Norm Smith - Swan
1st goal - Davis

25-09-2010, 11:06 AM
Collingwood by 44
NS Medal Swan
First goal Didak
First player to cry - St Nick The Diver
Person who couldn't care less if they beat the intestines out of each other - Me.

25-09-2010, 11:12 AM
Collingwood by 43 points
Daisy Thomas Norm Smith (only coz I've got him in Rocco's sweep)
First goal Alan Didak

25-09-2010, 11:18 AM
St Kilda by 25 points
Norm Smith : Lenny Hayes
First Goal : Nick Riewoldt

I just think the Saints will shut down the Pies, really frustrate them and break it open at some stage, similar to what they did to us last week, i also think 8 or 9 under 50 gamers for the Pies, might get some stage fright, Saints will bounce back after last years defeat.

25-09-2010, 11:19 AM
I'm in a shocking mood today, wish I was actually going instead of arguing whose going to drive to a *&%$ bbq.

Collingwood by 54 points
First goal Cloke
Swan for Norm Smith

Given the margin, I doubt we'll see many tears...still a few, but not as many as last year...as much as I dislike St Kilda, I still feel for Goddard/Roo etc when I see footage of them losing it last year....sort of

25-09-2010, 11:22 AM
Drunkest: Andrew
Most pissed off wife: Andrew's
Most annoying Collingwood supporter: Greg
First St. Kilda supporter to go home with the shits: Kevin
First dill to say they think Richmond will make next year's grand final: Mark
First St. Kilda supporter to throw a punch: Louise

25-09-2010, 11:33 AM
Pies by 10 points
Norm Smith - Swan
First Goal = Goddard

25-09-2010, 11:45 AM
St Kilda by 13
Norm Smith: Sam Fisher
First goal: Leon Davis

25-09-2010, 11:50 AM
Collingwood by 67. Didak Norm Smith. Leigh Brown first goal.

25-09-2010, 12:05 PM
Collingwood easily (10 + goals).

Norm Smith: Luke Ball

First Goal: Darren Jolly

25-09-2010, 12:11 PM
I just think the Saints will shut down the Pies, really frustrate them and break it open at some stage, similar to what they did to us last week, i also think 8 or 9 under 50 gamers for the Pies, might get some stage fright, Saints will bounce back after last years defeat.

Really? Comparing us to Collingwood is like comparing finding a dollar on the ground to winning Powerball.

25-09-2010, 12:18 PM
The Filth by 15 points

Norm Smith - My fellow Westmeadows man Swan.

First goal - Lenny, you're a legend mate.

25-09-2010, 12:20 PM
Collingwood - 42 points
Norm Smith Medalist - Dane Swan
First Goal Kicker - Dayne Beams

25-09-2010, 12:56 PM
Collingwood 27 points

BOG Pendulbury

Firt Goal Davis

25-09-2010, 12:57 PM
The Filth by 15 points

Norm Smith - My fellow Westmeadows man Swan.

Carlton are playing ??????

25-09-2010, 01:05 PM
Hahahahahaha!

25-09-2010, 02:13 PM
Saints by 13 points
Tip Rat first goal
Hayes Norm Smith Medal

25-09-2010, 02:34 PM
Pies will win in a canter.

Where are the Saints fans?

25-09-2010, 03:04 PM
Collingwood look very tired after that first 10 minutes and St. Kilda weathered the storm.

25-09-2010, 03:28 PM
Eddy and Ray are struggling. The Saints are working hard, but their soft underbelly is showing.

25-09-2010, 03:46 PM
Eddy and Ray are struggling. The Saints are working hard, but their soft underbelly is showing.

That was a classic Farren Ray hand pass that set up Eddy. I did have a little smirk on my face when that happened even though I want the Saints to win.

Collingwood could have closed the door on this one but only Cloke can leave it ajar for his opposition.

25-09-2010, 03:57 PM
Too much of the play in the Collingwood forward line for my liking, eventually the defence will make mistakes and get goals against them.

25-09-2010, 04:10 PM
Man, Farren Ray has been poor. If the Saints win I can't believe we can say Ray, Dawson, Peake and Blake are premiership players but Grant, West and Johnson aren't. It's a travesty.

25-09-2010, 04:24 PM
Has one team relied so heavily on a few A-graders? Riewoldt, Hayes and Goddard are keeping the Saints in this.

25-09-2010, 04:40 PM
If the Saints get that first goal look out.

25-09-2010, 04:41 PM
Daisy kicks short to Blair in 3rd quater in front of Goal. They have faith in their young players. eventhough Blair misses it shows what expectation they have on their young brigade

25-09-2010, 04:46 PM
It appears that we aren't the only team to just bomb it long into the forward line against St. Kilda.

25-09-2010, 04:52 PM
Oh, Davis is playing.

25-09-2010, 04:56 PM
Hayes is amazing

25-09-2010, 04:59 PM
Hayes is amazing

Seconded.

25-09-2010, 05:05 PM
Wobble.

25-09-2010, 05:10 PM
I must say, it's been a ripping contest and the best thing is such a close result will only hurt the losing fans even more.

Not that I'm bitter.

25-09-2010, 05:17 PM
Seriously, WTF!

How are the Pies fans going to afford another GF ticket?

25-09-2010, 05:18 PM
Best result everrrrrr

25-09-2010, 05:19 PM
Wow.

25-09-2010, 05:20 PM
Geez. What a ripper. Not sure what to make of it though.

25-09-2010, 05:20 PM
Best result everrrrrr

seconded :D

I've got what i wanted out of this match. Wonder how this will effect trade week. Wasn't it supposed to be next Monday? If so that seems a bit close to the GF

25-09-2010, 05:22 PM
You've gotta love Lenny.

25-09-2010, 05:23 PM
You've gotta love Lenny.

Seconded.

25-09-2010, 05:24 PM
You've gotta love Lenny.

They have some great leaders in their team.

25-09-2010, 05:26 PM
This is the sort of thing that would happen to us, haven't reached a Grand Final for decades & we cop a draw.

Great contest though, St Kilda really improved after quarter time.

25-09-2010, 05:26 PM
A guy i work with paid $1350 for a grand final package :) wonder if he will again for next week?

25-09-2010, 05:27 PM
Geez. What a ripper. Not sure what to make of it though.

I feel flat even though i hate both teams.

Amazing game, just wonder if Centrelink will bring forward next fortnights payments a week...:D

25-09-2010, 05:28 PM
seconded :D

I've got what i wanted out of this match. Wonder how this will effect trade week. Wasn't it supposed to be next Monday? If so that seems a bit close to the GF

It affects everything!!!

-People have to line up for tickets again
-People have to pay shitloads to go again
-The players ahve to escape injury, suspension and being dropped for one more week
-Those who have travelled from elsewhere have to reschedule everything. Imagine having to take time off work, re arrange flights, accomodation and get tickets.
-Trade week is obviously affected
-B&F nights are affected
-Players holidays are cancelled

Awesome match though.

25-09-2010, 05:34 PM
Their pre-season preparation is also delayed by a week.

25-09-2010, 05:42 PM
Cricket season delayed a week.

25-09-2010, 05:44 PM

Dont think so, wasnt game at MCG next week'

25-09-2010, 05:44 PM
He might be an absolute knob, but Goddard is damn good.

25-09-2010, 05:45 PM
I wonder if many people will hold off on going out in the town tonight, saving it for next week? It's just a weird situation to be in for eevryone involved. Everyone down this way always goes out after the Grand Final, it's tradition ... even if Geelong isn't playing, the town is always buzzing GF night ... but with next week, it almost feels pointless.

Just plain weird.

25-09-2010, 05:49 PM

25-09-2010, 05:53 PM
Daisy kicks short to Blair in 3rd quater in front of Goal. They have faith in their young players. eventhough Blair misses it shows what expectation they have on their young brigade

Except when Gia laid it off to Grant it was "not accepting responsiblity"

25-09-2010, 05:57 PM

As good as Hayes was, i thought Goddard deserved the medal.

25-09-2010, 05:59 PM
Have a look at these for tackling stats:

Saints - 100
Pies - 89

I don't think we would have gotten close to those numbers (we didn't reach 60 during finals), and we need to if we're ever going to take the next step.

25-09-2010, 06:16 PM
Two words: extra time.

25-09-2010, 06:36 PM
Seriously, WTF!

How are the Pies fans going to afford another GF ticket?

No trouble for them, they probably all stole them for today, they'll just do that again.

25-09-2010, 06:36 PM
Well, im looking at he GF from our point of view, the style of football and the sheer pressure that was applied. Our game style and skills simply wouldn't have stacked up, id suggest we are some 15-20% away from where we need to be to win a grand final.

I hope our boys watch the grand final, its something to learn from and realise just how much further we have to go and how much harder we have to work.

As for extra time, no way, both sides deserve a replay, simply awesome.

Spoke to a bookie mate of mine, lets just say he can now live in the south of France and he will never have to work again, nor his children, or their children, or in fact anyone who has ever known him. KACHING.

25-09-2010, 06:38 PM
Two words: extra time.

Two more words: I agree. Completely.

Damnit, that was three ;)

25-09-2010, 06:38 PM

Doesnt matter, I think it would still be delayed because they need to alter the pitch for cricket. It would take a few days, therefore delaying the cricket season. Correct me if im wrong though...

And what would the media do this week!?
The Grand Final Footy Show? Will they do that again?
Grand Final Parade?
And ticket allocation! Would the AFL give the same amount of tickets to corporate sponsors next week?

25-09-2010, 06:54 PM
At least with the crowd for next week will be down on Collingwood supporters who have cashed in there centrelink payments and pawned all they own to get to todays game. I think St Kilda will have the psychological edge on the pies and win, wouldn't that be twice as painful for Eddie!

Go Dogs 2011...................

25-09-2010, 07:12 PM
Next week is going to be a nightmare, AFL GF replay & A-League Melbourne derby on the same day.

Good luck.

25-09-2010, 07:31 PM
The Grand Final Footy Show? Will they do that again?

We've been through enough. Hopefully they don't air that rubbish again in 2010!

25-09-2010, 07:36 PM
A lot of the commentators are heading off the India on Monday which will change things around.

The draft combine will go ahead but there is some speculation that the trade period will be pushed back.

25-09-2010, 07:45 PM
At least this will allow more of the people that deserve to go to the grand final a much better chance (the members of the competing clubs). I would imagine a lot of corporates would drop off big time, they have had there boozy day out. I think I heard there are 13,000 more tickets for competing members, AFL make out they are so wonderful. when it is only because the demand will be no where as strong.

25-09-2010, 07:56 PM
A lot of the commentators are heading off the India on Monday which will change things around.

Isnt that channel 10 doing the coverage of the Comm Games? Not 7?

At least this will allow more of the people that deserve to go to the grand final a much better chance (the members of the competing clubs). I would imagine a lot of corporates would drop off big time, they have had there boozy day out. I think I heard there are 13,000 more tickets for competing members, AFL make out they are so wonderful. when it is only because the demand will be no where as strong.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103194/default.aspx
That link is for Grand Final Ticket information. Much less corporate tickets, and alot more available to members of competing clubs! Great news imo!

25-09-2010, 08:11 PM

No might about it. But you're right on both points. I find myself agreeing with you a lot today. It's not something I'm used to :).

Except when Gia laid it off to Grant it was "not accepting responsiblity"

Chortle.

25-09-2010, 08:33 PM
My poor boss is off to New York tomorrow on a business trip and won't be able to see the game next week he is absolutely gutted - I said to him last week you better hope that Collingwood doesn't draw because you won't be here for the rematch...sure enough after the game he rang me to remind me of what I said. :D

25-09-2010, 08:37 PM
Anyone know what the odds were for Jolly first goal?

Surely would've been a decent return.

25-09-2010, 10:18 PM
Although it pains me to say it Stkilda were great(gritted teeth).
Their best players all stood up and Collingwood's best you could only say Thomas who played consistently played well. They have to have extra time as it's such a letdown and the players are just spent!Pies were Gonski with 5 to go,if I had a selection I'd still go Collingwood in particular with Gardiner probably out.
Hopefully Lyon won't call it round 27 this week!Gotta say Centerlink and lack of teeth gags are getting as stale as Kiwi Sheep Gags.

25-09-2010, 10:35 PM

If I remember correctly he was listed as any other player which I think is around 15 to 1

26-09-2010, 12:47 AM
Thinking about the repercussions further, the media must be rapt.

Sales of newspapers tomorrow will effectively be like both sides winning, they can have another week of sales through Grand Final build up and then they still get their winning side sales next week.

Channel 7 get all the advertising money all over again and can boast about having two of the highest rating events of the year.

Radio also reaps the advertising benefits, and Internet increased traffic. Just look at how busy Bigfooty has been this evening.

And the AFL are going to make a fortune.

Money, money, money.

26-09-2010, 09:47 AM
How does this effect the salary cap ?
Player will be payed extra fore the extra game and what hppens to players and coaches on bonuses if they play in the GF ?
Do the get double there bonuses ?

26-09-2010, 10:27 AM
Player will be payed extra fore the extra game and what hppens to players and coaches on bonuses if they play in the GF ?

Yes, meaning both exceed the salary cap and no team is awarded the 2010 premiership.

26-09-2010, 01:28 PM

I'm sure they just recognise it as an exception to the salary cap as it isn't something clubs should have to plan for.

26-09-2010, 01:32 PM
My only concern is the Bucks night I have planned for Saturday. We were headed to Turnbull Stakes now unsure whether thats going ahead on the Sat/Sun and then entertainment in the city (by some lovely ladies) was planned Saturday night - don't really wanna be in the city on Saturday night now. Hoping the VRC make their decision today, move it to the Sunday and then we can make it a Bucks weekend ;)

Oh and Ben McEvoy - count your lucky stars.

26-09-2010, 02:46 PM
Collingwood easily (10 + goals).

Norm Smith: Luke Ball

First Goal: Darren Jolly

I got one thing right on the day - didn't have any money on it though. :(

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103194/default.aspx
That link is for Grand Final Ticket information. Much less corporate tickets, and alot more available to members of competing clubs! Great news imo!

The extra 14,000 tickets being allocated to Collingwood and St Kilda members are the allocation that is normally given to the 14 non-competing clubs for players, officials, cotorie groups, sponsors and premium packages. Many of those packages were bought by desperate Collingwood and St Kilda supporters (non members or basic members who missed out on the ticket ballot).

The allocation to AFL corporate partners has not been reduced.

27-09-2010, 11:01 AM

I imagine the local competitions will be put off for a week.
In 1990 they delayed our local comp for a week.

27-09-2010, 11:50 AM
I imagine the local competitions will be put off for a week.
In 1990 they delayed our local comp for a week.

Cricket in Most comps is off next weekend ...Just got a text from the VTCA confirming as much for my club!! I will make a prediction for next week...at some point there will be an almighty Donnybrook....all that tension has to lead somewhere!! :eek:

30-09-2010, 07:06 PM
Cricket in Most comps is off next weekend ...Just got a text from the VTCA confirming as much for my club!! I will make a prediction for next week...at some point there will be an almighty Donnybrook....all that tension has to lead somewhere!! :eek:

My brother in law played for them.:D

02-10-2010, 03:39 PM
How good was Heath Shaw's dive to dislodge the ball just as Reiwoldt was about to kick a Saints goal? Inspirational!! Tom Harley was moved to refer to it as one of the best pieces of play he's ever seen.

02-10-2010, 03:42 PM
From one of the best GF's to one of the worst. This has been a dreadful game so far.

Is Alan Didak the most gutless player in the AFL? I don't think I've ever seen a player squib contests so much. He was the same last week.

02-10-2010, 03:43 PM
St Kilda still not out of it, controlled big chunks of the game. If they are a little cleaner with disposal, they will get back into the match.

Peake has had an absolute shocker.

02-10-2010, 03:43 PM
As good as Gilbert was that half he should have kicked at least two goals. Saints are off the boil.

02-10-2010, 03:44 PM

That turn over which resulted into a Collingwood goal is his signature kick in my view. Always a chance of a turnover.

02-10-2010, 03:48 PM

Had one last week as well.

02-10-2010, 03:51 PM
What does Kosi bring? Seriously!

02-10-2010, 03:55 PM

Best thing to happen last week was the Gardnier injury. Play him in the ruck!

02-10-2010, 03:57 PM
Best thing to happen last week was the Gardnier injury. Play him in the ruck!

Agree, when will they ever learn that he's not a KPF.

02-10-2010, 04:00 PM

I reckon they wouldn't mind having Shaun Burgoyne right, who went after pick 10 i think??

02-10-2010, 04:05 PM
Game over:(

02-10-2010, 05:05 PM
One good thing to come out of this, we can still beat StKilda to a premiership before they get one.
Actually I think StKilda might be on the way down.

02-10-2010, 05:16 PM
One good thing to come out of this, we can still beat StKilda to a premiership before they get one.
Actually I think StKilda might be on the way down.

St Kilda have no excuse as far as I'm concerned. They have a team of superstars but keep p*ssing their chances down the drain.

Now we have to put up with Collingwood being premiers ...

02-10-2010, 05:25 PM
St Kilda have no excuse as far as I'm concerned. They have a team of superstars but keep p*ssing their chances down the drain.

Now we have to put up with Collingwood being premiers ...

They have a team of 3 superstars that continually get them over the line.

Their bottom 6 are horrible and get found out in the biggest games.

02-10-2010, 05:38 PM
I feel for St. Kilda, even though I hate them. To basically lose three Grand Finals in a row can't be an easy pill to swallow. They were hammered today.

Goddard is a beast - unbelievable player.

02-10-2010, 05:39 PM
Who won Norm Smith? I turned it off.

02-10-2010, 05:42 PM
Pendlebury ...

02-10-2010, 05:50 PM
Don't the Saints have some blokes who dead set butcher the ball by foot?

02-10-2010, 05:56 PM
Haven't watched it yet (garden in desperate need of work) but you could see The Pies had more upside after last week! What a shock Milne kicked junk time goals,they'll pay a huge price for recruiting Lovett and Jesse Smith and giving up draft picks. Saints fan I work with reckons they've got nothing coming through and it's now or never

02-10-2010, 07:23 PM
Haven't watched it yet (garden in desperate need of work) but you could see The Pies had more upside after last week! What a shock Milne kicked junk time goals,they'll pay a huge price for recruiting Lovett and Jesse Smith and giving up draft picks. Saints fan I work with reckons they've got nothing coming through and it's now or never

So it's "never" then... :)

02-10-2010, 07:25 PM
Who won Norm Smith? I turned it off.

Scott Embury (according to the bloke who presented it!)

02-10-2010, 07:28 PM
How good was Heath Shaw's dive to dislodge the ball just as Reiwoldt was about to kick a Saints goal? Inspirational!! Tom Harley was moved to refer to it as one of the best pieces of play he's ever seen.

Great piece of play indeed... almost as great as watching the resultant fresh-air kick ;)

02-10-2010, 07:31 PM
That was what I expected from the Pies last week. I could not believe how loud it was at the G today. I have been to many Grand Finals and this was by far the loudest.

Very disappointing effort by the MCC members - the top dozen rows of the MCC reserve was empty all the way around. I suppose free admission tends to make one complacent.

02-10-2010, 08:04 PM
I feel for St. Kilda, even though I hate them. To basically lose three Grand Finals in a row can't be an easy pill to swallow. They were hammered today.

Goddard is a beast - unbelievable player.
I feel nothing for them. In fact I think every Australian should be allowed to point and laugh at Milne - it should also be introduced as a compulsory activity for all new arrivals when getting their Australian citizenship.

Pies were the best team in 2010 and deserve the premiership. The nervous cat-in-the-headlight effort last week at least made their filthy fans sweat it out uncomfortably for an extra 7 days.

Hayes and Goddard aside, the rest of those mugs can go to buggery. Most of all Ross Lyon, who could have had 2 premierships if only he a) played Luke Ball for more than 45% game time in the 2009 GF, and b) chosen to trade him in exchange for Wellingham and Goldsack as compensation (instead of making him go through to the ND). Pride makes a man do stupid things.

02-10-2010, 10:44 PM

Shouldn't have been allowed.

According to the rules of internet footy fans, only club captains are permitted to do anything like this.

03-10-2010, 12:28 PM
I went yesterday - my first ever GF, and the atmosphere from 2 pm onwards was electric - though having said that, I reckon the atmosphere at the Pies v Cats prelim was better.

Was sitting with Saints fans in the top deck of the Ponsford and they were grumpy through the first half, and with good cause. They were in that game up to their neck through the whole first half, mainly thanks to Goddard, and probably should've been level at half time.

Their ball use coming out of the back half was abysmal. Goddard was immense, but many others were having stinkers. Why couldn't Nick have played that bad 2 weeks ago? McEvoy shouldn't have been picked - Lyon should've pushed Kosi into the ruck, as he was again terrible, and is probably the easiest forward in the comp part time or otherwise to rebound off - and that includes Minson.

How they likely wish Lovett wasn't a complete tool, as Brett Peake is an out and out spud and cost them momentum in the 2nd quarter big time.

I don't like St Kilda, but I felt for their fans yesterday, just walking around in the last quarter dazed and glassy eyed. Tough gig - the B & W army were on fire, it was bedlam after the siren and trying to leave the ground after presentations, I'm seriously jealous

So despite watching the filth bask in it, it was a great experience

03-10-2010, 12:42 PM
That was what I expected from the Pies last week. I could not believe how loud it was at the G today. I have been to many Grand Finals and this was by far the loudest.

Very disappointing effort by the MCC members - the top dozen rows of the MCC reserve was empty all the way around. I suppose free admission tends to make one complacent.

??????

MCC membership is no different to having a club membership with a seating package during the season. Neither is free.