View Full Version : Assistant Coach movement

27-09-2011, 12:27 PM
Someone mentioned on another thread that Ben Hart would be joining the Pies as an assistant so I thought it might be worth starting a thread on the assistant coaching carousel

So what we know:

Sanderson from Cats to Crows
McCartney from Dons to Dogs
Neeld from Pies to Dees

Berbakov from Saints to Swans

Neil Craig sought after by Dees, Tigers, Lions etc

27-09-2011, 01:55 PM
Someone mentioned on another thread that Ben Hart would be joining the Pies as an assistant so I thought it might be worth starting a thread on the assistant coaching carousel

So what we know:

Sanderson from Cats to Crows
McCartney from Dons to Dogs
Neeld from Pies to Dees

Berbakov from Saints to Swans

Neil Craig sought after by Dees, Tigers, Lions etc

Craig may end up at Carlton

27-09-2011, 03:01 PM

Allan Richardson won't be happy if he does.

27-09-2011, 04:19 PM
Given Brendan McCartney's age and being new to AFL senior coaching, Gary Ayres with his wide exoeriences would seem to be a good fit for the Bulldogs. It has been hard to fault his achievements with Port Melbourne and I am sure he would come back much wiser after senior AFL coaching roles with Geelong and the Adelaide Crows. Interesting to see the number of assistant coaches now stepping up as senior coaches with Scott Watters also highly fancied for the St. Kilda job.

27-09-2011, 06:43 PM
No thanks for Ayres for me. Think his ego will get in the way.

27-09-2011, 07:22 PM
Sydney's stoppages coach Mark Stone has been appointed to a similar role at Fremantle.

27-09-2011, 07:35 PM
Sydney's stoppages coach Mark Stone has been appointed to a similar role at Fremantle.

One would assume Ross Lyon would've had a hand in that.

27-09-2011, 08:59 PM
George Stone maybe, Isn't Mark Stone that muppet on SEN?

27-09-2011, 09:22 PM

Marks not a bad bloke actually he has a lot to do with meeting suburban footy clubs pushing "good sports" which is to do with ie alcohol management and basically the right way to run a club.

27-09-2011, 10:21 PM

According to this it's Mark Stone: Link (http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/dockers-appoint-new-afl-stoppages-coach-20110927-1kuuh.html)

28-09-2011, 01:19 PM
Jade Rawlings & Paul Satterley have taken up assistant coaching roles with Melbourne.

Link (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/09/28/rawlings-a-part-of-neeld-s-demons-team/)

28-09-2011, 03:26 PM
Gee, Neeld has moved quick on his team.

28-09-2011, 03:29 PM
Gee, Neeld has moved quick on his team.

I guess whether the existing assistants had contracts or not was the key.

In our case Monty & Williams do, Dean doesn't.

28-09-2011, 05:22 PM
Ross Smith from Hawks to Tigers

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/124309/default.aspx

28-09-2011, 08:06 PM
According to this it's Mark Stone: Link (http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/dockers-appoint-new-afl-stoppages-coach-20110927-1kuuh.html)
My bad.

28-09-2011, 08:50 PM
Blimey this is going to be busy this thread

28-09-2011, 11:03 PM
Ben Hart moving from Adelaide to Collingwood.

Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/crows-champion-ben-hart-to-work-with-nathan-buckley-as-assistant-coach-at-collingwood/story-e6frf9jf-1226149409271)

29-09-2011, 10:25 AM
A good summary of what has happened in the last few days with Eade a possible to go to Collingwood:

Eade's hat in ring for Pies as coach shuffle continuesl (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/eades-hat-in-ring-for-pies-as-coach-shuffle-continues-20110928-1kxcc.html)

29-09-2011, 10:51 AM
Good Luck to Rocket, I hope he lands a prime position.

29-09-2011, 12:55 PM
Carlton's Football Manager, Steven Icke has parted way with the club.

Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/football-manager-steven-icke-manager-departs-blues/story-e6frf9jf-1226151261507)

Neil Craig to replace him?

29-09-2011, 01:48 PM

Carlton's Football Manager, Steven Icke has parted way with the club.

Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/football-manager-steven-icke-manager-departs-blues/story-e6frf9jf-1226151261507)

Neil Craig to replace him?

Looking like it

Icke sacked as Neil Craig steps in (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/09/29/icke-sacked-as-neil-craig-steps-in/)

29-09-2011, 02:53 PM
Craig set to join Melbourne

Dees to make announcement (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/124371/default.aspx)

29-09-2011, 03:00 PM
Looking like it

Icke sacked as Neil Craig steps in (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/09/29/icke-sacked-as-neil-craig-steps-in/)

Craig set to join Melbourne

Dees to make announcement (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/124371/default.aspx)

I guess he'll be busy then! :)

29-09-2011, 03:03 PM
Officially Melbourne, just announced.

29-09-2011, 04:38 PM
Solid acquisition, Craig's a gunn is his respective area and he will give the D's great support as Director of Sports Performance.

29-09-2011, 05:24 PM
Anyone have any mail on our coaching staff?

I have serious concerns about the composition of the staff -- from all reports the announcement of B-Mac as senior coach wasn't taken all that well and there is some angst from some of our assistants due to being passed over.

I would be very, very surprised if MacCartney didn't want to bring his own people on, and from my knowledge the only thing stopping him and the club is having to pay out the contracts our assistants are on, which would be a very unfortunate situation that we find ourselves in purely due to being under-resourced.

(The fact that we've kept Rocket's assistants while getting rid of him just makes no sense. In fact, if Leon had been appointed we would have had all of Rocket's assistants at the club minus Rocket himself.)

A new broom sweeps clean. Well, it should anyway.

29-09-2011, 05:38 PM
Anyone have any mail on our coaching staff?

-- from all reports the announcement of B-Mac as senior coach wasn't taken all that well and there is some angst from some of our assistants due to being passed over.

Where did you hear this?

29-09-2011, 05:44 PM
Where did you hear this?

It was reported on here that neither Williams or Monty turned up at the club on the day they found out B-Mac was going to coach us.

29-09-2011, 06:46 PM
It was reported on here that neither Williams or Monty turned up at the club on the day they found out B-Mac was going to coach us.

How sooky sooky la la.Can't appoint more than one coach

29-09-2011, 07:29 PM
Looking like it

I've asked my Carlton mates what sort of an operator Icke has been and will post a report when I find out. From the outside, it appears as though Icke has done a very good job managing the Carlton list in recent seasons and would be an ideal fit for this role at the Dogs - perhaps he could take over the management of our entire footy operations? Allow me to dream :D

29-09-2011, 09:59 PM
Well done to Paul Satterley in getting a Melbourne assistant job. Ripper bloke is Satts, all the best.

02-10-2011, 02:41 PM
Eade set to join Collingwood, is he the enemy now?

02-10-2011, 03:14 PM
I heard that maybe Dean Laidley is headed for Whitten Oval in some capasity...any thoughts on this ?

02-10-2011, 03:47 PM
I wouldnt mind that.

02-10-2011, 03:49 PM
I heard that maybe Dean Laidley is headed for Whitten Oval in some capasity...any thoughts on this ?

Sounds good, B-Mac needs a strong assistant and I don't have much faith in Monty or Williams being this for him.

02-10-2011, 03:52 PM
An assistant or list manager?
I prefer him as an assistant.

02-10-2011, 03:53 PM
Good selection if true.

02-10-2011, 03:57 PM
Wouldn't mind Laidley on board.

02-10-2011, 06:39 PM
I would be very happy with Laidley as an assistant.

02-10-2011, 08:09 PM
I have to question whether Laidley would be good or not. It didn't work too well for Port this season. I know he was assisting from Melbourne but that just says his heart isn't in it. Thats the second time then following his stint at North.

02-10-2011, 08:25 PM
I have to question whether Laidley would be good or not. It didn't work too well for Port this season. I know he was assisting from Melbourne but that just says his heart isn't in it. Thats the second time then following his stint at North.

Hardly a fair comparison. Working at one job from another state, versus working at one job within driving distance (bear in mind I have no idea where he lives!)

02-10-2011, 08:46 PM
Hardly a fair comparison. Working at one job from another state, versus working at one job within driving distance (bear in mind I have no idea where he lives!)

It's not a comparison. Just says maybe his heart wasn't in the port job. Why did he take the port job without moving? Was the money his only motivating factor?

02-10-2011, 08:56 PM
It's not a comparison. Just says maybe his heart wasn't in the port job. Why did he take the port job without moving? Was the money his only motivating factor?

He didnt want to go back to Port but Primus begged him as he had no one of Laidleys knowledge.
Money wasnt the factor the factor was he felt he was leaving a mate in the shit.
Laidley said he would but wanted to stay in Melb due to family.
Laidley wants to get back into it but at a Melbourne club, his family I believe are somewhere around Keilor.
He wont move his family.
From what I know he is as hungry as ever and did some schooling on people management.

03-10-2011, 02:15 PM
Stevo has tweeted that Leigh Brown will be Melbourne's new forwards coach...that was quick

neddie
03-10-2011, 02:35 PM
Eade set to join Collingwood, is he the enemy now?

Its official,Eade to Collingwood ,our friend is now our enemy!!

03-10-2011, 04:16 PM
Stevo has tweeted that Leigh Brown will be Melbourne's new forwards coach...that was quick

Thought that myself! Lots of changes for 2012....

03-10-2011, 05:57 PM
Luke Beveridge to Hawthorn

03-10-2011, 06:18 PM
Luke Beveridge to Hawthorn

Where was Luke?

03-10-2011, 06:24 PM
Where was Luke?

I think he was coaching in the ameteurs for a few years and did very well coaching a his club to few flags. Went to Collingwood to replace Alan Richardson as development coach but don't think he was there this year though. Not sure where he has been this year.

03-10-2011, 06:37 PM
Where was Luke?

see here for details (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/03/beveridge-joins-hawks-coaching-panel/)

03-10-2011, 07:40 PM
see here for details (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/03/beveridge-joins-hawks-coaching-panel/)

Thanks Bornadog, interesting background.

04-10-2011, 12:18 AM
Peter Dean gone from the Bulldogs.

Matthew Egan being interviewed.

04-10-2011, 12:45 AM
Peter Dean gone from the Bulldogs.

Matthew Egan being interviewed.

Interested to see what happens to Williams and Monty.

04-10-2011, 10:40 AM
Interested to see what happens to Williams and Monty.
Aren't they both contracted for 2012?

04-10-2011, 10:44 AM
Aren't they both contracted for 2012?
I believe they both have another year on their contracts. I would be very disappointed if we did not have clauses in assistants contracts that allow us to terminate the contracts if the senior coach changes.

04-10-2011, 10:49 AM
I believe they both have another year on their contracts. I would be very disappointed if we did not have clauses in assistants contracts that allow us to terminate the contracts if the senior coach changes.

That is something you would expect, surely.:confused:

04-10-2011, 12:47 PM
Williams to Carlton

04-10-2011, 12:54 PM
Williams to Carlton

Probably a good thing if he did in fact spit the dummy when he missed out on the top job.

04-10-2011, 01:26 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/bulldogs-caretaker-coach-paul-williams-joins-carlton-as-assistant/story-e6frf9jf-1226157921776

04-10-2011, 01:47 PM
Probably a good thing if he did in fact spit the dummy when he missed out on the top job.
Agree that this is a good thing despite Williams being a good guy and coach.

McCartney needs a fresh group around him.

04-10-2011, 01:59 PM
Agree that this is a good thing despite Williams being a good guy and coach.

McCartney needs a fresh group around him.

Now for Monty:D

04-10-2011, 02:19 PM

Maybe I'm one of the few but I hope he stays.

04-10-2011, 02:24 PM
Dean Baily to Crows

Dean Bailey has joined the Adelaide Crows in a new role as Strategy and Innovation Coach.

Rocket was offered this about a month ago.

04-10-2011, 04:28 PM

Might have burnt his bridges last season but I still like him as a guy

Its up to McCartney,

Like others he needs to be able to surround himself with the people he wants

04-10-2011, 04:39 PM
it would be good to retain some continuity with past coaching group. lot of knowledge in the group about the players / club etc and having at least 1 assistant stay on means not all knowledge lost.

04-10-2011, 04:49 PM
it would be good to retain some continuity with past coaching group. lot of knowledge in the group about the players / club etc and having at least 1 assistant stay on means not all knowledge lost.

Fantasia has that covered;)

04-10-2011, 04:51 PM
Dean Baily to Crows

Dean Bailey has joined the Adelaide Crows in a new role as Strategy and Innovation Coach.

Rocket was offered this about a month ago.

What sort of strategy did Bailey have at Melbourne?
Getting a little to corporate with these wanky titles.

04-10-2011, 05:18 PM
Additionally, Adelaide has appointed Paddy Steinfort as Leadership Development Manager. Paddy will be heavily involved with the playing group in revamping the Club’s leadership program. Since being an AFL player (with Richmond) Paddy has had experience in leadership training in elite sports in New Zealand with the Black Caps (Cricket), Rugby (Hurricanes, Blues) and Basketball (Breakers).

Paddy was the senior coach down at Mazenod Old Collegians where I have played the last 4 years, and having seen him first hand this past year I can't speak highly enough of him. Despite a career he freely admits was "pretty shit" he knows a lot about what he's doing and has been great in getting us all to improve and develop. This year we've used the leading teams type approach, which is really good, and this appointment is obviously a big step in the right direction for him.

04-10-2011, 08:04 PM

How come Doc?

04-10-2011, 08:15 PM

Monty was with Macca and the bulldog recruiters at the draft combine today.

04-10-2011, 08:18 PM

Nope, you are not. I hope he stays on.

04-10-2011, 08:21 PM
I also hope Monty stays

05-10-2011, 11:56 AM
Matthew Egan to Bombers.

link (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/05/egan-becomes-a-bomber/)

05-10-2011, 12:09 PM
Ayres been seen at Saints

05-10-2011, 12:14 PM
Ayres been seen at Saints

Not exactly accurate reporting, Ayres and Pelchen are both at the draft combine. Ayres doing a coaches course and Pelchen with the saints staff. If they're going to make assumptions from what is seen this week they might as well report that David Parkin is going to GWS.

05-10-2011, 02:13 PM
Matthew Egan to Bombers.

link (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/05/egan-becomes-a-bomber/)

so much for that then

must be highly rated.

05-10-2011, 02:18 PM
Shannon Grant has joined Dogs panel from Bendigo/Essendon.

Shannon Grant to the Bulldogs

Shannon Grant has joined Dogs panel from Bendigo/Essendon.
12 years too late!

05-10-2011, 02:19 PM
Shannon Grant just got appointed assistant coach with us

05-10-2011, 02:22 PM
Seems we now have 3 coaches known to be great with kids

05-10-2011, 02:26 PM
Here it is
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/westernbulldogsnewsfeatures/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/124658/default.aspx

05-10-2011, 02:27 PM
Lets hope they can coach as well! ;)

05-10-2011, 02:28 PM
Well we do have a kinder out the front, turning into the Whitten Oval childcare centre ;)

05-10-2011, 02:33 PM
They both come from the Bombers.

05-10-2011, 03:11 PM

Who are the three?

05-10-2011, 03:16 PM
Wonder if McCartney will be interested in Cameron Lings services, anyone heard him mention whether or not he would be interested in going into coaching?

05-10-2011, 03:19 PM
Wouldn't mind a senior assistant now to even up the ledger.

05-10-2011, 03:45 PM
Who are the three?

Monty, Grant and Macca.

05-10-2011, 03:50 PM
Monty, Grant and Macca.

I guess add German who is the current development coach. I wonder if he will continue in that role? Didn't know Monty was classified as a developer of young players.

05-10-2011, 03:52 PM
Wonder if McCartney will be interested in Camron Lings services, anyone heard him mention whether or not he would be interested in going into coaching?

Reported that he will be part of Channel 7's broadcast next year which would make any significant coaching role pretty tough to juggle on match day.

05-10-2011, 03:55 PM
Any chance of getting a Senior Assistant?

05-10-2011, 03:56 PM
Shannon Grant to the Bulldogs

He over the whole arrests and suspensions for drunkenness thing then?

05-10-2011, 03:57 PM
Any chance of getting a Senior Assistant?

Any chance of getting someone who's not McCartney's mate?

05-10-2011, 03:57 PM
I guess add German who is the current development coach. I wonder if he will continue in that role? Didn't know Monty was classified as a developer of young players.

It will be interesting to see what becomes of German. I thought he was very impressive with Willi this year and would surely work well in the AFL system.

What would Shannon Grant have in his skill set that German doesn't? Thats not a criticism of Grant just a fair question.

05-10-2011, 03:58 PM
Wonder if McCartney will be interested in Cameron Lings services, anyone heard him mention whether or not he would be interested in going into coaching?
He is going into modellling, nah seriously he has a gig with channel 7 next year.

05-10-2011, 04:00 PM
I think he is more professional than that. He obviously rates those guys he has working under him and trusts their abilities.
Otherwise why would he risk getting the sack when it has been a dream of his to get a coaching gig?

05-10-2011, 04:01 PM

From what I have heard Monty is hard on the young ones when they come in as a learning curve but very popular.

I suppose its a talk the talk, walk the walk thing.
Seems to be what Smorgon was talking about refresh as in players confidence thing, we seem to be gunning for people who are very good with all personalities and building a strong bond between coaches, players and common aim, maybe a hint Eade didnt have all the players united?

05-10-2011, 04:03 PM

Also had Goodes their to guide the indigenous.

05-10-2011, 04:07 PM
It will be interesting to see what becomes of German. I thought he was very impressive with Willi this year and would surely work well in the AFL system.

What would Shannon Grant have in his skill set that German doesn't? Thats not a criticism of Grant just a fair question.

Well, I thought the same thing

05-10-2011, 04:09 PM
He over the whole arrests and suspensions for drunkenness thing then?
Was a fair while back, I'm happy to cut him some slack.

Taking a team that was last in 2009 to the finals in the next two years has to count for something.

05-10-2011, 04:11 PM
Was a fair while back, I'm happy to cut him some slack.

Taking a team that was last in 2009 to the finals in the next two years has to count for something.

2010 wasn't that long ago. And taking them to the finals while missing 2 weeks under suspension is even better. I'm not really against the appointment, just pointing out that he's got a bit of a history that could be a concern.

05-10-2011, 07:28 PM

Montgomery.

If Im not mistaken Eade had coaches around him he had a previous association with.

Williams played under Eade.
Montgomery played under Eade.
Cameron would have been known to the dogs

05-10-2011, 09:29 PM
Peter Sumich moves from the Eagles to the Dockers

05-10-2011, 09:35 PM
Montgomery.

If Im not mistaken Eade had coaches around him he had a previous association with.

Williams played under Eade.
Montgomery played under Eade.
Cameron would have been known to the dogs

Not sure Dean, Barnes, Campbell, Richardson,? had an association with Eade

05-10-2011, 09:37 PM
Peter Sumich moves from the Eagles to the Dockers

:eek:

That comes as a bit of a shock. I'm sure it will go over really well with the WCE fans.

05-10-2011, 09:38 PM
Blimey this is as busy as the Monash Freeway.
Just on German I get the feeling he's a bit on the "Give Em' a bake " type of coach .
Just a perception, funny how most new coaches are picking assistants with a connection .
I would like a senior assistant without a connection personally.

05-10-2011, 10:01 PM
Blimey this is as busy as the Monash Freeway.

Is it? It's a legitimate question as I usually don't take that much notice of Assistant Coaches. Is the chopping and changing a lot more than other years?

05-10-2011, 10:38 PM
:eek:

That comes as a bit of a shock. I'm sure it will go over really well with the WCE fans.

Particularly when his first comment to the press was "I've always been a Freo boy"

WCE are refusing to comment .... Love it !!!

But now I'm in a bind ... This gives me one less reason to hate the Eagles and one more reason to hate the Dockers.

12-10-2011, 01:25 PM
Former Bulldog, Andrew Nichol has joined the Melbourne coaching staff as backline development coach.

13-10-2011, 01:27 PM
Darren Milburn joins Brenton Sanderson's coaching panel at Adelaide

13-10-2011, 10:49 PM
Hahn and Rocca added to Pies coaches (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/13/hahn-and-rocca-added-to-pies-coaches/)

13-10-2011, 11:06 PM
Good stuff for Mitch

17-10-2011, 11:12 AM
The Age reports that saints assistant Steven King is in the mix for the position of Bulldogs Midfield Assistant Coach, but will need to be released by new coach Scott Watters given he is under contract

Reading between the media lines it appears Laidley will land elsewhere than us

17-10-2011, 11:14 AM
I was talking to someone yesterday and apparently B-Mac indicated that we will announce another assistant mid week.

17-10-2011, 02:48 PM
The Age reports that saints assistant Steven King is in the mix for the position of Bulldogs Midfield Assistant Coach, but will need to be released by new coach Scott Watters given he is under contract

Reading between the media lines it appears Laidley will land elsewhere than us

Possibly the Saint's, allowing King to come over to us.

18-10-2011, 12:28 AM
Possibly the Saint's, allowing King to come over to us.

Hoo-ray. Not a fan of Laidly. he'll suit them perfectly. Just seems a bit of an angry man to me,

18-10-2011, 12:45 AM
Hoo-ray. Not a fan of Laidly. he'll suit them perfectly. Just seems a bit of an angry man to me,

I reckon we could've done with a bit of 'angry'.

18-10-2011, 01:24 PM
Hahn and Rocca added to Pies coaches (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/13/hahn-and-rocca-added-to-pies-coaches/)

Collingwood are soon going to have more coaching and professional support staff than players the way they are going

18-10-2011, 01:36 PM
Collingwood are soon going to have more coaching and professional support staff than players the way they are going

Looks like John Barnes heading to Collingwood as well.

19-10-2011, 07:38 AM
Stevo tweeted that King is likely our last assistant and that Rohan Smith is heading to us in a development role

19-10-2011, 10:32 AM
Stevo tweeted that King is likely our last assistant and that Rohan Smith is heading to us in a development role

Think King will be a great asset.

19-10-2011, 11:00 AM

I wonder if that will just be in a part time role because he has a pretty senior position within the player management fraternity.

19-10-2011, 11:05 AM
John Barnes gone according to the HS

19-10-2011, 11:58 AM
I wonder if that will just be in a part time role because he has a pretty senior position within the player management fraternity.

Towards the end of this year Rohan was at training regularly and was very involved in the running of a lot of drills, I think he's probably going to do similarly next year but have it formally acknowledged.

19-10-2011, 12:57 PM
Think King will be a great asset.

I agree with one proviso and that is that he can teach Minson some rucking skills!

19-10-2011, 12:58 PM
I agree with one proviso and that is that he can teach Minson some rucking skills!

Minson isn't a bad ruckman in terms of rucking skills...it's the rest of his game that needs a tune-up.

19-10-2011, 01:12 PM
NGP the bloke hits it 30 metres our way a lot he can definitely ruck, his build actually scares some ruckman and they worry about jumping all over him more than the ball at times.

Point is his hard hands when marking, he does all the jostling gets in position then needs a second grab because his hands are too hard.
If he fixes his hands marking wise he could be a great all round ruckman.
Personally him one out in a goal square against a fullback and the ball coming in high and Dahlhaus roving would be awesome.

19-10-2011, 01:51 PM
Minson isn't a bad ruckman in terms of rucking skills...it's the rest of his game that needs a tune-up.

In the words of one of our former champion ruckmen, Minson's ruck work hasn't improved in the past 6 years. I tend to agree!

19-10-2011, 02:06 PM
Towards the end of this year Rohan was at training regularly and was very involved in the running of a lot of drills, I think he's probably going to do similarly next year but have it formally acknowledged.

He was also our runner during the year.

19-10-2011, 02:34 PM
Brad Gotch to Port Adelaide

19-10-2011, 03:10 PM

If Big Will could hold a mark he would be a great player.

19-10-2011, 03:13 PM
If Big Will could hold a mark he would be a great player.

He'd need to cut his free kicks conceded count by about 70% as well.

19-10-2011, 03:17 PM
He'd need to cut his free kicks conceded count by about 70% as well.

Which is a bit of a myth now as this year in 9 games he averaged less than 1 per game.

19-10-2011, 03:24 PM
Which is a bit of a myth now as this year in 9 games he averaged less than 1 per game.

He may have only given away 8 this year, but he also didn't have the grind of playing every week. Prior to that he'd given away 111 free kicks in the previous two and a half seasons.

19-10-2011, 03:41 PM
Josh Carr, Shaun Rehn and Brad Gotch have joined the Port Adelaide coaching panel for 2012

19-10-2011, 03:47 PM
He may have only given away 8 this year, but he also didn't have the grind of playing every week. Prior to that he'd given away 111 free kicks in the previous two and a half seasons.

So you dont accept he has got it out of his game and will always hold it against him?
You said he needs to improve it, figures prove he has but you still fall back on previous years, looks like he has no hope getting on your right side ;)
1 free kick a game as a ruck is pretty good IMO

19-10-2011, 03:53 PM
So you dont accept he has got it out of his game and will always hold it against him?
You said he needs to improve it, figures prove he has but you still fall back on previous years, looks like he has no hope getting on your right side ;)
1 free kick a game as a ruck is pretty good IMO

How did you manage to come to that conclusion?

9 games is hardly a career, especially when they're spread out across a season. When he's tired he gives away stupid frees, he's done it for 100 games.

19-10-2011, 04:05 PM
How did you manage to come to that conclusion?

9 games is hardly a career, especially when they're spread out across a season. When he's tired he gives away stupid frees, he's done it for 100 games.

Still a bit unfair, 2010 he gave away 25 in 15 games.

I think Minson plays his best footy when is is aggressive as he was in the past. This lead to stupid frees but the team played better. In 2008 and 2009 he gave away 44 and 42 in 25 games and we were a premiership chance in those years.

19-10-2011, 04:09 PM
Still a bit unfair, 2010 he gave away 25 in 15 games.

I think Minson plays his best footy when is is aggressive as he was in the past. This lead to stupid frees but the team played better. In 2008 and 2009 he gave away 44 and 42 in 25 games and we were a premiership chance in those years.

I actually think he could dial down his aggression and focus more on the footy he would be a better player

He seems to have it in his head that he has to get in the extra bump, the extra bit of physicality, the push out etc. If he just attacked the ball, and focused more of his energy on the ball, IMO he would be far more effective. He is big enough that by being hard at the ball he is going to do some damage anyway and he doesn't need to make it a focus.

19-10-2011, 05:55 PM
Brad Gotch to Port Adelaide

As well as Shaun Rehn & Josh Carr.

19-10-2011, 05:58 PM

Thanks picked that up later

Josh Carr, Shaun Rehn and Brad Gotch have joined the Port Adelaide coaching panel for 2012

19-10-2011, 06:15 PM
In the words of one of our former champion ruckmen, Minson's ruck work hasn't improved in the past 6 years. I tend to agree!

Given that he has hardly played in the ruck since Hudsons arrival and was expected to play and learn as a power forward i'm not overly surprised. His actual ruckwork is still better than any other players on our list too.

19-10-2011, 08:17 PM

Some good appointments for Port.

Brad was on radio down here in Adelaide this afternoon and spoke well. Will be interesting to see how having more full time assistants in place may help Port out this year.

19-10-2011, 08:18 PM

Minno's stocks are going to go up in a team of kids.

19-10-2011, 08:34 PM
I actually think he could dial down his aggression and focus more on the footy he would be a better player

He seems to have it in his head that he has to get in the extra bump, the extra bit of physicality, the push out etc. If he just attacked the ball, and focused more of his energy on the ball, IMO he would be far more effective. He is big enough that by being hard at the ball he is going to do some damage anyway and he doesn't need to make it a focus.

No player is perfect. At times I think people forget it's a breathing human being out there, busting a gut, under pressure, trying to get the best out of themselves. Minno has a unique blend of skills and attributes. His fault is he often isn't played to his strengths. that knocking to a crumber role that many suggested Setanta play..Will can do that. In the ruckm, With huddo out, he may get more of a look in.

If anything, I feel that he got a raw deal out of Rocket and needs someone who sees him in a differently light. Rodney had a punitive attitude towards players and I hope the change helps minno breath new life into his career.

20-10-2011, 10:47 AM
Carlton appoints Andrew McKay as head of football, replacing Steven Icke.

20-10-2011, 11:46 AM
I wonder if there's any chance we'll announce a list manager at any point soon?

20-10-2011, 12:13 PM
I wonder if there's any chance we'll announce a list manager at any point soon?

We should be talking to Steven Icke

20-10-2011, 12:25 PM
We should be talking to Steven Icke

He would be taking a big paycut and step back in duties to fill this role... Not sure that he would be all that interested TBH.

20-10-2011, 12:27 PM
He would be taking a big paycut and step back in duties to fill this role... Not sure that he would be all that interested TBH.

Yes, he's held a more senior position and I think he'd be want to look for something similar.

20-10-2011, 12:31 PM
Yes, he's held a more senior position and I think he'd be want to look for something similar.

Don't suppose we'll have the General Manager of Football role available in the near future?

21-10-2011, 11:11 AM
Just heard on SEN that the Saints had released King and he has accepted a role with the Dogs as assistant coach.

21-10-2011, 11:15 AM
Just heard on SEN that the Saints had released King and he has accepted a role with the Dogs as assistant coach.

Yes, Harvey and King have both left the Saints, with King to us. I guess Harvey may be headed to Collingwood to join the other ten assistants

21-10-2011, 11:23 AM

I don't really know why, but I feel this is a good appointment.

21-10-2011, 11:28 AM

Any word on what his role will be?

21-10-2011, 11:47 AM

The suggestion is ruck/midfield.

21-10-2011, 11:49 AM

Maybe now that John Barnes has left, Steven will take a BIG interest in our Ruck division

21-10-2011, 12:16 PM
Welcome Steven King. Outsiders observation is that there is a very different tone to the new coaching panel. Tough competitive edge. Given our developing ruck division I like Kings appointment.

21-10-2011, 12:25 PM
We seem to be getting a very Geelong feel about our coaching staff, I hope it reaps the same rewards.:D

21-10-2011, 02:29 PM
Rohan Smith Skill Development role confirmed

21-10-2011, 02:33 PM
Rohan Smith Development role confirmed

Is this a new role to the club or is he replacing someone? It would be nice if it's an extra position. I wonder if he will split time between this role and the media.

21-10-2011, 02:35 PM
Is this a new role to the club or is he replacing someone? It would be nice if it's an extra position. I wonder if he will split time between this role and the media.

Sorry, should read Skill Development Role

21-10-2011, 03:38 PM
Skill Development Role = kicking and....? Whats his job description I wonder.

21-10-2011, 04:43 PM

I do too, but I'd really also like a 20 year old King in the ruck - boy he was good until injuries slowed him down

I think he is the perfect ruck coach for Minson, and appears to have done a great job with McEvoy this year

21-10-2011, 06:41 PM
Now we just need a list manager.

26-10-2011, 10:55 AM
Robert Harvey to Collingwood. How many assistants now:eek:

26-10-2011, 01:02 PM
Are they aiming for a one-to-one player-to-coach ratio or something?

26-10-2011, 06:22 PM
Are they aiming for a one-to-one player-to-coach ratio or something?

Exactly my thoughts!

Well, you know, there is evidence that people learn better in smaller groups (thus good schools aiming for a low teacher-pupil ratio) so I suppose if players get more individualised attention it can only be good for their development, as long as all the 'teachers' are on the same page and are teaching out of the same manual.

I know if we had to choose between having too few coaches or having too many which side I'd err on.

02-11-2011, 10:45 PM
Tyson Edwards has been appointed as a Development Coach at Port Adelaide.

02-11-2011, 10:55 PM
Dean Laidley has accepted a position at St Kilda:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/dean-laidley-accepts-job-as-assistant-coach-at-st-kilda/story-e6frf9jf-1226183576426

03-11-2011, 03:14 PM
Mark Harvey has accepted an assistant coaching role at Brisbane.

03-11-2011, 04:33 PM
Edwards is the second former Crows champion to make the shock move to the bitter Adelaide rivals after dual-premiership teammate Shaun Rehn joined the Power a fortnight ago.

03-11-2011, 04:36 PM
Tyson Edwards to Port Adelaide in development role

You didn't see post 170? ;) :D

03-11-2011, 04:50 PM
You didn't see post 170? ;) :D

yes sorry about that, I have changed it slightly:D

26-09-2012, 12:42 PM
BUMP

Primus has been appointed as an assistant at Gold Coast, not sure where that leaves Ratten

Leon Cameron is still favourite for the Port role.

26-09-2012, 01:12 PM
Primus has been appointed as an assistant at Gold Coast, not sure where that leaves Ratten

Leon Cameron is still favourite for the Port role.

According to this article in the Age from a week ago, Leon Cameron pulled out:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ratten-pulls-out-of-contention-for-port-adelaide-job-20120920-2699n.html

That news came 24 hours after Thomas told The Age that Collingwood's experienced senior assistant Rodney Eade was not a candidate. Earlier respected assistant coaches Scott Burns (West Coast) and Leon Cameron (Hawthorn) confirmed they would not be applying for the Port coaching job.

Not to say he hasn't changed his mind in the mean time.

26-09-2012, 02:05 PM
According to this article in the Age from a week ago, Leon Cameron pulled out:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ratten-pulls-out-of-contention-for-port-adelaide-job-20120920-2699n.html

Not to say he hasn't changed his mind in the mean time.

There are rumours he is still in the race. I guess he is focused on the GF this week.

26-09-2012, 02:32 PM
There are rumours he is still in the race. I guess he is focused on the GF this week.

I think it's part of the coaching landscape these days.

Missing out on a coaching job is seen as a black mark. Candidates will only be officially in once they get a job and officially withdraw when they know they can't get a job.

26-09-2012, 04:39 PM
It's like high school. No one wants to be the dumpee.

26-09-2012, 08:48 PM
I think it's part of the coaching landscape these days.

Missing out on a coaching job is seen as a black mark. Candidates will only be officially in once they get a job and officially withdraw when they know they can't get a job.
AKA the Brian Royal rule. Also soon to be the Scott Burns rule by the looks.

27-09-2012, 02:41 AM
From my understanding he has only said he will not commit until his duties are complete at Hawthorn. He will then sit down with the power and make up his mind he has never stated that he will not do the job.

27-09-2012, 02:59 PM
Port Adelaide denies five-year offer to Leon Cameron (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/teams/port-adelaide-denies-five-year-offer-to-leon-cameron/story-e6frf9mo-1226482308216)

03-10-2012, 12:11 AM
Cameron considering assistant role to Sheedy.

03-10-2012, 12:52 AM
Cameron considering assistant role to Sheedy.
If I had a choice between Port or GWS (which you would think would lead to the senior role), I'd choose GWS every time.

03-10-2012, 12:54 AM
If I had a choice between Port or GWS (which you would think would lead to the senior role), I'd choose GWS every time.

Agree, think Williams was a prize goose for walking out if he was promised the job at the end of Sheedy's time.
Not sure he will get a coaching gig again.

03-10-2012, 11:58 AM
ST KILDA has bolstered coaching depth and added vital experience with recruitment of West Coast Eagles premiership defensive coach Tony Micale.

03-10-2012, 12:09 PM
Tweet from Clarke at HUN: Leon Cameron flying to Sydney w GWS Official. Doesn't look good for Port”

03-10-2012, 01:24 PM
Tweet from Clarke at HUN: Leon Cameron flying to Sydney w GWS Official. Doesn't look good for Port”

No one wants to coach port so it seems, maybe Kochi might do that too

03-10-2012, 02:56 PM

A toss up I would say, if you would want either club. They could both be a long time in the wilderness.

03-10-2012, 03:02 PM
No one wants to coach port so it seems, maybe Kochi might do that too

Maybe his offsider Mel Doyle might get the gig.:eek:

03-10-2012, 03:09 PM
Maybe his offsider Mel Doyle might get the gig.:eek:

Ken Hinkley may be the new favourite to get the job.

03-10-2012, 04:53 PM
Ken Hinkley may be the new favourite to get the job.

To get Kochi's job or the coaching gig? ;)

03-10-2012, 05:34 PM
To get Kochi's job or the coaching gig? ;)

Nice one.:D

03-10-2012, 07:11 PM
Might be the right time for Choco Royal to have another go.

03-10-2012, 07:39 PM
Might be the right time for Choco Royal to have another go.

I might put up my hand soon too, they are running out of candidates.

04-10-2012, 09:10 AM
Reports this morning Leon to GWS and to eventually take over from Sheedy.
Leaving Hinkley or Eade for the Port job.
Leon reported to have knocked back a 5 year deal with Port.

04-10-2012, 09:20 AM
Reports this morning Leon to GWS and to eventually take over from Sheedy.
Leaving Hinkley or Eade for the Port job.
Leon reported to have knocked back a 5 year deal with Port.

Smart move. The GWS team is going to be awesome eventually.

04-10-2012, 10:07 AM
Port Adelaide need a coach who is tactically smart, has a hard edge, is able to develop youth, ideally knows what it takes to make and win a grand final and is able to survive the media pressure. Perhaps they could look at Mark Williams? Oh wait, they have been there done that.....

Is it possible they re-appoint Mark Williams?

He ticks all the boxes.

04-10-2012, 12:58 PM
Congrats Leon

Probably for us last year, it was a shame he hadn't had a few more years with Clarkson to broaden his experience

One of my all time favourite Bulldog players and great to see him get his chance

04-10-2012, 04:16 PM
Congrats Leon
One of my all time favourite Bulldog players and great to see him get his chance

Ditto,

Saw him in his first year with Granty as 17 year olds and they were both sensational.

What an opportunity for him to be mentored by Sheedy for a year and then take over. Its a pity the Dogs didn't have a mentoring role with Rocket and then could then take the role in 2013.

I guess he has learnt more at Hawthorn with a different club, plus the GF experience.

Good luck to him.

04-10-2012, 06:42 PM
All The Best Leon Going To be a Great Coach just spweing its not with us.
Have spent some time with Leon in the past very very impressive man!

05-10-2012, 09:11 PM
Hawks have wasted no time replacing Leon Cameron, appointing Brett Ratten as an assitant coach.

19-10-2012, 03:50 PM
Hawks have wasted no time replacing Leon Cameron, appointing Brett Ratten as an assitant coach.

Hawks have also appointed Cameron Bruce in a development role

19-10-2012, 04:14 PM
Hawks have also appointed Bruce Cameron in a development role

Who the *!*!*!*! is Bruce Cameron?

Could it be Cameron Bruce?

19-10-2012, 04:27 PM
Who the *!*!*!*! is Bruce Cameron?

Could it be Cameron Bruce?

sorry Cameron Bruce:p

LostDog
19-10-2012, 10:13 PM
i had a teacher in high school called bruce cameron, he always wore a bum bag

01-11-2012, 08:32 PM
I know the source isn't all that credible, but Ben Graham has been linked to an assistant coach role with us.

See here: http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/11/01/graham-could-join-western-bulldogs/

01-11-2012, 08:43 PM
I know the source isn't all that credible, but Ben Graham has been linked to an assistant coach role with us.

See here: http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/11/01/graham-could-join-western-bulldogs/

Interesting. He certainly would bring a different set of views and ideas.

How do others see his possible role? The article refers to specialist kicking coach as an option.

01-11-2012, 09:47 PM
Just as a side note but did I hear that Sam Power and Troy West will be assistant coaches to Peter German next next season?

01-11-2012, 10:05 PM
Just as a side note but did I hear that Sam Power and Troy West will be assistant coaches to Peter German next next season?

Where has Troy West been coaching?

I assume this is Power's first coaching gig?

01-11-2012, 10:09 PM

I hope it is just as a kicking coach because after living overseas for the last decade he would know bugger all about what's going on in AFL these days.

02-11-2012, 02:42 AM
I hope it is just as a kicking coach because after living overseas for the last decade he would know bugger all about what's going on in AFL these days.

Some would say that suits our game plan just fine :D

02-11-2012, 10:26 AM

Fairly simplistic view IMO considering the NFL off season is during our winter meaning Ben was likely I be home for 3 months each year over that time. Id be eager to get him down to the dogs as his previous experience in the NFL would have him exposed to some of the best coaching, training, strtergising, rehabilitation and sporting professionalism on the planet. Think he could offer plenty to the dogs in a number of different capacities.

10-11-2012, 08:11 PM
It is being reported we have finally landed Ash Hansen! Although, not a player as a development coach.

10-11-2012, 08:37 PM
It is being reported we have finally landed Ash Hansen! Although, not a player as a development coach.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/afl/swan-districts-ashley-hansen-quits-wafl-to-join-western-bulldogs/story-e6frexx0-1226514289480

10-11-2012, 08:56 PM
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/afl/swan-districts-ashley-hansen-quits-wafl-to-join-western-bulldogs/story-e6frexx0-1226514289480

Thanks for the article link. Good to see he also can bring some knowledge of sports science. More people with that type of knowledge the better.

10-11-2012, 08:59 PM

Is anyone surprised that this announcement is not on the clubs website?
There is a lot of good things happening at the club but we do a lousy job at selling it to the supporters.

10-11-2012, 09:51 PM
Is anyone surprised that this announcement is not on the clubs website?
There is a lot of good things happening at the club but we do a lousy job at selling it to the supporters.

Unfortunately not surprised...I just queried them via Twitter.

EDIT: it's now on Twitter...@westernbulldogs: NEWS: We've appointed former Eagles Premiership player Ashley Hansen as Development Coach for 2013.

Also now on the website, along with info on the restructure of some roles...http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/westernbulldogsnewsfeatures/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/150936/default.aspx

10-11-2012, 09:56 PM
Enjoyed listening to him on the ABC.
I thought Rohan Smith was a development coach?

10-11-2012, 09:59 PM
Enjoyed listening to him on the ABC.
I thought Rohan Smith was a development coach?

I believe Smith has earned a promotion.

11-11-2012, 09:35 AM
Interesting developments

Looks like we will be adding to our total pool of assistants, I haven't seen news of any moving on, and many seemed to be on the trip to the UK

Hansen is an interesting addition and would appear to be a good addition for our key forwards.

11-11-2012, 09:41 AM
Interesting developments

Looks like we will be adding to our total pool of assistants, I haven't seen news of any moving on, and many seemed to be on the trip to the UK

Hansen is an interesting addition and would appear to be a good addition for our key forwards.

Yes, two new coaches at Williamstown in Troy West and Sam Power, new fitness coaches, I think Rohan Smith has been promoted to an assistant coaches position and now Hansen is coming on board.

It's good to see that we are finally getting some more coaching resources.

11-11-2012, 09:55 AM
I think its quite exciting to hear the changes that are happening at the club especially with new coaches. With a young list its imperative that we have a good enough coaches to help the boys become better players.

Is there any news on Montgomery who I think is out of contract?
Apologies if I have missed any news on him.

11-11-2012, 09:57 AM
I think its quite exciting to hear the changes that are happening at the club especially with new coaches. With a young list its imperative that we have a good enough coaches to help the boys become better players.

Is there any news on Montgomery who I think is out of contract?
Apologies if I have missed any news on him.

Montgomery is now the "full time strategy and opposition coach". (It's in the article on Hansen being appointed.

11-11-2012, 09:58 AM
Yes, two new coaches at Williamstown in Troy West and Sam Power, new fitness coaches, I think Rohan Smith has been promoted to an assistant coaches position and now Hansen is coming on board.

It's good to see that we are finally getting some more coaching resources.

Yes, seems like we replaced Davoren with two positions

Presumably Willys appointments are made independent of us, particularly with our partnership coming to an end. Troy West has pretty extensive experience and was a player I admired, who got the most out of himself.

Smith promoted, Hansen to step in, and Graham maybe to follow?

11-11-2012, 10:05 AM
Yes, seems like we replaced Davoren with two positions

Presumably Willys appointments are made independent of us, particularly with our partnership coming to an end. Troy West has pretty extensive experience and was a player I admired, who got the most out of himself.

Smith promoted, Hansen to step in, and Graham maybe to follow?

I don't think Graham will get a gig now Handen has been appointed.

We have also added further resources to our fitness team.