View Full Version : History Questions - 1988 and 1998 Reserves GF Teams

29-11-2010, 04:13 PM
Doing some Bulldogs history work with some VU students and they are researching our VFL/AFL Reserves Premierships of 1988 and 1998. Anyone have any details of these, in particular the score in the matches and the team who played in the 1998 Reserves Premiership?

29-11-2010, 04:40 PM
I was thinking about this the other day. Wasn't 1998 the last Reserves league?

29-11-2010, 04:43 PM
I was thinking about this the other day. Wasn't 1998 the last Reserves league?

1999 was the last reserves grand final.

St.Kilda played Essendon

30-11-2010, 12:41 AM
1999 was the last reserves grand final.

St.Kilda played Essendon

Sure we lost the 98 or 99 to Esendon, with big Ilya dominating against us ?

30-11-2010, 10:31 AM
Here is the 1988 team, which I guess you may already have.

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/CCF29112010_00001.jpg

30-11-2010, 11:58 AM
[QUOTE=bornadog;192338]Here is the 1988 team, which I guess you may already have.

Did have this BD, but ta it's an alternative source, so ta muchly for that. We're doing some fun stuff which I'll post more of later.

Oh and apologies for the stuff up in the spelling of the title of the thread. Could a mod please fix that :o

30-11-2010, 08:24 PM
A couple of old mates in there, Zeno and Phil Okeefe. Around Melon street Braybrook was a good recruiting ground back then.

30-11-2010, 09:27 PM
Great find Bornadog

Two future Bulldog browlow medallists and plenty of fine players for both teams

01-12-2010, 12:43 AM
Here is the 1988 team, which I guess you may already have.

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/CCF29112010_00001.jpg

How good are some of those players?

The '98 team was coached by Brian Royal and same of the players I'm sure that played in the GF were Joel (?) Reynolds-Dick Reynold's grandson and Christian Macrie. I reackon TCD could probably name the team, the scores and the exact crowd numbr t the moment the siren blew in the ressies GF that year off the top of his head though.

01-12-2010, 12:51 AM
Was Ron James 15 in that year? It was '86 when Terry Wheeler bought him in as a 14 YO for the VFA GF I reckon.

What a tragic waste of life and talent. Stupid water skying.

01-12-2010, 01:59 AM
Was Ron James 15 in that year? It was '86 when Terry Wheeler bought him in as a 14 YO for the VFA GF I reckon.

What a tragic waste of life and talent. Stupid water skying.

And 2 years on would make him 16 wouldnt it?:D

01-12-2010, 09:16 AM
I see Ben Buckley the FFA CEO is on the North list.

01-12-2010, 09:48 AM
How good are some of those players?

The '98 team was coached by Brian Royal and same of the players I'm sure that played in the GF were Joel (?) Reynolds-Dick Reynold's grandson and Christian Macrie. I reackon TCD could probably name the team, the scores and the exact crowd numbr t the moment the siren blew in the ressies GF that year off the top of his head though.

Pretty sure you could add Mark West to that 98 team.

THat '88 team is an absolute ripper.

01-12-2010, 10:08 AM
#47 (Gary Irvine) is a mate of mine here in Adelaide, I have his work email address if anyone wants a pm

01-12-2010, 12:03 PM
And 2 years on would make him 16 wouldnt it?:D

Oh yeah...:o

In my defence it was late and I was trying to get two kids to GET TO ****ING SLEEP!!!!!

01-12-2010, 12:52 PM
I was at the 1988 Grand Final. Was in the cheer squad back then & got to hold up the banned, on the MCG, on Grand Final day!! Great win by our reserves and got to stay on and watch Hawthorn smash Melbourne in the seniors. Awesome day. :)

01-12-2010, 03:38 PM
Here is the 98 Reserves team for those who are interested, and a decent team it was as well. Lincoln Reynolds is the name TD was searching for.

01-12-2010, 04:26 PM
Here is the 98 Reserves team for those who are interested, and a decent team it was as well. Lincoln Reynolds is the name TD was searching for.

Wasn't it Keenan reynolds? I'm sure he was Dicks Grandson!!!!:confused:

01-12-2010, 11:12 PM
I was at the 1988 Grand Final. Was in the cheer squad back then & got to hold up the banned, on the MCG, on Grand Final day!! Great win by our reserves and got to stay on and watch Hawthorn smash Melbourne in the seniors. Awesome day. :)

I was there to. My mate was a Melbourne supporter and organized standing room tickets. We got there at 9 am and watched the under 19 through to the seniors.

01-12-2010, 11:13 PM
Oh yeah...:o

In my defence it was late and I was trying to get two kids to GET TO ****ING SLEEP!!!!!

The record has his age on there - 17.:p

mpj_88
18-01-2023, 05:55 PM
Are you able to resend the team list for our 1998 Reserves premiership? Not showing up.

19-01-2023, 09:06 AM
I just remember Lincoln Reynolds doing a chicken walk.

20-01-2023, 01:04 PM
I reackon TCD could probably name the team, the scores and the exact crowd numbr t the moment the siren blew in the ressies GF that year off the top of his head though.

He probably could mate but that isn't really gonna help us right now...

20-01-2023, 02:47 PM
He probably could mate but that isn't really gonna help us right now...

You know he posted that 12 years ago :D F*ck time flies

20-01-2023, 02:52 PM
Are you able to resend the team list for our 1998 Reserves premiership? Not showing up.

Here is the 1998 Playing list, but not reserves GF players

Simon Minton-Connell

Steven Kolyniuk

Chris Grant

Simon Garlick

Rohan Smith

Brad Johnson

Scott West

Daniel Southern

Paul Hudson

Brett Montgomery

Todd Curley