Last 5 games head to head

Round 22 2010- Western Bulldogs 107 d Essendon 78
Round 10 2010- Essendon 99 d Western Bulldogs 90
Round 16 2009- Essendon 70 lost to Western Bulldogs 103
Round 21 2008- Western Bulldogs 151 d Essendon 105
Round 4 2008- Essendon 90 lost to Western Bulldogs 128

Form leading in

Essendon

It’s been a big summer of change for Essendon, with the departure of the much maligned Matthew Knights at the end of the 2010 season, and the creation of their coaching “dream team” in Head coach James Hird assisted by Mark Thompson, expectations are high around Windy Hill. Their form in the NAB Cup, making the final, showed they seem to have made some progress, and there was a clear departure from the one way kamikaze running of the previous regime, but as we have seen in the past giving too much weight to NAB Cup performances can be dangerous.

One thing does seem clear though, Essendon will have a much stronger focus on accountability, pressuring the ball carrier, and holding their structure in defence. Having had a relatively clean bill of health most of their list has been up and running all year, only niggling injuries to Scott Gumbleton, and the ongoing problems relating to a pancreas injury to defender Tayte Pears seem to be their concerns.

Western Bulldogs

A much lower key preseason for the Bulldogs this year, after coming off a drought breaking win in the 2010 NAB Cup, expectations were at an all-time high only to have a let down in round 1 against eventual premier Collingwood. 2011 has been different, it seemed clear the coaching staff were happy to lose round 1 of the NAB Cup so we could tailor our preseason and preparation to our needs. A strong showing against North Melbourne, followed by an equally impressive first half against Geelong before the cue appeared to be put in the rack showed the dogs were up and running. This was followed by good wins against Brisbane and Fremantle in practice matches with a variety of players appearing. The final practice match was a solid hitout for the majority of senior players against North Melbourne, although a last quarter drop off soured to a degree what had been a good showing.

With the retirement of several veterans including games record holder Brad Johnson, and the departure of running defender Jarrod Harbrow to the newly formed Gold Coast Suns, it’s been a summer of transition for the Bulldogs. Heavily involved in trade week, we saw new arrivals Justin Sherman, Patrick Vezpremi, and Nathan Djerrkura join the club, along with the much anticipated sons of club legends Steve Wallis and Tony Liberatore.

The Bulldogs had a high number of off-season surgeries, meaning several senior players have had limited pre-seasons. Adam Cooney has managed just the one full practice match, and is probably a couple of weeks off full fitness but has proven a strong performer while building fitness. All Australian full back Brian Lake has had a very restricted summer following hip, knee, and shoulder surgeries and looks in doubt for round one. Also veteran defender Ryan Hargrave following major foot surgery looks unlikely to be seen much before the halfway mark of the season.

Potential Line Ups

Predicting the starting line ups for round one can be akin to guessing the winning Powerball numbers to a degree, but I think it’s safe to say we are likely to see quite a few new faces lining up for their respective clubs. The big question for all clubs in round 1 will be how to handle and use the new sub rule.

Essendon

Essendon looks to have found a good young player in Dyson Heppell, looking like the younger brother of Dale Thomas, he has shown good pace and ability to step up into senior football and could be a chance for round one. Mature rookie Stuart Crameri has had an excellent preseason playing as a strong bodied defender and should build on the 3 games he played last season. While high leaping swingman Kyle Hardingham looks likely to fill gaps for the Bombers again this season. Another mature rookie to have shown some good signs has been defender Michael Hibberd, with injury ruling out Henry Slattery he could be in line to debut.

Possible line up

B- Fletcher Hooker Hibberd
HB- Dempsey Hardingham Melksham
C- Hocking Watson Prismall
HF- Jetta Hurley Winderlich
F- Monfries Ryder Williams
Rucks- Bellchambers Stanton Heppell
Int- Colyer McVeigh Zaharakis
Sub- Hille

Bulldogs

The real selection quandary for the Bulldogs will be which new players will be introduced, and at who’s expense will they come in for. The team lacked for pace last season, particularly up forward, and it appears a premium is being put on players who can bring that. Justin Sherman looks a certainty to be included, Nathan Djerrkura seems to be a chance to play as a defensive forward, and the potential versatility of ex-Swan Ed Barlow may also see him come into calculation with the likely absence of Lake. Bulldog fans will also be eagerly watching to see who if either of the father son selections of Mitch Wallis and Tom Liberatore will play, they both bring something different with Wallis be a creative mix of inside and outside midfielder, while Liberatore is a pure in and under type with excellent vision and the ability to find a team mate in congestion.

Possible line up

B- Wood Morris Barlow
HB- Murphy Williams Picken
C- Cross Boyd Ward
HF- Sherman Jones Grant
F- Higgins Hall Djerrkura
Rucks- Hudson Cooney Griffen
Int- Giansiracusa, Minson, Liberatore
Sub- Hill

Key Match ups

Hooker vs Hall-

Barry was the go to man last season for the Dogs, he kicked a career best 80 goals, and had a hand in 40 others. The Bulldogs have acknowledged we went to him too often in 2010, and while a broader spread of goal kickers is the desire, Hall will still be prevalent. The question mark is at 34 is Barry going to be able to carry the load? Will his aging body stand up to a 15th season of AFL football? Hooker has been the key defender for the Bombers with Pears out and has done an admirable job, while not ideally suited to the quick leading and physically strong Hall, I think he’ll get the job. Dustin Fletcher coming in as the 3rd defender in contests with Hall will be the key to keeping him under control.

Morris vs Hurley-

After an injury effected preseason, along with some off field controversy, young key position player Hurley had a slow start to 2010, but by seasons end started to show why he is considered one of the AFL’s young rising stars. While in this authors opinion he is better suited to playing as a key defender, team structure will dictate he plays forward. Dale Morris is the ultimate trouble shooter for the Bulldogs, being able to play small when allowed, but also playing tall when required. With the Absence of Lake, Morris is likely to get the job on Hurley to allow Williams to pick up the resting ruckman. With strength, speed, and maturity on his side Morris should be able to quell the slightly bigger Hurley which will go a long way to ensuring a bulldog victory.

Grant vs Hardingham-

Some may think this match up is not exactly a “key” to the game but I’m of the thinking the result from this contest will play a big part in the result. Grant made remarkable progress last season, from a player who ended 2009 languishing in the Williamstown reserves, and who looked disinterested in football, to an automatic selection in the Bulldogs best 22, and a rising start of the competition, it’s a remarkable climb. Some people credit it to Grant’s borderline obsession with Barry Hall, he is said to watch and mimic virtually everything Hall does around the club, and it seems to be a paying off. Grant has showed some good form in the preseason, and being able to take some of the load off Hall will be vital, if Grant can lead to areas of space created by Hall drawing the defenders then he could create serious headaches in the opposition coaches box. Hardingham had his colours lowered in round 22 last year with Grant kicking a career best 6 goals, he is a little more mature this season so will be hoping for a reversal form that game. He has the athleticism, and ability in the air to go with Grant, and while no one is as quick as Grant, Hardingham is anything but slow. The issue is Grant is a class above in terms of talent and Hardingham will need to play his absolute best to quell him.

Where the game will be won and lost

If preseason form is a guide this should be a game of contrasting styles. Essendon have shown defensive pressure and holding their structure will be their mantra, whereas while the Bulldogs will hope to greatly increase their defensive efforts, particularly in the forward line, we seem to be looking at improving our ball movement patterns, using our newly acquired pace, and breaking open opposition defensive presses.

As always the midfield battle will be key, Jobe Watson will again carry the burden of being the bombers only genuine inside midfielder and he will have his hands full competing with the bulldogs multiple options in Boyd, Cooney, Ward, and Liberatore. While still not quick, Essendon have made a conscious effort of drafting young players with genuine pace, Heppel, Melksham, and Colyer all have that, and they have moved away from trying to draft the James Hird prototype midfielder which saw them with about 7 190cm once paced midfielders such as Watson, Lovett-Murray, Myers etc.

If the Bulldogs can win the clearances and spread well from the contest then the result should be a foregone conclusion, however if Essendon can close down the space, restrict the Bulldogs ball movement, and turn it into a contest of close in pressure then the result could go either way.

The unknown quantity will be how Essendon handle the emotion and build up of James Hird’s first game as coach. Will it lift them to and inspire them to victory, or will it be too much to deal with and they find themselves crumbling under the pressure. No one will know until about 4pm Sunday.

Verdict

Essendon will be an improvement on last year, and their new game plan will develop as the season wears on, but in their first foray into the pressure of a genuine home and away match they will be caught out by the lift in intensity and the structures that seemed so effective in the NAB Cup will buckle under the pressure of a mature and hardened AFL team.

A real danger game but the Bulldogs by 25 points.

WHO’S PUMPED!!!

24-03-2011, 04:10 PM
Excellent GS.

Interesting Jones has been selected - the more I consider it, the more I like it, giving us an opportunity to stretch their defence (although I don't really rate Minson's marking prowess as a forward).

Hopefully there are alot of stoppages for this game - mature, hard bodied ball winners is one area in which I believe we have a real advantage over Essendon.

24-03-2011, 04:25 PM
Well that is one of the best summaries ever.

You have selected 4 debutants in Djerrkura, Liberatore, Sherman and Barlow. I understand that you don't think that Lake will play.

I can understand the special talents of Liberatore but what of the other three? What have they shown to you to make you select them above Moles, Gilbee, Markovic, Vespa or Wallis? Has Barlow even shown any pre-season form?

24-03-2011, 04:53 PM
Excellent GS.

Interesting Jones has been selected - the more I consider it, the more I like it, giving us an opportunity to stretch their defence (although I don't really rate Minson's marking prowess as a forward).
Hopefully there are alot of stoppages for this game - mature, hard bodied ball winners is one area in which I believe we have a real advantage over Essendon.

Nice GS. Got the WOOF year of previews off to a flyer.

I agree that Minson is an issue up forward, but if we stretch them with talls he might end up on someone smaller who he can outmuscle. But then again, his reluctance to throw his weight around in the forward line has always been a problem.

If I were Eade, I'd encourage him to crash a pack early, even if it costs a free. Put a bit of fear into his opponents. Enough playing like Jane inside the arc.

24-03-2011, 05:00 PM
Well that is one of the best summaries ever.

You have selected 4 debutants in Djerrkura, Liberatore, Sherman and Barlow. I understand that you don't think that Lake will play.

I can understand the special talents of Liberatore but what of the other three? What have they shown to you to make you select them above Moles, Gilbee, Markovic, Vespa or Wallis? Has Barlow even shown any pre-season form?

Thanks JC.

Good questions- I try to predict what will actually happen more so than what I think. Sherman was drafted for a specific purpose, to add pace to the forward half of the ground, I don't think his form in the preseason has shown much at all, but I think the MC will give him a chance first up. Djerrkura is again a selection for a role, he will be there to apply defensive pressure rather than win the ball, as a player Vezpremi is a league ahead but doesn't necessarily fit the structure first up. Barlow was a toss of the coin, I thought he might get selected because he can potentiallly play a couple of roles, but I think Markovic is just as lilkely to play instead.

24-03-2011, 05:01 PM
Excellent work, Greystache. I really want to see us apply some good defensive pressure in our forward half and mid zone this year, something that was sorely lacking at times last season. If we can put some good pressure on the Essendon ball carriers, that will go a long way to helping out our backs if Lake is missing. I don't to see too many more 9 goal quarters against us this year.

24-03-2011, 05:22 PM
Graystache, you have outdone yourself. Quality write up.

Barlow on Ryder?

Watch for the giant roar when Libba strides on to the park.
Any complacency in the Bulldogs camp will be exploited by the Bombers. Alot of emotional investment for them this year; under the blowtorch and hungry for an early top four scalp.

Picken / Watson - Looking forward to that.

24-03-2011, 05:34 PM

Barlow on Ryder?

Any complacency in the Bulldogs camp will be exploited by the Bombers. Alot of emotional investment for them this year; under the blowtorch and hungry for an early top four scalp.

Picken - Watson or Boyd - Watson (two captains)???

24-03-2011, 05:38 PM
Watson isn't the normal type that Picken takes. A Boyd/Watson head to head match up would seem more likely.

I reckon Picken might get someone like Jetta or Zaharakis.

24-03-2011, 05:38 PM

Barlow on Ryder?

I'd start with Williams on Ryder and see how he goes, he's played enough footy now to start taking the better forwards.

I don't think you'd bother trying to tag Watson, there's not much point. He's a quality player who wins the ball in congestion, not much you can do about that, the best option is to try and close down the options he's got to give it to, he can't hurt you directly.

Watson isn't the normal type that Picken takes. A Boyd/Watson head to head match up would seem more likely.

I reckon Picken might get someone like Jetta or Zaharakis.

That's how I see it too. Picken could make a mess out of Jetta if he gets a chance. Winderlich might also be a match up if he's starting to win a bit of the ball across half forward, he's pretty dangerous when on song.

24-03-2011, 05:45 PM
Markovic to debut

On Twitter

24-03-2011, 05:46 PM
Does that mean Lake out?

24-03-2011, 05:47 PM
Libba named to start as well with Wallis on extended bench

24-03-2011, 05:56 PM
Markovic to debut

On Twitter

Also on Twitter:

Former Sydney Swan Ed Barlow named on extended bench for Dogs. Upgraded to senior list this week for Ryan Hargrave (foot)

24-03-2011, 07:06 PM
I don't think you'd bother trying to tag Watson, there's not much point. He's a quality player who wins the ball in congestion, not much you can do about that, the best option is to try and close down the options he's got to give it to, he can't hurt you directly.

Good point. Still, I look forward to a few Chuck Norris moves from Liam. Highly entertaining stuff.

25-03-2011, 02:13 AM
Enjoyed match summary, but given the lack of class and experience of a weakened 'Dogs defense it is hard to share your optimism.
No Lake,Harbrow,Hargrave and Gilbee,will put too much pressure on the likes of Morris and Murphy who both haven't enjoyed the best of pre-seasons.At some stage we are going to need the likes of Picken and Griffen to stop the flow down back.

25-03-2011, 09:04 AM
Sharp summary Greystache. Could Libba go to Watson until his tank gives out?

26-03-2011, 10:08 AM
Well done on the preview GS, good job!!

It certainly shapes as an interesting clash, which has only been made more intriguing by the team we have selected.

As you have described our efforts when we don't have the ball will probably determine how we go. We look to have enough firepower to hurt Essendon going 'our' way, but the efforts of the midfield & forwardline to apply suitable pressure to help out an under-manned defence will go along to deciding the winner.

There is always a case of the unknown when starting a new season, especially considering the amount of changes to the team that last ran out in an official game, but I am very confident we can get the job done on Sunday.

26-03-2011, 10:14 AM
Boydie mite be Buggered before the game starts. Handing out all those jumpers to the new guys must be exhaustive :rolleyes:

26-03-2011, 01:32 PM
Sharp summary Greystache. Could Libba go to Watson until his tank gives out?

I don't think Watson's the sort of player you sit on, he wins the ball in the clearances when there are players all around him, adding one more probably won't help. The best way to reduce his effectiveness is to match your best clearance player against him and play the old "he can't get it if we've got it" game. I think Boyd's the best match up, but I think Libba in patches is an option head to head too.

26-03-2011, 02:53 PM
As you have described our efforts when we don't have the ball will probably determine how we go.

I read somewhere that at training, Saints have a system whereby a tackle inside 50 equals a goal or something like that. will be interesting to see if we can ramp it right up in that department.

26-03-2011, 03:37 PM
So with Hudson as the only specialist Ruckman ( Minson named as emergency ) , does this mean that Barlow at 196cm will the back up with Williams and Jones doing the tap work at either end ?

Again we have a short forward line so have to abandon the long kick into the 50 , if we want to win we have to go back in time to when Rocket hammered into the guys " Run into the 50 and make a decision kick the goal or pass is to someone in a better position "

To often last year we had guys creep up the ground , possession passed between stationary players across the ground , the ball would finally make it to 60m where a snap decision was made to try to drop the ball on Hall's head , a turnover would result as we had no one to crumb .

We need to bring back the running goals which made us one of the highest scoring teams, last year we threw away the running game and tried to zone the ground, in one game the stats read we had the lowest number of running bounces for almost forty years .

As we saw with the Friday game , the new rules virtually divide a ground into 12 zones, two defence, two forward , two centre, and three down each flank, players seem to only be told to stay within their zone, Geelong had little run and carry , Wojcinski would move to the edge of his zone and handpass or kick to another zone.

If the Dogs are really serious we must make the whole ground a zone and go back to basics , run and carry, only kick to a leading player, no kicks or handpasses to a player under pressure, only use the corridor. We must forget about the Sub Rule, just believe in the fitness and skills of the players, everyone else has a three man bench. This year will be one where the the statement of " the best 22 " will be null and void, for each team to keep the player's fresh for the finals, a number of young players will have to blooded in a continual rotation, if that means you rest your best midfielder for a total of six games , so be it . By the finals you may not have the traditional "best 22" , a unit of players gelled together by week in week out games, you will have something stronger, a unified Club with fresh legs, young players who have five of six games under their belts.

The game against Essendon will show us a glimpse of that, fresh faces ready for a challenge, some familiar faces, some have come to a new Club , some have risen through the ranks , all wearing the the Red, White and Blue with pride

26-03-2011, 03:43 PM
A short forward line?

Hall, Jones and Grant are all 194cm plus, and Higgins plays tall for his size.

26-03-2011, 07:44 PM
A short forward line?

Hall, Jones and Grant are all 194cm plus, and Higgins plays tall for his size.

Some members of WOOF don't believe that the 192cm Grant should be classed as a tall so I guess that leaves us with just 2 tall forwards.

26-03-2011, 07:53 PM
Some members of WOOF don't believe that the 192cm Grant should be classed as a tall so I guess that leaves us with just 2 tall forwards.

Well, in 2009 we didnt have one. One tall forward a year hence is not bad.

26-03-2011, 08:04 PM

Grant is a tall that has unique athletic capabilities that allow him to play as a small-type if required. Anyway, 2 talls in the forward line is well balanced, not short.

Think back to 2008 when Aker and Johnson were our main targets, with Minson taking up space. That was a short forward line.

26-03-2011, 08:11 PM
So with Hudson as the only specialist Ruckman ( Minson named as emergency ) , does this mean that Barlow at 196cm will the back up with Williams and Jones doing the tap work at either end ?

If Jones takes the ruck duties in the forward line, i reckon Huddo will be doing the other areas.

26-03-2011, 08:13 PM
Grant is a tall that has unique athletic capabilities that allow him to play as a small-type if required. Anyway, 2 talls in the forward line is well balanced, not short.

Think back to 2008 when Aker and Johnson were our main targets, with Minson taking up space. That was a short forward line.

Grant was also recruited as a marking key forward with a terrific pair of hands and I firmly believe that when he retires, that will be how he is remembered.

26-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Grant was also recruited as a marking key forward with a terrific pair of hands and I firmly believe that when he retires, that will be how he is remembered.

Yep, me too.

26-03-2011, 08:19 PM

A premiership winning marking key forward :)