Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Re: AFL Butt Smellers

I don't mind the pre match stuff, it adds to the build up of the day for me. Having said that I did prefer the good old days where the junior GF, then reserves GF was played as a curtain raiser before the big one.
    My biggest question is why persist with the 80s artists that haven't had a hit for the past 20yrs?

Quote Originally Posted by HairyMidget View Post
    I don't mind the pre match stuff, it adds to the build up of the day for me. Having said that I did prefer the good old days where the junior GF, then reserves GF was played as a curtain raiser before the big one.
    My biggest question is why persist with the 80s artists that haven't had a hit for the past 20yrs?
    I think the AFL marketing data must show a large proportion of bogan supporters!

Even so, I think we can get better cheesy '80s artists. Bon Jovi and G&R come to mind. Heck, just get Slash and let him rip off a couple of guitar solos.

When the AFL have tried to go 'contemporary' they've picked so, so badly. Seriously, Michael Buble and footy? Human bloody Nature? Surely we have to have a 'Rock Only' (and especially 'no jazz') policy for the Grannie.

It's not that hard is it? Any Aussie mainstream rock band of the past 15 years ie. Powderfinger, Silverchair, Jet or Wolfmother would surely work in pumping up a crowd.

The NRL entertainment did the AFL on a break. ( has previously to)
    Eskimo Joe were great, even Kelly Clarkson for the teeny bopper types.
    Meatloaf, honestly he was modern in about 1977

I think part of the reason the AFL does it is because it helps justifying selling their tickets at inflated prices because they are for an "entertainment event" and not just the footy.

I reckon there are heaps of bands, Australian and otherwise that would be alright. I'm a bit young for Meatloaf and thus didn't really recognise many of his songs but I'm sure you could find many an artist who would be keen to do it and is well known.

Quote Originally Posted by soupaman View Post
    I think part of the reason the AFL does it is because it helps justifying selling their tickets at inflated prices because they are for an "entertainment event" and not just the footy.

I reckon there are heaps of bands, Australian and otherwise that would be alright. I'm a bit young for Meatloaf and thus didn't really recognise many of his songs but I'm sure you could find many an artist who would be keen to do it and is well known.
    I'm of the right era and the way he crucified those songs, I didn't recognise them.

Quote Originally Posted by KT31 View Post
    I'm of the right era and the way he crucified those songs, I didn't recognise them.
    Exactly what I though when I heard he was complaining that there wasn't a proper soundcheck etc.... it was HIS VOICE that was terrible, the way he sang those songs was horrible. We all said at the time "What is he doing? Just sing them how you normally would!!"

Also, there are plenty of good Australian rock bands - use them AFL!!

What's with the term "butt smellers"? I assume it's a reference to a scrum pack, so not only does he not prepare adequately for his shows, he doesn't even adequately prepare his insults!

Quote Originally Posted by Greystache View Post
    What's with the term "butt smellers"? I assume it's a reference to a scrum pack, so not only does he not prepare adequately for his shows, he doesn't even adequately prepare his insults!
    On the extended video he said that the AFL were all like sheep just following everyone else ... lined up one after the other, smelling each others butts. Thus the insult butt smellers.
    WOOF Member 422

Quote Originally Posted by Scraggers View Post
    On the extended video he said that the AFL were all like sheep just following everyone else ... lined up one after the other, smelling each others butts. Thus the insult butt smellers.
    I have my issues with the AFL, but it can never be said that they are followers.
    Have led all other codes in lots of areas.
    Have the most high profile and best game in Australia.

How about all that footage before the GF when he was practically hugging Andrew Dimetriou? His opinion changed fast

Excuse me Mr Meatloaf, can you explain to us why the girl singing with you, on the same stage, with the same sound system, standing literally inches away from you, sang perfectly?

Cold Chisel have reformed and are touring Australia at the moment. They would have been the perfect choice for the pre match act. I cant understand why the AFL didnt go with them.

Having said that I agree with the other posters ITT who say they'd prefer not to have a musical act as part of the pregame entertainment.

I would honestly prefer no pre match entertainment.
    But if we HAVE to have it I think an Australian act should be blanket policy.

Icehouse just reformed and have enough hits to play a strong set.
    Cold Chisel would be awesome.
    Hoodoo Gurus.
    Mental as anything.
    Paul Kelly,

I know these are all old bands and they aren't even remotely my favourite bands but they tick all the boxes. Hits, longevity, Australian.
    There's 5 years booked.
    And by then some younger bands will come through.

How about This Is Serious Mum? TISM have plenty of AFL related stuff to fall back on.

They could start with I Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted Shane Crawford then do The Back Upon Which Jezza Jumped and finish with (Jumpin' Jivin Jimmy (The Ghost) Joyce;

Do you remember Jimmy, Jimmy "The Ghost"?
    Jesus, could that boy play. He was the most
    When Tom Hafey saw him, he said "Now James,
    "If you apply yourself, it will be nothing but fame"
    And boy did he slam in his very first game
    When he put Dubliners through his pace

Then against Hawthorn, Richmond where fast dyin'
    He wrote Ulysses and saved us right on the siren
    Though there's something timeless about how he'd breakout of a scrimmage
    And his use of the dropkick and of symbol and image
    On a cold wet day at the MCG, many a time
    Would Jimmy change the course of fiction in our time

Though many found him complex, strange and aloof
    When he took a mark, well, the fans just hit the roof
    And then he'd turn slowly around with the ball and he'd say
    "Riverrun, past Eve and Adam's, from swerve of shore to bend of bay”
    He played over 400 games though some said "It was a mistake"
    And then he'd kept going after and we'd say "Finnegans Wake"

I don't think so, we're out of our end, we're out of the five
    So good on you Jimmy...Jimmy...Jimmy
    Eat 'em alive

Or if TISM werent interested the AFL could get Spiderbait to sing Footy;

Footy day in Finley town
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    At two o'clock the siren sounds
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    Umpy throws the ball in play
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    (something)
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

I like footy!
    I love footy!
    We love footy!
    I like footy!
    I love footy!
    I like footy!
    Kick that footy!
    I like footy!
    Ooo yeah footy!
    We like footy!
    I love my footy!
    He likes footy!
    I like footy!
    I hate footy!

Big sticks standing tall and white
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    Make oh what a pretty sight
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    The smell of blood is in the air
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    (rival footy team) boys are scared
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

I like footy!
    We love footy!
    I love footy!
    He loves footy!
    I like footy!
    Kick that footy!
    I like footy!
    Ooo yeah footy!
    He likes footy!
    I love footy!
    I like footy!
    I hate footy!

(someone) takes a specca mark
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    Pay (something) pay (something)
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    Siren sounds we've won the day
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!
    Grab a chick let's hit the hay
    Yeah yeah yeah yeah!

I like footy!
    We love footy!
    I like footy!
    Ooo yeah footy!
    Kick that footy!
    I like footy!
    Kick me the footy!
    He loves footy!
    I like footy!
    Love that footy!
    Chuck a specca!

^ ^ ^ ^
    TISM is a great suggestion Twodogs. They could also play some tracks from www.tism.wanker.com - 'There's gonna be sex tonight' references Wayne Carey, 'Whatareya' name drops James Hird, and of course there's 'I might be a c*** but I'm not a f****** c***' that mentions the Crows and Power.