Thanks Thanks:  369
Likes Likes:  2,153

Re: Following our ex's...................

Quote Originally Posted by Funke disco View Post
    Stringer is slowly on the improve. He does seem to be popping up and having his moments more often now. But I also agree that the quality of opposition has generally been poor. Because of his history and the kind of x factor he has he will always be pumped up by the sympathetic Essendon media cheerleaders. They will turn to water come finals, and I believe despite recent recruitments lack the midfield grunt to ever be a contender.
    Stringer is just a good ordinary footballer.

2. Thanks Funke disco thanked for this post

Tend to agree, looks like he is capable of anything and he is but it’s not consistent and very lazy at times.

The media will do what it can to pump him up, it can't help itself.

He is playing more consistently but still he just doesn't seem to work hard enough to get the football or be involved (having said that I don't know how deep he is playing - because I hate watching EFC) and given all the buzz is around his fitness and additional midfield minutes his disposal numbers are a bit light on.

Here's a really good comparison between he and Sam Lloyd:

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...&fid1=S&fid2=S

Stringer has him for tackles, Lloyd has Stringer for possessions and efficiency. I wonder what the output would look like if they swapped clubs.

A friends 6ish year old daughter got to run out with the GWS team today. She was paired up with a not very well known eker called Sam Reid.

Apparently he is a really great guy and went above and beyond to make it a really memorable experience for her. He is now her favourite plater.

Wouldn’t it have been great if we were able to poach him back with his mate Callan.

Old Junk time Jake nowhere to be seen as usual when the heat is on, beats up on the lowly but disappears when the going gets tough. Like most in the Red and Black, total frontrunners.

7. Likes bornadog liked this post

Stringer is a stud let's not do this again.

9. Likes azabob, mjp liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Mitcha View Post
    Old Junk time Jake nowhere to be seen as usual when the heat is on, beats up on the lowly but disappears when the going gets tough. Like most in the Red and Black, total frontrunners.
    Haha, I used to call Josh Hill "junk time Josh". It is definitely fitting for Jake as well it would seem.

Incidentally Josh Hill is playing for the Northern Blues today. It was mentioned here that he played for st Albans a few weeks ago. He must be a fringe player for the Blues seconds.

I reckon stringer is a gun. He is just an f**** idiot of a human being at 22/23. His raw talent won’t go anywhere - when he matures, which looks like he is starting to, he’ll be a jet again

Quote Originally Posted by AshMac View Post
    I reckon stringer is a gun. He is just an f**** idiot of a human being at 22/23. His raw talent won’t go anywhere - when he matures, which looks like he is starting to, he’ll be a jet again
    tell me what he brings to the table ?

Those thumping goals from the centre square to seal games would suit me. We *!*!*!*!ed up big time clearing Stringer. Genius comes with a price and good clubs absorb that price and reap the rewards.

He has kicked 3 less goals than Lloyd this year? We got rid of a dickhead

15. Likes Testekill liked this post

He has kicked 3 less goals than Lloyd this year? We got rid of a dickhead
    Let's just wait until the end of the season before we go organising any street parades celebrating how clever we were with showing Stringer the door or for the recruitment of Lloyd. For one reason there is no reason that Stringer and Lloyd couldn't play in the same forward line.

Stringer isn't the only, nor is he the biggest, dickhead playing in the competition at the moment. We jumped at shadows and should never have let him go.

Let's just wait until the end of the season before we go organising any street parades celebrating how clever we were with showing Stringer the door or for the recruitment of Lloyd. For one reason there is no reason that Stringer and Lloyd couldn't play in the same forward line.

Stringer isn't the only, nor is he the biggest, dickhead playing in the competition at the moment. We jumped at shadows and should never have let him go.
    No point in going over old ground. We will agree to disagree.

Yeah fair enough.

I'm right though...

Yeah fair enough.

I'm right though...
    don't

20. Likes Twodogs liked this post