Thread: It's time

It's time

The AFL experiment into the Western Suburbs of Sydney is teetering. It's like a giant hole that is sucking money through one end and producing nothing out of the other. A huge revenue wrecking machine.

Now is the time to abandon GWS and move the license to Tasmania in order to shore up an area that is actually interested in AFL football.

Re: It's time

The AFL experiment into the Western Suburbs of Sydney is teetering. It's like a giant hole that is sucking money through one end and producing nothing out of the other. A huge revenue wrecking machine.

Now is the time to abandon GWS and move the license to Tasmania in order to shore up an area that is actually interested in AFL football.
    AFL are too stubborn. Maybe two more years of abject failure, low crowds, failure to sign decent FA's, exodus of gun kids etc, then Tassie government to make a serious bid.

I was just thinking that myself (not the Tassie move) that the GWS experiment will become a rank failure. They were seriously banking on getting Buddy up here to promote the team. Plus also a number of players already requesting releases back to their home states there must be some serious doubts as to the long term viability of this club as it stands.

Where to from here for the club? Who do they go after? How do they retain their current list?

Yeah I reckon the GWS franchise in the Western Suburbs of Sydney has not been a success at all so far. The AFL is hoping to get the support from a clearly Rugby dominated heartland and soccer as well with the huge success of the Western Sydney Wanderers which would of gained a lot of support.

It's never going to work. The AFL should pull the pin and invest those resources where they can actually do some good. Unfortunately I can't see them admitting it's all been a 'giant' mistake.

The GWS franchise is like having an NRL franchise in Adelaide and Perth for instance which are both AFL mad like ourselves.

Ha! TD, they'd never admit it. They'd be the laughing stock. Instead we'll prop them up for fifteen years, and then move them to Tassie.

They won't be relocated.

They will merge with a Melbourne based club - ala Brisbane & Fitzroy.

if AD goes to the ATP than it will happen

I wonder what the GWS ratings are like in NSW?

Bit early to call.

They are in for the long haul and TV is still the big issue.

They need to generate enough interest on the TV screens of Western Sydney and I expect a 10 year horizon (and possibly longer0 at least before you can label it a fail.

Sydney have obviously given some grief with the Franklin deal, but that just might give the rivalry they are looking for. A Natanui type player to the Giants can change things pretty quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Joe View Post
    Bit early to call.

They are in for the long haul and TV is still the big issue.

They need to generate enough interest on the TV screens of Western Sydney and I expect a 10 year horizon (and possibly longer0 at least before you can label it a fail.

Sydney have obviously given some grief with the Franklin deal, but that just might give the rivalry they are looking for. A Natanui type player to the Giants can change things pretty quickly.

Very early on the AFL called it a 20 or 25 year plan. And they have allready got their $$$ back with the extra $$$$ for the TV deal.

The money should be pored into us, give us priority picks, pump the money in, wipe the debt, increase the football department spend, get us a premiership - yes 60 years is too long, its time

We could follow the Melbourne model.

Tank for 5 years, appoint incompetent administrators and coaching staff, neglect to implement a development program, burn early draft picks, recruit washed up hacks and the AFL will keep the priority picks flowing, give us a huge wad of cash and hand deliver the most in demand coach in the land.

We shouldn't even touch the debt and just pile all our funds into the footy department. If it goes balls up, the AFL will bail us out. It's worked for the Demons and Port.

We could follow the Melbourne model.

Tank for 5 years, appoint incompetent administrators and coaching staff, neglect to implement a development program, burn early draft picks, recruit washed up hacks and the AFL will keep the priority picks flowing, give us a huge wad of cash and hand deliver the most in demand coach in the land.
    Some former posters will tell you we already did all that
    Western Bulldogs: We exist to win premierships