Likes Likes:  7

In the Past - v Richmond

Over the years we have had some great battles against the Tigers, especially out at the WO.

In 1974 we had a pretty good season and hadn't played finals since 1961 - yes a very long draught and tough for a young lad like me to stick by them.

In 1974 the Tigers were also doing well, and in round 11, we played them at the MCG in front of a record crowd between the two clubs of 68,447. It was a pretty good game and at three quarter time we were 11.8 to 10.13. Unfortunately, the Tigers kicked 9 in the last and we lost by 33 points. The Bulldogs were a little overwhelmed that day and I remember the captain Sandilands said he couldn't believe the roar of the crowd when they ran on to the ground.

On ANZAC Day 1983, in front of 51,651 people, one of my favourite all time games was played. In the first quarter we kicked 10.3 to 3 points. What a quarter, Richmond couldn't get near the ball. In the 2nd quarter the tables were turned around and Richmond kicked 8.10 to our two solitary goals. In the end we won by 2 points, a thrilling game.

There have been many great games and I won't spoil it by naming all of them as I am sure posters would love to reminisce themselves about there favourite games or moments against the Tigers.

I am looking forward to seeing a big crowd on Saturday and another great contest.

Re: In the Past - v Richmond

I don't remember 1974 but I remember 1983 vividly. I remember being at the game and it being such an exciting finish.

Edmond kicked 7 that day.

I don't remember much about the game in 1974, but do remember the huge crowd. We were pretty well represented that day as well.

Round 1 2006 Western Bulldogs 25.17 (167) def Richmond 7.10 (52) in front of a 44,000 at Telstra Dome.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjC5vMQMqas

5. Likes chef liked this post

Round 1, 2006, at Docklands.

After leading comfortably at half time, the Dogs finally decided to get going and piled on 16 goals to 2 in the second half, including 9 in the third, to start the season with a 115 point victory. At one point in the third quarter Matthew Richardson was sent to play loose in the backline to stem the flow.

Scott West starred with 33 possessions and 3 votes, Gia got 2 for his 30 touches and 11 marks, whilst Brad Johnson's 5 goals landed him one vote.

7. Likes bornadog liked this post

The 83 match stands out. One of Steve Wallis ' first games. And Edmond took an absolute screamer. After being in the footy wilderness with a few diabolical years, to play in a big match was so exciting; you could see the framework of the team that contended in 85.

There was a memorable grudge match after Libber had king hit Knights early in the season. The Tigers were set for revenge and won by a few points after an obvious free to Nathan Brown (in our colours) was overlooked. Can't remember the year, but the fervour of the Tigers fans was frightening. They can be a scary mob.

One of my first games was the Dogs v Tiges at Waverley in 84. They had just acquired ex Doggies Michael McKenna & Chris Burton too I think. I recall we won that day.

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    One of my first games was the Dogs v Tiges at Waverley in 84. They had just acquired ex Doggies Michael McKenna & Chris Burton too I think. I recall we won that day.
    The 1985 game at Waverley was a ripper too. Beasley with 12 goals.

I saw Beasley kick 12, or 11 maybe, in the opening round against Richmond. At the Whitten Oval. 1984 I think.

Controversial decision to let Mick McKenna go at the time.
    I think we may have played them twice at Waverley that year, because we lost late in the year to them.
    Cost a finals place .
    Remember their massive support in 1980 at the Whitten oval, and probably the first time I'd seen us massively out supported at home.

I reckon we lost that game . Didn't play them twice at Waverley as Malthouses first game was at home .

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    I reckon we lost that game . Didn't play them twice at Waverley as Malthouses first game was at home .

That's right. First round v Richmond was at home in 1984. Malthouse's first game as coach.

But I'm pretty sure we played North twice at VFL park in 1985.

I saw Beasley kick 12, or 11 maybe, in the opening round against Richmond. At the Whitten Oval. 1984 I think.
    Yes he kicked 11.4 and we won by 7 goals

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    Correct lost that one at Waverley. Interesting there were only 13,000 fans there.