View Full Version : The Official 2011 T&T who to root for thread

12-07-2011, 08:18 PM
The people (one person) has spoken! #

The OFFICIAL 2011 T&T who to root for thread is back!

(Not that we ever have had a 2011 T&T who to root for thread, but we have successfully used the powers of the internet to make the dogs finish top 4 the last 2 years!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's back!

Accept no substitutes!

It's based allmost entirely on flawed logic!

Some of you won't understand!

If you think you do, then explain it to me!

Do you agree that the Dogs cant finish top 4?

Do you agree that we MUST finish top 8?

Ever wondered who to barrack for in every single game? (Apart from your Super Coach players, but anyways you have used too many draft picks so you are stuffed anyway)

Here's all you need, the 2009 (edit) the 2010 (edit) "T&T who to Root for thread"

I will update this EVERY WEEK (possibly)

And yes, it is quite probable that towards the end of the year I may change some of these calls retrospectively. Or even ignore myself.

Current ladder

TEAMS P W L D FOR AG % PTS

Collingwood 14 13 1 0 1664 924 180.1 52
Geelong Cats 15 13 2 0 1550 1142 135.7 52
Hawthorn 15 11 4 0 1531 1164 131.5 44
Carlton 15 10 4 1 1532 1154 132.8 42

West Coast Eagles 14 10 4 0 1381 1114 124.0 40
Sydney Swans 15 8 6 1 1240 1142 108.6 34
Fremantle 14 8 6 0 1270 1298 97.8 32
Essendon 15 7 7 1 1515 1378 109.9 30

Western Bulldogs 15 7 8 0 1347 1375 98.0 28
Melbourne 14 6 7 1 1290 1303 99.0 26
St Kilda 14 6 7 1 1136 1158 98.1 26
North Melbourne 15 6 9 0 1377 1440 95.6 24
Richmond 15 5 9 1 1430 1682 85.0 22
Adelaide Crows 14 4 10 0 1065 1372 77.6 16
Brisbane Lions 15 3 12 0 1173 1504 78.0 12
Port Adelaide 15 2 13 0 1172 1702 68.9 8
Gold Coast Suns 14 2 12 0 978 1799 54.4 8

Team that I want to win in Red

Round 17

in order of my preference...

Kan v WBD
Ade v Ess (Go Crows!)
Mel v PA
St K v WCE (i think)
Syd v Freeo (may recall this one in a month)
Car v Coll

Rich v GCS (just for the laugh)

Bris v geel dont care

# you know why you are.

12-07-2011, 08:27 PM
Sorry T and T the Tigers will win for future 9th spot finish.

12-07-2011, 08:47 PM
I think all your reds except GWS have a good chance to win. Port in Darwin may surprise the Dees.

12-07-2011, 09:00 PM
I think all your reds except GWS have a good chance to win. Port in Darwin may surprise the Dees.

Beat Richmond up there last year. Highly Possible. Dees coming off the "bye curse'" also. :rolleyes:

12-07-2011, 10:34 PM
Good to see it back

13-07-2011, 08:21 AM
Yay love this thread. Root on!

13-07-2011, 11:00 AM
Too much rooting is never enough.

Go the Crows!

13-07-2011, 11:04 AM
Go the Crows!

That must have hurt

13-07-2011, 11:22 AM
That must have hurt

Yes, but the chance to patronise them cause they have been crap and have no finals hopes, is lots of fun.

13-07-2011, 11:47 AM
Yes, but the chance to patronise them cause they have been crap and have no finals hopes, is lots of fun.

And when they lose again and possibly stuff up our chances we can be doubly filthy.

13-07-2011, 12:12 PM
And when they lose again and possibly stuff up our chances we can be doubly filthy.

Truly!

13-07-2011, 12:22 PM
Syd v Freeo (may recall this one in a month)

This one is certainly an interesting one. Freo have a tough month coming up, whereas Sydney's draw isn't quite as tough - but most weeks for the rest of the year Sydney play against other teams who are also in contention of the finals.

I like this thread. More than any year I can remember - its a wide open race with heaps of 'crunch games' between potential finals contenders between now and the end of the year.

For mine, North are gone (assuming we beat them this week), Melbourne have a soft run - but who knows with them, and Essendon having beaten Geelong and Richmond in the last 2 weeks - have moved them from certainly missing finals - to probably filling 8th spot. I think we will be 6th or 7th.

Go Crows on Friday night!! Perhaps Tippett could kick about 10!

13-07-2011, 12:37 PM
The people (one person) has spoken! #

The OFFICIAL 2011 T&T who to root for thread is back!

Yay !!!

13-07-2011, 12:39 PM
That must have hurt

Never, ever, ever tell anyone else I said that.

13-07-2011, 01:24 PM

I think it would be impossible for GWS to win this week.:D

13-07-2011, 07:18 PM
:D Yes! I love this thread and boy oh boy do we need it this year.

13-07-2011, 07:48 PM
I can never hope for the Eagles to win. You're a stronger man than I.

13-07-2011, 08:28 PM
For me the Adelaide v Essendon game and the St. Kilda v West Coast are the biggies.

The Saints get Adelaide at Etihad, Gold Coast and Fremantle at Etihad in the next three and if they are to beat WC the momentum/confidence will probably mean they get all of these. A loss will put them a fair few points off the pace and will be a major mental hurdle for a seemingly fragile team. Have to go for WC in this one. Reluctantly.

Essendon have probably the hardest run home. Lose this and I think they are done and that'll be one less team to worry about. Win and they may start to get back to that worrying early season form. I will say quietly that I don't actually mind Adelaide so I might head along and hopefully cheer on the Essendon loss before jumping in the car Saturday morning and driving over to Melbourne.

14-07-2011, 12:53 AM
Car v Coll

Urrrgggg - what a truely revolting game. Choice of slit my wrists or stand in front of a bus before I choose to root for either in this match of thieves, cheats and total tosspots....

Great thread but I'm going for a run whilst these idiots sort each other out.

Maybe I can root for three broken wrists and a ruptured spleen??

14-07-2011, 10:09 AM
Car v Coll

Urrrgggg - what a truely revolting game. Choice of slit my wrists or stand in front of a bus before I choose to root for either in this match of thieves, cheats and total tosspots....

Great thread but I'm going for a run whilst these idiots sort each other out.

Maybe I can root for three broken wrists and a ruptured spleen??

The idiots from last week, and their carrying on, has me rooting for the Pies.

For me the Adelaide v Essendon game and the St. Kilda v West Coast are the biggies.

The Saints get Adelaide at Etihad, Gold Coast and Fremantle at Etihad in the next three and if they are to beat WC the momentum/confidence will probably mean they get all of these. A loss will put them a fair few points off the pace and will be a major mental hurdle for a seemingly fragile team. Have to go for WC in this one. Reluctantly.

Essendon have probably the hardest run home. Lose this and I think they are done and that'll be one less team to worry about. Win and they may start to get back to that worrying early season form. I will say quietly that I don't actually mind Adelaide so I might head along and hopefully cheer on the Essendon loss before jumping in the car Saturday morning and driving over to Melbourne.

What was that? :)

14-07-2011, 02:04 PM
The idiots from last week, and their carrying on, has me rooting for the Pies.

What was that? :)

That makes me nauseous, yes I am rooting for Adelaide this week but in truth, no other teams fans or guernsey makes me feel so ill.

15-07-2011, 10:44 PM
Crows on FIRE. Kick that Bomber butt....

16-07-2011, 07:36 AM
All going well for a while. Crows - show some mettle!

We are not going to be gifted our place in the 8 - let's earn it ourselves.

16-07-2011, 06:36 PM
Crow muppets

16-07-2011, 07:58 PM
Are we supposed to be supporting the WCE:eek: tonight?

16-07-2011, 08:28 PM
Are we supposed to be supporting the WCE:eek: tonight?

http://www.gifsforum.com/images/gif/creepy/grand/wtf_freak_lol_gif.gif

Oh Dear , less than 6 point win by WCE would be the best outcome there

and of course Port over Melbourne

16-07-2011, 11:55 PM
Somebody is not rooting hard enough...

17-07-2011, 12:50 AM

I quite like this. It makes me hate them all even more when they can't even win when we need them too. Soooo glad I don't go for any of the muppets.... GO DOGGIES

17-07-2011, 01:29 AM

I quite like this. It makes me hate them all even more when they can't even win when we need them too. Soooo glad I don't go for any of the muppets.... GO DOGGIES

Bloody Hell , those Ladys of Fortune were smoking crack , both teams that we wanted to be the rooter both got rooted by exactly 21 points , coincidence me thinks not

17-07-2011, 02:08 AM

Damn it. Me and my big mouth. Both teams looked set for 100+ wins at quarter time. FFS

17-07-2011, 09:54 PM
Could this round have gone any more wrong for us?...

18-07-2011, 09:05 AM
close the thread down..

18-07-2011, 11:32 AM
None of it matters if we can't win!! :(

18-07-2011, 08:13 PM
Team that I want to win in Red

Round 17

in order of my preference...

Kan v WBD FAIL
Ade v Ess (Go Crows!) FAIL
Mel v PA FAIL
St K v WCE (i think) FAIL
Syd v Freeo (may recall this one in a month) FAIL
Car v Coll MINOR WIN
Rich v GCS (just for the laugh)MINOR WIN
Bris v geel dont care AND STILL DONT

Worst rooting, ever.

Absolute RUBBISH

19-07-2011, 12:01 PM
Lol, are you the Kiss of Death? :D

Try again, T&T, your luck might turn in Rd 18.

19-07-2011, 06:14 PM

At least we cant do any worse than round 17!

22-07-2011, 10:15 AM

AFL 2011 Ladder

Team Won Lost Points

Collingwood 14 1 56
Geelong Cats 14 2 56
Hawthorn 11 4 44
Carlton 10 5 42

West Coast Eagles 10 5 40
Fremantle 9 6 36
Essendon 8 7 34
Sydney Swans 8 7 34

Melbourne 7 7 30
St Kilda 7 7 30
North Melbourne 7 9 28
Western Bulldogs 7 9 28
Richmond 5 10 22
Adelaide Crows 4 11 16
Brisbane Lions 3 13 12
Gold Coast Suns 3 12 12
Port Adelaide 2 14 8

After a very poor first root, surely the second will be better!

Root on!

In order

Syd vs WBU
Car v Ess
WCE vs Freeo
Mel vs Haw
St K vs Ade
NM vs Bris

22-07-2011, 10:40 AM
Syd vs WBU
Car v Ess
WCE vs Freeo
Mel vs Haw
St K vs Ade
NM vs Bris

About the only team I can bring myself to root for in that lot is WCE.

The rest, blech! But having said that, I am going to try to root harder this week :D. Hopefully it helps!

22-07-2011, 10:42 AM
After last week's effort, maybe we should all try to outwit the Fates and root for the opposite team??

22-07-2011, 10:44 AM
After last week's effort, maybe we should all try to outwit the Fates and root for the opposite team??

Not that there is anything wrong with that

22-07-2011, 02:44 PM

Of course not

22-07-2011, 04:13 PM

Perish the thought :D

22-07-2011, 05:21 PM
Congratulations Throughandthrough, you have completely disproved the theory that there is no such thing as a bad root :D

22-07-2011, 05:52 PM

Root on!

In order

Syd vs WBU
Car v Ess
WCE vs Freeo
Mel vs Haw
St K vs Ade
NM vs Bris

Most importantly lets get the first one right!

This got me giggling, Seinfeld reference.

22-07-2011, 09:50 PM
Love your work!

Hopefully a win and a few roots this weekend.

22-07-2011, 11:51 PM
Crows are abysmal, we might be rooted ourseleves...

23-07-2011, 12:04 AM
Crows are abysmal

Another amusing display. :D

23-07-2011, 08:22 AM
Another amusing display. :D

I mentioned in the gameday thread that a very good source tells me that Symes has got a broken jaw from the front on Riewoldt bump. How many weeks is that worth? Hopefully a few. That'd be a big loss even though he is not in super form.

25-07-2011, 12:22 AM
In order

Syd vs WBU Fail
Car v Ess Yay
WCE vs Freeo Yay
Mel vs Haw Yay
St K vs Ade Nope, but i like it
NM vs Bris Nope

Will buy this thread a cocktail, for this weekend, and if that doesnt work I will give up and amuse myself.

25-07-2011, 11:46 AM
In order

Syd vs WBU Fail
Car v Ess Yay
WCE vs Freeo Yay
Mel vs Haw Yay
St K vs Ade Nope, but i like it
NM vs Bris Nope

Will buy this thread a cocktail, for this weekend, and if that doesnt work I will give up and amuse myself.

Is rooting irrelevant now?

25-07-2011, 04:28 PM
Is rooting irrelevant now?

We could win 5 in a row and make it:D

25-07-2011, 04:38 PM

I know a nuetral supporter who did the ladder predictor, and had us losing only to Hawthorn and still finishing 8th.

I think his predictions may come unstuck in the 1st week though.

25-07-2011, 05:53 PM
I think we are rooted

25-07-2011, 11:12 PM

Four would probably be enough assuming we didn't have awful luck with all the wrong teams winning.

Freo, Saints, Essendon and St.Kilda (aside the GC game) all have difficult draws. I will be Rooting my arse off for Gold Coast to beat the Riewoldtless Saints on the weekend.

Wait...what did I just say?:o

25-07-2011, 11:43 PM
I'm starting to think the pain may be easier to deal with if we don't fall into 8th place.

28-07-2011, 08:31 PM
I contemplated not rooting this weekend, bit couldn't resist.

Ladder:

Collingwood 16 15 1 0 1891 1078 175.4 60
Geelong Cats 17 15 2 0 1796 1297 138.5 60
Hawthorn 16 12 4 0 1663 1242 133.9 48
Carlton 17 11 5 1 1764 1331 132.5 46
West Coast Eagles 16 11 5 0 1507 1260 119.6 44

Sydney Swans 17 9 7 1 1441 1315 109.6 38
Fremantle 16 9 7 0 1432 1450 98.8 36
St Kilda 16 8 7 1 1345 1243 108.2 34
Essendon 17 8 8 1 1678 1604 104.6 34

North Melbourne 17 8 9 0 1641 1628 100.8 32
Melbourne 16 7 8 1 1481 1527 97.0 30
Western Bulldogs 17 7 10 0 1533 1631 94.0 28
Richmond 17 5 11 1 1551 1880 82.5 22
Adelaide Crows 16 4 12 0 1162 1583 73.4 16
Brisbane Lions 17 3 14 0 1354 1759 77.0 12
Gold Coast Suns 16 3 13 0 1138 1998 57.0 12
Port Adelaide 16 2 14 0 1264 1815 69.6 8

Please root in this order:

WBD vs WCE
Coll vs Ess (Good ol Collingwood, for this month only)
Kan vs Carl
GCS vs St K (for points AND for fun)
Geel vs Mel
Haw vs Freeo
Ade vs Port So I can laugh and laugh

As I allways say.

Get Rooting!

29-07-2011, 02:27 AM
I contemplated not rooting this weekend, bit couldn't resist.

Ladder:

Collingwood 16 15 1 0 1891 1078 175.4 60
Geelong Cats 17 15 2 0 1796 1297 138.5 60
Hawthorn 16 12 4 0 1663 1242 133.9 48
Carlton 17 11 5 1 1764 1331 132.5 46
West Coast Eagles 16 11 5 0 1507 1260 119.6 44

Sydney Swans 17 9 7 1 1441 1315 109.6 38
Fremantle 16 9 7 0 1432 1450 98.8 36
St Kilda 16 8 7 1 1345 1243 108.2 34
Essendon 17 8 8 1 1678 1604 104.6 34

North Melbourne 17 8 9 0 1641 1628 100.8 32
Melbourne 16 7 8 1 1481 1527 97.0 30
Western Bulldogs 17 7 10 0 1533 1631 94.0 28
Richmond 17 5 11 1 1551 1880 82.5 22
Adelaide Crows 16 4 12 0 1162 1583 73.4 16
Brisbane Lions 17 3 14 0 1354 1759 77.0 12
Gold Coast Suns 16 3 13 0 1138 1998 57.0 12
Port Adelaide 16 2 14 0 1264 1815 69.6 8

WBD vs WCE
Coll vs Ess (Good ol Collingwood, for this month only)
Kan vs Carl
GCS vs St K (for points AND for fun)
Geel vs Mel
Haw vs Freeo
Ade vs Port So I can laugh and laugh

As I allways say.

Get Rooting!

Is it bad to say that I have a good feeling about this week?

I was telling a WC mate at training that Natanui, Cox and Josh Kennedy should all take a week off... looks like it's the old Meatloaf formula of "2 out of 3 aint bad". I didn't even have to fly over there to throw the tennis balls!

Oh, it also seems that there is a direct correlation between the winning team and the team I don't pick in my footy tips. Two weeks ago I tipped who I wanted to win and it was shiesenhousen and last week I tipped who I wanted to lose and they all won except one (besides us).

29-07-2011, 07:44 AM
Oh, it also seems that there is a direct correlation between the winning team and the team I don't pick in my footy tips. Two weeks ago I tipped who I wanted to win and it was shiesenhousen and last week I tipped who I wanted to lose and they all won except one (besides us).

A wise old man once told me "get off my foot" in a bus stop queue.

Another wide old man once told me it's just as difficult to pick the losers as it is to pick the winners.

There's something in that for all of us.

I know I have.

And as i allways say

GET ROOTED

29-07-2011, 08:58 AM
Sometimes a pointless root is the most enjoyable kind.

29-07-2011, 09:03 AM
Sometimes a pointless root is the most enjoyable kind.

But will you respect yourself in the morning?

29-07-2011, 11:16 PM
Good rooting to start the weekend off. Carlton did the job on Norf after a scare in the first half.

30-07-2011, 10:26 AM
The results should go our way this week apart from STK. Hawthorn is probably a worry but I think they should account for Freo. Win today and who knows. :)

If we don't make the finals I just want a couple of things to happen before the finish of 2011 which would leave me with a smile on my face. Firstly put a massive dent in Essendon's finals chances in Round 21 by beating them comfortably. Secondly to finish above North Melbourne.

31-07-2011, 09:19 PM

WBD vs WCE :mad:
Coll vs Ess (Good ol Collingwood, for this month only) :D
Kan vs Carl :D
GCS vs St K (for points AND for fun) :mad:
Geel vs Mel :D
Haw vs Freeo :D
Ade vs Port So I can laugh and laugh :mad:

As I allways say.

There's allways another rooting opportunity next week!

31-07-2011, 10:49 PM
Wow is next week a biggy! We need to root hard and frequently across the weekend.

Freo, Essendon and (probably to a lesser extent) North Melbourne have become the STD of the league, there is no way we can afford to root (for) these.

As silly as it sounds, with the draws that these have I think we are still a chance to slip into the 8.

31-07-2011, 10:52 PM
As silly as it sounds, with the draws that these have I think we are still a chance to slip into the 8.
We would have been a massive show had we squeaked past West Coke yesterday. I think we are a bridge too far now.

31-07-2011, 10:55 PM

WBD vs WCE :mad:
Coll vs Ess (Good ol Collingwood, for this month only) :D
Kan vs Carl :D
GCS vs St K (for points AND for fun) :mad:
Geel vs Mel :D
Haw vs Freeo :D
Ade vs Port So I can laugh and laugh :mad:

As I allways say.

There's allways another rooting opportunity next week!

Rooting has clearly improved. KEEP ROOTING PEOPLE! Need to Root the Roof off to make it but it can still be done. It would do the kids good to at least get some finals experience.

31-07-2011, 11:08 PM
We would have been a massive show had we squeaked past West Coke yesterday. I think we are a bridge too far now.

I think par is 11 wins atm. If Essendon lose to the Swans at ES, I think the team with the best percentage at 10.5 gets in.

IF...

- That happens and we beat Essendon

and

- Melbourne drop a game to Port, GC or Richmond...

I think 10 wins (best percentage of lot) will get you in.

In short, if Dons lose to Sydney @ ES next round we are still alive IMO.

01-08-2011, 03:50 PM
I think par is 11 wins atm. If Essendon lose to the Swans at ES, I think the team with the best percentage at 10.5 gets in.

IF...

- That happens and we beat Essendon

and

- Melbourne drop a game to Port, GC or Richmond...

I think 10 wins (best percentage of lot) will get you in.

In short, if Dons lose to Sydney @ ES next round we are still alive IMO.
There are a number of results that, in isolation, are all plausible but we need every single one of them to come off for the next 5 rounds - extremely unlikely. The key ones not involving us are Essendon to lose to Sydney at Etihad, and Freo to beat North at Etihad (and not win another game for the year). We need St Kilda and Sydney to beat all other final 8 contenders, and finally we need to win every game from here on in (including Hawthorn at the MCG). If we had snuck over the line on Saturday, the Hawthorn game would have been a free hit but we now have absolutely no margin for error and need absolutely everything else to fall our way across 4 other teams (Essendon, Melbourne, North and Freo) and the 18 matches that these 4 teams will be involved in.

06-08-2011, 12:32 AM
OK, nearly forgot to Root this weekend.

In order.

Ess v Syd (I think)

St k v Freeo

Haw v Kang

Carl v Mel

As I allways say. A root missed is one you never catch up.

06-08-2011, 01:01 PM

In order.

Ess v Syd (I think)

St k v Freeo

Haw v Kang

Carl v Mel

I think we should be rooting for Sydney as they are a game ahead of Essendon and we are fighting it out with Essendon.

Freo loosing helps us.

There is only one thing that has gone wrong so far in this thread, we have lost 3 in a row.:o

06-08-2011, 01:28 PM
Defiantly rooting for Essendon, they have a harder run home than Sydney also.

It's great having a root this weekend without having to worry about our own performance :p

06-08-2011, 11:06 PM
Bombers by a point. Has to spell the end for us.

06-08-2011, 11:08 PM
What a game that was!

06-08-2011, 11:10 PM
What a game that was!

Indeed and we got Port vs The Pies in the slop over there on free to air:rolleyes:

06-08-2011, 11:10 PM
Bombers by a point. Has to spell the end for us.

Yep. We just cannot win a close one and they keep on winning theres.

06-08-2011, 11:31 PM
Yep. We just cannot win a close one and they keep on winning theres.
Thanks for nothing Swines - fancy kicking 2.9 in the last qtr. They screwed us by losing at home to Freo and they've done it again tonight.

07-08-2011, 12:38 AM
Thanks for nothing Swines - fancy kicking 2.9 in the last qtr. They screwed us by losing at home to Freo and they've done it again tonight.

Not to mention the fact that they beat us twice this season. Other than the Bulldogs, they are the team that screws us the most.

07-08-2011, 01:22 AM
Not to mention the fact that they beat us twice this season. Other than the Bulldogs, they are the team that screws us the most.

Aint that the truth

07-08-2011, 04:40 PM
Team you wanna see go out in straight sets? Coll,Geel,Hawks,Carlton or if they make it WCE?

Can only dream it is Collingwood but that won't happen so if Carlton were to make it I wanna see them straight out, on the back of Ratten signing a new contract, that will make those Carlton supporters think twice about talking themselves up next year :D

07-08-2011, 07:08 PM
Pies would be a dream to go in straight sets lets hope Hawthorn go straight out hate em

07-08-2011, 07:57 PM
Team you wanna see go out in straight sets? Coll,Geel,Hawks,Carlton or if they make it WCE?

Can only dream it is Collingwood but that won't happen so if Carlton were to make it I wanna see them straight out, on the back of Ratten signing a new contract, that will make those Carlton supporters think twice about talking themselves up next year :D

In order of preference - Collingwood, Carlton, Geelong, Dawks, WC.

09-08-2011, 02:28 PM

In order.

Ess v Syd (I think) :)

St k v Freeo :)

Haw v Kang :)

Carl v Mel :)

Well, we are still, just, slightly, magically, somehow in this

Will have a farewell root this week and if it doesnt work will join a nunnery for 12 months.

As i allways say, have i spelled always correctly?

09-08-2011, 11:53 PM
Well, we are still, just, slightly, magically, somehow in this

Will have a farewell root this week and if it doesnt work will join a nunnery for 12 months.

As i allways say, have i spelled always correctly?

If you do, I will start up my own 'it's not tanking, it's playing kids for the future and experimenting with players in different positions' version of who to root for thread. Kinda like yours T&T but the complete opposite.

16-08-2011, 06:00 PM
Is hard to fathom but mathematically at least, albeit unrealistically, we can still, believe it or not, squeeze into eighth position.

Assuming we magically win our next three against Port, Hawthorn and Freo we finish on 40 points. This is the minimum requirement.

So beyond ourselves, the road for those in the way of a finals campaign:

Sydney - beyond ourselves, our major threat given they play Brisbane in Rd 24, currently sit on 38 pts with St Kilda, Geelong and Brisbane to come. Best case for us, they lose all three, stuck on 38 pts, allowing us to pass them. We need Brisbane to take a shock win in Sydney but not out of the question.

Fremantle - currently sit on 36 points with North, Collingwood and us to come. Best case for us, they lose these three, stuck on 36 points, allowing us to pass them. Not out of the question. (They could also beat North this week, taking them to 40 points but we would need to rely on percentage to overtake them - not unrealistic)

North - currently sit on 32 points with Freo, St Kilda and Richmond to come. Best case for us, they beat Freo, go down to St Kilda and a resurgent Tigers, stuck on 38 points, allowing us to pass them. Bit of a stretch but not out of the question. (They could lose to Freo this week and beat the Tigers which could also allow us to finish eighth)

Melbourne - our closest combatant on the ladder sit on 30 points with Richmond, GCS and Port to come. Best case for us, they go down to the Tigers this week and beat GCS and Port in the final two games allowing us to pass them, with the Dees stuck on 38 points. Not out of the question.

Just wanted to highlight that although a really tough gig we could magically still finish in the eight given a shock win over Hawthorn and a few other results going our way.

Definitely the glass half full look at the remaining three rounds that going into this round remains a mathematical possibility for us to launch another finals campaign ;).

16-08-2011, 06:44 PM
Is hard to fathom but mathematically at least, albeit unrealistically, we can still, believe it or not, squeeze into eighth position.

Assuming we magically win our next three against Port, Hawthorn and Freo we finish on 40 points. This is the minimum requirement.

So beyond ourselves, the road for those in the way of a finals campaign:

Sydney - beyond ourselves, our major threat given they play Brisbane in Rd 24, currently sit on 38 pts with St Kilda, Geelong and Brisbane to come. Best case for us, they lose all three, stuck on 38 pts, allowing us to pass them. We need Brisbane to take a shock win in Sydney but not out of the question.

Fremantle - currently sit on 36 points with North, Collingwood and us to come. Best case for us, they lose these three, stuck on 36 points, allowing us to pass them. Not out of the question. (They could also beat North this week, taking them to 40 points but we would need to rely on percentage to overtake them - not unrealistic)

North - currently sit on 32 points with Freo, St Kilda and Richmond to come. Best case for us, they beat Freo, go down to St Kilda and a resurgent Tigers, stuck on 38 points, allowing us to pass them. Bit of a stretch but not out of the question. (They could lose to Freo this week and beat the Tigers which could also allow us to finish eighth)

Melbourne - our closest combatant on the ladder sit on 30 points with Richmond, GCS and Port to come. Best case for us, they go down to the Tigers this week and beat GCS and Port in the final two games allowing us to pass them, with the Dees stuck on 38 points. Not out of the question.

Just wanted to highlight that although a really tough gig we could magically still finish in the eight given a shock win over Hawthorn and a few other results going our way.

Definitely the glass half full look at the remaining four rounds that going into this round remains a mathematical possibility for us to launch another finals campaign ;).

The biggest problem is we have lost 5 in a row and had we won at least two of those we could then have afforded to lose against the Hawks.

16-08-2011, 06:57 PM
Seems a bit odd that in a 24 round competition a Club may make the finals with 10 wins and 12 losses.

06-05-2015, 12:41 PM
++++Bump++++

I'm looking forward to relaunching this old chestnut, I think i'll wait for after the bye rounds. And i'll be aiming top 4, not top 8.

But in the meantime, Go Hawks! Go Collingwood! and go whoever else finishes in the top 4 with us! (Collingwood would be a surprise if they stay there)

06-05-2015, 12:52 PM
I would have said we should barrack against Collingwood this weekend...we might be fighting it out for spots with them,..but Geelong I'm struggling to see them making the 8 now.

06-05-2015, 12:53 PM
I can't see the cats or The crows finishing top 4 and to be honest wouldn't surprise me if Swans or Hawks don't make it, you get old and drop off very quickly and I think what the hawks captain and vice captain did showed signs.
With Sydney , Goodes looks past it and Tippet isn't what they thought.
I see new teams like Port, maybe us, freo collingwood, the teams playing attacking football will rise.
The game started to change last year with Port and I think the older coaches and defensive coaches are falling away.

06-05-2015, 01:05 PM
Love this thread but isn't it a bit premature to be rooting this early?

06-05-2015, 01:43 PM
We are all drunk on hope.

After three bleak years, we have become 2 pot screamers.

06-05-2015, 01:48 PM
Actually the Power must be a very strong chance to top 4 of course, Along with freeo who could be 11 zip

06-05-2015, 08:04 PM

Never too early for a good rooting.

06-05-2015, 10:16 PM

Too early???

Premature????

Rooting?????

15-06-2015, 10:10 PM
Root Day is coming.

16-06-2015, 05:04 PM
Brace yourselves

16-06-2015, 05:26 PM
http://www.eflatunn.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/root.jpg

16-06-2015, 07:14 PM
Very exciting to be involved this year. It's been a long time between roots.

16-06-2015, 10:09 PM
I'll go the first root. North to beat GWS this week.

17-06-2015, 12:38 AM
I'll go the first root. North to beat GWS this week.

You think we're more likely to finish above GWS at 7-4 than North at 5-6?

17-06-2015, 01:41 AM

Yep with Mumford out for the season and Davis for 6 to 8 weeks plus a few other injuries. Mainly Mumford.

17-06-2015, 05:39 AM
Shocker for the afl endorsed plastic fantastic .
Mummy is their worst possible loss, and two key backs ( probably the area they're threadbare) is going to cost them a spot in the eight.

17-06-2015, 05:42 AM

I think North ( out of respect to our shinboner visitor ) will get above GWS.
If I was framing a next to win a flag board I'd say the plastics .
It's interesting they've picked up Waite and will probably lose Black .
What on earth happened to Aaron Black?

17-06-2015, 05:45 AM
My rooting for's this week
Ravens Eagles Port Dees nil all draw North GwS.

17-06-2015, 02:29 PM
My rooting for's this week
Ravens Eagles Port Dees nil all draw North GwS.

I cant root for the cows!

17-06-2015, 02:53 PM
I cant root for the cows!

Sick to death of Hawthorn, but then I don't have to live in Adelaide ;)

17-06-2015, 03:33 PM
Very hard to see Hawthorn not being top 4 or close to it - so I think we should be rooting for hawthorn over Adelaide - who we will be competing with for spots.

The hawks are a good root this week.

20-06-2015, 04:44 PM
Probably good result Eagles winning- and also if the blues hang on v port.

21-06-2015, 09:33 AM
Demons upsetting the Cats will help us, but I hate Melbourne.

21-06-2015, 07:29 PM
Ladder

http://puu.sh/iwYSS/2be320edae.png

Odds

http://puu.sh/iwYUg/248c0a4de0.png

Preferred Results

Freo to beat Collingwood
Sydney to beat Richmond
Hawthorn to beat Essendon (could go the other way if you think Essendon are no chance and Hawthorn could miss the 8)
Brisbane to beat Adelaide
WB to beat St Kilda
Carlton v GC irrelevant

21-06-2015, 07:50 PM
Ladder

http://puu.sh/iwYSS/2be320edae.png

Odds

http://puu.sh/iwYUg/248c0a4de0.png

Preferred Results

Freo to beat Collingwood
Sydney to beat Richmond
Hawthorn to beat Essendon (could go the other way if you think Essendon are no chance and Hawthorn could miss the 8)
Brisbane to beat Adelaide
WB to beat St Kilda
Carlton v GC irrelevant

If it all goes to plan, should be another good week of rooting for us.