Re: The official 2017 TandT Who to Root for Thread

I'm still rooting for Gold Coast to win tonight
    GWS to win this Arvo

Dogs to win next Friday night
    Crows to beat West Coke next weekend
    Dockers to beat Essendon next weekend
    That is some speculative rooting right there! Good to dream!

If the Suns and Giants can win today that is good for us. If North and the Lions can win tomorrow that would help us more but I don't think they will but if the Suns can do it tonight we are still a chance as Bevo said in the presser.

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    Can't we still just root for the fun of it?
    Only us and dolphins.

Quote Originally Posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot View Post
    Can't we still just root for the fun of it?
    Only the Protestants.

I drove all the way to Ballarat today and rooted like a madman but it did no good.

Only the Protestants.

I drove all the way to Ballarat today and rooted like a madman but it did no good.
    Wearing protection? Or like, 'aroused'? It happens to us all mate, you're among supporters.

Easy now.

Win on Friday Night vs Hawthorn and we are temporarily 8th. Then all three results must go our way on Sunday knocking out Essendon (Freo), WCE (Crows) & Saints (Richmond). Assuming St Kilda beat North by more than 24 points.

Unlikely.

Easy now.

Win on Friday Night vs Hawthorn and we are temporarily 8th. Then all three results must go our way on Sunday knocking out Essendon (Freo), WCE (Crows) & Saints (Richmond). Assuming St Kilda beat North by more than 24 points.

Unlikely.
    Carlton have just knocked the stuffing out of Hawthorn for next week. Could have been the perfect day for us had we held up our end of the bargain.

Friday night R23 is now a fizzer.

Wearing protection? Or like, 'aroused'? It happens to us all mate, you're among supporters.
    More along the "Catholics must have a biological imperative" line.

I didn't need any protecting. I was among friends many of whom were very busy rooting themselves.

For those praying for a miracle

To make the top 8, we must beat Hawthorn, and 3 of these 4 things must happen:

1. Essendon must lose to Fremantle at Etihad
    2. Melbourne must lose to both Brisbane and Collingwood at the MCG
    3. West Coast must lose to Adelaide in Perth
    4. St Kilda must lose to one of North at Etihad and Richmond at the MCG, or not make up ~22 points of percentage on us
    Last edited by boydogs; 20-08-2017 at 01:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by boydogs View Post
    For those praying for a miracle

To make the top 8, we must beat Hawthorn, and 3 of these 4 things must happen:

1. Essendon must lose to Melbourne at Etihad
    Essendon play Fremantle
    For those who were always the underdogs and wore it as a badge of honour.

Quote Originally Posted by aker39 View Post
    Essendon play Fremantle
    Sorry, had in my head that they're playing in Melbourne. 50/50 game over there, 80/20 here

Realistically we're done for, but nothing today could rule us in or out, so not sure how we approach selection next week

A big day of upsets would help though. If Brisbane beat Melbourne and North beat St Kilda, we would only need 2 of West Coast, Melbourne and Essendon to lose next week. If Melbourne & St Kilda win, we would need all of West Coast, Essendon & St Kilda to lose

Quote Originally Posted by boydogs View Post
    Sorry, had in my head that they're playing in Melbourne. 50/50 game over there, 80/20 here

Realistically we're done for, but nothing today could rule us in or out, so not sure how we approach selection next week

A big day of upsets would help though. If Brisbane beat Melbourne and North beat St Kilda, we would only need 2 of West Coast, Melbourne and Essendon to lose next week. If Melbourne & St Kilda win, we would need all of West Coast, Essendon & St Kilda to lose

And us to win. That's the one I'm not entirely confident about.

I'm on the 'anyone but GWS' bandwagon from here on in.

I'm on the "AFL season finishes next Friday night" bandwagon. September is for MLB pennant races and the opening of the NFL and NCAA football seasons.
    Footscray member since 1980.

I'm on the 'anyone but GWS' bandwagon from here on in.
    Amen brother. Order of not wanting them to be '17 premiers:
    Plastics
    Crows
    Geelong
    Dons
    Sydney
    Port
    Eagles
    Melbourne
    Saints
    Tigers