View Full Version : Anti social Behaviour at the footy

05-04-2011, 05:33 PM
I'm interested to know the perceptions of long time attendees of games at the G or other stadiums.

IYO is it getting better or worse?

I grew up in Hamilton ( Picken Territory! ) so never had the opportunity to attend many games - grew up watching it on telly.

Recently, I attended a game with friends and I noticed how volitile it was outside Etihad.

Pimply, maurading gen y types with buffount hair, skinny jeans, spilling out of the stadium, tripping over their mouths.

My friend quickly whipped off his colours as they were the losing side and he didn't want any trouble.

Even with kids present, some refuse to tone down the vitriol. started to make me think. Has it always been this way? or is crowd behaviour on the downer

Or, is it just worse in a different way but better in others?

05-04-2011, 05:39 PM
It's a lot tamer now. The stories I hear from guys at work about Victoria Park are pretty scary

05-04-2011, 05:40 PM
I'm not sure GD. I've never really seen any overt displays of aggression TBH. I'm not a real stirrer, and I don't respond to other supporters taunting, so it's never effected me. FWIW, I still love going to games, and I still love that our spectators can mingle without needing to be separated.

05-04-2011, 05:45 PM
I've seen some pretty bad incidents, but they are the exception rather than the norm. Most in attendance behave themselves fairly well — better than me, anyway ;)

05-04-2011, 06:18 PM
I'm interested to know the perceptions of long time attendees of games at the G or other stadiums.

IYO is it getting better or worse?

I grew up in Hamilton ( Picken Territory! ) so never had the opportunity to attend many games - grew up watching it on telly.

Recently, I attended a game with friends and I noticed how volitile it was outside Etihad.

Pimply, maurading gen y types with buffount hair, skinny jeans, spilling out of the stadium, tripping over their mouths.

My friend quickly whipped off his colours as they were the losing side and he didn't want any trouble.

Even with kids present, some refuse to tone down the vitriol. started to make me think. Has it always been this way? or is crowd behaviour on the downer

Or, is it just worse in a different way but better in others?

Can you tell us which team the offending louts were supporting?
Might speak volumes.

Generally I have no trouble at the footy, though me and my mates were physically attacked by a crazed Swan supporter at a final at the MCG a couple of years ago. He literally came out of nowhere swinging haymakers with the look of a spanish fighting bull in his half glazed eyes. Screaming like a banshee.
His friends apologised, said he does it all the time and forcibly led him away (to some prison bound future no doubt). By the time security arrived the maniac was long gone and WE got hassled by security as some women had pointed to us saying we were the ones involved! We nearly got kicked out.

In the last quarter his friends came back again, thanked us for our composure, apologised again and wished us all the best in the finals. Must be hard work having a friend like that.

05-04-2011, 06:41 PM
I've never had masssive problems, since I've come back to going to the footy (2007). There's always a few dopes, grogged up to the eyeballs, and I've mentioned a few on here. But by and large, most are OK. I usually take headphones, and tune into the radio broadcast, so I probably miss a bit too! Being in a wheelchair, those stadiums can be a bit intimidating, especially with big crowds, I've found stadium staff, security and the cops to be pretty helpful if required.

05-04-2011, 08:39 PM
Friends and I have found AAMI crows supporters to be a bit over the top in their volatility against interstate teams, I got jumped on by two guys for barracking too loud (I am very loud admittedly but not in an offensive/vulgar way). A carlton supporter from work was spat on 2 years ago. I wont take the kids to a crows game ever.

LostDog
05-04-2011, 08:52 PM
I was coming out of Patterson Stadium on Saturday and a Freo supporter was abusing a Geelong supporter in a large crowd of Freo supporters, calling him evey name under the sun and chasing him up the street.
All because he wore a Geelong Guernsey, plus it was super tight.

ran into graham polak at the subi hotel as well after there come from behind win against North Ballarat

05-04-2011, 10:08 PM
There has always been an element of it and it can occur anywhere.

At the Essendon game I sat in the Medallion Club and had the unfortunate experience of sitting near a very loud, uneducated Essendon supporter. This supporter abused EVERY decision that did not go to Essendon and called for an Essendon free kick every time we touched the ball.

To top it off he then shouted abuse at Easton Wood as he was being assisted from the ground with a serious injury. This reached my boiling point and I told him that the abuse was totally unnecessary.

I then corrected myself and told him "No it is just obnoxious". This did at least stop his vitriol as his Essendon supporting girlfriend told him that she agreed with me.

I have had some unpleasant experiences including one at the Whitten Oval in 1993 where I sat next to a Hawthorn supporter who called for Peter Foster to have his leg broken AGAIN whenever he got near the ball.

I was also threatened with violence in 2004 when on the train after another Rhode inspired shellacking against Collingwood, I was verbally attacked by a Richmond supporter as I was telling a few Bulldog travellers that we all needed to write to Smorgon to have Rhode replaced.

Apart from those incidents I have generally found supporters ok and always enjoy attending with an opposition supporter as it gives a more even handed analysis of the game.

06-04-2011, 12:13 AM
After game trains can be scarier than stadium crowds, but Aussie Rules fans are generally a pretty genial lot, nothing like the soccer mobs we have here in parts of Europe, or full on soccer gangs (well organised ones that fight with police!) I've seen in places like Chile and Turkey. Italian neo-nazi skinhead 'ultras' can also be quite scary, and the fact that they are paid for by political parties and their activities are tacitly condoned by the police just makes it that much more frightening.

I love how families can go to the footy in Australia, and where I used to sit (Level 1, Aisle 30-something) I had oldies around me who had been there since day dot. The Camp Nou in Barcelona is like that, except that there all the old women smoke like chimneys! Spanish soccer crowds are great -- boisterous but generally friendly and harmless, much like Aussie Rules crowds, give or take one or two Crows/Port/Eagles/Pies fans.

06-04-2011, 01:20 AM
Nothing like getting on to a train back to Geelong after beating them. Walk into a carriage full of sour Cats supporters glaring at you and making comments, simply for wearing a Bulldogs guernsey.

I've been pretty good for violence at games, but Dad was verbally and nearly physically attacked by a Melbourne supporter (complete obnoxious, preppy twat). Could dish it out, but couldn't take it.

I personally dislike dirty old men that drunkenly stumble up to me and put their arms around me and scream into my face "GO THE DONS!" then proceed to scream their crappy song into my ear.
First of all, DON'T TOUCH ME. Ever.
Second of all, talk to me when your team actually MAKE the finals.

06-04-2011, 02:57 AM
Always had trouble with Carlton and Essendon fans back in the day!
Traveling to Windy Hill in the 80's was particulary scary!
I think now the big issue is the night games where getting juiced up before the game happens often.I find it amusing that we can report foul language yet you can purchase spirits and get tanked and that's all okay!!:rolleyes:

06-04-2011, 07:41 AM
I personally dislike dirty old men that drunkenly stumble up to me and put their arms around me and scream into my face "GO THE DONS!" then proceed to scream their crappy song into my ear.
First of all, DON'T TOUCH ME. Ever.
Second of all, talk to me when your team actually MAKE the finals.

Yeah, that's pretty ordinary.

I've never really had any issues, but when I go to see Dogs games at AAMI I'm generally pretty low-key with the amount of Dogs gear I'm wearing. Have certainly seen a few incidents at AAMI though when the Dogs have played.

06-04-2011, 08:36 AM
AFL crowds are fine on the whole. Try going to Hindmarsh as a Victory supporter. I went to the first HAL game over there as one of the oldest, supervising around 30 people younger. Crowded into one bay, surrounded by Reds supporters, with no segregation except the footpath, and we got scored against in the first ten seconds...

06-04-2011, 09:05 AM
For a long time I worked on Railway Stations which included a stint at West Foostcray...in the time I was there I always found Essendon supporters to clearly be the worst and most violent....I did on one famous day have two groups of Carlton supporters beating the bejeezus out of each other in the pit (the track area between platforms) this was the day Carlton almost failed to kick a goal for the entire game!!

06-04-2011, 10:17 AM
I've found Eagles supporters at Subi to be pretty bad. In 2009, two young blokes — 20-something, big boys, looked like tradies — sat behind the cheer squad drinking all day — the Eagles only allocate two rows of seats to the cheer squad, the rest of the bay is opposition — and started abusing the hairstyles of cheer squad ladies, calling them fat and ugly, etc.

I stood up and told them to shut up, and they wanted to belt me! I had my three kids there! The cops came down and escorted them out, then the rest of the crowd started hurling abuse at us for “getting them kicked out”.

Another incident, this one last year, I was taking my babies to the toilets at half time, and we were all decked out of course in Dogs gear and the boys were totally thrashing them, this older guy — maybe 40-45 — slams into the back of me as he walks past. I've called after him, “Oy, that's a bit unnecessary, you idiot” and he turned around and pushed me, screaming, “Come on mate, let's go!” I told him if my kids weren't there I'd like nothing more than to watch him bleed all over his Eagles guernsey, and to rack off before I called it a day on him with the cops. He called me a c---head and stormed off. My little girl asked me what a c---head was. I told her “that fella that just walked off” and said no more ;)

Swans fans last year in Canberra were very well behaved. Absolute credit to them. Best interstate crowd I'd ever been in.

06-04-2011, 10:23 AM
Another incident, this one last year, I was taking my babies to the toilets at half time, and we were all decked out of course in Dogs gear and the boys were totally thrashing them, this older guy — maybe 40-45 — slams into the back of me as he walks past. I've called after him, “Oy, that's a bit unnecessary, you idiot” and he turned around and pushed me, screaming, “Come on mate, let's go!” I told him if my kids weren't there I'd like nothing more than to watch him bleed all over his Eagles guernsey, and to rack off before I called it a day on him with the cops. He called me a c---head and stormed off. My little girl asked me what a c---head was. I told her “that fella that just walked off” and said no more ;)

Swans fans last year in Canberra were very well behaved. Absolute credit to them. Best interstate crowd I'd ever been in.

Listening to that makes me feel that you are know better than Eagles fan who is making a dill of himself.

06-04-2011, 11:56 AM
Listening to that makes me feel that you are know better than Eagles fan who is making a dill of himself.
Would have to agree with this.....

06-04-2011, 12:04 PM
I was vaguely threatened by a Collingwood fan round one 2006 in the GSS standing room - we got a decent spot 20 mins before first bounce, mate (who's a Pies man) went to the gents, this bloke and a few of his mates muscled into our spot with me still standing there. Exchange went

Me : mate, someone's standing there
CF : I don't see anyone
Me: they're just at the gents, will be back in a tic
CF: (turning to me, standing almost nose to nose) well you'll just have to stand somewhere else then

Which I did....was pretty happy we ended up winning that game :)

Other than that, footy is great to go to. There are nuffies, but more often than not you can enjoy some banter with opposition fans.

06-04-2011, 12:09 PM
Can you tell us which team the offending louts were supporting?
Might speak volumes.
Generally I have no trouble at the footy, though me and my mates were physically attacked by a crazed Swan supporter at a final at the MCG a couple of years ago. He literally came out of nowhere swinging haymakers with the look of a spanish fighting bull in his half glazed eyes. Screaming like a banshee.
His friends apologised, said he does it all the time and forcibly led him away (to some prison bound future no doubt). By the time security arrived the maniac was long gone and WE got hassled by security as some women had pointed to us saying we were the ones involved! We nearly got kicked out.

In the last quarter his friends came back again, thanked us for our composure, apologised again and wished us all the best in the finals. Must be hard work having a friend like that.

How so? There are trashy human being supporting all AFL clubs as far as I'm concerned. I've experienced the best and worst of all supporters from Collingwood types through to so called cultured Melbourne types. Both have turned me off those clubs at times.

06-04-2011, 12:15 PM
How so? There are trashy human being supporting all AFL clubs as far as I'm concerned. I've experienced the best and worst of all supporters from Collingwood types through to so called cultured Melbourne types. Both have turned me off those clubs at times.

At the NAB last year I had the worst problems with people who were not the slightest bit interested in the footy. Sitting up the back, being d*** heads and shouting abuse / primed with grog. They wore no colours and didn't seem interested in the game at all.

06-04-2011, 12:18 PM

Agree 100%.

Feral idiocy is not limited to any one club. If you think we don't have our own share of idiots, then you're blinkered to reality.

06-04-2011, 01:50 PM
Agree 100%.

Feral idiocy is not limited to any one club. If you think we don't have our own share of idiots, then you're blinkered to reality.

I heard Mark Fine say once that Collingwood have the most ferals purely because they have the most fans.

I also 100% agree

06-04-2011, 02:15 PM
I was at Etihad one night when we were playing the Pies and there were guys standing up behind the seats yelling abuse at Gilbee saying they were glad his dad was dead. having lost my parents a touch earlier than one would like I was very close to losing my shit. Thankfully I am a coward and turned the other cheek.

I have rarely felt as sickened as I did that day and to think of it I still get upset.

06-04-2011, 02:37 PM

Would have to agree with this.....

Hey, if some bloke wants to smash me in the back, then push me, he can fairly expect a smack in the face mate. Being 6'4" and 115kg, he'd no doubt be bleeding. I don't go looking for fights but I'll stand up for myself.

In this particular instance, with my kids present, I turned the other cheek. He's damned lucky, and I consider that a fair call.

Go picking fights, you might one day find yourself in one.

06-04-2011, 02:47 PM
I was at Etihad one night when we were playing the Pies and there were guys standing up behind the seats yelling abuse at Gilbee saying they were glad his dad was dead. having lost my parents a touch earlier than one would like I was very close to losing my shit. Thankfully I am a coward and turned the other cheek.

I have rarely felt as sickened as I did that day and to think of it I still get upset.

Come on mate. You are not a coward. think about it. What would your parents have wanted you to do in that situation? I'm pretty sure most parents would encourage their sons / daughters to walk away. You did the right thing. Going to the footy is like this. This is how it is. No need to involve yourself in their bad karma. Shows more strength to walk away IMO and I see them as being the cowards.

06-04-2011, 03:01 PM
Hey, if some bloke wants to smash me in the back, then push me, he can fairly expect a smack in the face mate. Being 6'4" and 115kg, he'd no doubt be bleeding. I don't go looking for fights but I'll stand up for myself.

In this particular instance, with my kids present, I turned the other cheek. He's damned lucky, and I consider that a fair call.

Dont really care how big you are.
The last thing I would do is call someone an idiot (especially with my kids present, regardless how rude they were). I like to think I set a good example for my kids.
Also referring to someone as a*ckhead in front of your daughter........hope I dont sit near you at the footy.

06-04-2011, 03:06 PM

My Dad passed away in 2007 and I would've been most upset if I was anywhere near those idiots. You did well not to lose it. I don't know what I would've done in that situation. :(

I got into a disagreement years ago at the Western Oval, with another female Bulldogs supporter. I was standing behind her and in front of two North Melbourne supporters. They were harmless, just supporting their team. She kept turning around and abusing them. In the end I got sick of seeing her face & told her to watch the game, that they have every right to support their team. I don't usually say much, but I felt she was being very unfair.

06-04-2011, 03:21 PM
The last thing I would do is call someone an idiot (especially with my kids present, regardless how rude they were). I like to think I set a good example for my kids.
Also referring to someone as a*ckhead in front of your daughter........hope I dont sit near you at the footy.

OP was about if you think its getting worse or better. Bit off track here guys.

06-04-2011, 03:35 PM

And when he falls over backwards and hit his head on the concrete and dies?

David Hookes says hello.

06-04-2011, 04:17 PM
OP was about if you think its getting worse or better. Bit off track here guys.

I don't think it's getting any worse than it used to be. :)

06-04-2011, 06:39 PM

He said it, and she asked me what it meant. I dismissed it as casually as I could (rather than make a fuss of it) and moved on.

It's because people don't stand up to bullies and thugs that this kind of behaviour occurs in the first place. I hardly see how calling him an idiot AFTER he deliberately smashed into me makes me the aggressor.

But, no doubt, you'll disagree and take issue with me as you always do. I don't know what your problem is with me but I'd suggest you get over it.

In the meantime, I've had enough, so drop it.

And when he falls over backwards and hit his head on the concrete and dies?

David Hookes says hello.

I didn't hit him.

06-04-2011, 06:52 PM
I didn't hit him.

No you didn't, but only because your daughter was with you, not because you thought you may injure him.

06-04-2011, 07:20 PM
It's a lot tamer now. The stories I hear from guys at work about Victoria Park are pretty scary

I went to a game at Vic Park with my old man and his mates when I was about 14, and had a Collingwood feral threaten to knock me out for clapping a Footscray goal.

I have witnessed plenty of other incidents, including a brawl in the AFL Members Reserve before the Collingwood v Brisbane Lions Grand Final in 2002.

I haven't really seen anything too bad of late, so from my personal experience I would say crowd behaviour is improving.

If you want to see some really scary behaviour, go to Dodger Stadium for a game against either the San Francisco Giants or LA Angels. I have seen some horrific violence both in the stands during the game and in the parking lot afterwards.

06-04-2011, 07:21 PM
Come on mate. You are not a coward. think about it. What would your parents have wanted you to do in that situation? I'm pretty sure most parents would encourage their sons / daughters to walk away. You did the right thing. Going to the footy is like this. This is how it is. No need to involve yourself in their bad karma. Shows more strength to walk away IMO and I see them as being the cowards.

Yeah!

10-04-2011, 12:30 PM
For the big games, against teams like Essendon, Collingwood, Cartlon etc it is getting worse IMO. I see more late teens-early 20s young blokes boozed up at the game often not supporting anyone but there for a night out. Generally they'll give it large to people who are enjoying the game and get involved in it. I find that very frustrating.

You also seem to see more people really go out of their way to get stuck in to people who are simply supporting their team. If you are being abusive towards the opposition, fair enough you should expect to cop a bit of flak but kids etc should be able to cheer and call for free kicks etc without fear of being abused by an opposition fan.

10-04-2011, 01:04 PM

You are not a coward and showed great compsure.
You could only lose from reacting to these twits.
A reaction from you or Gilbee would have only spurred them on.
Possibly putting you in a very dangerous position.

Anyway the Collingwood ferals where just jealous that Gilbee knew who his real Dad was.;)

10-04-2011, 01:07 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/man-bashed-at-mcg/story-e6frf7jo-1226036517787

Its not getting any better.

11-04-2011, 10:03 AM
That is terrible. Good on him for standing up for the old ladies though. Unfortunately you try to do the right thing these days and look where it gets you. I really hope some of those people who did nothing to help him do come forward as witnesses.

Re. Friday night games. It seems that some people do start drinking after work and are drunk by the time they get to the game. More security might help, they should've had a truckload of security at the MCG Friday night.

Coming home from the Storm game yesterday there were a group of blokes on Richmond station. They'd obviously been drinking all afternoon (weren't wearing any team colours so not sure if they'd been at the NRL, AFL or neither) and were being loud & swearing constantly. Unfortunately it was easier (and I think safer) to just ignore them. :(

snimmo
11-04-2011, 03:14 PM
For the big games, against teams like Essendon, Collingwood, Cartlon etc it is getting worse IMO. I see more late teens-early 20s young blokes boozed up at the game often not supporting anyone but there for a night out. Generally they'll give it large to people who are enjoying the game and get involved in it. I find that very frustrating.

You also seem to see more people really go out of their way to get stuck in to people who are simply supporting their team. If you are being abusive towards the opposition, fair enough you should expect to cop a bit of flak but kids etc should be able to cheer and call for free kicks etc without fear of being abused by an opposition fan.

I have noticed this as well, but I found the Essendon crowd with their last game last year better than Round 1.

Last year, they knew they were down and were just there to enjoy the game and support their struggling team. The crowd in Round 1 was some of the more obnoxious I have seen.

Though unrelated, I was just annoyed that tickets were being sold in the Cheer Squad area, so we had to deal with Essendon supporters amongst us.

12-04-2011, 11:01 AM
I have noticed this as well, but I found the Essendon crowd with their last game last year better than Round 1.

Last year, they knew they were down and were just there to enjoy the game and support their struggling team. The crowd in Round 1 was some of the more obnoxious I have seen.

Though unrelated, I was just annoyed that tickets were being sold in the Cheer Squad area, so we had to deal with Essendon supporters amongst us.

It is annoying, for sure, but Essendon are hardly going to sacrifice revenue from home match tickets (Level 1 paying more than Level 3) to satisfy the whim of Bulldogs supporters when we often don't turn up anyway.

If our supporters made a better showing to each match, I'm sure we'd get better arrangements in terms of which fans sat where.

12-04-2011, 11:33 AM
You shouldn't be annoyed B.A.S, you should just walk away and accept things as they are.

14-04-2011, 09:06 AM
You shouldn't be annoyed B.A.S, you should just walk away and accept things as they are.

?? Um, isn't that what I said??

I'm confused…

14-04-2011, 11:32 AM

I'm confused…

I thought you have had enough of this topic?

14-04-2011, 12:31 PM
I thought you have had enough of this topic?

Who pulled your chain?

I was talking about something completely different.

14-04-2011, 01:02 PM

I'm confused…

Just telling you that if you stand up for yourself when someone is being threatening towards you, or your family, you're an illogical meathead based on what I’ve read in this thread. I was reiterating that point as it's the popular consensus.

14-04-2011, 08:58 PM
This again.

I simply relayed a few experiences I've had at Subiaco with Eagles fans, and suddenly I've got you people, who don't know me from Adam, telling me I'm a poor parent and attacking my character and integrity.

The incident with the bloke bashing into me, pushing me and screaming at me and my children, well, I felt (and still feel) that I had every right to defend myself and my children, but I didn't. I let it go. The guys flinging insults at the cheer squad ladies and wanting to belt me simply for telling them to lay off it, again, I didn't hit them or attack them, security dealt with it. Now, based on the fact I simply wanted to, even though I didn't, you feel like you can turn around and try to paint me with the same brush. If I was the type of bloke some of you are trying to make me out to be, I would have beaten six shades of shit out of them both.

I get passionate about my footy, I scream, I shout, but NEVER would I go beating up on somebody or starting fights.

That said, if somebody wants to attack me I'll f**king defend myself, thank you very much. If some of you think it's better to just cop a beating and move on, well, goody for you, good luck with that.

14-04-2011, 09:28 PM
Sometimes you do have to stand your ground. Of that there is no doubt.

On the other hand an eye for an eye and we all end up blind. Being at the footy can bring the best and worst out in us all.