View Full Version : Bulldog for Prime Minister

23-06-2010, 11:38 PM
With the current rumblings by the AWU, it is looking more likley that Julia Gillard will soon replace Rudd as PM. Have the Bulldogs ever been the team of an Australian Prime Minister? Serving or elected if you are pedantic enough to define.;)

23-06-2010, 11:48 PM
Does this mean she will be playing Full Forward against the Hawks???:D

Send her a Peoples Beard scarf.

23-06-2010, 11:55 PM
Or make a new scarf: “Bulldog Fans Rule”

23-06-2010, 11:59 PM
does this mean she will be playing full forward against the hawks???:d

send her a peoples beard scarf.

ggggiiiiiiilllllllaaaaaarrrrrrdddddd!!!
Ggggiiiiiiilllllllaaaaaarrrrrrdddddd!!!
:d

24-06-2010, 12:03 AM
Errrr, no thanks. When she is an even remotely competent Education minister I will begin to entertain the idea of her as PM. Not before.

Besides, she kinda reminds me of that angry ass redhead game show host that was mean to people.

24-06-2010, 12:06 AM

Full Back to silence the 'Buddy Factor'. Move Lake forward, Hall follows Gibson to where ever Gibson runs away to and everyone else starts plucking every other Hawk.

24-06-2010, 12:09 AM
Errrr, no thanks. When she is an even remotely competent Education minister I will begin to entertain the idea of her as PM. Not before.

Besides, she kinda reminds me of that angry ass redhead game show host that was mean to people.

Kinda gotta thing for that demographic.

24-06-2010, 12:58 AM
A Fanta Pants as PM ... :D

he he he he he

24-06-2010, 01:50 AM
With the current rumblings by the AWU, it is looking more likley that Julia Gillard will soon replace Rudd as PM. Have the Bulldogs ever been the team of an Australian Prime Minister? Serving or elected if you are pedantic enough to define.;)

Our club doesn't need this embarrassment. One Terry Wallace is enough.

24-06-2010, 01:59 AM
Why exactly do you see this as an embarrassment?

24-06-2010, 02:17 AM

Let's look at her record:

Her time in Opposition:

- Medicare Gold

- Supported Latham

- Botched industrial relations with business & industry pre-election (Swan and Rudd had to take it over negotiating with business)

And in Govt:

- Botched Education Revolution computers in school fiasco

- One of the kitchen cabinet Four who approved the pink batts disaster

- Botched BER wasteful spending

- Supported the ridiculous mining tax

- Part of the "Gang of Four" who have implemented every govt policy for some time

We don't need this sorry record attached to our club.

24-06-2010, 02:43 AM

I agree with your comment in another thread that both sides of federal govt resemble the Richmond Football Club ATM! was funny, and true. But if we are talking individuals she is certainly no Terry Wallace Dry Rot and probably the best PM we could have at the moment , when you consider the alternatives...um, Abbott anyone? :(

24-06-2010, 02:56 AM

Have you seen the condition our state schools were/are in after a decade + of coalition rule?
Shame on her for trying to do something about it and redress the balance:rolleyes:

24-06-2010, 03:01 AM
Have you seen the condition our state schools were/are in after a decade + of coalition rule?
Shame on her for trying to do something about it and redress the balance:rolleyes:

Lucky for you education is a Federal responsibility not a state responsibility, otherwise you've made a fool of yourself with this post.

Or is it?

24-06-2010, 03:07 AM
IShe is certainly no Terry Wallace

Really?

As the Govt Gang of Four, she is every part of the Terry Wallace style of govt as Kevin Rudd.

As for Abbott and his friends, we have a terrible choice. I am a big fan of Paul Keating, and God knows what he makes of the current govt.

Have you noticed that he and Hawke have said nothing in the last 6 months? Both must be embarrassed being associated with these clowns.

24-06-2010, 03:29 AM
Lucky for you education is a Federal responsibility not a state responsibility, otherwise you've made a fool of yourself with this post.

Or is it?

So you're saying Johnny didn't favour private schools, ? or am i misunderstanding you?

24-06-2010, 03:34 AM
So you're saying Johnny didn't favour private schools, ? or am i misunderstanding you?

I'm saying firstly that schools are primarily a state responsibility.

Secondly, you're making a fool of yourself.

Which Federal ALP Govt elected in December 2007 chose to continue Howard's appalling private school funding scheme because they had no balls?

24-06-2010, 03:52 AM
Yes, that would be great to see Julia Gillard as Prime Minister. She might come along to a few matches and raise our profile somewhat.

Sending her that Beard Scarf might generate some publicity.

A brand new $600 million stadium wouldn't go astray.

24-06-2010, 04:34 AM
I'm saying firstly that schools are primarily a state responsibility.

Secondly, you're making a fool of yourself.

Which Federal ALP Govt elected in December 2007 chose to continue Howard's appalling private school funding scheme because they had no balls?

???
I think I agreed with you previously that both parties were the equivalent of the richmond football club.
But education went to the dogs under the Howard government I dont see how you could argue otherwise. Gillard is spending some money now in schools that i'm guessing wouldn't have been spent if the Liberal party had won the last election.

24-06-2010, 04:51 AM

Haha , and is there room for Julia and Baz up forward now that Johno is back?

24-06-2010, 10:53 AM
and she's now the PM

More interestingly, she was born in a City named "Barry" in Wales.....

24-06-2010, 11:02 AM
and she's now the PM

Gavin and Stacey anyone?

24-06-2010, 11:08 AM
and she's now the PM

Mwahahahahah

Our plan to lead a Bulldog take-over of the country is progressing nicely :cool:

24-06-2010, 11:29 AM
And she's Melbourne Storm's number one female ticket holder too. :D

24-06-2010, 12:01 PM
Breaking News - The Western Bulldogs have just announced a $1 Billion upgrade to Whitten Oval. Noone is quite sure where the money has come from.

24-06-2010, 12:03 PM
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q136/westernbulldogs1/jgillardcrop.jpg

Now to convince President Obama to become a member...

I'm working on it. :D

24-06-2010, 12:10 PM

Agree TCD - I think we are heading into dangerous territory when a footy forum starts talking politics. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and we should all respect that - doesn't mean I have to agree though. But let's be reasonable people, and polite! i.e., what has red hair got to do with anything? C'mon everyone and let's show some respect. BTW - surely it's a good thing that we now have a PM who is a passionate bulldog supporter and also lives in the western subs?

24-06-2010, 12:11 PM

Love your work!

24-06-2010, 12:17 PM

Julia rules! Move Baz out to CHF.

I like her. She's got as good a chance as any poor sucker politician to cover herself in glory. As our No.1 ticket holder we should back her all the way.

24-06-2010, 12:26 PM
I thought she was the number 1 female ticket holder but acoording to the website it's Lynne Kosky and Peter Gordon. The internet never lies does it? She will find it hard to turn up to the Mauka game next year I'd imagine as well. Let's hope there's no Judd-ster Rudd-ster moment, but I must say Julia does look resplendent in Red white and blue as always and she doesn't look nerdy waving her scarf like Kevin did at the Brisbane game last year wasn't it????

24-06-2010, 12:27 PM
Go Julia - Whether you like her or not - She has become the 1st female prime minister in Australia and cemented her name in history. The bulldogs were all over triple M this morning with her comments a few weeks ago about playing full forward. This is exposure for our mighty club. Now how long she keeps the top job - only time will tell. I think people will give her a go because Abbott is not a great alternative. Then what she does is up to her. But she has my supoort - a local girl, office in werribee, and a bulldog supporter !!!!!!

24-06-2010, 12:36 PM
For what it's worth..i reckon it's a great move both for our club and the country!! She will make a great prime minister.

24-06-2010, 12:46 PM
I dont think Da Druid wanted a labour/liberal political discussion here... they are as bad as each other anyway.

Good on her... go dogs.. love the pic above, any woman wearing the red white and blue looks hot to me.

Would love to see her office, any ideas on her memoreabilia collection?

24-06-2010, 12:47 PM
Can she find funds for our own VFL team to play out of Whitten Oval? If so, Labour gets my vote!

24-06-2010, 12:48 PM
If she can improve Point Cook Road, she gets my vote!

24-06-2010, 12:56 PM

Unfortunatly for me ..I am so dyed in the wool she could use my doorstep as her toilet and still get my vote....so maybe my expectations are not all that high!!:D:D

24-06-2010, 02:17 PM
Gavin and Stacey anyone?

Alright Smiflar?

24-06-2010, 02:32 PM
With the current rumblings by the AWU, it is looking more likley that Julia Gillard will soon replace Rudd as PM.

Oh no :mad:

24-06-2010, 02:56 PM
I for one welcome our new red head female overlord.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/kent_brockman.gif

24-06-2010, 03:03 PM
I welcome her too. An historic day for Australian women.

24-06-2010, 03:10 PM

She isn't a miracle worker.

24-06-2010, 03:21 PM
I dont think Da Druid wanted a labour/liberal political discussion here... they are as bad as each other anyway.

Good on her... go dogs.. love the pic above, any woman wearing the red white and blue looks hot to me.

Would love to see her office, any ideas on her memoreabilia collection?

Thanks MarcoV, still haven't got an answer to my original question from anyone so far. Looking for trivia, not the annexation of this thread by more infighting and taunts than the French World Cup Soccer team.

24-06-2010, 03:40 PM
In answer to your question Druid I always thought Prime ministers picked teams just because it was good to have an allegiance to one that suited the persona of the certain prime minister.

But in this case we all know Julia has truely been a bulldog supporter most of her life and has proven to be a lover of the club before becoming prime minister.
And to make it even better has her offices in the west.

24-06-2010, 03:44 PM
She isn't a miracle worker.
Running late for the first hole from time to time?;)
Ah well, you will be able to relax at another pokies venue next door to the shopping centre. No doubt I will see you at the sports bar.

24-06-2010, 03:49 PM
Susan Alberti will be interviewed on 774 ABC at approx 5.20 pm this afternoon re JG. she will also have a bit of fun re JG's role on the WB team.
________
Ferrari 212 Inter History (http://www.ferrari-wiki.com/wiki/Ferrari_212_Inter)

24-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Too bad Susan won't be on 774 tomorrow afternoon. She might be able to help me with my absolutely awful recent tipping! ;)

24-06-2010, 03:55 PM
Can I get this in Qld or is it only for Melbourne audience?

24-06-2010, 04:01 PM
Can I get this in Qld or is it only for Melbourne audience?

Should be able to listen here:

http://www.abc.net.au/melbourne/

24-06-2010, 04:04 PM
I for one welcome our new red head female overlord.

http://i267.photobucket.com/albums/ii283/brightblue462/kent_brockman.gif

One think is for sure, there is no stopping her.

24-06-2010, 04:06 PM
http://i46.tinypic.com/33cylgg.jpg

24-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Hi Curly!

You can listen online like I do. http://www.abc.net.au/melbourne/ Last week there was a bit of a delay online and I heard the last couple of minutes of the show after I had gone off air. Tomorrow I'm hoping to get in a shout out to WOOF member ReLoad and his family whom I had the pleasure of meeting and with whom I went to a Cubs game last week. They were visiting our fair city. And we really turned on the many facets of a Chicago summer for them! Oh yeah, the Cubs won the game we went to. :D

Oops... TCD got in before me. I'm listening now.

24-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Leaving the game in Canberra, a guy a little under the weather (harmless) was hugging us and said I got my picture with Julia. He was fumbling with his mobile to show us. His mate said guess what he said to her ? "Good on you Toots, you will be PM one day". I hope for his sake he didn't delete that photo from his phone.

24-06-2010, 04:11 PM
:D:D:D Anthony! May I use that to post on an ex-pat's site?

24-06-2010, 04:27 PM
Thanks, TCD and Chicago1, I'm now tuned in.

Chicago and Anthony, I hope you don't mind but I have saved your pictures for my desktop, they are great. :)

24-06-2010, 04:34 PM
In regards to photo shopping her head on a players body surely there is only one candidates body she should go on. Which reminds me, does he have new ink on his leg I noticed from the Subiaco game the other day? Anyone know what it is even if its old, its pretty big????

24-06-2010, 04:39 PM
Not my pic KruZin on Big Footy did the work. He is a good guy and will not mind.

24-06-2010, 04:41 PM
In regards to photo shopping her head on a players body surely there is only one candidates body she should go on. Which reminds me, does he have new ink on his leg I noticed from the Subiaco game the other day? Anyone know what it is even if its old, its pretty big????
Cooooooooooon !

24-06-2010, 05:48 PM
http://www.junglewraiths.net/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10008/gill.jpg

24-06-2010, 05:54 PM
l think some people are missing the point.

This is not about politics this is about the PM being a Bulldogs supporter.

By the way love the photoshop's don't stop, keep them coming.

24-06-2010, 06:19 PM
Alright Smiflar?

gavlar!.. whats occuring?

24-06-2010, 06:33 PM
Haha, nice one, Susie. Julia in the cheersquad? Don't know about that .... unless we make the GF and maybe we could invite her to hold one of the ropes on the banner.

24-06-2010, 06:40 PM
Susan Alberti was great on 774 just a few minutes ago. Glad I stayed up to listen. Night all.

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q136/westernbulldogs1/Gillard_Johson_246a.jpg

24-06-2010, 06:54 PM
Gee if a week is along time in football a day in politics seems like an eternity ! Just as the thread started just great to see A Dog Fan as PM,and a woman is a groundbreaking day. On a side note I can't believe people don't like her because she isn't married! Some folk should just remain in their cave,honestly:rolleyes:

24-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Guys, just a reminder that this is sports forum that is mainly dedicated to discussing the Western Bulldogs. Whilst it's great to have a Bulldog supporting PM I'll delete all posts that turn this or any other discussion on the forum into a political issues debate.

If you want to discuss politics, look around for somewhere else.

24-06-2010, 09:49 PM
l think some people are missing the point.

This is not about politics this is about the PM being a Bulldogs supporter.

By the way love the photoshop's don't stop, keep them coming.

This isn't the best, but it is inspired...

"This man was in good company at the Dogs' latest match..."

24-06-2010, 10:20 PM
Having the now Prime Minister the the clubs number one ticket holder can only be seen as a huge positive for the club and if club management chooses to use this to benefit the club such as getting more major sponsors of which has always been a draw back, so be it.

I would support any move the club uses to make us more stronger both financially and on the field so we can all have this proud club going longer especially for the supporters!

25-06-2010, 07:02 AM
Lyn Kosky is the female number 1 ticket holder and Peter Gordon is the number 1 male ticket holder. Please note records. Our PM is a proud member of the WB, just like members of this WOOF forum.
________
Rhode island dispensaries (http://rhodeisland.dispensaries.org/)

25-06-2010, 07:26 AM
The question is can she get us funding for 35k indoor stadium around Whitten Oval:D

25-06-2010, 08:35 AM
The community sports hall construction is about to commence. The WB have most of the funding to complete this additional building at the WB. Watch this space
________
Anal Fetish (http://www.****tube.com/categories/87/fetish/videos/1)

25-06-2010, 10:37 AM
Lyn Kosky is the female number 1 ticket holder and Peter Gordon is the number 1 male ticket holder. Please note records. Our PM is a proud member of the WB, just like members of this WOOF forum.

Lynne Kosky —*Damn…

25-06-2010, 11:07 AM

Surely given our PM's now existing record of usurping the no. 1 spot Ms. Kosky will now be looking over her shoulder?

(It's a joke, don't hit me!)

25-06-2010, 01:19 PM
No one has yet addressed my original question. :confused:
Has any previous PM been a recognised Bulldogs fan?

25-06-2010, 01:49 PM
Druid I looked it up but couldnt find one.

25-06-2010, 01:59 PM

Thanks for clearing that up Susie, I thought she was no. 1 female ticket folder, so will amend my posts in future!! :)

25-06-2010, 02:35 PM
http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/51337843.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921F7C3FC3F69D929FD3D6E8E24F8AD364C846C917351 F89C3190A456B80E2DE916688C6CDC44E04CDD?

25-06-2010, 02:41 PM
Thanks, ledge.

25-06-2010, 05:11 PM
http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/51337843.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921F7C3FC3F69D929FD3D6E8E24F8AD364C846C917351 F89C3190A456B80E2DE916688C6CDC44E04CDD?

If there was a "horrified" smiley, i'd insert one. This one (:eek:) will have to do.

25-06-2010, 06:01 PM
http://www.junglewraiths.net/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10008/gill.jpg

That is fantastic!! Well done!! :D

25-06-2010, 09:22 PM
Hope this helps DaDruid.

Herald Sun 25 june 2010

Finally, a PM whose footy passion has plenty of bite Mad Dog Gillard.

http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/8674/scan013.jpg

25-06-2010, 09:45 PM
Thank you fellow woofers for amending my mistake of the female no.1 ticket holder, maybe Gillard in the near future.

Hope to see the PM in the crowd come September!

25-06-2010, 10:24 PM
Thank you fellow woofers for amending my mistake of the female no.1 ticket holder, maybe Gillard in the near future.

Hope to see the PM in the crowd come September!

Again, she has form.....

25-06-2010, 10:40 PM

Her time in Opposition:

- Medicare Gold

- Supported Latham

- Botched industrial relations with business & industry pre-election (Swan and Rudd had to take it over negotiating with business)

And in Govt:

- One of the kitchen cabinet Four who approved the pink batts disaster

- Botched BER wasteful spending

- Supported the ridiculous mining tax

- Part of the "Gang of Four" who have implemented every govt policy for some time

We don't need this sorry record attached to our club.

Ok. So. I saw Rudd pumping his fists in the air with a Brisbane scarf last season at the GABA. Gillard has made Bulldogs her club. Political posturing? My question is; How long has she been a supporter? Personally, being an Artist I'm pretty good at reading faces. While I loath liberals she has a snide and arrogant side that leaves me cold.

25-06-2010, 11:25 PM
Ok. So. I saw Rudd pumping his fists in the air with a Brisbane scarf last season at the GABA. Gillard has made Bulldogs her club. Political posturing? My question is; How long has she been a supporter? Personally, being an Artist I'm pretty good at reading faces. While I loath liberals she has a snide and arrogant side that leaves me cold.

Wow, a snide an arrogant politician. I'm shocked. Shocked!

I don't know exactly how long, but it's on the public record that her support for the Dogs goes back a long way.

25-06-2010, 11:38 PM
Wow, a snide an arrogant politician. I'm shocked. Shocked!

I don't know exactly how long, but it's on the public record that her support for the Dogs goes back a long way.

Since before artist's were allowed in Footscray (well except to score before they went back to Fitzroy)

26-06-2010, 12:08 AM
Thanks TDB.

27-06-2010, 09:32 PM
http://i46.tinypic.com/33cylgg.jpg

Who's body is that ? Griff? Aker ?

27-06-2010, 09:59 PM
Who's body is that ? Griff? Aker ?

Aker

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2009/09/10/wbAFLwbbris_wideweb__470x417,0.jpg

28-06-2010, 12:20 PM

You are off the mark about Gillard as a supporter, so it's quite possible your Artist's imagination has dreamed up 'snide and arrogant', which may just as easily be 'clever and confident'.

01-07-2010, 02:09 PM
B] How long has she been a supporter?[/B]

I read somewhere last week that she's been a bulldog supporter all her life. I dont know whether that means she was a bulldog supporter when she lived in Adelaide or she only started living after she moved to Melbourne.

01-07-2010, 03:20 PM
I read somewhere last week that she's been a bulldog supporter all her life. I dont know whether that means she was a bulldog supporter when she lived in Adelaide or she only started living after she moved to Melbourne.
I read that alos, said she was a Bulldog supporter since she was a yoiung girl, I think.

01-07-2010, 08:56 PM
I think I read somewhere (this is all so authoritative!) that she started supporting the Dogs after beginning work at Slater and Gordon as a baby lawyer, because Peter Gordon was a keen Bulldog. So maybe not quite since childhood, but a good few years anyway.

01-07-2010, 10:07 PM
If you pay your entry/membership, put on your colours and cheer for your team, I'd be proud to be beside you, and that is every other Bulldog fan that lives. It is not what seperates us but what we have in common that makes us strong. I have not enjoyed some posts here as I do believe some failed to understand my question in the original post after Julia actually became PM. I loved the funny cut and pastes!! But I do wish some serious personal comments were not made about a fellow Bulldog fan. This thread was started to get an trivia type answer, not become a political soapbox. Won't be upset if a moderator steps in and removes it.

:o:confused::o:(:eek::o

01-07-2010, 11:51 PM
I think I read somewhere (this is all so authoritative!) that she started supporting the Dogs after beginning work at Slater and Gordon as a baby lawyer, because Peter Gordon was a keen Bulldog. So maybe not quite since childhood, but a good few years anyway.

If this is true, then she went for the Dogs as a good career move?

02-07-2010, 10:40 AM
She doesn't seem to be "faking" her support for the club if that's what you're implying

02-07-2010, 11:27 AM
I tend to agree with DaDruid, why so negative we have a long time doggies supporter who has always shown her colours as far back as i can remember as PM, thats awesome !
Its the first lady as PM, first western suburbs person and supporter to be one, offices in Werribee so lets be proud and let the world know!

02-07-2010, 01:14 PM

Or she was working at Slater and Gordon in Footscray. Lot's of people move here and fall in love with the team.

Not everyone is lucky enough to have been born in Footscray!

02-07-2010, 01:24 PM
Not everyone is lucky enough to have been born in Footscray!

Well I know I have to try and not look down on people who were not.

02-07-2010, 01:53 PM
Yep supporters and MEMBERS come from everywhere now, we need them all.

I still think she looks hot in the red white and blue.

02-07-2010, 02:00 PM
Well I know I have to try and not look down on people who were not.

I gave up trying to do that years ago. I just had to come to terms with the massive biological lottery I won when I was born in Footscray.

It wasnt looking all that flash yesterday in the Mall though. I dont know what Footscray will do when Forges closes.

02-07-2010, 02:03 PM
Yep supporters and MEMBERS come from everywhere now, we need them all.

I still think she looks hot in the red white and blue.

I think that's stretching her appeal.

02-07-2010, 03:52 PM
Another nice photo: GO DOGS, GO STORM!! :D

02-07-2010, 06:10 PM
Forges is CLOSING???:eek:

03-07-2010, 01:08 PM
Forges is CLOSING???:eek:

Moving to a big warehouse type thingy at Central West in Ashley st. The middle of Footscray will be like a ghost town.

03-07-2010, 09:25 PM
Moving to a big warehouse type thingy at Central West in Ashley st. The middle of Footscray will be like a ghost town.

It already is of a night, only spooky stuff going on then and not a lot better during the day either although I tend to be a little like Moses parting the Red Sea, the scum tend to withdraw to the other side of the road if they see me . Not known for toleration in drugs dept or shy and quiet in expressing it either.

03-07-2010, 10:52 PM
If you pay your entry/membership, put on your colours and cheer for your team, I'd be proud to be beside you, and that is every other Bulldog fan that lives. It is not what seperates us but what we have in common that makes us strong. I have not enjoyed some posts here as I do believe some failed to understand my question in the original post after Julia actually became PM. I loved the funny cut and pastes!! But I do wish some serious personal comments were not made about a fellow Bulldog fan. This thread was started to get an trivia type answer, not become a political soapbox. Won't be upset if a moderator steps in and removes it.

Well said DaDruid! :o

04-07-2010, 01:15 PM
It already is of a night, only spooky stuff going on then and not a lot better during the day either although I tend to be a little like Moses parting the Red Sea, the scum tend to withdraw to the other side of the road if they see me . Not known for toleration in drugs dept or shy and quiet in expressing it either.

I sat in the mall the other day for 15 minutes and the amount of blatant drug traffiking going on was horrific. I really wish that scum would **** off out of my hometown.

04-07-2010, 07:54 PM
I sat in the mall the other day for 15 minutes and the amount of blatant drug traffiking going on was horrific. I really wish that scum would **** off out of my hometown.

Amen brother.

04-07-2010, 08:37 PM

Unfortunately DD, she's PM before Bulldogs fan, and people will take shots (and they're entitled to, it's democracy) for it. FWIW I'm Julia neutral politically. I'm prepared to give her a go. Regardless of the job she does, she's always welcome to remain a Dogs fan and member.

Gotta disagree with you regarding closing the thread down. That sounds like some kind of totalitarian control. You know who else liked totalitarian control?

04-07-2010, 08:46 PM
Gotta disagree with you regarding closing the thread down. That sounds like some kind of totalitarian control. You know who else liked totalitarian control?

O'Brien?

04-07-2010, 09:33 PM
O'Brien?

yeah thats it Adolph OBrien:D

04-07-2010, 09:54 PM
Unfortunately DD, she's PM before Bulldogs fan, and people will take shots (and they're entitled to, it's democracy) for it. FWIW I'm Julia neutral politically. I'm prepared to give her a go. Regardless of the job she does, she's always welcome to remain a Dogs fan and member.

1- She was a paid up member and fan before she became the Prime Minister. ;)

2 - Call me old fashioned, but if you start a subject in social conversation, I believe you hold an amount of social responsibility to others on the subject that was initially raised, Eye on the ball, to use the footy vernacular.

04-07-2010, 10:14 PM
1- She was a paid up member and fan before she became the Prime Minister. ;)

2 - Call me old fashioned, but if you start a subject in social conversation, I believe you hold an amount of social responsibility to others on the subject that was initially raised, Eye on the ball, to use the footy vernacular.

1. Well, she was South Australian before she was Victorian, and nobody is shouting that from the rooftops ;).

2. You're old fashioned. Anything on teh interwebs ceases to be yours alone once you hit send/transmit/enter/publish/yes, I am over 18. Not that I've ever done the last bit.

04-07-2010, 10:32 PM
1. Well, she was South Australian before she was Victorian, and nobody is shouting that from the rooftops ;).

2. You're old fashioned. Anything on teh interwebs ceases to be yours alone once you hit send/transmit/enter/publish/yes, I am over 18. Not that I've ever done the last bit.

Thanks for confirming that for me! ;):)

04-07-2010, 10:52 PM
Don't want to step on anyones toes here and totally understand that those who have put so
much time and effort (and probably money) into getting this board going may well have a totally different view on this..

but I for one wouldn't mind a place to go to be able to shoot the shit during the week , (a small sub forum?) about politics, music? and other non sporting related matters.
I understand this is supposed to be primarily a sporting forum... but once you get to know a place and get to like some of the folks there it's only natural to want to shoot the shit once in a while and talk about stuff other than footy, especially midweek when things get a little quiet before the teams are announced.

I remember a few months ago there was a midweek thread on an Orwell book, 1984 or something, which got a bit out of control I must admit but was pretty funny and I enjoyed reading it before it was deleted . If Bob Murphy and Gia can get together for a bookclub once a week , (which is what i have heard) how about a small Woof sub forum , call it 'other' for want of a better word, for general chit chat and nonsense for when we have some time to kill midweek?

I know this might mean extra work for the mods so no probs if not doable , just thought i'd float the idea. :)

04-07-2010, 10:59 PM
Don't want to step on anyones toes here and totally understand that those who have put so
much time and effort (and probably money) into getting this board going may well have a totally different view on this..

but I for one wouldn't mind a place to go to be able to shoot the shit during the week , (a small sub forum?) about politics, music? and other non sporting related matters.
I understand this is supposed to be primarily a sporting forum... but once you get to know a place and get to like some of the folks there it's only natural to want to shoot the shit once in a while and talk about stuff other than footy, especially midweek when things get a little quiet before the teams are announced.

I remember a few months ago there was a midweek thread on an Orwell book, 1984 or something, which got a bit out of control I must admit but was pretty funny and I enjoyed reading it before it was deleted . If Bob Murphy and Gia can get together for a bookclub once a week , (which is what i have heard) how about a small Woof sub forum , call it 'other' for want of a better word, for general chit chat and nonsense for when we have some time to kill midweek?

I know this might mean extra work for the mods so no probs if not doable , just thought i'd float the idea. :)

Here's the Music&Entertainment forum:

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28

And there are forums on cricket, soccer, rugby et al..

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22

Will have to defer to the mods on any others...A "general" one might be a good idea, although it may detract from the original purpose of the forum.

04-07-2010, 11:00 PM

It's pretty hardcore no doubt about it. Was there with my mum recently (she is in her 60's)
and she was scared and quite shaken up by what she saw.

04-07-2010, 11:10 PM
Here's the Music&Entertainment forum:

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28

And there are forums on cricket, soccer, rugby et al..

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22

Will have to defer to the mods on any others...A "general" one might be a good idea, although it may detract from the original purpose of the forum.

Thanks Andrew! I looked all over but have never seen that before. Think I need to delete my cookies!

04-07-2010, 11:19 PM
Thanks Andrew! I looked all over but have never seen that before. Think I need to delete my cookies!

No probs!

05-07-2010, 12:22 AM
^^^

Maybe a board on politics can be called the Julia Gillard lounge...

Oh and earlier in this thread, loved the Kent Brockman reference from Furtanken