View Full Version : Dogs v Roos in Ballarat

02-03-2011, 04:44 PM
Sam Landsberger has tweeted:

“@SamLandsberger: The Western Bulldogs will play the Kangaroos at Euraka Stadium (Ballarat) in the final NAB Challenge match, next Saturday March 12.”

02-03-2011, 04:55 PM
Playing them again.
Seems all the go this year

02-03-2011, 04:58 PM
Better than playing GWS in the middle of no where.

Should be a nice little confidence booster heading into Rd 1.

02-03-2011, 04:59 PM
TCD do you know what time on Frid(?) that Willy are having their practice match at The Kennel?

02-03-2011, 05:20 PM
Why would we play NM again, thats not value for anyone...

02-03-2011, 05:23 PM
TCD do you know what time on Frid(?) that Willy are having their practice match at The Kennel?

4pm Seniors
6pm Reserves

Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-118-10459-0-0&sID=54954&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=14736937&sectionID=54954)

02-03-2011, 05:36 PM
Willy are playing Port Melbourne, I have the luck of working with Werribee and Williamstown players now as one crossed over to Willy this year'

What time is the game in Ballarat?

02-03-2011, 05:45 PM
Willy are playing Port Melbourne, I have the luck of working with Werribee and Williamstown players now as one crossed over to Willy this year'

You'll find out some time next week I would imagine.

02-03-2011, 05:53 PM

Fairly certain it's 2:00pm

There's a group on facebook ''NAB Challenge Match @ Eureka Stadium Ballarat'' They said it will be a 2:00pm start awhile back.

02-03-2011, 06:06 PM
Thanks Jaytee and TCD.

02-03-2011, 06:56 PM
Yeehaa is all I can say. Will be great to see the boys locally. The North intra club game got a big crowd so this should get an even better one.

02-03-2011, 07:04 PM
4pm Seniors
6pm Reserves

Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-118-10459-0-0&sID=54954&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=14736937&sectionID=54954)

Thx Bloke:)

02-03-2011, 07:06 PM
How often do seniors play before reserves?

02-03-2011, 11:37 PM
Sam Landsberger has tweeted:

“@SamLandsberger: The Western Bulldogs will play the Kangaroos at Euraka Stadium (Ballarat) in the final NAB Challenge match, next Saturday March 12.”

Cheers for this TCD, might be worth going for a drive.

03-03-2011, 12:02 AM
How often do seniors play before reserves?

When its harder for reserves players to get off work

03-03-2011, 10:52 AM
Yeehaa is all I can say. Will be great to see the boys locally. The North intra club game got a big crowd so this should get an even better one.

It's the same day as North-aid at Arden Street so hopefully their crowd still turns up.

03-03-2011, 01:52 PM
It's the same day as North-aid at Arden Street so hopefully their crowd still turns up.

Wow - now that takes the cake for total Mismanagement.

As I understand it the AFL schedule the events, however surely they would not have scheduled them on the same day if they were aware of the clash.

Either way, whether the knew or didn't its poor form.

03-03-2011, 01:59 PM

Can't imagine that happening to Collingwood, somehow!

09-03-2011, 06:03 PM
Rock at Arden Street has been planned for months. Their supporters on BF are fuming.

Game is at 1pm, apparently. That is what I read on their board (I read it quite a bit, they really are a bunch of bitter Bulldogs haters with a persecution complex).

We better beat them with our kids, just to hammer home that their next crop is nothing special.

09-03-2011, 06:31 PM
We better beat them with our kids, just to hammer home that their next crop is nothing special.

We'll smash them on the weekend. We'll be just about at full strength and they have some missing.

09-03-2011, 06:36 PM
Mark Stevens has tweeted Zeph will play this game - he's coming from the clouds (in the same tweet, he conceded he's still a rd 1 long shot, but still)

09-03-2011, 07:20 PM
I will be there in my new BEARD t-shirt (below) cheering the boys onto (hopefully) a solid victory

http://ih1.redbubble.net/work.6801447.1.fig,silver,mens,fbfbfb.the-beard-is-back-v3.jpg

09-03-2011, 08:07 PM
I will be there in my new BEARD t-shirt (below) cheering the boys onto (hopefully) a solid victory

http://ih1.redbubble.net/work.6801447.1.fig,silver,mens,fbfbfb.the-beard-is-back-v3.jpg

Epic. That is all.

09-03-2011, 10:03 PM
I'd better order my new "T" soon ;)

09-03-2011, 10:06 PM
I'd better order my new "T" soon ;)

Get onto it SCHNOOK!

Mine arrived quick. Ordered friday night, arrived today!

So by the sounds of it we are fielding a semi-strong team. Squad should be out tomorrow, looking forward to seeing how strong North are.

10-03-2011, 04:09 PM
Squad:

Western Bulldogs
1. Jarrad Grant, 2. Robert Murphy, 4. Daniel Cross, 5. Matthew Boyd, 7. Shaun Higgins, 9. Lindsay Gilbee, 12. Tom Williams, 13. Daniel Giansiracusa, 14. Callan Ward, 15. Ben Hudson, 16. Ryan Griffen, 17. Adam Cooney, 18. Brennan Stack, 19. Liam Jones, 20. Josh Hill, 21. Tom Liberatore, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 27. Will Minson, 29. Easton Wood, 33. Nathan Djerrkura, 38. Dale Morris, 43. Ed Barlow, 44. Brodie Moles

----

No Hall, Sherman, Picken, Vez.

Libba gets nod over Wallis.

Cooney back.

Hill, Skinner & Stack get another run after good performances last week.

10-03-2011, 04:23 PM
Very strong lineup.

FB: 29. Easton Wood, 38. Dale Morris, 18. Brennan Stack
HB: 2. Robert Murphy, 12. Tom Williams, 9. Lindsay Gilbee
C: 4. Daniel Cross, 5. Matthew Boyd, 14. Callan Ward
HF: 7. Shaun Higgins, 19. Liam Jones, 33. Nathan Djerrkura
FF: 13. Daniel Giansiracusa, 1. Jarrad Grant, 26. Zephaniah Skinner
Ru: 15. Ben Hudson, 17. Adam Cooney, 16. Ryan Griffen

Int: 20. Josh Hill, 21. Tom Liberatore, 27. Will Minson, 43. Ed Barlow, 44. Brodie Moles

Would this inidicate that Roughead is well behind Minson atm, considering Minson has been selected in every pre-season match and Roughead in just two? Or is Roughead just injured?

And the backline is very short again.

BTW, is there still a player to be cut or is that it?

10-03-2011, 04:24 PM
Squad:

Western Bulldogs
1. Jarrad Grant, 2. Robert Murphy, 4. Daniel Cross, 5. Matthew Boyd, 7. Shaun Higgins, 9. Lindsay Gilbee, 12. Tom Williams, 13. Daniel Giansiracusa, 14. Callan Ward, 15. Ben Hudson, 16. Ryan Griffen, 17. Adam Cooney, 18. Brennan Stack, 19. Liam Jones, 20. Josh Hill, 21. Tom Liberatore, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 27. Will Minson, 29. Easton Wood, 33. Nathan Djerrkura, 38. Dale Morris, 43. Ed Barlow, 44. Brodie Moles

----

Libba gets nod over Wallis.

Cooney back.

Hill, Skinner & Stack get another run after good performances last week.
Any news on the outs? At this stage all 3 ok for round 1?

10-03-2011, 04:44 PM
Is Ed Barlow a chance for Round 1?

10-03-2011, 04:49 PM
Is Ed Barlow a chance for Round 1?

Shaggy has been placed onto the Long Term Injury List. Gives us the ability if we so desire to elevate a rookie, of which Ed is one most likely.

10-03-2011, 04:54 PM
[QUOTE=Mantis;202480]Squad:

Western Bulldogs

----

QUOTE]

Also no Roughy and Addison

10-03-2011, 05:06 PM
Would this inidicate that Roughead is well behind Minson atm, considering Minson has been selected in every pre-season match and Roughead in just two? Or is Roughead just injured?

?

I believe Minson is ahead of Roughead. Roughie has been a little dissapointing, but he is only young and has time to improve. Minson should be at his peak this year, but whether he gets a go, who knows.

10-03-2011, 05:21 PM
Rock at Arden Street has been planned for months. Their supporters on BF are fuming.

Game is at 1pm, apparently. That is what I read on their board (I read it quite a bit, they really are a bunch of bitter Bulldogs haters with a persecution complex).

After seeing the bands on offer,Noiseworks Pleeeeease! Shock horror Norf fans complaining who would have thought it.I had a look at their board after we battered them twice last year and all they did was complain about our supporters.Couldn't complain about their fans because there wasn't any there

10-03-2011, 06:20 PM
Norf fans more upset they are missing Shannon Noll.

10-03-2011, 06:23 PM
Also no Roughy and Addison

No Addison in round 1 so I suppose no reason to play him this week. This team is really in preparation for round 1.

10-03-2011, 06:55 PM
After seeing the bands on offer,Noiseworks Pleeeeease! Shock horror Norf fans complaining who would have thought it.I had a look at their board after we battered them twice last year and all they did was complain about our supporters.Couldn't complain about their fans because there wasn't any there

I agree but I am just pointing out their whingeing. I go on their board often to read their monotonous "us against them" crap.

10-03-2011, 06:58 PM
Just cause a concert is held at the North training oval doesn't mean all the supporters HAVE to go...or is this just proving North fans are a bunch of bogans? ;) (no harm intended)

10-03-2011, 07:03 PM
I'm making the trip over. Looking forward to it!

10-03-2011, 07:22 PM
Shaggy has been placed onto the Long Term Injury List. Gives us the ability if we so desire to elevate a rookie, of which Ed is one most likely.

Hahn or Barlow most likely?

10-03-2011, 07:28 PM
Just cause a concert is held at the North training oval doesn't mean all the supporters HAVE to go...or is this just proving North fans are a bunch of bogans? ;) (no harm intended)

Well it is a concert set up especially to benefit North and bring in some money, so fair go I'll give them that.

10-03-2011, 07:47 PM
Different team on Dgs web page with Hall and Picken in the team.

10-03-2011, 07:50 PM
^^^

According to WB website our squad is:

1 JARRAD GRANT
2 ROBERT MURPHY
4 DANIEL CROSS
5 MATTHEW BOYD
7 SHAUN HIGGINS
9 LINDSAY GILBEE
12 TOM WILLIAMS
13 DANIEL GIANSIRACUSA
14 CALLAN WARD
15 BEN HUDSON
16 RYAN GRIFFEN
17 ADAM COONEY
18 BRENNAN STACK
19 LIAM JONES
20 JOSH HILL
21 TOM LIBERATORE
26 ZEPHANIAH SKINNER
27 WILL MINSON
28 BARRY HALL
29 EASTON WOOD
33 NATHAN DJERRKURA
38 DALE MORRIS
42 LIAM PICKEN
43 ED BARLOW
44 BRODIE MOLES

11-03-2011, 01:26 AM
Is the side listed on the side just the squad before it is cut to what Mantis said?

11-03-2011, 09:23 AM
Is the side listed on the side just the squad before it is cut to what Mantis said?

? No Hall or Picken in first list, not sure what happened there.

11-03-2011, 11:13 AM
I like the look of that list.

11-03-2011, 12:16 PM
I like the look of that list.

It's pretty well our Top list, but there's still guys knocking on that door :)

11-03-2011, 12:45 PM
It's pretty well our Top list, but there's still guys knocking on that door :)

And a couple of injuries.

A big question is: Who will play Full Back?

Lake is injured obviously and so far Markovic has been on trial with some success so far in the pre-season. I believe he may have had a slight injury after the Bunbury game so someone in this squad will have to play the key man in defence. Tom Williams or Morris? or will someone new be pushed back there.

11-03-2011, 03:28 PM
And a couple of injuries.

A big question is: Who will play Full Back?

Lake is injured obviously and so far Markovic has been on trial with some success so far in the pre-season. I believe he may have had a slight injury after the Bunbury game so someone in this squad will have to play the key man in defence. Tom Williams or Morris? or will someone new be pushed back there.

Could that be the spot for Barlow ?

He is tall and athletic and would appear best suited in a negating role.

It looks like they are working on the round 1 side, but injury is keeping out Lake and his understudy Markovic.

Sherman also missing due to injury (I believe).

Of the named list of 25, there are 9 players not universally selected on the forum as best 22.

Stack - he was apparently very good last week
Skinner - Zephaniah is a Bulldog has everyone excited and this indicates in the mix
Liberatore - Is he now ahead of Wallis ?
Barlow - Probably the back up tall option after Markovic if Lake does not come up.
Moles - obviously always close to the 25 anyway
Djerrkurra - In a lot of selections and this is a good sign for him.
Jones - Also looking likely as a marking forward.
Minson - Strong indication that he is ahead of Roughead.
Hill - We know he has the ability.

So for round 1 we have Sherman and Lake/Markovic possibly to come in.

11-03-2011, 04:56 PM
Barlow's strength is his endurance,

I feel that they will try and utilize him as a mobile big man, probably more so in the middle of the ground, maybe a tagging role on tall mobile players such as Pavlich or Kreuzer that could play anywhere. We usually struggle to match on these mobile talls, often we may use Hargrave, Williams or Morris and find that they are probably better left to traditional defensive roles.

Also the new sub rule and 3 interchange will mean that players have to be more versatile and fitter than ever before. Minson and Hudson being very similar may not be the best combination ruck duo anymore. We may have to go 1 old school ruck and a mobile tall/backup ruck that can have more of an impact in general play. Basically a large centerman who can compete for taps.

I haven't seen enough of Barlow to know how he plays but he's the fittest in the club and if he can use this to his advantage he could really help us.

11-03-2011, 07:00 PM
No Lake again...

So uh when we expecting him back...round 3, 4? or going to play straight up Rd1?

11-03-2011, 11:34 PM
Could that be the spot for Barlow ?

He is tall and athletic and would appear best suited in a negating role.

My view on Barlow is that we could trying him as the 2nd ruckman when we decide to go in with just one guy like Hudson or Minson.
At 196cm and athletic plus he can run with any ruckman in the comp and perhaps use his midfield skills to create match-up issues for them.
We only need him to provide this relief for 5 to 10 minuter per quarter and providing there isn't a goal feast by the opposition against us it he isn't likely to get smashed in the centre square duels.

What I don't want to see is Williams used in this role. With Lake being a late starter to the season (round 3 or 4) and Morris currently not 100% we don't want to take any chances with Williams who has had a more than solid pre-season.

Barlow can provide a some options in the backline or midfield and given that he has very good fitness he shouldn't be a liability for us.

12-03-2011, 01:16 AM
My view on Barlow is that we could trying him as the 2nd ruckman when we decide to go in with just one guy like Hudson or Minson.
At 196cm and athletic plus he can run with any ruckman in the comp and perhaps use his midfield skills to create match-up issues for them.
We only need him to provide this relief for 5 to 10 minuter per quarter and providing there isn't a goal feast by the opposition against us it he isn't likely to get smashed in the centre square duels.

What I don't want to see is Williams used in this role. With Lake being a late starter to the season (round 3 or 4) and Morris currently not 100% we don't want to take any chances with Williams who has had a more than solid pre-season.

Barlow can provide a some options in the backline or midfield and given that he has very good fitness he shouldn't be a liability for us.

A 196cm rake who doesn't know how to ruck will get firstly, smashed and then destroyed.

Might do some damage running around (if he knows where to run) but could (almost certainly will) give up a few easy centre breaks

12-03-2011, 01:29 AM
A 196cm rake who doesn't know how to ruck will get firstly, smashed and then destroyed.

Might do some damage running around (if he knows where to run) but could (almost certainly will) give up a few easy centre breaks

196cm and 99kg is hardly a rake, Hudson and Minson are only 7kg heavier and they are taller.

12-03-2011, 07:28 AM

What is the alternative in the games when we want to go into a game with just one ruckman assuming someone has to provide the ruckman with a spell?
If Williams is the player you are suggesting then I've listed the reasons why I don't think it's a good move plus to counter your concerns on the height and weight dimensions of Barlow, Williams is only listed as 1kg heavier and is the same height. In terms of physical strength I would think Williams is far stronger but Barlow is more suited to Williams in running around in the midfield. Neither player is ideal but I'm not sure if we have the right sort of back up options anyway.

I get what you are suggesting but with doubts or concerns on Lake and Morris if someone has to be smashed and destroyed taking their turn in the ruck as you are indicating I'd rather it be Barlow than Williams. Everitt was used in this role from time to time and I'm suggesting Barlow might be able to do something similar.

We have either moved or are considering moving Hargrave to the LTIL and I think we are looking at Barlow more so than Hahn as his replacement. Our midfield doesn't have a lot of vacancies, if any, so if we are going to play him then he might need to be able to adapt to a couple of positions and one of them might be providing some short term relief in the ruck.

12-03-2011, 07:39 AM
What is the alternative in the games when we want to go into a game with just one ruckman assuming someone has to provide the ruckman with a spell?
If Williams is the player you are suggesting then I've listed the reasons why I don't think it's a good move plus to counter your concerns on the height and weight dimensions of Barlow, Williams is only listed as 1kg heavier and is the same height. In terms of physical strength I would think Williams is far stronger but Barlow is more suited to Williams in running around in the midfield. Neither player is ideal but I'm not sure if we have the right sort of back up options anyway.

I get what you are suggesting but with doubts or concerns on Lake and Morris if someone has to be smashed and destroyed taking their turn in the ruck as you are indicating I'd rather it be Barlow than Williams. Everitt was used in this role from time to time and I'm suggesting Barlow might be able to do something similar.

We have either moved or are considering moving Hargrave to the LTIL and I think we are looking at Barlow more so than Hahn as his replacement. Our midfield doesn't have a lot of vacancies, if any, so if we are going to play him then he might need to be able to adapt to a couple of positions and one of them might be providing some short term relief in the ruck.

Hopefully Skinner, but fitness might hold him back at this stage.

12-03-2011, 11:56 AM
No Lake again...

So uh when we expecting him back...round 3, 4? or going to play straight up Rd1?

Im asking the same question...
Anyone know at this stage when he is due back?

12-03-2011, 02:01 PM
The Kangaroos website is providing live updates through out the game. It'll obviously be North centric but at least we'll get the scores.

Click here (http://www.kangaroos.com.au/fanzone/northmelbournevgwsnabchallenge/tabid/16616/default.aspx).

12-03-2011, 02:08 PM
The Kangaroos website is providing live updates through out the game. It'll obviously be North centric but at least we'll get the scores.

Click here (http://www.kangaroos.com.au/fanzone/northmelbournevgwsnabchallenge/tabid/16616/default.aspx).

Dogs FB page too. North kick the first couple, Grant kicks our first. Zeph the sub.

12-03-2011, 02:09 PM
Grant first 2 goals for s.

Dogs down by 6.

12-03-2011, 02:11 PM
Grant has 2. Baz just nailed another against wind

18-18 mid first

12-03-2011, 02:20 PM
Higgins kicks a goal.

Scores level.

12-03-2011, 02:26 PM
Jones goal.

Up by 7 now against the wind.

12-03-2011, 02:29 PM
Great stuff Comrade. Much appreciated by those of us stuck at work mate.

Please keep 'em coming.

12-03-2011, 02:31 PM
Hill kicks one.

Bulldogs - 38
North - 31

12-03-2011, 02:32 PM
Nice mark by Jones in the 4th followed up with a goal 25 out.

Qtr time: WB 6.2.38 NM 5.2.32
Goals: Grant 2, Baz, Jones, Higgins, Hill
Petrie 3 for North

12-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Where abouts you at Comrade?

12-03-2011, 02:35 PM
Where abouts you at Comrade?

At home, mate. Reading through the updates from the North website.

Who's playing well?

12-03-2011, 02:37 PM
At home, mate. Reading through the updates from the North website.

Who's playing well?

Grant dangerous, Minson very good, Libba some nice in and unders.

12-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Yeah Grants goals been in the pocket very nice kicking, Barlow all over it

North kicks the first of the 2nd in 15 seconds

12-03-2011, 02:40 PM
We're protecting the corridor strongly, but North using the wings well. Williams struggling with Petrie. Defense has been under pressure, we look a bit short.

12-03-2011, 02:42 PM
Defence really struggling. Disorganised, really struggling when the ball comes to the ground.
North first 2 goals of the qtr

12-03-2011, 02:43 PM
Thomas with 2 in the opening minute. We're going two up in defence but not clearing it effectively.

12-03-2011, 02:46 PM
Who's lined up on Thomas?

12-03-2011, 02:48 PM
Bulldog Twitter is giving regular updates

12-03-2011, 02:50 PM
Libba's vision is amazing, he looks like a kid running around until he gets the ball in his hands. Round 1 inclusion I'd say.

12-03-2011, 02:51 PM
Cooney goals.

Thank God he's back.

12-03-2011, 02:53 PM
Who's lined up on Thomas?

Rotated a bit, gilbee, Picken, Stack.

12-03-2011, 02:54 PM
Rotated a bit, gilbee, Picken, Stack.

Stack getting anywhere near it?

12-03-2011, 02:58 PM
Petrie just gave away 2 50s thankya, Cooney goals dogs by a goal.

12-03-2011, 03:00 PM
Nth 51, dogs 50 , half way thru 2nd. We look sluggish . Coon
Really needs the run . Sitting next to libba snr . Resisting the temptation to
Try and become his best mate . Edit , higgo just goaled .

12-03-2011, 03:07 PM
Stack getting anywhere near it?

Not really, and was out classed by Thomas.

Barlow getting plenty of it but I wouldn't say any of it has been too effective.

12-03-2011, 03:11 PM
1/2 time

Wb- 9-4-58
North 8-6-54

Grant- 2
Hall- 1
Higgins- 1
Jones- 2
Hill- 1
Cooney- 2

McKinley- 1
Petrie- 3
Adams- 1
Thomas- 2
Anthony- 1

Best so far- Libba, Grant, Jones, Ward.

If we were playing a decent team we'd be well down.

12-03-2011, 03:13 PM
Libba will play round 1, has easily been in our best and is very assured over the footy.
Ballarat dance girls on at half time, less likely to get a go round one.

12-03-2011, 03:14 PM
A tough hit out before round 1 isn't a bad thing.

12-03-2011, 03:20 PM
Any injury concerns?

12-03-2011, 03:21 PM
Cooney's done some nice things but looks about 4 games off full flight.
Gilbee really a concern, looks well off the pace.
Griffen playing half forward, been pretty good.

12-03-2011, 03:23 PM
Any injury concerns?

None that I've seen, but I'm on the opposite side of the bench.

12-03-2011, 03:25 PM
Interested in why we haven't tried the 3 interchange and 1 sub today. Wondering what the thought process is. Any ideas?

12-03-2011, 03:26 PM
Interested in why we haven't tried the 3 interchange and 1 sub today. Wondering what the thought process is. Any ideas?

We're not playing with an extended bench are we?

12-03-2011, 03:31 PM
Yep we are, looks like 5 with zephi as the sub. Skinner on after half time. Would have thought a full dress rehearsal would have been better prep.

12-03-2011, 03:32 PM
Yep we are, looks like 5 with zephi as the sub. Skinner on after half time. Would have thought a full dress rehearsal would have been better prep.

12-03-2011, 03:38 PM
Terrific contest from Jones, got (threw) to Grant to snap his 3rd

12-03-2011, 03:47 PM
Griffen ok?

12-03-2011, 03:47 PM
Griff off in the hands of trainers!? Anyone care to elaborate?

12-03-2011, 03:49 PM
Who is rucking?

12-03-2011, 03:50 PM
Hill lively in the 3rd deep forward, kicked one and hit the post with a second.

12-03-2011, 03:52 PM
Griff off in the hands of trainers!? Anyone care to elaborate?

Shoulder, hurt it laying a shepherd. Slim whats your diagnosis?

Edit- he's back on after the delay, my guess is it's an ongoing AC joint issue

12-03-2011, 03:54 PM
Petty windy here, an advertising sign has just fallen off the coach's box into the crowd. Play halted. Picken taken the opportunity to start a fight!!

12-03-2011, 03:58 PM
From WB Facebook:

Western Bulldogs
Griff looks to be ok just a stinger on the shoulder
6 minutes ago via iPhone

12-03-2011, 04:00 PM
Who is rucking?

Minson and Hudon first half, Minson subbed st half time for Skinner. Hudson and Williams in the 2nd half.

12-03-2011, 04:02 PM

Had it strapped the other week - hopefully not going to be a continuing niggle.

12-03-2011, 04:06 PM
Good 3rd quarter

WB-13-6-84
North-9-8-62

Grant- 3
Hall- 1
Higgins- 1
Jones- 2
Hill- 2
Cooney- 2
Picken- 1

McKinley- 1
Petrie- 3
Adams- 1
Thomas- 2
Anthony- 1
Swallow- 1

12-03-2011, 04:17 PM
Greystache, is Jones doing enough to book a spot in round 1?

12-03-2011, 04:18 PM
North first 3 goals of the last quarter. Defence all at sea.

Boyd wouldn't chase his opponent after a contest and he ran through the centre to set up the last.

12-03-2011, 04:19 PM
North are coming. Fast.

And in front..

Is Gilbee getting beaten?

Thomas with his 4th, scores level.

12-03-2011, 04:21 PM
Is Gilbee getting beaten?

Most are in defence. North are walking the ball through the midfield unchallenged this quarter.

12-03-2011, 04:22 PM
Disappointing to hear.

I'm guessing the Williams as ruckman experiment has been a failure?

12-03-2011, 04:23 PM
North 5th in 10 mins, 6 points down.

Minson with a steadier from a Hill run from half forward. Hill been good in the 2nd half.

12-03-2011, 04:24 PM
Even though it's a practice game, that's quite poor.

12-03-2011, 04:24 PM
Minson goal
North by 1

12-03-2011, 04:26 PM
Goal Djekurra
Dogs by 5

12-03-2011, 04:26 PM
Libba with incredible vision inside 50 hits DJ who manages to hold onto one for a goal.

12-03-2011, 04:30 PM
Cooney Goal
Dogs up by 11
20m gone

12-03-2011, 04:31 PM
Cooney all class to goal and out us 11 points up. Set up by a good mark from Minson. Minson been excellent.

12-03-2011, 04:33 PM
Cooney all class to goal and out us 11 points up. Set up by a good mark from Minson. Minson been excellent.

Good news....need Minson and Roughy fighting it out for a spot in the side.

Jones seemed to have been playing well early. What about his second half?

12-03-2011, 04:38 PM
2 goals to North
1 point ball game in the Dogs favour

12-03-2011, 04:40 PM
Goal North..
5 points clear, little time remaining

12-03-2011, 04:41 PM
North lead. WTF?

12-03-2011, 04:44 PM
32 mins gone
North by 7

12-03-2011, 04:45 PM
*choke* ?

How can we let Thomas boot seven goals?

Goal
Game over..

9 goals to North in the last qtr and we went in with an extended bench.

Doesn't say a lot for our fitness.

Cooney with 4 goals a big positive however.

12-03-2011, 04:46 PM
13 Point win to North.
9 Goal final quarter to them.
Defense seemed lost really..

12-03-2011, 04:48 PM
9 goals to North in the last qtr and we went in with an extended bench.

Doesn't say a lot for our fitness.

Cooney with 4 goals a big positive however.

Not too sure about that. I'm sure we would have been monitoring game time today pretty heavily which wouldn't have helped with the rotations and running out the game. The result is largely irrelevant anyway. Cooney in good touch, Minson same, Libba and DJ firming as Rd 1 players. Gilbee a concern, as is our backline generally if we have to go in undermanned in the season proper.

Those at the game, how did Barlow go, and what sort of role?

12-03-2011, 04:48 PM
Only a practice match but anytime a team kicks 9 goals against you in a quarter there are concerns.

12-03-2011, 04:50 PM
Couldn't be there at the game. Thanks for all the updates guys. For me, a lost is not all that bad. Sometime a lost is a better lesson to learn for all the young players out there today. Also, we now know that we have a lot to work on until the season proper ... but not much times until then though.

12-03-2011, 04:59 PM
Disappointing to hear.

I'm guessing the Williams as ruckman experiment has been a failure?

It's a poorly thought out experiment.

Some good and bad signs today

12-03-2011, 05:01 PM
It's a poorly thought out experiment.

Some good and bad signs today

Did Barlow get a run in the ruck?

12-03-2011, 05:01 PM
Thanks for all the updates guys. Shame about the result. Wouldnt want anymore 9 goal last quaters this year. As they say its good to get it out of the system early. Good the hear that cooney played a good game. How did Gilbee end up going?

12-03-2011, 05:10 PM
A tough hit out with good signs from Cooney, Libba, Griffen, Minson etc is a real positive. Would much rather that than finishing up with a rout against Brisbane or GWS for example.

Our back line without Lake is a huge worry. I think we need to throw Markovic in there just to give us some extra height, especially against Essendon who will probably play Ryder/Hille deep with Bellechambers rucking after a very good pre-season campaign.

Interested to hear from those that attended how our tackling pressure was. Greystache mentioned the Roos were walking through the middle in the last qtr - hopefully that didn't occur all day.

12-03-2011, 05:24 PM
Is Hall a concern so close to round one? Would have thought he would have kicked a few today on lowly opposition. Did they not go to him, was he out of sorts, or just out classed?

12-03-2011, 05:33 PM
Is Hall a concern so close to round one? Would have thought he would have kicked a few today on lowly opposition. Did they not go to him, was he out of sorts, or just out classed?

Hall would be the last of our concerns considering he did quite well in the other games. Our back line and pressure would probably be the big concerns.

12-03-2011, 05:45 PM

Don't think it was a stinger simply because immediately after the incident he held his arm to his stomach. Generally a stinger would cause the player to drop their arm to their side as the arm feels heavy or dead. I agree with you grey and suspect he may have a AC joint issue. In general AC issues bloody hurt especially when they are jammed together like a hip and shoulder.

He did have alot of padding on it against Brisbane. Would highly doubt it will cause him to miss any footy.

12-03-2011, 05:55 PM
Thomas boots six as North down Dogs (http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-news-sport/thomas-boots-six-as-north-down-dogs-20110312-1brzw.html)

North Melbourne's Lindsay Thomas has booted six goals to deliver his side a comeback 13-point win over the Western Bulldogs in an AFL practice match in Ballarat.

Thomas' haul included three majors in the final term as the Kangaroos kicked nine for the quarter, including the last four, to storm home 18.10 (118) to 16.9 (105).

Comeback Western Bulldogs star Adam Cooney kicked four goals in his first AFL game of the year.

While the Kangaroos would have been very happy to snatch the win in an entertaining clash, it came at a cost, with forward Matt Campbell badly injuring his hamstring just before halftime.

He joins ruckman Hamish McIntosh, key defender Nathan Grima, Ryan Bastinac, Levi Greenwood and Ed Lower as players to miss the start of the season through injury.

Key forward Drew Petrie, who showed good marking touch and kicked four goals, will miss the opening round clash with Essendon through suspension.

Evergreen captain Brent Harvey showed he will remain a force this year, with plenty of classy touches in the midfield, while young rookie-list backman Luke Delaney worked hard to keep Barry Hall quiet.

For the Dogs, Cooney's return from hamstring and knee injuries in his first game since round 21 last season, was the major positive.

But they would have also been pleased with rookie-lister Ed Barlow, recruited from Sydney, who impressed enormously with his attack on the ball and opponents in defence, although his kicking sometimes let him down.

Skipper Matthew Boyd won a heap of the ball, while young key forward Jarrad Grant kicked three goals.

12-03-2011, 05:59 PM
A NINE-goal last quarter flourish has helped North Melbourne score a thrilling come-from-behind 13-point win over the Western Bulldogs in their NAB Challenge match at Eureka Stadium in Ballarat on Saturday afternoon.

The Kangaroos trailed by 28 points late in the third term, but were dragged back into the contest by the brilliance of small forward Lindsay Thomas, who ended the match with six goals.

Ballarat boy Drew Petrie was another outstanding contributor for the winners. He booted four majors and posed a threat in the air whenever his team went forward.

However, Petrie is one of many North Melbourne stars who won't be available for the club's meeting with West Coast in round one of the home and away season.

Petrie will be sidelined due to suspension, while small forward Matt Campbell also looks set to miss the game after suffering a hamstring injury during the hit-out.

Campbell went down while chasing Easton Wood just a minute before half-time, and was carried to the change rooms by two trainers.

Shaun Higgins continued his sterling pre-season form by dominating in the midfield for the Bulldogs, while Adam Cooney kicked four goals and Jarrad Grant three.

NORTH MELBOURNE 5.2 8.6 9.8 18.10 (118)
WESTERN BULLDOGS 6.2 9.4 13.6 16.9 (105)

GOALS
North Melbourne: Thomas 6, Petrie 4, Adams 2, McKinley, Swallow, Urquart, Adams, Thompson, Anthony
Western Bulldogs: Cooney 4, Grant 3, Hill 2, Jones 2, Higgins, Hall, Picken, Minson, Djerrkura

BEST
North Melbourne: Thomas, Petrie, Harvey, Anthony, L. Delaney, McMahon, Goldstein
Western Bulldogs: Boyd, Higgins, Griffen, Picken, Hudson, Williams, Wood, Djkerrura

INJURIES
North Melbourne: Campbell (hamstring)
Western Bulldogs: Nil

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/109226/default.aspx

12-03-2011, 06:23 PM
Any word on Morris and Murphy today ?

12-03-2011, 06:36 PM
No surprise with Petrie...he always is a major problem against us, and ofcourse those small fwds that kick 4+ goals a game. Thomas today.

Seems we need Lake back NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ive said all along, that he is the MOST important player in our side.

12-03-2011, 06:48 PM
They played Williams in the ruck in the last quarter until we lost our 4 goal lead. Don't know why it wasn't changed sooner, maybe they were experimenting?

The back line was in disarray. No Lake or even Markovic left us fairly lite down back and Williams was beaten pretty convincingly by Lemontrie. I didn't realise Thomas kicked so many goals, don't rate him just an opportunist really. The good thing about that is he won't do it again for the rest of the year.

I had Djerrkura BOG. I thought he was the most consistent player on the ground.

It seemed like there was very little intensity for most of the game. In the third we showed how much stronger we were, tackled hard and really North could not do anything when we did step up. The last quarter they relaxed and as I said earlier tried things differently. I really wouldn't panic to much about it. Of course you'd rather a win but it seemed more important to NM than it did us.

12-03-2011, 06:50 PM
I had to leave with about 5 mins left, so didn't see the last two goals.

No, when Minson went to the bench and then forward we used Williams. It was probably as much because Petrie was towelling Williams up, so we tried him in the ruck.

Thanks for all the updates guys. Shame about the result. Wouldnt want anymore 9 goal last quaters this year. As they say its good to get it out of the system early. Good the hear that cooney played a good game. How did Gilbee end up going?

Pretty poor, looks off the pace. His kicking was a bit better, patchy, but hit a few targets which was good.

A tough hit out with good signs from Cooney, Libba, Griffen, Minson etc is a real positive. Would much rather that than finishing up with a rout against Brisbane or GWS for example.

Our back line without Lake is a huge worry. I think we need to throw Markovic in there just to give us some extra height, especially against Essendon who will probably play Ryder/Hille deep with Bellechambers rucking after a very good pre-season campaign.

Interested to hear from those that attended how our tackling pressure was. Greystache mentioned the Roos were walking through the middle in the last qtr - hopefully that didn't occur all day.

The back line without Lake was a huge concern for me today for two reason- 1) We couldn't contain Petrie, Williams just can't contain a talented key position forward, and Morris was too small today. 2) and the bigger concern for me is it becomes really obvious when Lake's not there how much he covers up for the lack of midfield defensive pressure we apply. When North got a run on our midfield virtually accepted North would run the ball away and get the ball inside 50m, no one seemed particularly concerned, they (Boyd, Higgins, Cross, Cooney) all just ran to positions where they could receive the ball if we rebounded it. Unfortunately with Lake absent, everytime North got an inside 50 they scored. If Lake is out for an extended period I fear we could concede some huge scores.

He was poor today, didn't find any space, and also uncharacteristically dropped a couple of overhead marks. What was more concerning was it was obvious North were targeting his direct oponent to rebound the footy through. Jones, Grant, DJ were all applying pretty good defensive pressure but Hall's man was too often the relief valve. Only early and Baz hasn't had a big preseason, but it's something to keep an eye on.

Any word on Morris and Murphy today ?

Morris was beaten by both Thomas and Petrie, a day to forget for Dale. We also seemed to regularly have 3 defenders going up leaving 2 North crumbers free, that's fine so long as the spoil clears the congested area, but more often than not we only brought the ball to ground which played into their hands. Pehaps we felt the need to compensate for Lake not being there. Murphy did a couple of nice creative things, but didn't get a lot of it, and was exposed a couple of times in defence. Although the ball was coming in pretty freely.

12-03-2011, 06:56 PM
They played Williams in the ruck in the last quarter until we lost our 4 goal lead. Don't know why it wasn't changed sooner, maybe they were experimenting?

The back line was in disarray. No Lake or even Markovic left us fairly lite down back and Williams was beaten pretty convincingly by Lemontrie. I didn't realise Thomas kicked so many goals, don't rate him just an opportunist really. The good thing about that is he won't do it again for the rest of the year.

I had Djerrkura BOG. I thought he was the most consistent player on the ground.

It seemed like there was very little intensity for most of the game. In the third we showed how much stronger we were, tackled hard and really North could not do anything when we did step up. The last quarter they relaxed and as I said earlier tried things differently. I really wouldn't panic to much about it. Of course you'd rather a win but it seemed more important to NM than it did us.

I spoke to a couple of people after the game and they said the same. Personally I thought he was terrible, I describe him as 100% intensity 20% efficiency. He has the worst ball handling skills I can remember, I almost couldn't recall a time he handled the ball cleanly. He certainly got in the play a lot, but very little of it resulted in a positive for the team IMO.

It seems I'm the only one who thinks this so maybe I'm wrong.

12-03-2011, 07:11 PM
The back line without Lake was a huge concern for me today for two reason- 1) We couldn't contain Petrie, Williams just can't contain a talented key position forward, and Morris was too small today. 2) and the bigger concern for me is it becomes really obvious when Lake's not there how much he covers up for the lack of midfield defensive pressure we apply. When North got a run on our midfield virtually accepted North would run the ball away and get the ball inside 50m, no one seemed particularly concerned, they (Boyd, Higgins, Cross, Cooney) all just ran to positions where they could receive the ball if we rebounded it. Unfortunately with Lake absent, everytime North got an inside 50 they scored. If Lake is out for an extended period I fear we could concede some huge scores.

You have saved me a lot of typing. Our midfield pressure needs to improve if we are to cover Lake missing some of the early games this season.

To see Petrie dominating isn't a good sign for us and whilst Williams had a poor game he didn't get a lot of assistance from his team mates. I can see Essendon trying to exploit us by throwing some talls into their forward line.

12-03-2011, 07:13 PM
So who did you see as the best players?

Thanks.

Swoop
12-03-2011, 07:17 PM
It sounds as if the defenders were hung out to dry by the lack of pressure through the midfield, it highlights how good or bad they can be made to look depending on the pressure further up the field.

It's also disappointing that Stack wasn't able to back up his solid performance from last week.

12-03-2011, 07:17 PM
I spoke to a couple of people after the game and they said the same. Personally I thought he was terrible, I describe him as 100% intensity 20% efficiency. He has the worst ball handling skills I can remember, I almost couldn't recall a time he handled the ball cleanly. He certainly got in the play a lot, but very little of it resulted in a positive for the team IMO.

No you are not on your own. His use of the ball at times was ordinary.

12-03-2011, 07:20 PM

Maybe I'm wrong. I do value a lot of smaller things a little higher than a lot of others. He was certainly not as clean as you would like but he was not terrible. He tackled well won a lot of the ball and did a lot of things behind the ball which I liked.

He's a lot shorter than I thought he would be. Around the same height as Harvey.

12-03-2011, 07:22 PM
It sounds as if the defenders were hung out to dry by the lack of pressure through the midfield, it highlights how good or bad they can be made to look depending on the pressure further up the field.

It's also disappointing that Stack wasn't able to back up his solid performance from last week.

While the midfield pressure was a concern their delivery was not that flash IMO. Petrie one on one was the key to this game for North we had no answer for it.

12-03-2011, 07:31 PM
I wasn't there, didn't see it and only have these and other online reports to go on, but I'm really disappointed. I thought we'd account for Norf comfortably. Lake missing obviously hurts, but it sounds like we have no cover if he does miss time. I really hope Griff's injury is just a stinger. From these reports, Coons got through OK and did alright, and it's great to read of Li'l Libba's good game. With only a couple of weeks till Rd 1, we seem to have lots to do.

wb_age
12-03-2011, 07:36 PM

Exactly how I saw it, you cannot question his endeavor, but unfortunately he simply isn't up to it IMO.

12-03-2011, 07:37 PM
Lake missing obviously hurts, but it sounds like we have no cover if he does miss time.

Our cover is Markovic and he was injured I believe. It is still a concern though as I don't have all that much faith in Markovic either.

I really hope Griff's injury is just a stinger.

It looked bad when it happened but Grif came back and played. I'm sure if there was any concern they wouldn't have brought him back.

12-03-2011, 07:48 PM
Our cover is Markovic and he was injured I believe. It is still a concern though as I don't have all that much faith in Markovic either.

Me either, although he's been alright this preseason. Didn't realise he was injured.

It looked bad when it happened but Grif came back and played. I'm sure if there was any concern they wouldn't have brought him back.

Thanks, keeping fingers crossed!

12-03-2011, 07:50 PM
I think we are probably making too much of this game.

With the travel to Bunbury being a significant drain, it is not surprising that plenty that played well there did not come up for this game.

It is always one of the challenges of the main season and also why the scheduling to meet Collingwood and then travel to Canberra for the match against Sydney on 2 six day breaks after the ANZAC match in Perth against Freo will be a real challenge.

Overall the pre-season form has been pretty good and we just need to be up and ready for round 1.

12-03-2011, 07:50 PM
Thanks, keeping fingers crossed!

I've got them all crossed and had them crossed since it happened. Don't slack off. :D

12-03-2011, 07:54 PM
I thought it was a good game of football by both sides til 3/4 time. Dogs fell asleep in the last 1/4. my thoughts on some of the players;

Djekurra - outstanding. Did a lot of the hard work in midfield, helped out in defence and went forward. the assessments on his inefficient ball use should have been reserved for Boyd who was hopeless. DJ played his way into R1 on that performance.

Liam Jones - dynamic first 1/4. hit packs hard, busted through them knocking defenders out of the way clearing the way for our runners. Not quite as influential after that but good game all the same. Developing nicely.

Liam Picken - my BOG. What a pre season he is having. If anyone tells you Thomas beat Morris, Stack, Gilbee & Picken. no he didn't he beat the other 3. Strong all over the ground, ruthless attack at the ball or the man with it.

Cooney - played a support role in the first half but burst into life in the 3rd with trademark Cooney dashes. Played deep forward for lengthy periods. I like this move a lot.

Stack - non influential and ignored by team mates a number of times when running free. Attack on the ball looks to have improved. Tried hard across half back.

Hill - Excellent 2nd half and looked dangerous in the front half. Still won't go into the contest hard enough though.

Griffen - looks very rusty to me. A bit wasteful at times.

Grant - good first half. Laid a crunching shirt front on someone. Would like to see him put 4 1/4's together.

Barlow - very good. surprised me. Ball use not entirely efficient and struggled a bit against the talls. However he ran hard and linked up and got plenty of the ball. he looked as though he had been playing with us for years. Can see plenty of improvement in him on today's effort.

Gilbee - should not play R1. He is a defensive liability in this kind of form and I would back myself to be able to beat him in a one on one.

Minson - played well then spoilt it all by giving away a stupid free kick in the dying minutes when Skinner was lining up for goal from 40m dead in front to tie the scores.

Skinner - couldn't get into it

12-03-2011, 08:28 PM
I spoke to a couple of people after the game and they said the same. Personally I thought he was tttterrible, I describe him as 100% intensity 20% efficiency. He has the worst ball handling skills I can remember, I almost couldn't recall a time he handledsi the ball cleanly.He certainly got in the play a lot, but very little of it resulted in a positive for us IMO.

Yr not wrong but there is room
I'n our side for midfield pace , just a guy tackling
And harrasing and closing down space . We have pleanty
Of clean ball users just not enough pressure on
The oposition when they have possession (hello boydy!)

12-03-2011, 08:34 PM
They must be hard up for wins at Arden Street. Some of their fans were going on like they had just won a premiership. A certain other fan forum has almost gone into meltdown. :rolleyes:

12-03-2011, 08:36 PM
They must be hard up for wins at Arden Street. Some of their fans were going on like they had just won a premiership. A certain other fan forum has almost gone into meltdown. :rolleyes:

Let them have this one and hopefully we can belt them by 60+ when the real stuff starts.

12-03-2011, 08:49 PM
Quick question for those in attendance today (or at any recent game!)... When I saw pics of Coons playing with Willi, it looked to me that he'd put a bit of weight on. Any opinions on that?

12-03-2011, 08:53 PM
Didn't look any different to me.

12-03-2011, 08:58 PM
Quick question for those in attendance today (or at any recent game!)... When I saw pics of Coons playing with Willi, it looked to me that he'd put a bit of weight on. Any opinions on that?

I think he looks in great condition

12-03-2011, 09:04 PM
Didn't look any different to me.

I think he looks in great condition

Cheers guys... might be time for a review at my optometrist.;)

12-03-2011, 11:12 PM

At least they might stop whinging for a moment or two.Had SEN on late last night and you guessed it a Norf whinge . One of them was complaining about Norf not being on Friday nights and to many Foxtel games!! Complain Complain Complain.

12-03-2011, 11:33 PM

In the last quarter both Hudson and Minson went off the field. Also Cooney and Morris were off. During this time Williams contested the centre bounce while Barlow was stationed at Full Back. After the bounce Williams went to FB and Barlow followed the ball contesting the boundary throw ins. This practice continued for between 5 to 10 minutes. During this time North got its run on and Thomas kicked a few goals. Williams and Barlow would have had at least 4 to 5 ruck contests each. Thomas was giving Gilbee a bath.

Petrie played well and probably beat Williams, but he wasn't the difference. We were well on top at 3/4 time so I would argue that up to that time the backline had not been a liability. It was Thomas who cut us apart because no defenders were staying on the ground. Hudson et al returned to the fray and we got back on top and then a couple of terrible skill errors (actually one terrible skill error and one failure to man up) by Boyd plus Minsons free reversal handed the game to North.

We were on top for 85% of the game. Stack wasn't great but he probably was the best of our defenders. Picken only has one gear, crazy hard and I don't think he lost a contest. I though Hill was good all game, both back and forward. I think the criticism of Djerkurra is a bit harsh. And I thought that Barlow did some good things as a link man, but his disposal early was terrible and he is not a key defender.

12-03-2011, 11:35 PM
At least they might stop whinging for a moment or two.Had SEN on late last night and you guessed it a Norf whinge . One of them was complaining about Norf not being on Friday nights and to many Foxtel games!! Complain Complain Complain.

Destiny is in their own hands!
If they get bums on seats, and numbers up on membership, then they wont be complaining wouldnt they!

13-03-2011, 08:56 AM
Practice match, no injuries, try a few things, you beauty. Pickens probably the only player that doesn't get that idea and that's ok by me.

Two weeks to go.

13-03-2011, 09:04 AM
The Bulldogs site has listed Gilbee as a hamstring, going on reports here he was below par did anyone at the game notice him feeling for the hammy?

Also Giansiracusa (ankle).

13-03-2011, 09:08 AM
In the last quarter both Hudson and Minson went off the field. Also Cooney and Morris were off. During this time Williams contested the centre bounce while Barlow was stationed at Full Back. After the bounce Williams went to FB and Barlow followed the ball contesting the boundary throw ins. This practice continued for between 5 to 10 minutes. During this time North got its run on and Thomas kicked a few goals. Williams and Barlow would have had at least 4 to 5 ruck contests each. Thomas was giving Gilbee a bath.

Petrie played well and probably beat Williams, but he wasn't the difference. We were well on top at 3/4 time so I would argue that up to that time the backline had not been a liability. It was Thomas who cut us apart because no defenders were staying on the ground. Hudson et al returned to the fray and we got back on top and then a couple of terrible skill errors (actually one terrible skill error and one failure to man up) by Boyd plus Minsons free reversal handed the game to North.

We were on top for 85% of the game. Stack wasn't great but he probably was the best of our defenders. Picken only has one gear, crazy hard and I don't think he lost a contest. I though Hill was good all game, both back and forward. I think the criticism of Djerkurra is a bit harsh. And I thought that Barlow did some good things as a link man, but his disposal early was terrible and he is not a key defender.

Cheers

Is Gilbee done? Whats up with Gilbs?

13-03-2011, 09:20 AM
Our midfield pressure is a worry, with defenders getting pinged for relatively nothing these days the pressure has to be applied as opponents are attempting to enter their 50 to spoil the entry.
I went yesterday and was specifically looking for this and our forward pressure for improvements on last season. I thought the forward pressure was ok and we managed to create at least one turnover and goal to Grant in the second that i recall, however as posted earlier the midfield other than Ward didn't apply enough defensive pressure yesterday it was way too easy for North to go inside 50 which they appeared to do at will.

Good signs from Cooney, Grant, Jones, Minson, DJ and Libba though. Our skills under pressure appeared rushed which was a credit to Norths workrate which was superior to ours.

Dont know if Williams is going to be that other key back we need unfortunately, and the worry is Lake will be unfit for rd1. Have seen his leg up close, has some serious scars on the inside of his knee which made me realise the magnitude of what he carried last season at the end.

We would have locked that game down in the regular season and held on i think the result is not really a concern.

13-03-2011, 10:42 AM
Quote from Brad Scott in this morning's Age:

"You would think at three-quarter-time we were going to get overrun, but our players stood up,'' Scott said, while pointing out that the Bulldogs left Barry Hall off at the end and ''probably could have put the foot on our throat if they'd really wanted to"

13-03-2011, 10:42 AM
Interestingly in media reports Eade was very disappointed in the backline, no mention of the midfield group.

Yet nearly all, if not all posters who went to the game said the midfield was by far the worst performed on the ground.

Something we can only speculate on is that possibly the backline wasn't following instructions?

Or is he saying one thing to the public and another thing behind closed doors?

13-03-2011, 10:45 AM
Interestingly in media reports Eade was very disappointed in the backline, no mention of the midfield group.

Yet nearly all, if not all posters who went to the game said the midfield was by far the worst performed on the ground.

Something we can only speculate on is that possibly the backline wasn't following instructions?

Or is he saying one thing to the public and another thing behind closed doors?

There is another possibility.

Perhaps Eade knows more about football than internet forum posters?

13-03-2011, 10:52 AM

Surely not? ;)

13-03-2011, 11:07 AM
Practice match, no injuries, try a few things, you beauty. Pickens probably the only player that doesn't get that idea and that's ok by me.

Two weeks to go.

Best perspective so far :)

13-03-2011, 11:39 AM

But half the fun is pretending to be the coach, and that we know we're talking about ! The other thought i have is maybe the coaches don't always tell it as it is.... If he didn't mention the way Brent Harvey racked them up and was incredibly damaging all day internally or externally (in relation to midfield defense) I would be surprised.

13-03-2011, 11:49 AM
In the last quarter both Hudson and Minson went off the field. Also Cooney and Morris were off. During this time Williams contested the centre bounce while Barlow was stationed at Full Back. After the bounce Williams went to FB and Barlow followed the ball contesting the boundary throw ins. This practice continued for between 5 to 10 minutes. During this time North got its run on and Thomas kicked a few goals. Williams and Barlow would have had at least 4 to 5 ruck contests each. .

This was an experiment that Eade had planned to try out. Sounds like it didn't work that well, but then again, I wasn't there and depends on the objectives he was trying to achieve.

13-03-2011, 12:53 PM
The Bulldogs site has listed Gilbee as a hamstring, going on reports here he was below par did anyone at the game notice him feeling for the hammy?

Yes, the Age listed these 2 as having injuries? Any news? Perhaps that's why Gilbee wasn't playing well.

13-03-2011, 12:59 PM
Gilbee's injury may save the MC from having to make a difficult decision. Without seeing the game on the weekend, it seems that his negatives (tackling, defensive pressure) are now outweighing his positives (precise kicking).

13-03-2011, 01:12 PM
This was an experiment that Eade had planned to try out. Sounds like it didn't work that well, but then again, I wasn't there and depends on the objectives he was trying to achieve.

We did lose the clearances during this time, but it was made to look much worse due to poor defensive work. Thomas was on fire, however, whenever the ball hit the ground he was metres in the clear. Gilbee kept getting drawn to the aerial contest and each time he was unable to punch the ball far enough clear. Thomas just stayed down and cleaned up.

I should have mentioned earlier that young Libba was good. Clean hands, great vision and also very neat by foot. At the moment I don't see how he cannot be in the Round 1 team.

I was hoping for the "Zephi Show" but it didn't eventuate. Though having said that, I felt he was ignored on a number of occassions when he was free. This may have been a case of him running to the wrong positions or me just hoping he would be used when really there were better options ;)

13-03-2011, 01:19 PM
Yes, the Age listed these 2 as having injuries? Any news? Perhaps that's why Gilbee wasn't playing well.

Gilbee didn't seem to be favouring his leg, though he was beaten a few times by short, sharp leads from his opponent. Apart from the ten minute burst by Thomas, he was probably not really any worse than Wood or Murphy.

i was actually very surprised to see Wood listed in the bests in one of the media reports. However, I was watching from a pocket at one end, so I may have missed some good play by Wood when he was at the far end of the ground.

13-03-2011, 01:30 PM
Gilbee's injury may save the MC from having to make a difficult decision. Without seeing the game on the weekend, it seems that his negatives (tackling, defensive pressure) are now outweighing his positives (precise kicking).

Question asked recently. I think the MC believe he is still in our best 22.

13-03-2011, 02:20 PM

I was in front of the scoreboard when Gia went down in a contest about 20 mtrs away, he grabbed his ankle straight away and hobbled off. He never looked too good on it after that.

13-03-2011, 02:43 PM
Reports this moring saying the neither injury is serious enough to put a R1 start at risk.

14-03-2011, 09:16 AM

It's been said across the pre-season that the senior players who were offered an easy ride last year will not be offered the same luxury this year.

Seems that Gilbs wants to test Eade & co. out on this statement.

14-03-2011, 09:43 AM
It's been said across the pre-season that the senior players who were offered an easy ride last year will not be offered the same luxury this year.

Seems that Gilbs wants to test Eade & co. out on this statement.

Had a discussion about this on the weekend, the only positive we coul come up with from gilbees game was his field kicking. If we drop him who do you see filling the void especially in regard to kick ins. Is there room for gilbs further up the ground maybe?

14-03-2011, 09:59 AM
Had a discussion about this on the weekend, the only positive we coul come up with from gilbees game was his field kicking. If we drop him who do you see filling the void especially in regard to kick ins. Is there room for gilbs further up the ground maybe?

Kick-ins - Murphy, Wood, anyone.

Up the field - No. He would be competing with other fringe types like Moles & Hill for this type of role and I see more upside in these 2 compared with Gilbee.

14-03-2011, 10:18 AM

Up the field - No. He would be competing with other fringe types like Moles & Hill for this type of role and I see more upside in these 2 compared with Gilbee.

Wood needs to improve his kicking before he can take the kick ins. Looks like Gilbs will be in the firing line this year on woof

14-03-2011, 10:23 AM
Wood needs to improve his kicking before he can take the kick ins. Looks like Gilbs will be in the firing line this year on woof

He was in the firing line last year too.

14-03-2011, 10:48 AM
Looks like Gilbs will be in the firing line this year on woof

I thinks its justified. His kicking for goal was terrible last season for someone that is suppose good by foot. Besides he is hardily in the Gia's leagues for now or in the future for being a scapegoat a woof.

14-03-2011, 11:17 AM
I thinks its justified. His kicking for goal was terrible last season for someone that is suppose good by foot. Besides he is hardily in the Gia's leagues for now or in the future for being a scapegoat a woof.

I'd hope that all players are judged fairly for any criticism. If Gilbee, for example, puts in 3 good games but then a bad one I'd hope people don't go overboard about it.

His game could be on the decline but I'm still of the belief that if he stays healthy he can have a good season. He may not be a walk up start for a spot in the 22 any more but I don't mind that.

14-03-2011, 11:25 AM
I'd hope that all players are judged fairly for any criticism. If Gilbee, for example, puts in 3 good games but then a bad one I'd hope people don't go overboard about it.

His game could be on the decline but I'm still of the belief that if he stays healthy he can have a good season. He may not be a walk up start for a spot in the 22 any more but I don't mind that.

In fact the less players we have who are a walk up start can only be a good thing for the team. It means that there is keen competition for places in the 22 (or the 21+1) and players have to perform that much better each week to ensure they have a place in the side.

14-03-2011, 01:05 PM
Who tagged Brent Harvey?
Obviously we had to tag him as he has been a very damaging player against us in the past.

Ditto to a certain extent for Drew Petrie, who was on him?

Looks like we would have won the match if these two could have been contained.

14-03-2011, 01:21 PM

Gia or Gilbee won't be the reason if we take the next step, Ward, Higgins, an injury free year from Cooney and Griffen will play a big part. Williams and Roughy are others we need to step up.
If Gilbs put his hand up for the captaincy, he to would be a scapegoat similar to Gia if not more so.

14-03-2011, 01:47 PM
Gia or Gilbee won't be the reason if we take the next step, Ward, Higgins, an injury free year from Cooney and Griffen will play a big part. Williams and Roughy are others we need to step up.
If Gilbs put his hand up for the captaincy, he to would be a scapegoat.

Spot on. Gilbs just needs to do the job he's asked. His kicking needs to be precise with distance, and he certainly needs to take advantage of any set shots at goal if he is considered one of the better kicks in the team.

Having said that, it is very important that Ward and Higgins in particular have years that go beyond expectation and Cooney, Griffen and Williams have a year of potential and not injury. Oh and ofcourse that guy named Lake. He needs to get his body back ready and firing.

14-03-2011, 01:55 PM
Spot on. Gilbs just needs to do the job he's asked. His kicking needs to be precise with distance, and he certainly needs to take advantage of any set shots at goal if he is considered one of the better kicks in the team.

And if he can't and we keep him in the team we will be left in the same situation as last year.

While it's true that we need the young guys to improve, and we will get a boost from the guys who had last season runied by injury we will still need a good contribution across the board and we will not be able to carry players.

14-03-2011, 02:22 PM
If Gilbee leaks goals early in the season, could we try someone like Callan Ward across half back and bring Wallis or Liberatore into the midfield. Just because the kids we have lined up as designated half backs (Howard, Tutt, Schofield) aren't quite ready for senior footy, shouldn't mean Gilbee keeps his spot.

Hopefully we also have Shaggy as an option for the second half of the year.

14-03-2011, 02:34 PM
If Gilbee leaks goals early in the season, could we try someone like Callan Ward across half back and bring Wallis or Liberatore into the midfield. Just because the kids we have lined up as designated half backs (Howard, Tutt, Schofield) aren't quite ready for senior footy, shouldn't mean Gilbee keeps his spot.

I suggested Ward being used as a defender or a defensive winger a couple of weeks back but I think a few thought he had to be played right in the midfield similar to Joel Selwood.

Not sure what the right answer is but I still like your suggestion.

14-03-2011, 02:36 PM

Destiny is in their own hands!If they get bums on seats, and numbers up on membership, then they wont be complaining wouldnt they!

"Sell more of the product that no-one sees and then we will give you more commercials".

That is fairly backward thinking in my opinion and there are probably many valid reasons to hate North Melbourne but I dont think this is one of them.

It seems that people have very short memories or don't realise that this did (and probably still does) mirror our predicament. How many prelims have we made in recent memory? We have record membership right? So why do we continue to get reasonably poor exposure compared to the 'big' clubs?

If the pendulum swings and we make our way back down to the foot of the table will we be in a strong enough position to avoid a North-like predicament? I hope so. But if we do run into trouble and the numbers drop off etc. then we will be whinging about the exact same things.

14-03-2011, 02:38 PM

Spot On. Half Back is one of the easier (if there is such a thing) places to play and where a lot of coaches like to blood new talent. If Gilbee isn't earning his keep, there are plenty of players who would be putting their hands up to be given a run there.

14-03-2011, 02:42 PM

Even at his peak 4-5 years ago, Gilbee was only ever an average HFF or Wingman. Every year back then, there was talk of pushing him forward but it never eventuated in any semi-regular fashion because he just wasn't that good up the ground.
If we try to move Gilbee again now, that will be his first foot out the door IMO.

14-03-2011, 05:27 PM
If the pendulum swings and we make our way back down to the foot of the table will we be in a strong enough position to avoid a North-like predicament? I hope so. But if we do run into trouble and the numbers drop off etc. then we will be whinging about the exact same things.

The big difference between North's pendulum and our's is North's natural constinuency covers Errol st. and Kensington/Flemington while ours extends from Footscray through to Werribee and Melton including areas like St Albans, Williamstown and Altona. That's roughly the population of Adelaide in difference.

North getting the bum's rush from Southern Tassie was a disaster for them in more ways than one.

14-03-2011, 10:34 PM
I'd rather not see Gilbee line up in round one, either. I feel he's been very average for a sustained period of time, including this pre-season. Time to re-shuffle.

Ward is a good suggestion. Picken is a possibility. This would allow Libba to be included in the squad. Another option is Hill who has reportedly done OK off the half back this pre-season, and maybe Stack.

15-03-2011, 01:13 AM
"Sell more of the product that no-one sees and then we will give you more commercials".

That is fairly backward thinking in my opinion and there are probably many valid reasons to hate North Melbourne but I dont think this is one of them.

It seems that people have very short memories or don't realise that this did (and probably still does) mirror our predicament. How many prelims have we made in recent memory? We have record membership right? So why do we continue to get reasonably poor exposure compared to the 'big' clubs?

Big hurt for North is the sustained success in the 90's and the lack of flow on now.
I'd like to see if we had that success I'd imagine we'd have a few more fans.
They just didn't embrace anybody during that time,for mine they're geographically cornered and in trouble .

egan-kennedy-ford
15-03-2011, 01:17 AM
Gilbee's lack of form is a big worry. Our 3 attacking, running defenders in recent years have been Gilbee, Hargrave and Harbrow. With the other 2 out of the picture, Gilbee's removal would place a big weight on Easton Wood's shoulders.

If Gilbee can't recapture his form quickly, maybe Justin Sherman is an option. I thought his best footy at the Lions was off half back and he has similar attributes as Gilbee - hard runner and ball carrier and penetrating disposal.

Not convinced he's settling in across half forward, may appreciate a bit of space to run and carry.

15-03-2011, 03:04 AM
I'd rather not see Gilbee line up in round one, either. I feel he's been very average for a sustained period of time, including this pre-season. Time to re-shuffle.

Griff has been average in the pre-season too, can we really take that as gospel when evaluating form? I'd want to see him in premiership matches before potting him. He wasn't on the chopping block towards the end of last year.

Ward is a good suggestion. Picken is a possibility. This would allow Libba to be included in the squad. Another option is Hill who has reportedly done OK off the half back this pre-season, and maybe Stack.

Nothing wrong with playing an extra mid across half back IMO.

Gilbee's lack of form is a big worry. Our 3 attacking, running defenders in recent years have been Gilbee, Hargrave and Harbrow. With the other 2 out of the picture, Gilbee's removal would place a big weight on Easton Wood's shoulders.

If Gilbee can't recapture his form quickly, maybe Justin Sherman is an option. I thought his best footy at the Lions was off half back and he has similar attributes as Gilbee - hard runner and ball carrier and penetrating disposal.

Not convinced he's settling in across half forward, may appreciate a bit of space to run and carry.

Gilbee, Murphy and Wood are in the side this year, but if Gilbee isn't performing then we do have other options.

Sherman moved to the Dogs so that he could play his attacking midfielder role without being shuffled around all the time, I'd rather Addison, Ward, Cross or Griff there.

15-03-2011, 12:04 PM
Even at his peak 4-5 years ago, Gilbee was only ever an average HFF or Wingman. Every year back then, there was talk of pushing him forward but it never eventuated in any semi-regular fashion because he just wasn't that good up the ground.
If we try to move Gilbee again now, that will be his first foot out the door IMO.
At his peak he played on opposition resting ruckmen, killed them on the rebound and on average conceded only 1 goal a game.
He was a very good footballer, and the hope is this year he will maintain enough form to be a serviceable one.

15-03-2011, 12:15 PM

I'm not convinced Ward has the defensive capabilities to play in defence. Ward hunts the ball and is good at that - but doesn't really appear to me to be the type capable of a shut down role.

15-03-2011, 12:33 PM
picken lake morris
murphy williams wood
cross boyd ward
gia jones higgins
grant hall vez/zeph

hudson cooney griffen

Sherman libba/DJ minson/roughead (sub) Hill

If Gilbee drops off the back half doesn't look any worst for this. Picken, murp, williams and wood provide plenty of run. Although the kicking may not be as precise.
This may let Libba/DJ in for picken's midfield spot?

15-03-2011, 12:45 PM
I'm not convinced Ward has the defensive capabilities to play in defence. Ward hunts the ball and is good at that - but doesn't really appear to me to be the type capable of a shut down role.

Yep, it's a good point. He was torched by Enright in particular last year when he went ball chasing instead of staying in his back pocket.

Perhaps Picken is a better option.

15-03-2011, 12:47 PM
Well Picken has spent time as a proper defnder this pre-season at leats against Brisbane. Could be a good option.

Could someone like Moles be viable? I know when we drafted him we described him as someone who can play on either flank or on a wing, he does have decent footskills and isn't undersized/slow. Could be an option until Howard demands a spot.

15-03-2011, 01:52 PM
Griff has been average in the pre-season too, can we really take that as gospel when evaluating form? I'd want to see him in premiership matches before potting him. He wasn't on the chopping block towards the end of last year.

Gilbee hasn't performed since 2009, and should have been dropped numerous times last year. Certainly on woof - Gilbee was on the chopping block.

Eade talked about taking 'no credit points' into this season. Gilbee has none on the back of last year, and his pre-season has been horrible. He really shouldn't play IMO.

Well Picken has spent time as a proper defnder this pre-season at leats against Brisbane. Could be a good option.

Could someone like Moles be viable? I know when we drafted him we described him as someone who can play on either flank or on a wing, he does have decent footskills and isn't undersized/slow. Could be an option until Howard demands a spot.

Interesting choice and he's one that could perhaps work. Moles handles the ball cleanly and is quick - definitely the type of player who could thrive off the half back. However, given we haven't seen him play there - it's tough to guess. I'd like to see it though.

15-03-2011, 02:04 PM
At his peak he played on opposition resting ruckmen, killed them on the rebound and on average conceded only 1 goal a game.
He was a very good footballer, and the hope is this year he will maintain enough form to be a serviceable one.

Yes he was a very good footballer. I don't think I said otherwise. I just said he wasn't as effective in the midfield or up forward (even in his good years) basically agreeing with your views in response to suggestions that we move him. Having said that though, Smithy had a similar history and style to Gilbee and had a reasonable finish to his career up forward so you never say never.

15-03-2011, 02:10 PM
picken lake morris
murphy williams wood
cross boyd ward
gia jones higgins
grant hall vez/zeph

hudson cooney griffen

Sherman libba/DJ minson/roughead (sub) Hill

If Gilbee drops off the back half doesn't look any worst for this. Picken, murp, williams and wood provide plenty of run. Although the kicking may not be as precise.
This may let Libba/DJ in for picken's midfield spot?

Not comfortable moving Picken away from what he does so well, that is, shutting down and getting under the skin of our opponents elite outside running players eg Delidio, Didak, Harvey etc.

As for Moles off half back, I would be concerned with turnovers as his decision making under pressure can hurt us.

15-03-2011, 03:13 PM
As for Moles off half back, I would be concerned with turnovers as his decision making under pressure can hurt us.

I'm not sure it's that much worse than Wood's, Harbrow's or Hargrave's decision making coming out of defence. I just think that he could potentially play that position, and I'm not sure he's ahead of enough other players to be able to play in the midfield or forwardline every week.

15-03-2011, 03:32 PM
Not comfortable moving Picken away from what he does so well, that is, shutting down and getting under the skin of our opponents elite outside running players eg Delidio, Didak, Harvey etc.

Didak & Harvey both spend more time forward than in the midfield.

Who would be his likely match-up for Essendon? Probably Jetta who also plays forward.

15-03-2011, 04:01 PM
Didak & Harvey both spend more time forward than in the midfield.

Who would be his likely match-up for Essendon? Probably Jetta who also plays forward.

Possibly Winderlich, maybe Stanton. From what I've seen this year Jetta is still staying largely inside the arc as a more traditional small roaming forward.

Didak and Harvey I see as mid forwards where Picken plays a run with shutdown role. Didak and Harvey do tremendous damage from outside 50 with their creativity and Picken does a great job at mitigating this with his pressure. Maybe Harvey's role will change as he gets older and with the development of their kids.

15-03-2011, 04:13 PM
Smithy had a similar history and style to Gilbee and had a reasonable finish to his career up forward so you never say never.
Bubba did spend alot of time in the middle early in his career and won our goalkicking award before the twilight in his career. They did play a similar style as HBFers though.

We do have a bit of a conundrum, as if we replace Gilbee with a pure defensive type we will rob ourselves of drive. One of Murphy/Wood needs to have a big year and I have doubts abotu Murphy's durability and Wood being developed enough to do so.

15-03-2011, 05:10 PM
When Lake doesn't play - Morris has to play tall....and everyone else is shuffled up the line leaving us short on a small defender. So although Picko won't spend much time purely in defence for the year - it will be necessary for him to be a small defender in round 1 if Lake doesn't come up.