View Full Version : Carlton off-season strife

23-12-2009, 10:54 AM
Thought their recent shenanigans were worthy of its own thread:
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/carlton-blues/two-more-blues-in-strife-reports-20091223-lcbe.html

All this hot on the heels of Houlihan's and Walker's little 'incident' in the early hours of Sunday morning at Crown. Some of these footballers are as thick as bricks - sure Fev has more form than most but he is a hugely talented match-winning key forward, and even a bloke of his prodigious talents eventually found himself booted out of the club. Assorted fringe players and downright hacks of the calibre of Houlihan, Walker, Betts and Robinson would have to have collective IQ's of 20 not to realise that their actions have the potentially nasty outcome of drastically shortening their AFL careers. Carlton were stoked that Robinson managed to 'slide' down to pick 40 in the 2008 ND - I wonder why :rolleyes:

23-12-2009, 11:03 AM
Big, dumb footballers. And the bluebaggers have heaps of them!

23-12-2009, 12:04 PM
I hate the Blues with an unhealthy passion, so reading of these indescretions has been like an early Christmas present.

Carlton - the gift that keeps on giving. :)

23-12-2009, 12:16 PM
collective IQ's of 20

Please don't insult dumb people by comparing them to Carlton dickwads.

23-12-2009, 12:17 PM
I hate the Blues with an unhealthy passion, so reading of these indescretions has been like an early Christmas present.

Carlton - the gift that keeps on giving. :)

Same here Comrade. Ever since they pinched Tommy Alvin off us. Always the elitist Club too which doesn't sit well with me either.

23-12-2009, 01:26 PM
Very funny, Fev all behind this?

23-12-2009, 01:35 PM
This sort of things happens a fair bit and whilst Carlton have taken some step to fix the culture of the club, removing Fev was never going to be the full answer. Until they start banning fools like the Cats did with Johnson then it will be a slow road for them.

For every Judd, Murphy, Gibbs and Kreuzer there will still be as many fools that need to be micro managed.

I'm glad it's their problem to manage.

23-12-2009, 06:41 PM
Very funny, Fev all behind this?

He was just the tip of the iceberg.

Andrew Walker was in at work on monday morning before we got to see the newspapers and said the scratches on his face were caused by a mishap at training:rolleyes:. His parents(brother and sister) are very embarrassed at the moment.

23-12-2009, 07:22 PM
Saw it on the news,

They used BigFooty user quotes as examples!

Seriously... BF? Ha.

23-12-2009, 08:30 PM
Is anyone else interested in the coincidence that Judd was at West Coast when it seemed to be a sort of a nighclub that played footy on the weekends and now all these behavioural problams at Carlton under his captaincy.

What's that club going to get up to next? Maybe Captain Carlton will push an old lady over or something.

23-12-2009, 08:50 PM
Is anyone else interested in the coincidence that Judd was at West Coast when it seemed to be a sort of a nighclub that played footy on the weekends and now all these behavioural problams at Carlton under his captaincy.

What's that club going to get up to next? Maybe Captain Carlton will push an old lady over or something.

Carlton still have a lot of work to do both with the players and the way their management approach running the club.
You can't have a culture of cutting as many corners over such a long time and for it not to be riddled throughout the players, the coaches, the board and even the support staff etc and expect it to all be fixed by just removing Fev.

23-12-2009, 09:00 PM
a $5g fine?
wow, carlton are really trying hard to fix the culture...

24-12-2009, 06:35 AM
a $5g fine?
wow, carlton are really trying hard to fix the culture...

That's the maximum that any club can fine a player for a first offence. It can go up for a 2nd serious offence.

24-12-2009, 06:50 AM
It just keeps on getting worse.

A young rookie was handcuffed to another player & forced to drink until he was barely conscious when his family came to his rescue.

Captive Carlton rookie and booze cruise shame (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/captive-carlton-rooke-and-booze-cruise-shame/story-e6frf7jo-1225813309312)

A spokesman for Rivers Restaurant Cruises & Boat Charters said some players appeared to have been already drunk when they arrived.

He said some players ignored warnings about their drinking and aggressive behaviour.

"They were drunk as skunks and there was nothing we could do to control the alcohol consumption," he said.

"It's actually quite embarrassing. They made absolute a---holes of themselves.

24-12-2009, 08:06 AM
Levi's family should take the matter up with the club and keep this sort of crap out of the papers.

24-12-2009, 08:36 AM
Please don't insult dumb people by comparing them to Carlton dickwads.

That's very good :D

24-12-2009, 08:43 AM
Levi's family should take the matter up with the club and keep this sort of crap out of the papers.
I agree, the club would treat this very seriously. They still have a lot of work in front of them and reading the riot act clearly isn't working.

I'm getting the impression a number of the boys just go through the motions when the likes of Kernahan gathers them in for a stern talk.

24-12-2009, 09:21 AM
Fighting amongst themselves, sounds like a happy bunch of close and focused footballers to me, problem is it isnt football they are focused on.

What a rabble of a club and i wonder when Demetriou will step in as he did with another club.

Swoop
24-12-2009, 10:35 AM
A friend of mine has a fair bit to do with Eddie Betts and I must admit I feel for him as he appears to be a genuinely good person. I know this incident may have an affect on the charity work he does through a juvenile detention centre with young kids and that is really disappointing as I'm sure both would have been getting something valuable out of it.

All actions have consequences and some AFL footballers can't seem to understand their actions have even greater consequences such is their status in society.

24-12-2009, 11:09 AM
All actions have consequences and some AFL footballers can't seem to understand their actions have even greater consequences such is their status in society.

How can they not? Do they just have bricks for brains?

Swoop
24-12-2009, 11:40 AM
How can they not? Do they just have bricks for brains?
Yes, unfortunately some do have bricks for brains. Despite the constant media spotlight and the amount of education put into players by the clubs and the AFLPA some just don't get it.

Unfortunately these guys are expectionally good at football but they still come from all walks of life and much like the rest of the society they can still be affected by drugs and other issues despite the good intentions of those around them.

24-12-2009, 04:23 PM
It just keeps on getting worse.

I heard today that Walker has lost his licence for the forth time, this week(the day after the crown episode).

24-12-2009, 04:57 PM
Shows it the culture down there and wasnt just Fev.
Put them in my huge slider column next year.
Do feel sorry for the new recruit though, already being lead astray.

25-12-2009, 09:30 AM
I see that given this is Betts 2nd problem he has now received the maximum of a $10,000 fine.

25-12-2009, 09:37 AM
If they treated everyone equally there will be no players left at Carlton.
My christmas reference - Its funny how they thought they were cleansed of their sins by trading Fev but the Club is far from purged from its sinners.

25-12-2009, 01:10 PM
If they treated everyone equally there will be no players left at Carlton.
My christmas reference - Its funny how they thought they were cleansed of their sins by trading Fev but the Club is far from purged from its sinners.

And they tought it when they got rid of Elliot and then they thought they had got rid of it when Smorgon went and then they thought it was finally gone when Pratt stood down and then they...

Well you get the picture-that club is rotten to the core and quite a few people on the commitee and high up in administration think that they dont have to play by the rules, that they can take short cut after shortcut and the good times will just role around again.

In a way they are a bit like the Australian Test team in that they are in all sorts of trouble and they are in comlete denial about the cause of the problem. Until they start to make some genuinly hard decisions they are going to be stuck in the same trajectory that Richmond have been for 20 years.

25-12-2009, 06:06 PM
I did have a giggle about Kernahans statement "$5000 will be the least of their problems when i get to see them on the 4th of jan" He must think its pretty important to wait a week!

Now thats proffessional, i wonder what more they can get up to in the next week?

25-12-2009, 06:21 PM
i wonder what more they can get up to in the next week?

This afternoon the poor bloody kid was involved in a car accident. Apparantly he is OK but the driver of the other car has been killed.

25-12-2009, 06:54 PM
This afternoon the poor bloody kid was involved in a car accident. Apparantly he is OK but the driver of the other car has been killed.

Yes it's been a dramatic few days for young Casboult.

25-12-2009, 07:20 PM

I had a conversation along these lines last night and this morning.

The day of the Brownlow effort of Fev, he had spent the afternoon drinking or whatever with Juddy. Then laughed at his antics.

Now on a boat they are forcing a kid to drink - did he sit by and watch this happen as well?

I am sorry if our players were out representing our club in any form and Johnno sat back while players carried on like these Carlton drop kicks have - I would be mighty disgusted with him, if he did not try to stop the crap.

Glad that is it that team or any other that is making the headlines - as long a it does not happen at mine - I will be happy.

25-12-2009, 10:55 PM
This goes higher than Judd. Kernahan, Pratt, Collins and Elliot just a short list of crooks/drunks. Buckley & Johnson as players.
My dad says that in 1961, John Nichols was in Pentridge for armed robbery but still played on Saturdays.
They wons premierships with this mentality, someone tried to change it (Pagan) and he was shown the door.

Swoop
26-12-2009, 12:14 PM
This goes higher than Judd. Kernahan, Pratt, Collins and Elliot just a short list of crooks/drunks. Buckley & Johnson as players.
My dad says that in 1961, John Nichols was in Pentridge for armed robbery but still played on Saturdays.
They wons premierships with this mentality, someone tried to change it (Pagan) and he was shown the door.
No offence Ernie but to suggest that Pagan is the only person to try and change Carlton is a very general statement and just not correct. Yes, they have issues and their problems run deep into the club but someone like Parkin was a leader and innovator in educating & improving players off the field. It is also well known that under Brittain Fevola was as good as gone due to his poor behaviour and attitude yet only to be given a reprieve by Pagan.

26-12-2009, 12:31 PM
No offence Ernie but to suggest that Pagan is the only person to try and change Carlton is a very general statement and just not correct. Yes, they have issues and their problems run deep into the club but someone like Parkin was a leader and innovator in educating & improving players off the field. It is also well known that under Brittain Fevola was as good as gone due to his poor behaviour and attitude yet only to be given a reprieve by Pagan.

Who suggested Pagan was the 'only' person to try and change Carlton?
Parkin coached in an era when when salary cap rorts and having a drunken/crook president was all ok.

26-12-2009, 01:26 PM
So while all other clubs spend the preseason getting game plans right and working on players fitness, skills, etc, Carlton are busy trying to round up the hooligans and stop from imploding.

Wooden spoon material maybe??

26-12-2009, 02:03 PM
Eddie Betts has been doing a placement at Assumption College, for his PE Teacher course. He was well liked by all the kids there, and came across as a genuine person. It is a shame he has got himself into this strife.

Swoop
26-12-2009, 05:41 PM
Who suggested Pagan was the 'only' person to try and change Carlton?
Parkin coached in an era when when salary cap rorts and having a drunken/crook president was all ok.
The point I'm trying to make is for some reason you have identified Pagan as trying to recitfy the culture when you yourself highlight that the problems date back for many years before that era. The problem stems from the core and has been rotten for some time, I still don't understand the reference your making about Pagan as I'm sure many have attempted to provoke change in their time at the club, Parkin was merely an example.

26-12-2009, 05:49 PM
The point I'm trying to make is for some reason you have identified Pagan as trying to recitfy the culture when you yourself highlight that the problems date back for many years before that era. The problem stems from the core and has been rotten for some time, I still don't understand the reference your making about Pagan as I'm sure many have attempted to provoke change in their time at the club, Parkin was merely an example.

?
And I was using Pagan merely as an example

28-12-2009, 06:15 PM
AFL 'please explain' to Blues

THE AFL has given Carlton until January 11 to provide an explanation for the behaviour of its players during and after a boat cruise last weekend.

Earlier this week, Carlton fined Ryan Houlihan and Andrew Walker $5000 each for their role in an incident at Crown Casino on Sunday morning.

On Wednesday, the club confirmed Eddie Betts had been arrested in Melbourne's CBD on Sunday morning and would be disciplined and fined the maximum penalty once he returned for pre-season training.

the rest (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88440/default.aspx)...

30-12-2009, 11:32 PM
CULTURE . :p:p

31-12-2009, 01:46 AM
It just keeps getting better and better ...

Carlton's thaw on John Elliott

http://resources0.news.com.au/images/2009/12/30/1225814/832696-john-elliott.jpg

CARLTON may be moving to welcome back disgraced former president John Elliott as the club reels from last week's drunken player rampage.

Blues president Stephen Kernahan lunched with Mr Elliott and club heavyweights at a city restaurant 10 days ago, just hours after the drunken night of shame that has so far netted four Carlton players.

Mr Elliot, a former club president, was banned by Carlton in June after claiming the club had paid hush money to women who had been sexually assaulted by players.

Mr Kernahan confirmed he had lunched with Mr Elliot and five former Carlton board members in the week before Christmas - just days after the club's notorious booze cruise.

Full article here ... (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/carltons-thaw-on-john-elliott/story-e6frf9jf-1225814832320)

31-12-2009, 01:25 PM
Well Mr Kernahan you are looking more and more like a little lamb in a field of wolves.
Kick him out then go lunch with him? whats with that? wonder who the others were?

31-12-2009, 01:40 PM
I've said many a time. Elliott is the pin-up boy of the Carlton FC, he lied. cheated and stole just them. Yes he is disgraced and a criminal but should never be in Carlton FC's eyes.
All the sackings, stand name change and banning from the club is just to apease the AFL and general public.

31-12-2009, 03:50 PM
What a corrupt sleazy joke of a sporting club they are, they havent learned a thing from their mistakes. Instead they have proved they have no shame or moral bottom.

Just associating with the man proves they havent reached their nadir yet. It's going to be fun watching them fester away in their own crapulance over the next few years.

I hope they keep Kernahan as president and Ratten as coach until the end of days because they are the worst coach and the worst president currently performing those duties in the AFL by a long way-it's just a shame that they have already made the remake of Dumb and Dumber because those two would be perfect for the lead roles.

01-01-2010, 10:10 AM
Media management strategies 1a

Dealing with a crisis

Situation
The media doesn't want to cover anything else and will hound you and drag the matter on interminably if you let them. What you need is to create time and to use distractors so as to recapture the initiative while not appearing to do so.

There are two key principles: you can't go from the cesspool to the perfume factory in one leap; you should look to move one step at a time. Secondly you can't appear to be trying to manage the media; you have to appear to be surprised by this new matter coming to their attention.

Aim
Try to keep yourself in the spotlight, but try to change the focus away from the current problem.

Strategy
Use a leak about something inconsequential (it doesn't even have to be true, could be a leaked rumour) and pretend that you are not interested in the new topic/direction.

Anticipated reaction
The journos will feel that you are covering up something import and that there is more to it. Certain to get a run.

Follow up strategies

Depends on the issue you have chosen but the short answer is more of the same. If the issue bites deny even more strongly if it just makes a small impact, you've begun to turn things around so think up new issues to consume and confuse them.

01-01-2010, 10:40 AM
Well done AAD because I think you are spot on.

Years back I was privy to strategy to divert attention away from a big issue so they created the innuendo that there was even a bigger story brewing as well. That subsequently became the focus of attention giving them the time to address the original issue before burying the furphy issue as unsubstantiated gossip.

Before anyone asks, this was not the Bulldogs.

01-01-2010, 02:20 PM
Media management strategies 1a

Dealing with a crisis

Situation
The media doesn't want to cover anything else and will hound you and drag the matter on interminably if you let them. What you need is to create time and to use distractors so as to recapture the initiative while not appearing to do so.

There are two key principles: you can't go from the cesspool to the perfume factory in one leap; you should look to move one step at a time. Secondly you can't appear to be trying to manage the media; you have to appear to be surprised by this new matter coming to their attention.

Aim
Try to keep yourself in the spotlight, but try to change the focus away from the current problem.

Strategy
Use a leak about something inconsequential (it doesn't even have to be true, could be a leaked rumour) and pretend that you are not interested in the new topic/direction.

Anticipated reaction
The journos will feel that you are covering up something import and that there is more to it. Certain to get a run.

Follow up strategies

Depends on the issue you have chosen but the short answer is more of the same. If the issue bites deny even more strongly if it just makes a small impact, you've begun to turn things around so think up new issues to consume and confuse them.

Good point . Fancy bringing back that ignorant cheating dinosaur. Guess if he's back ''Shielas will be paid off''again. Carlton is a giant ogre that feeds of itself:eek:

01-01-2010, 03:51 PM
Well done AAD because I think you are spot on.

Years back I was privy to strategy to divert attention away from a big issue so they created the innuendo that there was even a bigger story brewing as well. That subsequently became the focus of attention giving them the time to address the original issue before burying the furphy issue as unsubstantiated gossip.

Before anyone asks, this was not the Bulldogs.

Well?

What and who was it then?

01-01-2010, 10:51 PM
Good point . Fancy bringing back that ignorant cheating dinosaur. Guess if he's back ''Shielas will be paid off''again. Carlton is a giant ogre that feeds of itself:eek:

Overheard in an alternative universe close to Princes Hill over the months from mid last season to yesterday.

Look Jack we know you've never really been away, and it's hurt us as much as it's hurt you to have to pretend we hate you, but gee John those comments about paying sheilas off have embarassed us and we are going to have to say nasty things about you to the journos, but you know we don't mean them... and of course Christmas lunch is on as usuual... and when they've forgotten about it we'll welcome you back with open arms just like we always do. In the mean time it would help if you kept a low profile.

Ellioitt mumbled, That will give you time to fix up the wine menu cause standards are slipping and although I don't pay I can't be expected to drink second rate plonk. Can you get the Grange back for Chrissie?

Sticks rang him a few days ago, That lunch was really good and I loved all those stories about how you hid things from the media and the public, we could do with some of that right now... and uhm... J-ack do you remember what I said about the low profile?

Sticks you know I only pay attention to anything you utter when you say it's your shout. Low profile, pigs arse I'll be PM yet.

Yes John, that was a bad idea cause we need to create a media leak about our lunch.

Bugger Sticks, I've told you time and time again that not only can't you trust them, but you never, never ever tell them what we really think about them. God knows they're stupid, but they get really upset when someone says so. It's the one unforgiveable sin of media relations, the great trick is pissing in their pockets without them realising that what you've done stinks.

By the way who thought up that slogan about smell? Sack the bastard, he's too smart for his own good, attempted cleverness like that will get us into trouble, never give the opposition a comeback... and that one... well my great, grandchildren think they are talking about the players wearing nappies. Christ knows some of them act like they need one but ... get the bloke back who thought up the Visy ambassadors, the AFL has never realised it's a greater rort than any I even imagined. Salary cap pig's arse.

Jack I need to cut in, what you're saying is very interesting but we've got a crisis and we need your help.

I knew you would at some stage, you do, and so will IXL, and Fosters, and Waterwheel and the Liberal party, they'll all realise they can't do without me. Yes, yes, of course I'll take over the Presidency, must have been a tough gig for a poor bugger like you.

No, no Jack, we love you.. but those days are over. I need your help to confuse our friends in the media one more time... and I need to know you're up for the job or we'll have to talk to the ghost of your old mate George Harris.

Gees Sticks that's really scraping the bottom of the barel, how much bad luck are you trying to bring on the club mentioning names like that, you'll show you've completely lost the plot and mention Ian Rice next.

Yes it was a bad idea, it's side tracking you. It's only 9.30 am how much have you had to drink already?

Well I finished the left over half bottle of Petrus with the bacon and eggs at about 8am and I had a rest and a couple of tinnies so it's been a light morning so far.

OK Jack I've got the media on my back and I'm going to not hide the fact we had lunch the week before last and I want you to say it's a private matter when they ring you. Can you remember that?

Can't I tell them what a generous host you are and how the Blues will win the Premiership if those socialsts at the AFL don't keep stopping us from buying all the best players from the other teams.

No Jack I need you to be your statesman like best.

Gees... it must be serious... it's two decades since anyone's said that to me.

Yes it is and we're desperate or I wouldn't have asked... I mean bothered, you. I need all the support you can give the club and to stay with the strategy, no ad libing this one.

Ok, I'll do my Sergeant Schultz impersonation, 'I know nothing'. The media love that one it gets my face all over the TV and they keep asking for more. I've done it for years when I didn't want to answer the question. They all fall about.. but even I don't think it's funny anymore. I just laugh at them.

Just don't tell them anything, an exasperated Sticks grumbled as he hung up.

TBC

03-01-2010, 05:52 PM

From the look of this they won't be feeding too well - They all have a go at us about our finances but have a look at this Is your AFL club in the black? Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/is-your-afl-club-in-the-black/story-e6frf9jf-1225815357617)

When some thought things couldn't get worse for them, this pops up.

03-01-2010, 06:58 PM
From the look of this they won't be feeding too well - They all have a go at us about our finances but have a look at this Is your AFL club in the black? Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/is-your-afl-club-in-the-black/story-e6frf9jf-1225815357617)

When some thought things couldn't get worse for them, this pops up.

So nice to read this after Carlton has raved on for years about us being the poor club.

I sometimes try and look into the future and wonder how clubs such as Carlton will survive, seriously where is the supporter base?

On past mum and dads handing it onto the kids? At this rate kids wont follow them.
Certainly geographically they dont have an open land area to explore new housing estates and bring in new fans.
Corporates who have held them up for years have been under the hammer the last 5-10 years as the truth comes out on their illegal activities.

I doubt they will ever be a powerhouse again.

03-01-2010, 07:38 PM
No one concerned about our position?

03-01-2010, 07:43 PM
No one concerned about our position?

It's been mentioned on here numerous times (by yourself and others) that debt reduction must now be the administration's priority.

Hopefully getting a major win in regards to the Bulldog Hilton provides an additional revenue stream that will allow us to bring the debt down reasonably quickly.

Are you more concerned after reading the article?

03-01-2010, 08:02 PM
It's been mentioned on here numerous times (by yourself and others) that debt reduction must now be the administration's priority.

Hopefully getting a major win in regards to the Bulldog Hilton provides an additional revenue stream that will allow us to bring the debt down reasonably quickly.

Are you more concerned after reading the article?

Yes, I wasn't aware of how much money we are expected to re-finance this year.

12.5M owing this year and total assets of 5.6M isn't a strong position at all.
Our Membership income is very low as well.

04-01-2010, 10:47 AM
To quote famously from Mr Elliot....What a "tragic" culture.

04-01-2010, 03:29 PM
Yes, I wasn't aware of how much money we are expected to re-finance this year.

12.5M owing this year and total assets of 5.6M isn't a strong position at all.
Our Membership income is very low as well.

How much of the $12.5m is on-going debt and how much of it is short term until promised funding from elsewhere comes in?

04-01-2010, 05:25 PM
Carlton suspends Betts, Houlihan and Walker (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88496/default.aspx)

By Mic Cullen 4:52 PM Mon 04 January, 2010

CARLTON players Eddie Betts, Ryan Houlihan and Andrew Walker have been further punished by the club in the wake of the team's alcohol-fuelled unofficial Christmas breakup cruise, with the board slapping one-month training bans on all three and making them unavailable for the 2010 NAB Cup.

Betts was arrested in the Melbourne CBD for public drunkenness, while Houlihan and Walker were thrown out of Crown Casino for similar behaviour.

All three have already been fined $5000 by the Blues, the maximum allowable under the collective bargaining agreement.

04-01-2010, 06:11 PM
How much of the $12.5m is on-going debt and how much of it is short term until promised funding from elsewhere comes in?

Not sure but the 12.5M needs to be re-financed with Westpac this year according to the Hun.

04-01-2010, 06:14 PM
Well that should be good for the club, separate 3 players from the rest so they dont knit in with the future game plan etc...
I cant see this doing any good for team bonding or playing as a team.
No apology to the young lad or his family either.

04-01-2010, 06:20 PM
What does everyone think of the punishment for the 3 players?
For what it's worth I think they have probably got it about right.

04-01-2010, 06:32 PM

I reckon they should make them train, and suspend them from the Who Cares Cup and, if necessary, start of the regular season. And I know it's in the EBA, but a 5k fine is nothing with the big money professional footballers earn.

04-01-2010, 07:18 PM
They'll still train with the Bullants, and a banning from NAB Cup duties is like being slapped with wet lettuce. If Carlton were serious about a 'culture change', a ban from H&A games should have been mandatory, especially as it involves repeat offenders.

Interesting that no one was punished for the Casboult incident - does that mean a blind eye was turned towards the instigator or were one of Betts, Houlihan or Walker the guilty party? If that's the case, their punishment is even more of a joke.

I wonder if the fact that not having Judd (and Fevola) for the first three weeks had anything to do with the decision - this is Carlton 'Win at all costs and f*** the rest' Football Club we're talking about.

FWIW, I'm rapt they went down this path - I'm happy to continue watching them rot from the core.

04-01-2010, 08:27 PM

If Carlton were serious, they would ban them from playing the first 4 games of the season proper, make then sit out of the live pre season games, once the Blues get knocked out of it, make them play each of the regional games, they have already been fined, but also make them do so many hours of community work, the they'd be somewhere close imo.

The joke of it all again comes from the drunken Pres, "they were close to being sacked", yet slapped with a wet lettuce leaf as Comrade said.

But, what else would anyone expect?

04-01-2010, 08:40 PM
Was Kernahan drunk?

04-01-2010, 08:41 PM
I reckon they should make them train, and suspend them from the Who Cares Cup and, if necessary, start of the regular season. And I know it's in the EBA, but a 5k fine is nothing with the big money professional footballers earn.

There isn't a lot they can do about the fines but we sort of know that it doesn't really work.
I think this is a good start for them because if there is any more problems then the next player will lose home and away games. It falls short of the stand that the Pies made with Shaw and Didak but for a club that has been known as being too lenient it's a decent step forward.

04-01-2010, 11:36 PM
There isn't a lot they can do about the fines but we sort of know that it doesn't really work.
I think this is a good start for them because if there is any more problems then the next player will lose home and away games. It falls short of the stand that the Pies made with Shaw and Didak but for a club that has been known as being too lenient it's a decent step forward.

It's a balancing act, they might really be fed up with this out of control behaviour, but there's not a lot they can do without hurting the team and that means the other players on the list as well. Still that might be the price they have to pay if they are serious

The proof will be if the players start to exert some self discipline and if they don't whether they do something about it or just huff and puff some more. Cause at this stage all one can see is a lot of posturing and some beginning of action but that's all.

I would be interested to know if there is any player code of conduct or the like in place at Carlton and if the players have signed off on it and if it contains penalties other than having to be a waiter for one J Elliott when he gets allowed back.

05-01-2010, 11:06 AM
It's a balancing act, they might really be fed up with this out of control behaviour, but there's not a lot they can do without hurting the team and that means the other players on the list as well. Still that might be the price they have to pay if they are serious

Geelong did this with Steve Johnson, who is a far better player than any of the three Carlton lightweights, and they hardly suffered from it -- quite the contrary, if anything.

A strong team with a positive cultural fabric far outweighs any negligible individual contributions from the likes of these: it's not like we're talking about Carey-calibre talent here.

05-01-2010, 02:34 PM
Geelong did this with Steve Johnson, who is a far better player than any of the three Carlton lightweights, and they hardly suffered from it -- quite the contrary, if anything.

A strong team with a positive cultural fabric far outweighs any negligible individual contributions from the likes of these: it's not like we're talking about Carey-calibre talent here.

Remember this is Carlton and is more than just one player.

05-01-2010, 02:59 PM
Bluebaggers are still partying like it's 1987. They were the last team to embrace the national draft and rebuilding through youth, so it comes as absolutely no surprise that they are so reluctant to move away from the drinking culture (thinly disguised as team bonding). These 'penalties' only reaffirm their inability/unwillingness to stamp out this culture once and for all. The game has changed an amazing amount even since 1999 and Carlton have proven time and again to be reactive to the changing professional environment of AFL.

I hope Kernahan and Ratten stay in their repsective roles for another 5 years.

05-01-2010, 03:20 PM
The word around the traps is that a fair bit more happened on the 'Booze cruise' than what is known by both the club and the media and if it got out the proverbial would hit the fan.

Sorry I know nothing more.

05-01-2010, 03:41 PM
The word around the traps is that a fair bit more happened on the 'Booze cruise' than what is known by both the club and the media and if it got out the proverbial would hit the fan.

Fingers crossed it gets out, preferably a week before Round 1.

05-01-2010, 03:59 PM

Johnson was nothing when he was suspended. They tried to trade him but he didn't pass Collingwood's medical. Once he came back he became the player we see dominating today. I agree a similar message for the Carlton players may have done them some good.

05-01-2010, 04:01 PM

Sound's like part of AAD's strategy from post 44.

05-01-2010, 04:37 PM
Johnson was nothing when he was suspended. They tried to trade him but he didn't pass Collingwood's medical. Once he came back he became the player we see dominating today. I agree a similar message for the Carlton players may have done them some good.

True.. but 'nothing' may be a bit harsh. He was probably a bit like Richmond's Mitch Morton -- mercurial, but a bit lairy and inconsistent.

ps. Love the quotes on your signature.

05-01-2010, 05:34 PM
True.. but 'nothing' may be a bit harsh. He was probably a bit like Richmond's Mitch Morton -- mercurial, but a bit lairy and inconsistent.

Nothing was a bad choice.

ps. Love the quotes on your signature.

Can't go wrong with the K-man

05-01-2010, 08:46 PM
Not sure but the 12.5M needs to be re-financed with Westpac this year according to the Hun.

I don't know the details of these developments but as I've said elsewhere out commitment was $3.2m and the Forever Foundation have covered this already.

In projects I've been involved in, in another existence we often had to cover the instalment payments because government monies were only available on completion.

I don't know if this is the case but if it's not I would have expected a note in the most recent financial statements to explain a 300% blow out in our debt and there isn't one that I can find.

05-01-2010, 09:02 PM
Was Kernahan drunk?

Isn't it a required quality for a president of the Filthy Blues, along with lying and cheating?

It seems the tradition is alive and well within their playing group as well.

A long time ago when I took part in inter-varsity sport the highlight at the end of each years competition was a drinking contest or two.

The trick was to bring in a great drinker or two who hadn't played.

The Filthy Blues haven't worked out what even silly undergrads knew, that you can't be pissed all the time and perform. Come to think of it even Shakespeare had the odd funny word or two to say about the matter of performing under the influence.

05-01-2010, 09:05 PM
Thought he was actually proved to be drunk , just checking but i get the idea.

06-01-2010, 12:42 AM
Bluebaggers are still partying like it's 1987. They were the last team to embrace the national draft and rebuilding through youth, so it comes as absolutely no surprise that they are so reluctant to move away from the drinking culture (thinly disguised as team bonding). These 'penalties' only reaffirm their inability/unwillingness to stamp out this culture once and for all. The game has changed an amazing amount even since 1999 and Carlton have proven time and again to be reactive to the changing professional environment of AFL.

I hope Kernahan and Ratten stay in their repsective roles for another 5 years.

Exactly my sentiments carlton are stuck in a time warp in all aspects of our game. The funny thing is what an absolute farce if they bring their biggest crook[cast of thousands been involved with that club] Elliott, I still find it amazing in this day and age that boozy christmas parties still go on. Surely a relic of the past:eek:

06-01-2010, 09:23 AM

Would be interested to know if any Journo has hassled the cruise company enough to gain more information.

06-01-2010, 06:01 PM
I had Andrew Walker in for lunch today, I asked him how was your summer break? he said it's been pretty quiet(while looking sheepish):D.

06-01-2010, 07:18 PM
culture . :p:p

karma.;)

07-01-2010, 04:31 PM
karma.;)

Chameleon.

Is this one of those word association things?

Maybe we can try a Rorschach test later?

07-01-2010, 05:02 PM
Chameleon.

Is this one of those word association things?

Maybe we can try a Rorschach test later?

Is the next world 'Club'?

07-01-2010, 06:06 PM
I had Andrew Walker in for lunch today, I asked him how was your summer break? he said it's been pretty quiet(while looking sheepish):D.

Did you tell him you have a "no shirts off" policy?

07-01-2010, 07:47 PM
Did you tell him you have a "no shirts off" policy?

:DNo, he is always well behaved when he comes in.

I am sure the waitresses(and a gay workmate) wouldn't mind if he came in without a shirt.

08-01-2010, 04:15 AM
Can we attribute this to the Filth as well ???

FORMER AFL star Justin Murphy failed to donate cash to the Black Saturday bushfire appeal as part of a court penalty for theft.

Murphy, who made his name at Essendon and Carlton, was arrested for stealing a purse from the counter of a Williamstown bank while waiting to make a transaction in 2008.

Last year he was ordered by a magistrate to pay $400 into the bushfire appeal, but Heidelberg Magistrates' Court was told yesterday that Murphy, 33, had not made the payment.

Full Article (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/black-saturday-bushfire-appeal-dudded/story-e6frf7jo-1225817137569)

Clutching at straws ??

08-01-2010, 09:30 AM
I missed this – was his arrest made public in 2008?

Another player who’s been Carlton-ed.

12-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Blues deny booze-cruise lost it a sponsor

JAKE NIALL - January 11, 2010

WHILE acknowledging that the alcohol-fuelled antics of players might have made potential sponsors coy, Carlton last night downplayed suggestions that it had ''lost'' a million-dollar deal with confectionery giant Mars.

Channel Nine news said that Mars, which has been in talks with Carlton as a possible replacement sponsor for the Malaysian government, had withdrawn.

Article in full... (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/blues-deny-boozecruise-lost-it-a-sponsor-20100110-m0pk.html)

12-01-2010, 11:47 AM
http://city-messenger.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/west-adelaide-recruit-on-assault-charge/

12-01-2010, 01:05 PM
Blues deny booze-cruise lost it a sponsor

JAKE NIALL - January 11, 2010

WHILE acknowledging that the alcohol-fuelled antics of players might have made potential sponsors coy, Carlton last night downplayed suggestions that it had ''lost'' a million-dollar deal with confectionery giant Mars.

Channel Nine news said that Mars, which has been in talks with Carlton as a possible replacement sponsor for the Malaysian government, had withdrawn.

Article in full... (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/blues-deny-boozecruise-lost-it-a-sponsor-20100110-m0pk.html)

I love the last line, a spin if ever i saw one,"how can we lose a sponsor if we didnt have one"

12-01-2010, 01:40 PM
Well Mr Kernahan you are looking more and more like a little lamb in a field of wolves.
Kick him out then go lunch with him? whats with that? wonder who the others were?

Kernahan appears to be, in the words of Winston Churchill, a sheep in sheep's clothing. Roast lamb, anyone?

12-01-2010, 02:39 PM
I love the last line, a spin if ever i saw one,"how can we lose a sponsor if we didnt have one"

I'ts an exercise in logical absurdity that students do in first year Philosophy, most appropriate that the Blues go in for that sort of reasonning.

I was going to say that next they would discover the phrase "I think therefore I am", but as we are talking about the filthy blues you can't put them and thought in the same sentence without running into the same absurdities that their spokesman attempted.

12-01-2010, 04:39 PM
The most hilarious thing about all this is Carlton supporters still support them and try in no logical way to defend it!

13-01-2010, 05:50 PM
http://city-messenger.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/west-adelaide-recruit-on-assault-charge/

Another former play covering the blues in glory.

14-01-2010, 11:03 PM
Kernahan appears to be, in the words of Winston Churchill, a sheep in sheep's clothing. Roast lamb, anyone?

I''ll bring the mint sauce. Save us a piece of shoulder with skin!:p

15-01-2010, 01:32 PM
The press are having a field day, looking for anything. Here's another one

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/prank-wedding-vows-included-in-carlton-off-season-excursion-to-las-vegas/story-e6frf7jo-1225819424883

Prank wedding vows included in Carlton off-season excursion to Las Vegas
Herald Sun January 15, 2010

PRANK wedding vows can now be revealed to have been included in the Carlton players' eventful off-season.
A group of players re-enacted a scene from the hit movie The Hangover when a drunk character unknowingly gets hitched at a Las Vegas marriage chapel.

The starring role in the Blues' visit to the chapel was played by brash young midfielder Shaun Grigg.

The fun and games took place on the Blues' end-of-season trip to America's sin city late last year.

The cast included captain Chris Judd, who is said to have played a leading role in helping to erase any lasting impact.

Sources said the script followed a not uncommon line for Vegas - boy wipes himself out, meets girl, ends up at wedding chapel, and wakes up next morning to find he's married.

The sources said Judd then led the effort to have the marriage annulled, which was done the next day at a significant cost.

Grigg doesn't deny the marriage incident but said through his management that it was all a sham and a set-up organised by the players.

"It was definitely a hoax," Grigg told Alex McDonald of Stride Sports Management, who manages the player.

"It was actually a mock or hoax, as against the real thing.

"There was even a club official present."

McDonald said from what Grigg had told him the whole thing about the Hangover scenario was "drawing a bit of a long bow".

"It was definitely not the real deal and not a long boozy night sort of thing of boys not knowing what they were doing," McDonald said.

Our sources said the 21-year-old, who was taken at No.19 in the 2006 national draft and is highly rated at Carlton, had laughed off the incident.

News of the vows surfaced after Grigg bragged to former junior teammates it was a story that would make headlines.

He said it cost him heaps.

The images of the ceremony were posted on Facebook but have been removed.

A Carlton spokesman said he had been made aware of the incident after we called. He wasn't aware of a Carlton official attending and said the club had taken it in the spirit it was intended.

17-01-2010, 11:27 AM
How exactly can it be a hoax? I'm sure the chapel in Vegas wouldn't have done it as a sham. You don't fill out fake paperwork.

17-01-2010, 12:06 PM
The press are having a field day, looking for anything. Here's another one

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/prank-wedding-vows-included-in-carlton-off-season-excursion-to-las-vegas/story-e6frf7jo-1225819424883

Prank wedding vows included in Carlton off-season excursion to Las Vegas
Herald Sun January 15, 2010

PRANK wedding vows can now be revealed to have been included in the Carlton players' eventful off-season.
A group of players re-enacted a scene from the hit movie The Hangover when a drunk character unknowingly gets hitched at a Las Vegas marriage chapel.

The starring role in the Blues' visit to the chapel was played by brash young midfielder Shaun Grigg.

The fun and games took place on the Blues' end-of-season trip to America's sin city late last year.

The cast included captain Chris Judd, who is said to have played a leading role in helping to erase any lasting impact.

Sources said the script followed a not uncommon line for Vegas - boy wipes himself out, meets girl, ends up at wedding chapel, and wakes up next morning to find he's married.

The sources said Judd then led the effort to have the marriage annulled, which was done the next day at a significant cost.

Why would you have to annull a hoax?

Grigg doesn't deny the marriage incident but said through his management that it was all a sham and a set-up organised by the players.

This is precisely the scenario of The Hangover.

"It was definitely a hoax," Grigg told Alex McDonald of Stride Sports Management, who manages the player.

"It was actually a mock or hoax, as against the real thing.

Oh, so you mean you didn't really want to get married. Just your mates played a prank on you when you were off your face.

"There was even a club official present."

Probably the official chaperone, there to see the boys didn't get up to any mischief beyond the carlton norm.

McDonald said from what Grigg had told him the whole thing about the Hangover scenario was "drawing a bit of a long bow".

See above

"It was definitely not the real deal and not a long boozy night sort of thing of boys not knowing what they were doing," McDonald said.

Our sources said the 21-year-old, who was taken at No.19 in the 2006 national draft and is highly rated at Carlton, had laughed off the incident.

News of the vows surfaced after Grigg bragged to former junior teammates it was a story that would make headlines.

He said it cost him heaps.

The images of the ceremony were posted on Facebook but have been removed.

A Carlton spokesman said he had been made aware of the incident after we called. He wasn't aware of a Carlton official attending and said the club had taken it in the spirit it was intended.

That would be the in spirit of a boozy end of season trip, would it not?

I also wonder about the female participant in the wedding. Was it his girlfriend, equally boozed; a paid actress; an equally boozed prostitute, in keeping with The Hangover theme? I can't see how any of this could be accused of "bringing the game into disrepute" or possibly being at odds with the AFL's policy regarding respect respect towards women. :confused::confused::confused:

17-01-2010, 12:23 PM
This is an organisation dedicated to reproducing all the grosest poor humour that the Hollywood imagination can dredge up masquerading as an AFL club.

The real pity is that none of it is funny. Let's all chip in and hire them a new script writer cause the one they've got now wouldn't know a joke if he fell over one, and they seem singularly lacking in immagination themselves.

Tragic, tragic history!