View Full Version : Home grown Doggie Shots

16-01-2010, 06:47 PM
Hi all,

I thought I would start a thread dedicated to pictures of the Players that have been taken by Bulldog supporters. Many many years ago (early 1980's) I would rock up to the game with camera in hand and shoot 1 or 2 rolls of film over the course of the game. I have posted most of these on Big Footy, but for those who haven't seen them they are here to share.
Sadly nearly all my photograph were ruined including the negatives while in storage, leaky roof. :(
I will endeavor to find more but I fear they are a lost cause.
Hopefully this may inspire other supporter out there to take a camera along to the footy and take some shots for history.

16-01-2010, 06:51 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/simonBeasley.jpg

You can see the water damage, Simon Bealey against Richmond.

I think this is the game we had a 10 goal 1st quarter and Jim Edmonds kicked 5

16-01-2010, 06:53 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/DogsvSwans.jpg

Swans V Dogs at the Lake Oval

16-01-2010, 06:55 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/Image5.jpg

Dougie Hawkins verses Hawthorn at the WO

16-01-2010, 06:57 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/image4.jpg

Terry Wheeler leading Cloke to the ball

16-01-2010, 06:59 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/S_DavidsonWO1981.jpg

Stan Davidson taking a leap

16-01-2010, 07:00 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/Screamer2.jpg

A reserve game against Collingwood

16-01-2010, 07:02 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/123.jpg

Jamie Barham's one and only game:)

16-01-2010, 07:03 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/JM.jpg

Jim McAllister against Paul Roos

16-01-2010, 07:04 PM
Thank's all folk's.

But you never know, I may find more.

16-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Thanks for that. I enjoy looking at the old photos.

17-01-2010, 12:59 AM

Bluey Hampshire, if I'm not mistaken, going the grab.

17-01-2010, 01:37 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/Image5.jpg

Dougie Hawkins verses Hawthorn at the WO

And Tiiiiiits right behind him. I'll bet that Michael Tuck isnt running all that hard to the contest. With Ricky Kennedy between him and the ball I dont blame him either! Just check out the mad stare that Tits has on him.

Bluey Hampshire, if I'm not mistaken, going the grab.

IIRC that's been posted on here before. We had a long discussion about whether the other Footscray player in the marking contest is Bill Berry or not.

Thanks HD60 these are great mate. Pity about the water damage with the others.

17-01-2010, 01:50 PM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/simonBeasley.jpg

You can see the water damage, Simon Bealey against Richmond.

I think this is the game we had a 10 goal 1st quarter and Jim Edmonds kicked 5

Yep you're right. You can tell what year it is because the players have the 'Go West' sponsorship logo that we wore in the early part of the '83 season. We had it until around round 7 or 8 when Eastcoast came on board for the rest of the year.

BTW Edmond kicked 6 in that first quarter and finished with 7 for the day. We led by ten goals at quarter time (10.4-0.4) Richmind hit the front in the last quarter but we steadied and won by a goal and a bit. It was on ANZAC day 1983 (stick that up your arse Collingwood!) in front of more than 60, 000 people.

17-01-2010, 02:15 PM
Yep you're right. You can tell what year it is because the players have the 'Go West' sponsorship logo that we wore in the early part of the '83 season. We had it until around round 7 or 8 when Eastcoast came on board for the rest of the year.

BTW Edmond kicked 6 in that first quarter and finished with 7 for the day. We led by ten goals at quarter time (10.4-0.4) Richmind hit the front in the last quarter but we steadied and won by a goal and a bit. It was on ANZAC day 1983 (stick that up your arse Collingwood!) in front of more than 60, 000 people.

Richmond 0.3 - 8.8 - 13.11 - 17.12 (114)
Footscray 10.3 - 12.3 - 16.5 - 18.8 (116)
GOALS: Richmond: B.Taylor 3, P.Welsh 3, M.Rioli 3, R.Wiley 2, K.Bartlett 2, M.Keane, B.Rowlings, J.Jess, M.Wall
Footscray: J.Edmond 7, S.Beasley 3, I.Williams 3, R.MacPherson 2, S.MacPherson, R.Groenewegen, C.Burton
Crowd: 51,651 at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Monday, 25th April

17-01-2010, 04:03 PM
Richmond 0.3 - 8.8 - 13.11 - 17.12 (114)
Footscray 10.3 - 12.3 - 16.5 - 18.8 (116)
GOALS: Richmond: B.Taylor 3, P.Welsh 3, M.Rioli 3, R.Wiley 2, K.Bartlett 2, M.Keane, B.Rowlings, J.Jess, M.Wall
Footscray: J.Edmond 7, S.Beasley 3, I.Williams 3, R.MacPherson 2, S.MacPherson, R.Groenewegen, C.Burton
Crowd: 51,651 at Melbourne Cricket Ground on Monday, 25th April

What a great first quarter that was, sensational

17-01-2010, 09:09 PM

Spewing to this didn't become a tradition for us. Two years shy of my first trip to the footy

18-01-2010, 11:33 AM
Great photos, thanks for that.

20-01-2010, 09:03 PM

This one is Dougie, not Stan Davidson.

Thanks for the pics

20-01-2010, 09:17 PM
This one is Dougie, not Stan Davidson.

Thanks for the pics

From memory this pic was taken the same day as the other shot with Hawkins and Kennedy. Dougie has a sleeveless jumper on. Also I did write on the back of this photo years ago, but in saying that it was a little bit after the event. I think that number 9 is also on the back of the jumper.

20-01-2010, 09:26 PM
Great shots. But sadly, good luck taking photos @ AFL games these days. A couple of times I have been @ AAMI taking photos of junior games @ half time (allowed on the Oval as the "designated camera guy") but when i've pulled my camera out of my bag earlier in the day the red coats have pounced like I am just about to streak on the Oval. And it's only a 200 mm SLR, so nothing too professional looking. (The camera that is...)

20-01-2010, 10:26 PM
From memory this pic was taken the same day as the other shot with Hawkins and Kennedy. Dougie has a sleeveless jumper on. Also I did write on the back of this photo years ago, but in saying that it was a little bit after the event. I think that number 9 is also on the back of the jumper.

Looking at that chin and what appears to be number 7 on his back, I'd put money on it being Hawkins. By memory Stan had much darker hair.....but I could be wrong:-)

20-01-2010, 11:39 PM
Great shots. But sadly, good luck taking photos @ AFL games these days. A couple of times I have been @ AAMI taking photos of junior games @ half time (allowed on the Oval as the "designated camera guy") but when i've pulled my camera out of my bag earlier in the day the red coats have pounced like I am just about to streak on the Oval. And it's only a 200 mm SLR, so nothing too professional looking. (The camera that is...)

How times have changed, I always got to the ground for the start of the reserves and sometimes the under 19's. But it has been 29 years since I was at a game in Melbourne and in those days no problems at all going to the footy with a telephoto lens and a SLR.

21-01-2010, 03:12 PM
Thanks heaps Hotdog. Fantasic shots :)

21-02-2018, 10:54 AM
Looking back on this thread, I really enjoyed the memories - thanks HD

Anyone taken any shots these days that could add to it?

21-02-2018, 11:31 AM
Great photos Hotdog60. I wasn't around during those times but it's great to have a look at the Bulldogs from the early 1980s.

21-02-2018, 12:50 PM

Billy's dad! We have 2 father/son prospects in the Australian cricket set up ATM-both fast bowlers. Billy Davdson and Glenn Coleman's son. I can't remember what Glenn's son is called. I wonder how they both ended up in Queensland? From memory Stan came from Bairsdale and Glenn came from country Victoria.

And speaking of F/S there is Zaine's old man Brian in the number 49.

21-02-2018, 01:01 PM
Billy's dad! We have 2 father/son prospects in the Australian cricket set up ATM-both fast bowlers. Billy Davdson and Glenn Coleman's son. I can't remember what Glenn's son is called. I wonder how they both ended up in Queensland? From memory Stan came from Bairsdale and Glenn came from country Victoria.

Do you mean Billy Stanlake - Warren Stanlake's son? And Jackson Colemen is Glenn Coleman's boy and plays for Victoria.

21-02-2018, 01:33 PM
Do you mean Billy Stanlake - Warren Stanlake's son? And Jackson Colemen is Glenn Coleman's boy and plays for Victoria.

That's who I meant. Well spotted, I was wondering...

21-02-2018, 01:57 PM

Stan Davidson original team was Sale.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stan_Davidson

21-02-2018, 06:36 PM
love it! brings back great memories!

22-02-2018, 07:51 AM

Looks like "Sockeye Salmon" going for the mark.

22-02-2018, 07:54 AM
What a great first quarter that was, sensational

Great game. I can't remember if Richmond ever took the lead but I don't think they did.

22-02-2018, 07:58 AM
Stan Davidson original team was Sale.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stan_Davidson

Stan was a good footballer. Played a lot of good games for us.

22-02-2018, 08:01 AM
http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb256/Diggydogxx/123.jpg

Jamie Barham's one and only game:)

That's Bruce Reid behind him.

22-02-2018, 08:10 AM

Pretty sure that it's Simon Beasley Mer.

22-02-2018, 08:11 AM
Great game. I can't remember if Richmond ever took the lead but I don't think they did.

I think they did. I will check on YouTube later.

22-02-2018, 09:54 AM

Definitely Bruce Reid.

22-02-2018, 09:56 AM
Definitely Bruce Reid.

Correct

22-02-2018, 10:16 AM
Geez how well am I going lately?

22-02-2018, 12:11 PM
For those looking to add to their collection you are right to take any camera and lenses up to 200mm focal length, for private use only obviously. If they give you grief at the bag check you can always revert to the ts and c's here

http://m.afl.com.au/tickets/conditions-of-entry

They may get their senior to double check but I haven't had an issue the couple of times I have gone in.

http://m.afl.com.au/tickets/conditions-of-entry

22-02-2018, 01:18 PM
Thanks muttley. Somebody asked me last season what restrictions there are on cameras.

22-02-2018, 01:22 PM

Definitely Bruce Reid.

Who is the other player? My guess is Michael McKenna or Michael Kelly.

22-02-2018, 01:28 PM
Who is the other player? My guess is Michael McKenna or Michael Kelly.

My guess is Mick Kelly.

Nup. It's Mick McKenna pre lid. Just checked the stats for 1982 when this game was played and Mick Kelly didn't play any games that year.

22-02-2018, 02:41 PM
My guess is Mick Kelly.

Nup. It's Mick McKenna pre lid. Just checked the stats for 1982 when this game was played and Mick Kelly didn't play any games that year.

I used to work with Mick Kelly's sister at Footscray CES back in the 1980s. The game that Barham played in I just can't remember even though I remember the game at Moorabin the year before and the year after. We led all day only to get overrun in the last quarter and lose by 11 points but I can't remember it for the life of me.

22-02-2018, 03:12 PM
Yeah, you're probably right. Sockeye was a bit more thickset than The Pieman. Someone earlier suggested Bluey Hampshire. But I never saw him jump that high!
But I did see him take a bounce at Westetn Oval one day! He good at huge cheer for that!

22-02-2018, 03:27 PM
We loved Bluey.

23-02-2018, 09:10 AM
We loved Bluey.

He was a crowd favourite for sure. Others in that category: Terry Wheeler, Glen Coleman, Mark, "Master of the Don't Argue" Kellett, Michael "Fruitcake" Ford, Mickey Egan, Steve Kretiuk, Steve Kolyniuk, Ben Hudson.

23-02-2018, 09:24 AM
He was a crowd favourite for sure. Others in that category: Terry Wheeler, Glen Coleman, Mark, "Master of the Don't Argue" Kellett, Michael "Fruitcake" Ford, Mickey Egan, Steve Kretiuk, Steve Kolyniuk, Ben Hudson.

Squirrel, Galaxy, captain, Fruicake, Megan, Critter, Billy, the People's Beard.

23-02-2018, 11:19 PM
Squirrel, Galaxy, captain, Fruicake, Megan, Critter, Billy, the People's Beard.

They were great days at the Western Oval. I really enjoyed following the Dogs at that venue. The home ground atmosphere was just so good. Nothing better than standing on the concourse in front of the EJ Whitten and sinking a few cans.

23-02-2018, 11:58 PM
They were great days at the Western Oval. I really enjoyed following the Dogs at that venue. The home ground atmosphere was just so good. Nothing better than standing on the concourse in front of the EJ Whitten and sinking a few cans.

I use to meet the same guys each time we played there in between the umpires race and players race. Pity we didn't have more success. 1985 was the best year of the 80s, so much fun and should have gone all the way.

24-02-2018, 02:04 AM

I use to meet the same guys each time we played there in between the umpires race and players race. Pity we didn't have more success. 1985 was the best year of the 80s, so much fun and should have gone all the way.

I still stand with the same guys I stood with at Whitten oval, We just found ourselves somewhere we like to stand at Etihad.

We have kids and grandkids standing there now.

24-02-2018, 05:34 PM
Stan was a good footballer. Played a lot of good games for us.

Great to learn about these names who may not have been necessarily the bigger ones back in the 1980s who played for our club back in the day.

24-02-2018, 06:20 PM
Great to learn about these names who may not have been necessarily the bigger ones back in the 1980s who played for our club back in the day.

Stan Davidson finished his career at Williamstown and played in a flag for them. I can't remember what year for sure but I think it may have been the premiership that Ronnie James played in-1988?

26-02-2018, 08:34 PM

I'm pretty sure it was one of the first games of '85 when I saw us towel up the Blues at Princes Park. Brad Hardie played a cracker and Shorty Daniels played too. We also had Jimmy Sewell and Polly Purser. I thought after this game that we were going to have a really good year. And we did.

26-02-2018, 10:20 PM
I'm pretty sure it was one of the first games of '85 when I saw us towel up the Blues at Princes Park. Brad Hardie played a cracker and Shorty Daniels played too. We also had Jimmy Sewell and Polly Purser. I thought after this game that we were going to have a really good year. And we did.

R1 1985, we hadn't won at Princes Park since 1964. Bloody Neal Cordy kicked the first goal of that wonderful season to the scoreboard end. I think Beasley kicked 6 and Bamblett kicked a few.

Some seasons earlier we had hailed Scott Howell as the second coming of John Nicholls and we had been yelling "Nicholls" everytime he went near the ball because it drove Carlton supporters mad for some reason.

02-04-2018, 09:56 AM
Tried to upload some photos I took yesterday but can't get the file size right feel free to have a look here, any tips I can use to get them on the thread apposed to a cloud drive is appreciated �� https://photos.app.goo.gl/Yct77vEOnLuJ3hxg1

02-04-2018, 10:36 AM
Tried to upload some photos I took yesterday but can't get the file size right feel free to have a look here, any tips I can use to get them on the thread apposed to a cloud drive is appreciated �� https://photos.app.goo.gl/Yct77vEOnLuJ3hxg1

Have you seen this thread muttley?

https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?374-How-To-Post-Pictures

I don't know if it will be any help. Bornadog is pretty proficient at posting all sorts of things too. I have no idea myself.

02-04-2018, 11:53 AM
Thanks two dogs I wasn't aware of that thread
https://postimg.org/gallery/zhwtqt2w/

02-04-2018, 12:09 PM
Thanks two dogs I wasn't aware of that thread
https://postimg.org/gallery/zhwtqt2w/

Some good shots there

https://s31.postimg.org/vphs2vtrf/DSC_9311_2.jpg

All I did there was open the link to the above picture in a new tab and then copied and pasted here.

02-04-2018, 12:10 PM
A good leap from Roughy against NicNat.

https://s31.postimg.org/cx5wzb52z/DSC_9320_2.jpg

02-04-2018, 12:40 PM
Thanks bornadog it's a fine line between taking shots and annoying the people next to you lol