View Full Version : Exclusive EJ Whitten Social Club Members Event

11-11-2010, 10:45 AM
The club has finally got around to organising an event, although I think it really is just a tag on to the AGM.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/season2010/news/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/105046/default.aspx

Attention all 2010 EJ Whitten Social Club Members, we are delighted to show our gratitude for your ongoing support by hosting our very first, exclusive EJ Whitten Social Club Member Event.

The event will take place following the Club’s Annual General Meeting on Thursday 16th December in the Medallion Brasserie at Etihad Stadium.

Guests can expect key addresses from Club President, David Smorgon OAM and Senior Coach, Rodney Eade who will review the season that was and preview season 2011 and the future for the Red, White and Blue.

There will also be a special appearance from the entire Western Bulldogs playing group. In addition key members of the playing group will take part in a rotating autograph station, so guests can purchase official merchandise on the evening and have it signed by their Bulldogs heroes.

The event will also be a great chance for those not already part of the ‘Bulldog for Life’ membership option to join up and secure their position as a Social Club Member in years to come. After all, with the EJ Whitten Social Club now at capacity and an ever growing waiting list in place, no one wants to miss out on the benefits of this membership add-on in the future.

As mentioned this event is part of the privilege of purchasing an EJ Whitten Social Club membership and therefore your entry to the event is FREE. However we are also offering you the opportunity to purchase one (1) additional ticket for a guest at $60 if you desire.

Registration for this event is crucial; with restrictions on numbers we are sure to reach capacity in no time.

When: Thursday 16th December, 2010
Where: Medallion Brasserie, Etihad Stadium
Time: 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Cost: FREE for EJ Whitten Social Club Members
One (1) guest pass may be purchased for $60
Inclusions: Finger Food, 1 free beverage on arrival (cash bar thereafter)
Dress Code: Smart Casual (No thongs, shorts, singlets please).
R.S.V.P: Strictly by Wednesday 1st December, 2010

11-11-2010, 12:19 PM
As mentioned this event is part of the privilege of purchasing an EJ Whitten Social Club membership and therefore your entry to the event is FREE. However we are also offering you the opportunity to purchase one (1) additional ticket for a guest at $60 if you desire.

Registration for this event is crucial; with restrictions on numbers we are sure to reach capacity in no time.

This part doesn't make sense.

On one hand they are saying that not all social club members will be able to fit in due to crowd number restrictions, but are also selling off guest passes which will further reduce the number of social club members who can attend.

11-11-2010, 12:34 PM
Bah! Thats my last day of work before i go on holidays!

Hmmm maybe i'll use my last sick day *cough*

11-11-2010, 12:37 PM
So is it AFTER the AGM? Meaning we don't have to sit through the boring AGM to go to this, do we? ;)

11-11-2010, 05:40 PM
This part doesn't make sense.

On one hand they are saying that not all social club members will be able to fit in due to crowd number restrictions, but are also selling off guest passes which will further reduce the number of social club members who can attend.

First come, first serve basis?

11-11-2010, 06:12 PM
First come, first serve basis?

Yes, you have to register. If you click on the link in the original post it says how.

I also read it properly this time, it's after the AGM so that's good too!!

Think I'll be attending this one!! :)

11-11-2010, 06:19 PM
I rang the club today to to clarify whether children who are Social Club Members could attend this & the AGM.

I was called back very quickly & told yes on both counts.

13-11-2010, 08:23 AM
I had already planned on attending the AGM, so this will be brightening up what can be a average evening in the enjoyment stakes.

13-11-2010, 12:57 PM
Won't make the AGM unfortunately but have already booked for this.
134 days to go till season 1st game is too much for this lil Puppy

13-11-2010, 03:50 PM
Just booked my spot - yay!:D

14-11-2010, 09:32 AM
Won't make the AGM unfortunately but have already booked for this.
134 days to go till season 1st game is too much for this lil Puppy

Hate to see your size when you are all grown up, Shnookie. ;)

19-11-2010, 12:31 PM
All booked. Looking forward to seeing a few fellow WOOFers too. Good to see there was nothing on the invitation about not wearing WOOF/BEARD scarves. :D

21-11-2010, 05:30 PM
I'm attending as well with my sisiter!

22-11-2010, 06:02 PM
Got my membership info in the mail - whining over :D

13-12-2010, 12:10 PM
Got my red wristband in the mail on Friday. So who else is going?! :D

13-12-2010, 12:24 PM
I'm attending as well with my sisiter!
Should that read sinister or sister? ;)

13-12-2010, 02:13 PM
Got my red wristband in the mail on Friday. So who else is going?! :D

Yeah i got mine, but my wife's didn't arrive. I think i'm gonna have to ring the club up.

13-12-2010, 03:11 PM
Yeah i got mine, but my wife's didn't arrive. I think i'm gonna have to ring the club up.

Same - I got my wristband but my husband didn't. Will have to ring club if not in the post today.

13-12-2010, 03:22 PM
Same - I got my wristband but my husband didn't. Will have to ring club if not in the post today.

Got ours today also, but I got 5 wrist bands as I have 5 social club members registed at this address. Check that the bands aren't joined together as my 5 were all joined together:)

13-12-2010, 04:44 PM

We also only received one letter addressed to me but my wife's wrist band was in the envelope too. That might be your situation too.

Logistics is the only thing that will stop us as we will be travelling from Rosebud to Melton earlier in the day, leaving at 9.30am, to attend a funeral and don't want to come all the way home if we go to Docklands. A very long day looms.

13-12-2010, 04:51 PM
Wristband received, good night perceived! :D

13-12-2010, 06:11 PM
Wristband received, good night perceived! :D

I shall see you there, will the mullet be red, white and blue? It just just happens I received my wristband too ;)

14-12-2010, 10:04 AM
I got a letter with the details but no wristband! Guess I'll have to call them today...

14-12-2010, 10:27 AM
Nevermind, just blind. Had to dig the envelope out of the bin!

15-12-2010, 07:01 AM
I shall see you there, will the mullet be red, white and blue? It just just happens I received my wristband too ;)

When I arrive, you will be able to see,
The best colour scheme that hair can be.
Standing erect from the top of my head,
My magical mohawk will knock 'em dead.
But that won't be the real show-stopper,
That will be the new Sam Newman choppers! ;)

16-12-2010, 08:45 AM

Darn, I am now unable to get there tonight and I would have loved to seen the new choppers DaDruid - how about a photo? Pleeeeeeze........:D

16-12-2010, 08:57 AM

Mullet? Mohawk is what I meant ;) apologies for I have not been to bed. Well I have but it sounded good so I went with it :D

16-12-2010, 07:01 PM
Horrible memory - I'm in the city heading to the dome soon but forgot my wristband I will be severly disappointed if I can't get in even if I've booked :/

NoName
16-12-2010, 10:38 PM
I was there for a little while, seemed to be well organised except for the bar!

Mr.1975
17-12-2010, 12:13 AM
So.. was there any pearls of wisdom that arose from the evening..? was it a fun night?

I could not attend (Boo Hiss)

17-12-2010, 09:38 AM
I didn't attend but I have heard the following

"A big crowd, took awhile to get into the medallion centre. The bar was chockers and the first rounds of food went pretty quickly.

Smorgan spoke on the club, talked about our memberships being ahead this year, 8% on memberships, reserved seating is and social club is close to full capacity.
Rocket was good, thought that the guys really put in on their trip to NZ, introduced the new players, big cheers for Wallis and Liber, the shermanator and also Skinner.

People were able to get photos with heaps of players who were really happy to chat.Shaggy was asked how his ankle was and he said 'just' so a bit concerned.

Family day is going to be in late Feb (26th)"

I also heard that Woofa was escorted (no pun intended) by an extremaly lovely lass

17-12-2010, 09:54 AM

Kudo's for being able to cut & paste someone elses write up from another forum.

17-12-2010, 10:14 AM
Kudo's for being able to cut & paste someone elses write up from another forum.

One of Desi's pet peeves in action (though to be fair he didn't actually take credit).

17-12-2010, 10:29 AM
One of Desi's pet peeves in action (though to be fair he didn't actually take credit).
ignore

17-12-2010, 10:31 AM

"A big crowd, took awhile to get into the medallion centre. The bar was chockers and the first rounds of food went pretty quickly.

Smorgan spoke on the club, talked about our memberships being ahead this year, 8% on memberships, reserved seating is and social club is close to full capacity.
Rocket was good, thought that the guys really put in on their trip to NZ, introduced the new players, big cheers for Wallis and Liber, the shermanator and also Skinner.

People were able to get photos with heaps of players who were really happy to chat.Shaggy was asked how his ankle was and he said 'just' so a bit concerned.

Family day is going to be in late Feb (26th)"

I also heard that Woofa was escorted (no pun intended) by an extremaly lovely lass

Who?

17-12-2010, 10:48 AM
WOW.:(

Apologies to all for attempting to disseminate (in quote marks) information that others may be interested in. Hopefully Mr1975 is at least appreciative

I'll get of the cross now seeing its getting close to Xmas as I hear Jesus needs the wood.

17-12-2010, 10:59 AM
I attended last night. BIG crowd which was 'pleasing'. ;)

It did take quite awhile to get in & the bar was very crowded most of the night. Food went quickly, then toward the end there was heaps on the tables. It was ok, but no healthy options for those of us trying to avoid too much pastry!!

The players mingled really well and those who I spoke to were just lovely - Andrew Hooper, Dylan Addison, Liam Picken and Mitch Wallis. Ben Hudson also signed my WOOF/BEARD scarf. :D

David SmorgOn & Rodney Eade spoke, but it was a bit hard to hear them with so many people talking (damn annoying). Rocket introduced all the new players, Justin Sherman says he's fit in really well & is loving being here in Melbourne.

Gia, Huddo & Daniel Cross also spoke a bit about New Zealand which was interesting. The Beard missed the start of the New Zealand trip (and the hike) as his wife had a baby boy - Ignatius?? (Someone please correct me if I've got the name wrong!!)

Overall a good night, nice to see so many Bulldogs supporters there. :)

17-12-2010, 11:28 AM
Iggy the Baby Beard - love it.

17-12-2010, 11:43 AM
WOW.:(

Apologies to all for attempting to disseminate (in quote marks) information that others may be interested in. Hopefully Mr1975 is at least appreciative

I'll get of the cross now seeing its getting close to Xmas as I hear Jesus needs the wood.

Lol! Someone (probably from here) rang up SEN this morning and gave the event a big wrap.

Mind the splinteres Doggystyle:D

17-12-2010, 12:16 PM
It was great to see so many bulldog supporters together.
I can just imagine what it will be like when we have something really worth celebrating.

The players were all very accessable, with my son gettings heaps of signatures on his jumper and photos with a lot of the players.

As Suz mentioned, it was very annoying when the people on stage were talking, and people in the crowd decided to ignore them and carry on their own conversations. Very rude.

Finally, disappointing that they drew the raffle without all of the tickets being in there. The really need to get something like that right.

Bring on 2011

17-12-2010, 12:51 PM
I was there last night and it wasn't a badly run event.

I had a good chat with one of the organizers that said that there were only 1600 people there out of 10000 social club members. It certainly felt like more.

This person asked me what i thought of the event and i made a few points that i thought could be addressed, ie that it took some time to get in because of the narrow access way and amount of people, the speeches started too soon as we barely got in to the place got a nibble or drink and they were telling us to be quiet, and it took forever to get a drink at the bar. Other than that it was well done.

Smorgan seemed to be really fired up when he gave his speech. A lot of pressure on making the grand final and winning this year.

Rocket was his usual self, introduced all the new players and gave brief descriptions.
Schofield gets a big wrap as being a player that gets under others skins (love him or hate him type).

My wife managed to get photos with all the players as well as the druid himself who is quite the celebrity now.

My general observations of the players was that they don't seem to be as big in real life as they are on tv or on the field. Sure they are taller but bulk wise i think footballers are far more athletic these days. I guess as there is a constant need for players to be faster and fitter every year, the modern footballer appears quite different to before. Even just a few years ago is was the done thing to get muscled up over the pre-season, where as all our guys last night were very lean and looked more like track athletes.

The new recruits in particular are very lean and young looking (the 18 year old's that is).
Mitch Wallis would be the only one that i think might push for selection next year out of the pups, the others will get pushed around a bit early on until they build up a bit of strength.

In the ruck department, all the guys are quite lean, even Minson has thinned out a bit. Roughead looks still quite raw but perhaps fitter, Ayce is probably heavier than all of them now.

Brian Lake looked like he has done absolutely no training since september. He's still recovering from his operations and his shoulder is still in a sling. Brian has lost a lot of his bulk as a result and i think he may not get much of a pre-season into him this year.
Hargrave is another on a slow recovery.

There were a handful of players absent: Gilbee, Griffen, Cooney, Johannissen, and Barry Hall left early.

17-12-2010, 12:54 PM
There were a handful of players absent: Gilbee, Griffen, Cooney, Johannissen, and Barry Hall left early.

Gilbee and Cooney were there.

17-12-2010, 01:05 PM
This person asked me what i thought of the event and i made a few points that i thought could be addressed, ie that it took some time to get in because of the narrow access way and amount of people, the speeches started too soon as we barely got in to the place got a nibble or drink and they were telling us to be quiet, and it took forever to get a drink at the bar. Other than that it was well done.

My parents also attended and said they gave up trying to get a drink after having to wait 20min.... They said the food & drink service, or lack there of, spoilt a good night.

17-12-2010, 01:09 PM
Sister & I had a great time, we got every single player's signature! I must say I am a bit rusty with all the youngin's. Had no clue as to who most of them were! I found Crossy, Hahn, Murphy, Gilbee, Ward, and Morris to be extremely approachable and friendly. I think Minno is still drinking the dodgy soy milk because he was a bit strange ;)

Yes the bar was busy but I actually thought there was tons of food, it just kept coming and was spread out on all the tables as well. Agreed that you couldn't really hear David Smorgon too well, plus I am a shorty so couldn't see a thing.

Caught up with Adam (who could miss him!) and Suz32, so thanks guys.

Oh yeah, a bit dodge how they drew the raffle without all the tickets being in there - you gotta laugh!

Really glad they put on a night like that and hope they will again.

All the players were there except Griffen who apparently got sick in NZ!

Mr.1975
17-12-2010, 01:47 PM
Thanks to all those who shared some info about the night. Sounds like a good night was had by most.

17-12-2010, 02:43 PM
My wife and I both attended last nights AGM & the Social Club Members Event.
My observations on both in no particular order.

AGM
1/ We have a turnover of $32 million now.
2/ Cam Rose received Life Membership even though he hasn't been at the Club the mandatory 10 years. He received rousing applause.
3/ Of the players Lake, Cooney, Boyd & Cross received Life Membership. All spoke and if you were looking for captaincy material you couldn't go past Crossy who spoke with a passion for the Club which the others didn't.
4/ Problem with Edgewater Bulldog Hilton with the current developer/builder looking like going belly up. This problem will be rectified according to Cam and it will be Simon Garlick's main objective over the next 6 mths.
5/ A lot of positive things came out of the meeting including info on Bulldozing the Debt.
Currently about 40% of Bulldog For Life Members are contributing and they are hoping that the total figure will be about 10,000 members who agree to this. Next April they will be starting the "Decade of the Bulldog" and they are planning in "one night" to eradicate the $5 million debt.
Hoping to have 250 of the "wealthiest supporters" to attend a night whereas for $10,000 they will have membership for 10 years, same seat for 10 years and ticket to GF for 10 years....I imagine if we make it.
Each guest of the night will be asked to buy 2 of these packages. Cam Rose started the ball rolling by saying that he will be buying 3 of these packages. Without mentioning any names Cam also said that someone connected to the Club has put their name down for
"17" of these packages and a number of the Directors have agreed to purchase packages already too.

I'll write more later....

17-12-2010, 05:16 PM
What? I thought this was tomorrow night! I missed it! I am even more of an idiot than i thought i was.

17-12-2010, 06:24 PM
What? I thought this was tomorrow night! I missed it! I am even more of an idiot than i thought i was.

Oops!!!!

17-12-2010, 07:19 PM
Had a good discussion with Mitch Hahn who is excited about his dual role this year. Spoke to Roughy...told him he was better looking than his cousin which gave him a laugh, Ayce Cordy....who looks really fit and said he can't wait for the season to begin, Libber...who enjoys talking about his old man, Hoops...a colourful character who shows a lot of enthusiasm even when talking, The Zed man....who is a confident cool customer, Luke Dahlhaus...the new rookie who admitted it looks like he will be cutting his dread locks off,
Murph, Josh Hill and a number of other new players & rookies.

We left before the end as we had a long trip home. Added to that I was tired from running around with a camera taking pictures of my 46 yo wife acting like a giddy schoolgirl as she had pics taken with a number of the players. :)

But a very enjoyable night especially knowing that the crowd were all Doggies supporters.

ps: Met the famous mowhawk who my wife insisted on getting a photo with too.

18-12-2010, 12:31 AM
My parents also attended and said they gave up trying to get a drink after having to wait 20min.... They said the food & drink service, or lack there of, spoilt a good night.

Bar service was extremely poor, but then it is Etihaad Stadium so the expectations were never high

18-12-2010, 01:02 AM

Would make a good FDOTM episode.;)

18-12-2010, 02:36 AM
As per usual we get treated like second class citizens at the Collins sty!

18-12-2010, 02:23 PM
Darn, I am now unable to get there tonight and I would have loved to seen the new choppers DaDruid - how about a photo? Pleeeeeeze........:D

Neither myself or Shnookie brought cameras but if anyone from WOOF who got a piccy of me from the night has my permission to post it.

18-12-2010, 02:55 PM
Bar service was extremely poor, but then it is Etihaad Stadium so the expectations were never high
Extremely Poor is an understatement. It was NON existent. They should have had at least 1 of the other bars open as well as some people who knew how to Poor a Bloody Beer and count the money.
Apart from that was a great night and was able to catch of on a number of Doggy mates.
As well as DaDruid. Not sure if that was a good thing or not :rolleyes: :D

18-12-2010, 02:56 PM
Neither myself or Shnookie brought cameras but if anyone from WOOF who got a piccy of me from the night has my permission to post it.

DaDruid, how could I carry a camera and hold 2 beers at once? Get ya priorities right Fella ;)

18-12-2010, 03:03 PM
Really fun night.

Organization prob a 6/10, could of been better with a few things like better timed food service, more bar staff etc. but otherwise well done.

Best experience of the night was chatting with Mitch Wallis. He is such a well spoken, polite young man. Happy to have a photo with everyone and a good 5 minute chat. Asked about his old man, who he spoke very highly of as he was/still is his footy mentor, my mate asked a stupid question along the lines of did you enjoy watching your dad play? which Mitch replied with 'Ah yeah I was only 4 when he retired....so yeh not really' haha

Brian was a gentleman as always, even signed a napkin for my cousin who is a huge Lake fan, good sense of humor. Got an awkward photo with him and my friend who he had his arm around and said to me 'Id put my arm around you but thatd be awkward' which made the photo even funnier. Almost got a snap of him smashing a party pie down in one hit, but people got in the way dammit.

There was a fair line all night to get photos/signatures from a table of select players; Cooney, Bazza, Ward, Higgins, Boydy. A lot of the younger players were looking pretty nervous as expected but we really have a good bunch of young spoken-well-for players, not one bad experience with any of em. Had a good chat with Crossy too, who's wife is expecting a youngin in the coming weeks!

Asked a few about who they think will captain and majority said Boydy. I couldn't help but getting a photo with Dale and telling him he's got my vote.

Hahn was there and very popular with the punters, as was Andrew Hooper who would have been happy to get a photo with an 8yr old, the only person smaller than he is ;)

Went to the Whitten Oval today and that lady at the counter said there was a turnout of 1600! which is great for the club. Ves & Sherman both polite also, only saw Barlow early on. As mentioned, Griff wasn't there, prob the only senior player that wasn't. Also wanted to mention Addison now looks like Jesus :D

Also - good to catch up with Suz32, Schnookie and President of Mohawk Manor with new chompers, DaDruid!

Nice colour Mitch.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs738.snc4/65817_10150362545205078_726290077_16593528_6734680_n.jpg

Captain Material
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1386.snc4/163860_10150362545310078_726290077_16593533_7353644_n.jpg

Liam
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1367.snc4/163982_10150362544605078_726290077_16593510_4750925_n.jpg

Jesus?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v152/Edgecutiona/jesus.jpg

18-12-2010, 04:19 PM
DaDruid, how could I carry a camera and hold 2 beers at once? Get ya priorities right Fella ;)

Sentiments are same! both camera and the neverending bar staffing issue at Collo's Grotto.

18-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Big thanks to those who have posted about the night! Sounds like a good one, if a little crowded and crazy. Would love to see a pic of DaDruid and his new hollywood smile? Anyone have one........??????

19-12-2010, 07:30 AM
Thanks for the write ups and photos guys:)

19-12-2010, 12:24 PM
Sentiments are same! both camera and the neverending bar staffing issue at Collo's Grotto.

We forgot to get a pic of "Pickle" blowing a kiss to send to Dayjelle :mad: :(

wend1604
19-12-2010, 01:22 PM
I hope this works. Trying to attach a photo I took of DaDruid on the night. DaDruid is quite the celebrity now. Saw him signing autographs and having pictures taken.

Other woofers have already gone into detail of the night but had my pic taken with Liam Picken, Shaun Higgins and Andrew Hooper. Hoops is a lovely bloke :)

19-12-2010, 02:17 PM
Jesus?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v152/Edgecutiona/jesus.jpg

Sorry Hagrave I think its time to hand over the namign right of "Shaggy"

Cleary way more Scooby Doo than you

19-12-2010, 02:33 PM
Thanks wend1604!

wend1604
19-12-2010, 06:26 PM
You're welcome, DaDruid :)

19-12-2010, 06:55 PM
Thanks wend1604!

My, that Hollywood smile is looking good DaDruid! Are you enjoying them?:D

19-12-2010, 09:23 PM
Loving every moment of them!

22-12-2010, 08:57 PM
Loving every moment of them!

Footy Show signed you on for 20011 to show em off yet? ;)

23-12-2010, 08:05 PM
Footy Show signed you on for 20011 to show em off yet? ;)

Still discussing terms and conditions. ;)

24-12-2010, 03:38 AM

haha, didn't know he was crucified on his birthday. That's really rough.;)