Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Re: AFL Butt Smellers

^ ^ ^ ^
    TISM is a great suggestion Twodogs. They could also play some tracks from www.tism.wanker.com - 'There's gonna be sex tonight' references Wayne Carey, 'Whatareya' name drops James Hird, and of course there's 'I might be a c*** but I'm not a f****** c***' that mentions the Crows and Power.
    What about I'm on the drug, I'm on the drug that Ben Cousins and many others took.

Then Ricky Nixon the stop sign.

How about This Is Serious Mum? TISM have plenty of AFL related stuff to fall back on.

They could start with I Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted Shane Crawford then do The Back Upon Which Jezza Jumped and finish with (Jumpin' Jivin Jimmy (The Ghost) Joyce;

Or if TISM werent interested the AFL could get Spiderbait to sing Footy;
    Okay just knit picking but it was Jimmy Jess not Joyce.
    bulldogs are forever not just when they are winning

They shouldve got Alice Cooper instead. He was in Australia at the time. A big rockin medley of "School Out", "Department of Youth", "Under My Wheels" and "No More Mr Nice Guy" wouldve gone down a treat

Quote Originally Posted by DOG GOD View Post
    They shouldve got Alice Cooper instead. He was in Australia at the time. A big rockin medley of "School Out", "Department of Youth", "Under My Wheels" and "No More Mr Nice Guy" wouldve gone down a treat
    Legend!

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Legend!
    Absolutely, and still recording and touring the world.

Knowing the AFL it will probably be BABBA or some cover band.

Personally I would like Mark Seymour, Paul Kelly and maybe Ross Wilson, keep it Australian.

My vote is for The Living End!!

Quote Originally Posted by DOG GOD View Post
    You know, that just might've worked. A friend of mine has a pair of disabled sons who are 60's and 70's rock nuts. They've met Alice Cooper a few times, and he swears he is a terrific bloke.

Quote Originally Posted by Suz 32 View Post
    My vote is for The Living End!!
    I could live with this too. I don't regard myself as a Living End fan, but they've put out some good stuff.

Legend!
    I was watching Rage the other night and they had an Alice Cooper-a-thon.

Forgot how many great songs he released.

Department of Youth still gets my vote.

Personally I would like Mark Seymour, Paul Kelly and maybe Ross Wilson, keep it Australian.
    Saw Ross Wilson earlier in the year, voice still good.(unfortunately he sung to many new songs)
    I'm sure both Seymour and Kelly have already performed at the GF.

Quote Originally Posted by Lantern View Post
    I have a stupid suggestion -- why don't we just do away with the mostly cringe-worthy curtain raiser nonsense (the cheesy middle-age choir singing the club theme songs were worse than Meatloaf by a factor of 1 million -- apologies if they were actually some charity or something) and just play the freaking game of football? I mean, have the national anthem, then play the damn game.

If we REALLY have to have something prior to the game, why not another game of football, like the TAC cup final or the VFL final or something?

Too logical by half?
    How about the russian satellite thingy made of margarine containers, or the dippa, the sheedy, or the goal umpire twisslers.

I loved every one of them. Nothing makes me laugh more than AFL pre-game entertainment.

The only negative is that people from another country or state may look at it and think we are a bunch of amateurs but after a few beers, it makes for much hilarity.

I wonder who here didn't laugh when meatloaf the yeti belted out those dulcet tones.

Quote Originally Posted by strebla View Post
    Okay just knit picking but it was Jimmy Jess not Joyce.

I know that but the reference is to James Joyce winning (or saving) a game by writing "Ulysses". TISM were very keen on mixing up their cultural icons.

AFL have made some left field choices two years in a row. Lionel Richie is not the sort of thing you listen to to rev you up before a big game. But in a weird way, Meatloaf, Lionel, it's bad good!