PDA

View Full Version : News Story Contacts

LostDoggy
28-04-2010, 11:09 PM
Hey guys,

I'm studying journalism at Swinburne University. One of your next assignments is to write a news story where we are required to attend an event. This could be a hearing in the Magistrates Court, a local council meeting, a sporting event or anything else really. I think I'm going to go for a sporting event and was thinking of writing my story on the Williamstown vs. Port Melbourne or Williamstown vs. Werribee match. I was just wondering if it is actually possible to get interviews with the coaches at VFL level? My friend gave me Peter German's number today but I feel so weird calling someone I don't know. This is the hardest part of journalism. :mad:

Also does anyone know how people go about getting press passes and get into press conferences at AFL level? I don't understand how this works. Do you need to be a journalist at a media outlet to go to a press conference? I'd love to do it on a game at AFL level like our game Friday night but I doubt it would be possible. Getting interviews at VFL level seem hard enough for someone studying journalism.

Thoughts? Ideas?

bornadog
28-04-2010, 11:17 PM
The AFL have a media department, why don't you call them and see if you can get some advice.

LostDoggy
28-04-2010, 11:40 PM
The AFL have a media department, why don't you call them and see if you can get some advice.

Good idea. Let's just say the AFL site isn't that 'user friendly'.
All I could find was this (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/82192/default.aspx).

So I'm guessing you need to be accredited to cover the AFL. I'm not really covering anything though because what I write wont be published.

bornadog
29-04-2010, 12:02 AM
Good idea. Let's just say the AFL site isn't that 'user friendly'.
All I could find was this (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/82192/default.aspx).