them. Perhaps your views of the Pies one is prejudiced by the fact it's Collingwood? ;)

02-10-2009, 12:09 PM
Great news for the club... Campbell Rose and the team are doing some great work. I very nearly bought something on the cheap via the online store... might still buy a training top...20 bucks is a great deal.

02-10-2009, 12:37 PM
Hope that wouldn't cost extra... wouldn't like to use my hard-earned on thugby.

You wouldn't be forced to buy it so why on Earth would it cost you anything?

02-10-2009, 01:08 PM
You might want to cast a vote in this little poll then:

What's your favourite Bulldogs jumper? (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=1264&highlight=jumper)

Thanks muchly TCD for sending me to this past thread. Great to read the support for the classic old jumper. Hopefully someone in power might see the light and bring her back.

02-10-2009, 01:15 PM
Great news for the club.

I don't mind the tighter-fitting guernsey; think it makes teams look more professional, especially when compared to Aker's jumper - untucked and almost halfway down to his knees.

An extra $400k in the kitty doesn't hurt either.

02-10-2009, 01:22 PM
When I heard Cougar and tight fitting, I had some wonderful visions happening in my head!

02-10-2009, 02:53 PM
Great news for the club. Not great news for us who purchased now retro diadora polo top. Or even the retro retro 2 years back lease plan diadora top!!!:eek:Getting like the English Football code. Now just going to wait for daring to mention Soccer with the footy:rolleyes:

02-10-2009, 04:38 PM
Lets just hope the merchandise is better designed than the Storm's stuff which is really ugly...way too much polyester...a polyester hoodie for god's sake!?

02-10-2009, 04:54 PM
Great to see that the club is doing so well off field. Never in my time have we been both strong off field and on field. Hopefully this equates to a FLAG!!

02-10-2009, 09:35 PM
How am I going to get the tight fitting jumper over my fat gut, but seriously, great news for the red, white and blue

:D Funney, Spurs launched a similar kit a couple of years ago and it was hilarious seeing fans decked in extremely titght licra tops......the secret is to buy a couple of sizes too big. Eventually Spurs relented and had a "fans" kit in not so tight sizings!

On the article, waht I think is interesting is Garlick's appointment/role change. Could this be a case of him being groomed as Campbell's successor? It wouldn't surprise me if the Bulldogs are thinking along those lines.

02-10-2009, 10:01 PM
You wouldn't be forced to buy it so why on Earth would it cost you anything?

The post I was responding to said something about a "membership deal"... thought that might have been referring to some kind of combined Dogs-Storm membership... my mistake.

And I just like saying "thugby";)

02-10-2009, 11:02 PM

So, AndrewP6, you like saying thugby, but do you like watching it to?? :D

02-10-2009, 11:13 PM
So, AndrewP6, you like saying thugby, but do you like watching it to?? :D

haha... no!

03-10-2009, 12:19 AM
When I heard Cougar and tight fitting, I had some wonderful visions happening in my head!

lol great call, loved those ads :D

03-10-2009, 09:15 AM
lol great call, loved those ads :D

Rather than the ads I was thinking more Hollywood sex kittens in lycra!:cool: Oh well.......

03-10-2009, 12:06 PM
The post I was responding to said something about a "membership deal"... thought that might have been referring to some kind of combined Dogs-Storm membership... my mistake.

It did mean a joint one but it would be an option not the only one.

Much like they like saying "gAyFL".

Hilarious stuff all round.

03-10-2009, 01:53 PM

That's what I cop daily at work plus the arial ping pong one, it's not fun being a footy fan in the northern states. That's why I hate the Thugby with a passion. Unless you barrack for the Lions there next to no AFL news in the papers or on the media.

I can't wait until AFL becomes the Australian dominating sport and Rugby drops off into the void of minor sport.

Sorry if this offends anyone but I'm as one eyed as they come on football codes.:D

03-10-2009, 04:28 PM
That's what I cop daily at work plus the arial ping pong one, it's not fun being a footy fan in the northern states. That's why I hate the Thugby with a passion. Unless you barrack for the Lions there next to no AFL news in the papers or on the media.

I can't wait until AFL becomes the Australian dominating sport and Rugby drops off into the void of minor sport.

Sorry if this offends anyone but I'm as one eyed as they come on football codes.:D

No different to what happens to League or union in Melbourne.It sh*ts me when fans of our codes get into a pi***ng competition ! Why can't we all just deal with the fact we're a wide broad sporting country. Let's be honest you get live Lions games and live Saturday arvo games,the storm gets bugger all of the league broadcaster.

03-10-2009, 04:44 PM
Great news dogs. Can we either please get rid of that cat on the front....or put a real bulldog on there.......The nose should be behind the mouth!!!!

03-10-2009, 04:58 PM
I love your avatar getalong!
Send that one into KooGa and see if we can get them to use that one.

03-10-2009, 05:01 PM
Yep...Thats what we need, it is actually off the Sth Freo Emblem in the WAFL

03-10-2009, 05:03 PM

DO THEY? I haven't heard that... the bastards! :)

04-10-2009, 08:14 PM

DO THEY? I haven't heard that... the bastards! :)

Not that there is anything wrong with that. ;)

07-10-2009, 10:33 AM
I don't see why we can't all just get along. ;) I am equally passionate about the Mighty Bulldogs & the Mighty Storm. Both games have their positives, they're just different. I think that in Melbourne (seeing as we ARE the sporting capital of Australia, if not the World!!) there is plenty of room for AFL, Rugby League, Soccor & Rugby Union. :)

07-10-2009, 01:26 PM
I agree Suz, any sport Victoria is in I tend to follow, dont forget the Bushrangers who won the Sheffield Shield too.

07-10-2009, 02:12 PM
I agree Suz, any sport Victoria is in I tend to follow, dont forget the Bushrangers who won the Sheffield Shield too.

And the Vixens in the netball and the Tigers in the basketball....... :)

07-10-2009, 02:17 PM
Does anyone know when the Kooga jumpers will be for sale?

07-10-2009, 02:39 PM
Just rang Bulldogs Central. Will receive stock in December, so a good idea for Xmas Presents.

07-10-2009, 02:41 PM
Just rang Bulldogs Central. Will receive stock in December, so a good idea for Xmas Presents.

Are we going to get to see one before then?

07-10-2009, 02:47 PM

Dunno to be honest.

Tighter fitting, round neck (probably) & no red & white around the collar, so I'm told.

OK, one of you photoshop gurus, do your best!

07-10-2009, 03:56 PM

Barry Hall was wearing a guernsey with KooGa on it yesterday. Don't know if it's new, or they've just embroided KooGa on it. :)

07-10-2009, 03:59 PM
Barry Hall was wearing a guernsey with KooGa on it yesterday. Don't know if it's new, or they've just embroided KooGa on it. :)

No, he only had on the polo top.

It will be interesting to see how different the guernsey is.

07-10-2009, 04:01 PM
Dunno to be honest.

Tighter fitting, round neck (probably) & no red & white around the collar, so I'm told.

OK, one of you photoshop gurus, do your best!

Thats what all us blokes with kegs need.. a tighter fit.

07-10-2009, 04:06 PM

Looks better than the current one. Also saw Eade with the navy version.

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/kooga.jpg

07-10-2009, 04:37 PM
No, he only had on the polo top.

It will be interesting to see how different the guernsey is.

Aaaah, so he did. Looking forward to seeing the new guernsey then. :)

07-10-2009, 06:22 PM
Now all we need is Barry Dawson wearing it with the bar girl! THE COUGAR!

07-10-2009, 09:22 PM
I don't see why we can't all just get along. ;) I am equally passionate about the Mighty Bulldogs & the Mighty Storm. Both games have their positives, they're just different. I think that in Melbourne (seeing as we ARE the sporting capital of Australia, if not the World!!) there is plenty of room for AFL, Rugby League, Soccor & Rugby Union. :)

Well said Suz 32 - totally agree with your comments. There is more than enough love to go around :D

07-10-2009, 11:30 PM
Aaaah, so he did. Looking forward to seeing the new guernsey then. :)

here is a better shot of the polo

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/svBARRY_wideweb__470x3230.jpg

08-10-2009, 07:28 AM
You really need to look hard to notice KooGa in this photo but a great promo for Salta Constructions another sponsor who are rebuilding the WO.

08-10-2009, 11:16 AM
Ask and you shall receive. Two of our best presents for Christmas:)

08-10-2009, 09:55 PM
Ask and you shall receive. Two of our best presents for Christmas:)

I thought they were meant to be tight! I was considering upgrading my membership fir a better view but if the boys are going to be wearing them baggy I'll stick with my bronze... ;)

09-10-2009, 04:33 PM
I don't like this. I like the current bulldogs jumper. I like the red white and blue around the neck! Damnit, why can't they just leave it the way it is!

09-10-2009, 06:00 PM
I don't like this. I like the current bulldogs jumper. I like the red white and blue around the neck! Damnit, why can't they just leave it the way it is!

Because then people wouldnt update every year thus the club doesnt make as much money.

brandonr54
01-12-2009, 10:20 PM
can someone please post a picture of the new jumpers

05-01-2010, 05:19 PM
can someone please post a picture of the new jumpers

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/untitledhhh.jpg

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/untitledaaa.jpg

05-01-2010, 05:28 PM
Not a jumper for the supporters to wear it seems.

I'll stick with my Diadora Leaseplan.

05-01-2010, 08:32 PM
Not a jumper for the supporters to wear it seems.

I'll stick with my Diadora Leaseplan.

I suspect like everything these days it will fit all shapes but is trying to make us think our shape is far better than it looks in the mirror's cold clear eye after the morning shower.

06-01-2010, 07:35 PM
2010 Koo Ga playing jumpers are now on sale at Bulldogs Central.

Bulldogs Central (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/Portals/50/shop.html)

06-01-2010, 07:44 PM
Going to have to sell a few mags to get one of those.:(

06-01-2010, 07:51 PM
Going to have to sell a few mags to get one of those.:(

22 gross, 44 net.

Get ya Big Issue,
Coz I've got one too.
Want a new jumper,
All Red, White and Blue.

06-01-2010, 08:27 PM
2010 Koo Ga playing jumpers are now on sale at Bulldogs Central.

Bulldogs Central (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/Portals/50/shop.html)

Funny they've still got 2009 Diadora gear up too... obviously trying to clear the stock!:) At half the cost of the KooGa gear, I'm sure there'll still be interest!

07-01-2010, 09:37 AM
Funny they've still got 2009 Diadora gear up too... obviously trying to clear the stock!:) At half the cost of the KooGa gear, I'm sure there'll still be interest!

I'm waiting for the Brad Johnson 342 game guernsey to be half price - if anyone sees it please let me know!! Thanks. :)

08-01-2010, 09:35 AM
I notice on the new jumpers that the collars have changed to all blue from the red/white of the last few years. We used an all blue collar from 1999 until 2005 (not exactly great years for the club).

Besides the cut, is that the only change with the new jumpers?

08-01-2010, 11:41 AM
I notice on the new jumpers that the collars have changed to all blue from the red/white of the last few years. We used an all blue collar from 1999 until 2005 (not exactly great years for the club).

Besides the cut, is that the only change with the new jumpers?

Pretty much, other than the neck is more rounded too.

brandonr54
12-01-2010, 02:30 AM
hmm i was really hoping that the jumpers would look really great but i think i like the diadora ones better. the new kooga home jumper seems a bit darker than usual. im sure i will get used to it though

14-01-2010, 10:46 PM
hmm i was really hoping that the jumpers would look really great but i think i like the diadora ones better. the new kooga home jumper seems a bit darker than usual. im sure i will get used to it though

Yeah I agree. I like the neck on the Diadora jumper with the red white and blue stripes over the new rounded one.

21-01-2010, 10:00 PM
It's great to see the dogs doing so well off field, if you have a strong administration it has to lead to a strong team.
I only hope things keep improving both on and off field, I remember reading sometime ago that the dogs in '54 era had a following as big as the pies. It would be nice to see that happen and to become a force within the AFL.

Go Dogs..

Hotdog, if you glance back at our history, We once had the Biggest Membership of any VFA/VFL club. Wot in the phuck has happened since. But as you Know The players are hurting from getting soooo close the last 2 years and they want for themselves & US their Members and supporters to go 1 game further and bring the Holy Grail HOME to Whitten Oval

21-01-2010, 10:00 PM
Hotdog, if you glance back at our history, We once had the Biggest Membership of any VFA/VFL club. Wot in the phuck has happened since. But as you Know The players are hurting from getting soooo close the last 2 years and they want for themselves & US their Members and supporters to go 1 game further and bring the Holy Grail HOME to Whitten Oval

I didn't Swear. I spelt it with a PH

30-01-2010, 12:21 PM
TCP found his way to Bulldogs Central armed with his wallet & a voucher Santa brought him for Christmas.

Not content with one jumper, he just had to get two!

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/104_0147a.jpg

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/104_0148a.jpg

30-01-2010, 12:43 PM
I think the Blue collar is an improvement. Both jumpers look fantastic.

30-01-2010, 01:42 PM
Nice choice of numbers by TCP. Both players will be a joy to watch for the next decade.

30-01-2010, 02:25 PM
Nice choice of numbers by TCP. Both players will be a joy to watch for the next decade.

Yeah, he's old enough to make his own choices & it was a process of elimination; not using numbers he's had previously:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, 33 & 36.

It came down to choices between 11, 14, 21, 28, 38 & 40. Opted for youth over experience.

31-01-2010, 01:25 PM
Good choice of numbers TCP.

17-09-2013, 05:24 PM
Mark Stevens | October 02, 2009 12:00am

THE Western Bulldogs have pulled off a significant sponsorship coup, signing clothing company KooGa to a deal worth an estimated $2 million.

KooGa will contribute about $500,000 over four years and provide a new-look tight-fitting guernsey.

It is believed the deal is worth five times more than the club's arrangement with Diadora, which ran out this season.

KooGa will be a second-tier partner with WorkSafe, sitting under major backer Mission.

Article in full... (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,26154515-5016169,00.html)

Kooga has signed on for another three years

KooGa extends partnership at kennel (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2013-09-17/kooga-extends-partnership-at-kennel)

17-09-2013, 08:56 PM
Good to have a bit of stability with our Apparel sponsors .

17-09-2013, 10:11 PM
Kooga are a pretty good brand. They make the gear for the ice hockey club I play for as well, excellent quality.

I wonder if we'll get updated socks in 2014?

17-09-2013, 10:44 PM
TCP found his way to Bulldogs Central armed with his wallet & a voucher Santa brought him for Christmas.

Not content with one jumper, he just had to get two!

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/104_0147a.jpg

http://i529.photobucket.com/albums/dd340/TheCoonDog/Other%20stuff/104_0148a.jpg

They sure will. Pity it's not going to be with us though...

17-09-2013, 11:00 PM
They sure will. Pity it's not going to be with us though...

Talk about the kiss of death :D

19-09-2013, 10:56 AM
Talk about the kiss of death :D

Before you pick a number for your boys jumper can you please run it by us to ensure approval?

I don't want you jinxing us again with a 'keeper'.

19-09-2013, 11:17 AM
Great new for both the club and supporters. KooGa's gear is the best on the market, it's great quality and always looks good.