Likes Likes:  19
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bye to Stay before Finals.

AFL has determined it will retain the week's break introduced this year between the end of the Home & Away Season and start to the Finals.

Re: Bye to Stay before Finals.

I love the bye. Can't understand why anyone would question its amazingly great validity.

Im a strong supporter of the bye

The finals teams played better footy because of it

Did I also hear that the AFEL is staying with Carlton and Richmond opening the season?

YES, should be a cracking game again.

6. Likes Topdog liked this post

This is great news. Our finals record has been impeccable since its inclusion!
    "Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"

8. Likes Mantis liked this post

This had better not cost the better teams in the premiership race! I won't be happy if it does.

Loved the bye this year. That footy festival thing we had with the women's match and the EJ Whitten game was well timed I reckon. It just needs a Sunday arvo event and it's good to go.

10. Likes Raw Toast, Bulldog Revolution liked this post

Loved the bye this year. That footy festival thing we had with the women's match and the EJ Whitten game was well timed I reckon. It just needs a Sunday arvo event and it's good to go.
    There's a push from some people for the Brownlow to be shifted to the Sunday evening of the bye - I quite like that idea myself.
    Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will

12. Likes bulldogtragic liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Raw Toast View Post
    There's a push from some people for the Brownlow to be shifted to the Sunday evening of the bye - I quite like that idea myself.
    To have all clubs, and all winners in the room would be a nice thing. I like it too.

14. Likes Raw Toast liked this post

Of course. It's a long standing tradition. Are you suggesting we change tradition? Do you hate the troops? Don't you respect Kevin Sheedy?

16. Likes Twodogs, Raw Toast liked this post

Happy if they don't change a thing, worked for us this season.

18. Likes Eastdog liked this post

Have to finish outside the top 4

20. Likes Eastdog liked this post

Only mentally weak teams lose preliminary finals because of the bye.
    Footscray member since 1980.

22. Likes Twodogs, Raw Toast liked this post

Of course. It's a long standing tradition. Are you suggesting we change tradition? Do you hate the troops? Don't you respect Kevin Sheedy?
    I certainly believe the opening game should be shared around but if they have secured that one then maybe will get Good Friday and build a tradition from there.

I like the bye. A chance to recharge, check out the women's and EJ Whitten games... And we are the only team to have won the Premiership after the final round bye.
    Last edited by AndrewP6; 19-10-2016 at 10:28 PM.