Thanks Thanks:  370
Likes Likes:  2,154

Re: Following our ex's...................

Quote Originally Posted by westdog54 View Post
    Its always going to be someone else fault when it comes to Jason.

The man doesn't know what it means to take responsibility.
    Aker banned by 3 Clubs now.

Another thing to note is Brian wasn't a mercenary at the end of his AFL career, he would've demanded alot more money than he got at Caroline Springs, but as a member of the local community he wanted to give back. Which he did in spades, he regularly helps run events and happily lends his ear for a chat. Don't get me wrong he was well remunerated, but it's a win win with the club going from strength to strength now competing in division 1 with Brodie Holland as coach (Monty's mate).
    Yeah, the flow on bonus of having a guy like that around is immeasurable for a local club.

It's a good rule for local footy thugs that rack up suspensions. In general you have to do something pretty serious in local footy to cop a suspension as a send off is the first option.

However the paltry 25% discount for AFL suspensions is a joke. 95% of incidents that players get suspended for in the AFL would never be worthy of suspension in local footy.

Brian started with Caroline Springs with 12 weeks from the AFL (16 weeks less 25% discount), plus something from under 19s, cops a 2 match suspension and is now effectively banned for life. It's farcical.

Ex-AFL players are great for local footy, they attract supporters and generate interest and income for clubs. Surely we want them involved, not banned?
    Agreed. Why would an ex AFL player play local footy and virtually run around with a nong target on their back for any hero to have a go at them if the competition isn't going to take that into account.
    Are you just supposed to take it?

Not happy about the lack of an appeal process either. That's wrong for a start.

Seems extremely harsh to only do a 25% discount for AFL. He got 4 weeks for rough conduct that probably isnt even a 50m penalty in the local leagues.

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog4life View Post
    Aker banned by 3 Clubs now.
    https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...a36-1557457275

And sooking up to Golf Australia about it.

Here's a tip, Jason. If you're behaviour is at the stage that three separate golf clubs have told you you're no longer welcome, chances are that maybe, just maybe, you're the one with the problem...

Quote Originally Posted by westdog54 View Post
    https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...a36-1557457275

And sooking up to Golf Australia about it.

Here's a tip, Jason. If you're behaviour is at the stage that three separate golf clubs have told you you're no longer welcome, chances are that maybe, just maybe, you're the one with the problem...
    Nah! It's definitely everyone else who is at fault. Especially Adam Cooney...

Some nice shade in the lead up to this week's tilt.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocket Science View Post

Some nice shade in the lead up to this week's tilt.

Get ****ed ya little ****.

Get around that and then stick it up your arse. Sideways.

9. Thanks 1eyedog thanked for this post
    Likes Doggy liked this post

It's called the honeymoon period.

Everything is fine when the team is winning and it's all new and shiny. The true test will be when injuries hit, form dips and he starts missing more targets than he hits...which will eventually happens. Then we'll see how everyone gets around him.

11. Likes Grantysghost liked this post

Get ****ed ya little ****.

Get around that and then stick it up your arse. Sideways.
    Premiership hero .. just saying ;-)

13. Likes chef, azabob liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by ledge View Post
    Premiership hero .. just saying ;-)
    Bulldog legend/immortal, like Stringer.

Hope he has a good game but the Cats lose.

15. Likes azabob liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    Bulldog legend/immortal, like Stringer.

Hope he has a good game but the Cats lose.
    Is a premiership player automatically a club legend and immortal?

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    In our teams case yes .. two premierships in 95 years.

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    Seriously?

Ummm, yes. At a club like ours a premiership player is an immortal and a legend.

Quote Originally Posted by chef View Post
    Seriously?

Ummm, yes. At a club like ours a premiership player is an immortal and a legend.
    While I understand the sentiment I think it's a highly flawed one.
    Bestowing phrases like immortal and legend on players because of one game I don't think is right and it's probably one of the reasons why we dipped back so far since the grand final. I get it but I don't agree with it

20. Likes hujsh liked this post