View Full Version : Game Day 2011 - R22 Western Bulldogs vs Pt Adelaide

19-08-2011, 04:38 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Pt Adelaide at AAMI Stadium.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 40 points
BOG : Matthew Boyd
Shaun Higgins to kick the first goal

19-08-2011, 05:15 PM
Dogs by 72 points

BOG - Higgins

First Goal - Hall

20-08-2011, 10:41 AM
Huge interest in this one!

I just want the kids to show a bit.

20-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Bulldogs by 42 points

BOG Ward

1st Goal Hall

20-08-2011, 06:08 PM
Dogs by 55 points
BOG = Ward
First Goal = Gia

20-08-2011, 07:05 PM
Us to win by 54
Higgins first goal and Bazza BOG

20-08-2011, 10:34 PM
Dogs by 12 points
BOG- Tutt
First goal- Veszpremi

20-08-2011, 10:42 PM
We should win.

This will be a danger game for the reputation of our club.

20-08-2011, 11:03 PM
I reckon guys like Cross and Boyd will be fired up big time. They will need to be.

21-08-2011, 12:03 AM
Anyone concerned we might drop this game?

Our back line reads Wood, Markovic, Schofield, Howard, Cordy & Picken. As comrade has mentioned the result doesn't mean much and just a chance to see what some of our kids have to offer.

21-08-2011, 08:52 AM
This is worth a laugh.

Port Adelaide V Bye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXatqcigUFw

WE WILL WIN.

21-08-2011, 08:55 AM
Port by 21 points.

BOG Boyd

1st goal : Dahlhaus

21-08-2011, 09:28 AM
Dogs by 20
BOG Barry
First Goal Barry

21-08-2011, 12:03 PM
Dogs by 12 points
BOG Boyd
First Goal Gia

21-08-2011, 12:29 PM
Dogs 23 pts
BOG: Boyd
First Goal: Jones

21-08-2011, 04:09 PM
Really don't care about the game at all. Wouldn't be surprised if we lose this one.

21-08-2011, 04:20 PM
Messy start, but Tutt with a ripper of a kick from about 50 - GOAL! Good start young man!

EDIT: AND THE SECOND! I'm excited :)

EDIT: AND GETS HIS THIRD!!! Long live King Tutt!

21-08-2011, 04:22 PM
Make that TWO ripper goals!!

21-08-2011, 04:24 PM
Three!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Think we found Barry's replacement!

21-08-2011, 04:25 PM
King Tutt

21-08-2011, 04:26 PM
Tutty!!!

21-08-2011, 04:26 PM
And we think we are bad, Ports just an utter mess.

21-08-2011, 04:28 PM
Dogs by 150 at this rate. Finals chance alive! LoL

Dogs off to a great start... Ward with our 5th! Good signs from the young 'uns. As a side note, Port are poo.

Who said Tutt wasn't ready for AFL:)

21-08-2011, 04:34 PM

Tutt might be but Port arent...

21-08-2011, 04:35 PM

This isn't AFL. We are playing Port.

Anyone think Adelaide might fall into the same trap PA did with Primus by appointing Bickley after a few good results?

21-08-2011, 04:42 PM
This isn't AFL. We are playing Port.

Anyone think Adelaide might fall into the same trap PA did with Primus by appointing Bickley after a few good results?

Sorry but the Crows are in a lot better state than Port.

We cannot gauge a thing out of this game I am actually embarrassed about playing Port.

21-08-2011, 04:44 PM
Impressive first quarter and a big call out for Tutt for making the most of his shots.

Lets hope for a quick start in the 2nd so we can really bury the Power.

21-08-2011, 04:45 PM
Primus will not survive this if it continues.

21-08-2011, 04:45 PM
Impressive first quarter and a big call out for Tutt for making the most of his shots.

Lets hope for a quick start in the 2nd so we can really bury the Power.

At 55-0, I reckon they're buried :)

21-08-2011, 04:46 PM
At 55-0, I reckon they're buried :)

I don't think you are grasping the thrashing I'm hoping for. ;)

21-08-2011, 04:47 PM

Off topic but I think Port is where Eade will end up.

21-08-2011, 04:47 PM
Honestly I'm not taking any pleasure from this, Port are just sad, so sad. We're watching a dieing footy club

21-08-2011, 04:49 PM
I don't think you are grasping the thrashing I'm hoping for. ;)

Haha.. I'd like the same. Sadistic, maybe, but after the season we've had I'm happy to see us serve up a belting

21-08-2011, 04:49 PM
Williams claimed we'd be playing to his game plan - are we playing any differently today?

How is Cordy going?

21-08-2011, 04:51 PM
Williams claimed we'd be playing to his game plan - are we playing any differently today?

How is Cordy going?

Not had a lot of it, took a nice mark for his first touch.

21-08-2011, 04:52 PM
We may be playing Port but Jones still has a lot to learn.

21-08-2011, 04:52 PM
It's bad when the commentators are really excited for a team's first goal - at the end of the quarter!

21-08-2011, 04:53 PM
Jones gave the ball up in the middle and allowed Port to score their 1st goal on the siren, spewing!

21-08-2011, 04:53 PM

How is Cordy going?

Dont have any idea on Williams game plan unless he had a chat to port before the game and the plan was for all Port players to kick to the opposition.

21-08-2011, 04:54 PM
We may be playing Port but Jones still has a lot to learn.

Thinking the same thing. Fumbles a lot.

21-08-2011, 04:56 PM
Almost impossible to rate any of the new players, the willy players had more pressure against them yesterday in a 100 point win. This is just disgusting from Port, how did Collingwood only win by 130?

21-08-2011, 04:57 PM
Why can't we play Port every week? Damn you and your biased draw, AFL! :p

21-08-2011, 04:58 PM
What happened to Tutt's neck?
Port are getting enough ball, but their skills have been sub VFL like ( maybe a bit flattering )

21-08-2011, 04:59 PM
Port get their second and third. Come on Dogs, LIFT!! ;)

21-08-2011, 05:03 PM

I've seen parts of them the last three weeks and they appear to have no system

The coach talks about effort but I've seen them go in, win the footy and then just be taken apart because of the lack of system, they cough it up and then get slice to pieces

Primus is cooked

I'm afraid the Crows will take our best candidate

21-08-2011, 05:08 PM
Smart tap from Grant towards goal, Baz runs on to it for his second.

21-08-2011, 05:17 PM
Manlove for Tutt. Who needs ward?
Bob Murphy lobs it to Barry. Too bad he only got a point. Pure class with that pass.
Barry sprays another one a few minutes later Come on Bazza. Bury em'

21-08-2011, 05:17 PM
Roughy playing his best game for the club for mine

21-08-2011, 05:18 PM
How bad is the telecast, missing parts of play , camera wanders off to nowhere at times

21-08-2011, 05:18 PM
Bazza's radar not working that well today. Hoping it comes good.

21-08-2011, 05:19 PM
Roughy playing his best game for the club for mine
Yeah, he's going well.

21-08-2011, 05:21 PM
How bad is the telecast, missing parts of play , camera wanders off to nowhere at times

And they replay something from about a minute or so earlier, just as something's happening on-field.

21-08-2011, 05:22 PM
Like to mention Schofield and Grant doing well too

21-08-2011, 05:30 PM
This is boring.

Might go and wash the car.

21-08-2011, 05:31 PM
Next week will be the REAL test :(

21-08-2011, 05:32 PM
I've seen parts of them the last three weeks and they appear to have no system

The coach talks about effort but I've seen them go in, win the footy and then just be taken apart because of the lack of system, they cough it up and then get slice to pieces

Primus is cooked

I'm afraid the Crows will take our best candidate

Not only their system, but when they get the ball, they have no skills.

Hope the Dogs keep going and don't just fade out.

21-08-2011, 05:32 PM
This is boring.

I'm loving it after the week we have had.

21-08-2011, 05:33 PM
I'm loving it after the week we have had.

and the previous 4 losses.

Yep, those too.

Me too. Nice to see some kids get an easy kick to build their confidence. Libba been good.

21-08-2011, 05:34 PM
This is boring.

I'm loving it.:)

21-08-2011, 05:56 PM
Tutt has to be next rising star

21-08-2011, 05:58 PM
Looking forwards to next week with hopefully Tutt and Dahlhaus!!

21-08-2011, 06:12 PM
Is this a statement for Eade or against Eade ?
Or is it that Port are just that shite !

21-08-2011, 06:13 PM

Port are just shite.

21-08-2011, 06:15 PM

Port are shite

21-08-2011, 06:16 PM
Vez first kick for dogs and goal

21-08-2011, 06:16 PM
Port are just shite.

Thats what I thought.
A bit frustrated watching it on the AFL site ,three channels had the Swans game on.
Have to wait until 8 pm to catch a replay.:(

21-08-2011, 06:18 PM
Thats what I thought.
A bit frustrated watching it on the AFL site ,three FLhnnls had te was geon.
Havto ait unil 8 pm ctch a replay.:(

I think they've responded positively to a crap week, and the young blokes are having a good impact. Vez just kicked his first, Tutt has 4.

21-08-2011, 06:25 PM
Baz kicks his fourth goal, moves up to #15 on the all-time leading goalkickers table! Next is "Sticks" Kernahan, Baz needs 3 more to equal him. Come on Dogs, GET IT TO BAZ!

21-08-2011, 06:28 PM
I think they've responded positively to a crap week, and the young blokes are having a good impact. Vez just kicked his first, Tutt has 4.

They're not showing the game live up here in Brisbane, who was subbed off for Vez?

21-08-2011, 06:28 PM
They're not showing the game live up here in Brisbane, who was subbed off for Vez?

Howard. (according to seven)

21-08-2011, 06:29 PM

Howard I think.

Howard

Port are shite, but I like our forward pressure.

21-08-2011, 06:30 PM

Howard

21-08-2011, 06:35 PM
When was the last time we've had three players* who played together at one club and now are playing for us?

* Barlow, Vez and Hall.

21-08-2011, 06:37 PM
Howard a corky or something? Why wouldnt you sub Hall off?

21-08-2011, 06:47 PM
Who's playing on Butcher?

21-08-2011, 06:48 PM
Butcher 5
Buddy 10

21-08-2011, 06:49 PM
Geez if Butcher can kick 5 on our defense, Buddy will be licking his lips.

21-08-2011, 06:52 PM
Who's playing on Butcher?

Barlow

Does Butcher remind anyone else of Patrick Wiggins?

21-08-2011, 06:53 PM
Barlow

And Wood at times

21-08-2011, 06:55 PM
Why do umps feel it necessary to give the team that is getting smacked any and every free kick possible?

21-08-2011, 06:56 PM
Rubbish finish.

21-08-2011, 06:58 PM
a 10 goal win this week...a 15 goal loss next week. A rather soft end to this game.

21-08-2011, 06:58 PM
I thought we might be treated to a rare Bulldogs huge win, looking like 100+ points. But true to form, whether we're up and about or down and out, we just fail to cut the oppositions throat. So disappointing.

21-08-2011, 06:59 PM
dissapointing, yet predictable.

21-08-2011, 07:01 PM
Bazza snags number 6 to give us something good in the last seconds.

21-08-2011, 07:01 PM
Love Barry.

21-08-2011, 07:04 PM
When has the news started at 5.57? Couldn't they at least given 3 more minutes to a wrap up

21-08-2011, 07:04 PM
I thought we might be treated to a rare Bulldogs huge win, looking like 100+ points. But true to form, whether we're up and about or down and out, we just fail to cut the oppositions throat. So disappointing.

Williams sent them to the airport at three quarter time. Wouldn't bother putting your hand up for the coaching position.

21-08-2011, 07:07 PM
Barlow

I thought it was mainly Wood.

21-08-2011, 07:07 PM
Buddy will kick 15 on us next week.

21-08-2011, 07:08 PM
Better than I thought we'd be, but that last quarter looked like old times again. Six goals to two? Pffft.

My ESPN3 coverage ended abruptly so I didn't even get to hear the club song.

21-08-2011, 07:08 PM
Barlow

Barlow was on him in the first half, but Wood was on him late... as per bornadog's post.

21-08-2011, 07:09 PM
Better than I thought we'd be, but that last quarter looked like old times again. Six goals to two? Pffft.

My ESPN3 coverage ended abruptly so I didn't even get to hear the club song.

Neither did we here in Melbourne. They went to the 5.57 news :confused:

21-08-2011, 07:13 PM
Williams sent them to the airport at three quarter time. Wouldn't bother putting your hand up for the coaching position.

No need to be a flog about it mate. If you are happy to have a team or a coach that thinks football is all about self preservation and 'flicking the switch' when you want, enjoy watching us get flogged by teams who actually play the game from start to finish.

Apologies if you were referring to Williams.

21-08-2011, 07:25 PM
Thanks for the Butcher replies.

Port sounded pretty horrible for at least the first half - how well can we gauge Tutt's debut? Sounded pretty good on the face of it.

21-08-2011, 07:40 PM
It was a nothing game. Not sure how you could take anything out of it. No reason for either club, Port are a ramble and we slightly more organized.

21-08-2011, 07:49 PM
This is boring.

A rather interesting window into the future of the Dogs. There are some silver linings in 2011 after all.

21-08-2011, 07:51 PM
A rather interesting window into the future of the Dogs. There are some silver linings in 2011 after all.

Port are the worst team I have seen since Fitzroy of 1996.... I wouldn't be getting carried away with what we just saw.

Next week will give us more of an indication of how rosy our future looks.

21-08-2011, 08:14 PM
Just got back from the game.

Tutt was just what I expected. He's going to perform a lot better at AFL level than he will the level below, the skill set just suits. Needs to continue to build his tank, but showed some great signs. He was on track for one of the best debut games ever after the first, and probably didn't end far off it either.

Schofield can play. Good user.

Roughy played the best game he has. Not super effective with the hit out, but good around the ground and the clearance.

Libba is a clearance machine, and has just about the best set of hands I've seen.

Ward was great, also some very good work in close with the hands. Never stops trying.

Boyd was very solid all day and kicked a few nice goals, including the dribbler which was very nicely done.

Cross also good.

Vez showed some speed, and did a few OK things. Would like to see more of him before years out.

Cordy getting through a game is also a positive.

Our defensive running and over-lap looked better today, but that might just be the opposition we were up against.

Barlow is not a key defender. Please keep him on the RL one more year.

Markovic is lucky he can defend, because every time he gets the ball he reminds me of Crossy.

Higgins did some very poor things, but also showed a bit as the game wore on.

DJ I thought was alright, expect for when he fell over after receiving from Grant trying to lay off to Howard. Grant should have gone back and kicked it anyway.

21-08-2011, 09:35 PM
No need to be a flog about it mate. If you are happy to have a team or a coach that thinks football is all about self preservation and 'flicking the switch' when you want, enjoy watching us get flogged by teams who actually play the game from start to finish.

Apologies if you were referring to Williams.

My post was in agreement with yours so I'm not sure what your point is. 6.4 to 2.1 in the last quarter was very disappointing.

21-08-2011, 10:52 PM

How is Cordy going?

Sure it takes more than 3-4 days to implement a game plan. Happy to wait for next 2 games and see what he does.

21-08-2011, 10:57 PM
Why do umps feel it necessary to give the team that is getting smacked any and every free kick possible?

Pity.

Port are the worst team I have seen since Fitzroy of 1996.... I wouldn't be getting carried away with what we just saw.

Next week will give us more of an indication of how rosy our future looks.

Sorry, but have to disagree. Hawthorn are top four and serious flag contenders, all their players up and about (except for Roughy) and our backline is absolutely decimated. Yes, they'll belt sixteen shades of shit out of us but I don't agree that it'll be a good indicator of where our future lies. We'll have to be patient and wait for next year to see that.

21-08-2011, 11:18 PM
My post was in agreement with yours so I'm not sure what your point is. 6.4 to 2.1 in the last quarter was very disappointing.

Fair enough, I assumed you were suggesting that I should not put my hand up for a coaching gig because I didn't realise they had taken the foot of the gas.

21-08-2011, 11:31 PM
Just got back from the game.

Tutt was just what I expected. He's going to perform a lot better at AFL level than he will the level below, the skill set just suits. Needs to continue to build his tank, but showed some great signs. He was on track for one of the best debut games ever after the first, and probably didn't end far off it either.

Schofield can play. Good user.

Roughy played the best game he has. Not super effective with the hit out, but good around the ground and the clearance.

Libba is a clearance machine, and has just about the best set of hands I've seen.

Ward was great, also some very good work in close with the hands. Never stops trying.

Boyd was very solid all day and kicked a few nice goals, including the dribbler which was very nicely done.

Cross also good.

Vez showed some speed, and did a few OK things. Would like to see more of him before years out.

Cordy getting through a game is also a positive.

Our defensive running and over-lap looked better today, but that might just be the opposition we were up against.

Barlow is not a key defender. Please keep him on the RL one more year.

Markovic is lucky he can defend, because every time he gets the ball he reminds me of Crossy.

Higgins did some very poor things, but also showed a bit as the game wore on.

DJ I thought was alright, expect for when he fell over after receiving from Grant trying to lay off to Howard. Grant should have gone back and kicked it anyway.

Agree with above. Needs to be moved to the middle of the ground, and half fwd, where he can use the space and play to his strengths. IE ability to keep running and chasing, take a decent mark.

Nice wrap up. Any comments about the port fans? They sure hang in there like barnacles on a rock. Admire their stubborn willingness to suffer through the first three quarters.
Rallied in the the last quarter, and beat us.

22-08-2011, 12:02 AM
Fair enough, I assumed you were suggesting that I should not put my hand up for a coaching gig because I didn't realise they had taken the foot of the gas.

Not a problem, I should have been more clear in my post.

22-08-2011, 09:14 AM
Agree with above. Needs to be moved to the middle of the ground, and half fwd, where he can use the space and play to his strengths. IE ability to keep running and chasing, take a decent mark.

If Barlow doesn't play as a tall in defence who does?

It's a move out of neccessity rather than by choice due to all our injuries.

22-08-2011, 10:17 AM
Yesterday showed how we lack a young tall forward who can kick multiple goals, when Hall goes we have a massive hole to fill.

22-08-2011, 10:25 AM

Nice wrap up. Any comments about the port fans? They sure hang in there like barnacles on a rock. Admire their stubborn willingness to suffer through the first three quarters.
Rallied in the the last quarter, and beat us.

After their last few weeks they probably felt good about only being 10 goals down.

Yesterday showed how we lack a young tall forward who can kick multiple goals, when Hall goes we have a massive hole to fill.

Liam Jones. Give the kid time, he'll get there.

22-08-2011, 10:34 AM
After their last few weeks they probably felt good about only being 10 goals down.

Liam Jones. Give the kid time, he'll get there.
I rate Jones however he still has alot to learn before he is kicking multiple goals consistently.