View Full Version : Game Day 2011 - R8 Western Bulldogs vs Richmond

13-05-2011, 07:21 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Richmond at ES.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 9 points
BOG : Adam Cooney
Ryan Griffen to kick the first goal.

13-05-2011, 07:32 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG Boyd
First Goal Boyd

13-05-2011, 07:56 PM
Dogs by 17

BOG - Murphy

First Goal - Gia

13-05-2011, 09:03 PM
Dogs by 2

B.O.G Cooney

First Goal. Cooney

Its time Adam

13-05-2011, 10:10 PM
Dogs by 40+
BOG : Big Will (this will be the WOOFers opinion)
First Goal : Picken.

13-05-2011, 11:46 PM
Richmond by 21 points
BOG Martin
First Goal: Riewoldt

Honestly can't see us doing it this week.

Now watch us come out and win by 10 goals.

14-05-2011, 12:02 AM
In for a shit day. I'm convinced we are flat track bullies, so will not appreciate the win to the level I should and will be even more furious if we get rolled. Going to be an interesting day at the game.

14-05-2011, 03:23 AM
Dogs by 37points
BOG Cooney
First Goal Gia

think we are going to rise to the occasion.

14-05-2011, 09:21 AM
Dogs by 20 points
BOG Concrete head
First Goal Jones

14-05-2011, 10:10 AM
Tigers by 10 points unfortunately.
Our BOG Callan Ward
1st Goal Sherman

14-05-2011, 11:09 AM
In for a shit day. I'm convinced we are flat track bullies, so will not appreciate the win to the level I should and will be even more furious if we get rolled. Going to be an interesting day at the game.

Then DON'T go !!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

14-05-2011, 11:29 AM
Feeling better about this. Midfield dominence to carry us through

Dogs by 22

BOG Griffen

1st goal Sherman

14-05-2011, 11:49 AM
As always, gotta keep the faith....

Dogs by 10 points
BOG = Cooney (it's time!)
First goal = Griffen

14-05-2011, 12:10 PM
Then DON'T go !!!!!!!!!!!:confused:
Don't go? No chance. Have missed only a handful of games in Melbourne since birth.

14-05-2011, 12:37 PM
I'll miss this one unfortunately all though that could be fortunately. Actually I won't be able to go to another Dogs game until around mid season.

14-05-2011, 02:07 PM
Dogs by 34 points

Griffen 1st Goal

Cooney BOG

14-05-2011, 02:27 PM
Dogs by 27
Hill BOG
Minson first goal

14-05-2011, 03:20 PM
I'll miss this one unfortunately all though that could be fortunately. Actually I won't be able to go to another Dogs game until around mid season.

Me too I think... no trains on the Cranbourne, Pakenham or Frankston lines makes it very difficult! COuld drive, but not sure I can be bothered.

14-05-2011, 03:47 PM
Dogs by 2 points
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Riewoldt

15-05-2011, 11:01 AM
Huge day for the club. A win will give the club and especially our supporters a much needed boost but a loss will likely mean that we need to start our planning towards 2012.

15-05-2011, 11:08 AM
Dogs by 17 points
First Goal - Gia
BOG - Cross he will bring the others into the game and set up a win for the Dogs.

15-05-2011, 11:45 AM
Dogs 14 pts
BOG Murph
First Goal Grant

15-05-2011, 01:02 PM
Nothing about this game feels good. Backline looks understrength & tough to see where the goals come from. Midfield just has to fire and win this game. I've tipped us but it's completely heart over head.
On the upside Richmond have been up for 3 weeks, what are the odds of 4?

Dogs by 1 point.
BOG - Griffen (because he and Cooney HAVE to positively impact this game)
First goal - Gia

LostDog
15-05-2011, 01:18 PM
Anyone know where I can watch this on line, game isnt being broadcast in WA

15-05-2011, 01:35 PM
I can't see us losing this one, surely way too much at stake.

Dogs by 45.

Cooney BOG.

Jones first goal.

15-05-2011, 03:14 PM
I'm not a massive fan of Moles but he is different to the plethora of inside midfielders we have atm yet he is the sub.

If the bulldog players want Eade to coach them next year they need to win this match. Time for Cooney and Co to stand up!

15-05-2011, 03:19 PM
AS per last week good start. First two goals to Gilbee

15-05-2011, 03:25 PM
3 goals to zip. Libba just got his first goal in the big league.
Tackling pressure and energy looking good.

15-05-2011, 03:31 PM
Hope we can keep this up. 5 goals to none. An unlikely mix of goal kickers. Gilbee with two and Libba, Shaggy & Minson all one each.

15-05-2011, 03:44 PM
Radio haven't said whos on Jack. Dale or Marko?

15-05-2011, 03:47 PM
Radio haven't said whos on Jack. Dale or Marko?

Morris it is.

15-05-2011, 03:49 PM
Good first quarter. Luckily ESPN3 is showing our match live online. Nice to see Gilbee get into the scoring.

15-05-2011, 03:51 PM
Would the real Adam Cooney please come back? He should've had 2. His decision making and hands are still good - but he flat out can't kick.

15-05-2011, 03:52 PM
Good intensity thus far. If it continues we should win this one fairly comfortably.

15-05-2011, 03:53 PM
Good first quarter. Luckily ESPN3 is showing our match live online. Nice to see Gilbee get into the scoring.

Our biggest quarter for the year. Shaggy prominent in defense is great to see. Some long over due signs of life from Gilbee, and excellent running off the ball from Jones. Has taken a couple of good grabs leading up the ground, but also has run his backside off when the Tiges have been trying to run the ball out of their backline.
Boyd has been alot more clinical and dangerous with his ball use.
Cooney involved, but just looks so out of touch, which is a worry.

15-05-2011, 03:55 PM
Good intensity thus far. If it continues we should win this one fairly comfortably.

Agree. The best prolonged intensity that we've shown at any stage this year.

15-05-2011, 03:58 PM
Minson clunks a big mark, and kicks his second. Both Will and Hudson have been good to date.

15-05-2011, 03:59 PM
5 to Gilbee! That's a first

15-05-2011, 04:00 PM
The 2011 model dogs still make me nervous even with a lead like this, but that was a pleasing first stanza.

Either we're a quiet bunch or we're easily outnumbered in the crowd today :(

Oh and welcome back Ryan Hargrave, sure have missed a fit you

EDIT: Will! Lindsay with five!

15-05-2011, 04:01 PM
Gilbee, sensational.

Lots of positives at the moment, Minson and Ward looking very good.

15-05-2011, 04:01 PM
Wow. Minson clunks another and goals for his 3rd.

15-05-2011, 04:02 PM
Wow. Where have we been?

15-05-2011, 04:03 PM
Gilbee, sensational.

Lots of positives at the moment, Minson and Ward looking very good.

We have to give the coach a big pat on the back for making this move.

15-05-2011, 04:05 PM
So our kidnapped team was returned to us this week? Just loving this. I hate Richmond with a passion.

15-05-2011, 04:07 PM
sounds like Cooney isn't playing well at all, and if you're struggling when you're up by 8 goals, it's not a great time.
from the way they are talking it sounds like he is the only one who isn't playing well at all.

15-05-2011, 04:10 PM
sounds like Cooney isn't playing well at all, and if you're struggling when you're up by 8 goals, it's not a great time.
from the way they are talking it sounds like he is the only one who isn't playing well at all.

Playing like a hack. He seriously needs a kick up the jatz.

We have to give the coach a big pat on the back for making this move.

Agreed - the obvious move would have been Murph forward, but Gilbee has proven to be a great choice thus far.

Need to be careful just now and keep the foot down. Tigers making a mini comeback of sorts.

Tiges having a good patch now, using the ball a bit better going in forward, not just going for Riewoldt every time. Kicked 3 in a row.

15-05-2011, 04:11 PM
Playing like a hack.

Has made a few errors but is working hard and staying involved. I don't think he's far off getting back to his better form.

15-05-2011, 04:12 PM
Has made a few errors but is working hard and staying involved. I don't think he's far off getting back to his better form.

His disposal has cost us goals.

Markovic getting soundly beaten by Miller at this stage.

15-05-2011, 04:12 PM
We'd better not let them back in. I wished we'd break their spirit and slaughter 'em. Damn poster.

15-05-2011, 04:17 PM
Nice work by Libba to lower his eyes and hit Grant on the lead. Good composure.

15-05-2011, 04:28 PM
Nice work by Libba to lower his eyes and hit Grant on the lead. Good composure.

Just about the best lead up kick in the team. Never tries to over kick it or complicate things.

15-05-2011, 04:31 PM
God I hope Ward doesn't leave us, Cooney needs to do something lots of disposals but running at 30%.

15-05-2011, 04:45 PM
God I hope Ward doesn't leave us.

He's like a younger version of Lenny Hayes.

15-05-2011, 04:48 PM
He's like a younger version of Lenny Hayes.

If he becomes half the player Hayes is, he'll be a star. I'd hate to lose him too. Don't know why, but I don't think he'll go.

15-05-2011, 04:49 PM
Terrible start. Could've been a further goal up, instead Tigers peg one back and now maybe another.

15-05-2011, 04:51 PM
We'll leak goals if we give them much of the pill. Hold onto your seats...

15-05-2011, 04:54 PM
this is disgusting

15-05-2011, 04:54 PM
*!*!*!*! me, Dylan.

15-05-2011, 04:55 PM
Should've know the lads were just teasing us.... Tiges only 17 points behind now.

15-05-2011, 04:55 PM
Very disappointing. We'd better not lose this.

15-05-2011, 04:56 PM
Oh no.

15-05-2011, 04:56 PM
Make that 11 points.....:mad:

15-05-2011, 04:57 PM
Tigers working much harder now and spreading much better than us.

15-05-2011, 04:58 PM
What a goal Murph, Massive element of luck involved with the bounce of the ball , but his repeated efforts gave him the opportunity

15-05-2011, 05:00 PM
Cooney is cooked. Sub him off. A liability today. Can't seem to bend down.

15-05-2011, 05:01 PM
Cooney looks absolutely hopeless today.

15-05-2011, 05:02 PM
Cooney is cooked. Sub him off. A liability today. Can't seem to bend down.

He just looks like a shadow of his former self.

15-05-2011, 05:04 PM
Gilbee goals. Thank God!

Boyd has been outstanding today.

He just looks like a shadow of his former self.

I would say rest him, but is even an injury issue?
Sadly needs a spell in Willy

That was a lovely pass by Boyd to Gilbee for his 6th, glad they've responded. It was looking almost terminal for a while there.
We've steadied somehat.

15-05-2011, 05:07 PM
yet again, fantastic vision and execution by Libba in heavy traffic to find Grant for his 2nd.

15-05-2011, 05:08 PM
I would say rest him, but is even an injury issue?
Sadly needs a spell in Willy

I kinda hope he is, at least then he has some sort of excuse.

15-05-2011, 05:08 PM
Libba is so impressive. Feeling a bit better now, but still not over.

15-05-2011, 05:10 PM
Libba is so impressive. Feeling a bit better now, but still not over.

I love his little left foot lace out kicks.

15-05-2011, 05:12 PM
Great goal Libba! What composure.

Boy Callan has been just like an exocet missile today, both with his power in hitting the ball carrier and in finding targets.

Agreed. His long kicking has also been impressive today.

15-05-2011, 05:17 PM

he's just been very important in at least 4 crucial pieces of play. 2 in setting up goals, and two in getting his own.

We've regained our ascendency again now.

Now Jones making an impression. Good signs.

15-05-2011, 05:18 PM
Jones' #2. Wow, was that ever a mistake by Rance.

15-05-2011, 05:19 PM
Jones' #2. Wow, was that ever a mistake by Rance.

Yep. Don't know why he didn't position himself so he was behind the line of the ball.
I'll take it though!

15-05-2011, 05:20 PM
Feeling much, much better now. Good to see the boys didn't wilt under pressure and came back strong in the second half of that quarter. I always like beating Richmond.

15-05-2011, 05:20 PM
he's just been very important in at least 4 crucial pieces of play. 2 in setting up goals, and two in getting his own.

We've regained our ascendency again now.

Now Jones making an impression. Good signs.

Game's not over yet, but how many times do you see a team work really hard to get back into a game, only for the lead to get pushed back out because they've spent all their tickets catching up? Happens heaps.

15-05-2011, 05:37 PM
Game's not over yet, but how many times do you see a team work really hard to get back into a game, only for the lead to get pushed back out because they've spent all their tickets catching up? Happens heaps.

Tiges are coming again. Still 28 behind, but they've found some more tickets!

15-05-2011, 05:39 PM
Wow, a brief cameo of Cooney brilliance, lovely goal

15-05-2011, 05:44 PM
Can someone explain what Hudsons done?
Doesn't sound at all good, and 3AW are expecting a suspension

15-05-2011, 05:48 PM
Can someone explain what Hudsons done?
Doesn't sound at all good, and 3AW are expecting a suspension

late hit on Graham after Graham marked it, on replay it didn't look as bad, definite 50, but it wasn't high, so he should be okay.

Tiges making another late charge, back to 27 points. Should be safe with 7 to go, but just can't put them away.

15-05-2011, 05:50 PM
Lovely smart play by Griffen to create that goal for Grant. Has been well held today, but has kept trying.

15-05-2011, 05:53 PM
Yet again Libba displays some needed composure in a tight spot to then find Moles by hand for a goal.
Surely he's got to get a Rising Star Nomination this week?

15-05-2011, 05:58 PM
Yet again Libba displays some needed composure in a tight spot to then find Moles by hand for a goal.

He has to, been very good today.

15-05-2011, 06:03 PM
Whew, after what looked like was going to be a 10 goal thumping for us, ended up being a much harder win. If not for our great first quarter start the result would've been in doubt.
In the end, good to get a win, and get some players back in some form, and some sort of semblance of sustained effort.
However still so much to work on, but a much needed win nonethelss.

15-05-2011, 06:06 PM
I'll take that win. Glad we were on ESPN3 so I could see us once again beat the Tigers. If only we could play them every week... :p Now it's off to bed... just a little after 2am here. I wish we played more afternoon games like today.

15-05-2011, 06:08 PM
Glad to hear the boys got the win on the board, thanks for all the updates YHF!

15-05-2011, 06:09 PM
Great win. In the context of having our CHB & FB out, I'm not too worried about leaking goals. The good sign was us finding the scoreboard again.

15-05-2011, 06:10 PM
Good game for us today.

Hargrave made a big difference coming back in today and played well.

Liked Addison's defensive work, and he got stuck into Jake King a bit and didn't take a backwards step.

Cooney got better as the game wore on and I thought his last was good. Made a few errors with disposal at times, but worked hard and got involved. A few good chases and tackles too.

Boyd brilliant, ditto Ward.

Hudson did well in the middle and Minson was great up forward, led to the ball meaningfully and could become an imposing option up forward if he continues on from today.

Griff didn't quite rack up the numbers he has been today, but did a lot of very good things and always looked to be working hard and did the defensive stuff well.

Murph and Picken continued on their good form.

Grant and Jones bobbed up a few times and did some nice things. Jones' confidence is rapidly rising, and easily the best game he's played at AFL level.

Tough month ahead, but I'm more confident that we can salvage the season after today's effort.

15-05-2011, 06:38 PM
Great to see us back in the winners circle, what a relief........... Some quality players to come back, disappointed to let 7 goals through in the last.

15-05-2011, 06:40 PM
*!*!*!*! me, Dylan.

What was this in reference to mate? Aside from a few howlers early in the game, Addison was quite good.

15-05-2011, 06:44 PM
What was this in reference to mate? Aside from a few howlers early in the game, Addison was quite good.

Missing the soda that preceded Richmond's run of goals early in the third quarter. Other than that, he was pretty solid all day. I liked that Rocket gave him a job up forward on Deledio at the start of the game and I thought he quelled him for the most part.

I hope we persist with Addison and Gilbee as forwards with the knowledge that we can move them around the ground if required.

15-05-2011, 06:50 PM
Missing the soda that preceded Richmond's run of goals early in the third quarter. Other than that, he was pretty solid all day. I liked that Rocket gave him a job up forward on Deledio at the start of the game and I thought he quelled him for the most part.

I hope we persist with Addison and Gilbee as forwards with the knowledge that we can move them around the ground if required.

Oh no worries. By the tone of your post I thought he'd gifted them a goal from a shocker or something like that. Cool.

15-05-2011, 07:08 PM
Well credit where it is due. Even at half time I was worried we'd see the big lapse in intensity that has plagued most of our efforts this season (and in recent seasons IMO). So early into that 3rd I was thinking 'here we go, right on cue.' However, to my surprise they wore it and answered well.

All in all, we expect to win against teams like the Tigers, we had doubts given their red hot form, we got it done. Pretty happy with that.

15-05-2011, 07:35 PM
Ward was just incredible , so hard at the ball all 4 quarter's , best on ground by a country mile

The win was really set up by the great first quarter , Gilbee was one player I though might be used forward but discounted that for this match, I was sure his accurate kick's out of defense would be more important, 6 goal's was a great effort

To have Minson go forward and slot 4 was a real bonus, he had much softer hands and his body positioning was very good

Our undermanned defense did the best it could, we were always going to struggle to stop their ball supply/ goal kicking midfielders , we just had to keep working

Hargrave proved me wrong and had a solid game , I,m sure it will take him longer to recover than normal

Grant is a real enigma , found some space, grabbed some good mark's , could have kicked five

Jones, went about his business , did,nt dominate but slotted 2 crucial goals

Young Libba , well , another game to make the Old Man proud , 25 possessions and two great goals , where's his Rising Star nomination

15-05-2011, 09:27 PM
Very encouraged by Minson & Gilbee &....Stack
Libba terriffic composure
Ward.......please sign, you could captain this club in 3 years time!

I can buy the paper tomorrow now!

15-05-2011, 09:40 PM

Richmond changed their tactics in the 3rd quarter in a do or die effort. All of their players started running forward of the contest in numbers so if the ball went their way they were away. They won a few contests and got the momentum but they were never going to be able to maintain it for too long. We just had to start winning more contests and it would turn back our way.

15-05-2011, 10:16 PM

I wonder if he's being overlooked because he doesn't dribble flashy goals from the boundary line, or break through packs with blistering run.

His hard work, composure and intensity may not be as important to the Rising Star selectors. I mean, do they pick a tough and consistent first year player carving a spot for himself in a very good midfield, or go for the flashy kid with blond hair that has the media salivating?

He definitely deserves a nomination (already belated).

15-05-2011, 10:42 PM
Well credit where it is due. Even at half time I was worried we'd see the big lapse in intensity that has plagued most of our efforts this season (and in recent seasons IMO). So early into that 3rd I was thinking 'here we go, right on cue.' However, to my surprise they wore it and answered well.

All in all, we expect to win against teams like the Tigers, we had doubts given their red hot form, we got it done. Pretty happy with that.

so you didn't have a shit day afterall SOS? :D come on grumpy, gis a smile ^_^

Loved the before the game prelude flashback to 2000 game v bombers.

15-05-2011, 10:45 PM

Yeah it was a bit out of nowhere that we stopped their run - just a lucky goal from Murph and a clearance or two, and we were well clear again. Need to bottle whatever that was, could have used it in the 3rd quarter of the 2010 prelim

15-05-2011, 11:28 PM
That first quarter was fantastic. That is what I expect to see every week and it's disappointing we haven't seen it yet and can't keep it at that level. It was good to get a much needed W but there is still a lot of lapses that give teams a sniff. Fortunately we were good enough at every Richmond charge today and held them off fairly comfortably.

Apologies to Ben Hudson who I had a line through last week. I'm glad he proved me wrong today. Keep it up big fella!

Oh and Jake King is a dead set wanker!

15-05-2011, 11:45 PM
I don't think everyone has to star, just a majority has to play good. And I think thats what happened today.
Hudson was good,
Morris did well,
Grant got plenty (miss enough but got plenty),
Boyd was good,
Libba was good,
Cross was good,
Etc. Etc.

16-05-2011, 12:06 AM
Oh and Jake King is a dead set wanker!

Do you think the AFL will do anything about King pushing the trainer?

16-05-2011, 09:25 AM
so you didn't have a shit day afterall SOS? :D come on grumpy, gis a smile ^_^

Loved the before the game prelude flashback to 2000 game v bombers.

:cool:

Had a run in with security on the way in due to being in possession of "commercially" packaged food products. Luckily the football tipped the day into the "not shit" camp.

At the end of the day, who doesn't love beating up on Richmond?

16-05-2011, 09:26 AM
Do you think the AFL will do anything about King pushing the trainer?

They certainly should. Thats not on.

16-05-2011, 10:56 AM
So our kidnapped team was returned to us this week? Just loving this. I hate Richmond with a passion.

Was a great game to watch Chicago1 - love your thoughts about our team having been kidnapped! I think you are right - lets hope they don't get beamed up by aliens and can produce that form for the rest of the year!:D

16-05-2011, 11:05 AM
:cool:

Had a run in with security on the way in due to being in possession of "commercially" packaged food products. Luckily the football tipped the day into the "not shit" camp.

At the end of the day, who doesn't love beating up on Richmond?

Had a big fallout with a security bloke over this last year. Told him to “quit being a d*******”, so he told us we had to stay where we were and he called the cops! We waited around for this copper to come along, and my missus piped up, “I'm a criminal barrister, and it appears we're guilty of the heinous crime of trying to take chips into Etihad.” The poor policeman just rolled his eyes, shot a nasty look at the security bloke and walked off!

I walked around to the next gate, walked in with my chips and enjoyed the rest of the day. (Though I still haven't lived it down with the better half!)

16-05-2011, 12:26 PM
Now that's the kind of footy it's fun to watch! Not just the win (though that helps obviously) but fast and free-flowing and lots of attack from both sides. Can't believe how much better the boys looked today. This is definitely their 'natural' style and I love it!

16-05-2011, 12:32 PM
Now that's the kind of footy it's fun to watch! Not just the win (though that helps obviously) but fast and free-flowing and lots of attack from both sides. Can't believe how much better the boys looked today. This is definitely their 'natural' style and I love it!

Precisely, and the exact reason we need to go into games with our own game plan, rather than trying to emulate Collingwood or Geelong.

16-05-2011, 02:14 PM
Only concern was how easy they managed to get behind our defence and then took advantage of their superior leg speed. As it turned out, that first quarter was the difference as it provided a sufficient buffer all day.

Loved our all out attack. Hopefully it is a turning point for the team....but we are going to need to find a better balance between attack and defence as the season moves along.

16-05-2011, 02:25 PM
Only concern was how easy they managed to get behind our defence and then took advantage of their superior leg speed. As it turned out, that first quarter was the difference as it provided a sufficient buffer all day.

Loved our all out attack. Hopefully it is a turning point for the team....but we are going to need to find a better balance between attack and defence as the season moves along.

I have heard that by pushing up the ground for their kick-outs we were often exposed by the 'kick over the back' which often lead to a mis-match and an easy shot on goal.

I guess adding 3 of our starting back 6 over the next month will help, but our structures sound like they do need to improve.

16-05-2011, 02:26 PM
Given that our backline is pretty cobbled together at the moment and still a work in progress, I'm not so concerned about this.

16-05-2011, 02:30 PM
I have heard that by pushing up the ground for their kick-outs we were often exposed by the 'kick over the back' which often lead to a mis-match and an easy shot on goal.

I guess adding 3 of our starting back 6 over the next month will help, but our structures sound like they do need to improve.

It's a good point. I would have liked to have seen someone like Murphy sitting out the back more for the kick ins. Someone fleet of foot who reads the play well.

16-05-2011, 02:34 PM
A fit Lake in the team would have greatly reduced their ability to score. His reading of the play and teamwork especially with Shaggy and Dale is a massive factor for opposition teams and stops them bombing it long and quickly.

16-05-2011, 03:01 PM

Also in the third quarter Richmond started running forward of the contest in numbers, it means if you win the ball you have extra numbers running your way which creates the overlap and easy goals. It's high risk/high reward, they took the punt to get back in the game and it worked for a period, but as soon as we started to win some contests ourselves we exposed them for being out of position and killed the game off. Boyd was the catalyst in this for me.