Thanks Thanks:  4
Likes Likes:  4
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Re: State of Origin Musings

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Joe View Post
    The smaller states (ie Allies) will certainly have lesser credentialled players.

When they last played State of Origin with a full Tasmanian side they defeated a Victorian team and utilised players from the local state league and players who were struggling to get a game in their AFL sides.
    A few players got told they had let Victoria down and they would never wear the big Vee again that day. Talk about letting a loss get to you, some guys took that loss very badly.

My musings :-

First, I think the AFL's push to make this a truly national game is what has damaged / killed (I'm kind of hoping it can be reborn) State of Origin (SOO). The concept of the Allies is rubbish. It should be WA v SA v Vic ... If Tassie or Qld or NSW or NT is not good enough to have a state team then too bad. How can you support Allies in a SOO game ???

Second, its all about timing. The SOO game cannot happen during the season like the NRL does. Teams won't support it and stars will be withdrawn from games. It has to be after the season has finished. One to two weeks after the AFL Grand Final to be precise. The international rules palaver is a waste. I don't want to see AFL players learning how to volley a round ball to score an over !!!! Play SOO at this time. The NFL play their all-star games at the end of the season !!

I even think the All-Indigenous Team competing in this form of competition is a better idea than the indigenous round.
    WOOF Member 422

How does Wood miss out being in a team?
    Gerard Healy has him in his Victorian side (sides from Fox Sports):

VICTORIA
    Selector: Gerard Healy

Back: Heath Shaw, Tom McDonald, Josh Gibson,

Half back: Easton Wood, Michael Hurley, Robert Murphy

Centre: Dan Hannebery, Sam Mitchell, Andrew Gaff

Half forward: Luke Shuey, Jarryd Roughead, Robbie Gray

Forward: Jack Gunston, Jeremy Cameron, Eddie Betts

Ruck: Todd Goldstein, Scott Pendlebury, Dylan Shiel

Interchange: David Mundy, Luke Parker, Mark Blicavs, Patrick Dangerfield

Emergencies: Travis Boak, Callan Ward, Dustin Martin, Joel Selwood

SOUTH AUSTRALIA
    Selector: Mark Ricciuto

Back: Shaun Burgoyne, Brian Lake, Corey Enright

Half back: Brodie Smith, Sam Fisher, Shannon Hurn

Centre: Shane Edwards, Scott Thompson, Bryce Gibbs

Half forward: Lindsay Thomas, Justin Westhoff, Chad Wingard

Forward: Angus Monfries, Matthew Pavlich, Jay Schulz

Ruck: Sam Jacobs, Brad Ebert, Lachie Neale

Interchange: Rory Laird, Paul Puopolo, Bernie Vince, Joel Patfull

THE ALLIES
    Selector: Jason Dunstall

Back: Dane Rampe, Sam Rowe, Jarrod Harbrow

Half back: Pearce Hanley, Josh Bruce, Grant Birchall

Centre: Isaac Smith, Dayne Beams, David Armitage

Half Forward: Luke Breust, Nick Riewoldt, Ben Mcglynn

Forward: Cyril Rioli, Tom Hawkins, Taylor Walker

Ruck: Mike Pyke, Jarrad McVeigh, Kieren Jack

Interchange: Jack Riewoldt, Matthew Stokes, Steven Motlop, Kurt Tippett

WESTERN AUSTRALIA
    Selector: Neroli Meadows

Back: Garrick Ibbotson, Luke McPharlin, Alex Rance

Half back: Alan Toovey, Harry Taylor, Elliot Yeo

Centre: Brad Hill, Patrick Cripps, Stephen Hill

Half forward: Mark LeCras, Lance Franklin, Michael Walters

Forward: Jesse Hogan, Josh Kennedy, Hayden Ballantyne

Ruck: Aaron Sandilands, Nat Fyfe, Matt Priddis

Interchange: Andrew Swallow, Chris Masten, Cale Hooker, Nic Naitanui

How does Wood miss out being in a team?
    Indeed. Blinkers aside, reckon he'd just bump Gibson.

Quote Originally Posted by Scraggers View Post
    I even think the All-Indigenous Team competing in this form of competition is a better idea than the indigenous round.
    Inspired, that'd make for a dynamic spectacle. Though I fear whether the still evident boofhead element's mature enough to embrace it...

The WA side selected by Neroli looks very strong.

Would be some awesome footy for sure. I think before the season works best as the players are refreshed and need a good hit out to get into some form. The players aren't being deprived of any rest and the risk is not too much higher than a full on hit out intra-club just before the season starts. I think it's a great preparation for the players selected personally and gives them an advantage on getting back to the speed of contested footy.

Whether it's the week before the seasons starts or two back, the public will be hankering for some really good footy to watch and the AFL will have a captive audience for venues and TV. It doesn't interfere with the clubs really either. Imagine the SOO last night being the spiritual start of every season on back to back nights. If we strive to find the right mix it can work for all the stakeholders.

7. Likes Drunken Bum liked this post

So I knocked this together for the hell of it...

Certainly raises some selection headaches for the rival squads...

That's a seriously talented team. I'm not sure who they would play, unless like in the NRL where they have the NRL All Stars. But with limited international players (unlike rugby) it would be indigenous all stars vs (in effect) Caucasian all stars.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocket Science View Post

Again what a forward line!

Quote Originally Posted by Rocket Science View Post

I didn't realise Steven May was indigenous.

Couldn't find a spot for Liam Jones?

They are going to need Koby to play because he's about the only inside midfielder in the team. Once the ball gets on the outside though they would be almost impossible to stop!

12. Likes Scraggers liked this post

Mick McGuane has picked his hypothetical Big V side to take on SA.

It's worth noting:

In selecting the Vics team I had to rule out those who are injured at the moment, including Darcy Moore and Jeremy Cameron, and also those players who are yet to put together a big body of work in 2021 such as Tom Lynch and Patrick Dangerfield.

I didn’t want to choose a team for a Mickey Mouse-style game like the Big V clash with the All-Stars in the Bushfire Charity game last year.

State-of-Origin matches deserve well balanced, high-pressure teams, and I have selected my Big V team with this thought in mind. I’m sure the SA boys have done the same.

Whitten would have loved to see I’ve picked Bulldogs Luke Beveridge and Marcus Bontempelli as coach and captain of my 2021 team.

Link

This would be an absolute belting on paper. SA's forwardline in particular is dire. Not sure how Bailey Williams is only the medical "hub" behind some of those named in the team.

Blood bath.

15. Likes SquirrelGrip liked this post

Good teams

Would that SA team even be good as an AFL team this year? I reckon they'd finish 6-10th.

Quote Originally Posted by soupaman View Post
    Would that SA team even be good as an AFL team this year? I reckon they'd finish 6-10th.
    The forward line stinks.

Other parts of the ground not bad, but certainly no chop on the Vic side. Gee whiz. That bats deep.