Thanks Thanks:  175
Likes Likes:  994
Page 58 of 179 FirstFirst ... 8484950515253545556575859606162636465666768108158 ... LastLast

Re: Stringer Trade Worth

Do you offer blokes big $ for 4 years if they aren't worth a first rounder?

4 years is a long time.

Trade Radio is saying that Stringer has nominated Essendon. It's early days but we have to go head to head with Essendon on this.

The Cats won't be out of the mix

Quote Originally Posted by MrMahatma View Post
    Do you offer blokes big $ for 4 years if they aren't worth a first rounder?

4 years is a long time.
    It's a good question - particularly as we are about to do it with Trengove - but that is a bit different given we don't trade a pick for him

If they are a best 22 player then it's not unreasonable - look at Freo and Hamling - great deal for them - gave up pick 30 and get a key defender for 3-8 years

11 or no deal. It's not complicated.

It's as straight forward as that - I don't mind if jake plays vfl footy all year and works on his issues - I'd prefer it over accepting a poor pick from the dons

6. Likes hujsh liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by Bulldog Revolution View Post
    It's as straight forward as that - I don't mind if jake plays vfl footy all year and works on his issues - I'd prefer it over accepting a poor pick from the dons
    Precisely. Then say he wants out next year, I reckon we'd get a pick no worse than 29 either. In a better draft, and when we need draft points. There's good reasons to not negotiate. 11 or nothing.

8. Likes Bulldog4life liked this post

If 11 is off the table since we might not have many live picks this year how about their first next year and a second rounder of some sort this or next year? See if they back themselves.

Or keep him. I'm almost hoping we keep him and make him play VFL all year at this point.

Just heard a punter call in on SEN, asking the questions:

1. With Devon Smith also nominating Essendon, how do they get both Jake and Smith done?
    2. How do Essendon afford all of these guys?
    3. Surely something's up with their compo payouts not being included in the cap?

The SEN expert hosed it all down... "They'll find a way to get it done & everyone will walk away happy.." ( I nearly choked!)
    To question two, he said "Sure, they've had to pay extras to hold onto (listed 5-6 players!), and then on question 3, said "Yeah, maybe, interesting one.."

There's always been a gap at Essendon between belief and reality... They've overstepped it once again..! Ga-ga land!!

Essendon's interest is rooted in a player whose demonstrated best is explosive and match-winning, coupled with the logic that suggests Jake has enormous untapped improvement.

Any interest at all suggests they've considered their ability to get that out of him, and are confident in that ability.

They'll cough up 11. This is all tedious groundwork to make it seem like a compromise on their part when they do.

Oh and additionally, Dodoro's (predictably) offered pick 28.

Jake has discovered he's worth pick bugger all. He's also being offered less $$ than he's on with us. He's had a reality check. A straighten up. A penny drop. A foot up the arse. Public scorn and humiliation.

That means objective achieved. Arm around him from the club and he stays. Sorry Bombers. Sorry Cats.

That then leaves G Ablett. Cats can't and won't get him. Suns can't keep him. He's moving home, regardless and moving to the Greater Geelong area.

Is there a club located 45 mins from Geelong that is perched in Geelong Road??
    Finally, if (a now wiser, enlightened, arse-kicked!) Jake stays, who would be better than Ablett for him to be told to watch' learn from, chat to etc..?
    Just a thought..

What will GWS want for Smith? Impacts the Stringer trade.

The consensus in the media is that he now can't stay with us. Our position is he is ours unless a club is willing to pay a fair market value. The challenge now is to determine that value.
    On ability to turn or win a game his value is of course a top 8 pick which is diminished somewhat by the challenges he faces. This however can be bridged by his management group. Either club won't be on their own.
    Essendon have pick 11 but think 28 is more around the mark simply because they are trying to exploit the situation. Stringers manager needs to read the warning signs here.

I'd ask Dodoro to reflect back to when he was trading a perhaps more challenged player in Jake Carlisle from Essendon and have a look at what the Saints coughed up for him. Now when you look at Stringer and what he can bring the club in terms of excitement and game winning abilities pick 11 is looking right on the money.

We stand firm and and don't blink.

15. Likes 1eyedog liked this post

The consensus in the media is that he now can't stay with us. Our position is he is ours unless a club is willing to pay a fair market value. The challenge now is to determine that value.
    On ability to turn or win a game his value is of course a top 8 pick which is diminished somewhat by the challenges he faces. This however can be bridged by his management group. Either club won't be on their own.
    Essendon have pick 11 but think 28 is more around the mark simply because they are trying to exploit the situation. Stringers manager needs to read the warning signs here.

I'd ask Dodoro to reflect back to when he was trading a perhaps more challenged player in Jake Carlisle from Essendon and have a look at what the Saints coughed up for him. Now when you look at Stringer and what he can bring the club in terms of excitement and game winning abilities pick 11 is looking right on the money.

We stand firm and and don't blink.

No horse trading, this isn't a negotiation - we have our position and you either meet us there or you don't.

And now Saad apparently nominating essendon. How can they get them all in?

They can spin this too. Get him for pick 11 on day 1.

Then their media people front Jake in their polo, and Dodoro screams we were prepared to add a pick/player if negotiations continued. When he heard a non top 10 pick it is now the 'Steal of the Century'. Which Robbo will put on the back page. Then Smith signs with them so they roll momentum through the period. They email their membership database with videos and links to increase their membership level and get friends and family to sign.

Dragging it does nothing in real terms. Things for them are broader than the detail of the trade.

We then have to send out an email to our members saying that we have a discount on jumper numbers for anyone unlucky enough to have 9 on their back.