View Full Version : Game Day - R19 Western Bulldogs vs Adelaide

06-08-2010, 04:31 PM
This is the discussion thread for this Sunday afternoon's game at AAMI against Adelaide.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 29 points
BOG : Daniel Cross
Brad Johnson to kick the first goal

06-08-2010, 04:46 PM
Dogs by 33

BOG: Cooney

First goal Hall

06-08-2010, 04:50 PM
Dogs by 38
Crossy - BOG
First goal - Liam Jones.

06-08-2010, 04:57 PM
Dogs by 40
BOG- Cooney
First goal- Hall

06-08-2010, 06:04 PM
Dogs by 28 points
BOG: Ryan Griffen
1st goal: Barry Hall

06-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Dogs by 54
BOG- Gilbee
First goal- Hall

06-08-2010, 08:32 PM
Doggies by 54 points.
Lake BOG.
Griffen First Goal.

06-08-2010, 08:39 PM
Margin: 19 points
First goal: Liam Jones
Best on ground: Ben Hudson

06-08-2010, 10:07 PM
Dogs by 25 points
BOG Griff
First goal Gia

EDIT: Late changes... Murph out, along with Higgo and Harbrow.

Dogs by 17

06-08-2010, 10:50 PM
Dogs by 21
BOG : Adam Cooney
1st goal : Barry Hall

06-08-2010, 11:14 PM
Dogs by 44
BOG Griffen
First goal Gia

07-08-2010, 12:02 AM
Dogs by 8
BOG Boyd
First goal Hall

07-08-2010, 12:15 AM
Dogs by 34 points
First Goal Grant
BOG Cooney

07-08-2010, 12:19 AM
Dog by 27 points
FG: Gia
BOG: Everitt

07-08-2010, 09:22 AM
Dogs by 40
First goal Bazza
BOG - Griff

07-08-2010, 10:41 AM
Dogs by 35
Griff BOG
Hall first goal

07-08-2010, 12:42 PM
Dogs by 19pts
Cooney BOG
Gia first goal

07-08-2010, 03:46 PM
Dogs by 50 points
First Goal = Griffen
BOG = Lake

07-08-2010, 05:53 PM
Dogs by 35
Gia first goal
Boyd BOG

(on a side note the Dockers lost, so yay for us)

07-08-2010, 10:40 PM
BOG will Be Cooney

2nd Will be Griffo

We will smash them.....

08-08-2010, 09:25 AM
Dogs by 68 points this week
BOG - Gia
First Goal - Barry hall from a hit up from Gia.

08-08-2010, 05:04 PM
Dogs by 23
Boyd bog
Hall first goal

08-08-2010, 05:48 PM
Lacking composure going forward...

08-08-2010, 05:55 PM
Hudson showing the way - working hard to create a contest...need a few more to get involved.

08-08-2010, 05:57 PM
Adelaide's pressure is alot better than ours atm. Lucky to be only 3 pts behind.

08-08-2010, 05:59 PM
When i saw it was raining i put $50 on the crows at $3.20.

08-08-2010, 06:02 PM
When i saw it was raining i put $50 on the crows at $3.20.

Skill should show through in the wet...the rain wont be a reason for losing (should we fall over).

Clever kick by Grant (as I type) but another poor kick by Cooney preceding it...not kicking too well going forward at the moment.

08-08-2010, 06:04 PM
That's 3 Everitt has let get behind him. Poor concentration.

08-08-2010, 06:05 PM
The Crows are up for the game and seem to at least be trying to take the game on. I think the key will be for the midfielders to lower their vision and make the most of their possessions.

08-08-2010, 06:05 PM
Had to be a deep kick by Williams....just dumb.

08-08-2010, 06:07 PM
Have to change the forward line - Hill, Jones, Hall, Everitt...all marking players. Structure is wrong.

Hill has to move up the ground as a mid/winger today...one of the other two OFF.

08-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Have to change the forward line - Hill, Jones, Hall, Everitt...all marking players. Structure is wrong.

Hill has to move up the ground as a mid/winger today...one of the other two OFF.

Agree. We look a little top heavy and Hill is the obvious candidate to move onto a wing.

08-08-2010, 06:12 PM
Hudson giving great effort as always... Roughy has done a few good things too. Gia showing good poise with the ball.

08-08-2010, 06:15 PM
Hudson giving great effort as always... Roughy has done a few good things too. Gia showing good poise with the ball.

Its all the little things that Gia does that go unnoticed. He is involved in so many goals for us, having a great year.

08-08-2010, 06:15 PM
I agree, our fwd structure is out of whack. Bazza to chf to run Rutten around. Johncock needs to be made accountable. Hopefully they fix it this qtr.

08-08-2010, 06:21 PM
Great decision by Griffen to take possession rather than tap it...let's hope a few follow that example.

08-08-2010, 06:24 PM
Dumb, dumb, dumb.

Williams is a frustrating player.

08-08-2010, 06:26 PM
Now we are going to find a few things out.

08-08-2010, 06:26 PM
Great decision by Griffen to take possession rather than tap it...let's hope a few follow that example.

He's been on good form for a few weeks. His confidence must be up

08-08-2010, 06:33 PM
Open players in the goal-square twice now. First Johnson, then Everitt have had flying, long-range shots and missed.

Poor.

08-08-2010, 06:38 PM
50m is lucky but good work-rate by Jones to provide a target to Johnson.

08-08-2010, 06:41 PM
Boyd and Cross need to get into the game.

08-08-2010, 06:47 PM
Just tuned in to the game, who went out for Hill?

08-08-2010, 06:48 PM
Just tuned in to the game, who went out for Hill?
Murph

08-08-2010, 06:53 PM
Judging by the HT stats, Jones is playing well.

08-08-2010, 06:55 PM
I've been really impressed with Everitt workrate and effort today, a pity he spoiled some of his good work with that terrible kick into the middle which led to a turnover and goal.

Obviously stating the bleeding obvious here, but I hope the guys kick on to a win, and take advantage of the opportunity to go a game clear of Freo.

08-08-2010, 06:56 PM

He has shown some very good signs for the future, covers the ground well, and has delivered a couple of deft kicks.

08-08-2010, 06:57 PM

Not especially.

Match-ups are varying a bit down there, but Bock and Stevens have been pretty much the dominant players.

Jones' intensity of effort swings wildly from moment to moment...he has been OK.

08-08-2010, 06:58 PM
He has shown some very good signs for the future, covers the ground well, and has delivered a couple of deft kicks.

Not especially.

Match-ups are varying a bit down there, but Bock and Stevens have been pretty much the dominant players.

Jones' intensity of effort swings wildly from moment to moment...he has been OK.

I see he has taken 4 marks, any of them contested?

08-08-2010, 06:58 PM
I've been really impressed with Everitt workrate and effort today, a pity he spoiled some of his good work with that terrible kick into the middle which led to a turnover and goal.

His contested marking efforts have not been great. Seems determined to avoid body contact.

08-08-2010, 07:04 PM
His contested marking efforts have not been great. Seems determined to avoid body contact.

Agree, it's never been a strength of his. However his efforts when the ball has been in dispute have been good, he has attacked it hard.

08-08-2010, 07:06 PM
I see he has taken 4 marks, any of them contested?

You might be able to count the one before the 50m penalty I guess, but he has taken them on the lead.

He has been OK.

08-08-2010, 07:07 PM
How desperate is Morris??? Wow.

08-08-2010, 07:18 PM
Wide forward entries make no sense in the wet. Kick the ball to a dangerous spot...how hard is it???

08-08-2010, 07:24 PM
No idea how to play wet weather football. Need to rip off the "glitter" and put on the blue collar on a day like today.

08-08-2010, 07:25 PM
That was great stuff by Jones - held his spot in front and won the kick...and Eagleton went LONG with the ball to a dangerous spot, and the defender panics.

Will we stick with it?????

08-08-2010, 07:27 PM
That was great stuff by Jones - held his spot in front and won the kick...and Eagleton went LONG with the ball to a dangerous spot, and the defender panics.

Will we stick with it?????

Great decision by the umpire. In a lot of cases it would get missed.

08-08-2010, 07:30 PM
No idea how to play wet weather football. Need to rip off the "glitter" and put on the blue collar on a day like today.

I don't think there is much 'glitter' going on - just trying a bit hard to find a perfect option.

Maybe that is glitter I guess, but they are certainly sticking their heads over it which is pretty blue collar.

08-08-2010, 07:39 PM
There's alot of similarities between this game and the last round of 2008 when we played Adelaide at home in the wet..hopefully we can reverse that result.

Boy the Crows are going to be tough coming home in the last, with the crowd behind them.
They were getting the ball inside 50 quite easily in that 3rd quarter, just wasted many of their chances.

08-08-2010, 07:42 PM
Eagleton has been good.

08-08-2010, 07:45 PM
First one will be vital, take the crowd out of it.

becmatty
08-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Eagleton has been good.

Yep, his decision-making has been very good. Long, penetrating kicks in these conditions are a must.

08-08-2010, 07:47 PM
GReat start, good goal by Grant!

08-08-2010, 07:47 PM
Classy finish by Grant, but another hbg by Eagleton. He is making a statement.

becmatty
08-08-2010, 07:48 PM
Grant! - glad he dropped it, he was composed and knows how to kick them on the run.

Now, we must take advantage of this momentum...

08-08-2010, 07:49 PM
I don't think there is much 'glitter' going on - just trying a bit hard to find a perfect option.

Maybe that is glitter I guess, but they are certainly sticking their heads over it which is pretty blue collar.

Risky pinpoint passes are fine in pristine conditions, but in adverse conditions you need to play the percentages more - that was more my point. No doubt the attack on the footy isn't lacking.

C'mon guys, win a close one for once (or twice counting the Melbourne win).

08-08-2010, 07:49 PM
The Akermanis decision from the prelim last year...but this time in our favor.

How is that deliberate in these conditions??

08-08-2010, 07:51 PM
Risky pinpoint passes are fine in pristine conditions, but in adverse conditions you need to play the percentages more - that was more my point.

Risky, pinpoint passes are always risky!

It is just the going wide into the forward line that is getting to me.

becmatty
08-08-2010, 07:52 PM
Crowd getting into this game now - we need to nail another one to take them out of it and then break the Crows...Still 15 mins...

08-08-2010, 07:56 PM
Crossy the Kamikaze, love his fearlessness

NoName
08-08-2010, 08:06 PM
This game has been so bloody frustrating to watch.

08-08-2010, 08:06 PM
We need a bit of Adam Cooney right about now.

08-08-2010, 08:07 PM
This game has been so bloody frustrating to watch.

I have loved every second of it...both sides cracking in. Super stuff.

08-08-2010, 08:09 PM
I have loved every second of it...both sides cracking in. Super stuff.

Absolutely. It's such a rarity these days, that it's great to see a game like this now and then.

08-08-2010, 08:09 PM
This is just brilliant stuff.

Goes to show, the whole 'they have nothing to play for' thing means nothing...the Crows just want to win.

08-08-2010, 08:10 PM
Fantastic work Easton Wood. Take a bow, kept his feet, handled the pressure and executed

08-08-2010, 08:12 PM
The Adelaide fans have some justification for sooking at the moment...most 50-50 decisions have gone our way in this last q.

08-08-2010, 08:13 PM
That's all I wanted, a win's a win and we have four vital points.

08-08-2010, 08:14 PM
That's a very good win. Just toughed it out, and withstood alot of pressure in the last.
Not pretty, but it was pretty intense.

08-08-2010, 08:14 PM
Well done boys, top win.

08-08-2010, 08:15 PM
Now we have that safety net of 4 points beneath us. That's all I wanted after this game!!

08-08-2010, 08:17 PM
A gritty win. Glad to get the 4 points. Will have to read about it later. Back to bed...

becmatty
08-08-2010, 08:18 PM
Eagleton 26 disposals - 11 contested - outstanding!

Very impressed with Hudson and Cross very tough in the last quarter with head over every contest.

Bank the 4 points and re-load for the big game next week...

08-08-2010, 08:26 PM
Fantastic work Easton Wood. Take a bow, kept his feet, handled the pressure and executed

Talk about playing for the jumper... I like his work.

08-08-2010, 08:30 PM
Great to get the win, really gritty stuff!

08-08-2010, 08:34 PM
Wood's efforts in the last quarter were sensational.

Roughead and Jones showed plenty too.

08-08-2010, 08:35 PM
Just great to win a close game after our poor record in them (seems to have gone on for decades!). This is the sort of win that really helps come finals time.

08-08-2010, 08:54 PM
Phew!

08-08-2010, 08:56 PM
Gusty win to hold on in those conditions. So important to get the four points.

Easton was fantastic holding his feet in that crucial contest with Tippet.

08-08-2010, 08:57 PM
Gusty win to hold on in those conditions. So important to get the four points.
Easton was fantastic holding his feet in that crucial contest with Tippet.

It was, this has really set up our season:)

08-08-2010, 09:05 PM
Go dogs! Great win everyone stood up bar hill he has gone backwards. Greatgame wood, eagle, cooker, cross, Gia, huddo, picken. It's a nice day to go to work tomorrow in adelaide

08-08-2010, 09:07 PM
Go dogs! Great win everyone stood up bar hill he has gone backwards. Greatgame wood, eagle, cooker, cross, Gia, huddo, picken. It's a nice day to go to work tomorrow in adelaide

Lol stupid IPhone crooker = cross

08-08-2010, 11:59 PM
Was good to have a look down at AAMI today. The Crows played fairly well, their intensity and zones were strong - and the weather made it a real scrap.

I thought Eagleton was very good today, and he's the sort of bloke I see being pretty important in September on the MCG - his ability to find space is important.

Cooney and Griff are both motoring on nicely and look like they should be primed for a big finals series.

Liam Jones was pretty impressive. He's got some real dash, and after looking a little casual a few times early he generally chased well for the rest of the game. Moves well up forwards and gets to some good positions. Don't know if he'll hold his spot when others are fit, but looks a solid player going forward.

09-08-2010, 08:39 AM
Ok,

Firstly Great win, and overall a very good performance with everything stacked against us, player sickness, late withdrawals, the weather etc.

I would also like to commend the coaching staff for a job well done, with one exception.

There was a 12 minute period of time when we had the whole team back of the centre line, I understand why we did this, and at times tactically its a good move, but for 12 minutes? Every time we cleared from the defensive 50 we kicked to the boundary line, and given the weather 80% of the time it didn't even get to the boundary, enough time for the crows to reload and relaunch.

Here is why i think it was poor, the crows for some unbeknownst reason had the twin towers in the forward line, with the way they were bombing it in, there was every possibility of one of these two snagging a mark or two.

Now i know that didnt happen, and it makes the argument a hypothetical, but just thinking about how we could have done things better, i could have lived with the uber flood for 5 minutes, but i think they should have thought of different options.

Firstly tactically put Eagleton and Griffin 40 meters of the defensive 50 some 10m in from the boundary, there is every chance that they would have been mismatched with Rutten, Bock or some other monster.

It would have done 2 things: 1. provided a lead up option instead of bombing out and going for the boundary line. 2. it would have given them an opportunity to use some of their leg speed to at least take it another 50 m forward, we could have held up play for another 20 seconds or whatever as well.

Now in the end all was well, but i just thought, a good team (st kilda or the cats) with thier big tall timer would have taken those marks (reiwoldt in particular) and we may have had a different result.

Needless to say i rated the coaches box very highly, their man management was excellent give the sick players they had, and i thought their rotations were excellent for a team (ours) that was too top heavy. (we could have used Mitch Hahn more effectively than say a Josh hill)

Anyways that is my .02 Peoples Republic of West Footscray Roubles.

09-08-2010, 08:55 AM
Yes, a gusty win to the boys in those conditions. How often to we see guys like Cross and Huddo just give a "little" more and put their heads over the ball just to ensure we keep possession. Great team effort and let's take this attitude to next week!

cammo78
09-08-2010, 11:22 AM
Now in the end all was well, but i just thought, a good team (st kilda or the cats) with thier big tall timer would have taken those marks (reiwoldt in particular) and we may have had a different result.

I agree - but I think this was just a one-off in the circumstances, with the illness thru the team and the conditions.

There is no way we would try that on against either of those sides.

09-08-2010, 11:28 AM
Are the crows supporters a little bit slow or something? There was an almighty roar about 30 seconds after every goal last night, like a streaker had just ran onto the arena, or Tony Modra was about to come on after a 12 month lay off after a serious knee injury!

09-08-2010, 11:46 AM
Are the crows supporters a little bit slow or something? There was an almighty roar about 30 seconds after every goal last night, like a streaker had just ran onto the arena, or Tony Modra was about to come on after a 12 month lay off after a serious knee injury!

A flashing sign comes up on the scoreboard telling the fans to cheer at that time.

They call it the 19th man.

Strange cattle over in SA.

09-08-2010, 11:56 AM
A flashing sign comes up on the scoreboard telling the fans to cheer at that time.

I can't believe they do it after the opposition score a goal.

Also, they put a lid on your beer.:eek:

09-08-2010, 12:05 PM

That is a very Brisbane BEARS thing to do.

I would have thought that maybe use that crowd noise over the top of the real crowd to make the crowd louder when it needs to be.

Perhaps North could use the same sound effect to make out that they actually do have a crowd...:D

09-08-2010, 02:54 PM
Anyone else get the feeling that Healy & BT are openly biased against us in calling the game?

I got this feeling when we played West Coast and again last night - they're always quick to point some perceived deficiency in our game and pump up the opposition. If I was to give them the benefit of doubt, I could figure it's because we've been raging favourite in both games due to our ladder position, but I've found it effing annoying.

Anyone else get the same vibe?

09-08-2010, 03:24 PM
Anyone else get the feeling that Healy & BT are openly biased against us in calling the game?

I got this feeling when we played West Coast and again last night - they're always quick to point some perceived deficiency in our game and pump up the opposition. If I was to give them the benefit of doubt, I could figure it's because we've been raging favourite in both games due to our ladder position, but I've found it effing annoying.

Yes I did, especially when Healy said the Dogs are in trouble and that Adelaide will win (it was in the 2nd qtr and we were only 2 points behind)

09-08-2010, 03:56 PM

Yes, I thought so too. My brother cracked it & muted the tv half way through the 2nd quarter!! I know a lot of WOOFers like BT (from the commentators thread a few months ago) but I find him really annoying.

09-08-2010, 04:21 PM
Yes, I thought so too. My brother cracked it & muted the tv half way through the 2nd quarter!! I know a lot of WOOFers like BT (from the commentators thread a few months ago) but I find him really annoying.

I am not overly rapt in BT and Healy is such a bore.

09-08-2010, 04:27 PM
Healy most probably backed the Crows. They are always having a joke about punting on the football.

09-08-2010, 04:55 PM
To me, the Fox guys engage pretty heavily in storyline commentary.

The storyline is based primarily around where the biggest audience will be - in the case of yesterdays game - Adelaide supporters. A lot of the pre-game seemed focussed on whether they could bounce back to the form shown against Geelong after the disappointment of the past two weeks, the status of Goodwin etc. The Bulldogs storyline was about failure - how many times did they mention we had won only 2/12 at AAMI?

I don't mind Healy or BT - much prefer them to the commercial channel guys - but they do kind of set up a story and keep coming back to it...the fact Adelaide were committing to the contest and in front supported their stories so they stuck with them.

09-08-2010, 07:46 PM

I was up in the Northern stands with a few other SA based Dogs supporters, and boy, the old dear Crows supporters were giving death stares. It's actually quite amusing (when you're winning) at how ridiculous some of their calls are. After the deliberate out of bounds...bah! Everything was deliberate!

It was very funny seeing the '19th man' start streaming out of the stadium before full time though :D

09-08-2010, 08:02 PM
I was up in the Northern stands with a few other SA based Dogs supporters, and boy, the old dear Crows supporters were giving death stares. It's actually quite amusing (when you're winning) at how ridiculous some of their calls are. After the deliberate out of bounds...bah! Everything was deliberate!

It was very funny seeing the '19th man' start streaming out of the stadium before full time though :D

I agree - their whining makes me sick. They sat there and have a big sook over everything in that last quarter down their end (I was sitting with the dogs cheersquad a few aisles to my right) and expected deliberate everytime the ball went near the boundary. The muppet behind me took the cake though with one of his 500 umpire-abusing comments "Bloody Victorian umpires..how bout givin us a go.. you got it all setup for the finals dont ya'. Last time I checked Adelaide were not near the 8, win or lose that game and were only a mathematical chance and thats being kind. Great to get up n celebrate and watch what was left of the crowd leave :)

09-08-2010, 08:15 PM
Healy has always been like that with us and I only enjoy his call when we start to pull away from a side and you can slowly hear his comments trying to lean back to us.

09-08-2010, 08:17 PM
Unbelievable to think THEY'VE still got the Victorian inferiority complex!:confused:

09-08-2010, 08:49 PM

They love commentating for the home side, almost as if they think it's not being broadcast to anywhere else in Australia.

Also if BT call Matthew Boyd Brad one more time!!!

09-08-2010, 10:09 PM
They love commentating for the home side, almost as if they think it's not being broadcast to anywhere else in Australia.

Reckon that's become an in-joke for them now...

09-08-2010, 10:20 PM
Power to those supporters who went to the game. Must have been a soggy trip back to the hotel.

One of the wins of the year for me. Considering the virus issue, a few vital players out, away game, conditions. Easton Wood, Lindsay Gilbee, The bald Eagle, these players, who are not really lauded as being 'hard nuts' flew the flag at full mast. As for Cross and Boyd, Never ceases to amaze me, their courage at the ball.
Might watch that game a few times this week and savor a good, hard fought win.

09-08-2010, 10:22 PM
Unbelievable to think THEY'VE still got the Victorian inferiority complex!:confused:

It's not a complex, they genuinely are inferior.

09-08-2010, 10:27 PM
Healy has always been like that with us and I only enjoy his call when we start to pull away from a side and you can slowly hear his comments trying to lean back to us.
To be fair to Healy, he's just about the only commentator who has noticed our quiet introduction of a large chunk of young talent. All we're hearing from others is 'the window is closing rapidly' when the reality is that we have as much young talent having an impact at AFL level than just about anyone else

09-08-2010, 10:36 PM
It's not a complex, they genuinely are inferior.

I've said this so many times in my life, and it's so appropriate once again.

It's funny cos it's true

Rocket doesn't mind a gag at SA's expense either (remembering him on BTG earlier this year recounting Welsh being the 19th man vs St Kilda last year)

EDIT : all SA posters here are clearly exceptions, given their choice of footy club

09-08-2010, 10:43 PM

Reckon that's become an in-joke for them now...

Could be onto something Andrew, as it's always been Healy making the Brad error....which has driven me insane I must admit...couldn't believe it when I heard Brian say that as well.

Did also hear Gerard say 'Hargraves' and 'Woods' at other points of the call.

I think I've derailed this thread - was a great win, I was seriously pumped after it

09-08-2010, 11:26 PM
It annoys me too when Greg Healy and Bill Taylor on Fox Sports or David Cometti on channel 7 call our number 5 Brad Boyd.

10-08-2010, 12:48 AM
Not really a game day comment, but a funny story... My mum took her grandkids to Casey Fields on the weekend, just to pass some time. My 4 year old nephew, upon arriving, scanned the field, and with a disgruntled look on his face, loudly asked "WHERE'S BAZZA?" :D :D :D

His prediction of 8 goals didn't quite come up though... in his defence, he wasn't to know it'd be belting down...

10-08-2010, 04:22 PM

We also had the "pleasure" of hearing some very intelligent comments from the Crows supporters - e.g. "Knee him in the head"! And the constant yelling of "Ball!" gets so tiring. But it was all worth it in the end!!!!

10-08-2010, 04:33 PM
Could be onto something Andrew, as it's always been Healy making the Brad error....which has driven me insane I must admit...couldn't believe it when I heard Brian say that as well.

Did also hear Gerard say 'Hargraves' and 'Woods' at other points of the call.

I think I've derailed this thread - was a great win, I was seriously pumped after it

Might be, just you'd think when they struggle to get the basic names right on a regular basis you wouldn't intentionally get one wrong for the irony, although some of these guys are on pretty good terms with themselves and can probably overlook their own errors fairly quickly

16-08-2010, 10:05 PM
It annoys me too when Greg Healy and Bill Taylor on Fox Sports or David Cometti on channel 7 call our number 5 Brad Boyd.

Silly thread to bump I'll admit, but it was the first one that came to mind hearing Mike Sheahan refer to Picken as Liam Pickering...not once, but twice in a row.

WTF IS GOING ON AT FOX SPORTS???? :D