05-08-2010, 06:13 PM
Western Bulldogs
B: Easton Wood, Brian Lake, Dale Morris
HB: Ryan Hargrave, Tom Williams, Lindsay Gilbee
C: Daniel Cross, Matthew Boyd, Liam Picken
HF: Robert Murphy, Liam Jones, Brad Johnson
F: Jarrad Grant, Barry Hall, Daniel Giansiracusa
Foll: Ben Hudson, Adam Cooney, Ryan Griffen
I/C from: Dylan Addison, Nathan Eagleton, Andrejs Everitt, Shaun Higgins, Josh Hill, Brodie Moles, Jordan Roughead

In: D.Addison , J.Hill , A.Everitt , N.Eagleton

05-08-2010, 06:14 PM
Wheres Harbrow?

05-08-2010, 06:15 PM
Jones kept his spot, bold selection from the MC, like it!!

05-08-2010, 06:15 PM
Wheres Harbrow?

mmmmmmmmmmmmm............... the first thing I thought.:confused:

05-08-2010, 06:17 PM
Harbrow seemed to train alright, shoulder was strapped but it didn't really seem to hinder him so can't work out why he's not back. Anyone know anything more?

05-08-2010, 06:17 PM
No Ward either

05-08-2010, 06:18 PM
No Ward either

They are not taking chances with Ward and maybe the same with Harbrow's shoulder.

05-08-2010, 06:21 PM
Any one think maybe Higgins is out as Hill as been named and he hasnt been playing very well for willy and Higgins is on the extended bench?

Disapointed no Harbrow but Id rather have him fit and firing for finals, and I like that Jones has (hopefully) kept his spot!

05-08-2010, 06:27 PM
Western Bulldogs
I/C from: Dylan Addison, Nathan Eagleton, Andrejs Everitt, Shaun Higgins, Josh Hill, Brodie Moles, Jordan Roughead

In: D.Addison , J.Hill , A.Everitt , N.Eagleton

Didnt Everitt play last week?

Jones is named in the 18 so I guess he has held his spot.

05-08-2010, 06:28 PM
Didnt Everitt play last week?

He cerntainly did. So not sure why he is an IN

05-08-2010, 06:29 PM
[QUOTE=Twodogs;168633]Didnt Everitt play last week?

QUOTE]

Late replacement for Harbrow, so he is named as an 'IN' this week. ??

05-08-2010, 06:31 PM
[QUOTE=Twodogs;168633]Didnt Everitt play last week?

QUOTE]

Late replacement for Harbrow, so he is named as an 'IN' this week. ??

That's correct.

05-08-2010, 06:33 PM
He cerntainly did. So not sure why he is an IN

It must be a typo. We have named 7 on the bench and bought in four players. Benches have four players, 7 minus 4 only leaves three so Skinny must have ended up in the 'ins' even though he was in the team from last week.

Does my arithmatic add up?

05-08-2010, 06:33 PM
Any one think maybe Higgins is out as Hill as been named and he hasnt been playing very well for willy and Higgins is on the extended bench?

Disapointed no Harbrow but Id rather have him fit and firing for finals, and I like that Jones has (hopefully) kept his spot!

Me too, if he's not right there's no point in risking further injury with him.

05-08-2010, 06:35 PM
[QUOTE=Hot_Doggies;168636]

That's correct.
Normally they just include them as part of the team, I thought...??

Bummer that Harbrow still isn't back, but I'm glad they're not taking chances with both him and Ward. I'd much prefer them ready for the Cats.

05-08-2010, 07:00 PM
Great to see Jones hold his spot, showed some good signs last week.

05-08-2010, 07:03 PM
Injuries aside I think we'll go into the game unchanged.

Bench: Andrejs Everitt, Shaun Higgins, Brodie Moles, Jordan Roughead

05-08-2010, 07:06 PM
No Ward either

Not looking good when one week injuries last longer than that.

05-08-2010, 08:15 PM

I am reasonably sure that they are erring on the side of caution especially considering after the interstate trip to Adelaide we have a 6 day break before facing Geelong.

05-08-2010, 08:37 PM
It must be a typo. We have named 7 on the bench and bought in four players. Benches have four players, 7 minus 4 only leaves three so Skinny must have ended up in the 'ins' even though he was in the team from last week.

Does my arithmatic add up?

Yes it certainly does.

turtle
05-08-2010, 09:57 PM
Rapt to see Jones get another crack. If they are thinking about him for finals (why else would they select him at this stage of the season) it will be great experience playing infornt of a hostile crowd.

I also hope Roughie has spent a bit of time goal kicking this week. Two bad misses in the last two weeks have hurt. If he can add some confident & competent goal kicking to his kit he will be a very very damaging player that teams will need to pay respect to in the forward line making harder for guys to double team BBBH come finals.

05-08-2010, 10:08 PM
Rapt to see Jones get another crack. If they are thinking about him for finals (why else would they select him at this stage of the season) it will be great experience playing infornt of a hostile crowd.

To get some games into him and because he deserves a shot. I highly doubt he will be in the squad come finals.

05-08-2010, 10:15 PM

I also hope Roughie has spent a bit of time goal kicking this week. Two bad misses in the last two weeks have hurt. If he can add some confident & competent goal kicking to his kit he will be a very very damaging player that teams will need to pay respect to in the forward line making harder for guys to double team BBBH come finals.

Why ? we have won by over 10 goals in both games.
I am looking forward to Roughie after another pre season , he will be unstoppable.

05-08-2010, 10:42 PM
To get some games into him and because he deserves a shot. I highly doubt he will be in the squad come finals.

That is really going to be injury and form dependent, isn't it. Harbrow needs to come back in. Ward is likely, if he regains fitness. Hahn is probable if he shows some VFL form. Minson's return is dependent on Roughead's form. Hill's form at VFL level hasn't been as good as Jones'. Am I forgetting some-one?

It's is possible only Harbrow will come back. If this is the case then is Jones most likely to be the one to come out? He was selected ahead of Everitt last week. It may well come down to a battle between these two for the last spot.

05-08-2010, 10:51 PM
He was never going to play this week. I will try and find out more.

05-08-2010, 11:27 PM
He was never going to play this week. I will try and find out more.

Have we been lead up the wrong road with the injury?
I've never really understood why we would say a player is only likely to miss one week if we really know it's more likely to be two or more.
I don't think it gives us an advantage.

05-08-2010, 11:38 PM
I've never really understood why we would say a player is only likely to miss one week if we really know it's more likely to be two or more.

I spoke with Callan at the game on Sunday & he thought he'd be right this week.

05-08-2010, 11:59 PM
I spoke with Callan at the game on Sunday & he thought he'd be right this week.

It was also mentioned in the paper that it was a one week injury. It sounds like the recovery hasn't gone to plan this week.

06-08-2010, 01:48 AM
Maybe Eade is trying out the team without Harbrow when he heads to the Suns next season?

06-08-2010, 08:45 AM
Maybe Eade is trying out the team without Harbrow when he heads to the Suns next season?

I reckon that's a silly thing to say Arkie. We're 4th by % only heading into a finals series. Do you really believe Eade would be doing something like that at this time of the year, honestly?

06-08-2010, 09:52 AM
I reckon that's a silly thing to say Arkie. We're 4th by % only heading into a finals series. Do you really believe Eade would be doing something like that at this time of the year, honestly?

Perhaps Arkie forgot to add an emoticon.

Maybe this isn't the place for this, perhaps I should post this speculation on Big Footy or make a call to SEN, but maybe Harbrow has come back to the club with his answer about GC next year and that's why he isn't playing. The view is nice from the grassy knoll, by the way.

06-08-2010, 09:56 AM

Another one who has to get his set shots right is Jarrad Grant. I have no confidence when he's lining up, yet the quick snaps are brilliant. Must be all between the ears or he gets put off by the man on the mark. Hope our goal kicking coach (who?) is working on it with him.

06-08-2010, 09:58 AM
He was booked in to see a Specialist yesterday, early this week I knew he would not be playing this week.
Whether he aggrevated his injury some time between the weekend and early in the week, I am not sure.
I am trying to find out what the outcome from the Specialist was.
On the bolded bit, I have to agree with you.
I would also like to find out what the story is with Harbrow. Perhaps one of our woofers who speaks with the coach might know?

06-08-2010, 10:13 AM
Maybe this isn't the place for this, perhaps I should post this speculation on Big Footy or make a call to SEN, but maybe Harbrow has come back to the club with his answer about GC next year and that's why he isn't playing. The view is nice from the grassy knoll, by the way.

Pretty sure a decision will not be made until after the season has finished.

Not sure why he isn't in this week, as of Wednesday he was a likely inclusion.

06-08-2010, 10:23 AM
Perhaps Arkie forgot to add an emoticon.

This was the first thing that crossed my mind. Then I thought, even if that was the case, why would he not play?
We need him in the team.
Surely the players want him to play if it means we are a better side with him in it.
Surely he wants to play.
Last week we were told by Rocket that he had a virus.

Until the club come forward as to the reason why he is not playing, there will be all sorts of speculation.

06-08-2010, 10:29 AM
The more games we get into Jones, the better. He is the sort of guy we will build our spine around in 2-3 years' time. A little worried about the Brow though - "virus" generally means anything except a virus, considering he was at the game last week in his suit.

06-08-2010, 10:46 AM
I am reasonably sure that they are erring on the side of caution especially considering after the interstate trip to Adelaide we have a 6 day break before facing Geelong.

A fair call as long as we dont compromise the team that plays the cows(should be ok seeing as its possibly the same team that won by 70 last game), Harbrow and Ward will be a handy injection into the team next week.

06-08-2010, 10:50 AM
Another one who has to get his set shots right is Jarrad Grant. I have no confidence when he's lining up, yet the quick snaps are brilliant. Must be all between the ears or he gets put off by the man on the mark. Hope our goal kicking coach (who?) is working on it with him.

I was going to ssay thye same thing, its more important for Grant to get his set shots right than Roughy because its his main role considering he can really take a grab.

Maybe we can get some tips from the cows goalkicking coach?:eek:

06-08-2010, 11:08 AM
Anybody else wondering if Roughie has surpassed Wilbur in our best 22?

Eade has said all year that he wouldn't stop playing someone if they were leaving to go to GCS.
I believe we are doing a Geelong and resting players up before September.

06-08-2010, 11:43 AM

Not sure Harbrow is so tired he needs TWO weeks off. Something else is up.

06-08-2010, 11:54 AM
Harbrow's shoulder was definitely strapped at training (left not right) but unless it hurt afterwards, it is surprising that he's not being played. Certainly not a virus this week

06-08-2010, 11:57 AM
The more games we get into Jones, the better. He is the sort of guy we will build our spine around in 2-3 years' time. A little worried about the Brow though - "virus" generally means anything except a virus, considering he was at the game last week in his suit.

I was standing near where the suited players were sitting, and JH looked anything but comfortable in the whistle & flute - his collar was sticking out (which was kinda funny) and he looked absolutely miserable to be honest. Guys around me were half yelling/saying loudly 'stay with us Harbrow' and he couldn't even muster a smile up (I'm not judging him, I'm painiting a picture of a man with a lot on his mind....or with a bad virus..)

Contrast that to Callan Ward who as TCD mentioned said he was right go (he said the same thing to a bloke standing next to me) He was all smiles and happy to pose for photos with heaps of kids.

Then Peter Larkins on MMM questioned the Harbrow virus call after the game, saying 'you don't normally mix with the players after the game if you have a virus'

Still a good squad to send to Adelaide - I just hope Norf does us a favour tomorrow to take the edge off the pending result of this one - Sunday twilight's a long time to wait

06-08-2010, 03:45 PM
From the WB Facebook page:

Western Bulldogs To quash any rumours Jarrod Harbrow picked up a cork in a contact training session this week and has been left out due to this.

Can anyone confirm/deny this?

06-08-2010, 04:05 PM
Sellar not selected for the Crows, will go with Maric and Griffin.

06-08-2010, 04:20 PM
From the WB Facebook page:

Can anyone confirm/deny this?

Can't confirm or deny - but forgive me for being skeptical...I don't believe this. No big deal that we aren't taking JH to Adelaide - but I query whether this is true - and not the club being cautious with a shoulder injury.

06-08-2010, 04:37 PM
This is what happens when clubs play these silly ducks and drakes with injuries.If ward and Harbrow have an injury just tell your supporters it takes these conspiracy theories out of the equation:rolleyes:

06-08-2010, 05:51 PM
This is what happens when clubs play these silly ducks and drakes with injuries.If ward and Harbrow have an injury just tell your supporters it takes these conspiracy theories out of the equation:rolleyes:
Its plainly obvious JH did not have a virus last week as he was mixing with others, but the club does not need to make FULL disclosure on injuries as it could leave the player open for targetting by the opposition when he does return. The strapping on the shoulder should tell you that he has an issue with it and will return when 100%.

06-08-2010, 06:22 PM
ADELAIDE v WESTERN BULLDOGS
Adelaide
B: Graham Johncock, Ben Rutten, Scott Stevens
HB: Michael Doughty, Nathan Bock, Nathan van Berlo
C: Brad Symes, Bernie Vince, David Mackay
HF: Ricky Henderson, Taylor Walker, Chris Knights
F: Rory Sloane, Kurt Tippett, Richard Douglas
Foll: Jonathon Griffin, Scott Thompson, Brent Reilly
I/C: Ivan Maric, Jason Porplyzia, Brodie Martin, Chris Schmidt
Emg: Phil Davis, Matthew Jaensch, James Sellar

In: Johncock, Knights, Martin
Out: Matthew Jaensch, Patrick Dangerfield (hand), Jack Gunston

Western Bulldogs
I/C: Nathan Eagleton, Andrejs Everitt, Brodie Moles, Jordan Roughead
Emg: Josh Hill, Dylan Addison, Shaun Higgins

In: Eagleton
Out: Shaun Higgins (virus)

Higgins has the virus bug too.;)

06-08-2010, 06:28 PM
I thought Higgins was going to be out but for Hill not Eagle, strange that he is listed EMG so maybe they are hoping he recovers before sunday?

06-08-2010, 07:07 PM
Its plainly obvious JH did not have a virus last week as he was mixing with others, but the club does not need to make FULL disclosure on injuries as it could leave the player open for targetting by the opposition when he does return. The strapping on the shoulder should tell you that he has an issue with it and will return when 100%.

I think other sides no about players injuries. It's not exactly the KGB or CIA out there. Think it might be hard to target a corky or another niggle,just look at the Johnson v Baker episode !

07-08-2010, 12:19 AM
Anybody else wondering if Roughie has surpassed Wilbur in our best 22?

Eade has said all year that he wouldn't stop playing someone if they were leaving to go to GCS.

He's more flexible in that he offers a better target up forward.
Right at this moment Roughie couldn't handle the number one ruck mans role but by next season he will put a lot more pressure on Will.

07-08-2010, 12:22 AM
Sellar not selected for the Crows, will go with Maric and Griffin.

How has he been performing in the state competition? Plenty of talent but just hasn't quite measured up.

07-08-2010, 10:46 AM
Pretty good ins for the Crows, and certainly what has been their missing ingredient this year - run and carry. Knights, Johncock and Martin all offer a lot of that.