Thanks Thanks:  8
Likes Likes:  30
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Classic Dogs games you like

Dogs site and afl.com is doing a lot of "On this Day" retrospective game articles. And we can reminisce about other great games ourselves.

Today's one is one of my favourite games - a great comeback, a win on the bell and I was here.

2004 - North vs Dogs @ Manuka Oval Canberra.

There have been some dramatic games with close finishes, including three matches decided by under a goal, the most recent a heartbreaking two-point loss to the Giants in 2017, the teams' first meeting after their epic Preliminary Final encounter the year before.

But for sheer drama and emotion, it's hard to top the very first game the Bulldogs played at the venue, on this day in 2004, when it was simply known as Manuka Oval.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/n...berra-comeback

2. Thanks Eastdog thanked for this post
    Likes bornadog, WBFC4FFC liked this post

Re: Classic Dogs games you like

Fantatsic finish - I haven't watched it for ages.

4. Likes Eastdog liked this post

Round 3, 2014 a Saturday afternoon at Docklands when we beat the Tigers by 2 points. Went to the game and enjoyed that finish.

6. Likes WBFC4FFC liked this post

Fantatsic finish - I haven't watched it for ages.
    The stats from that game.

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/game...220040501.html

8. Thanks Dry Rot thanked for this post

Cracking last quarter. I remember being super frustrated with the first half...…..the last quarter was great and I think this is the game where I realised that I really think North Melbourne are garbage.

10. Likes WBFC4FFC, Dry Rot liked this post

Cracking last quarter. I remember being super frustrated with the first half...…..the last quarter was great and I think this is the game where I realised that I really think North Melbourne are garbage.
    The last 49 seconds:

12. Thanks Eastdog, Dry Rot thanked for this post

Possibly the worst winning goal of all time. The ultimate "yes, no, yes, no, yes, no, yeah!!!!" moment.

14. Likes WBFC4FFC, Dry Rot, Eastdog liked this post

The last 49 seconds:

That was a great 43 seconds referring to the youtube video length

Round 12 2016 vs Port Adelaide in Adelaide. We win 100 to 97. Big Red put on a masterclass, Dahlhaus injured (I think he is out for next 4 or do matches). Stringer kicks a beaut goal from centre square. Bont does a great steal off defender and ripper goal too. Our defence was so desperate that sunny arvo. About to watch it again. Prior round against Eagles was also a ripper - both high quality matches you would consider showing overseas folks who know nothing about the game to convert them to the code. Our play in both matches was exhilarating-bullet like handpasses, daring low trajectory kicks, good marking and a few cracker goals from outside or close to 59 metre arc.

Side note: Not sure Campbell plays in Port match but I am still scratching my head as to why he was not given more opportunities after watching round 10 vs Pies and round 11 vs Eagles.

17. Likes Dry Rot, azabob liked this post

I love those 2 games against Geelong in 2006. Really felt like watching some higher plane of football.

19. Likes bornadog liked this post

I love those 2 games against Geelong in 2006. Really felt like watching some higher plane of football.
    A one point win to each team wasn't it? I'm not aware of that ever happening before or since

When we beat the Swans back in 2015 Round 5 in the end. JJ kicked a magnificent goal.

The Geelong game in 2018. Was great to finally beat the Cats. Could have been the worst game ever had Harry Taylor got the goal but thankfully our efforts put him off.

Quote Originally Posted by Eastdog View Post
    When we beat the Swans back in 2015 Round 5 in the end. JJ kicked a magnificent goal.

The Geelong game in 2018. Was great to finally beat the Cats. Could have been the worst game ever had Harry Taylor got the goal but thankfully our efforts put him off.
    Hi Easty - I think it was round 15 2016 JJ kicked winning goal - just watched replay !! The 2015 win against Swans in wet was a beauty too (in fact a better game I reckon). Also loved win against Cats too.

23. Thanks Eastdog thanked for this post

Quote Originally Posted by josie View Post
    Hi Easty - I think it was round 15 2016 JJ kicked winning goal - just watched replay !! The 2015 win against Swans in wet was a beauty too (in fact a better game I reckon). Also loved win against Cats too.
    Thanks josie. I mixed the 2 games up

Quote Originally Posted by josie View Post
    Round 12 2016 vs Port Adelaide in Adelaide. We win 100 to 97. Big Red put on a masterclass, Dahlhaus injured (I think he is out for next 4 or do matches). Stringer kicks a beaut goal from centre square. Bont does a great steal off defender and ripper goal too. Our defence was so desperate that sunny arvo. About to watch it again. Prior round against Eagles was also a ripper - both high quality matches you would consider showing overseas folks who know nothing about the game to convert them to the code. Our play in both matches was exhilarating-bullet like handpasses, daring low trajectory kicks, good marking and a few cracker goals from outside or close to 59 metre arc.

Side note: Not sure Campbell plays in Port match but I am still scratching my head as to why he was not given more opportunities after watching round 10 vs Pies and round 11 vs Eagles.
    Possibly the best suggestion of all time. Excellent work J. Nailed it.