Thanks Thanks:  37
Likes Likes:  97
Page 10 of 20 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516171819 ... LastLast

Re: The official 2017 TandT Who to Root for Thread

For finals, the equation is simple. We only need 3 things to happen:
    Dogs beat Port
    Dogs beat Hawks
    GWS beats WC, or Adel beats WC (at Domain and Adel might already have top spot sewn up)

Other preferable results as follows:
    Syd beats Adel - makes sure Adel are at full rat power in R23 against WC. Also gives Syd a top 4 chance and Rich to drop to 5th.
    St K beats Rich - gives us chance to play Rich in first final at MCG (assuming we finish 8th)
    Carl beats Hawks - knocks Hawks out of the race and also puts Carl ahead of Norf for Hrovat compo
    Geel beats GWS - ensures a Vic club finishes top 2 so there's hope to draw an MCG PF if we make it that far
    BL beats Norf - consign Norf to the spoon and better Hrovat compo pick

I'm discounting major boilovers like Melb losing either of their matches or Ess doing so.

Imagine Dogs sneak into 8th and play Rich in first final. We then play Syd (who loses to Adel in 1 v 4 QF). Cats beat GWS in 2 v 3 QF at the Cattery. We then cop Syd at the SCG and conjure up a miracle, which takes us to Geel at the MCG for a PF.

I like to dream

2. Likes aker39 liked this post

Dogs beat Port
    Dogs beat Hawks
    GWS beats WC, or Adel beats WC (at Domain and Adel might already have top spot sewn up)

Syd beats Adel - makes sure Adel are at full rat power in R23 against WC. Also gives Syd a top 4 chance and Rich to drop to 5th.
    St K beats Rich - gives us chance to play Rich in first final at MCG (assuming we finish 8th)
    Carl beats Hawks - knocks Hawks out of the race and also puts Carl ahead of Norf for Hrovat compo
    Geel beats GWS - ensures a Vic club finishes top 2 so there's hope to draw an MCG PF if we make it that far

I'm discounting major boilovers like Melb losing either of their matches or Ess doing so.

Imagine Dogs sneak into 8th and play Rich in first final. We then play Syd (who loses to Adel in 1 v 4 QF). Cats beat GWS in 2 v 3 QF at the Cattery. We then cop Syd at the SCG and conjure up a miracle, which takes us to Geel at the MCG for a PF.

I like to dream
    A solid two weekends of rooting ahead, assuming we beat Port.

If we don't beat Port....then we are rooted.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post

We can't rely on other teams losing, we must win the last two.

We have to rely on WC losing otherwise the results of our games are insignificant, unless we can make up about 8%.

Dogs beat Port
    Dogs beat Hawks

I like to dream
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post

I'm going to be rooting my brains out this weekend. It might be our last root for the year so we have to root like there's no tomorrow.

We owe it to the boys and to ourselves.

I'm still not sure if Sydney beating Adelaide was good or bad last night, I was barracking for the Crows until I read the post above. And sorry I haven't added any value to this thread next year, some big bad things currently going down in my world at the moment but hopefully will be sorted soon((ish). All good, go the dogs

Quote Originally Posted by Throughandthrough View Post
    I'm still not sure if Sydney beating Adelaide was good or bad last night, I was barracking for the Crows until I read the post above. And sorry I haven't added any value to this thread next year, some big bad things currently going down in my world at the moment but hopefully will be sorted soon((ish). All good, go the dogs
    It's an excellent result for us. Means GWS and Adelaide will both have huge motivation to beat West Coast. Which is our only hope of getting in.
    Good luck with the non-WOOF real world fuss.

Chin up mate. Go dogs.

Love this thread T & T. Hope everything works out for you mate.

Good Luck T&T, hopefully a good outcome for you.

I guess we can stop rooting

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    I guess we can stop rooting
    Can't we still just root for the fun of it?

I'm still rooting for Gold Coast to win tonight
    GWS to win this Arvo

Dogs to win next Friday night
    Crows to beat West Coke next weekend
    Dockers to beat Essendon next weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    Can't we still just root for the fun of it?
    There's fun in rooting .. Booooomtish!

I'm still rooting for Gold Coast to win tonight
    GWS to win this Arvo

Dogs to win next Friday night
    Crows to beat West Coke next weekend
    Dockers to beat Essendon next weekend
    More chance of a unicorn sighting in Barkly St but I appreciate your positivity